Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Memories Caribe Beach Resort
3.623.623.623.623.62
3.62 based on 1575 reviews
#8 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (882)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

The TRUTH about Memories Caribe Beach CAYO COCO

, Belle River, ON
2022-11-16
An honest summation for anyone considering going to this resort is to check your expectations at the door. What was meant to be a great little last-minute getaway to the #2 ranked resort (and I use the word resort loosely) turned into an eye opening experience. Seriously you could NOT make this stuff up. We decided that since the last minute price was so good we would upgrade to Diamond Club and thank God we did. Diamond Club is NOT an upgrade, I repeat NOT an upgrade. What Diamond Club did guarantee us was working air conditioning, a working toilet, hot water and a safe that worked. Without the upgrade we would have been like the less fortunate guests there who did not get these luxuries.

We arrived at the resort at 10pm, without our welcome drink which I don't care about but am only noting if that matters to you. We were given our room information and told to take a photo of the only resort map available that was taped to the counter top. That was so that we could find our own way to our rooms and our luggage would follow. So off we went into the darkness, down unlit or poorly lit pathways searching for a building. After getting lost on our own we finally found our room. It was a side by side one level building with an outdoor shower which was private and kind of cool. The room was a basic room with a king bed that would not have sheets changed the entire week, a mini fridge that was completely empty, although it is supposed to be stocked daily and a bathroom that had a toilet with a minimal supply of recycled toilet paper that resembled swiss cheese.

The pool was nice enough but would benefit by railings at the stairs. The pool bar was in a shaded area and staffed by a man who didn't seem to like his job much. To each his own, there were other bars to choose from if you wanted.

The daytime entertainment team consisted of 2 people that would socialize with the patrons, not run any organized games and were under the impression that turning the music up louder was entertainment enough. On one occasion they came out and danced for the guests and then left. The worst entertainment/engagement staff I have ever encountered.

Provisions…. Where do I start. It's Cuba so keep an open mind. I have to say you won't starve there and I am certain nobody goes there for the food anyway but besides the gluttony of guests my only complaint would be the speed at which the service stations operated. Standing well over 30 minutes in line to get pasta is quite unusual but at least it was available. What they DID run out of during our stay was Cola and then Sprite, Fanta was now available. They ran out of Coffee, Beer, Vodka, Tequila during our stay. At one point they ran out of cups and were serving guests drinks out of the bottom half of a soda bottle they cut open. Then there is the power outage, water unavailable to the resort and the usual ‘sorry no toilet paper' so bring your own. Like I said you can't make this stuff up.

Reservations, don't get me started. We were diamond club and ended up with NO specialty restaurant reservations.

Let's talk about bugs, literally hundreds of bites later we have stopped scratching. From sand flees to noseeum's and your run of the mill fly. This place had them in spades. Might have gotten worse once they cut the one-foot high grass mid week or when they fogged the resort but everything we brought that was meant to help with bugs did not work.

Best thing about this was the beautiful water. I am glad I saw it because I will NEVER see it again. By mid week we would have been ok if a hurricane evacuated us. It took forever for the vacation to end. Thank God we met some other wonderful guests who kept us laughing and sane all week.



Thought this place deserved a dose of honesty. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful Beach
The weak points
See above
Certified

Terrible trip

, Mississauga, ON
2022-09-25
Memories caribe is no good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Cheap
The weak points
Mosquitos everywhere and almost all day
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Ok
Certified

A great Vacation

, Welland, ON
2022-08-09
We enjoyed our stay very much after upgrading to a room with a bathroom door. Food was tasty and we never had a reason to go hungry. Al la carte food was wonderful. The staff are friendly and accommodating and want to please you in every way they can. The beach and pool were awesome and we loved the fact that music was playing from 10 in the morning until 11 at night. It always seemed to be festive. Evening shows were great as well as daytime activity if you want to join in.
Our only complaints were that every time we used the sink or shower, the floor leaked from underneath and our patio doors took an armload of strength to open and close. We made the best of it and still had an awesome time. We informed management and they said after our departure they would close the room from future tourists until it was fixed .. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff will help in any way. Beautiful beach and resort. Cleanliness of the resort is very good.
The weak points
Most rooms have bathrooms with NO doors. You walk into the room and see right into the bathroom shower and if there is a door where the toilet is, the door is transparent glass. No Privacy whatsoever.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Sanitizer machines empty, not seeing any furniture being sanitized after use. Tables not being wiped with sanitizer after use. Masked use by some but not all of the staff.
Certified

