Memories Cayo Largo

Memories Cayo Largo
3.653.653.653.653.65
3.65 based on 788 reviews
#2 of 8 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Largo
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (238)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Our Return To Paradise

, Orillia, ON
2022-11-27
My wife and I have been traveling the Caribbean for 38 years, and we've come to learn that our best trips are those where we can enjoy outstanding beaches.
The island of Cayo Largo delivers some of the world's best beaches in Sirena and Paraiso.
They are a short 10 minute taxi drive from Memories Cayo Largo.
Anyone that does a bit of advance research on Cayo Largo knows that the hotel beaches come and go on a daily basis, but the two splendid western beaches always provide an incredible beach experience.
The sand is baby powder soft, brilliant white, and the Caribbean Sea has magnificent turquoise hues.
The water is warm, calm, clean and shallow.
We have previously vacationed at various Cuban resort destinations, including multiple trips to the Melia Cayo Coco in 2021 and 2022.
The Caribbean Sea of Cayo Largo is far nicer than the Atlantic side of the island.
We have found our post pandemic experiences in Mexico and Cuba to be different than pre pandemic times. Typically, less staff, less amenities available, poorer food selection, lack of maintenance, etc.
This was our 4th time at this resort, previously known as Sol Cayo Largo.
Surprisingly, our experience actually surpassed our pre pandemic vacations at the Sol/Memories.
Rooms: All of the rooms are grouped in charming 4 room buildings, designed in an ocean side breezy theme. Lower levels have regular ceilings, upper level rooms have vaulted ceilings.
The rooms have all been painted, fresh linens, towels, and pillows in our room.
Furniture is old, bathrooms are basic with tubs, and some parts were tired but serviceable.
Our AC was a new heat pump unit, efficient and quiet.

Entertainment: Typical resort shows in a theatre, which didn't interest us.
The real entertainment is at the central bar. Miguel is a an ambassador for the brand. Cheerful, respectful, and he keeps the place hopping. We found the other vacationers were very inclusive and friendly, and we thoroughly looked forward to the evening camaraderie at the main bar.

Buffet: Lovely atmosphere, open air with cooling breezes, always a warm welcome upon entry and very attentive servers.
We were there for week 3 of the reopening, and the food was the absolute best of any resort we've experienced in Cuba.
Other guests we spoke with, all seasoned Cuban travelers, felt the same.
Freshly grilled shrimp, sea bass, tuna, mahi mahi, lobster, meat skewers, pork, beef, chicken, it was all there and in abundance.
Never a lineup of more that a couple of people.
Multiple types of fresh pasta, fruits, soups, bread stations, prosciutto, smoked salmon, delicious deserts, prime rib, roasted chickens, carved turkey and pork roasts.
Far better food than we've seen at 4 star resorts in Mexico.
They even had Canadian maple syrup at the crepe station.
First Cuban resort that actually cooks the bacon at breakfast properly, where we never had to request undercooked bacon to be re grilled at the egg station.
The morning coffee was far and away the richest, smoothest blend we have ever enjoyed anywhere.
Blue Diamond group has obviously made a huge difference in the quantity and quality of food being brought into Memories Cayo Largo.

Beach: As previously noted, a cursory glance at any Facebook group will inform you of the current beach status in front of the various resorts.
During our week of November 18th, the beach varied from barely there to perhaps 20 feet in depth.
We did walk from Memories east to the Starfish ( formerly Pelicano) twice, sandy but narrow beach. The ocean varied from quite rough to choppy.
Instead, we took the short hop to Sirena Beach every day. When one of the top Caribbean beaches is only minutes away, why not take advantage of the opportunity?

Pools: Loved the pools. Not as much shade as in years past, but we only spent time there in the late afternoon. The water was clear and refreshingly cool, although the liner is starting to ripple in areas.
There is one large pool, divided into a quieter section and a more active section which adjoins the snack bar and a swim up bar.

Public Bathrooms: Bright and clean

Staff: Friendly and very approachable. We had delays on several days receiving water bottles in our room due to the barge being late. Either a butler, the front desk, or the bar would always provide us with a large water bottle.
We found tips of any amount were always appreciated and received with gratitude.

