Villa Iguana

Villa Iguana
3.523.523.523.523.52
3.52 based on 151 reviews
#6 of 8 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Largo
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (56)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

They try so hard

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-07
This was our third time at Villa Iguana. We love it because life is so simple there, just slow right down and enjoy. Sure the place is not the Ritz, but you are made to feel so welcome by the staff. Always a smile and a `Hola`. Despite the need for some TLC the resort is kept very clean and the grounds are groomed constantly.Some days there is a beach, some days not, but there is always a place to lie in the sun. The fool is simple and if you get it before the fly's find it , it is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, They make your vacation something special, like visiting you favorite Aunt and Uncle at the cottage.
The weak points
The fly's,They are all over the food and people do not seem to be able to replace the plastic wrap after they have taken all they want.
Certified

A Restful Stay

, Gananoque, ON
2020-02-04
Villa Iguana was a perfect location for complete rest and reflection. The location is quiet and has everything I was looking for in a low-impact holiday. The staff are friendly and eager to help, the rooms comfortable, the pools and beach beautiful. Meals are simple, but tasty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location (with access to adjoining beaches and resorts) and a very quiet location. Loved the clothing optional spaces. Nighttime stars are gorgeous.
The weak points
The beach sometimes disappears with the changing tides.
Certified

Nice Quiet Retreat

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-30
The facilities were good...the service was excellent...the beach was eroded a fair bit and unfortunately the tide was high for the first half of my stay. But the tide receded to reveal a beautiful beach.

There was a respectable beach just to the west of the resort...also there is a very nice beach close to the marina and airport which you can take a boat and ferry to...the hotel was nice enough not to charge the standard $5 CUC fee.

I found the staff really nice and helpful more so than average in Cuba..the food was about average for Cuba maybe a bit better...the morning omeletes were good and the pizza at the snack bar was really good.

All in all it was a really nice stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Peace and quiet..really nice and consistent weather for 2 weeks...the beach when tide was low...friendly staff...snack bar pizza.
The weak points
The beach when tide was high(but there was a really nice alternative by bus and ferry)
Certified

Good for what it was

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-24
We had a fun week at this resort. It was March break and this was the least expensive trip we could get. The staff were great in the bar and in the restaurants(just 2 buffet and ranchon) Food was good and the hot trays were good and hot and the cold trays were frosty which is unusual in Cuba in my experience. They need a bug zapper in the buffet though way more flies than I am used too seeing in my 16 trips to Cuba. We had a couple of small problems in the room, the shower curtain rail fell down and the AC stopped working but both problems were fixed in 2 hours of them happenimg. Honestly I would think about going back if the price was right except that 2 storms in late Dec and early January have washed the beach away completely. Not some but the whole beach is gone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff tried really hard. Hot and cold tables worked really well in the restaurants.
The weak points
No beach left....NONE AT ALL.
Certified

