Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo

Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo
3.713.713.713.713.71
3.71 based on 261 reviews
#6 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (400)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Work on the beach

, Toronto, ON
2022-07-24
Had an amazing experience at this resort! I went there to "work on the beach". The wifi connection was good the first two days in the room however after a whatsapp call, I couldn't access the wifi anymore as I believe I went over the limit. I had to open my hotspot which worked just as fine but had pay for the extra internet usage to my phone company. Will have to consider getting a better internet travel package for future trips.
I HIGHLY recommend everyone visit this resort. Its beautiful and its only 5 mins from Pilar beach. There is a bus schedule for pick up and it only cost $5 to go there and to come back. The beach is soft white sand with crystal clear water that you can see through. Its a MUST see! The staff is also really kind and sweet :) The BEST part was waking up for the sunrise and watching it come as I had my early morning cappuccino from the 24-hour open bar. The view was incredible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort, the beach, the amazing staff
The weak points
Most food in the buffet wasn't labeled, wasn't sure what was what
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-07-27
Dear Ao, Thank you very much for the time you took to write a review about your stay with us. It is wonderful for us to know you had such a wonderful time at our resort and you found our beach out of this world. Moreover, we are glad to know our staff was so amazing with you. We will say hello to all of them. We are sure they will be very happy to hear about you. What makes us more than happy is to know we are going to have the pleasure to welcome you again next year and we are already looking forward to it. Thank you for choosing us. Best regards, Ivan Pierri General Manager

Horrible experience

, North York, ON
2022-07-17
We went to the Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo based on reviews online and we completely regret it. We arrived in the late evening service at the front was slow. The 24 hour bar was not even open to get some water. We finally settled in the next day there was a huge rat in our room at 4:00 am. We called reception to get some help and they said we will be there in 20 minutes. No one showed up for 30 minutes when they finally showed up they came with a broom and of course lost the rat. The individual suggested that the rat crawled through the sink pipes. Reception then called us to get an update and we notified them that the rat has not been caught. We then asked to switch rooms which they did. The following day we went to let the manager at the front know of the situation and out of respect we did this in private so others would not hear. First he said he can't believe this it has never happened. Then he continued to say well you are in the Caribbean this stuff can happen. We were completely shocked that he even thought that was a good reason. He then continued to say that our pipes have pills for rats and within three minutes they would die. We found this extremely frustrating and ironic to the point where we just wanted to leave. Our new rooms safe was not working. They came to fix it but the problem continued. When we escalated this to the front desk they took us in circles to get this resolved. We did not have beach towels in the room and again they made us go in circles to get the beach towels.
When it comes to the food yes you don't go to Cuba for the food but we were disappointed that lunch menu and dinner menu was the exact same. Breakfast started at 7:30 to 9:45. If you went for breakfast at 9:00 you would be lucky to even get some breakfast fed as there was no food. Same applies for lunch and dinner. The resort failed to cater to the amount of visitors. The selection was very poor with no labels. My partner and I don't eat pork or fish and we were always second guessing what was in the food.
In summary we had a horrible experience at this resort and was just counting down the days to leave. We will never go to this resort again as we were unhappy of the service provided and not even the manager tried to make things better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-07-27
Dear Mel, First of all, I offer you our apologies for not having lived up to your expectations. It is very sad when we cannot offer our visitors 100% of what they expect from their vacation. We must tell you that comments of all our clients are always welcome since these allow us to identify strengths and weaknesses in order to act promptly and improve what we do. Our visitors, who constantly write to us in these forums, are our most faithful witnesses and show readers and followers the real experience lived by them, just as you are doing now, which has been very kind of you. it is no less true that Cuba is going through many difficulties with its external suppliers to receive certain products and a timely supply of many others, in such a way that our replacements are affected. We will be sending all your observations to our corporations. About the situation with our worker at buffet, we are going to check it with our Food and Beverage Manager. Once again, thank you very much for your comments and hopefully we can have you again in our hotel to be able to erase all the inconveniences that you experienced providing you with a much superior stay. With warmest regards, Ivan Pierri General Manager

