Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
4.404.404.404.404.40
4.40 based on 376 reviews
#1 of 24 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Santa Maria
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (244)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Can't wait to go ago!

, Mississauga, ON
2022-11-27
This was our first trip to Cuba and we had an amazing time!

I was initially hesitant to visit because of the food cause I'm a picky eater, but my goodness the food was AMAZING! Different options 24 hours a day and it was delicious!

The waiters and servers were friendly and so courteous.

The resort was clean and no bugs or lizards in the rooms.

The entertainment was fun and different every day!

Royalton Cato Santa Maria is my new home away from home and I can't wait to come back next year!

So many memorable people but a few I want to thank:

The Managers who ensured we had a great trip: Alejandro and Stefan
Our amazing Butlers who greeted us daily: Michel, Omar and Javier
The friendly ground staffer that is like my new cousin: Luis
The cleaning staff who give great hugs: Aleimda and Sonya
The fun and lively entertainer who brought great energy: Lis
And our wonder waiters: Danaysi, Marylin, Anita and Yaima [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food was REALLY good The rooms are clean The drinks are strong
The weak points
No weak points! 10 out of 10!
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Facility was clean, no Covid concerns.

Royalton

, Bowmanville, ON
2022-11-13
Well as far as servicce the people are great . Problems are food shortages no eggs,, plated food ,somtimes not eitable, toilet paper used as nakins at tables .booze cheapest like acid. Towel shortages . If you like cheese and toast well that will be your only staple, resort next door has a real buffet . No real show time there . Butlers really nice but not needed,invest in some serverers on beach and around pool resort nice rooms out dated. 3 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Royalton Santa Maria excellent

, Mayo, QC
2022-11-09
First I would like to compliment all staff they are amazing I would definitely return without hesitation . Food was amazing, beach wow. ! also like to mention a few names that made are vacation special Omar, Stephane, Alejandro, Yadira, Yoandra the entertainment staff they are so many more everyone has a smile they are their for you at all time. Hope to see them soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
food beach staff
The weak points
None

Best vacation ever!!

, Sorel-Tracy, QC
2022-10-07
Where do I start? The place is amazing, clean, feels luxurius and is actually what it says: luxurius!
The service, the staff, the manager, the beach even the food, were all beyond any expectations we had!
The room was clean and very comfortable!
The food, except the occasional shortage of this and that, was perfect every time! The staff crafts wonders out of anything they have on hand, with a smile!
Talking about service, you will experience the best service I've ever got in any resorts from anyone who works there.
The manager Alexandro is very present and friendly and is making sure everything is perfect to anyone he speaks to!
He was everywhere, on the beach, restaurants, bars, name it, every day making sure his guests were happy on any and all levels!
The beach, what can I say? Every day, we had workers finding and bringing chairs and a table for us in a heartbeat!
All in all, I recommend the Royaltin Cayo Santa Maria to anyone without any hesitation!
We will definitely go back there soon!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach Service Room Food
The weak points
The Wifi had some issue but for us, it wasn't really a problem because we were on vacation and that wasn't a concern and a need to begin with.

Our home away from home !

, Frankford, ON
2022-09-08
After travelling all over Cuba for more than a decade we find ourselves returning to this resort ( forth visit in four years). The beach here is stunning, the resort grounds are kept immaculate and the personal service and attention to details superb. As an adult only resort it has a quiet and lay back atmosphere which we love! If you like to party, this resort is not for you !

The personal service you receive from the staff here is wonderful. Butlers are assigned to guests for the duration of your stay, Any special requests and they will do their best to satisfy. We have had the pleasure of meeting several of them over the years, Javier and Michel stand out from our most recent visit, always a smile and eager to make your stay the best it can be. We look forward to our return trip to the Royalton very soon.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff here is wonderful
The weak points
rooms are starting to get a bit dated
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
excellent

Very good

, Ottawa, ON
2022-08-15
I had a very good experience, and I will go again in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Absolutely amazing,highly recommended

, Laval, QC
2022-07-03
Fabulous vacation! We stayed at the royalton for 2 weeks…. Rooms spacious and clean, grounds absolutely beautiful, food the best we've had in Cuba, drinks great, staff are hard working, very friendly and always very helpful! Beach AMAZING, pools very clean and animation and night shows very good! Management absolutely amazing, Alejandro and Michaela very professional, always seen around the resort engaging with guests and making sure everything is good…Enrique and other bartenders (don't remember names) excellent service, Janet, Yadira and all staff at lobby bar also excellent service, thanks to all the waiters at a la cart for their great service, special thanks to Jesus (chef) for all the amazing food, he is by far the best, a big asset to the resort, keep him he is the best!….thanks to Anibal (animation) very nice and funny guy, we had so much fun…. Thank you to all the staff and special thanks to management Michaela and Alejandro for making our vacation so amazing, we will definitely return this fall and we will highly recommend this hotel to all our friends, family and readers [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
BBQ lunch at snack bar the best, Cuban food every day, continue it's absolutely amazing…. Jesus (chef) GREAT…this was the first time in over 20 years we actually enjoyed every meal in Cuba! Service AMAZING management super great

A Luxurious Vacation with Families & Friends

, Ajax, ON
2022-06-29
This is our second time this year at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria. My husband and I had an amazing trip back in April 2022, this time we brought our families and friends. When it comes to customer service, beach and food, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria is definitely number one.

