Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar
4.154.154.154.154.15
4.15 based on 226 reviews
#2 of 20 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cayo Coco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (337)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Mon expérience

, Trois-Rivieres, QC
2022-10-02
Tres belle accueil. Nous avons passer un très beau séjour. Vraiment une belle place. Merci a Yenia Rodriguez Batista pour sa présence, son beau travail a veiller a ce que tout soit parfais. Merci a Oney Cerra, notre Mixologue de la semaine, ces drinks etait tout simplement delicieux. Michel et Crosswell aux activités tout pour nous divertir. Et Gérald au bar de la piscine, un très bon Barmaid. Aux 2 serveuses Ana et Alouska, acceuillante et souriante! Vraiment des gens extraordinaires!!! Hâte d'y retourner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
L'ambiance, les gens souriant et sympathique. Le services. Les drinks.
The weak points
La piscine et les salles de bains laissait a désirer

Mon expérience

, Trois-Rivieres, QC
2022-10-02
Woww très beaux voyage, très belle place ,le personnel très accueillants et super sympathique,j'ai fait de très belle rencontre (Yenia Rodriguez batista, Oney cerra,Gérald,Michel et Croswell ,woww vraiment des gens extraordinaire, j'ai vraiment hâte d'y retourner merci beaucoup pour cette belle semaine ❤ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
L'ambiance et les gens acceuillant.
The weak points
La piscine et les salles de bain manquait d'entretien

Sisters get away

, Newmarket, ON
2022-10-02
Had a great week at the IPP, it was my second visit and I'll return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great staff. Really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant it's very entertaining.

10-Year Wedding Anniversary Trip

, Ajax, ON
2022-09-30
Cuba has always been a favourite place for us to visit as a family, and so with it being our 10-year wedding anniversary, it was a no brainer for us to choose Cuba for this special occasion. We've been to Varadero a few times and Cayo Coco only once, so it was decided to return back to Cayo Coco. Iberostar Playa Pilar was recommended to us by our travel agent, and I must say that it did not disappoint. I booked an ocean view suite and oh my goodness, that view was breathtaking. The room was spacious and clean. The beach was stunning, with white sand and clear turquoise water; the marine life was incredible - make sure to bring your snorkeling set with you. The drinks were delightful and the food was fine (they do the best they can with what they have). The lady bartender at the beach made the most delicious drinks, definitely go see her! The lobby bartenders made the best cappuccinos! The mosquitos are a nightmare, make sure to bring repellent. The bartender at the lobby saw that my daughter was visibly upset because she kept getting mosquito bites, he came over with repellent for her to use - that was the absolute sweetest, we were very grateful for his kindness. The entertainment shows were great, very engaging. We ventured over to Pilar Beach twice; the cab drive is a short 3-4 minutes at 5$(CAN) per person round trip, you can also pay 5$(CAN) each for beach chairs. There is a restaurant on the beach with delicious food. Pilar Beach is beautiful and is a must to see! Lastly, the staff (and I mean ALL the staff) are absolutely fantastic. I have to apologize because I didn't get all the names of everyone, so I will just mention that there wasn't one staff member who didn't go above and beyond for us. Yenia was amazing; she makes you feel right at home and constantly checks in. My husband, daughter and myself had a remarkable time. We look forward to, and are excited to return in the very near future :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Wow

, Trois-Rivieres, QC
2022-09-30
Un voyage splendide, avec des amis extraordinaires [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

2ieme fois et pas la derrière!!!

, Trois-Rivieres, QC
2022-09-30
Personnel incroyable, content de revoir Yenia, Oney, Ana, Alouska a nouveau de rencontrer et avoir du plaisir avec Michel et Crosswell a la piscine et meme au lobby! Gerald au bar de la piscine tres humoriste et bon drink. La piscine principale a beaucoup besoin d'amour, mais les 2 autres piscine sont toujours propre et disponible et la mer n'est qu'a 30sec. Oney nous a initier a des cigars et pris le temps de nous expliquer quelque points, l'histoire et les differences.

