Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
3.663.663.663.663.66
3.66 based on 1122 reviews
#7 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (496)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Lovely Vacation

, Burlington, ON
2022-09-26
Memories is a wonderful, quaint, mid size resort. It is splashed with color from the most amazing gardens, kept beautiful by the hard working gardeners. The beach is absolutely amazing with plenty of lounge chairs and shade.... with crystal blue waters.

The food on this resort is ABOVE what you would expect in Cuba. The Wonderful Jorge Nolasco has proven to be an asset to Memories. We are repeat guests and the food in the past, was nothing like this. We had some most amazing meals! Stuffed pork, grilled fish, the fresh veg and the soups.... oh those soups!

Our vacations are always made special each moment we spend in the lobby bar. The staff are an absolute dream, they go over and above to all guests, repeat or new! Yeudis, Gabriel, Yoel, Nikel, Janet, Yanet, Pino, Daisbel, Humberto and I am sure a few I am missing! We love you, thank you, thank you!

Special shout out to Iliana at the Diamond Club desk, she ALWAYS makes sure we have everything we need, I am sure doing more than is required of her, she is simply amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The STAFF!! From top to bottom, the cleaners, gardeners, desk staff, bell hops, wait staff, everyone.

I liked it !

, Toronto, ON
2022-09-26
The price / quality ratio is excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Another amazing trip!

, London, ON
2022-09-25
Memories Flamenco is the only place I go now. I was planning my next trip while I was sitting at the pool.
The biggest shout out to Jorge, your passion shines through in all you do. Food is outstanding. I'll say it once and I'll say it again, I think I'm the only one who gains weight in Cuba!!
Animation team are great with daily games and activities. The orange splash party and Canada day pool party are SO much fun! Diana, rolly, Isaac, Jonny, levan, black shark, just to mention a few are such energetic souls.
Diamond club ladies are wonderful. Loved seeing them everyday ❤️
Thank you to my loves at the lobby bar, Isbel, Yoel, Gabriele, y'all are amazing!

There's literally NOTHING to complain about except for the bugs. But it's Cuba and definitely not the resorts fault

If you're looking for a stellar vacation, I highly recommend Memories Flamenco [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- rooms clean - staff are friendly - grounds are beautiful - food is delicious - beach is beautiful
The weak points
- bugs

Beautiful Paradise

, London, ON
2022-09-25
This is my 3rd time at this beautiful resort and with each visit things just get better and better. The staff are amazing, from the friendly lobby staff, Isbel, Yoel, Gabriel to name a few to the beautiful diamond club ladies, and to my beautiful maid Yuri in block 4. Thank you to Jorge for the absolutely amazing food. You go above and beyond and it shows. I would certainly recommend this resort for everyone. The beach and pool are stunning. Shows are great. Drinks get you drunk and all the delicious food makes me a little fatter. Love this place and look forward to returning real soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach / staff / food / pool / landscape / service
The weak points
Bugs love me