Great hotel and wonderful vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-15
Have been to Cayo Largo now three times. First two times were both at the Sol which is still a nice hotel but too large and too crowded for my taste and I hate wearing a wristband. The Iguana is not as big and not as many people and adults only which the Sol used to be but is no longer. Not a party hotel at all so if you are thinking Ibiza and all night raves, not for you. Stayed in a new bungalow room overlooking the sea and it was great. Other travelers prefer the older rooms around the pool but I don't like hearing the noise and music from the pool and bar. Traveled alone and met lots of really nice people from Quebec and Ontario. Forgot how truly lovely and welcoming and kind the Cuban people are and how safe a country it is compared to pretty much any other south destination. Not too much beach left to speak of in front of the Iguana thanks to the high tide and strong winds but you are not far from the main beach and can walk through neighboring resorts all the way to the Sol, or along the beach from in front of the Lindemar. Then of course there is the remarkable beauty of Playa Sirena which is a free bus and boat transfer available several times a day from the hotel, so no complaints about a lack of beaches if you don't mind a little exercise. Food was very good... I've been to Cuba probably 20 times and while not quite at the level (and far from the much higher prices) of the Paradisus Princessa in Varadero or the Melia Buenavista or Royal Hideaway in Cayo Santa Maria, Iguana is certainly on par with the other hotels in Cayo Largo. I actually liked it better than my stays at the Sol. The snack bar is particularly good and the service is excellent. And the lobster half dinner at the Ranchon with calamari and grilled shrimp for an extra 10CUC is amazing. Bartenders and servers and maids and gardeners and front desk and animation staff are all friendly and accommodating and are grateful and most deserving of your tips. No single supplement in winter is an amazing value and the price I paid was the least I have ever spent for two weeks anywhere. A terrific holiday and would go back in a heartbeat. They are hard at work on refreshing the old pool at the opposite end of the hotel past the bungalows towards Playa Blanca and it's going to be very nice with another bar, and washrooms close to the beach when there is one. Warning to non-smokers: the hotel, rooms and restaurants are non-smoking, but people smoke at the main bar (which is outdoors) and on their balconies and patios, and outside at the entrance to the a la carte Ranchon restaurant. Doesn't bother me, but if you don't like it, don't go. Also note, if you arrive on Sunday, the foreign exchange is not open at the airport so you will need to change money at the hotel. If you don't have any leftover Cuban pesos, have a $5 Canadian bill or some US $ handy for the nice man who takes you and your luggage to your room. Use the bank at the marina to change the rest of your money as the rate is better and you can get $1CUC bills in bulk there for tips. And have a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cuban people, great staff, nice crowd, good food, lots to drink, and those Spanish coffees after dinner at the bar.
The weak points
Pedestal sink only, so could really use a shelf in the bathroom for toiletries. That's it. Oh and Wifi works about as well as Bell but costs a whole lot less. Turn Wifi off when not using it or your time will expire.
Certified

Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-05
We enjoyed the resort very much its a 3 star so if booking with that in mined you will be pleased its not a 5 star. Staff were great at their job and very friendly not enough room here to mention all their names. Not really any beach but they make up for it in service.. Remember its a adult only and you do see nude people by the beach at far end.which was fine. I would return to this place for another holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are the strong points here at this resort. A1 as far as I was treated here, food was better than most places we have been in Cuba
The weak points
Place does need some repair seem to be a little slow at that.
Certified

Villa iguana

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-04
i had a great trip. the other guests were great and friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the weather was great. the beach was windy and refreshing.
The weak points
the water had large waves
Certified

Un hôtel à apprivoiser

, Gatineau, QC
2018-03-10
L'hôtel vient de réouvrir avec une nouvelle section de bungalows de en bois après avoir été fermé pendant plusieurs années dû à un ouragan. Avec cette nouvelle section la superficie de l'ensemble du terrain de l'hôtel est très grand. Cela peut causer des désagréments pour avoir accès aux services de l'hôtel, restaurant, piscine, magasin etc. De plus comme pour l'hôtel Playa Blanca, les forts vents du sud ont fait disparaître complètement la plage, ce qui est plutôt désagréable quand tu vas dans le Sud pour la plage. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Réservé aux adultes; personnel très courtois.et efficace dans l'ensemble
The weak points
L'absence de plage. Le magasin est très loin car partagé avec un autre hôtel. Les distances à parcourir pour aller manger le midi. Pas de salle de spectacles
Certified

Enjoyable

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-11
Hotel is small which makes for a cosy feel, food is not too bad, quite abit of choice so you will not go hungry. The ala carte is very nice, pay extra and get the lobster soooo good! Half for ten or whole tail for twenty, well worth it. Rooms are comfortable, no water issues other than ours was too hot lol. A litre of water left every day in your room. Nice pool area, lots of lounge chairs. Definitely an older crowd, not the place to stay if you want lots of activities or partying, go else where. Otherwise we thought the resort was great and would go back again, mainly because we love Cayo Largo! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Laid back atmosphere, clean rooms, pleasant staff, wonderful views of the water.
The weak points
No beach, but we knew that. TV reception only four days out of seven. Front desk ran out of Internet cards on last day...all minor stuff as far as I'm concerned.
Certified

Bungalow fun

, Mississauga, ON
2018-02-05
The rooms was great, the beach has not come back yet but there is a small one between the two resorts. The Bar is the place to be. The pool was ok(salt water) needs a little algicied. I would go back soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is awesome. Rosita is the mom of all her clients.
Certified

Great little place with wonderful staff.