Merci au plaisir d'y retourner [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
La vue sur la mer à partir de la chambre. L'accueil du staff et toutes les petites attentions pour rendre ton sejour mémoirable. Merci a Yenia, Oney, Ana, Alouska, Michel et Crosswell (jeux et piscine), Gerald pool bar.
The weak points
La piscine principale a manqué un peu d'attention.

1ere fois et pas la derrière!!!

, Trois-Rivieres, QC
2022-09-30
Très belle acceuil a notre arrivé, notre séjour à été plus que parfait! Merci à toute le staff!! Spécialement à Yenia, Oney et Ana pour cette merveilleuse expérience! Très beau resort, la belle plage est séparée par des rochers, mais un beau deck/broadwalk sur-élevé fait le lien avec la terre et la partie parfaite de la plage dans l'océan. alors on a pas de caillou ou rocher a marcher pour etre dans la mer! Pour ce qui est de la nourriture il faut comprendre que pour Cuba certains items sont plus dur a avoir en ce moment, alors la nourriture au buffet se répète un peu, mais ils réussisent a faires des variances. Pour ce qui est des installations rien de majeur, un peu de peinture ici et la pour redonner un coup de jeunesse, chambre tres grande belle vue, propre, lit toujours propre et chambre fait, le téléphone ne fonctionnais pas dans la chambre... mais on était pas venu pour sa. Pression d'eau dans la toilette faible a certain moment ce qui pouvait etre on peu désagréable, mais pour le reste rien a dire. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
La vue sur la mer à partir de la chambre. L'accueil du staff et toutes les petites attentions pour rendre ton sejour mémoirable.
The weak points
La piscine principale a manqué un peu d'attention.

Very nice vocation

, Innisfil, ON
2022-09-28
Very nice resort.
Cosy, clean, everything is just here.
You do not need to go long way.
Ocean is amazing. A lot of fish just here.
Take your masks for snorkling.
Friendly and supportive stuff.
Especially administrator Jenya.
She was very helpful, very friendly.
She talked to everybody, ask gests about there needs, help in any questions.
And it was nice to see her smile in the lobby every morning. Thanks a lot, we miss your smile.
Really good food. Fresh squeezed juice every day, a lot of fruets and vegetables, two grills with see food and meat. Pancakes, yogurt, milk - all natural and high quality.
The only things are - no napkins in the room.
This is a common problem in many resorts now after covid. So, take a box with you.
We had a very good time.
And want to go back again in any time.
Thanks to everybody in the resort.
We miss you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Surprise travel

, Innisfil, ON
2022-09-27
We purchased vocation for our parents. It was a surprise trip, so they didn't expect anything. From the first moment when they exit the bus and entered hotel they was surprises. The stuff was super friendly and welcomed they so nice. They arrived before check in, but ladies from the front desk was able to do a room earlier for them. The food and drink was amazing. I know everyone tells that there is no food in Cuba, but this resort always have what to eat ( fresh fish and meat, delicious, cheese, pasta and rice, as well as a lot of sea products) Every day they was calling us to let us know regarding the show programs in the evening and how fantastic is their vocation.
Also at the property they have 4 a la cart. One of them is teppanyaki with amazing show and delicious food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Best stuff ever
The weak points
No

L'hôtel commence à se faire vieux,

, Pointe-Aux-Trembles, QC
2022-09-26
mais on s'entend que si on va à cuba, on y va principalement pour la plage! Le concept de quai sur le bord de l'eau pour protéger les coraux de la baie de Pilar est simplement génial. On rentre dans l'océan comme si on rentre dans une piscine. La baie est très calme et offre beaucoup de vie aquatique.

Merci à Yenia qui s'occupe très bien clients!
Merci à Babo de faire de cet endroit un hôtel fun et agréable à revenir (c'est ma 5ème fois à l'hotel!)
et merci à Dianely au bar de piscine, Oney (cigare bar) et Daniel (bar du lobby). Les 3 meilleurs barman du resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
service, plage, drink
The weak points
management et nourriture (pas de leur faute, ils sont très limiter dans se qu'ils peuvent faire présentement)
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2022-09-27
Cher client, Nous vous remercions pour votre fidélité et pour votre aimable appréciation lors de votre séjour au sein de notre hôtel Iberostar ainsi que de nous avoir fait part de votre suggestion constructive que nous partagerons avec notre équipe. Nous sommes conscients que de cette manière, c'est-à-dire en écoutant les avis de nos hôtes, nous pourrons leur offrir un service proche de l´excellence. Nous espérons sincèrement vous recevoir très prochainement. Cordialement, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

Open mind and great trip

, Whitby, ON
2022-09-22
Last minute trip for our 8th visit. Folks you must go with an open mind and understand that Cuba as a whole is under severe restrictions for food and bare necessities.