Michel Romero was our butler back in April, he was so amazing we requested for him again. He met us upon our arrival, all 19 of us! Although our flight was delayed and we didn't get into the hotel until close to midnight, Michel waited for all of us and he gave us a very warm welcome. Michel took the time to check-in every single one of us into our rooms. For the whole duration of our trip, Michel was there constantly catering to all our needs, addressing all our concerns, and coordinating our lunch and dinner, so we're always together. We celebrated 5 birthdays (including my dad's) and the wedding anniversary of our friends. For such a large group, Michel somehow managed to coordinate everything and helped us celebrate these special occasions. We all had a wonderful time.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
We're so happy to see all the staff un-masked this time around, because we can finally see their smiles. The service was the same from the first time we visited back in April - truly exceptional. Royalton Cayo Santa Maria definitely set the gold standard when it comes to customer service. Everyone here is so friendly and so attentive to your needs. They open the doors for you and they make sure that you always have a drink and you're well taken care of. Regardless of whether you tip or not, everyone here serves you with a genuine smile.

Michaela, the interim manager, thank you so much for taking the time to speak with us and to make sure that we're ok. We know you're very busy and it's really nice to see you being very hands-on and also helping out your fellow staff. Alejandro, we missed you. We hope that you're enjoying your well-deserved vacation.

The hotel capacity at the time of our visit was about 60-70%, so not all the staff were working (some were on vacation and some were temporarily laid off). Although we missed some of the staff we met from our 1st trip, almost everyone we met this time was so friendly.

Upon arrival, Bernardo from the lobby bar quickly recognized us and he served us drinks right away. Every night, we're all at the lobby bar drinking until past midnight and playing cards. Yadira, Yoandry, Luis Alberto, Javier and Yasiel - thank you for always making sure that our drinks are filled and for serving us with a smile, especially Yadira. You are so kind and always so attentive to our needs. Bernardo, you make the best Iced Coffee Royalton, it's one of my favourite drinks there.

At Eggscellence Restaurant, we had several lunch and dinner here with our family & friends. Yaima, Liz, Yarima, Lilibet, Isabella, Yoandry, Jose, Liesly, Eldis, Carlos - thank you everyone for serving us all and for being accommodating to all our needs. You're always smiling and even made sure that our tables were set up and closed to one another for all 19 of us. Yaima, thanks for going the extra mile for serving us our favourite fried plantains and fruta bomba!

At Senses Restaurant, we had my dad's birthday celebration here along with the other 4 celebrants, and the wedding anniversary of our friends. We want to say a special thank you to Michel (our butler) for coordinating everything including the decorations and the cake, and to Michaela (interim manager) for letting all my family and friends have the "special dinner" with lobsters. The timing of the dinner was so perfect because we ended up having the entire restaurant all to ourselves. Although we're such a large group, it was very special and very intimate. Disleidy, Yuniel, Katia Castillo & Silvia, Chef Geimel, Alain, Estrella ,Yandry & Dairon, Lunchera Lumey Dailen ,Veronica & La Rubia Pastelera - thank you for such a magical evening. Everyone had an amazing time. To the rest of the Senses staff, Yeslin, Deily, Anys Yudith, Carlos - thank you so much.

At Sunset Bar, we had several lunch here from the grill section, and also snacks (before dinner & midnight snacks). Yuniel, Yadira, Natali, Anliet Cheilan, Javier, Marisol, Ariel - thank you everyone. I have to give a special shout out to Tony for going the extra mile. You took care of us very well, my families and my friends. You have an amazing voice too and it was nice to hear you sing. Thank you also for helping us pack some burgers and fries for our return flight. To Jose Enrique and Reynaldo at the grill, you guys are the grill masters. I know how hot it was to grill under the sun, but you guys are still serving with a smile on your face.

Since we spent the majority of our times at the beach we want to give a special shout out to Eberto, Enrique and Norge, for making sure that we're taken care of. You guys always check on us every single time to make sure that we're ok and that our drinks are full. To Oslay and Rosemary, thank you for taking the time to say hello. You guys remembered us from last time and we still love your yummy quesadillas. To Raxon & Jose, thanks for helping us find our loungers at the beach and for sweeping the sands off. A special thank you to Yandy (the lifeguard) for helping my uncle when he was in trouble in the ocean.

At the Front Desk Reception, Dania and Jorge, thank you for going the extra mile in addressing all our concerns, especially with our wifi needs. Dania, it was very nice to see you again.

To the bell boys we met in this trip, Oscar and Fernando, thank you for driving us around the resort when we were bored LOL. For all the rides you gave our families and friends, thank you.

To Sonia and Liane at the lobby washroom, it was nice to see you again.

To the rest of the butler team, Liam, Alexis, Javier & Lester, thank you for taking the time to say hello to us. You guys remembered us and that was really sweet. Although you weren't our butler, you still checked on us if everything was ok. Omar (we missed you) hopefully you'll be back soon.

To our housekeeper, Jaime, thank you for keeping our room tidy and for all the floral and towel arrangements. Aleida, although we were at Bungalow 8 this time, you still said hello to us and it was really nice to see you again. You're like our mom now at Royalton.

BEACH
Cayo Santa Maria offers the most breathtaking beach we have ever seen. Clear turquoise water with miles and miles of fine white sand. The ocean was definitely calmer this time around and we swam every single day, even on our very last day. The shore and the water is also shallow. No matter what time you go to the beach, you can always find a beach lounger. I love walking along the beach to pass my time. You can walk to your right facing the ocean towards the Sanctuary resort (where you have access to). It takes about 10-15 minutes one way depending on your mobility level. If you go to your left, you can walk for up to an hour one way. Here, you will see the other resorts (most of them are still closed). When I saw the other resorts, it gave me more appreciation of Royalton. I love watching the birds go hunt for their fish and the sandpipers running around the shore. We saw lots of small fish swimming nearby and a few big ones too. My friends, who love fishing, went on a fishing adventure one early morning with the help of Alejandro and Dayan from the Animacion Team.