Another fabulous trip

, Stoney Creek, ON
2022-09-14
Just returned (Sept 11) from another glorious week at my home-away-from-home, Heaven on Earth, also known as Memories Flamenco Beach Resort. Let me preface this review by saying these comments are my views only and not meant to encourage or discourage anyone from visiting.
I like the Diamond Club upgrade because I find a lot of value in it. One of the key perks of this service is having the option of enjoying your meals in the DC restaurant, located behind the snack bar between buildings 2 and 3. The restaurant is a cool and comfortable respite from the very hot and humid weather right now. You can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner here but reservations are usually required. Some meals like breakfast are made to order. Eggs any style, bacon, toast are best prepared fresh and arrive hot and perfectly cooked. Also available in the DC restaurant are buffet style selections of breads, croissants, pastries (cookies), cereals, meats, cheeses, yogurt and limited fruit such as sliced melon (water and honeydew) guava and some papaya. I did not see orange or other juices. I had lunch there one day and enjoyed some salad vegetables including lettuce, cucumbers, shredded squash, pickles, cheeses and sliced deli style meat. Please note, some things like tomatoes, onions, green pepper are not in season because of the heat. I did see tomatoes one day but it's really too early for them. Vegetables like potato, squash, yucca are more in season and used creatively to make dishes appealing and flavorful.
Dinners at the DC were amazing! On a few nights I enjoyed a good-sized grilled lobster tail (not the little tiny ones you typically see) and chicken cordon bleu served on a bed of potato mash with little vegetable stacks. Soups were delicious as well – potato with little bacon chips and my personal fave, butternut squash with parmesan cheese. I enjoyed every single meal!
At the buffet one evening I had grilled calamari and tilapia which was absolutely amazing. I wish I could have finished it all, it was so good. I often hear some complaints about how the food is different/not authentic in the ala carte restaurants. Thinking of the Asian, you have to understand that certain ingredients and spices are not available so it won't be the type of food you would find at Dundas & Spadina in Toronto! Please keep that in mind with your expectations. If you go to the Asian, don't miss the tempura ice cream!
I need to comment on the quality and presentation of food since Jorge became the director of Food & Beverages. The chefs try extremely hard to work with what they have to present beautifully creative, tasty dishes, not an easy task with such limited supplies. The improvements are very noticeable and the teams should be commended for their efforts. It's very true – “we eat with our eyes first” and seeing a beautifully presented dish enhances the whole vacation dining experience.
The only real shortages I noticed during the week was a lack of pizza and some soft drinks and mixes for cocktails. Regular coke was plentiful but no diet coke. These are minor inconveniences and are occurring in ALL the area resorts (despite what some people say) as I confirmed with several people at the airport on the way home. If a certain item is really important to you, consider bringing it with you. I love Fever Tree tonic and limes and brought both with me. Some days tonic was available in the bars and sometimes not. That's how it goes. There is a great selection of white, red and rose wines available, and I am a wine snob! There was no shortage of rum.
The only complaint I have, and this is NO fault of the resort, is the proliferation of bugs this time of year. I can say that I did not see any mosquitoes (some people did) but the no-see-ums are fierce. The resort is spraying but they are prevalent at dawn and dusk. They are different than mosquitoes in the way they bite and despite using every single spray, repellant, oil or Vicks, I still wound up with many huge bites on my legs and ankles. Bites can last up to 2 weeks. Here's a link to some information about them:
https://mosquitonix.com/.../how-to-treat-no-see-um-bites
The resort has also implemented some new policies that deal with food hoarding, something which has bothered many. These changes are welcome and I believe have been effective as I did not see any of this behavior during the week.
Lastly, I have seen a few comments about rooms smelling funny, moldy etc. Please understand that this is typical for anywhere in this type of hot, humid climate. My room smelled a little musty at first – not moldy, which might suggest a lack of care - just musty. The air conditioning is turned off when the rooms aren't occupied and after a few hours of running the AC, the room smelled fine. There are humidity reducers/fresheners you can also bring with you.
It was a fabulous, restful week. I loved seeing all my friends and making some new ones too! If anyone has any particular questions they would like to ask, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Happy girl! See you soon Memories Flamenco! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The amazing staff here make this resort an outstanding place to visit. In addition, Jorge, the Food and Beverage manager, goes out of his way to make sure the food is deliciously prepared and served.
The weak points
Some of the hotel buildings are in need of refurbishing.

Definitely coming back

, Mississauga, ON
2022-08-26
We just came back from Memories Flamenco it was one of our best vacation spot ever❤️
First off I want to thank Jorge and all the wonderful people for their warm hospitality [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Nice beach, but noisy

, Kanata, ON
2022-08-25
Overall it was good, but would be a lot better without any "entertainers". Not everyone wants to hear loud boom boom music constantly. They should get all the entertainers to go and collect garbage and cigarette butts from the beach instead. They can even do their dance and sing while they are collecting the garbage!

Also diamond club was a bit dissapointing, not much benefit from it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach is beautiful. Resort is well maintained.
The weak points
Loud music even at night. Service can be better. Deficit of water bottles to bring to the rooms. Pinacolada not available half the time. Would like more fresh fruit at the buffet.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Covid clinic staff are super nice.
Certified