We really feel that Memories Cayo Largo is the best kept secret in Cuba. It is a very special place that we will always return to. I made a point of chatting with countless other tourists from Quebec and Ontario, and everyone I spoke with expressed similar sentiments. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Best resort on the island, best location, mature grounds and charming layout.
The weak points
The beachfront comes and goes, but this is offset by the spectacular Sirena Beach, a quick cab ride away.
Certified

Some good some bad, under $700 is worth it!

, Tilbury, ON
2022-11-17
As always, let me start of by saying I am a seasoned Cuba traveler, and with that I have a lot to compare to...over 20, 3 and 4 star hotels within the last few years. Since November of 2021 (pandemic times), 6 hotels in Cuba. I am comparing Cuba to Cuba. I've never been to Mexico or Dominican.
If you've been to one of these, that's what my comparison is based upon: Hotel Parasio (Pestana), Colonial in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco, Tryp Cayo Coco, Melia Jardines Del Ray, Occidental Varadero, Roc Arenas, Grand Memories, Melia Varadero, Be Live Collection CSM, Play Cayo Santa Maria, Memories Parasio, Sol Varadero, Playa Costa Verde Holguin and Grand Sirenas CSM. Top faves would be Playa Cayo Santa Maria, Melia Jardines Del Ray, Grand Sirenas and Sol Varadero. These range from 3 to 4.5 stars. Some 30 years old, some 4.
Tips about reviews: If at the top of the review you see “1 contribution”, that's a red flag, perhaps management. Also, anyone posting a negative comment on the facebook groups will get banned, so people don't want to say anything at all.

Rooms: The airline pics are not accurate, they are what the prototype for the new rooms are GOING to be like. The resort is 20 years old. While NO, I don't go to Cuba for the rooms, it's not a pleasant vacation when the sheet/blankets smel, can't shower cause the water is only cold, or like us, burned us cause out of no where went super hot! Super loud AC, can't sleep. No fan in the room, and super dark. Rusty old lamps that are enough light of a candle, hard to find stuff in the dark. The electric sockets also came out of the wall when you tried to take a plug out. TV didn't work (fuzzy screen), not a big deal but one night we just wanted to chill in the room. One lady had the sliding door fall on her, one lady claims she was electrocuted in the shower. I don't care about the layers of paint, or stains in the tub, but safety stuff like that is pretty important. This was the biggest “Con” of the resort. Lack of sleep due to AC noise and smells.

Entertainment: I wish they had an on site disco. The shows were great. Some of the staff were great, some bothered us (chasing us down the beach) about leaving “gifts” even though I hadn't interacted with them all week.

Buffet: Note that we went 1st opening week. Management puts out the best of the best so that word gets around how great it is, and more people book. I spoke with them about this, it won't always be the same food. It was a good variety, good pastas, but again…I don't want people booking in say Feb, and being disappointed that “They said the food was good!”. The 1st and 2nd day staff were pretty good, on it if we needed water/coffee/wine. We tipped. Then 3rd day on, we noticed service getting worse and worse…maybe because we weren't dropping $20 per meal (which is what we saw some people were doing, that's a months salary, no wonder now $5 bills get laughed at, what did some people create?!) they started ignoring us. Meat grill guy was nice the first day, then day 4 told us we need to pay for lobster $20 per piece or give him our clothes lol. Management said everything in the buffet was free. We got the lobster, and it was surprise….raw.

Lobby: The 3 gentleman that work there are amazing, such hard workers! They made fabulous drinks, always quick. I wish there was more seating around the lobby bar as it got packed in there fast in the evening. Only about 10 tables with 2 chairs each inside, so when it rains, you can't even move around. I would suggest adding more tables to the night show area, at the back, kind of extend the lobby area.

Beach: Ah, the big question you read on the forums/fb pages: “Is there a beach?!” Sometimes yes, sometimes no. Day 1 the water was up to the rocks, no sand visible. By day 6, 20 ft of sand. It changes according to the moon/winds/tides. If there is no beach, you can take the train (it's basically a tractor, painted to look like a train, there's no railing) to Playa Sirena or Paraiso, however…we were told it won't always be free. Same as with drinks, food and shade spots at Playa Sirena, won't always be free! Just note, it's about 20 minutes and goes over very bumpy sand roads. If you have back issues, are senior or what not, it's not very comfortable. Taxi one way for 2 people was $8USD on credit card, and goes much faster.