Hotel in Cato Coco

, Toronto, ON
2022-07-15
Hotel is 4 years old and it still look ok, but service not good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-07-27
Dear Iouliana Kotliarova, First of all, I offer you our apologies for not having lived up to your expectations. It is very sad when we cannot offer our visitors 100% of what they expect from their vacation. We must tell you that comments of all our clients are always welcome since these allow us to identify strengths and weaknesses in order to act promptly and improve what we do. Our visitors, who constantly write to us in these forums, are our most faithful witnesses and show readers and followers the real experience lived by them, just as you are doing now, which has been very kind of you. it is no less true that Cuba is going through many difficulties with its external suppliers to receive certain products and a timely supply of many others, in such a way that our replacements are affected. We will be sending all your observations to our corporations. About the situation with our worker at buffet, we are going to check it with our Food and Beverage Manager. Once again, thank you very much for your comments and hopefully we can have you again in our hotel to be able to erase all the inconveniences that you experienced providing you with a much superior stay. With warmest regards, Ivan Pierri General Manager

Great week!

, Welland, ON
2022-06-01
We traveled as a family of 5 (2 adults 3 kids (9, 4 &2) ). We arrived to the resort around noon, there was quite a few of us going there (a whole bus full)..check in was slow and we were not greeted in anyway with music or drinks like we had seen during the week with other arrivals but that's okay. Now since we were early and check in is usually 4pm we knew our room probably wouldn't be ready which is was not. It wasn't ready until 5ish and we had 2 rooms..kinda inconvenient when my youngest was exhausted and needed a nap so she napped in the lobby which was fine.

The lobby is one of the biggest I've seen and this is our 3rd trip to Cuba but first time at this resort.

The rooms are spacious and beds were comfy. They provided a playpen for my youngest which was great. In our one room the shower was slightly crazy and was spraying up to the ceiling and out onto the bathroom floor so we used the other one in the other room which was fine minus some water leaking out the shower door which was fine with towels down. Never had an issue receiving clean new towels in our rooms and had plenty of toilet paper.

The beach was lovely, we only walked down to it 2x as we aren't beach people but it was clean and the ocean was warm. Also on the way to the beach be sure to grab a coconut at the little stand on the way :)

The pools were clean and warm especially the little pool closest to the lobby (it's the smallest) it was like a bath tub so it was relaxing. I enjoyed doing water aerobics with Helen in the infinity pool.

The food.. well you don't go to Cuba for the food but we never had any issues finding things to eat, fresh eggs in the morning with bread and fruits. Chicken and beef on the grill at lunch and dinner. Rice stir fry, fish, and much more. It was all good. My kids are picky and they enjoyed it. We also went to the snack bar a few times and enjoyed the ham and cheese sandwiches. My kids thoroughly enjoyed the churros from the churro stand and we never had to wait in some "crazy" line it was always quick and we give him credit he's by himself and can only make so many at once :) they were delicious!

The entertainment was great at night, my kids enjoyed the mini disco every night and the shows after were great too! During the day the entertainers do games around the main pool and have music playing.

There is a market on site about a 4 minute walk from the lobby they have quite a few stands and good deals. You'll definitely find something for everyone!

Overall it was a great week and we would definitely return and recommend to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-06-08
Dear Sarah Doucette, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Great resort! Beautiful pools and beach!

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-18
The hotel was great. Nice big lobby, newer rooms. Pools were big and beautiful. Beach was gorgeous. Free wifi was good but a bit of a weak connection at times. The only thing that maybe bothered us were the buffets for dinner. The food wasn't very kid friendly but there were occasional options that worked. Go with an open-mind. Cuba maybe having some shortages. It really is good value for a nice resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pools and beach. Amazing. Hotel room was great.
The weak points
Not enough kid-friendly food.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
No problems with covid-19 measures. It was balanced between being careful and not burdensome.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-05-30
Dear Matchedmango, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

April vacation 2022

, Toronto, ON
2022-04-17
Very nice place 4 star plus, lobby bar crew were always fabulous no matter what day or time ,the great part they always treated you nice ,tip or not
Same goes with the restaurant next to the beach and the fabulous Alex in the sports bar.
A few things the resort could work on . Would be the buffet restaurant, the food was good but with out say to much.
We observed a few things we did like in the buffet restaurant ( evening service) .
we then started to stay away from some areas of the restaurant.
The beach was great and service was great throughout the resort.
We had a fabulous time in this resort . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Na
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear Fernando Medeiros, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Not what we expected