Amazing Once Again

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-08-15
I want to personally thank Jorge Norlasco, Mabel, Ernesto and the rest of the Memories Flamenco Team for giving us another amazing week. From the time we checked in to the time we left, we were overwhelmed with the hospitality and service we received. The hotel has made a lot of improvements since our last trip in May, and the food and the accomodations were vastly improved. The beach is one of the most incredible beaches in the world. The sand is soft and you can walk for miles in either direction. The entrance to the water is a little more corally than it was before so water shoes are recommended, but it is still manageable without. Service at every bar, every restaurant and even with the gardeners and front of the line staff is always so pleasant. They are just the nicest people in the world. Food options are plenty, you won't go hungry. On the beach there are two grills, one for upgraded members which includes fish, pork, chicken and rice and the other has hot dogs, hamburgers, ham and cheese sandwiches and pizza (when available). There are three a la cartes to chose from, Mediterranean, Creole and Italian. All offer an amazing dinner. So many staff members contributed to our outstanding vacation it would be a shame if I missed any... Let me try and give a huge shout out to.. Janet in the lobby she is simply the best, she always serves up the best drinks and her bubbly personality is contagious. Rigui, the best Omelette chef in the world. Love Janet and Janet O as well..can always expect great service from them. The pool bar staff, Daimi, Aris and Yoyo are genuinely amazing people and they make sure your drink is never empty. Pedro at the diamond club bar, always knows what to make for you. Hiram Felix....so glad to see you at the beach bars, you are wonderful and it was nice to get to know you. Our maid, Maribel, always leaving the cutest towel animals and accomodating (like cleaning around our schedule when we were in the room or helping us out when we forgot our key). Darita, Shark, Katy, Tailor, Victor, Marlon, Hugo, Charlie..and all of the other new members of the entertainment team..thank you for remembering our names and going out of your way to say hello...you guys are incredible.
I seriously cant wait to go back...miss you already and it has only been a day. Thank you all for an amazing week. Please check out the Memories Facebook page for more reviews and to stay up to date on reviews.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Diamond Club is worth the upgrade for early check in and late check out (if available). Beer, pop and water in the room daily. Make your daily reservations for breakfast and lunch at the diamond club restaurant upon your arrival with the concierge
The weak points
entrance to beach has a lot more shells than in the past.

Perfect vacation at Memories Flamenco

, Maple, ON
2022-08-04
We stayed at the resort from Jul 26 for 7 nights, and every day was perfect for us. The main goal of the trip was to destress and get re-charged, the beach sand is like white powder and the water is crystal clear with this nice blue greenish color that we see on TV promotions. We got a room in building 4, with partial ocean view and partial view to the resort and enjoyed sitting on the balcony and viewing the ocean, this resort is very good for mental relaxation. The food in the buffet was always plentiful and tasty, they cooked literally every type of meat (chicken, beef, pork even lamb) and it was great, all meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) had by default: sliced ham, cheese, prosciutto, salami. Wide variety of the cakes, pastries, and fruits: mango, pineapples, guava, papaya, melon, watermelon. You can always get custom made meat, omelet or shrimps fried on the chef's station. The waiters: Jeni, Melissa, Uli always had a smile and very responsive.
The room was clean with good AC (very important), freshly repainted. There were minor things here and there, but our main goal was to enjoy the ocean, clean air, sun. One good thing about the resort is no boats in the area and hence excellent clean water.
We were invited twice to a dinner by manager Jorge and enjoyed delicious meals with saxophone music.
TO THE TOURISTS: Stop polluting the beach with plastic glasses and cigarette butts, don't bury them in the sand they will not grow there. If you drink a cocktail have the courage to raise your body and walk 10 meters to put it in the garbage. There are garbage bins literally every 50 meters across the beach.
TO RESORT MANAGEMNT: Please don't scare away stray cats and dogs, they are friendly and there are very few of them and having to think how these kind creatures are suffering without water and food gets me very upset.
Special thank you to resort manager Ernesto who allowed us late checkout free of charge, since we had waiting window from 12pm till 7pm.
I recommend giving this resort a try. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great people and gorgeous beach.

, London, ON
2022-07-30
Like my title said...
I love the beach at Flamenco and the people/staff here. It was a nice atmosphere and everyone was friendly. We were invited to the ambassador's dinner by Gustavo, who explained everything and was very knowledgeable. The lobby bar staff was talking care of us very well and always coming up with new drinks for me to try. We are honestly not too picky about food and always had plenty to choose from especially since we went as soon as the buffet opened.
Overall I would recommend especially for this price... great getaway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff Beach Entertainment Many more
The weak points
Demanding other guests

Best Beach

, Gta, ON
2022-06-30
The hotel was overall good, staff was very pleasant and attentive. The beach was breath taking, soft, and the water was crystal clear. There were stray dogs at this resort that would bark and attack people randomly, crabs crawling around the area. Some of the alcoholic beverages were served at certain times, so you were denied even if you wanted it, also just one water bottle per day in your room. They didn't give another one, even if requested. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
BEACH - that was the highlight of our trip. We spent majority of our time here and loved it. The staff are very friendly and show personal care.
The weak points
Food - It was very disappointing that the food was not of good quality and often under cooked and cold. we lost our appetite and to be honest, we barely ate through out the trip.
Certified