Beach note #2: Both the beach in front of the hotel and sirena/paraiso are clothing optional. Most are respectful, but some were walking around the lunch buffet/bar area drunk while, well...swinging it around. Not a place for kids.

Pools: Great layout, I like a good pool vibe after the beach in the PM. Not a whole lot of shade, spots get taken. Somewhat clean, although some people mentioned the pool bar pool was a bit smelly.

Bathrooms (lobby and snack bar): There's no locks on the doors. None. You have to squat and hold the doors. Please install locks, the poor girl that I walked in on :(

Snack Bar: Amazing service, had a few things on the menu each day.
Note: I don't go to Cuba to make friends with staff. I don't go with rose colored glasses and ignore the bad because of the friendly people. I will still review the “negative”, people have a right to know before they spend their hard earned $ on vacation. I don't bother reading reviews that state “I've been coming here since 1941, it's the best! I never go any where else”, why? Because they don't have anything to compare to. How do you know it's the best when you've never been anywhere else?! Lol.

Then you get comments like “If you want 5 star go to a 5 star!” Well, I went to Sol Varadero, 30 year old hotel that's 3 star, (went in Feb 2022) and almost everything was much better, service, rooms, etc. I went to Cayo Largo to try it out.
Overall, I had a great vacation either way! Would I go back? Sure, if the price is under $700 out of Toronto for a week, it's worth it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Lobby bar service, nice palm trees!
The weak points
Slow buffet service, hard to sleep in rooms.

Wonderful Resort in a tropical setting

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-24
This was our third time at the Sol and we enjoyed our stay very much. Almost all staff had a good command of the English language. Some also spoke French and Italian. The room was always cleaned to perfection and staff always greeted guests with hola and a big smile. The grounds were very well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Clean rooms. - Wonderful grounds to relax your senses. - friendly and very helpful staff. - good entertainment in the evening. - only 7 minutes from the airport. - large lobby with fairly good WiFi ($). -great pool with swim up bar.
The weak points
No daily beer in refrigerator as advertised. Food at the beach restaurant cool or cold and poor service. The three bars each had their own recipe for Margaritas & Sangrias. Ran out of eggs, ham & cheese. Food was marginal at best. No beach at times.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-25
Dear John Brans; We really appreciate your opinion. It is important to know your experiences to improve our work and services concerning restaurant and bars.Also we are glad cause you enjoyed our Tropical Paradise and hope welcome you once!! Best Regards Sales Team.

Great value 4 the $$ need hygiene improvements

, Camlachie, ON
2020-02-04
The good:
The hotel rooms are basic but clean. The daily service is of a good standard. The cleaning girl does an excellent job.
The dining room offers little choice but that's Cuba, and in general the food offered was not bad.
The beach is fantastic; there are enough chairs and a good bar that meets the needs of the beach
The hotel in general is nice, (maybe a 2.5 starts) but the price represent that (no complains)

The bad:
All food places are full of flies, and there is no control plan. It is very difficult to eat when every second a fly stops at food.
I looked at the beach restaurant grill and I was shocked to see how the flies were in the food that was going to be cooked. (I lost my appetite)
In general it is not a bad place but there is a need for improvements in the hygiene area.
On day number 4th both of us got stomached pain, and we are currently with antibiotics [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are basic but clean.Service is of a good standard. The cleaning girl does an excellent job. The dining room offers little choice but that's Cuba, and in general the food offered was not bad. The beach is fantastic; there are eno
The weak points
hygiene. All food places are full of flies, & no control plan. Difficult to eat with fly on top of your food
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-26
Guil Ponce It is important to know your experiences to improve our work and services. Flies , we should point out at this time of year a natural factor of fate, in Sol Cayo Largo on a daily basis take appropriate sanitary measures to eliminate that really did not have the desired effect because it also depends on other external factors. I would like to apologize for not being able to cover your expectations. We would be honored if you decide to choose our hotel in the future. Best Regards Sales Team.