, Medicine Hat, AB
2022-04-15
We had issues when we checked in. Had to PAY the maintenance guy to fix our AC before the next day. No water or beverages in mini bar. Called front desk and they got upset because it wasn't them I was supposed to call. Who knew! Forgot to leave a tip one day for the cleaners when we had to leave in a hurry for an excursion - they retaliated by not cleaning our rooms at all. We ended up with zero bath towels and used pool towels instead by the third day in. Stood at multiple bars with no service until we had a bill in our hand. Felt like we had to pay again for a trip we already paid for and that we had been blacklisted because we complained about not having AC or drinking water in our room when we arrived (not as advertised). Food was what we expected however Indian Restaurant was food from buffet. Should have just closed it if they don't have the spices! Italian restaurant was really good. No chairs left by pool or beach. Lots of upset people sitting on concrete, including us. Just sat in our room for most of pool days due to lack of seating. We were glad to go home which is unfortunate. This was our third and now final trip to Cuba. We understand that a lot has changed but we expected better service from this establishment. Most people on our flight felt the same way which is sad because there were a lot of people working their butts off. Also service at the beach bar was terrible! Got completely ignored and overlooked until I had money in hand. So much for tipping for great service - it seemed like staff expected to be tipped first. I guess this is a result of being closed for a couple of years, but we were grossly overcharged for what we experienced. Thank goodness for great excursions away from the resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Location. Beach.
The weak points
Customer service. Food. Pool.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear Ricki Gage, Thank you very much for posting your comment on this important site. We are very sorry to hear we were below your expectations and offer you our most sincere apologies. We haven't had any complaints about the service at the buffet or the pool and right now we are working with shortage of staff. Anyways all our guests opinions are valid and I will be seeing this matter with the Food and Beverages Manager because there is always room for improvements. I have also analyzed the food notes with our Chef, because we are normally getting good reviews about our food selection, but as I previously said, there is always room for improvements. I deeply apologize again for falling short of your expectations and hope this don't deter you from visiting us again in the near future.

Beautiful Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo!

, Penetanguishene, ON
2022-04-14
This resort has a stunning view of the pools and ocean right from the lobby! There is a separate kids pool ping bucket of water. Bring your own beach towels and you won't have to worry about getting some by the pool. Of course the early birds get to save their favorite spots, so join in and find a spot early. Clean, great rooms and just ask for whatever you want in your mini fridge. If you are low on something, don't complain about it just ask. The gazebo by the ocean is a great spot for pictures, and always has a breeze. The most amazing long sandy beach is just to the right side of the resort with a beach bar etc. This is definitely a 5 star for Cuba. The lunch beach buffet has freshly made pizza. The SENDERO restaurant is an absolute must! It is an oasis amongst the trees by the ocean. Expect to spend a couple hours enjoying each entre one by one, all hand made just for you by Felix Alexis. The most incredible savory food on the resort (homemade bruchetta, shrimp, fish, lobster, pork). The buffet and a la cartes are all air conditioned. A nice cigar bar, and sports bar that serve different drinks to enjoy there, not for take out. There is a small market right at the entrance of the resort with a bowling alley, spa and couple stores and vendors. Travellers need to do your research before coming to Cuba. You need to understand where they get supplies from and how the infrastructure works. When areas of the world are in crisis it affects Cuba's ability to receive products they need. This is not a fault of the resorts or Cuba. Be patient. You may notice not many food choices for one day then lots the next day. It's Cuba. Also be creative, you can take the vegetables you like from the salad bar, get some chicken cooked fresh, bring a glass of white wine to the pasta bar and they will add it all together for a great hot steamy pasta plate! No OJ but fresh pineapple or guava juice. Bring your own spices if you wish.
Canadians, don't exchange your money. Use Canadian cash. If you tip with $1or $2 coins be prepared to help out the staff by exchanging them for larger bills. Cuba banks will not accept our coins. Also they won't take a bill that has been written on or has a tear in it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff!! Especially Addiel! Also Alberto Danny, Claudias and Henry to name a few! They work so hard just to make your stay the most enjoyable. Anything you want or need just ask.
The weak points
Stop complaining, it's beautiful Cuba. Remember where you are. No water one afternoon Why? A water main broke. It happens.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear Timothy Russell, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Best resort