Very Good

, Fredericton, NB
2022-06-28
Georgios environment, Hard working staff, clean facilities, good food, the best vacation for your money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
gardens, beach, wild life,
Certified

Third time at the Flamenco

, Montréal, QC
2022-05-10
Had been two yrs since last visit because of covid and me and my wife were anxious to soak in some sun and cuba's beautiful beaches. Firstly for 3rd visit didn't get the room we wanted no king bed, and room was second class had to move to better room second day. Asked for compensation and they offered a diamond suite but we didn't want to move again so asked for diamond club and was turned down, now if you expect to talk to the manager forget it you won't even if they promised since their not on sight most of the time since I guessed they work at several hotels. Secondly no bread for 4 days and no butter either, no yogurt and cookies for the whole time. Now when I go to Cuba I don't expect great food but this was a first. Thirdly the toilets were often out of order and closed in the hotel quarters. The staff was good and helpful and aware of the food and drink shortages ex cola, brandy, pina colada ingredients to name a few. The sun was there and present every day though, near 30 degrees, beach and pool great. So all and all for the price will not go back, they should at least make certain that 3rd time customer is satisfied or what's the point. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and mainly why went 3 times, pool is big excellent for good swimmers, plenty of shade on beach and staff is great.
The weak points
Food is 3 stars at most, no bread most of the time is not luxury, and yogurt, cereal either....butter.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent.

3.8 star no more

, Innisfil, ON
2022-04-23
I have been to this resort 6 times in the past several years and since the pandemic hit this island it has never been the same. The hotel itself has declined in the past 10 years substantially. The staff has remained friendly despite the food shortages and the drink shortages. We made the best we could and we're happy that the beaches remained as pristine as always (that is the only reason we come). This hotel definately needs some more loving care and the government / owners of this resort needs to start updating and renovating it. Until that starts , I will be visiting another resort in Cayo coco. Sadly but true. I cannot deal with no phones working in the rooms, toilet broken, shower with droplets and runned down room thats supposed to accommodate diamond club. This hotel should make a section or set aside certain buildings for diamond club members who pay a huge price difference for this upgrade
This resort needs more staff to accommodate the members at the snack bar for pizza service and general 24 hour service. More training for better organization and structure will make this hotel what it once was
That's all folks !
Signed ,
Toronto frequent flyer ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Diamond Club nonexistent

, Oromocto, NB
2022-04-07
our check in was a total nightmare. They advertise DC has personal attention and luxury service which includes personal check-in, vip welcome cocktail. Early check in and late check out, exclusive beach area, your own a la carte and one dinner show a week. Well on check in we were met with total confusion. We waited in line for a while because they had one young man at the reception counter trying to check in 2 bus loads of tired, hungry people wanting to get on with their vacation. After standing in line for a while we finally saw another employee so we asked where diamond club check in was, she directed us to the customer service desk, who at the time were handling issues by other customers so we waited. When she realised what we wanted she sent us back to the reception desk, and so we would have to wait in line for the third time she told us to go right to the counter which caused other people who stayed in the line up to yell at us for butting in the line, only to find out the rooms were not ready and wouldn't be for hours... There was no special check in, no welcome drink, no early check in, only total confusion. So off to our first room we go. DC is promised upgraded rooms and personal service. Our first room was on the first floor of building 1. There was a king size bed and a small bed, couch in the room. There was garbage under the single bed that you had to move to get to the patio door which would not open. The bathtub had not been cleaned and had hair and stuff in it. Picked up the phone to call the desk to see if it could be fixed, the phone would not work. We walked up to the lobby and spoke to Mable, she said the place was full right now, she sent someone to fix the door and to clean the bathroom. Ok so not so bad. We headed for the beach and immediately fell in love. This had to be the most beautiful beach we have seen in all of the resorts we have gone to (10 plus in the past 6years)The water was pristine, I really dont ever remember seeing anything so clean an clear, the sandy beach went on for miles and miles. Had no problem finding chairs or shade. Pedro at the beach bar was wonderful, he remembered us from our very first visit. The beach bbq was closed but we would get to enjoy it later in the week. The buffet was large and had plenty of food, fresh fruit and veggies were everywhere. Pork, chicken and beef were served every day, although if you did not have them cook something for you on the spot, the items in the warming trays were warm at best. Nothing was hot was the theme of every meal, even at the a la cartes which had no menus. Everyone in the building got the same food, so the dishes were made ahead and delivered as courses. There are no Dinner shows. The second day we were told by the cleaning lady that Mable wanted to see us. between Iliana and Mable they came up with a room on the second floor which was one of the best rooms on the resorts.. Wonderful service from these ladies and also Yenny, will never find more wonderful people anywhere. The DC restaurant was a disappointment. the food was ok (not hot) but you had to make reservations for all 3 meals of the day and they only reserved about 15 places SO they told you when to eat and the place was mostly empty :( . The other a la cartes were the same, no menus, all got the same, nothing hot. Buffet was the place to eat at this resort. . Says all motorless water sports free, but neglected to tell us they were shared by 2 resorts and needed to be there 9:30 sharp or you could not book, even they sat unused on the beach. Rude guy kept asking were you here at 930 if not then no.. The resort was small and very cosy. Overall, once we got over our first day nightmare, it was by far one of the best vacations ever [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The people who work there, the wonderful clear water and sandy beach. Some rooms were beautiful and the view was to die for
The weak points
The Diamond Club is nonextant yet costs hundreds of dollars. The food was warm at best, but tasty, the rooms are dated an could use some updating. Drinks were hit or miss, only consistent bartender was Pedro. Wifi spotty, only in lobby
Certified