FOOD
Although this is our second time, the taste and the quality of the food is still amazing. Even my families and friends are surprised on how delicious the food are. One of my friend said it's the best he's ever had and who knew he'll be dining on lobster, steak, salmon and risotto in one night. Their executive chef, Jesus, does a great job in overlooking the quality and the taste of the food in the resort. You'll also see him walking around saying hello to the guests and making sure that he gets feedbacks on the taste of the food - always looking to improve. There's always something for everyone: pork, beef, chicken, fish, calamari, lobster, seafood, vegetables and fruits. My husband and I are foodies, and we truly enjoyed every single meal. The menu at Eggscellence and Senses are different now, it used to be the same during our 1st trip back in April. Royalton also organized a special dinner for all their guests one night where everyone had lobsters. There's also the Diamond Dinner for the repeat guests.

Please keep in mind that although dinner is à la carte, you can always order more than one main, so you can taste both, or more. Since my parents were not sure if they will like what they ordered, I encouraged them to order two mains, just in case they like the other one more. When my friend ordered 3 main courses one night, the waitress told him "no, that's too much" and she looked unhappy. It made him feel embarrassed and I thought it was kind of rude of the waitress to say this to him in front of everyone. Every single night, he was having such a wonderful dining experience, except for this one night. He was very hungry though as we went on an all-day excursion and this was his first real full meal of the day. Maybe they were short-staff at that time but it's just this one incident which put a dent on his overall amazing dining experience at Royalton. And yes, my friend finished all his 3 mains that night.

I must say though that despite the economic turmoil Cuba went through this past 2 years with the lack & shortage of tourism, Royalton still did an amazing job. Sure, sometimes they ran out of certain things, but keep in mind, that we also experience the same thing in Canada. My husband and I actually liked the idea of à la carte dining as supposed to buffet, as it helped us eat in proper portions (to maintain our physiques), and made us feel better for not wasting food either. If you have a certain favourite spice (chilli flakes, calamansi, or toyo or a special vinegar), bring it, and it will help enhance your dining experience. However, we find that we don't really need to add further spices, but it helped to spice it up sometimes to remind you of home. If you find the food too salty, you can also ask for them to go easy on the salt.  Remember, you can always make changes in your reservations to cater to your own schedule. Also, a must try is the lobster and chicken quesadillas at the beach snack bar. And if you like fresh coconuts, just ask the gardeners. Jose Luis, thank you for serving fresh coconuts to us. My parents had them every single day. While staying at Royalton, you also have access to Sanctuary, Grand Memories and Memory. We went for a lunch buffet during their Cuban Day at Sanctuary and it was a lot of fun. Thank you Michel for organizing this as well.

DRINKS
There's definitely a lot more drinkers this time around. Since the hotel is not in full capacity, they didn't really ran out of drink choices. The main lobby bar seemed to always have everything, so it's a good place to find your drink. Also, they make the best coffees there. They have like 10 types of coffees. To Bernardo, Yoandry, Luis Alberto and Yadira at the Lobby Bar, thanks for making sure that our group always have a fun night of drinking. Remember to bring your own tumbler at the pool and beach bars, to help prevent plastic cup wastage. To Norge, Enrique and Eberto at the Beach Bar, you guys are spectacular. Thank you for all the Malibu Pineapple you got for us. These guys work so hard under the heat of the sun and they come to you while you lounge at the beach.

POOL
There's 2 main pools: there's the Lobby Pool which is much quieter and peaceful and less crowded; and there's the main Entertainment Pool which has music and activities throughout the afternoon. My husband and I are not really pool people, but we did swam in both pools during our stay. We liked the quieter pool in the main lobby a lot more. Since the hotel wasn't at full capacity, there's plenty of lounger beds available for everyone.

ENTERTAINMENT
We are a group of 19 people (the youngest is 18 years old and the oldest is 85 years old). I've never seen my dad danced in public and he had so much fun. My friend's mom, who's 85 years old, also danced in front of everyone. The Animacion Team: Dayan, Anibal, Nerelys, Karelys, Blanca, Lis, Mario and Alejandro, made sure that everyone is having a great time. Whether it's reading a book or dancing salsa, there's always something to do everyday for everyone. These guys work all day long until 11pm, and yet you see them always smiling and always cheering you up. Every night they have themed shows. We thoroughly enjoyed the Cuban Night with live music and professional Cuban dancers, the Michael Jackson Show, the Aquatic Show by the Pool, and the Retro Night. My husband and I love dancing, but dancing usually stops at 11pm every night, so we are left to entertain ourselves. The majority of the guests goes the bed before midnight and it's usually the quiet time.

ROOMS
Since we're repeat guests, we were upgraded to an ocean-view room in Bungalow 8. This bungalow is far enough from the main entertainment pool so we have peace and quiet all the time. Each bungalow has 10 rooms. Rooms 01 to 06 are at the ground floor and rooms 07 to 10 are on top floors. We prefer the top floors better. If you got the standard room, you can opt to pay extra for an ocean-view. I must admit that the rooms are dated and may need some upgrades. The bed is comfortable though and we requested for extra pillows and took advantage of the 24-hour room service. We're fortunate to not have any problems with our room, but we heard from the other guests we met, had few concerns that were addressed right away. Bungalow 5 and 6 are closest to the beach, but honestly, the resort is small enough that it's not really much of a walk whether you're at the furthest bungalow. There's 122 rooms in the entire resort. If you have mobility issues though, maybe ask for bungalows that are closed to the lobby and at the center of everything such as bungalow 1, 5, 6 and 11.

