Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 170 reviews
#3 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (169)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Fabulous vacation week, 2nd time

, Fredericton, NB
2022-06-18
We just came back from the 2nd vacation week from the resort. The first time was in march 2022, the 2nd time in June 2022. We met people visited this resort several time per year. Overall this is a very nice resort which meets our demands:
- Nice ocean, no wave, full of sea creatures.
- Attentive and very friendly staff, good services, especially Yenia who is a communication manager and she helped us with arrangments.
- nice ocean view room and also has option to have connecting rooms for family. But AC does only have 1 temperature. So it is either too cold or too hot at nite.
- good drink with variety of drink mix, cocktails, I enjoyed their spanish coffee, ice coffee, Daiquiri, etc.
- very nice services in fine dining restaurants. The food is medium due to the lack of material. We did not expect too much anyways since Cuba is embargoed. The Japanese restaurant is my fav. Food at buffet is ok, some thing to eat everyday, love chicken drumsticks and omelet and tropical fruits. The kids love ice cream there.
- nice swim up pool, some shade areas to hide away from hot afternoon sun
- variety of nite entertainment performance. Love their efforts to entertain guests.
And many more.
To sum up, we definitely come back again because we and our kids enjoyed the resort so much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
nice ocean with full of fishes and star fishes, nice staff and good services, nice room view, good drink, good pool, great nite entertainment and performances
The weak points
Snack bar restaurant took long time to provide snack. AC in room needs upgaded.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff is required masks. Hand sanitizers were provided

Amazing Trip

, Truro, NS
2022-06-18
We absolutely loved the resort . Staff was amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful all over
The weak points
:)

Highly recommended

, Brantford, ON
2022-06-18
My second time here I found it just as beautiful as the first. Modern clean room (Jr. Suite building 8), pristine gardens, ocean an pools. Staff is so very accommodating. All restaurants were A-1. When you book here, join the Facebook page first and talk to Yenia Rodriguez Batista, this lovely young woman will set you up and answer all your questions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Always love being here

, Middle Sackville, NS
2022-06-18
This was our 3rd visit to this resort. It was amazing. They helped us with a birthday celebration and engagement. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
A relaxing place to go visit.

I love this resort

, North York, ON
2022-06-17
I absolutely loved this resort. Me and my family enjoyed this vacation so much! The staff was honestly the best they were very friendly, kind, and helpful. The rooms were very clean and nice, rooms get cleaned everyday. The food was okay but there was a big selection. The view of the beach is so beautiful! The pools are very nice and fun to swim in. The drinks were amazing, the pool bar was my favourite. There is massages and a salon there with such friendly staff, like the rest of the resort. Jeanette was very nice and kind, she was super helpful and so sweet. Yenia worked at the customer service desk, she was amazing. From the moment we went to the resort she was always so friendly and super helpful, she can help with anything and she is amazing at her job. Overall, I loved this resort and I will definitely be going back with my family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

An amazing stay and we can't wait to get back!

, London, ON
2022-06-17
We have been fortunate enough to be able to stay at the Iberostar Playa Pilar a couple of times.
The resort and staff are absolutely amazing!
From the moment you arrive the front desk staff look after you promptly and continue to assist all throughout your stay.
The beach and boardwalk is actually a pleasant change from your typical beach in Cuba. Enjoy a refreshing Mojito while watching the sunset listening to live music on the boardwalk over top the water on a beautiful evening. It will take your breath away! If you also want to enjoy the most beautiful beach in Cuba, it is only steps away from the resort. You can walk the beach, walk down the road or have fun taking the double decker bus or classic Cuban Taxi.
The bartenders are exceptial at this resort.
Special shout out to Oney in the cigar bar, who is probably one of my favourite bartenders we have met in Cuba after more than a dozen trips all over the country.

If you want the best Paella, go down to the restaurant near the beach in mid afternoon. You will find the most loving chef and amazing bbq you will have.

Jeanette and Janet were exceptional for their hospitality at the front desk and customer service.

One of the resorts biggest assets is Yenia with customer care. She has made each of our stays there absolutely incredible. Helped us get to an authentic Cuban baseball game that was on my bucket list...
She assisted with our room selections, introduced us to so many incredible experiences and is one of the main reasons we keep coming back to Iberostar Playa Pilar.