Best staff and best all inclusive vacation

, North York, ON
2022-07-04
This was our first trip post covid, but we have travelled extensively prior to that, and this was our very best all-inclusive vacation.
The staff at Memories Caribe were excellent. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our vacation special. They served cheerfully and never expected tips or gifts but were extremely appreciative of every gift no matter how small.
The beach was beautiful and relaxing. Soft sand, gentle slope, no strong waves, or currents. Plenty of beach chairs and sun or shade under the coconut trees. Daily beach activities. I particularly enjoyed the stretching exercises at 10 am and the Zumba on the beach at 1130 (or aqua gym some days). The beach bar was convenient, as was the pizza shack (It is best to bring your own reusable drinkware and plate to the beach) . Livan was always helpful in providing a beach chair.
Our room was conveniently located midway between the lobby and the beach, and the paths were well lit and safe at night. We always had hot water for showers in the early afternoon (but later in the evening only tepid). The bed was very comfortable, and extra pillows were brought when we requested them. The AC worked fine. The maid cleaned and replaced the towels and a large bottle of water daily. One day the safe stopped working so we called, and they immediately sent over someone who replaced the battery for our safe and for the room door, and they worked well after that. There was no dead bolt on the door (it looked like one had been removed). We did request to have a dead bolt installed but it never happened during our 2 week stay (Cuba is short on supplies, so not their fault).
The Lobby bar was clean and air conditioned and all the staff there (especially Danaris and Yasser, we cannot remember all the names) were very attentive and hard working. We had the best Cappucinos there, and at Beans Café with Jusmilba. Some evenings a band really lit up the place with live music.
Restaurants: Only 2 A La Carte restaurants were open currently (Asian and Mediterranean). The food at the Mediterranean was always delicious, and the staff (Elvis, Delancey and Samuel) were amazing! We always felt so welcome. At the Buffet the fresh fruit (Mango, Papaya, Guava and Pineapple) and Ice creams were the best. The chefs at the grill stations (Machejo made the best pancakes and French toast for breakfast, and Fried rice for lunch; Irvari made the best omelets for breakfast). Our waiter Christian and our waitress Beiley were amazing. Beiley would decorate our table with fresh flowers every day.
The downside in the restaurants and buffet was the flies, even though they did their best to keep the tables clean and the flies out. I found it helpful to cover my glass with a napkin.
Lobby staff Alex, Aylet, Sulaidys, Xavier and Zulay were always helpful. Although Check in time is officially 4 pm, we arrived around 11 am (because our 0615 flight was on time) and they had our room ready very shortly after that, so we did not have to wait! This made our vacation very comfortable right from the start. Our return flight was at night but were very comfortable and were able to use the facilities to the very end. They have a complimentary room you can book for 30 minutes to shower and change if you have a late flight.
The Customer Service Representatives (Tita, Alessandra, and very especially Zuzel), were very responsive and helpful in every way. The manager Alba kept the resort running beautifully.
Entertainment: The shows in the theatre were spectacular (about 4 shows/week alternated with beach or pool parties).
Make sure to take plenty of mosquito repellant as there is none available at the gift shop. The mosquitos were everywhere including the rooms. It would be helpful if there was a ceiling fan in the room.
The maids who clean the washrooms in the lobby and snack bar areas were diligent. Please consider expressing your gratitude with gifts for these lovely people who are often overlooked.
The Gardens were meticulous and all the gardeners (Adrian, Alfredo, Jose, Rafa and others) were genuinely helpful in providing us with fresh coconuts off the trees whenever we asked.
Canadians: No need to exchange your Canadian dollars (the Cuban Peso is now worthless there). You can tip with loonies or toonies, but they can only take paper notes to the bank. So take plenty of $5 and $10 bills and they are happy to exchange their coins for the notes. They are paid in Cuban pesos but are only able to use those to get a few of the most basic groceries. They must buy toiletries and other essentials with US or Cdn $. They truly appreciate gifts of essentials for daily living, such as toiletries (even tooth paste and tooth brushes), Tylenol, Cough drops, first aid supplies (like polysporin, bandaids, etc), Toys, crayons and colouring books, Pens, clothing, shoes, Batteries (AA, AAA) as they cannot even buy them with $. We took extra bags and suitcases with gifts and they even appreciate the empty bags and suitcases left for them at the end. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
All the staff were all very attentive, helpful and cheerful (including the gardeners, maids, waiters, chefs, everyone). The beach was beautiful and relaxing. Stretching and zumba with the activities staff on the beach were fun.
The weak points
Mosquitoes everywhere (in spite of them spraying the grounds every morning and evening. Flies in the restaurants (even though they tried to keep them out)