WIFI
WIFI is included during your stay. You can always recharge your wifi if you ran out (speak with the reception desk). It's surprisingly strong and fast, especially at the lobby. We're fortunate to have good wifi connection from our room.

MOSQUITOES
OMG. There were lots of them, like all day, all night, especially if there's no wind. This is the only bad thing we experienced at Royalton and it's something that the hotel can't control. Unfortunately there's been a series of rain every single day of the week prior to our arrival. Although we had great sunny weather and calm waters during our stay, the mosquitoes were out in full force. The hotel did fumigations every night, so that helped a bit, but after a few hours, they will come out again. We tried OFF, Repel, Lemon Eucalyptus, and the only thing that works is the "WATKINS Great Outdoors Insect Repellent Spray with 30% DEET" from Costco. You need DEET. It says it's good for 6 hours but we find ourselves re-applying after 2 hours. Also, bring After Bite creams. Make sure you're covered at night or bring a foldable handheld fan (abaniko) to fan away the mosquitoes. Also, don't wear any perfumes/colognes or use any scented body wash or lotions as it will attract more mosquitoes. The best solution to stay away from mosquitoes is dip or swim at the beach or pool.

LGBTQ
The hotel is LGBTQ friendly. We saw some other LGBTQ couples during our stay and the staff are so welcoming. I really appreciated it when the staff addressed my husband as my "husband". This may be a small thing, but to be acknowledged as a couple made a big impact during our stay.

TIPPING
We brought $5 CAD bills with us and $1 US bills. Please don't tip your CAD coins (loonies and toonies) as they are completely useless to them. Also, make sure that the bills you give are in good conditions (not ripped or stained or inked all over). I heard that although the bank exchange rate for $1 Canadian is about 18 Cuban Pesos, the $1 Canadian in the black market is actually 80 Cuban Pesos. So if you give 20 Cuban Pesos, you're actually giving about 25 cents Canadian. If you give $1 US bill, it's equivalent to 100 Cuban Pesos in the black market. It's really up to you how you want to tip but I do recommend setting aside some bills only for tipping. They also appreciate any personal toiletries (toothpaste, toothbrush, shaving razors, feminine hygiene pads, lotions), medicines (Tylenol, Advil, cough syrups), clothing (especially for kids) and most especially footwears. We also brought in chocolates and cookies from Canada for their kids.

MUCHAS GRACIAS ROYALTON CAYO SANTA MARIA. You exceeded all of our expectations and we will definitely be back again. Michel Romero, you're the best! Thank you for everything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Customer Service is Gold Standard here. Everyone is so nice and willing to serve you. THE BEST BEACH & FOOD in Cuba!
The weak points
It would help if the hotel add more mosquito repellents throughout the entire grounds (especially the populated areas and common spaces), mostly at night, so everyone can enjoy the outdoors more. Also, the rooms can use some renovation and upgrades.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
There's hand sanitizers everywhere and staff are constantly cleaning the common spaces.

Amazing resort

, Vancouver, BC
2022-06-22
We had such a wonderful experience in this resort. We had Michel and Omar as butlers and they were so nice to us everyday. They arranged our dinner reservations for our stay. Food is delicious, mainly at the grill. Beach is second to none, blue water and white sands. For sure we will be back in October [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, the staff is so kind and they greet us everyday, the food is high quality, the service the more professional i have ever experience and animation is very relaxing.

What a gorgeous beach!

, Inverary, ON
2022-04-09
The resort is located on a beautiful stretch of beach with turquoise waters. The rooms are large and clean. The staff are extremely accommodating and very friendly. The resort is very well managed with a hands on approach by the boss. I would highly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great staff!
The weak points
The resort is older and is in need of some TLC but this is minor in the overall experience.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean
Certified

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

, Toronto, HA
2022-03-21
We had such a good time. Small resort, only two swimming pools. Amazing beach and excellent service. Xavier the butler was very helpful. They have three restaurants offering great menu. For Cuba the food was unexpectedly good. The only problem is moskitos. Be prepared. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Thank you for the beautiful vacation!

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-12
Hotel Royalton Cayo Santa Maria is perfect!
Service was really very good.
Everything was clean and safe.
Management is working very professional.
Location - the best you can imagine: beautiful beach with the velvet sand.
We definitely will recommend Royalton to our friends.
Thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Location: the best beach we ever seen. Good management.
Certified

Absolutely perfect

, Nepean, ON
2022-02-13
The General Manager Alexandro.is there and interacting with guests and there to help when you need it. They also have a 'butler" for each set of rooms..Mine were Liam and Alexis and they were amazing. Their English is great so they can help with anything you need.

The rooms are excellent. They're huge, clean, with comfy beds. The bathrooms have a walk in shower with a separate soaker tub and I was staying in the lowest.price room - the garden view room.

The food was incredible. I was pleasantly surprised given the pandemic and all. They didn't have massive buffets but they did have a la carte with some buffet options. Some highlights was the tuna steak, potatoe soup, tortillas by the beach, caramel icecream, and all the chicken dishes. A girl I met there had severe food allergies and they catered to her every need.

The beach is second to none. I've traveled all over the world (Thailand, Greece, throughout the Caribbean, etc) and there is nothing like the beaches in Cuba in my opinion.