Sol cayo Largo

, Mirabel, QC
2019-12-31
Plage et repos. Belle température. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage
The weak points
Pénurie de vin blanc et aussi de rouge pour 2 soirs. Le buffet était comme d'habitude mais le remplissage des plats se faisait lentement. La rumeur dit qu'il y a un ralentissement dans les approvisionnements pour tout Cuba.
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-01-02
Cher Guy Deom; C'est un plaisir que vous avez apprécié notre belle plage.Les points que vous mentionnez sur l'absence d'un type de vin blanc, était une situation accidentelle que nous avons pu résoudre en 2 jours.Nous espérons que vous ferez l'honneur de vous accueillir à nouveau dans l'avenir . Cordialement, Directeur Commercial.

Sol Cayo Largo

, Montréal, QC
2019-02-04
Very nice. Good service. Friendly animation staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Animation staff and food.
The weak points
Slow to fill wine glass at dinner. Water rarely offered at beginning of meal in buffet.
Certified

We had a great restful time

, Saint-Hubert, QC
2019-02-04
Food was good loved the Pasta and Meat Station Fish was good according to my wife.Many Spanish cold cuts as well. Deserts were good too. Room was comfortable air conditioner worked well and was silent. Pool was relaxing and quiet. There were many friendly people to talk to as well. Beach we got there the water was rough we spent 2 days on the beach and it then disappeared mother nature was cruel but the beach started to return the day before we left the Hotel transported us to another area beach every day which worked out. Lobby Bar the guys that worked their were super all the employees were great and super friendly My wife and myself had a fantastic time. My biggest beef was the airport lets schedule all flight the same time and lets get all the 4 flight passengers at the airport and lets play human sardines for 3 hours.The VIP Lounge was suppose to be opened but it was not our rep. said nothing was prepared and there was a staff shortage. Buy you water at the Duty Free shop you will need it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a great restful time the staff are helpful and a super nice. Food was good the resort was clean
The weak points
The airport and the souvenir shop at the resort No Cuban Coffee to buy limited supplies
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-02-26
Dear Flaco, Really appreciate your feedback about your time in Cayo Largo .We were pleased to read that you were satisfied with our services in general. Certainly on days Friday ,in the airport not enough space for all tourist,anyway they makes every effort to solve the inconvenience. Kind regards, Sales Team

Week in Cuba

, Innisfil, ON
2019-02-03
First time at Cayo Largo, but familiar with other Cuban resorts on the north shore. We picked Sol based on reviews and photos. Beautiful grounds with lots of palm trees. Rooms are situated in two storey buildings. Upper floors feature cathedral ceilings. Rooms are clean and spacious. Food was ok, but there was a lack of fruits, juices and desserts. Evening shows are the same as everywhere in Cuba. We loved the beaches and the weather was not bad for January. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds, close to the airport, beaches, plenty of chairs, large pool
The weak points
Flights arrangments with the stop in Varadero extended trip time for extra 3 hours.
Certified

Good experience generaly

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-13
We had a wonderful stay at Sol Cayo Largo. This hotel was perfect for our need for a calm and confortable place. The hotel personal is courteous. The beach is great. Internet was available and working well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is a big WOW. It was the main reason for us to go back to Cayo Largo (6th time). Compared to the other hotels on the island, Sol is the best for adults looking for a calm and zen ambiance.
The weak points
As for many places in Cuba, food variety and quality were below our expectations. It was OK, but repetitive and limited in the buffet restaurant.
Certified

Beautiful beach, everything else extremely lacking

, Oakville, ON
2019-01-02
First..the good news... the beach is absolutely gorgeous....light, white sand, blue, clear water...amazing!
Food was horrible. Service was so so. I don't find the Cuban people overly friendly. Drinks were limited and below average. We had 2 days of extremely low water pressure and one day with no hot water. Our A/C unit was not adjustable. It was either full blast or not at all...made for very uncomfortable sleep. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

November 2018

, Lachine, QC
2018-11-17
We arrived to a warm welcome and unbeknownst to us, it was a special week for returning clients. This made for a few pleasant surprises during the week (lobster tail dinner for example). The staff were their usual helpful and pleasant nature. All trying to make the best of Mother Nature's toll on the beach front. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Client service, location, quiet ambiance
The weak points
lots of seaweed making walking and swimming difficult
Certified