Customer service severely lacking

, Burton, NB
2022-03-31
As a 13 year annual traveller to Cuba, this was a disappointment. There was no respect for my sister and I at any point of our week. We were Diamond Club and received nothing with the name. I was at Memories Caribe in 2015 and the service was amazing. I am not a difficult traveler, take joy in nature and people but this resort threatened to make our stay miserable if we complained or wanted to move out of our room. Horrible experience. Will not recommend this resort to any women on girl trips or like my sister and I in need of a rest and pamper. Did not get that here for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and sun
The weak points
Customer service of women, especially older women. Might help to show more respect.

HORRIBLE! Waste of time and money.

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-28
Everything aside from the beach itself was a massive disappointment and not worth the money charged. I spent extra on the Diamond Club in hopes it would provide the extra touches for a comfortable trip. It did not.

Upon arriving the check in was painfully slow. There wasn't even water offered. Paying extra for Diamond Club did not yield even a decent check in experience and there were only two groups checking in at that time (myself and another family). Every time I had to call the front desk to request more water it took several attempts before someone would answer and then several hours before my request was fulfilled.

The internet connection was painful and downright terrifying as I needed to fill out the ArriveCan app before leaving for the airport in order to be allowed on my flight and back into Canada. Hours and hours were spent trying to connect to check necessary emails for business and complete ArriveCan. I was told multiple times by the front desk staff that it was down and they didn't know when it would be working again. I waited in line for over 30 minutes to enquire about the internet connection only to be told it wasn't working. Why couldn't they at least put up a sign on the desk so that people knew? And why did it always take a minimum of 10 minutes of waiting in line to get help at the front desk? There were never enough staff working. I was also told that iPhones didn't connect well. So should any traveler with an iPhone avoid this resort? If so, that should be advertised.

My room was run down with shoddy furniture and bedding. The first night I was there I cut myself on the toilet paper holder. Everything was in terrible condition. There wasn't tissue in the room and often not enough toilet paper.

The food was inedible for the most part. The only reliable thing was papaya. In the Diamond Club restaurant the service was painful. I waited 45 minutes for hard boiled eggs. When they finally arrived, even they were inedible. The wait in this restaurant was always agonizing, the food equally terrible as the buffet, so there was no benefit.

Three out of the seven mornings there wasn't even milk for coffee or tea. Having milk for coffee in the morning should be a given, not a luxury one hopes to luck out on receiving.

The Covid test was another disaster. I stood in line for two hours unnecessarily. Given the number of people in line and the length of time it actually took to perform the test, the whole line of people should have been worked through within forty-five minutes maximum. Then the night before I was leaving I went to get my test results and they did not have them! They said come back at 11 pm or in the morning. Mine, along with many other people's flights, were in the morning. It was incredibly stressful not knowing if the results would be delivered in time. Luckily they were but this whole experience was just another in a week of frustrations.

I did not expect the food to be great but I did expect the basics to be edible. It's astonishing that it was not and that on top of it all, the service was so slow and that one couldn't even get milk for coffee.

