Starfish Cayo Guillermo

Starfish Cayo Guillermo
3.493.493.493.493.49
3.49 based on 621 reviews
#9 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (499)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345678

WIFI

, Ottawa, ON
2022-09-14
WIFI is not working that was so bad. Other things is very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Awful birthday trip

, Hamilton, ON
2022-08-27
We went here for my birthday and was very disappointed. In our room there was fleas all over the bathroom floor and in the bed. The back door of our room (on the first floor) had no long on it. Was told by the director general Sabine that they would send someone and never did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and the wait staff
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
There were none and the hand sanitizer dispenser was always empty
Certified

Amazing Hotel!

, Newcastle, ON
2022-08-19
We had a big group of all ages visit this hotel. The rooms are really nice and clean. The food is good and it was well organized. The manager was very friendly and accommodating whenever we had a request. I would definitely return for another visit in the future! Thank you for a wonderful vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, well organized, friendly staff

Beautiful as ever and now even better!

, Montréal, QC
2022-07-18
I have traveled this destination very often, Cayo Guillermo has one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! The Starfish Cayo Guillermo was a brand change a few years back, this hotel has been around for many years and had a certain vintage feel to it, Starfish did an awesome job with renovations. The staff is so experienced and always so generous especially Sabine, the General Manager who is always around to make sure everyone has the best vacation ever! Sabine speaks French, English, Spanish and is so nice to talk to, thank you so much for making our trip the best and making us fall in love once again with this destination! Please do not forget to stop by Pilar beach just a few minutes away, an absolute MUST-SEE! Thank you Starfish Cayo Guillermo, we cannot wait to be back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach Kitesurf Easy access to beach and all services
The weak points
40 minutes to Cayo Coco airport

Great spot in Cuba!

, Hamilton, ON
2022-07-06
I have stayed at this Hotel numerous times and have enjoyed it every time. The rooms are great and the resort is nice and quite! (They do have a disco for those who love the night life!) It's a great location to stay if you love fishing, as well! Hotel is located near the famous Hemingway bridge, which is great for fishing. Thank you to Sabine Adolphy and Mercy Rodriguez for all their great hospitality and for making our stay special! I will definitely be returning soon to see all my Amazing friends and family in Cuba! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Home away from Home ❤️

, Hamilton, ON
2022-07-06
I absolutely love this place! It's definitely my Home away from Home every time I go to Cuba. The Staff are amazing and make you feel like Family ❤️ This resort is romantic, beautiful and quite, which makes for a memorable trip! Special Thank you so much to Sabine Adolphy (General Manager)) and to Mercy Rodriguez (Sales Manager) for going above and beyond with your amazing kindness and hospitality. As well, big hugs and kisses to the best Kitchen staff Leivism Napoles and Leticia! I will definitely be returning soon!!! Thank you to Everyone for everything! ❤️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful spot! Great Beaches! Amazing People!

Beautiful Beaches and Great Service!

, Woolwich, ON
2022-07-03
I went to starfish solo in April and loved it there. My hotel was nice, the food was decent and the beach was spectacular! Sabine (the hotel manager) made sure I had a comfortable stay and a nice room and was very helpful anytime I needed assistance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Made memories to spare!!!

, Mississauga, ON
2022-06-26
We honestly had a wonderful time. The costumer service was stellar, we had no issues whatsoever with the staff because everyone was very kind and eager to help us. Regarding the rooms, there could be some improvements overall but nothing too concerning, the price-quality balance is quite spot on. We loved all the watersports and the beaches of course are heaven on earth. Lastly the food was okay, not that much variety but given what we expected we cannot complain, especially the gala dinner we had on Wednesday which was quite nice. We a wonderful vacation and would return in a heartbeat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Costumer service Cleanliness Beaches
The weak points
Room accommodations

The best carribean experiences

, Mississauga, ON
2022-06-23
We returned to our happy place again after covid. It was even better than we remembered! The food gets 4 stars because the buffet totally renovated its installation and it felt very luxurious with the airconditioning. The snack bar had new renovations as well..roasted chicken every afternoon, it was honestly delicious... The service staff are always joyful and willing to give a helping hand wherever needed!  Customer service GETS A HUGE THUMBS UP  for all they did for us. I cannot remember all the names but a huge thank you and loads of appreciation, even more considering how things have worsened complicated after the pandemic. I'm already planning a return trip for next year. And really hope to see you all again. I wish you all the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Costumer service and staff
The weak points
Food is good quality but there is limited variety