Quiet stress free vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-03
Beautiful location if you just want to relax and do nothing. No locals begging for money or trying to make deals. Staff is very friendly, but we found if you don't tip often the service is not as good. Pool needs new linner, and more shade is needed. Other than that very nice. Rooms are clean, but bathrooms need major updates. They were changing water tanks when we were there, much better. Food was good. Hot pasta bar, and omelets made to order. Would of liked more seafood options. Different meat options every night. Beaches beautiful. If you want nude beach go to the right if not turn left. Too many cats! Would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, staff
The weak points
Bathroom
Certified

Great service, clean resort, excellent coffee

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-25
My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Resort and room are clean, well kept. We had water issue throughout our 7 days stay in the room. Partway through shower, the water would slow to trickle and some nights, no water at all. There is one day where we weren't given towels and i had to wait in the shower for 15 mins for the towel to arrive after calling front desk twice. For wifi, we had to purchase the card for $1 cu per hour and can only be used at the lobby. Service at all bars was excellent, especially at the Lobby bar. The 3 bartenders makes great drinks and they are quick with their services. If you sit around the bar, you glass will always be topped up even if the bar was busy. The lobby bar is not too noisy and we made several friends at the resort. In fact several people we met were repeat customers. The food at the buffet is a hit and miss, some days good and some days not but we managed to find what we like everyday. The other two Restaurants are great too, service is great and food is a hit and miss too. The food at the Rancho restaurant is rather inconsistent. We ordered the same chicken soup and plantain starter on both visits and they were different in taste and presentation. In general, we found the food needs improvement as they are inconsistent and rather salty but we were able to find what we like and stick to it. Beach is so beautiful and we never had any issues with locating beach loungers. If you like to take daily walks at the beach, this is for you as we can walk all the way to paraiso-sirena beach. It took us 3.5 hours there and back but it's worth it as the beaches are the best we have seen around the world. Highly recommend this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service and beaches
The weak points
food can be improved
Certified

Cayo Largo Holiday

, Haileybury, ON
2018-02-14
The Sol Cayo Largo was a wonderful resort! Service was great, food was good and the facilities were clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, location and layout
The weak points
The rooms needed minor repairs and the mattresses were not comfortable. But who is there for the room?!
Certified

Cayo Largo Forever

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-22
We spent a week at the Sol at the end of December. This was our second trip to Cayo Largo.
Is the most restful beautiful place we have encountered in a very long time. The beaches are beyond exquisite. We were lucky enough to have mostly green flag days and spent hours in the water. Beyond this we were on the beach reading. Left our phones and other electronics in the off position.

The staff at this resort are fabulous. Just wonderful, kind and helpful people who work so hard to ensure that everyone is taken care of.

The food is just fine - sometimes excellent and sometimes just good. But we never went hungry. Large selection and as a result you can easily select what works best for you. We went to both a la cartes - enjoyed both of them.

We visited the other beaches and had lunch on the beach at Playa Sirena. Lobster again. Also wonderful.

Down by the beach there is always a wonderful breeze but you have to be prepared to work around the heat. There had been a heavy rain the day we arrived so we also had mosquitoes to deal with. We were expecting this and were mostly prepared.
Add to that a remarkable staff and you have the makings of a wonderful restful vacaton by the sea. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at this resort are fabulous. Just wonderful, kind and helpful people who work so hard to ensure that everyone is taken care of.
The weak points
Mosquitoes

Cayo largo oct 2017

, St Eugene, ON
2017-10-12
sol cayo largo was awesome cant wait to return next year :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
it was a wonderful trip..beach and hotel are beautiful. some garbage on beach ..hotel should consider bubba mugs and bottles of rum for full bags of garbage ..exchange lol
The weak points
our flight home was cancelled and the hotel took us in free for another night and fed us and transported us back the next day..A1 bring some bug off :)
Certified