The trip was a disaster and I couldn't wait to get out of there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach.
The weak points
Everything except the beach.
Certified

Disappointed

, Dieppe, NB
2022-03-26
Upon arriving we discovered that the Diamond Club Ocean View room we paid for was not available until late the next day. The buffet restaurant had minimal meat which was all tough. No butter, salt/pepper, condiments available. At the Diamond Club Restaurant we had to ask for salt & pepper every time we ate a meal. Often things like bacon, bread & eggs were not available for breakfast. Staff seemed to be struggling to work with little they were supplied with. No irrigation maintenance was visible as all lawn areas were brown. I contracted a urinary tract infection at the beginning of my vacation & after several attempts was able to see a Dr on site. Was informed there was no medication available to alleviate my pain on the resort, associated resorts or the pharmacy....suffered through the pain & drank lots of water. The Dr & her staff was overworked from administering covid test to departing guests daily. I unfortunately experienced her breaking down after her shift...Covid seems to have affected everyone...sad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff did their best to work with what little they had.
Certified

2 star resort. You get what you pay for!

, Fenelon Falls, ON
2022-03-24
Went to this resort because it was half the price of other resorts in other countries and there wasn't much to choose from for the dates I wanted. After spending a week at Memories Flamenco, you will understand why it is half the price! Although the beach was one of the best I've been to, the resort was in need of upgrades. At the customer service desk, you stood with many others trying to switch rooms because of something not working or missing from their room. I didn't see anyone disinfecting the common areas. If you don't like Cuban food, this is not the place for you. No bacon or sausage at all. Some days they had cut up wieners for breakfast. 4 out of the 7 days they did not have bread or butter. 30 to 40 minute lineup to get made-to-order pasta or grilled chicken or an omelet. If you have children, don't expect to get cold milk or fresh orange juice. They did have mango, guava and a tang like orange juice. Bring your own peanut butter, jam, ketchup, etc. I was told it is very hard for the resort to get supplies and this is why they ran out of certain food items all the time. I only drink tea and the buffet didn't have any but I could get a tea at the lobby bar. You would think they could borrow some from the bar! They had a slushie machine at every bar but good luck finding one that actually worked properly. Cuba is a very poor country and if you go, please think of taking clothes, toys, food, toiletries, medicine and anything else you can part with to donate to the staff at the resorts. Only alcohol was beer and rum so don't expect any fancy drinks. Take U.S. dollars as it is preferred. If you are used to 5 star resorts, this is not the place for you. It was rated a 4 star but I don't know why. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
One of the nicest beach I have been to.
The weak points
Food was below average.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
I didn't see the sanitizing that I have seen in other resorts in the Caribbean. Staff wore masks all the time.
Certified

Great place to decompress

, Toronto, ON
2022-01-04
Been hearing lots of bad reviews but we had a great time. Before going there, we have already lowered our expectations, I mean it's Cuba! All we really needed was rest and relaxation on the beach, a clean room and food, whatever it is. We loved the bread, pizza from the snack bar (slow service so again, just lower your expectation), drinks from the diamond club bar and restaurant and of course the friendly staff. Yusniel and his team at the diamond club restaurant during dinner service was excellent, made our night great every night. The breakfast team there was also superb (I didn't get their names) and always welcomed us with a smile. We filled up our bellies during breakfast so we were not hungry by the time the restaurant opened at 1pm for lunch. The rooms were always clean by 1pm, and we always had a bottle of water in our room. There are no beers or snacks but as we said, we lowered our expectations and brought our own.
The hotel was packed with tourists during this time, since Melia down the road was closed. So please be understanding when the staff are all tired from serving full capacity resort plus having to try to keep themselves safe so they can go home to their families at the end of their shift.
As long as you know what you're going into, it should not stop you from enjoying your time here at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
All the staff at the Diamond Club restaurant, our room cleaning lady in building 2 (she's the Best!!!), the beach.
The weak points
tourists who do not keep their masks on in common areas and rude ones who yell at staff
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
staff were always cleaning
Certified

Great Vacation

, Holland Landing, ON
2021-12-20
Went for 1 week vacation. It was great experience. Considering that it was during Covid time, the hotel staff did everything in their power to make this trip safe and enjoyable. The food, the room, the beach were absolutely amazing. Will definitely recommend. Can't wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Probably last time I go there