Finally the atmosphere was just soooo chill. It was like everyone there was on the same wave length. There were party areas and quiet areas so it there was a place for whatever your mood. It's a smaller more intimate resort but not too small by any means

There were a lot of solo travelers but it didn't matter if you were solo or not everyone socialized and mixed a mingled and got a long It was all Canadians so it was just a great vibe.

As far as covid. There are no entry requirements except to fill out an online form..So super easy to get in. All staff where masks everywhere whether inside or.outside. No one had tested positive on the resort since Dec. They check your to.when you get off the plane and they do.the PCR test.at.the resort for $30 USD.

All.and all just what the Dr ordered. Absolutely perfect vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, service, food, rooms, covid testing and precautions
The weak points
Can't think of anything

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria 2022 - Fantastic Resort

, Guelph, ON
2022-02-03
This is a smaller more personal resort. The people that work here are first and foremost the best part. Our Butlers: Ketia & Diego were awesome. Loved Tony at the Snack bar & Letisia at Eggcellence - we miss you lots! Our rooms were perfect even though we didn't spend much time in them. The pools were awesome and the beach was picture perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the Jeep Safari (leader: Ray) & full day private catamaran/snorkling/dolfin (leader: Freddy & Chino) excursions. We will do those again when we come back next year! We booked for 10 days and it was the right amount of time to get settled and feel relaxed. We may consider the 14 day one next time because we definitely didn't want to leave for home. The weather was beautiful - although next time we will come at the end of Feb vs January since there were a couple of cooler days. This resort was well maintained and again, the people who worked there were awesome!!! We booked our PCR test which was needed before coming home from the resort and got the results the day before our flight home. Thank you to all the wonderful people who made this trip memorable for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
People! People! People!
The weak points
none
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
excellent
Certified

Can't Wait to Return!

, Ottawa, ON
2022-01-31
Our stay at The Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria was an absolute dream. The perfect quiet get away for me and my partner. The staff were helpful, friendly and thoughtful. Everyone was very willing to help me practice my Spanish - especially Alejandro the GM. He would offer tips and suggestions for me to practice. Considering that this hotel was just beginning to reopen after COVID-19 closures, I was very impressed. There was the odd thing that needed to be updated, but we had minimal issues the entire trip (the wifi was a bit of a challenge, but who needs it when you've got the ocean?!)

I do want to give a special mention to our butler Noelvis. Noelvis went above and beyond every day for us. He even asked to take our cabana for 30 minutes to plan a special surprise. We arrived back at our cabana to discover a beautiful bubble bath and bubble HOT TUB! We were glad to speak with him every morning he was working. You're in EXCELLENT hands if you have Noelvis taking care of you. In his words he's "always up for a mission" whether that be for hot sauce, bug spray or recommendations of any kind. WE LOVE NOELVIS! Honestly, he's a big part of why I would happily return to The Royalton.

The hotel was clean, beautiful and easy to navigate.
The beach was STUNNING!!
The food was most delicious at the beach cafe and bbq at the Snack Bar.
Our favourite bartender (Bernardo) at the Lobby Bar was phenomenal.

The only thing I would do differently is pack my own hot sauce and some earl grey tea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- Noelivis (Butler) - Gorgeous Beach - Beautiful pools - Excellent breakfast
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff were masked at all times. We received PCR tests prior to our departure. Hotel was always clean.
Certified

Royalton Cayo Santa Clara Cuba

, Providence Bay, ON
2020-03-26
This was our 4th time at this resort. So that should tell you something. Beautiful resort, very quaint only 122 rooms. Staff are amazing. Management are so very kind. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is incredible. Staff amazing. Resort is immaculate. I love this resort. Husleika, Dario, Sosa, Neyrelas, Disladey, Mylin, Darien, Luis, Marlyn, Pedro, Edwardo, Horjay and so many more. Also the return guest turnout is very high.
The weak points
Food is very tasty but not hot. It was lukewarm to cold. Rooms would need a bit of a update but really not a big issue as they are very clean. I really missed not having the pizza counter.
Certified

Fantastic resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-03-02
This was our first stay at Royalton and our 17th trip to Cuba. Royalton was a real upgrade in price but was worth every penny. We have stayed at Memories next door several times and enjoyed every trip but Royalton was a big step up.
With only 122 rooms it provides a level of service that can't be matched by larger resorts.
All the staff we encountered from servers to bar staff to grounds keepers treated us like family. A special shout out to our butlers, Liam and Noelvis, Mirielle and Daniel in Eggsellence and Antonio in Sunset, (forgive the spelling).
I didn't get any names of the staff at the beach but you guys are amazing. The chef took a hotdog and made it into a work of art and the servers were tireless.
We stayed in room 201 and a special thank you to the cleaning staff that kept our room absolutely perfect.
The food was very good with ample selection. Although I didn't see a french fry for a week I didn't give it a second thought.
From the spectacular beach to the beautiful pools this resort is a cut above the rest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The level of service from the amazing staff makes us want to return and recommend Royalton to everyone.
The weak points
No weak points other than a lack of a few things on the menu, but we hardly noticed
Certified

Perfect Vacation

, Regina, SK
2020-02-28
The Royalton is a well maintained resort on one of the best beaches in the Caribbean. Their three a la carte resorts are excellent. The resort has a large attentive staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing. We had outstanding service throughout the resort. Special mention to our butlers, Liam and Noelvis, our maid Dayami, Miriell at Eggslence, Antonio at the Sunset Snack Bar, and Gelvis at the Lobby Bar.
The weak points
It's very hard to find one! They were out of hash browns for breakfast. Considering the storages at neighbouring resorts, this was very minor!
Certified

Royalton Cato Santa Maria

, Pt Stanley, ON
2020-02-27
Loved it, best Cuban vacation we have ever had. Excellent service, good food, staff was wonderful. No request was ignored and always completed promptly and with a smile. Beach was gorgeous and pools never overcrowded. Washrooms very clean and kept that way. Rooms spacious and maid was great, small issue with a sticky patio door but we figured it out. All in all a wonderful vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing experience

, Cornwall, ON
2020-01-26
The Royalton is a small resort that creates a family-like feel. The staff is very attentive to your needs to make sure that your stay is a memorable one. We will definitely be returning to the Royalton. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-butler service (Lester is absolutely amazing) -good food -friendly staff and atmosphere -
The weak points
Developed a bad, itchy rash that resembles bites and also a really bad cough. I lost my voice for several days. After speaking to other guests, some had the same problem. My husband did not experience anything
Certified

Beautiful Beaches!

