Occidental Tamarindo

Occidental Tamarindo
3.913.913.913.913.91
3.91 based on 89 reviews
#1 of 3 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Tamarindo
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (13)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Amazing place to stay !!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2017-01-22
We had an amazing stay at occidental tamarindo. The first day we got into our room which was georgeous and clean and very comfortable bed,we walked out onto our balcony to see about 7 monkeys in the trees directly in front of us. They were a family even a mama with little baby on her back! We continued to see these monkeys everynight around 430 5 pm. The beach on our resort was incredible we were a group of 4, 2 couples and we could go down at anytime and find 4 loungers no problem. Langosta is very good surf ao lots of local surfers can be seen surfing on the beach its fun to watch. There is a nice area for swimming on our beach as well and the waves are very fun! The sunset is beautiful like nothing ive ever seen and its such a cool vibe how everyone gathers at sunset to watch how beautiful it is all together. We walked the beach to tamarindo one day about 30 mins then took the road back about 20 mins. The next time we took a 5 dollar cab into town for surf lessons. The food at the hotel was great they had a good variety and a nic grill station everynight. The ommelette station was great in the morning !snack bar was nice too you could just grab a burger,hotdog,chicken wings,fries,nachos n cheese and more to have on the beach or by the pool. Drinks were good and slushy not watery. The staff were extremely nice overall i dont have anything negative to say about here. The only thing that would make it perfect is if the had a coffee bar in the morning maybe they could open the lobby bar and serve their famous costa rican coffee which we could get off the resort but not here. Overall we would all go back here and loved this place !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People,monkeys,beautiful rooms,sunsets
The weak points
Need authentic costa rican coffee!!
Certified

Great Hotel- Beautiful spot

, Waterloo, ON
2016-03-01
This hotel is nothing fancy but it is clean and in such a great location. The best spot to see a sunset in Costa Rica! The food is great and staff are friendly. The beach is peaceful and there is a nice stretch to walk. You can walk into Tamarindo by beach or road with in 15-20 minutes and there are lots of shops, cafes, bars nightlife. But the hotel is very peaceful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Location
The weak points
Only one spot to eat, but the food is great!
Pro

AWESOME staff & lazy river.

, Calgary, AB
2016-02-12
This hotel is nothing fancy - it's a smaller hotel, located in Langosta which is about 1 hour from Liberia, just outside of Tamarindo. The location is wonderful because it's a short cab into Tamarindo and the resort is situated beside a lazy river that goes into the ocean which makes for a wonderful day just floating around and down the river. The beach is rocky, but there are beautiful trees serving as shade. The staff are extremely friendly, and the food is pretty good. Basic domestic drinks. Small resort with not a ton of amenities but I really enjoyed my night here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff, and lazy river
The weak points
none really!
Pro

Barcelo Langosta Beach Resort

, Waverley, NS
2014-05-21
The resort was a smaller resort but this impressed us. It was very tropical with lush gardens, iguanas and monkeys. The room was great, air conditioned, our balcony was just a dream to sit on and relax! The staff at the resort were incredible, so nice and welcoming. Everyone (including the kids) always fond something to eat at every meal!! The restaurant was nice, we had filet mignon! I would recommend this resort!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing! There was always something delicious to eat at every meal. The beach was incredible, sunsets and the waves were a dream vacation come true!! The resort was small but not overcrowded at all. It was the best vacation so far!!
The weak points
Room service was not included in the all inclusive package.
Certified

Hot beach

, Carvel, AB
2014-03-29
The hotel was what we expected from a three 1/2 star to four star.We always found something good to eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach ,great location close to a small town
The weak points
need more bar tenders
Certified

Costa Rica

, St Catharines, ON
2014-03-24
Hotel was very clean and accommodating. good food, buffet, bbq and sushi theme nights seafood Italian ect. switched rooms with no issue for a better view. 1 restaurant on site was average at best. great beach and surf and sand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach surf sand. gardens and grounds. very clean helpful and friendly staff.
The weak points
restaurant on site. disco entertainment is very poor
Certified

Surfers' delight

, Verdun, QC
2014-02-01
Good value - great size - not too big nor too small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Internet
Certified