Excellent vacations

, Saint-Laurent, QC
2022-06-10
I went to Cayo Guillermo 2019 and fell in love with this island.
During last three years I've been dreaming to return there and finally my dream become reality. I choose this hotel because it's small and the bungalows are on the beach. I have all my expectations fulfilled! My room was facing the ocean, it was sparkling clean with a good air conditioner, always hot water.
The people… I love you, guys, you are doing your best and more for us so we could have a really good time. Thank you!
All the stuff is amazing, I'm not going to write your names because I'm afraid I'll forget someone but I can't forget your smiles and the wonderful work you are doing. The food is good, so just ignore the people who complain.
The beach is simply amazing and the ocean too.
Wonderful vacation, be back as soon as I can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
People, location, very clean, good food
The weak points
None

Our Home away from Home ❤️

, Hamilton, ON
2022-05-26
All the Staff and Workers at this Resort are Amazing! I am so Happy it is finally reopen. This is is best place in Cuba!!! We stay here Every time we go! We got to meet some new People this trip who have gone above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. Thank you so much especially to Mercy and Sabine for all Their extra kindness!) And Thank you so much for the Special Dinner we had during Our stay. It was so Romantic and Special and honestly the Beat Dinner We have Ever had in Cuba! ❤️ We will be back soon to see all Our Friends and Family! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Best location in Cuba! Small intimate Resort with some of the best People in Cuba! Always feel like Family when we stay here! We look forward to going a couple times a year to this little piece of Heaven on Earth ❤️

Wether you are a kiteboarder or a beach bum!

, Beaconsfield, QC
2022-05-05
In mid April we spent two weeks with a group of six and we all decided that the hotel is better than ever! It seems every time we return our high expectations are not just met but exceeded! The new dining area is a huge improvement bright and airy and we all decided that this was the best food we've ever had in Cuba.
The new management seems to be doing an awesome job as whenever we had any small issues they were taken care of right away.
We are Kiteboarder's and we go there for the awesome wind and shallow water but I was amazed this time to find out how many regular beach goers are back for their 10th time!
In my mind adding everything up, great location, good food, awesome service and the bonus of individual cabana style rooms makes it my favourite hotel in the world.
Five stars and a bargain to boot! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Best kiteboarding hotel anywhere (especially for the price!) fantastic beach,good food and fantastic service whats not to love?!
The weak points
Stay in the concrete rooms if possible any negative reviews I read is from folks in the wooden bungalows.