Great Stay

, Deux Montaignes, QC
2017-10-03
Great week at Sol Cayo Largo! Our superior ocean view room was in good order and clean. No complaints. Beach is beautiful. Food is typical food for Cuba (pizza, burgers, frozen veggies, cheese, cold cuts..etc). We were treated to roast turkey & pork. The pool snack bar was under renos while we were there and a substitute snack bar was put up instead! Selection of wine/spirits very limited. No CRYSTAL beer available and often running out of bubbly white wine. They could improve this a little!
Service staff always pleasant and courteous! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, ride from airport to hotel (less than 10 minutes), staff
The weak points
Limited types of alcohol, food selection,
Certified

First Time To Sol Cayo Largo

, Toronto, ON
2017-06-28
I am a first time traveller to The Sol Cayo Largo. It was also my first trip to Cuba, period. But Cayo Largo I understand is unlike many other destinations in Cuba. Primarily because of the remoteness of the island. It was a wonderful experience to just get away. I didn't take a cell phone, I didn't have a watch. I went with the intention of completely immersing myself in the Cuban culture and since I look like a Cubana it wasn't hard...until I opened my mouth and spoke little to no Spanish. Then my secret was out.

The staff at the hotel were amazing, do you realize how many languages they speak? I'm trying to learn just Spanish and they've got English, French Spanish, Italian , German and the lord knows what else, under their belt. That being said, a number of them took time to teach me Spanish. Just lovely!

Friendly grounds staff too. When I managed to get sun burned (yes it happens to dark skinned girls too) A wonderful staff member helped me with a fresh sprig of aloe. Thank you so much

Everything in my room worked. Just a little leak in the bath room which was addressed quickly. And every afternoon I would come back to my room to find it clean, with a fresh bottle of water and a new towel design on my bed. Darn creative I tell you!

Entertainment staff rock. Sweet people and so talented. Some of the shows were a bit "dark" and disturbing, others were for children, but with lots of dancing. If you take the time to really analyze the performances, the performers are truly diverse with their skill and choice of show. Never got bored wondering what they were going to do next. And amazing pipes on the singers.

The food? We've all heard how the food is "getting better". As I have nothing to compare it to, I can simply say I followed the instructions from the people I met there, who happened to be regulars. Eat from the stations, the pasta station, the grill station, not the centre aisles per say. I was not disappointed in doing so and I never got sick or had an upset tummy once!

If you like Pina Colada's get the ones from the Pool Bar , don't waste your time with the other bars. But there are three on site so knock your socks off with the booze, they don't skimp on alcohol.

If you're into fresh coconuts, a very lovely gentleman will cut one open for you on site. And with that heat, you'll need the electrolytes you sweat out placed back into your body in a flash. Fresh coconut is the answer to all that ails you! If you give him a little tip he will cut the coconut wide open in order for you to enjoy the sweet coconut meat inside.

The grounds are clean, lots of kitty cats around but I didn't play with them, admittedly I did feed them although the signs say not to. I have allergies and that's the only reason I didn't pick one up and cuddle with them. Although they are wild cats, kids played with them with no incidences so overall they were lovely to have around.

Be careful walking at night. Not because it's not safe to do so, but don't crush the little crabs that peak out at night. They are everywhere. Not a nuisance more, of an attraction. The fish in the ponds are also beautiful to look at.

The onsite pool hall/ bar/ dance hall was a blast at night. Just to mingle with other guests or dance the night away.

The beach was a little rough when I went. But you could go in and get battered around by the waves for a good massage if you are daring and don't mind a little seaweed. And for the even more daring they provided an area for you to swim or sunbathe nude. The most freeing feeling ever.

The town. Not much to do there. There was a bar, a couple of shops and a bank. When I ventured into town on a rented atv the turtle farm was closed, the bank was about to close and it was such a sleepy little town. If you're used to a bustling city it's a bit unnerving. Otherwise, it's peaceful.

Rent an ATV or a scooter! You can't get lost on the island. It's one road and you can take your time and meander through the trails and just off road it. Get dirty and get back to nature. I saw a snake and some of the biggest land crabs I've ever seen. It was fun and exhilarating. BUT!!!! And if you take nothing away from this review other than these next for words, then I've done my job. If you go ATV-ing or Scoot-ing around the island, please have your passport or a form of ID on you. Otherwise, if you get stopped by officers the penalty is steep. Nothing can ruin a vacation faster than an unplanned expense. Just be smart about it. And don't drink before you rent any motorized vehicle in Cuba. PERIOD!!!!