, Brampton, ON
2019-12-03
Decent for what we paid. Beaches were amazing. Pools were okay, but clean. Rooms were cute. No real ocean view which kind of sucked but close walk to beach. Didn't like the food! Super limited options. But I heard that's normal for Cuba. Staff are all very hard working. Went with a good group so it doesn't matter, company is all it takes to have a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Absolutely beautiful

, Markham, ON
2019-09-06
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The staff and management were wonderful and very friendly. We had a butler from the minute we got off the bus and they checked in with us Every morning to help us plan our day. If we needed anything I would just call him and he would call me back immediately. The grounds were clean and well kept with beautiful plants and flowers. The food was fine dining and very good. The beach was the best I've seen and I've been to many beaches. I would definitely go back to this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing customer service!
The weak points
The rooms needs some repairs. Door don't close properly and cracks in the bottom of doors.

My 2 week at the Royalton, in Cayo Santa Maria!

, Richmondhill, ON
2019-08-29
This was my first trip at this hotel!
We were disappointed for the hotel, we wanted to go to a 5 Star Hotel, but this one is probably a 3 Star! It's really run down.
Everything also is good, like the people are amazing, the beach is the best I ever seen, the food is ok but not too many varieties, if you ask for the sheaf and you tip him you will get better meal! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and their service was excellent!
The weak points
The hotel needs badly renovation!!!
Certified

I would not return

, Cbs, NL
2019-05-24
The beach and ocean areas are amazing. However, the ease of your actual stay seems to depend very much in the butlers you are assigned. We were not assigned good ones - had to ask for things (coffee, water, wine) many times. The housekeeper, however, was excellent. We got sick from the food and the lack of food variety alone would prevent us from going back. We normally eat quite healthy but the food here is not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is the very best point, one of the most beautiful I've ever been on and not crowded; very clean rooms.
The weak points
Food at the resort is the worst point; mosquitoes are also very bad. Having to ask for things like water, coffee and wine for the room over and over before getting it.
Certified

Awesome service, beautiful resort!

, Terrebonne, QC
2019-03-10
We stayed at the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria from February 23 to March 2, 2019. This was our first time at this resort, and our 20th time in Cuba, having stayed at various resorts in Varadero, Cayo Coco, Cayo Largo, and Holguin in the past.

LOCATION: The grounds of the resort are beautiful, mature, and very well-maintained by the gardeners. The resort's buildings and furnishings are slightly showing some age, but nonetheless are very nice. Yes, the distance is an approximate 90-minute bus ride to and from the airport, but it is a pleasant guided ride with three towns that we pass through, then the 45 km drive along the causeway to reach the Cayos.

CHECK-IN: The experience was pleasant. The bell men immediately took care of our luggage. We were met by our wonderful butler, Diego, who invited us to take a seat in the comfortable lobby while he looked after the check-in process for us. We had arrived at the hotel around lunch time and our room wasn't ready. Diego gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us the snack bar where we could have lunch while our room was being prepared.

ROOM: Our room on the second floor of Bungalow 10 was clean and spacious. We were able to see the ocean above the next row of bungalows. There was a “Keurig-type” coffee machine with coffee pods stocked daily, sugar, etc. There were two coffee cups, four small glasses, and two Champagne flutes available. There was a flat screen TV with USB ports on the left side – convenient for charging electronics. Note that when the TV is turned off, the charging stops. The bed's mattress, linens and pillows were very comfortable. The closet held two extra blankets, an ironing board and iron, 2 bathrobes, 2 large umbrellas, and a digital safe that was large enough to store a tablet. The closet also had plenty of storage space for hanging, shelving and drawers. (I always pack extra hangers since I don't travel light and I find that there are never enough hangers anywhere I go). The fridge was stocked daily with beers and soft drinks. Large bottles of flat water were always replenished. The electrical outlets are 220V and there is a 110V (for razor only) in the bathroom. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower as well as a separate tub. The bathroom counter was long enough to contain our tons of toiletries. Note that it is very common for resorts in Cuba to not provide facecloths. This resort was no exception, and we always bring our own anyway. The balcony was furnished with nice wrought iron chairs with comfortable cushions and there was a small table. Everything in our room was in functioning order. The building was very quiet and we never heard any sounds coming from the other rooms. A suggestion would be to add wall-mounted clothes racks on balconies for guests to hang wet swimsuits, as there were none available (no big deal, but it would be a “nice to have”).

ROOM SERVICE: The service was very quick and efficient. We had our morning routine of ordering cappuccinos. One morning, a snack bar server knocked on our door with two cappuccinos that we had not yet phoned for – what terrific service!