Hats off to the hard working and always smiling event staff. They work so hard to keep everyone entertained and ensure we are all having fun on a well deserved vacation.

Thank you all for your incredible hospitality during out stay! Can't wait to get back and enjoy another vacation with everyone there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing Staff Great for snorkeling Best Bartenders Yenia, Janet and Jeanette were all amazing help and made our vacation special.

Second Visit To Paradise

, Lindsay, ON
2022-06-16
I returned to this beautiful hotel after spending 10 glorious days there for Christmas and New Year. I felt very welcomed as a repeat guest. This resort is very modern...beautiful rooms. The Pier is breathtaking with a perfect bar right there so you can enjoy a drink while looking out to that beautiful ocean. Plenty of starfish around...shallow waters...very safe for children! Food was great with lot's of choices. The Japanese alacarte is a must...so much fun and delicious food. Friendly staff...if you need anything..just ask. Special thank you to Yenia and Janet...rockstars at their job! Can't wait to return. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Rooms are beautiful. Pier amazing.

Best Resort

, North York, ON
2022-06-15
This was my first time in Cuba and I absolutely loved the experience. The staff was amazing, so sweet and caring, honestly the best staff. Yenia and Janet were amazing and very very helpful. I will be visiting again for sure. The rooms were nice and clean. The pools were super fun and the views there were amazing. It was a very beautiful resort. The drinks were super delicious. The shows at night time were always super fun, the host for the shows was super fun and hilarious. The dancers were always awesome. My favorite was the beach party, there were games with prizes and there were dancers which was very fun. Everybody there was having an amazing time. The people there are nothing but the sweetest and kindest. The Japanese restaurant was my absolute favorite the staff was very entertaining and very funny. I never want to leave. I definitely recommend Playa Pilar to everyone if you are visiting Cayo Coco. There were many fun activities going on throughout the day for adults and children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great trip

, Lindsay, ON
2022-06-14
My wife and I had an awesome time at this resort. The staff is so caring, and will do anything to make your stay the best. From the moment we arrived we felt special. Yenia, the front desk coordinator was simply wonderful, sweet and so caring. Everything we asked for she did for us. Our room was clean and well appointed. The only thing was, they don't have face cloths, which next time we will bring our own. The staff is friendly from the cafe in the morning, where we had delicious omelettes each morning. I must say, they do everything they can to make you feel special. The alacartes are great, and our favourite was the Japanese Restaurant. Drinks, don't get me started! The pina coladas were fabulous. Yoni at the cigar bar made the best coffee martinis. There's is always a smile on everyone's face from the wonderful people that manicure the gardens and the grass, to the cafe down at the cafe by the water. I would say this is one of the best holidays we have ever had. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
The internet is one of the places they need to work on. Very weak, and sporadic.

Will return again!

, Mono, ON
2022-06-14
I have stayed at Playa Pilar two times and I hope to return again. The best part about this resort is the people. Yenia is the best, she got us a nice room that met our requests, and got me Aloe for my heat rash from her own home to help! Yenia is very sweet and takes the time to make a connection with guests and make you feel welcome. She goes above and beyond. Lilly is also very helpful and kind. Mary, Darrien, Babo, and Dennis are wonderful. I met them the first time I visited and we had a blast reuniting again. They are fun, energetic, and make you feel welcome. They add so much to the resort and I would simply return again just to see them! The resort is very clean, the rooms are nice, and the beach is stunning! There is less food selection than the previous times I visited but that was expected with the Pandemic and with the war between Russia and the Ukraine. You wont ever go hungry but be willing to try new foods. The teppanyaki and gourmet were amazing! Great food and excellent staff. The selection here was great. if you visit do the snorkeling with the aquatics team on the beach and visit Pilar Beach and have the lobster lunch (YOU WONT REGRET IT)! These were some of my favourite memories from the trip. Overall, I would visit many more times and I hope you give it aa try too! I love this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great people, Beautiful beach, Clean, Perfect balance of relaxing and partying (if you want too), Family friendly, good for young people.