Memories for a lifetime

, Saint Catharines, ON
2022-04-14
We just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at Starfish Cayo Guillermo. I'm happy to say that we enjoyed warm, friendly, welcoming people. From the groundskeepers, maintenance crew, housekeeping, the animation team, food & beverage staff, guest relations to upper management, absolutely everyone made our stay very special. The resort has been closed for a few years and there are areas that have not been used and it shows, but by week two we could see that things were progressing quickly with getting things back in tip-top shape.
If you are a beach person, like we are and like to swim and snorkel you should be aware that this beach is partially groomed, but mostly very natural which means there are shells and vegetation both on the beach and in the water. I would recommend water-shoes. To swim you must walk quite far out to get to a depth that is suitable for swimming as the water is shallow for a long way out with many sandbars that appear above water at low tide. The other option is to walk a few minutes along the beach where the water gets deeper almost immediately. The shallow water makes it ideal for families with small children, but be aware there is a kiteboarding school and many kiteboarding guests who make use of the same area. We had a kite crash to the beach about 5 meters behind us as we walked on the beach one day and yet another day we had a kiteboarder so close to us in knee-deep water that he high-fived me as he sailed past. Kiteboarding requires wind and this location is always windy, sometimes light winds, sometimes very strong winds. The water is warm and crystal clear but sadly not much to see for snorkelers unless you walk to the pier at the next resort where there are some schools of fish. We saw a barracuda, tiny sergeant majors and between the furthest pier at a now closed resort and the next resort there were MANY jellyfish which were easy enough to avoid contact with. Alternately, if the weather conditions permit you can take a catamaran to the off-shore reef or island for $25 USD. When we were there (the first 2 weeks of April) there were very few guests using the beach so it was nice and quiet.
The pool, which we never used was very well maintained and crystal clear. This is where most of the action takes place with the animation team offering games, competitions and entertainment. The music is loud, and it is a very active spot.
The entertainment was not something we attended regularly, but when we did it was very good. The precision water performers were our favourite as well as the dancing.
The food was very good, and we especially enjoyed the outdoor buffets. One at the beach bar, one in a small grassy area and one around the pool. The buffet provided a wide selection of foods, and the ala carte meals were exceptional.
Currency / shopping. This is very confusing, and we were told different things by different people. There are three currencies. The Cuban peso, the American dollar and the Canadian dollar. The stores at the resort price in USD and you can also use a Visa credit card. Bring small bills for tipping or tip your favourite staff (if they serve you repeatedly) a large single tip at the beginning or end of your stay.
Our trip was not totally without incident. We arrived back at our room one evening, opened our door with a card key and as we entered my boyfriend saw through the patio door curtains a shadow of person. At first, he thought the person was in the room, but although the door was slightly ajar it may have been that they never actually entered the room. Nothing was taken, in fact nothing was even touched. We do not blame the resort for this occurrence as it can happen (and does happen) anywhere in the world. Also, we do not think it reflects badly on them, in fact quite the opposite.
We reported this incident to Lolita in Guest Relations and she was shocked and appalled. She took the matter very seriously and immediately took appropriate action to launch an investigation. We were somewhat disarmed by the matter and because we were not comfortable staying in the same room, Lolita very quickly arranged for us to be moved to a different room for which we were very grateful. Thank you also to Sabine, the Director General for her concern and attention to the matter. She and Lolita continually checked on us and reassured us that matters of this nature are taken very seriously and that the police were also involved. The entire matter was solved quickly, and the resort is implementing new protocol to prevent similar occurrences. We were very impressed with Lolita and Sabine.
Other people that impressed us were a few of our favourites including a few we know by name and a few we don't since some of the staff do not wear name tags. Our daily servers in the buffet Yanely, Idalia, and Yaumar. A lady who was a server and often welcomed at the door. Our ala carte server. A man from the front desk who helped us change rooms and drove us to Aroma one night (I think his name starts with a Y). The gentleman who made the hats and grasshoppers. A sweet elderly gentleman who worked in the garden and cut me a hibiscus to wear in my hair. Another gardener who always greeted us warmly and offered us coconuts. Bartender Elvis. And July who we taught to play our favourite dice game.
Thank you everyone at Starfish Cayo Guillermo for helping us make wonderful memories that will stay with us for a lifetime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
the people the accommodation cleanliness
The weak points
shallow water kiteboard traffic wind

Starfish Cayo Guillermo

, Mississauga, ON
2022-04-08
It was my Birthday and upon arrival I feel like everyone was just waiting for me . Beautiful director of the hotel mrs. Sabina arrange all with such professionalism . First of all and most important is apartment was clean and accurately arranged, not ever during my stay I notice any insects. Pleasant staff , great job of cleaners and entertainers. Very creative schedule of simple thing like lunch around the pool or lunch BBQ outdoor .
I'm glad of time spent there and will be back some day [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Internet was complimentary and very fast
The weak points
AC at night is not best idea after hot day , so it's a low mode or fan running is good enough
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean everywhere , staff wearing mask all the time , guests is optional . Wall sanitation station very frequently installed and available to use at any time
Certified

Good

, Cookstown, ON
2022-03-26
The staff are fantastic. Entertainers are fun to be with. Ocean is so beautiful. Rooms are private and well cared for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff are the best Ocean is beautiful. We are use to visiting villages but there are no people living on the island.
The weak points
Take a converter We were told we did not need it but they did not have one for CPAP machine
Certified

Best beach!!

, Greenwood, NS
2022-03-21
We have done a couple Cuba trips this winter since not being able to travel for a couple of years. We visited in January and the beach by far was just the best. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were always looked after.

The new GM, Sabine, was always working and mingling with guests and you can she truly considered all feedback. She also advised us they are working with NRG2GO in Canada and will have pro Zumba and yoga instructors attending the resort to teach for the guests. Not many resorts offer this!!

The buffet had everything anyone could want. Constant Reno's happening and this resort is only going to get better! Entertainment staff was top notch. Always entertaining and you could participate in many things or none!