, Belleville, ON
2022-04-03
just now on Google
I transferred here after 1 night at a different resort. I hadn't been to Cuba in 20 years. I didn't expect much.
What I experienced here blew DR and Mexico out of the water. My room was ok. (I travelled alone so had a smaller room), but beautiful ocean view. Bed was comfortable too. The grounds were impeccable thanks to the gardeners. Jose and Dainarys always knew how I liked my coffee and had it ready for me. It goes without saying the friendliness and attention to detail was out of this world. The pools were lovely. I enjoyed sitting in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The entertainment team was always on the go. Music was playing, but it wasn't obnoxious. The bars were great too. Always good to eat some place. If it wasn't a buffet, it was at the snack bar or grabbing pizza near the beach. And the beach.....I miss it. Such beautiful aqua water. Little/no weeds. Wear your water shoes in case of shells or pointy rocks.
Yes, noseeums were an issue, but some rum on the bites help a lot
The evenings were often spent with friends in the lobby enjoying live music or watching the entertainment team.
Advice:. Bring condiments with you. They don't have them. Leave them when you go at the end. They will appreciate it too.
I love this place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, beach, pools, food, staff
The weak points
Noseeums
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear Deliriouzz, Thank you very much for your review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Worst holiday ever.....

, Strathroy, ON
2022-03-30
First of all, I have been to this resort before. When it first opened back in 2018. I told myself then, that I would never return to this resort! The service then was poor and it has not improved, if not gotten worse! I am not a picky traveller, nor do I expect perfection. I have travelled to Cuba over a dozen times and know what I am getting (as far as 4 star rating goes etc) I go for the beaches and the sun! However, when you sit down at a table and sit there for over 20 minutes without anyone acknowledging you are there it is very frustrating! The native tourists come to the resorts (on day passes I think?) and skip the lines, are served first at the bars and take over the pool area! Leaving their empty cups floating in the pool and on the pool deck!
The beach in this area is beautiful! and the staff at the beach are wonderful! There was always a chair and a shady area available. You can walk out forever in the water with a sandy bottom!
Be sure to visit Alex at the restaurant in the trees behind the beach bar!! It was probably the only edible food we had all week, we went twice!!! and Alex works so hard and is a lovely man!
Over 15 people were sick (diarrhea and/or vomiting) from something (food, ice ?????) I have been home for almost a week and am still not 100%. Definitely from something there! (and it's not covid as I test every day for work and am negative)
My recommendations......if you are going to book go somewhere else!!!! Don't waste your money or your hard earned vacation at this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The Beach!!!! The beds The pools
The weak points
The staff The food no water for a whole day (toilets didn't flush) The service
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear Lisa C, Thank you very much for posting your comment on this important site. We are very sorry to hear we were below your expectations and offer you our most sincere apologies. We haven't had any complaints about the service at the buffet or the pool and right now we are working with shortage of staff. Anyways all our guests opinions are valid and I will be seeing this matter with the Food and Beverages Manager because there is always room for improvements. I have also analyzed the food notes with our Chef, because we are normally getting good reviews about our food selection, but as I previously said, there is always room for improvements. I deeply apologize again for falling short of your expectations and hope this don't deter you from visiting us again in the near future.

Amazing !

, Dieppe, NB
2022-03-29
This hotel grounds , layout and staff are all out of this world. For cuba this place really goes above and beyond would go back tomorrow if i could. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear B, Thank you very much for your review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