Another great trip

, Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON
2022-06-13
This was my second time at this resort. This time I took my daughter and granddaughter. Despite the difficulties Cuba continues to encounter the staff go above and beyond to make sure you have a great time. The grounds, rooms, pool and entertainment are all perfect for me. You can't go wrong here and the staff like Yenia, Enil, Mike, Mary, Cross, and many more are happy to help with whatever you need. If you have time visit the Spa. The services are great, my massage left me, thanks to Levian, floating!! Can't wait until the next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, pool, cigar bar, entertainment, rooms and grounds
The weak points
Food lacks variety at this exact point in time. Not the fault of the resort at all. Wifi free but not available in various areas of the hotel
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent

Such Great People

, Niagara Falls, ON
2022-06-13
We were very happy to have met the great staff at IPP. Every day and every where, everybody was so friendly and helpful, offering a smile and a hello or answering a question or serving a drink.
Even before our trip, we joined the resorts FB group and had a thousand questions answered by the experienced guests and especially the friendly customer service reps.
The suite was great, all the rooms overlooked the ocean, but our door was directly online with the speakers from the pools entertainment staff, which cloud get loud when the pool party was pumping.
We were very impressed with how hard everyone works and what a great vacation they provide. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff were so very friendly and accommodating to all of our requests.
The weak points
The dining hall selection was limited due to supply chain and low bookings.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
well done. lots of regular cleaning and sanitizing. hand sanitizer at all the restaurants and bars, and masks worn at the dining hall.

Belle semaine pour ma fête

, Trois-Rivieres, QC
2022-06-12
Très belle acceuil a notre arrivé, notre séjour à été plus que parfait! Merci à toute le staff!! Spécialement à Yenia, Oney et Ana pour cette merveilleuse expérience! Très beau resort, la belle plage est séparée par des rochers, mais un beau deck/broadwalk sur-élevé fait le lien avec la terre et la partie parfaite de la plage dans l'océan. alors on a pas de caillou ou rocher a marcher pour etre dans la mer! Pour ce qui est de la nourriture il faut comprendre que pour Cuba certains items sont plus dur a avoir en ce moment, alors la nourriture au buffet se répète un peu, mais ils réussisent a faires des variances. Pour ce qui est des installations rien de majeur, un peu de peinture ici et la pour redonner un coup de jeunesse, chambre tres grande belle vue, propre, lit toujours propre et chambre fait, le téléphone ne fonctionnais pas dans la chambre... mais on était pas venu pour sa. Pression d'eau dans la toilette faible a certain moment ce qui pouvait etre on peu désagréable, mais pour le reste rien a dire. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
La vue sur la mer à partir de la chambre. L'accueil du staff et toutes les petites attentions pour rendre ton sejour mémoirable.
The weak points
La piscine principale a manqué un peu d'attention.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-06-17
Cher Audrey, C'est avec gratitude que nous recevons votre commentaire à la fois positif et constructif, car, chez Iberostar, nous savons qu'en étant à l´écoute de nos clients, nous arriverons à l'excellence requise. Nous espérons compter sur votre présence dans un futur proche, pour vous servir à nouveau et vous offrir de nouvelles vacances de rêves. Cordialement Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

We love cuba been many times

, Prescott, ON
2022-06-11
We have been to Cuba a many times beaches are great weather was good grounds where clean rooms where clean but the food was awful this really disappointed me we have never had isues with the food before this time
This ruined our trip the good that came out off it we got to meet yenia and oney if it wasn't for them I think we would off tried coming back earlier than yhe 7 days this resort must do something about the food this isn't right [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Awesome time

, Lindsay, ON
2022-06-11
The staff at Playa Pilar are wonderful! They do everything possible to make your stay a stay to remember. Yenia the coordinator was fabulous. Every request got answered. She is an amazing person. Our room was exceptional overlooking the water. Everything about our room was perfect. Comfortable bed and an gorgeous bathroom. The food in the main dining room was good and we loved the omelettes for breakfast. The Ala Carte we're fabulous, especially the Japanese Restaurant and the staff at Japanese Restaurant were hilarious! The drinks were yummy. Especially in the Cigar Lounge. Oney made delicious martinis. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
One of the things I found odd was there were no facecloths anywhere. Not a biggie. I will know for next time. The pool was cool. Which surprised us knowing how warm a country it is. One thing they need to improve on is the wifi. It was spotty
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The COVID protocol was done everywhere. No issues anywhere.

Fantastic vacation!