We will return soon!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach

Best Resort I have been to

, Hamilton, ON
2020-03-02
I have been to Cuba 6 times and always had a wonderful time but this resort, OMG. The vibe here is FANTASTIC, The people, The Staff. Everything was on point. The staff are always willing to help you no matter what. Any issues were dealt with right away. The Staff are very attentive. Making sure you are happy and no issues.
I loved the resort because of the people. It made my trip to be Amazing, more than any others, and I have been to a few, all ranging in stars.
The food was good, its not the ritz but its food, don't forget where you are. They had some wonderful dinners. The al a cartes were wonderful.
The Entertainment was amazing. Always something going on.
Horseback riding right on the resort, go to the towel hut to arrange it..LOVED this.
Made a birthday cake for me and sang to me, so sweet.
The grounds were gorgeous, always well kept. The gardeners were always hard at work.
The security were always there to keep you safe but also to laugh with.
The maids were wonderful. Keeping the rooms very clean, as well as the property.

I can not say enough about this resort.
The atmosphere at this resort is Fantastic.
All the Staff are wonderful.
The bar staff, The gardners, maids, security, management..so on.
They all take pride in there jobs.

The beach was well kept. Gorgeous
The pools was always clean.

Can the resort use an update, of course. With the salt air, it will do damage but I think overall, this resort is in pretty great shape.
Loved the size of the resort as well, it was prefect.

I took quite a bit of care packages for ALL the staff, as the maids get from every room, day in and day out, so share the wealth and they are oh so Thankful.
They need toiletries, toys for children, candies as these items are very expensive for them. They are appreciative for any.

I can not wait to go back.
I loved this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff make this resort so wonderful. Had a fantastic time getting to know a lot of the staff. Always have a smile, and always so helpful.
The weak points
Wifi only in Lobby and spotty at that, but not there to be on internet, so didn't bother me

BEST TRIP EVER!!

, Portage La Prairie, MB
2020-02-24
Met a food group of people and from there we branches out and made more amazing relationships with other older couples and many amazing staff members. The GM of the resort (Caesar) interacted daily with my group of friends and myself and made sure we were satisfied at all times! We requested a foam party, the GM made a few calls, got us a foam party the next day! Cooking staff were all amazing. All needs were met when needed and overall great experience! If you wanted to go to ‘clubs' / ‘discos' the staff walked you there and back every night for safety or organized buses for only 2 pesos, there and back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- amazing room cleaners -amazing maintenance staff handing out coconuts/palm tree art/etc. -food staff amazing -entertainment was always different every night and great! - GM was amazing and all staff very interactive with all guests
The weak points
-only get wifi in the lobby
Certified

The perfect getaway!

, Dartmouth, NS
2020-02-15
We were 2 tired souls desperately looking for a relaxing getaway, and that's exactly what this vacation was...wonderfully relaxing.
We had booked the bungalow (an upgrade). Once checked in, we were a bit disappointed by the size of the 2 beds in the room. We ended up having to sleep separately..although we could have pushed the two beds together, we were too tired to care. We also struggled to sleep because we didn't realize at the time of booking that the bungalows have two rooms. The wall separating each room might as well not even be there, it sounded like the people next door were in the bed with us. Luckily we had ear plugs and soon fell asleep.
The resort was full but they managed to accommodate our request to move to a concrete room and was very happy with this room. Clean, very comfortable beds and the shower was great with lots of pressure and hot water.

Now for the great parts of this resort. The beach had lots of loungers and very clean and seaweed is cleaned regularly. Everyone was very friendly and many of the staff spoke English. One person stood out. Alex (one of the managers) was there day and night, making sure everything was running smoothly and was exceptionally welcoming and extremely kind. He is, most definitely, a great asset to this resort.
Although the resort is a bit dated, there are many areas that are quite lovely. The pools are well maintained, and even though the resort was full to capacity, I never once had to search for a lounger. The grounds are very well kept, buildings looked freshly painted and looks like a little village in the bungalow section.
The food was, in all honesty, my biggest concern. For a 3 star resort, I was expecting the usual. Boy was I in for a treat! Not only did I find food I liked...but it was tasty!! Like really tasty. This was a highlight of the week. I actually didn't eat very often at the grill because I saved my appetite for the buffet!
We went to only 1 a la carte, the italian one. Without a doubt, if you follow their advice on what is good, you will have a great experience! The only down side was their seafood spaghetti...it tastes a lot different than you would expect.
We didn't take in a lot of entertainment since we are early risers, so bedtimes were super early...but the shows we did see were extremely good and worth watching.
One of the best excusions we chose was the spa package. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. A quick 25 minute double decker bus ride will take you to the Plaza Flamenco. Here you can relax and enjoy yourself...this was a huge treat...not to be missed when going to Cayo Coco island.
Cesar (another manager) let us know that there are plans for lots of work to be done as a Canadian company recently purchased this resort.
All in all I was pleasantly surprised by how accurate the other reviews are about this place. We are definitely going to come back...next time will be for more than just 7 days.
Thanks to all of the staff for making this getaway the most memorable one! Until next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, management
The weak points
Bungalows need a better wall separating both rooms. Didn't feel like an upgrade.
Certified