3 Star at best…..

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-20
The resort had a kiddie area with a kids pool and slides. The water was dirty and looked abandoned. Three days after they drained the rest of the dirty water and left it empty. The main pools were dirty and water was murky from Algae. They finally cleaned the pool 4th day there. Major food shortages at this resort related to anything that requires flour. I assumed it was country wide right? Wrong. Other resorts had many types of bread, toast, desserts, and pizza. The people that work here are amazing but the resort owners aren't ready to open the doors when you have food shortages. Line ups for food were ridiculous and could have been reduced if properly time management is instilled. If you brought ice cream back to the table and needed cutlery, it would take extended period of time to get a spoon etc. If you were at the bar and wanted a bottle of water to have with you for the day, you had to call room service and go back to your room to wait for the arrival of your water. Food did get better half way through the trip. The beach bar had one person working with a beach full of 200 guests, imagine how long it took to get a drink. Locals were also guests at the hotel which is amazing to see and changes allowed in that country. Where I have a problem is when they are permitted to jump the line, have better drinks served and have any amounts of food made to order. I guess no shortage??????? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach, great people working on the resort.
The weak points
Long waits for food, drinks. Restaurant by the sea had three food items on the menu and they were two pasta and a rice dish. On day 4 you saw variety of foods. The wifi logging in was horrible. You had to log in 15-30 times a day as you were booted out.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-04-22
Dear Claudio Caschera, Thank you very much for posting your comment on this important site. We are very sorry to hear we were below your expectations and offer you our most sincere apologies. We haven't had any complaints about the service at the buffet or the pool and right now we are working with shortage of staff. Anyways all our guests opinions are valid and I will be seeing this matter with the Food and Beverages Manager because there is always room for improvements. I have also analyzed the food notes with our Chef, because we are normally getting good reviews about our food selection, but as I previously said, there is always room for improvements. I deeply apologize again for falling short of your expectations and hope this don't deter you from visiting us again in the near future.

My Favourite Resort!

, Oakville, ON
2022-01-11
This was my second time at this resort since the summer, and all I can say is that I absolutely love it. The rooms are great, and very spacious for families. They are well kept, and clean. The views are amazing throughout the whole resort, and the beach is beautiful. You can see the Ocean from almost anywhere, and the infinity pool looks out onto the gorgeous ocean. The food is good, and there is enough of a variety that we always found something to eat. The a la Carte restaurants offer an enjoyable dining experience providing variety and good quality. We also attended the repeat guest dinner where the food was amazing, and we got to meet Beatriz who was amazing and super friendly! This dinner was definitely a highlight of our trip!
 
Overall, the staff are what make this resort as amazing as it is. The wait staff and people through the whole resort never fail to make you feel welcome, and are always there to offer support and ensure your stay is as stress free as possible. Down at the beach bar, Victor is amazing, and always made me the most fun kid friendly colourful drinks, while also just being friendly and starting conversation. For me, the whole entertainment team was one of the reasons I wanted to return so quickly, and will be returning again. They are all so kind, and make efforts to get to know you, and become your friend always greeting you in a friendly way. They are always doing something, whether it be playing music at the beach, leading dances, or hosting games by the beach and pool. Jose, Ketty, Alienn, Lendys and Yoivy were just some of the amazing entertainers that made both my week in the summer and my week at Christmas unforgettable. This resort is full of the kindest people and I cannot wait to return.
 
It did make our Christmas 2021 and the ringing of the New Year an experience we enjoyed and will not soon forget. We recommend you visit and make your own memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
There were many sanitary measures taken, such as all staff always wore masks. Masks are required in all indoor places, and there is sanitization before entering any restaurant. The workers also dish up your food at the buffet!
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-01-24
Dear Ally.Attard, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

AMAZING!!!

, Pierrefonds, QC
2021-12-24
Incredible hotel and staff. Marianne at the front desk is so nice and helpful. We stayed in building 4, beautiful view, no issues with wifi in our room. Everything was clean and maintained.
Beach was beautiful, free access to paddle boats, kayak's and catamaran's. We went out on the kayaks and we're able to see many star fish at the bottom of the ocean floor.
Highly recommend having lobster lunch or dinner at the restaurant Macumba on the beach, Carlos is really friendly, even showed us his garden in the back where they grow mint for the mojito's! Also grows pepper and other vegetables for your lunch/dinner plate.
The lobby has the best lattes and is the place to hang out any time of day!
Really enjoyed the Cuban, and Indian restaurant. The pancakes and omelette's in the morning were so tasty. At lunch the seaside has the best pizza.
Seeing Pillar beach is also a must, only 5 mins away. You can take a taxi from the lobby for $5 per person round trip.
Overall, would go back in a heartbeat! Loved every minute! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-01-10
Dear Shelley, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Fun vacation