, Prescott, ON
2022-06-11
Can't say enough about the hospitality of the staff at IPP - from the moment we arrived and greeted by the lovely Yenia to the nightly visits to the Cigar Bar with Oney - this was an incredible vacation after 2 years of staying home. We booked a Suite and absolutely loved the sound of the palms and crashing waves. If you have a chance to book the Suite -- do it!! Room is massive with two bathrooms, separate living room and huge balcony overlooking the beach. Housekeeping was lovely, leaving us little notes of welcome and appreciation; Entertainment staff was excellent (although I only got to do my water aerobics once due to low attendance lol); Bar staff was great at the pool (shout out to Diane) and Dariel at the Cuban Cocktail bar; Oney at the Cigar Bar was entertaining and a true host telling stories and playing games with us; Yenia stopped by as often as she could to check on our stay and ensure our visit was being enjoyed to its fullest. Food was a lacking - we have been to Cuba many times and know that you don't go for fine cuisine - this time was simply a supply issue due to global factors. We hope that this will turn around soon before we come back for a visit. It's a good thing they had lots of delicious Cuban rum to fill our bellies and keep us loving every moment! We'll be back :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

10 days in Heaven

, North Bay, ON
2022-06-10
“10 days in Heaven”
Erin NORTH BAY, ON
10 days in heaven! Review of Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar Reviewed March 12, 2022 We enjoyed our 10 day stay at this wonderful resort! It is both great for couples, or families with kids. I would definitely visit again and have no problems recommending it to others! Staff were exceptional, always smiling and genuinely friendly. They treat you like family! Yenia and Janet at customer service are amazing and always go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay! Some staff names I remember: Johanna, Abel, Marvel, Franco, Elbany, Bazel, Oney, Dariel, Alexis,and Mary. I'm sure I forgot a few that we talked with. Also want to thank our Taxi driver for a day trip into the city. Yoe. Faster than the bus tour would have been. Rooms - Very clean, spacious, modern. We were on 3rd floor with a spectacular ocean view from balcony. Cleaning staff did great job. Thank you Pools x 3 - All clean and in good condition. Grounds - very clean, well manicured! Gardeners all very proud of their sections, their hard work shows. Buffet - we were warned that you don't go to Cuba for the food, but, we were pleasantly surprised! Although quantity at the moment seems to be an issue, what was there was very tasty. Breakfast omelettes were a go to! Lunch and dinner, although very repetitive, were with chicken, beef, fish, shrimp, pasta and pizza some evenings. Loved the ice cream for dessert never disappointing. Thank you to waitress Johanna, and many others. The omelette chefs, The “meow” chef, and the “wonder twins"also all the others that helped out. Each night the entertainment team would help serve. What a great way to get to know them in person. Not just up on stage. The resort has 4 Al la carte restaurants to choose from. Japanese, Gourmet, Mediterranean and Cuban. We had the pleasure of trying out the Japanese and the gourmet. Very yummy!! Cigar Bar Lounge - our favourite place to end the evenings! Oney is an amazing! Every evening he would impress his guests recommending and making fabulous drinks, educating on cigars and sharing his knowledge on Cuban history! Many thanks Oney, you are a hidden gem that once found is truly treasured and will never be forgotten! Much love to you! Beach - not your typical Cuba beach but very unique. The pier was a great place to watch the boats going by and also you get a bird's eye view of the fish in the water. The snorkeling was amazing and right of the shore. Many creatures to explore! Cons, no matter where you go there will always be some, so here they are: -Ranchero snack bar - very slow, too small a grill for amount of people, poor service, needs total overhaul. -Public Bathrooms near Buffet and near Store need to be cleaned and restocked more regularly. -Some room doors and balcony doors are hard to open and close properly. -No real store/gift shop. Only very small closet sized shop with some rum, cigars and fridge magnets. Closest market is approx 1 1/2 hr bus ride($5)to resort in Cayo Coco, which makes for a cheap excursion on a double decker bus(so this is both a con and pro!) The sports bar needs more things to keep people entertained in the evening. A dart board and a chess board would be a cheap addition. So, if you have read this far…just go! You will have a great time! Date of stay: February 2022 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

10 days in Heaven

, North Bay, ON
2022-06-08
10 days in heaven!
Review of Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar
Reviewed March 12, 2022
We enjoyed our 10 day stay at this wonderful resort! It is both great for couples, or families with kids. I would definitely visit again and have no problems recommending it to others!