RESTAURANTS: Tastes are subjective and therefore what one may like, another may not. It is important to have an opened mind when travelling. We agree that food is better in Mexico or the Dominican Republic, yet we travelled there in the past and we much prefer visiting Cuba. Why? The Cuban people are amazing, we feel safe to wander around in Cuba, the cigars are the best in the world, and the music is wonderful. Now that I got that out of the way, everything we ate was either good or very good. From the morning breakfasts in the restaurant or snack bar; to the lunches either at the restaurant, snack bar, barbecue grill, or pizzas by the lower pool; to the dinners at either of the two restaurants, the special langosta dinner at the snack bar, the amazing Gala Night buffet on Wednesday with a terrific assortment of pretty much everything including langosta, we always had a good meal. We did have access to the buffet and specialty restaurants at the sister resort, but based on Trip Adviser reviews, we felt it was best to remain at the Royalton for all of our meals.

BUTLERS: Our butlers were Diego and Liam. We were celebrating a birthday while there, and our butlers went above and beyond to ensure that it was special; from a champagne bubble bath, to a beautiful filet mignon and langosta dinner under one of the awnings at the upper pool area. They work very long hours, and are always seeking to ensure their guests are very well taken care of.

BEACH: The beach is beautiful with very soft sand; it is clean and raked daily. We found the beach here to be much nicer than that of Varadero. For snorkeling enthusiasts, there isn't much to see – mostly sand and a few fish here and there. The Royalton's beach has plenty of palapas and chairs. Drinks service at the beach is frequent and efficient. We never needed to walk over to the beach bar to get drinks. The beach bar's restrooms are clean and stocked with paper and soap (yet, the doors do not lock). The beach towel exchange takes place at the Activities booth.

POOLS: The upper and lower pools are beautifully designed and were clean. We spent one afternoon at the upper “quiet” pool, and never got around to spending time at the lower “activities” pool. This means we will need to go back to enjoy the lower pool!

NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT: Each night, the entertainment varied and was very professional and talented. Guests meet up at the lobby to enjoy the nightly shows. The lobby bar had a nice atmosphere each evening.

WELLNESS: The resort offered professional yoga classes daily given by Canadian instructors. The animation team also offered free of charge amazing hand and foot massages at the beach.

OVERALL SERVICE: The service from the entire team at the Royalton was exceptional! The General Manager, Cesar, was very present throughout the resort, and he took the time to speak with and listen to guests to ensure they were enjoying their holiday. The service here takes it up a notch compared to other 5 star or 4.5 star resorts we have visited in Cuba.

WATER SPORTS: The Royalton does not have a water sports area per say, but provides access to the facilities next door at the sister resort, Grand Memories. There were several Hobie Cat catamarans, pedal boats, and limited windsurfing equipment available. On some occasions, the Hobie Cat would come over to our section of the beach. Otherwise, it was a nice walk to Grand Memories to request to hop on a Hobie Cat ride.

PLAZA LA ESTRELLA SHOPPING AREA: The bank, shops, artisan stalls, spa, gym, bowling alley, etc. are literally located a few steps from the Royalton. Many other resorts require that their guests take a bus or cab to get there. The area is referred to as the “pueblo” or market. It's a nice place to take a stroll to buy souvenirs, rum, cigars, etc. There are a few restaurants $$ that we did not try. The pueblo also contains a theater whereby a Buena Vista Social Club show takes place on Monday nights. If you purchase tickets at the door, the cost is 40 CUC. We purchased our tickets onboard the Sunwing flight for $31 CAD. If you are a fan of Cuban music and want to see a show with past Grammy winners and nominees, I highly recommend this show. I also used the massage services at the spa. As Royalton guests, we receive a 20% discount. The massage therapist was very professional, the installations were very clean, and the overall experience was very nice.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, and we are looking forward to another visit in the near future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Amazing service by the entire staff -Beautiful beach -Great comfort -Quiet and great for relaxation -7 hours of free Wi-Fi
The weak points
None
Certified

Extremely Disapointed!!

, Orangeville, ON
2019-01-18
We were so looking forward to our vacation from Jan 6-13. Our first time at the Royalton and our 5th time visiting different parts of Cuba. I want to say we understand that Cuba is a very poor country and the people work very hard long hours. Our expectations are in check with the country we were visiting.

Our biggest issue with this resort was the restaurants. The service was the worst we have ever experienced. Our first dinner was infuriating. We started with our salad and then a family of six came in, it was obvious they were more important than any other table in the restaurant. They enjoyed specialty drinks from the bar, starters and now had the main course and were waiting for soup! All hands on deck for this table! The restaurant manager was useless and should be re-trained along with the staff. The reservations manager Arturo Martínez did his very best to make our dinner the best it could that night by having Kateia at the restaurant by the lower pool take care of us...thank you to both of you!

All I can say is that the majority of meals we had very poor, slow service and always most of the items on the menu weren't available. No bread for 3 days, no chicken, no hamburgers, no bacon. Once at breakfast we asked for bacon..brings eggs no bacon says it's cooking will be a little bit...keep in mind we're already waiting 15 minutes for eggs. He returns when we are done our eggs with one slice of bacon for two of us! Next day we ask do you have bacon she replies yes...she brings our eggs and informs us the bacon is frozen. We see the head chef come in, my husband asks do you have bacon? He replies yes and returns with a plate of bacon for our table and the table next to us because they've been told the same. Crazy!

Our first room was very musty smelling, we turned on the air and went for lunch to see if it would be better, it wasn't. Arturo Martínez had us relocated to a bungalow near the lobby and it was better! We were very happy with his assistance. He was wonderful during our stay and did his very best to make our trip better. Unfortunately, he is just one person.