, Gatineau, QC
2021-12-23
We enjoyed almost everything. The staff were constantly cleaning which put us at ease.Best service came from Augusto in the buffet, Roly in the lobby bar, and Juan Miguel at the Beach bar. If you want a quiet place try the Sports bar [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Cleanliness and service(any requests were dealt with rapidly)
The weak points
Mask rule not always enforced.Could use another Lobby Bar(too crowded)
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-01-10
Dear Conrad Turner, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Great spot

, Montréal, QC
2021-12-16
Great beach, nice and clean hotel, nice big room, great shower pressure, good specialty restaurants. No extra cost for single room. Some staff were great, others not that great. Buffet not that good: not much choice of food and big lineups. The whole buffet/dining room/bar should be reorganized and better managed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, large room, cleanliness, no extra cost for single room.
The weak points
Buffet
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Ok
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-01-10
Dear Frederic Gaube, Thank you very much for your fantastic review and for your kind comments on our facilities and services. We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction. Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo is already looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Just let us know what your preferences are for your next time and we will be just too glad to assist with them.

Enjoyed it

, Toronto, ON
2021-12-06
It's a nice newer resort with three nice pools. Two were somewhat green with algae when we arrived. They got it cleaned up though within two days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Nice room and shower with a decent bed. Many rooms had ocean view. Infinity pool with bar is nice. Beach is good an long walks are possible. Staff are nice. Lots of bottled water
The weak points
A la cartes were disappointing. Sea food one was not open. Much of the food was not hot when served. The resort is somewhat isolated. Lobby furniture is not too comfortable.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-01-10
Dear Bmc, Thank you very much for posting a comment on such important site like Monarc. It is true that food is one of the most important aspects to consider when coming to Cuba. I apologize if we were not up to your expectations on this aspect, we will discuss your comments with the area manager. It is truly a shame that your stay with us has been overshadowed by these details. We appreciate all your opinions and look forward to welcoming you again in the future so we can provide you with the holidays many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo.

Great vacation, great value

, Lethbridge, AB
2021-11-24
Firstly having been to Cuba many times I can safely say this resort stands out specifically for the great staff and management. By far the most friendly and genuine I have encountered in vacation.

The hotel is nice, modern, and clean. The same amenities you will find at pretty much every resort in Cuba, just with a bit better service. The pools were clean, the staff all was very covid safe, and *most guests also followed safety guidelines. PCR testing on departure was right at the hotel.

Our room was large, bright, great view, very clean, fantastic bathroom. Good bed which is rare in Cuba.

Overall, this is the first hotel I have stayed in Cuba which lived up to its star rating and the very first that I felt had world class service levels. It was affordable and almost the same price as the cheapo hotels that leave you with bad memories. Definitely worth the little bit extra for a huge step up in quality.

Highly recommended and one of the few I will definitely return to soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, management, and world class service.
The weak points
It's Cuba, so food selection and shortages will always be a challenge, and mosquitos live in the cayo's so you must be prepared for them...
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-12-06
Dear roberthavana, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on this important website and share your experiences with other readers. Thank you very much for all your compliments on our facilities and special services my team provides. Yes, our staff is very professional and helpful always striving on providing you with enjoyable holiday experiences. Rest assured that we will take your opinions into account since they are of great importance to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy another wonderful vacation at Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo.

Beach break 2021

, Sau Saint Marie, ON
2021-11-22
Excellent hotel - I was looking for a de-stressed environment to just relax. Nice and quiet, all vacationers were happy and smiling - that would be a good indicator of the overall impressions [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff were great, friendly, helpful. Had trouble setting up internet on phones, staff was always willing to help
The weak points
Internet services were limited, but this was not a must on the vacation
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Everything appeared to be cleaned as required. No issues or anything that should be noted
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-11-26
Dear Scott, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on this important website and share your experiences with other readers. Thank you very much for all your compliments on our facilities and special services my team provides. Yes, our staff is very professional and helpful always striving on providing you with enjoyable holiday experiences. Rest assured that we will take your opinions into account since they are of great importance to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy another wonderful vacation at Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo.

3rd times a charm!