Staff were exceptional, always smiling and genuinely friendly. They treat you like family! Yenia and Janet at customer service are amazing and always go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay!
Some staff names I remember:
Johanna, Abel, Marvel, Franco, Elbany, Bazel, Oney, Dariel, Alexis,and Mary. I'm sure I forgot a few that we talked with. Also want to thank our Taxi driver for a day trip into the city. Yoe. Faster than the bus tour would have been.
Rooms - Very clean, spacious, modern. We were on 3rd floor with a spectacular ocean view from balcony. Cleaning staff did great job. Thank you
Pools x 3 - All clean and in good condition.

Grounds - very clean, well manicured! Gardeners all very proud of their sections, their hard work shows.

Buffet - we were warned that you don't go to Cuba for the food, but, we were pleasantly surprised! Although quantity at the moment seems to be an issue, what was there was very tasty. Breakfast omelettes were a go to! Lunch and dinner, although very repetitive, were with chicken, beef, fish, shrimp, pasta and pizza some evenings. Loved the ice cream for dessert never disappointing. Thank you to waitress Johanna, and many others. The omelette chefs, The “meow” chef, and the “wonder twins"also all the others that helped out. Each night the entertainment team would help serve. What a great way to get to know them in person. Not just up on stage.

The resort has 4 Al la carte restaurants to choose from. Japanese, Gourmet, Mediterranean and Cuban. We had the pleasure of trying out the Japanese and the gourmet. Very yummy!!

Cigar Bar Lounge - our favourite place to end the evenings! Oney is an amazing! Every evening he would impress his guests recommending and making fabulous drinks, educating on cigars and sharing his knowledge on Cuban history! Many thanks Oney, you are a hidden gem that once found is truly treasured and will never be forgotten! Much love to you!

Beach - not your typical Cuba beach but very unique. The pier was a great place to watch the boats going by and also you get a bird's eye view of the fish in the water. The snorkeling was amazing and right of the shore. Many creatures to explore!

Cons, no matter where you go there will always be some, so here they are:
-Ranchero snack bar - very slow, too small a grill for amount of people, poor service, needs total overhaul.
-Public Bathrooms near Buffet and near Store need to be cleaned and restocked more regularly.
-Some room doors and balcony doors are hard to open and close properly.
-No real store/gift shop. Only very small closet sized shop with some rum, cigars and fridge magnets. Closest market is approx 1 1/2 hr bus ride($5)to resort in Cayo Coco, which makes for a cheap excursion on a double decker bus(so this is both a con and pro!)
The sports bar needs more things to keep people entertained in the evening. A dart board and a chess board would be a cheap addition.
So, if you have read this far…just go! You will have a great time!
Date of stay: February 2022 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Beautiful Resort! Even more beautiful people!

, London, ON
2022-06-08
We booked a very last-minute trip to this hotel as my brother and sister-in- law have been here in the past and have always raved about the incredible hospitality team and unbelievable views! This hotel felt like home away from home. The staff make you feel so special! They are extremely kind and genuine, absolutely made our short vacation one of the best experiences I have had in Cuba. A very special shout out goes to Yenia Rodriguez Batista! I cannot say enough incredible things about this woman. You are just a wonderful person inside and out, thank you for everything you did for myself and my family while we were there. I cannot wait to come back in March and see your big, beautiful smile! We enjoyed incredible cocktails made for us at the cigar bar, amazing experience and the artistry that goes into the drinks is immaculate! The entertainment team was exactly that! Entertaining!! Making us laugh and keeping us engaged the entire time. Best paella rice I have had in my entire life, cooked fresh daily at the grill at 3pm! I was able to enjoy 2 remarkable massages that take place with breath taking views of the ocean. Vacations are what you make of them. Find the beauty in the small things and enjoy your time. We have all had a difficult 2 years, be grateful we can visit our amazing friends in Cuba once again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Best Resort in Cuba