Overall it was a wonderful, safe and enjoyable trip. And I look forward to experience other areas in Cuba as soon as I can get away again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool, the staff, the other guests, the entertainers, the beautiful grounds
The weak points
The very old and worn equipment at the gym, the leak in the shower, the cigars I bought at the on site gift shop that had mold on them when they were opened here in Toronto. Couldn't take them back.
Certified

My favorite relax on the beach travel destination

, Peterborough, ON
2017-04-08
The hotel and grounds are clean and very comfortable. The staff are hard working and always very happy and helpful. I had an ocean view room and watched the sun rise each day. The rooms have a/c if you need it. The sol is 5 minutes from the airport and that's a huge bonus for me. This was my 3rd trip to the sol in a year. I will return again in December. The cuban beaches are exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
When I go to Cuba I want the cuban cultural experience. This I had. I don't recall hearing any north American pop music at all. Keep it cuban and I will keep coming back.
The weak points
The little convenience store is quite limited in what they sell. Take from home the items you will need.
Certified

Good experience !

, Montreal, QC
2016-12-27
Good hotel with nice view and location, good food and nice people. Enjoyable experience overall ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Another great vacation at Sol Cayo Largo

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-10-15
Sol Cayo Largo
10 minutes from the airport
Returning guests special check in with keys ready and past requests all ready for you (ours was close to the pool and lower level).
Did not go to a la carte dinners as the buffet has everything. We enjoyed the carving station. Turkey two different nights, ham, pork roast, fish and this year they had meatloaf. Beaches are beautiful. We released baby turtles 2 times. They allowed you to hold the turtles and put them on the sand to waddle into the sea. Only great experience at Sol Cayo Largo. Can't wait to plan our next vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
To start it is only 10 minutes from the airport. Check in was quick enough. Returning guest had everything ready including our earlier request of being close to the pool and lower level. Room was ready. Everyone is friendly.
The weak points
We had no TV in our room all week. we weren't there to watch TV so it didn't bother us. Our representative did nothing for us. If we had an issue we dealt with it ourselves but that was a first for us after being at Sol 5 times.
Certified

I had a great time!

, Chateauguay, QC
2016-08-30
It was my first time on a resort anywhere, and I really enjoyed my stay at Sol Cayo Largo! The people working there were lovely and very kind, and the pools and beaches were beautiful! I felt like I was in paradise as I walked around the resort :) The food in my opinion was okay, and the only thing I did not like about this resort was that they wouldn't allow you in the pool after certain hours, one day it was at 8pm so we didn't have much to do since we really wanted to swim. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The views, the beaches, the unlimited drinks.
The weak points
the food, the wifi, not allowed to go in the pool after a specific time.
Certified

Sol cayo largo

, Tillsonburg, ON
2016-07-11
Stafor ok, but rooms need remodel. Dirty , windows lack of clean towels, pool dirty until new worker came . Expect many tips even though they just hand out drinks. I like tipping for service not for expectation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location close to airport
The weak points
Staff complained about lot. Lack of soda at meals , told no a lot even though observed basic items given to other staff. Quality products not used, not even cuban brands for drinks. Given to other staff.
Certified

Une belle experience pour un Italo canadien!

, East York, ON
2016-05-20
Che mare e che hotel! Grandissimo elegantemente particolare, adatto per coppie e famiglie! Pulito, il cibo è il top il massimo per noi italiani che ci aspettiamo che sia come a casa nostra...ed anche i drinks ottima scelta. Lo Chef Gaspare e' bravissimo e parla francese e inglese quindi rivolgetevi a lui. Per il resto niente da dire bello bello bello [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ottima cucina, tanta varietà,Chef professionale, staff amabile
The weak points
nessuno

Amazing food and high quality service

, East York, ON
2016-05-20
Family holiday with grandparents, we had an amazing time at this resort. It has beach, shaded gardens, live music, swimming pools everything you need for a relaxing time in the sun. The food is great, big choice and variety, Chef Gaspare very kind and the staff friendly they offer a several choice of drink, make sure you see the dolphin show next door and travel to the nearby local villages which are easily accessible by the bus! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks,service,kindly stass
The weak points
noone

Still a gem!