CLUB CAYO GUILLERMO

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-08
Excellent Resort for All ages. Perfect lay out. Can see ocean from main lobby.
Food was good, lots of variety. Rooms spacious and we got connecting rooms making it perfect for the children [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is excellent Beach was breathtaking
The weak points
Little hiccups with safe in room but attentively fixed No 24 hour snacks
Certified

Best hotel ever

, Scarborough, ON
2020-01-21
Best place ever ! Love the hotel , the people so friendly !The beach awesome ! We had the best time ever in Cuba , because this hotel , everywhere I went to Cuba never had ‘this god time ! Delicious food, best entertainment day and night ! Now we booked again On February 2-16 February ! Love Cuba , and the club Cayo Guillermo with All in include ♥️ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Club Cayo Guillermo

, Leduc, AB
2019-12-28
Overall good experience. This is an old resort and they were doing maintenance and renovations however I did enjoy it. It is under new management. There is a bus you can use to travel the small island for $5/day. The dolphinarium is a 10 minute walk. No screens on the windows so bugs can get in. Depending on the wind will depend on how good/bad the bugs are. It was very windy while I was there. It's one of the most popular places to kite surf because of that and the shallow beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good customer service, clean room, good cleaning staff, food was good, nice beach, massage available, horse ride on the beach, kite surfing
The weak points
When it started raining, water leaked in through the window. There are not enough bars/restaurants for the size of the resort. I had to wait to get into the buffet many times and some of the food ran out. The water was on/off for many hours one day.
Certified

Second Visit in a Year

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-23
We just returned from Club Cayo Guillermo. This was our second visit in a year as we were pleasantly surprised last time(see our review last November). The hotel has changed hands twice in the last year and is now owned by Blue Diamond. The General Manager and his team were talking to guests all week to make sure they were happy and was there anything they would like to see. The grounds were filled with Gardeners and crews working to get the hotel to where Blue Diamond want it to be. Food was great again this trip, fresh meat and fish cooked to order every lunch and dinner and eggs and crepes on offer every breakfast. The wait staff were awesome especially Yulia and Elvis. The Animation team were great. Organising games and shows, they were giving away 3 bottles of rum a day to winners of those "Crazy Games" as they call them. We won 2 ourselves....Thanks to George and Angie and the rest of the team. The shows were fun to watch and always high energy. We will head back next year!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ceasar(GM) and Alejandro always on the property with the guests. Wait staff were attentive and the animation team were fun.
The weak points
The quiet pool at the back needs love. Caesar is aware of it and the order is in for the supplies to get it cleaned up.
Certified

Towels

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-10
Firstly I would like to commend the bar and entertainment staff at the resort, awesome and friendly. As for the management and front desk staff, they need alot of customer service improvement. Myself and my 16 year old daughter and her friend were treated very unprofessional by guest services and management. Upon our check out were approached regarding 'missing' towels...yes towels!!! I allowed the manager to check our luggage for the towels which of course were not in our luggage as we didn't take the 3 towels. I was approached on several occasions regarding the towels to the point of being asked to leave the resort without assistance of transportation to the airport. At this point our flight was 7 hours away so leaving wasn't an option as I had kids with me. I refused to leave the resort so therefore she said security would remove me and my guests. Needless to say I was very upset and was in disbelief of the experience. My daughter approached the manager and 4 other key staff because she was accused of stealing the towels. Words were exchanged by staff in a yelling manner towards my daughter and myself. Very unprofessional especially over towels. I was asked to pay $61 USA for the towels and if I did not than the chambermaid was going to have to pay. I was not going to allow that to happen considering they work hard for wages for so much less. In the end I was charged $50 USA for the towels and I was rid of the harrassment from guest services and management. Please think twice before booking with this resort. I felt the situation could have been dealt with a better solution. I felt like a criminal and other staff were staring and pointing. All of this over TOWELS!!!!!! I will never recommend or go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Too many to list.
Certified

Simply amazing

, Saint-Leonard, QC
2019-06-15
We've been to this resort over 10 times and what makes it extra special is the staff. We consider them family! They go over and above to try to accommodate you. They are some of the happiest, humble and genuine people we've ever met. There is nothing that they won't do to try to help.