, Bracebridge , ON
2018-01-24
What a great resort. It's small and quiet and was exactly what we were looking for. If you are going book a standard or oceanview room. In all honestly every standard room has a view Of the ocean. Only bungalows have views which are not facing the beach. Don't stay in a bungalow, they are small, dark and are far from the restaurants, bar and pool.

We started in a bungalow, but the unit wasn't finished yet and had some wiring issues. The staff were so great in getting us changed to a standard room. Food was okay - it's cuba. You go there for the weather and stunning beaches not the food.

The beach was sparce most of our stay but that's Mother Nature. You could walk west and use the beaches in front of other resorts. The two main beaches at the west of the island are breathtakingly beautiful.

All staff are amazing and always friendly. Valor and Pedro were great!

Internet wifi is good at the front office and by the pool. $5 for 5 hours lasting 30 days from activation.

Rooms were quiet, clean with safes and a tv with a couple English channels if you want to watch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and facilities. Beaches and the island. Standard and oceanview rooms.
The weak points
Food and bungalows.
Certified

Vila Iguana in Cayo Largo

, Mercier, QC
2017-09-25
If you are looking to be treated as a part of family there is the place. If you are looking for the beach, sand, ocean and peace and quiet there is the place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort it self, staff make you fill like home, beach and ocean.
The weak points
Non
Certified

Cayo Largo Vila Iguana

, Oakville, ON
2017-04-20
Amazing for the price - grounds and rooms very clean / only thing missing is a lobby no where to just hang out and chill out at night.

A lot of seniors on the island and nudity on the beach but all ready knew that .

We went for the beaches in which were absolutely amazing

I fav beaches still of all time is Santa Maria [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best resort on the island for beach location as a lot of resorts the beaches were almost washed up by the high tide
The weak points
Lobby - no lobby bar
Certified

Meets reasonable expectations

, solo senior, ON
2017-03-29
A small hotel with a relaxed and casual atmosphere; Anyone with reasonable expectations will be satisfied. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff;
The weak points
water stoppages, though not lengthy, were a little annoying;
Certified

The Beach is Baller!!

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-25
VILLA IGUANA was a very nice stay.

The ROOM I stayed in was in one of the newer buildings and it was nice, clean and functional. Free use of the safe. Well working air conditioning. Bring a USB drive with some entertainment on it to plug into the TV. Soap, shampoo, conditioner and Epsom salts provided.

The STAFF were kind and helpful.

DINING was pretty good, there was a variety every night for an enjoyable dinner, the lunch and a la carte are served in a building called the Ranchon, it is an open air concept which makes for a lot of flies and Mosquitos as unwanted dining guests (I opted to lunch at the snack bar due to this). Breakfast is great if you enjoy eggs, if not there were some mediocre alternatives. SNACK BAR served personal pizzas, dogs and burgers.

The GUESTS were mostly older caucasian Canadian couples, an even mix of francophone and anglophone.

The BEACH attached to Villa Iguana is great. The sand could be powder or coarse depending on the tide. The water was that magical turquoise and fairly choppy. I enjoyed very much playing in the waves. Also, clothing optional beach, so bring a lot of sunscreen!!

$2 CUC per person to taxi anywhere so be sure to visit the other beaches while you're there. Playa Paraiso is breath taking.

CAYO LARGO is a resort island w/ amazing beach front. There is no real cultural or scenic walks to take away from the beach, just resort fronts, an airport, and a little 'town' where the workers stay and the marina resides. If you are able to really relax and take in the beauty of a beach vacation and the monotony of resort life, than this vacation spot might suit you well!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach
The weak points
Not much to explore
Certified

Ahhhh!

, Dartmouth, NS
2017-03-16
If you are looking for a small resort with not too many people, is not too complicated and you need a well deserved rest, then this is the place for you. It did not hurt that we spent 14 days rather than only 7. We've been to many other resorts but this is our favourite so far. It would be nice if the mainland was more easily and less costly to access. It is not for everyone but we do intend go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is not a mega resort so you frequent the same staff and other guests a lot which creates a nice intimacy.
The weak points
Depending when you go & how many guests are at the resort, it may not be easy to get your beach towel replaced. The cleaning staff could be much friendlier. Water & toilet paper can be scarce at times so we learned to stock pile at bit.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021