, Hamilton, ON
2021-11-21
Not sure where to start…. With one of the nicest beaches, cleanest rooms and friendliest staffs, our first “covid” trip was going to be here.
I'll begin by saying this was our third trip to this resort, and man this one was the best!
The customer service team of Daineris Fernandez and Beatriz Quesada was so welcoming and started of this trip so easily. They also treated us to an invite to the return guest dinner! It was amazing!
Then came Yosmany García. A name somehow became Johnny Cash as the week went on. I still have no idea what postion this man holds… but it felt like hotel owner. Not even sure he went home?? I didn't go a few minutes in the lobby without him coming over to make sure all was good. And thing was.. he was doing it for everyone.
Victor at the beach bar is famous for what he does! He's is definitely the man… and of course there's Juan, who was Victors partner pre pandemic, working just about every position possible.
Finally, there was my new buddy at the snack bar.. Higteandro. This guy is jokes! Friendly, funny and entertains! Wish I was there now leaning on the bar waiting for him to pour me another beer.
Just waking around this resort is awesome. No matter the staff member you walk by.. they always smile and say hi.
Can't recommend this place enough! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-11-26
Dear richbyname, Thank you so much for all your praises, thank you for your wonderful remarks on our facilities and services. It is very encouraging to read such a positive feedback from our customers. We know our staff is our biggest pride and we praise them day by day. They will be very happy once they know about your kind and cheering words. Thank you very much for trusting us! We hope to see you once again in the future so please, send us your preferences for next time and we will be very glad to look after them.

Room with a View

, Cobourg, ON
2021-11-09
An excellent vacation location I would recommend everytime [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
A room with a spectacular view! So nice to visit Muthu once again and to see some old faces…Thank you to all the staff for your constant hospitality, you are all truly amazing ❤️
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-11-26
Dear andiekimberley, Thank you so much for all your praises, thank you for your wonderful remarks on our facilities and services. It is very encouraging to read such a positive feedback from our customers. We know our staff is our biggest pride and we praise them day by day. They will be very happy once they know about your kind and cheering words. Thank you very much for trusting us! We hope to see you again in the future so please, send us your preferences for next time and we will be very glad to look after them.

Simply Amazing

, London, ON
2021-10-01
We Visited Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo for the first time after being to many resorts in many parts of Cuba.This resort has the most beautiful set up. We stayed in building two which was close to everything. The employees go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and treat you like family. The resort was very clean along with the rooms. The food selection was limited due to very low capacity but we always found something to eat . The pools were amazing and the views were the best I've ever seen. The resort is 10 minutes from Playa Pilar which was was a bonus . They had covid protocols in place making it very safe. Big thank you to Beatriz Quesada for taking time to ask how things were going while at the resort to ensure our stay was perfect . I will return to this resort in the future and would recommend it as one of the best in Cuba . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-11-03
Dear Rjnunes, Thank you so much for all your praises, thank you for your wonderful remarks on our facilities and services. It is very encouraging to read such a positive feedback from our customers. We know our staff is our biggest pride and we praise them day by day. They will be very happy once they know about your kind and cheering words. Thank you very much for trusting us! We hope to see you again in the future so please, send us your preferences for next time and we will be very glad to look after them.

Great place with great staff

, Kirkland, QC
2021-09-06
Was very surprised to notice how clean the place was! Not to mention the food and restaurants on the resort beat out my expectations. Only thing would be that it is very far from the capital for those who like to sight see. However we got a good taste of the culture through the staff who were very friendly, especially the bartenders Garcia and Juan. Served us the best drinks with a smile all week. Highly recommend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- food - staff members - drinks
The weak points
- distance to capital
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-09-22
Dear Mitchellkhury, Thank you so much for all your praises, thank you for your wonderful remarks on our facilities and services. It is very encouraging to read such a positive feedback from our customers. We know our staff is our biggest pride and we praise them day by day. They will be very happy once they know about your kind and cheering words. Thank you very much for trusting us! We hope to see you again in the future so please, send us your preferences for next time and we will be very glad to look after them.