, Kitchener, ON
2016-03-05
We have been going to Sol Cayo Largo for 16 years. This was our twelfth visit. We have seen this resort go through some changes, most pronounced in the last four years. We chose this resort initially for its remoteness, calm ambiance and outstanding beaches. We know some of the staff from our first visit and they have become friends. The grounds are well kept and have recovered well after some severe hurricane damage about 12 years ago. Even the beaches have come back to close their original size. The beach access has been greatly improved by adding three wooden pathways. Additional beach umbrellas were built and the beach chairs have been upgraded. The restaurants are good, clean and the food is fine, certainly enough choices for everyone. For lunch the addition of the main buffet is welcomed. The a la carte restaurants are ok. Las Trinas offers a bit more elegant atmosphere. Unfortunately the lobster dinner is disappointing for our taste with an overcooked and oily serving.
The pool area is clean and offers lots of space; also here additional and more comfortable lounge chairs were added. It was not as busy around the pool as we had remembered from previous years. We did not use the gym but it looked clean and inviting. The disappointing parts of the resort are the rooms. They are tired and need renovation badly. We were assured that this is going to happen in the next two years starting now. We will wait and see before we will return to Sol in the future. The water supply is still a bit spotty at times but when it works it is better than in previous years. The air conditioning in the room worked great and the addition of a flat screen TV with a good choice of channels is welcomed. The room cleaning service was ok but not outstanding. We had booked the Ocean View room which offers a few additional features, it has a hammock on the balcony, drinks in the bar fridge and a complementary bottle of rum in the room. Preferred Check in is offered as well. Wifi is now available in the entrance hall area of the resort at a cost of 5 Cuban Pesos for 30 minutes. The entrance hall has been “upgraded” to a more modern look. We preferred the old look which had its own Cuban character, whereas now it has the “Melia” character, very black and white and somewhat cold.
Unfortunately I needed some medical help for a bad throat infection which I had probably brought with me. The doctor was on site and was very helpful by prescribing suitable medication. The fee was $25 and the prescription which we had to fill at the neighbouring Pelicano resort was about $35. I felt better after a couple of days.
Overall we had a pleasant vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, grounds, beaches, friendly staff
The weak points
Very tired rooms.
Certified

Sol, February 2016

, Montreal, QC
2016-03-04
Great location, easy transfer from airport, beautiful beach but not recommended for small children, very friendly service, food plentiful but average quality [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, service, location, close to airport
The weak points
Food
Certified

Return to Sol Cayo Largo

, Toronto, ON
2015-12-15
I have been to this resort 20 times. I love it! This island has the best beaches anywhere. It is not luxurious but it is attractive and comfortable as I think a beach resort should be.It is a very quiet spot. Not for those looking to party. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, location, closeness to airport
The weak points
The facilities are aging and the rooms could use a thorough refresh. the common areas are very nice.
Certified

Sol Cayo Largo

, Etobicoke, ON
2015-02-28
The hotel was laid out nicely. Rooms are actually in 8 plex style buildings. The staff was great!! If you have been to Cuba before you will enjoy this place...otherwise set your 5 star standards a bit lower! These people do what they can with what they have. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beauty of the resort and beaches as well as the staff
The weak points
rooms are dated and would be nice to have a better food selection
Certified

Norms Review

, Mitchell, ON
2014-10-30
As a Single traveler with 20 Yrs Of experience in Cuba, this was my 1st time in Cayo Largo.The Sol Cayo largo, like many hotels need to be upgraded, although they are trying to maintain the present conditions.My superior room had a serious roof leak whenever it rained, which it did a lot, and the result was a constant flooding of my room. Staff in dining room need to be more attentive to single travelers, as i had very little service given,i had to go and ask for water or wine for my meals or go without.The food was plentiful, and good by Cuban standards,although the meet was poorer cuts, and tough,(where are the good cuts of meat going)Over all i liked the hotel, and will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, friendly helpful.General condition of hotel and grounds good,food good,and no loud blaring music, great, nice and relaxing.
The weak points
rooms need upgrading, more attentive staff in dining room
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Cayo Largo's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022