, Sydney Mines, NS
2022-06-02
My husband and I just returned from our
Amazing Week long stay at Iberostar Playa Pilar. Let me start by saying we have travelled to Cuba 10 times for our vacations as well as many other destinations over the last 20 years. We love a lot of things about Cuba but but the food is always a deterrent for me especially because I do enough cooking at home I want to eat good food on Vacation. I'm so happy that I hadn't given up because the food was great def the best we have ever had in Cuba. We ate much more then we should. Selection was a little limited compared to other resorts but great for the size of the resort and the occupancy. My non vegetable eating husband survived for a few days without french fries but they appeared after day 3. We did 3 specialty restaurants and they were all very very good!
Now let me tell you about the real amazing things this resort has to offer! Hands down the best drinks, most selection and beautiful presentation that we have ever had. It did not matter if you were in the lobby, the beach the cigar bar or the other bars. Definitely have to give a 5 plus for this. The service and staff at this resort are by far the best. Every single employee we came across went out of their way to be friendly! Your plate or your drink never hit empty. Prior to our arrival we were able to connect with Yenia the customer service rep at the hotel. Wow! They are are so very lucky to have that lady in their employ. She is extremely smart and knows how to run the service department of that hotel! Yenia for President!!!! She made some extra special things happen for us that made our stay very special! You need to Hook up with her! I hear she likes Milk Chocolate [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service was exceptional Absolutely Beautiful Location Staff are beyond Friendly
The weak points
Nothing worth speaking about

Best Service EVER

, Yarmouth, NS
2022-06-02
I just spent a great week at this beautiful resort! So thankful for the amazing Yenia who made my stay so special. She is just incredible at making sure everyone is having a wonderful vacation. I also have to shout-out to Darien, Oney, Dariel and Alain. Our suite was just so huge and felt spoiled all week. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Food shortage was an issue but got better during our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

The best!

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2022-05-30
We had a wonderful time. We keep going back, cant wait until end of June to go back again. This resort is simply the best. The staff will make you feel special from the moment you arrive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

A Week in Paradise

, Westville, NS
2022-05-30
Spent 7 days early March 2022. Didnt want to leave. I have found my slice of Heaven. Incredible staff. Will move mountains to make things happen for you. The resort is clean ,well staffed, lots of food options in buffet and the a la cartes chefs are amazing, especially Japanese. Lots of pool space with more than adequate chairs and gazebos. Sun and shade. Kids will love the daily Kids Club and they all take part in the early show in the theater each evening. I loved watching them . They seemed to be so happy. Even young teens got involved!! The activities team work overtime to put together pool and beach programs and the theater has daily shows of Broadway quality!! Rooms are bright airy and large with TV cable fan and AC. Daily housekeeping keep your room neat and clean and well stocked with bottled water and towels. Bring facecloths as you need to everywhere in Cuba. Clean Beach towels daily The beach has a beautiful boardwalk to keep you off the natural coral.It features lots of chaise loungers and gazebos for shade.. Still lots of sand for those that need it and the kiddies .Pure white soft as silk sand bottom.They have kayaks and catamarans you can use and it is a great place to snorkel withlots of starfish and other sea life to look at. there are 6 separate bar areas with large selection of drinks. Lots of garden area to walk through.. Short walk to Playa Pilar beach noted to be the best beach in all of Cuba. Nearby excursions are very reasonably priced. Bus stops at resort every 2 hrs for off resort trips.. only $5 CAD return or less.. Lay out of resort is great for older people or people with mobility issues there are benches everywhere if you need them. Nothing is far away and short (2-3 min) pleasant walk to all amenities or less 24 hr food bar with best French fries ever!! The staff is the heartbeat of this resort.. The Customer relations ladies Yenia and Janet will make you feel at home and from the groundmen , security, waiters barmen and women maids and cleaners are so friendly and approachable!! I am going back in Feb and sooner if I can for 2 weeks this trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff is A1 none better. Location. Things to do offsite but not overwhelmed with excursions as on other trips. I relaxed there. Mobility friendly, pool areas interconnect. Seems great if with kids. Always poolchairs available. Delicious food and drink,
The weak points
Really none . Maybe less choices in buffet due to Covid restrictions.. No beer in room fridges anymore but that is the norm in Cuba now

3rd Mother Daughter Vacation

, Guelph, ON
2022-05-29
Our trip was Dec 31, 2021 to Jan 11, 2022. Was as wonderful as expected for our 3rd time at this beautiful resort. A little different with Covid but we were so happy to see all of our friends we missed.
Yenia and Janet in customer relations always there to make everything amazing. They make sure you're are taken care of and check in on you. If you have any issues they will get it corrected right away.