The food may not be what we North American's are use to, but I've never met anyone who starved while being there. Maybe we should lower our standards and realize that all they have, they offer, and it's done with heart.

There have been complaints about sheets and towels not being changed on a daily basis. A simple question. Do we change our sheets and wash our towels every day? If they don't supply fresh towels on a daily basis, there's a reason. We don't know what goes on behind the scenes and it's not out of laziness that it's not done. The staff (all of them) work long hours, some doing double shifts. Where is the compassion and understanding?

Complaints about bugs, frogs and so forth in rooms. What control do they have over that? Being on a tropical island comes with those critters. Do we not have bugs back home? They fog the grounds every morning and early evening, however there's only so much that they can do.

Complaints about the grounds. The grounds are manicured to perfection! I don't know where those people that complained about the grounds were staying, but it wasn't here. There are gardeners constantly pulling weeds, watering the plants and removing dead leaves, and so forth. Garbage around the grounds has never been witnessed by myself or my husband.

Public bathrooms? I recommend having some toilet paper in your fanny pack or purse. Although they are always maintained, you may have walked in at a time of day when the worker hasn't had the chance to replenish the paper. I've been to public bathrooms back home where the bathroom are not even fit for a dog to use. What excuse do we have for that?

The rooms are very clean and bright. We've never stayed at the wooden bungalows, so I can't comment on those. In regards to complaints about the phone not working in a room. How often would you need to use the phone? If it's for a wake-up call, then at that point if the phone is not working and it's mentioned to the front desk, I'm sure that they'd be more than willing to wake you up with a knock on the door.

I strongly suggest this resort to anyone and everyone. It's simply beautiful, relaxing and the staff are wonderful.
An A goes to Lolita (Public Relations) Pepe (front desk), Julia (waitress), Julio (gardner), Edwin (front desk manager) Ermos (bartender), Capitana (bartender) Tony (bartender) for their hard work and making us feel like we're part of their family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, location and amenities
The weak points
NONE

Great resort for the price!

, Clarks Harbour, NS
2019-06-10
We booked this resort as a cheap place to go to rest and relax. We're not picky people and went with no real expectations. We LOVED this resort! There is so much going for it and we would happily return.

What we loved:

There is plenty of shaded areas both by the pool (even private little cabanas) and at the beach which is long and never seems to be busy at all because it's so long and spread out.

The staff are super! We tipped and received phenomenal service. Our table was ready for us at every meal with our drinks of choice already waiting when we were ready to sit with our food.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept with flowering shrubs lining all the many walk ways (this is a very sprawling resort with "duplex" buildings with 2 rooms in most). Lots of places to stroll around and just walk off some of the food and drinks after dinner.

The beach was great. My husband doesn't swim but because the beach is a long sandbar it's not deep and is great for children and people who aren't comfortable in deep water or strong waves. Fish will happily eat out of your hand if you offer them a little bit of bread - even in knee deep water.

The pier with the covered area at the end is a perfect place to spend the day watching the fish and pelicans.

The buffet had fresh cooked to order eggs, crepes, etc. in the morning, fresh grilled fish and meats at lunch and dinner. Being Nova Scotians we loved the grilled fish and ate it every single day. There was also lovely fresh fruit, lots of simple fare of vegetables, rices, pickles, cheese, cold cuts and delicious breads. Cuban food appears to be quite simple with little seasoning so if you need lots of salt and pepper on your meals you might want to bring your own. Even with the short supply of many things in Cuba there was no shortage of food. We felt very grateful for every mouthful.

The grounds keepers were handy with a machete and a coconut fresh from the many trees on the grounds and would lop off the top so you could have a refreshing coconut water drink (we recommend hitting the bar for the addition of a little dash of coconut rum - it's to die for!!!)

The lobby bar (Hemingways) is excellent. The drinks here are the best as is the coffee. Nightly there is a musician or singer preforming there for more "gentle" folks.

What wasn't so great:

The rooms and buildings are a tad bit run down and could use a bit of sprucing up. Staff do try to make things attractive with fresh cut flowers in the public areas.