Would definitely recommend.

, Toronto, ON
2022-06-25
We took a quick trip to Memories Caribe, for a relaxing extended long weekend stay, and it was fantastic.
The resort was beautiful and the staff were amazing. We got the Diamond club packages which I feel was a must as it included some additional great dinners and perks.
The beach is amazing- white, white sand and bright blue sand. The food down by the beach was great and the beach setup and bars made it a great place to spend a day in the sun.
The resort had a great pool to relax by as well, with some activities in the afternoon. They were fun without being too rowdy which was a great vibe. The nightly shows were amazing, and there was always something fun to do.
The staff were phenomenal and went out of their way to make us comfortable. I would highly recommend Memories Caribe for anyone looking to book a great vacay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
STUNNING Beach. Clean, safe resort. Excellent staff. Fantastic room. great atmosphere- fun and exciting without being all “party”.

Best trip

, Halifax, NS
2022-06-14
Memories was an awesome resort. The people there were so friendly and ready to help in anyway . The beach was perfect and the rooms were great. Impeccable service from all the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Memories Caribe

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-26
This was my first time to Cayo Coco and to Memories Caribe. It is a beautiful spot to spend a vacation. The weather was great. The beach is breath taking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The hotel was clean, staff friendly. It's location is outstanding. I spent my days on the beach. Never went without a chair. Drinks and food available right on the beach. Pool was huge and kept spotless.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellant adherence to sanitary measures.
Certified

Satisfactory stay

, Ottawa, ON
2022-04-14
Our experience at this hotel was just OK. Our first room gave a bad first impression. The door seams were cracked and the paint on it looked like a first coat. The bathroom was clean and spacious but the tap was ancient and scruffy looking. The room was big. The mattress (no pad) looked cheap but was surprisingly comfortable. Due to an issue, we switched rooms halfway through our week. That room was a bit more updated. Bed looked nicer and was equally comfortable as Bed 1. Pool was beautiful. Entertainment was enjoyable. Despite the mentioned positives, I would not return in favour of a place with a better walking beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful pool Good evening entertainment (tenor, dancers, saxophonist = good) Food was bland but had plentiful choices which were colourful The day time 'entertainment' staff was upbeat and friendly The grounds are well maintained
The weak points
Location TOO isolated. Beach TOO short - maybe 750m not great for walking. Lots of deep sand but it was speckled in bark/seaweed bits. NO tea, face cloths or body cream Not really 4 restaurants - 2 simply alternated themed cuisine
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff wore masks Hand sanitizer was usually available
Certified

Best resort in Cayo Coco

, Cardinal, ON
2022-04-01
The rooms were very spacious. AC and hot water was in good working condition. The resort Flamingo was the highlight of our day. Lots of activities for everyone on the resort. Never any shortages of food and drinks. We will definitely be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great pool, amazing staff and lots of entertainment.
The weak points
Our vacation wasn't long enough!
Certified

Quick getaway

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-02-17
Staff - Friendly & Helpful
Accommodation's - Good
Grounds & Gardens & Landscapers - Excellent
Food - Terrible
Alcohol assortment - Terrible
Bugs - Terrible [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, accommodations, grounds, beach
The weak points
Food, alcohol assortment, bugs
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good
Certified