I will say the bar service was good! They all knew how to make drinks! Except for the bar manager who took over the bar and had the bartender serving drinks...ridiculous! The beach bar and the pool bars provided good service! Especially the beach service was top notch! Two days we had quesadillas on the beach and they were quite tasty! Something they should offer on the lunch menu.

The beach and the pool were beautiful just as we had hoped for!!

We truly based our decision to go to this resort on the 5 star status it had. I have never been more disappointed then I was on this trip & we travel regularly. The amount charged for this resort is not in check with what you get! We will never return to this resort! Feel free to contact me with any questions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Our review

, Ariss, ON
2019-01-11
Hotel a little tired but staff and service were excellent! Beach perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff service entertainment beach
The weak points
Needs some updating. Food quiet good but some items not available at some restaurants ... fresh vegetables, bread, condiments.
Certified

Xmas week 2018

, Orleans, ON
2019-01-01
I, unfortunately, was comparing this Royalton with the one in Riviera Maya and was definitely disappointed. I would not consider this a 5 star due to the condition of the room: closet and patio door very hard to open, missing plug for bathtub, bathroom smells like urine all the time, room needs new tiles and better pillows. But the service we got from our butlers was just amazing - Maria Rosa and Javier. All staff were polite and hospitable. I realized that I missed having a buffet, if you want something to eat, it is all a-la-carte. Although the buffet at Memories is open to us, it is still quite a walk or cart ride to get to and not easily accessible from the beach. I knew not to expect much for the food in Cuba but we thought if we chose a 5 star and a Canadian resort, we would get something better but not exactly. Unfortunately, the weather was not that great, very cloudy and windy which brought in seaweeds on the beach, both things that cannot be controlled. They did clean the beach everyday though. You can't go wrong with the ocean and the beach (white sand and aqua waters). The beach bar area has broken deck boards and one that was replaced but higher than the others and I stubbed my toe on it. They advertise 3 a-la-carte restaurants but two of them (Senses and Eggcellence) the menu is the same for both even though it changes everyday, they both have the same menu. The ride to the resort from the airport is at least 1.5 hours but the worst was arriving at the Santa Clara airport and going through customs, it took us over 1.5 hours standing in line waiting for them to let one person per line (no barriers so many lines were merging into other lines) to have their picture taken while the person behind the glass window took their sweet time verifying your passport. We had lost 3 hours with customs and transport to the resort !!! Never again !! We did love the entertainment which was in the lobby area and had different entertainers every few hours. The market is soo close to the resort, a 30 second walk from the lobby and felt safe. We took a cart to the a-la-carte at Memories and then walked back to the Royalton in the dark with no worries. I was glad that I brought my salad dressing from home (they only have oil and vinegar) and peanut butter and jam - they only have honey and cream cheese for toast. I was looking forward to croissants (this is the only time I eat them) but they did not have any at all. All in all it was an ok trip but not worth the money we spent at Xmas week (~$2000.00 each). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, many lounge chairs (no reserving needed), all staff are friendly, great entertainment (musicians and dancers), very quiet resort, great for relaxing. Water pressure was amazing with very hot water. 2 butlers that gave great service.
The weak points
rooms needs updating, food is just ok, no buffet just a-la-carte. Public washroom at the beach needs a new toilet seat and some how to dry hands (hand dryer not working - no paper towels available) same for the washroom at the pool.
Certified

Royalton

, Terrebonne, QC
2018-09-28
all good---food very bad, cold-no variety- they will be losing many future travellers because of there stupidity and lack of concern. this doesn't include that one day they have a product and the next they don't (this happens at every hotel)---the whole spa was broken--sauna and steam room...change your cdn. money at airport or bank. NOT AT RECEPTION. 10-15% XTRA. this was 4th and last time at royalton santa maria.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach-room-ok.-staff.
The weak points
food-no variety-
Certified

Our little piece of Paradis!

, Brossard, QC
2018-09-09
We have just returned from this hotel. We have travelled to various destinations in the Caribbean over the last 10 years and stayed at numerous 5 stars (Paradisus Punta Cana, Valentin Imperial Maya, Royal Suites Turquesa, Iberostar Rose Hall and Bahai principe Jamaica). Royalton outshines all these hotels with their impeccable service.

Room:
We were upgraded to a Cabana suite which was beautiful, spacious and amazingly clean. Although, there are things that remind you that this is still Cuba, some cracked tiles or some lack of paint. The room was impeccable. The beds were the most comfortable of all our travels. Our butlers (Danny and Noelvis) made sure that everything was even more perfect. They would cater to all of our request with a smile and even went beyond. They both made us feel special and did an amazing job making this an excellent vacation.
Restaurants:
We enjoyed almost every meal, from simple burgers to the Chateaubriand served. We were also able to enjoy lobster twice. The food is really good and served hot. I would suggest to have a little salad and cheese buffet for lunch and dinner they do with breakfast, that would have made my experience even better. Rachel and Dieki were great. Dieki has a wonderful smile.
Pool Bars:
We would alternate between the beach and the quiet pool, the service at the quiet pool, was the best service I have ever experienced at poolside, we were even brought an ice bucket with bottled water. The two bartenders (Yusleika as well as Dario) who alternate are nice and friendly. They were both amazing.

Lobby Bar:
We would start our day with a delicious cappuccino and finish our day with a drink at the lobby bar. Amazing, friendly and professional service.

Summary
All in All, I believe we found our little glimpse of paradis, the beach is heavenly, the service is beyond expectations, and the food is excellent. Royalton Cayo Santa Maria is a very special place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Service, Beautiful Beach, Pool, Staff
The weak points
None
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022