BARCELO LANGOSTA BEACH

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-12-18
GOOD HOTEL AS EXPECTED [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE TAMARINDO TOWN VERY CLEAN PROPERTY & FACILITIES.
The weak points
NO BREAKFAST BUFFET AVAILABLE BEFORE 7:00 AM MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO GET SOMETHING SUBSTANTIAL TO EAT IF DOING A TOUR MOST OF WHICH HAVE P/UP TIMES BEFORE 7.00AM.NO SELECTION OF SNACKS DURING THE DAY.MOST OF THE STAFF ONLY SPEAK SPANISH.
Certified

Friendly Staff

, Toronto, ON
2013-11-20
The hotel might be modest but it's location is ideal and its amenities are stellar. Most importantly, the staff is very friendly and very welcoming to children. The food is good too and the Chef pays attention to quality and freshness. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness and beach
The weak points
food
Certified

Surf and sun

, Nanaimo, BC
2013-11-18
Staff was amazing. Hotel room was small but we only slept in it anyways. No water pressure in the shower was a drag but ac worked really well. Beautiful beach, great for surfin. Hitting waves outside the front door. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff and awesome tours. Surfing was amazing.
The weak points
Showers lacked pressure, food was average.
Certified

Costa Rica Trip Review

, Burlington, ON
2013-11-14
I had very ggod experience with the hotel. The stuff working at front desk, the restaurant and the bar area were very friendly. The evening entertaining was very good too. However there was no comlimentary internet. People need to buy it and it was not cheap. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, entertaining was good.
The weak points
No complimentary internet
Certified

Loved Costa Rica and loved this hotel!!!!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-06-28
Our experience was amazing! Howler Monkey's on the resort, surfers in the ocean.....the rooms were clean and service was great! We always tipped...so that makes a difference people! Don't be cheap!

The food was pretty good, it did get a little tedious but the beauty part is, we were a 20 minute walk from the surf town - Tamarindo - and we walked there nearly everyday! Ate at a bunch of little places on the ocean...$5 cab back (at night)...totally safe!!! (There are clubs, bars, shops and surf stores in town too)

The country itself is amazing! We went ziplining at the Arenal rainforest...and did the day trip to Nicaragua (this is a MUST SEE!!!!!)to see an active volcano...saw spider monkeys, Lake Nicaragua...etc....it was truly the trip of a lifetime! We'd go back in a heart beat!

Mucho Gusto!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, location, wildlife
The weak points
NONE!
Certified

Liberia Barcelo Longosta Beach

, Mississauga, ON
2013-06-19
Excellent resort, would definitely recommend and go back. Friendly staff, good location, good food, well located, close to Tamarindo. However, Swiss Travel (the shuttle and rep) was disappointment. No rep showed up for our entire(Sun Fun/West jet) stay.The other tour company on site was very helpfull in organizing our day trips [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall, very good
The weak points
As above - the west jet representation was not there to guide us, as promised.
Certified

Good for the money paid

, Bowmanville, ON
2013-05-23
This hotel is great if you can get it at the right price. Overall I was very happy. I had a couple of issues but after talking calmly to the people involved the issues were resolved above my expectations. The people working there were really nice and helpful. The pool was big. Our room was amazing. The majority of the people working at the resort really seem to care. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, clean and very nice rooms, pool is large, staff was fantastic, food was good,great location.
The weak points
The mixed drinks were terrible, only one Buffet, any day trips usually consisted of a two or more hour bus ride.
Certified

Ok

, Ottawa, ON
2013-04-24
The a la carte is great but only one per seven days and there is only one buffet packed on the weekend with locals can't even get in or drinks stay close as they just barge in front. One bar open only at a time with sometimes just not enough staff when the locals were in they stopped liquor service early as they said there was no more? Nice staff but my sin had items stolen while we swam just clothing and sunglasses but still annoying the scenery is beautiful but the location is far from everything and right on the road [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The a la carte is amazing, the staff are friendly , the buffet was ok beer was decent beach is a lot of fun
The weak points
You must stay seven days for one a la carte. There are only two restaurants the a la carte and buffet. On the weekends the locals flooded the place you could not get any food and ridiculous wait times beach is for string swim/surfers only one bar open
Certified