Upon arrival Check in was a breeze, met with the brand ambassador Yenia (Management take care of this employee), our room 828 was spacious and clean. As in Cuba there were a few minor things with the room however none that would take away from our trip. Building 8 is close to everything.

Food: In all honesty the food was repetitive and suffered due to low occupancy. The Japanese Restaurant was our saviour. Anatoly was once again an amazing Chef.

Beach was fairly quiet due to low occupancy which was an added bonus.

Please do your research before deciding on any resort

Buffet: Again food was very repetitive and limited. Fruits and some pasta available but no hot stations. Vegans will struggle. Employees who were great at the buffet were Ideky, Marie Claire and Yuley amongst many others.

Jossy and Yadier on the front desk were very polite and respectful to deal with.

Since November 2021 there have been many changes with employees. The current situation and poor management are to blame.

Repeat guests dinner at Japanese was pleasant as was the cigar bar. The boss known as Oney, a gentleman and an employee who cares about the client made the best drinks.

Don't be afraid to bring your own roll of TP.

Would We go again: YES

Pros: Staff and location

Cons: Food, lack of premium booze (low
Occupancy which means bring out the cheap stuff) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Remaining staff and water
The weak points
Food

Excellent Choice

, Cambridge, ON
2022-09-20
I had the pleasure to stay at the Iberostar Playa Pilar from Sept 11th-18. I booked it about 6 weeks out when i saw a good deal. I have stayed at other Iberostar properties in Cuba and Mexico and have always been impressed by the quality of service and comfort.
I flew out of Toronto on the new OWG airline via HolaSun. Pearson airport was a breeze and we departed on time. There were only about 40 people on the flight. Arrival at Cayo Coco airport was fast and efficient. We got the grand tour, stopping at 9 different resorts between Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo. It was like old home week for me as, I had previously stayed at several of them. Arrived at the Iberostar and check in was quick and courteous. The lobby is nice with plenty of place to sit and of course the bar is there. A bonus for many of us. 
After check-in, I was greeted by the very personable and outgoing, Yenia Rodriguez Batisa. She is in customer relations and is a treasure. I had contacted her several days before arrival to request a certain block and ground floor room. She responded immediately and ensured me my request would be taken care of. To my amazement, Yenia messaged me a day or two later offering to book my a la cartes before my arrival. She took care of all she promised. And talk about going above and beyond, I could not get on the internet one day and she graciously tethered me to her phone so I could connect. I rarely name any employee at any hotel, and I've been to 25 different hotels across Cuba, but I really needed to mention Yenia. Thanks for everything Yenia.
I arrived at my junior suite and found a huge, room with huge washroom area. Everything in the room worked well and nothing was broken, a hard feat to accomplish in Cuba during the desperate times. The resort was clean and tidy throughout, and gardens were well-kept. I'm more an ocean person than pool person, so was not in the pools. The pools are nice and there is the swim at bar on the main one. The boardwalks in the beach area were my Favorite place to hang out. The beautiful vistas and cool breeze were heaven. Snorkeling off the boardwalk is great for beginners. The ocean was about 82 degrees, perfect temp. The beach bar is right there, and the bartenders were great.
The food at Iberostar was good. Of course, there are limitations in these trying times and there are shortages all over the island, but if you went hungry, it would be your own fault. If you need certain condiments or spices bring them. I brought chips, chocolate bars, peanut butter, soya sauce, hot sauce and other munchies. The a la cartes I ate at were very good, the service was great. I'm old and usually too borracho, after spending the day in the sun, so I cannot knowledgeably review the nightly shows. The one I did see part of was very professional and the dancers were great.
The churro cart was my must go to every day, The ranchon overlooking the ocean is nice and a quick bite there for lunch is always nice. 
I've tried to keep this as brief as possible, so I am sure I missed tons of things I wanted to say. In conclusion, the staff here were all great and enthusiastic. The resort was only at about 25% capacity, so it was easy to find your own space. The place is very clean, and staff is doing their best and management should be proud of them. Management should also be proud of themselves as Iberostar Playa Pilar was a pleasure to spend a week at. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to any of my friends or family, or to you guys who are reading this.
Thanks for a great stay Iberostar. See you again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Another great visit