Make do with less and make do without

, Sudbury, ON
2022-02-14
Incredibly unfriendly staff not willing to help you at all..Felt i had to tip all the time and even after repeatedly doing so the service was crap and my tips were unappreciated. I tipped 5 bucks canadian 1 dollar american and 20 dollars canadian repeatedly. Miserable bartender in the lobby bar. No hot water for first 5 days..no salt no pepper..no hot food in the buffet ( it was lukewarm). No toilet paper in washrooms for the ladies...i can shake it dry but girls cant and i get how mad my gf was..that didnt happen just once..that was the whole week. Dirty resort- just look at the countertops and doors and floors. Sit on the beach and enjoy the stifling stench of sun baked urine emanating from the back of the beach bar and lunch bar..they have no washroom closeby on beach..no maps of area no written literature in lobby.. no menus posted in any area except a la cartes..communication is poor period..most drinks not available..all ALL drinks were just crap..that wasnt rum..bubbly was crap..and most times unavailable and i had to pay for it..beer was cold but crappy .. wine was OBVIOUSLY watered down..you cant drink it..just try to. The food variety never changed..it was mush and meat was gristly and looked like tripe..music never changed...need i go on..i will go out of my way to discourage ANYONE trying to go there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach and weather was fantastic
The weak points
Absolutely everything was horrible..wanted to leave the first day there

This resort is not Covid safe

, Scarborough, ON
2021-12-18
Yesterday on December 18, 2021 this resort held a wedding. It was indoors; there were at least 50 people; sitting shoulder to shoulder; no one wearing masks. They allowed children on the resort for this wedding. This is a resort that is adults only and most people I have talk to paid for that to avoid Covid spreading children. Let me be clear the children they allowed on the resort that I saw were too young to be vaccinated so in fact they are nothing but Covid spreaders. It's obvious to me and others I'm speaking to that in these days of the omicron variant this resort cares more about its money coming in than Canadians' Health. With so many resorts to choose from in Cuba way choose one that is not Covid safe and interested in protecting your health? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Ocean and beach which has nothing to do with this resort and it to management. Nature provided it.
The weak points
Far too many to list.

Très satisfait

, L'Orignal, ON
2021-11-29
Le site est petit, très propre avec beaucoup de palmiers et de végétation. Grande chambre (qui semblait avoir été repeinte en partie) avec salle de bain à aire ouverte. La piscine est très propre aussi. La mer est magnifique mais la plage n'est pas longue pour les amateurs de marche. Peu d'algues (tout dépend du vent) et celle-ci est ramassée à tous les matins. Pas de salle de bain à la plage...
Nourriture très acceptable. Les restos à la carte sont excellents! Langoustes disponibles ($) au resto cubain et à la plage (demandez au bar du diamond club). La pizza à la plage est excellente!
Clientèle principalement canadienne mais il y a aussi des russes et des cubains. Tests PCR bien organisés sur place. Tout le personnel est vacciné et porte le masque en tout temps. Buffet nouveau genre...c'est un membre du personnel qui remplit votre assiette selon vos choix! Personnel très gentil. Le problème de moustiques semble être sous contrôle mais il est impossible de les éliminer...c'est Cuba il faut vivre avec.
Nous étions dans le bloc 21...donc prêt de tout...le seul inconvénient… bruyant si les jeunes décident de faire la fête au snack bar ou au théatre jusqu'au petites heures de la nuit.
Wifi gratuit dans le lobby et au snack bar. 2 heures par jour par personne.
Seulement 1 hôtel comme voisin (Playa Coco) et celle-ci est présentement fermée. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

2 week stay

, Ottawa, ON
2021-11-23
Fantastic!

You'll see us back next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Surprisingly good food, friendly staff. Loved our room and proximity to the beach (Room # 2307). Will want this room again next year! Internet and interac was a great plus this year
The weak points
No hot water in shower. Several times we could not buy rum at the wine store (government was changing the exchange rate???
Certified

Great 2 week vacation

, Burlington, ON
2021-10-05
Had a great 2 weeks at the resort. Always one person who wants to stand out and did make the first week not as relaxing. Needed to switch rooms the first day as it was totally opposite of what I requested. I was totally happy switching to building 21. Great Chambermaid also. 2 negatives where the nightly entertainment, barely any and the same boring music day in and day out around the pool. Nothing around the pool everyday for fun.. Wendy at the beach bar, excellent as is Danny at the Diamond club bar. Pizza's are good. Buffet are so good also. My memory is bad remembering all the names of the great staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
accommodation, ocean/beach, buffet
The weak points
entertainment and music around the pool
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
all staff wear masks at all times. Rapid test when arriving, quick results and full test 3 days before departing

Will not be returning.