Pura Vida

, Kitchener, ON
2013-04-16
Barcello was an excellent hotel close to Tamarindo and multiple sites.
Food was very tasty, snack area was always stocked with a good variety of food. The one al a carte was 1st class and offered a good variety of excellently prepared food.
Pool was clean but very warm, due to the 37 C temperatures for our full 8 days. Highly recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff and location
The weak points
pool temperature was very warm
Certified

Over all pretty good

, London, ON
2013-03-25
The hotel was kept clean and secure, grounds were nice, excursions were amazing and the vacation rep was well informed and very helpfull. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Grounds were well maintained, the buffet and a la carte were excellent, pool ended up being very warm after the extreme temperatures, but you cant do anything about that. The beach was ok, many lava rocks, but there was still lots of sand to enjoy.
The weak points
Upon arrival, we only had a king size bed available, where we wanted 2 doubles, low budget liquor was the supply, if premium was wanted, there was an extra charge.
Certified

GREAT RESORT OVERALL

, Stoney Creek, ON
2013-03-11
We were two couples traveling Mar 2-9. We had a great time at this resort and had no complaints for the price that we paid. (1269.00 taxes in) The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. We loved that we were entertained by the howler monkeys right outside our balcony in the trees. (Room 5303 on the third floor) The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food was good and plenty of choices but I agree that it became a little repetitive which is not uncommon for all inclusive resorts. The beach was nice but as others have said, not a great swimming beach but we didn't go to Costa Rica for the beaches. We loved the Tamarindo town and how close it was to the resort. We had fun walking around and checking out the little gift shops. We had excellent tropical drinks at the Copa Cobana restaurant and ate at the Palapa restaurant which we felt was overpriced and food not that great. We did enjoy Nari Pizza and ate there twice as the Pizza was fabulous!! We also went on the following excursions: Zip lining, River boat, deep sea fishing and turtle watching. These were all booked through the resort representative. We enjoyed the Zip lining and the River boat tour. The turtle watching was not well organized and basically you are taken to a beach late at night and told to kneel for almost two hours to watch a turtle (that you can barely see) dig a hole in the sand and lay its eggs. Neat experience but not for $50.00. The deep sea fishing guides were great guys but the boat was smaller than what we were used to and the bathroom was AWFUL!! I would recommend pre-booking with an independent like King Pin or Osprey. We enjoyed our trip and would definitely recommend this resort to friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, rooms, pool, proximity of resort to the beach and the town
The weak points
NO MUSIC PLAYED BY THE POOL DURING THE DAY!!!!
Certified

Lovely

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-20
Great overall experience. Perfect for families or older couples or as a jumping-off point for adventures for the younger set. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, location
The weak points
Free wifi would have been appreciated; both options for Internet access were overpriced
Certified

Holiday 2013

, Moonstone, ON
2013-02-17
Friendly helpful staff, most spoke English.
good bar in lounge area and at pool.
1 a la carte restaurant. 1 buffet style restaurant, both good.
charged a ridiculous fee for wifi and .75 cents per call for using the telephone.
rooms clean and comfortable.
great spa
easy access to the beach and Tamarindo. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food, location
The weak points
crowded pool, wifi charges.
Certified

Should be rated 3 stars

, Montreal, QC
2013-01-16
Barcelo hotels are appointment's in general and this hotel was not an exception. If you coming to spend time on the beach and ocean, this is definitely not the right place because of the rocks and the river flowing into the ocean which is right in front of Barcelo Langosta Beach.