, Bradford West Gwillimbury, ON
2022-09-19
This was my third time here and it was perfect for us. The staff were attentive and the accommodation (Oceanview) was #1. Food was overall good and some meals were well above expectations ie Japanese restaurant and Mahi Mahi on the grill in the buffet. Cappuccinos in the morning and cocktails in the cigar bar in the evening both hit the spot. Thanks to Yenia and Janet in customer service for ensuring we had the best experience. We will be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, ocean, cigar bar, staff
The weak points
Intermittent Wifi
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very good

Vacation with friends

, Mississauga, ON
2022-09-14
Wonderful time was had by all 5 of us.
Hotel was well maintained grounds are beautiful. Pool was kept cleaned and lots of sun beds available.
Beach is a natural pool surrounded by cliffs so you do have to use a boardwalk with stairs to enter the ocean but lovely sandy beach once your in.
Restaurants we tried were Japanese Cuban and Mediterranean. Japanese was our favorite.

What makes this resort special is the staff they can't do enough for you. Special mentions:

Lobby Bar great for coffee. Geidy made us amazing cafe and an amazing lady.

Oney in the Cigar Bar is amazing makes great drinks and lovely to chat with.

Yenia and Janet customer service were there for us and did everything possible to make our stay an enjoyable one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
The shortages in Cuba are affecting the selections that they can serve us but we always found something we could eat.

Cuba Trip

, Paris, ON
2022-09-10
Loved it, staff were very friendly and treated us good. Christian, Yenia, Yudy, Oney, and everybody else thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Pool was good Bartenders are friendly Beach was good

Amazing Family Vacation

, Newmarket, ON
2022-09-10
We went late August as a group of 13, 6 kids, 4 adults and 3 seniors. There was something at the resort for everyone to enjoy. The rooms, pools, restaurants, amenities were fabulous but the best part were the people! Everyone went above and beyond the expectations to make sure we were happy and can enjoy our vacation to the fullest. We were greeted every morning by all the workers with a big smile on their face. You can tell that they are a family at IPP and that they treat their guests as such! Because we were such a big group, we were able to pre-book our ala cartes prior to our arrival and we were even surprised to see a banner for my husband's birthday at the Japanese restaurant, which was such a great experience.

Thank you to all the staff at IPP and special shout out to Yenia and Janet for making sure we had an unforgettable family vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Beautiful beach and resort

, Scarborough, ON
2022-09-08
Review for IPP

Excellent family resort. The beach front is very unique. I have not seen many around that is set up this way with a boardwalk. The selection of food is really good, there are many choices so I am not sure why some reviews had negative opinions about it. When I was there with my family, there was always pasta, bread, meats, seafood and fruits/vegetables. The manager, Yenia was most accommodating and my family and I truly appreciated everything she did for us. Would I return with my family? Absolutely. My wife has been bugging me about returning since we left so that says a lot. Hoping to return next year. Cheers! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Best hotel ever

, Cambridge, ON
2022-09-07
Best hotel, best staff and best beach. The staff were so fun and hit everyone involved in activities it felt like a family community and it broke our hearts to leave. The beach has so many star fish of all kinds to look at and it so calm. Highly recommend this resort and can not wait to go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food was great with lots of selection. The snack bar was fun and delicious I. The early morning hours after a few drinks. The staff were by far the best of all resorts I have been to
The weak points
A little farther then other resorts to market but much closer to Pilar beach, which is a must. I really don't have anything bad to say about this place at all.