, Calgary, AB
2021-09-28
The Resort is fairly large, so you will walk quite a bit to get anywhere, the bedroom doors don't seal well and there is a ton of mosquitos because of the standing water of the large pond on the resort. The main lobby area needs to have some fans to circulate the air. The 24H FoodBar essentially closes at 12(they remove the alcohol and leave a bottle of CACAO liquor as the only available option. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great Beach with warm water. WiFi was free, Coffee bar and staff there were great.
The weak points
Entertainment and Food has to have been the worst, some dishes too salty and the rest not enough. Buffet 6/7 night. The guests from Russia were not vaccinated, asked about 6 of them, same story. I would not go back to this resort.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Cleaning was fairly good with all staff wearing masks. The Covid Test to get back to Canada was essentially a money grab, as they took the test prior to 72 hrs of departure. Yet when we got the test back, it was dated as taken 24 hrs after.
Certified

Overall a nice place for a vacation

, Timberlea, NS
2020-03-13
The resort is a little run and showing its age but other than that no real complaints overall. The food was good but the buffet was pretty much the same each day and after 7 days it was definitely time for a change. The room was clean and the maid did an excellent job each day. Some of the bartenders and waitresses would almost be considered rude and impolite but most of them were not. The beach is amazing but crowded most days. The pool was nice and less crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, maid service and snack bar
The weak points
Lack of variety at the buffet
Certified

Yearly holiday!

, Falher, AB
2020-03-09
This hotel is an older hotel that is slowly being renovated. When we arrived our room was ready, which was great! The property is not too big so easy to walk around and not get lost. The staff tries very hard to please. I would suggest bringing some kind of room freshener as the rooms smell a little musty, which I did. The Entertainment staff does what they can to get people to participate. Look for Zoe, she is a blast, so are the others, I can't remember all the names Ely, Jonathan, and big Mike. We found the Piano bar was fun and the daytime bartender again no name, big guy was amazing. One waiter in the Piano bar that was awful, was Raul, he was very rude to my husband. Our favorite waiter in the buffet restaurant was Ibrahim. Never an empty glass, water or wine! One downfall is when people do get up to participate in their games there should be small prizes for the winners, not just a piece of paper. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of the staff tried to please. Cleaning staff was great also, our room was nicely cleaned. The air conditioner worked great
The weak points
Hot water! The first day, no hot water, 3rd day warm, 6 day was hot, then it went back to barely warm! We also had some light bulbs burned out told them on day 2 and still were not changed after 14 days.
Certified

GREAT Winter Getaway!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-27
We have just returned from a great week at Memories Caribe - our 18th visit to Cuba but first to this resort. We were very happy with the accommodation, the food, the service, and of course the surroundings!
Our travel agent arranged for a Villa for the week which was amazing! We had an alfresco shower....comfortable sitting area...and a deck overlooking the lagoon offering daily viewing of the flamingoes and pelicans!
The buffet was quite good - we had such a great variety. We visited two of the a la carte restaurants - the Mediterranean and the Cuban. They were good - but we preferred the variety at the buffet.
We quite enjoyed visiting the sports bar Route 66 as well...kept us updated on the curling life in Canada while we were gone!
The beach is absolutely beautiful Snorkelling wasn't as we had hoped for...after being at a resort where the fish and coral were impressive. But the sand, and the miles to walk were awesome!!!
All in all this was a wonderful winter getaway for the two of us. We had visited another Cuban resort for 17 years and were ready to see a new location....we were pleased with the change! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation at Memories Caribe!

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-04
When we arrived at noon check in went smoothly. We were pleasantly surprised when our room was ready a couple of hours before check in time!We found the staff awesome willing to help out any way they could.The entertainment team always seemed to have something going on at the pool or beach if you wanted something to do! The beach was incredible we spent most of our days there! We always found something at the buffet to eat, the Cuban & Mediterranean a la carte were not our favourites.The room was comfortable & clean & our housekeeper Yuri was great, beds were a little firm! Lol! Overall a great week! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was outstanding! Staff was great.
The weak points
Tiny chairs with no arms on the balcony. Mattress too hard. A door on the bathroom.
Certified

Stay was awesome

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-01
Would of liked a king size bed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Bacon in buffet needs to be cooked longer
Certified

Second time to Memories.