, Bainsville, ON
2021-11-01
There is an evident change of management, and for the worse.
This was my 6th time to the hotel. I always had a good time and great room location. I communicated my needs as I had spent one year in bed, not walking/standing more than 5 minutes. So I get tired easily. I was put far away from my request. As a repeated guest and travel agent, they usually treat us better than that. After the first night and in sweat from having to walk so much, I managed to get a better room. On the last night, at 4PM, electricity breaks down in my room only. Reception says to the nice Communication Manager trying to help me (Gustavo Ramon), "well if shes doesn't want to stay there, she can go to block 10"! What do you mean if I don't want to stay there, in the dark with no AC, no electricity and having to pack to leave the next day? Block 10 is the furthest block and not even open yet to clients. After debating on his own time for an hour, Gustavo managed to get ne in block 3.
Some bars have stuff, some don't (ex.: sprite, wine). They often did not have ice, which is total nonsense. They ran out of certain foods, like 15 minutes after the buffet was open. Everything in the buffet was cold. Toaster was not working one morning in the main buffet. I can understand lack of certain things in Cuba, I have been there over 20 times since 1991. I will stop selling and going to Flamenco until things change at upper management. I do not blame the personnel, they are always great and doing their best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Workers, new memory foam bed in some rooms, amazing beach.
The weak points
Upper management not caring of repeated guests, lack of supervision to ensure even quality of service/distributions of drinks/food all over.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Buffet mask mandating not inforced as it should.
Certified

Memory on Memories

, Hamilton, ON
2021-10-18
Beach great, weather good, room nice and clean with hairdryer, iron, mini fridge with water, small screen TV, beautiful ocean view. Internet only in the lobby and free of charge.Food poor choice but still enough if you are not picky, with buffet where they serve you with your food choice. Pizza and burgers always available in the bar 24hrs. Great coffee and cocktails in the afternoon .
At the beach Ismail who cleans your chair and welcome you. Don't change money because you have nothing to buy, bring 5$ bills for tipping and credit card for everything else. All together I have what I expected except mosquitoes. They totally ruin all pleasure.
Bring great protection and enjoy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

A solid three star experience

, Toronto, ON
2021-10-11
A solid three star experience with great staff and a beautiful beach, ruined by deteriorating fixtures, broken equipment and horrible food. Free internet was supposed to be available in main areas, none in rooms, but the few times it was needed, check-in, checkout, checking excursion details, looking at maps, it didn't work. I used my cell phone providers roaming plan.
What ruined this experience for me was the lack of anything special for VIP guests. All that was promised for "Diamond Club" guests had to be argued with at the front desk, starting with even being acknowledged as having VIP status. I was supposed to get a bottle of alcohol delivered to my room each day. I received one, the first day, upon arguing I was supposed to receive one each day as per the terms of VIP. I didn't bother after that. If you want to drink by the pool, then pay the base rate and do this for the length of your vacation. 1 buffet restaurant was open, a 24 hour snack bar with limited supplies, and 1 luxury restaurant - we were promised 4 - as well as several bars. The resort was only at 25% capacity and choice of alcohol and food were limited and, eventually, simply ran out at times.
Overall, if I hadn't been promised more because of VIP, I may have had a better time with my expectations lowered. This was my first trip to Cuba and I'll be returning, but not to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Excellent staff, very friendly and inviting, good beach
The weak points
Room fixtures broken and very old, breaking down equipment, generator not working, food very bad, internet usually not working, diamond club VIP is a rip off
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
everyone must be covid tested before allowed on grounds, all staff do wear masks, no guests wearing masks at all
Certified

First trip to Memories

, Bowmanville, ON
2020-04-11
Travelled with family (immediate, siblings, parents) and had a great time. The ride from the airport to resort was quick. Check in was quick. Although our room wasn't ready at check in, we took advantage of walking around, checking out the grounds, pool, and beach. Our room took longer than expected to be ready but was lucky enough to have a family member whose room was ready when we arrived. Although a far walk from anything, it was a nice walk. Rooms are a little dated but didn't affect us otherwise. Kid shows were fun, we travelled with a 2, 3, and 7 year old who had a lot of fun. This was our first time to Memories and it was a great first trip for the kids. Everyone enjoyed themselves. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing beaches, always able to get a spot for our big group (18 people). Pools nice and clean. Staff friendly.
Certified

MEMORIES FLAMENCO EXPERIENCE

, Brampton, ON
2020-03-22
SATISFACTORY EXPERIENCE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF IS AMAZING.
The weak points
FOOD WAS THE SAME EVERY NIGHT.
Certified