Another week in Paradise

, Richmond Hill, ON
2022-09-01
We (Mom, Dad & 2 kids 10 and 15) had an absolutely amazing time! From the transfer to the hotel, check-in and all other organizational standpoints, first class. The room Yenia had selected for us was incredible. And let me tell you about this lovely lady Yenia, she took care of us from the minute we set foot in the lobby until the minute we left. Any questions, any help we needed, she took care of it. What a gem! Anyone here complaining of anything: Cuba is a very beautiful country, albeit poor. So, before you complain, take a minute to understand the people and the history of the country. We only had great experiences with the locals, they all work hard to make our life as comfortable as possible, but I digress.... The resort features everything you would want, good food, pool, drinks and friendly staff. We would go back in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Honeymoon in Paradise

, Guelph, ON
2022-08-30
We chose the Iberostar Playa Pilar for our long overdue Honeymoon. We got married in October but due to covid we wanted to wait to go out out Honeymoon mask free. We booked a suite and it did NOT disappoint. It was beautiful with an amazing ocean view. It had two bathrooms and one with an amazing shower and giant bathtub! It was clean, comfortable and absolutely HUGE. The bed was a king and very comfortable and we had great sleeps. The Staff was extremely accommodating and quickly took care of the few hiccups that did arise. Yenia was absolutely amazing and definitely the true gem of this hotel. She made us feel very welcome and even had a special honeymoon gift delivered to our room. We had a wonderful experience with every staff member we encountered, from the valet to the check- in to the cleaning staff were delightful and eager to help! They are truly grateful and appreciative and go above and beyond to make your trip the best!
The restaurants and bars are great. We really enjoyed the Japanese and the Cuban. The Cigar bar has an amazing bartender that makes the most amazing drinks. Oney you make one heck of a strawberry daiquiri!
The Pool side cabanas were not too hard to come by. Most were taken early but you could usually get one at some point throughout the day. However the ones at the beach you needed to get up and snag early (think 6:00 a.m.). But if you can get one, it is a great and relaxing experience. The beach and view are amazing. We also walked to the Pilar beach one day, which only took about 20 minutes. I highly recommend that visit.
Overall, we had a fantastic experience at this resort the staff was incredibly helpful, and the amenities were great. The room was wonderful, clean, and perfect to celebrate our Honeymoon! The Iberostar Playa Pilar exceeded my expectations and we can't wait to come back again, and again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
View, room , grounds, beach, staff
The weak points
food selection

Snorkeling and Photography Spot

, Toronto, ON
2022-08-29
Our group visited IPP in mid August. What an amazing resort! The Japanese restaurant was excellent, the chef hilarious!! He had us cracking up. If you are someone who is into snorkeling/photography, this resort will feel like paradise. The abundance of marine life close to shore and further out is comparable to my experience in Hawaii. We went snorkeling every day and there was always something new to discover. The experience would not be complete without a trip to Pilar Beach, undoubtedly the most beautiful beach in Cuba. We found the walk easy, and our group ranging from teens to our senior 50 y.o. dude easily did the beaten path in 15 mins. For those who enjoy planned activities, there was always something to do. There was the Michael Jackson show, the White Night, the Disney show and the beach/foam party to name a few. Our stay would not have been complete without the few friends we made. Of notable mention is Yenia, the customer service manager. She was the kindest and friendliest person I've ever met in our first trip to Cuba. She made sure that we were always taken care of and also arranged for our tour of Ciego de Avila and Moron. I truly feel we have found a lifelong friend! Our cleaners were great too. Always smiling and happy to see us. The gardener outside our bldg offered us freshly cut coconuts, so refreshing and appreciated. In all, we had a very positive stay. I'm counting down the days until we can return to the resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Snorkeling is amazing!!

My stay at Iberostar Selection Playa Pilar

, Scarborough, ON
2022-08-29
Stayed for a week with my wife for her birthday and they made it such an amazing night for her. All the staff are amazing. Yenia is such a great person and amazingly helpful, she made our stay so wonderful. Crosswell entertainer and Baba of the entertainment team were so amazing at what they do to get people pumped up and were such a blast to hang out with for the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Awesome!