, Red Deer, AB
2020-01-18
We arrived late afternoon, we had a very fast check in. Our luggage was delivered promptly to our room. Room was clean and fresh smelling. We recognized several of the workers from our previous trip. They were always smiling and very friendly. Buffet food was great. Asian was good and the Mediterranean restaurant was good also. Evening entertainment was very good to watch. Beach was fantastic as usual. Only downfall it was very windy everyday, not the resorts fault. This is the first time we have been to the same resort twice and I'm sure we will return again , great resort , friendly staff. Awesome place. Thanks for a great vacation Memories Caribe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms. Very friendly staff. Good food. Great beach.
The weak points
Hot water is inconsistent. Food availability was inconsistent.
Certified

I might come back to Memories

, Wolseley, SK
2019-12-21
I traveled alone and found very few non-French speaking people. If I came back, I'd bring a friend. Best parts were:
•Rudi at the Churro Bar by the pool. Sweetest guy!
•The beach! You can walk for miles when tide is out (usually at 2-3 pm) and find conch shells and starfish.
• Beans Coffee and Ice Cream bar. Great Iced coffee.• Pilar excursion. •Rancho Palma restarant on Rum and sugarcane excursion, amazing BBQ pork. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
•Don't drink the coffee at the buffet, go to the coffee bar and get a latte machhiatto. •sand flea's •cold buffet food, get them to cook pasta, omelets and meat for you. If you are a picky eater, don't bother coming to Cuba. You won't like anything.
Certified

Clean, friendly, good-value, superb beach

, Beaconsfield, QC
2019-12-17
This is a quiet, relaxing resort with a wonderful beach. Be sure to check your TV, AC, and hot water BEFORE unpacking! The rooms are quite varied. The nicest ones are in buildings 24-21 on the lagoon side and if possible, on the second floor. The garden room are nice, but if they are at number 25...they are noisy due to their proximity to the pool, which has music blaring ALL the time.
The food is good and varied, but best to come early.
Bring bug spray, After-Bite and facial sunscreen. The store doesn't carry these items.
The room has a coffee-maker, but you have to ask for coffee at the front desk. You need to bring milk to your room's small refrigerator.I suggest you bring your own coffee, since the one provided, is awful.
There are lots of chairs and chairs on the beach. Diamond Club only gives you drink service at your chair. During peak season, you will need to "towel" your chair by 9am...even sooner at the pool.
There is no snorkelling nearby, unlike Memories Jibacoa that is adult only as well, and has a swim-up reef!
The manager is Ernesto or his assistant is Alba. Ask for them for any major problems.
There is a spa, and beauty salon on site as well as a very good modern-equipped, gym. There are also basketball, tennis, and paddle ball courts.
If you leave Montreal at 7am, you only be in your room by 1pm due to long waits at the airport upon arrival.
Be aware that new regulations concerning Cuban money, mean that you can no longer change back your Cuban currency, once you have passed security. Keep this in mind when buying Cuban money at the hotel.
Best buys are Cuban rum, and excellent honey.
It is cheaper to book your excursions in Canadian money online or on the plane going, than in Cuban currency once in Cuba. The exchange rate is banked to the American dollar at 68 Cuban to 100 Cad.
There is an affordable hop-on tour bus for $5 CU to other hotels and Pilar beach.
You need to reserve your a la carte restos as soon as possible upon arrival. The Mediterranean is very good.
Bring a portable coffee mug and go to the "Bites" bar in the morning for a good strong coffee. The stuff in the dining room (only in the morning) is awful!
Be aware that soon rooms in the newer section, have no bathroom door!!! If you are travelling with a partner, this might be a concern. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
great disparity in types of rooms...some with no bathroom door
Certified