The Best Hotel in all of Cuba

, Scarborough, ON
2021-09-03
So much to say about this hotel. I have been to Cuba on many occasions but by far Grand Muthu was the highest ranking in my opinion in all regards. Since finding this gem I will only come here from now on...
My most recent trip was on July 3, 2021 on the first Canadian flights leaving Toronto, that should say a lot about my wanting to return and visit again and again. The main reason is the superb staff...from Management to Reception to the Entertainment staff to the Bartenders and service staff to gardeners and chambermaids to the pool caretakers, etc...I don't want to miss anybody but I have to say their level of exceptional customer service is the reason I return multiple times.
The layout of the buildings in regards to the pools, the beach, the dining areas are all well thought out. The rooms are comfortable in every aspect.
The quality of the food/drinks are delicious. If you pick this hotel you won't be disappointed. Any concerns that get to Management will be addressed in an efficient and prompt manner...Don't believe me then you can visit the Grand Muthu fanpage...many positive comments to see...
Special thank you to, and if I miss anybody I do apologize...Angel Cuellar(Director) Beatriz Quesada, Enrique Ponce, Daineris Fernandez and Yalily Pina(Client Relations) and others (too many to mention), the entire Entertainment Team lead by Arcel and Alien that work very hard to ensure you enjoy your time while you are there...Bartenders/service staff: Oscar, Higteandro, Jose, Nelson, Victor, Juan, Erik, Dayani, Dayana, Eduardo, Agusto, Omar, Dailenys, Naylen, etc.
I highly recommend this hotel for vacation, you won't be disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Safe and clean and sanitized. All staff wear masks
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2021-09-22
Dear Mrs. Maria Lereu, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on this important website and share your experiences with other readers. Thank you very much for all your compliments on our facilities and special services my team provides. It is so good to read that you really enjoy the quiet and cozy atmosphere of our hotel and that you recommend us as a great tourist destination not only for couples and honeymooners but also for singles looking for a quiet and relaxing place to enjoy their vacations. Yes, our staff is very professional and helpful always striving on providing you with enjoyable holiday experiences. We are pleased to read that you found our food as one of the best you have ever had in Cuba. Rest assured that we will take your opinions into account since they are of great importance to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can enjoy another wonderful vacation at Grand Muthu Cayo Guillermo.

I loved it but..

, Terrebonne, HA
2021-01-12
it was a nice trip as it was my first time in Cuba..i loved the cuban people ,the stuff and the cleanliness .. except the mosquito bites and the horrible untasty food.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The stuff was nice and entertaining..
The weak points
The food was horrible..cold,repetitive and not fresh.. The beach was awesome except that the shore wasn't clean .
Certified

February holiday with 12 people

, Orangeville, ON
2020-03-04
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very very busy and the staff seemed to be working very hard to keep everyone happy. There was a few times people in our group were served raw chicken. But we always cut and checked our meat before we ate. The beaches are beautiful. Our room was always nice and clean..this is actually the first resort that I smelt the cleaning solution when I opened my door everyday! I enjoyed my stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms are nice and clean and the food had a very good variety! The resort is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly.
The weak points
The hotel was very busy and the workers are working so hard to make everyone happy, so to me they seemed very understaffed for how busy it was. The layout in the buffet is very poor....the lines for the cooked food goes in front of the buffet food.
Certified

Great spot for the Money

, Limoges, ON
2020-03-02
Went for 1 week and had a great time , the resort is fairly new so still in good shape, the food is typical for Cuba we had some very nice meals and never went hungry. The beach and pools were great we would visit this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms are excellent, spacious washroom with rainfall shower, we never ran out of hot water. Food is plentiful , but can get busy at the Buffett you need to go early to avoid the rush, the a la cartes were very good, as was the entertainment.
The weak points
Buffett not laid out well, when it is busy the lines for the three chefs stations block off the buffet lines , the beach does have seaweed that blows in , it is cleaned up daily not a big deal for me .
Certified

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-27
Nice rooms, fast service at the reception and beach bar, the main restaurant was slower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

4 star at the best

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-26
Nice looking resort, that's all the good.
Food is 3 star.
Service is 3 star as well.
Unless it's low price go somewhere else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pools
The weak points
Food and servic
Certified

Stay Away

, Brantford, ON
2020-02-08
Worst Resort Ever!!

Very Dirty. Bugs in the rooms and beds. Food is awful and unsafe to eat. Nothing in the room worked. Reported our broken TV to the front desk and a week later they say we have to Pay $4000 US or they will detain us on the island?? I went to prison not on vacation. Managers steal tips from the staff!!!

Everything was just so bad. Not a safe place to be. Move resorts if you still can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022