March 1-12 windy weather

, Orleans, ON
2020-03-15
The resort is medium sized and has a circular plan, which makes it accessible and cozy. The staff makes it lively and friendly. The buffet staff changes tops each day with visible different themes: pirates, tropical fruit, etc. The bar staff demonstrate their skills, as do the buffet chefs and restaurant staff, as do the animation staff, as do garden staff. The store is small and offers limited choices. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant resort, friendly staff, meeting Canadian expectations, feeling at home given that the majority of tourists were Canadian
The weak points
The beach chairs were reserved by staff first thing each morning and sold for 1 CUC to those willing to pay. No tourist could ever get front row palapas without paying!
Certified

Memories Flamenco Cayo Coco

, Tottenham, ON
2020-03-09
the people of course are wonderful! The food was good....service was very friendly. The reservation desk for ala carte meals was definitely poor...not really sure if she didn't understand english well or whether she just didn't like me....went to see her 3 times and she screwed us up 4 times. Luckily, the people at the restaurants are far nicer....they let us in even though our reservations were either wrong or couldn't be found. Hotel itself has gone WAY downhill. This was our 2nd time at this resort and it'll be my last....mold in the hallways, shower walls looked ready to cave in, cockroaches......definitely would not go back there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the people and the beach
The weak points
the hotel itself
Certified

So much potential

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-01
Fantastic resort with great facilities, but needs better management of staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful pool and beaches. Great evening entertainment.
The weak points
Poor bathroom maintenance. Hotel rooms weren't well cleaned. Towels and sheets not washed. Staff generally not helpful. Little communication and information available.
Certified

Not very good memories from this Resort AVOID

, South Bruce, ON
2020-02-24
First off please read till the end. I really don;t want people wasting their time of money on this resort. This review is very honest I have visited Cube 4 times before this resort so I understand what I should expect. This resort is definitely not a 4 star, it might be a strong 2 star companies should be ashamed to even offer this resort. Departure from Toronto was 1 hour late, arrival at Cayo Coco was flawless direct ride to resort arrives shortly after 12 noon. Our group consisted of 14 people. Check in was a disaster 12 of the 14 didn't get a room till approx. 6 pm and not offered anywhere to change or leave luggage till rooms were ready. The majority of our group stayed in building #7 (please avoid) rooms were very outdated, furniture was not of good quality main dresser was actually falling apart bed was like sleeping on concrete slab, you get 2 pillows per person and if you put them together they might have totaled 4 inches thick. The only new item in the room was the mini fridge. Some rooms have patio doors that lock automatically when they are closed. One couple from our group found that out the hard way and were locked out on their balcony for approx. 1 1/2 hours after the front desk had been notified. Second floor of building #7 has no lighting in the hallways what so ever for the entire 10 days our group was there. Maid service on the 3rd floor was absolutely horrid. had to ask for toilet paper every day as the maid would not leave any if not asked. Our room 7311 had the floors swept once during our 10 day stay, our drink glasses and coffee cups were never replaced or for that matter even wiped out. We left tips and toiletries for our maid she gladly took them but service never improved. Buffet restaurant was okay typical Cuban buffet food was cold unless you stood in line and had it made fresh. Omelettes in morning are amazing the 3 chefs are fabulous. bacon good luck if there is any its either wrapped around a hot dog or its in a pan raw. If you do go to the buffet make sure you look for a woman named Leticia this girl is amazing she made sure our group had the same table for breakfast lunch and dinner for our entire stay and remembers everyone of us from day 1. Public washroom around the grounds ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING no seats in woman's washroom pack toilet paper cause there isn't any for the most part and the bathrooms were just horrible see pics. the resort ran out of milk 3 day out of 10 ran out of ice pretty much every day. Not all bars are able to make all drinks some only offer beer and rum punch. Soft drinks go ahead if you're brave. We spoke to other people staying at other resorts to see if they were experiencing the same or similar issues at their resort and oddly enough they were not, only seemed to be this resort. And if you think by upgrading to the Diamond club will be any better don't waste your money It was no better according to about 20 couples that we talked to that thought it would be better. This resort has recently had a major change in management, and is is very evident that the new management doesn't care about their customers, their staff or for the resort. The beach and the pools are the most amazing thing of the property. Other than that this resort is not worth spending your money on if you want to go to Cayo Coco go anywhere other than this shit hole PLEASE. I do want to give a big thank you to a couple of the staff that we got to know that actually made this trip just a little better. Leticia you have a very bubbly personality and made every meal fun. Jay you also make the days at the pool seem that much more fun, you and the rest of the animation crew work your asses off to make each day seem that much better despite the management support that is being provided. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & pools and the some of the staff
The weak points
Lack of management presence at the resort & the overall condition of facilities.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022