Memories Caribe

, Peterborough, ON
2019-11-30
My second visit to Memories Caribe. Smaller resort with 328 rooms. Adults only. 16 It's a bit of a walk from the lobby to the beach, but not far enough that you need golf carts or shuttles to get around. There are none of these at Memories Caribe. There is a 6 seat van-type vehicle that will take you and your luggage to your room if you so desire. We went Diamond Club which has a few perks. Sit down breakfast every morning in the Mediterranean Restaurant. Nice touch. Wait service on the beach in a section reserved for Diamond Club. Two beers and two soda pops in your mini fridge everyday. The Superior Deluxe Junior Suites have no door on the bathroom. Bring a shower curtain and Velcro strips. Problem solved. Smokers bring your own ashtray. Store on site sells snacks, cigars, alcohol and items you may have forgotten to pack. No need for voltage converter. Several English channels on the TV. Brings loads of bug spray. I've been there in July and November, no difference. The no seeums are everywhere. I started taking Benadryl a week before I arrived and everyday I was there. I got bites, but no ugly welts or itching. The food is hit and miss. No fault of the resort. The bread and buns are awesome. Fries at beach and snack bar are delicious. They have ketchup. No relish or mustard. Bring peanut butter. The beach is breathtaking. Wifi in lobby and around piano bar. One hour for one peso. Log off when finished, or the hour runs out. Exchange your money at the lobby. Bring an insulated mug for drinks. Get a coffee in your mug from the snack bar first thing in the morning. Try the mango ice cream from Beans Cafe. Delicious. The majority of staff work 12 hour days, 6 days a week and make $40 a month. Tip them. I gave a gardener some zip ties. He was so grateful. I gave a fidget spinner to the man at the beach who set up my loungers for me. He almost cried with appreciation. Another gardener loved the fish hooks I gave him. Things we take for granted are not available for most Cubans. You won't find incredible food or high end booze here, but you won't starve and the rum and vodka are fine. Give it a try. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Memories created

, Seeleys Bay, ON
2019-11-13
Wasnt impressed by staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is fantastic Quality of food is pretty good for Cuba Relaxing couples resort
The weak points
Staff need to be more friendly and smile more often Seafood variety is poor
Certified

Fabulous Week Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-26
We just got back and we are already planning our next trip to this resort. We upgraded to Diamond Club after the first day as we wanted a room closer to the beach and the resort was more then accommodating for us. Everyone was so friendly and the staff are always available to meet your needs. Very clean room and the A/C was great especially after a long wonderful day at the sugar sand beach. We are so pleased we picked this one! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, easily traversed, beautiful beach and the ocean was a dream come true.
The weak points
10 block rooms are very dated and a little too far away from the beach. We moved to 23 block on the upgrade. Bathroom doors would be appreciated.
Certified

Memories Caribe September 2019

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-23
Good weather and picture perfect beach!!
It was a very good vacation :-). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach for relaxing
The weak points
Food and service
Certified

Great value

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-09
This was my 2nd stay at this resort, the first since they've made it adults only. The rooms look much improved, the pool and beach are still in amazing shape and the grounds are well taken care of.

Food is decent (but not 5 star), expected for Cuba. Great resort for the value conscious or those just looking for some of the best beaches out there with no expectation other than a fun time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lobby Bar - Jacel and Daenaris are amazing! Staff are always helpful! Diamond Club upgrade was worth it!
The weak points
Rainy season = Bugs. Bring repellant or antihistamines and cream if you are attacked.
Certified

Amazing Beach

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-06-18
My husband and I were at this hotel second week of June. Our second time. Nothing much changed since we were there last Oct./18.
Food...They really need more variety at the buffet. They do seem to recycle there food a lot. Mediterrean was just so so, Asian was good. Snack bar serves burgers, hot dogs, and fries. The burgers were terrible, raw. Pizza bar at the beach is delicious
Drinks were good. I had a chocolate tequilla one night and they were out of it the rest of the week.
Room was nice. We had diamond club superior deluxe. And there are no doors on the bathroom, so if you go with someone, and want privacy, the other person will have to go out on the balcony or leave the room. The chairs on the balcony are very uncomfortable. Did not even sit on the balcony.
The beach here is the jewel. It is a beautiful beach. We were on the diamond club side so lots of shade and they even added more palapias since last time we were there. We did have waiter service. It was a young man, cant remember his name. He was great and very nice and polite.
If you want peace, quiet and tranquility, this is the place for you. Small intimate resort. Lots of repeat customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Cayo Coco's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022