The staff is very welcoming and friendly, from the entertainment staff always doing so much to get the visitors engaged, dancing and games Babo, Yamilka, Mary, Alexis. Towel bar Yami is always so happy, fresh towels and a smile you can see through the mask!
Lobby bar barista/bartender Adrian will always welcome you with a smile and If you're lucky a song. A few others I didn't get their names are also amazing, the afternoon lobby bartender who made us the epic drink of rum, triple sec, banana liquor, lime juice shaken and topped with cola..thank you!! The buffet staff, so sweet and attentive to us to ensure we had what we need. The snack bar after 10pm server who always got us our fries!!

Overall as vegans we had foods to eat, staff did a good job cleaning, always masked, maids did a great job on the room everyday and the gardener working on the hot sun were always so nice and do a great job keeping the grounds net and tidy. Beach is beautiful can access by the hut or off the pier. Pilar Beach is a must see, walk or take the bus or taxi. Tour the city, see and learn about Cuba.

We will be back again, if you want to have an amazing trip, I highly recommend you stay here!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Awesome customer service, Friendly staff, Beautiful views, Hot sunshine, Good entertainment, Drinks and Food
The weak points
I have no weak points but will say. Cuba is limited to what they get and they make the best of it . Go in with an open mind, you will be glad you did.

Our stay at Iberostar Playa Pillar

, Rockland, ON
2022-04-30
We found the place well kept, the staff were superb, The food was very plain, not very tasteful and repetitive. I found everything very central which was great cause we had a young child with us. The staff were so courteous! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pools and lounging atea central to rooms!
The weak points
Very plain food,, no snack bar available.
Certified

Vacation

, Montréal, QC
2022-03-08
Was nice vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

A great resort and vacation!

, Jordan Station, ON
2022-02-19
We had a great time at this resort. The staff re amazing, so helpful. Rolly was particularly interesting to talk to, he was helpful and wanted to improve his English, which is already excellent. Our room was spotless, neat and very comfortable. The food here was outstanding - so much to choose from at the buffet every day. The Valentines Day buffet was truly beautiful. The resort is well kept and the facilities are neat and clean. We also had a spa day, which was so nice too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
the staff - they couldn't be more helpful, friendly, and every day greeted you as an old friend, remembering what you like.
The weak points
None!
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent - hand sanitizer all around, staff all wore masks, we felt very safe
Certified

Nice resort, great people but the beach.....

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-23
Decent resort, compact design, everything was within an easy walk from the room. The food was pretty good, always two grills going, fresh fish on one, chicken and meat on the other. The bars are well stocked and the bar staff are great. The issue is the beach. The natural shoreline is rocky. There is a small sand area at the water land a boardwalk area for lounges. The boardwalk blocks the view of the water from the sand lounge area.
We like walking the beach but this is only possible during low tide. The resort is a 20 minute walk to Pilar Beach. Pilar Beach bass decent restaurant and bar. Prices are reasonable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people are amazing. The food is quite good with a decent selection. The rooms are okay.
The weak points
The only issue is the beach. Pilar Beach is excellent. If you don't mind a walk it's a good alternative.... But then it becomes a pay bar...
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear Donald, We are grateful to you for choosing us for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience you had with us. It is great to read your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays. Amazing locations, professional staff, cleanliness and excellent standards of gastronomy are very important elements of our company and reading that you found them to your liking is brilliant news. Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Cuba March Break 2020

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-22
All of the staff were very nice during our stay. The hotel room was big and clean. The hotel buffet food was ok for the most part, but the other specialty restaurants there had much better tasting food, some of which was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very easy to relax there. There is a 24 hour snack bar.
The weak points
The hotel buffet food could be better although breakfast offerings were quite good.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-31
Dear guest, First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. The entire team is not only genuinely friendly but is also given continuous training of best service and working practices. We are therefore very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a wonderful impression on you. Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Good value for money

, Granby, QC
2020-02-29
Clean resort, extremely friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean public areas, very friendly and helpful staff, they make you feel that your important to them.
The weak points
The food was ok but not as big a variety as other resorts in Cuba that we have visited in the pass.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Henry, Thank you very much for your friendly review. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near fututre. Best Regards Quality Manager, Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022