, Pembroke, ON
2022-08-27
Beautiful resort - the unique boardwalk beach is stunning and allowed for amazing snorkeling every day. It's also very close to Playa Pilar, a stunning beach. The staff here went above and beyond to make our group of 3 feel welcomed and answered any questions we had. The buffet had a huge selection of different foods and the snack bar had great burgers, hot dogs and fries for lunch or afternoon snack. Cappuccinos every day, as well as Spanish coffees were delicious. We had 2 a la carte restaurant reservations(Cuban and Japanese), both were well portioned, had great service, and most of all were super tasty.
I had a suite in building 7 which was the perfect location (thank you Yenia!). The room was huge, had 2 bathrooms, a giant bathtub, huge shower, living room, 2 tvs and comfortable king size bed. The cleaning staff kept my room immaculate and fresh daily. Everyone who works at this resort works SO hard to make sure everything is on point, and somehow all manage to keep smiling. I will be returning in October for another week stay. Definitely recommend! Ps. Bring water shoes [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, grounds, beach, service
The weak points
None

Family Vacation

, Guelph, ON
2022-08-24
We had an amazing time at IPP. We were a group of 14. Grounds are beautiful and easy to get around. Beach is gorgeous. Staff was great and helpful. Japanese and Mediterranean a la cartes were delicious. We will return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Great week/staff/room/service

, Laval, QC
2022-08-15
Returning for another stay after a trip in March and this week was even better.
Room was clean and well appointed, the maids did an impeccable job.
The bar staff was great (especially Alejandro at the sport bar!).
We had great service at the restaurants (Ideky and Alexander) and ate very well.
The pools were clean and i especially liked the one dedicated to volleyball.
The boardwalk beach access is unique but the ocean is clear and calm.
The animation/ entertainment teams and dancers made me feel like being a part of a family.
We went snorkeling every day and there are something to see close to the shore.
15 min walk to Playa Pilar is also a big plus.
Cannot thank Yenia Rodriguez Batista enough for everything she did to make us feel special. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff, service, feeling like a part of a family
The weak points
Unique beach access but walking distance from Playa Pilar
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Everything was clean

Playa Pilar

, Pickering, ON
2022-08-13
Me and my family visited this resort in Playa Pilar and we had an amazing time. The beach is gorgeous with Cristal clear water!!! Restaurants and bars were good as well. The hotel staff are so friendly and they helped us with anything we needed. Music and entertainment shows every night. Yenia took good care of us and was always there to made sure we had a good vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Amazing trip

, Gatineau, QC
2022-08-11
Sounds like this was one of the few hotels with little to no shortages in food and variety. My kids are picky eaters so it was really nice to know that there was always something to find for them. The beach was amazing, make sure you pack your snorkeling kit, and the water was calm the whole time. The staff was really friendly despite the extremely hard situation in Cuba right now.
I was also very pleasantly surprised that we haven't seen a single mosquito, I heard that this part of Cuba is infamous for them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Definitely beach and the proximity to the famous Pilar beach.
The weak points
There were some hiccups but nothing to do with the hotel.
Certified

Honeymoon

, Guelph, ON
2022-08-09
y wife and I visited playa pilar in August. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The entertainment was very enjoyable. The ocean was very calm and the playa Pilar beach is a 2 minute cab ride away for $5. I would highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Amazing staff

, Barrie, ON
2022-08-08
Just got home from a week away with my family. The resort was amazing, beach was beautiful and staff was incredible.
There were plenty of food options. The Japanese was AMAZING! Our room was clean and our maid was so friendly and did a great job [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The guys at the nautical made my whole trip! They were friendly and great with my kids. They took them out on the cadermeran and made sure they had a great time! I can't wait to go back
The weak points
There were a few hiccups but things that were completely out of the staffs control due to shortages throughout all of Cuba so absolutely no reflection of the resort its self.

Amazing trip

, North York, ON
2022-08-08
Amazing time at Iberostar Playa Pilar! People were kind and made our time super cozy and confortable! All of our requests were met promptly. Thanks to all of you, Yanet, Djanir, Yenia, Manuel, Oney, Ana, Wilber, the ladies at beach bar and all the others we can remember the names… [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022