The music at the pool bar/entertainment area is loud and almost exclusively dance music with a lot of bass so if that's not your bag, then you may want to stay at the lobby bar area otherwise it's a great place to hang out and have some fun. We're not big fans of the dance music but it does stop by 10 pm or so at night so it doesn't interfere with a peaceful nights sleep.

Mosquitoes come out around 8 pm every night and they are fast little ninja mosquitoes not the big dumb ones like we have here. Take and use bug repellent so you can enjoy the evening hours too. Also, if you have a louvered vent area in the bathroom of your room, keep your bathroom door closed at night because a few mosquitoes may find their way in overnight. The resort is set along a wetland reserve area so keep this in mind.

We went to just veg and relax so we didn't partake of the entertainments much except at the lobby bar and one morning of sailing and snorkeling. If you are inclined to be more active, there are kayaks, paddle boats, snorkeling, paddle boards free of charge. Also pool parties and special outdoor bbq meals at lunchtime with Cuban performers.

While the buildings/rooms may not be 5 star, and if you can live with that, then you can have a very nice vacation at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Value for the money

, Riverton, MB
2019-03-18
We have been to Cuba several times but this was the first time at this resort. The staff was pleasant especially Ada our chamber maid.

Upon arrival we found our safe did not work, after mentioning it to Adolpho the problem was resolved very quickly.

We had upgraded to a bungalow which definitely was not worth it. Dresser was in disrepair with broken drawers and no fridge as advertised. Walls were so thin you could hear everything the neighbors said and could see outside through the outside walls.

Food was generally very good with plenty of variety for breakfast, lunch, and supper. Unfortunately serving personnel were quite slow getting drinks to table. Often after we were almost done eating.

Daily entertainment although very loud was very good. Particularly the musicians at the Hemingway bar in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adult entertainment at Hemingway bar. Excellent outdoor barbecue and entertainment.
The weak points
Broken coffee maker for 3 days, no tap beer for 3 days, and 2 broken grills for breakfast one day. Also often a shortage of dishes at buffet and dessert area.
Certified

Gran caribe

, Bowmanville, ON
2019-03-13
I t was our first visit to Cuba and we were advised that the food would not be the best and i have to agree
Having said that, the beautiful ocean, sand and pools were more of a priority for us.
The staff were all super friendly and accommodating. We loved , loved loved the event staff. They had us participating in fun games and dancing( we are usually just happy watching).
We would certainly stay at this resort again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great for the Money

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-25
My girlfriend and I spent 3 days here. It was all the time away we could get. I booked because of the price. Pleasantly surprised at what we got for our money. Fresh crepes and or eggs every morning and fresh meat and fish cooked to order at every lunch and dinner. 3 pools, 2 at the front with the animation team and 1 on its own nice and quiet. The resort is large and the beach is long and deep so if you are going during peak times you will still have no trouble with a crowded beach.We were in the wooden 2 storey section near the quiet pool. The pools could do with a bit of a clean and the coffee at the buffet in the morning was not great(coffee at the bar was awesome). We would absolutely go back here. Almost all the accomodations are bungalows so great if stairs are a challenge [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were awesome. Everyone so friendly. Beach is deep and long. Water is 3ft deep even 50 metres from shore so great for kids.
The weak points
Hurricane Irma washed much of the sand off the beach so it is a bit shelly. Coffee in the buffet not great. Pools really need to be cleaned, water was clear but too much sand and grout mold.
Certified

Sercotel Club Cayo Guillermo

, Peterborough, ON
2018-09-24
Beautiful, bright, clean, open concept at main lobby. Arrived late and they wanted to forgo sign in to give me a chance to have something to eat as the restaurant was about to close. I thought that was nice. Sign in was a breeze and escort to my room was really quick. Nice wooden buildings with 4 rooms each. Could use a bit of sound proofing though. Nice concrete walkways and wooden boardwalks, very open with lots of foliage. Two prestine swimming pools, clean and bright. Very laid back atmosphere, no pressure what so ever. I'm 65 and this was my first visit to Cuba, I've been to Bermuda and Dominica Republic and out of the three, Cuba is at the top. I will really recommend going there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff = very outgoing, friendly and considerate about your needs. Service = Top notch, right there when you need them. Overall = They made me feel like family, not a tourist.
The weak points
Walkways = Could use a little more lighting. Food = Not too much of a choice, could have more variety. Rooms = No face clothes and bar fridge not stocked.
Certified
pages: 12345678

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022