KIDS: don't bring them here, they will be bored out of their minds. There is really nothing to do for them there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
not many
The weak points
beach, internet, lobby, choice of food and drinks
Certified

Costa Rica Vacation trip

, Mississauga, ON
2012-07-12
Food, services great. But beaches no. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food great. Services good.
The weak points
Beaches no great at all. Far away from the major roads. Too long to get to tour destinations. Road to hotel unpaved and very bumpy. Why they don't pave it! Beyond me!One kid has upset stomach. IT'S pricy too.
Certified

Costa rica

, Keswick, ON
2012-03-14
nice for the money [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent front desk very helpful
The weak points
very few garbage cans and ashtrays and bar staff
Certified

Great Hotel, the food is so so

, Newmarket, ON
2012-02-22
The Barcelo Langosta Beach resort is a wonderful little resort with wonderful staff and facilities. The room was clean and comfortable and we spent a lot time out on the balcony enjoying the views of the gardens. The pool is nice and never very full. Getting loungers was difficult because the hotel was at Max Capacity but there was always room at the buffet and bars. The food was so so, nothing really wrong with the food, it just had very little flavour. Food off the resort was wonderful so we eat most of our meal in town or the little pizza place just steps from the resort. The beach is wonderful if you're looking for something more interesting then just sun, sand and waves. There are safe places to swim but it is a good idea to follow the directions of the hotel on where and when to swim. Overall, I would love to return to the resort but I don't think my boyfriend who is a very picky eater would very step foot there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Locations, pool, rooms, staff and of course the beach
The weak points
The buffet was boring and the ala carte was impossible to book!
Certified

Great trip.

, Iron Bridge, ON
2012-02-15
It was a great trip and the hotel was great. Big enough that you didn't get bored and small enough the line to get a drink wasn't long. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather was great - beach beautiful and little town - Langosta fun!
The weak points
Will NEVER fly with Sunquest or Tomas Cook again - changed flight 4 times both arrival and departure. Very poor customer service and they really didn't seem to care.
Certified

Affordable week away

, Ottawa, ON
2012-02-15
Beautiful spot on the ocean, but beach too rough for swimming. Pool lovely alternative, but not enough shady areas to escape hot sun. Staff could do more to publicize resort services, rather than just presenting a map at reception. Air conditioning in room didn't work well, and rooms had a musty smell, with some mould in evidence. Dining room staff very friendly. Several time mixups for pick-ups for day excursions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful natural beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Lack of shady areas around pool. Food is good, but a bit repetitive. Room a/c didn't work. Lots of humidity and musty smell pervasive throughout. Staff could do more to tell guests about services (e.g. no one told us about a la carte restaurant)
Certified

Great value

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-13
This is a great value for anyone wanting to experience Tamarindo & Langosta. We go regularly and tried the Barcelo for the first time and were very happy. It gave us the ease of an all-inclusive yet made it affordable to go into town regularly to enjoy the great restaurants, bars and nightlife. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for the price. We like Tamarindo and spend a lot of time in town, but like the ease of being at an all-inclusive during the day, we go into town for dinner and nightlife.
The weak points
The hotel is well rated at a 3.5 star level. It is clean and well run but not super luxurious.
Certified

Barcello Longosta

, Ajax, ON
2012-01-25
This hotel was great.
Great location and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & Pool clean
The weak points
Dinner food needs more variety
Certified

Barcelo Langosta Beach Review

, Toronto, ON
2012-01-23
This resort was fantastic. The food was delicious and there was always excellent selection. The staff were always there to help and were very diligent in keeping everything VERY clean. The resort is close to town where there are many shops and restaurants. There are so many things to do and see in Costa Rica and this resort is a great home base. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Cleanliness - Food - Staff
The weak points
- Nightly entertainment
Certified

Vacation with 2 adults one toddler

, London, ON
2011-12-23
The hotel overall was good to great. Rooms were a nice size and we had no problem getting a crib brought to us. The food I would say was just o.k It did get boring after a few days and the snack bar of mainly fried foods was great tasting but eat too much and we all had indigestion.
The pool was good with a wade in section and small kids area very suited to our two year old. Lots of loungers and towels were always available.
The grounds were beautiful with wildlife easy to spot. It is a small resort but with nice paths to walk along. They had a small play structure that my two year old could use quite safely, and entrance to the public (not private) was monitored at all times and easy for us to access.
The beach was beautiful but maybe not for swimming. A small estuary of to the side flooded and drained quickly with the tides, plus there was lots of rocks, but still a few sandy entrance points. Lovely sunsets, and great for surfers.
Staff were excellent, this resort isn't exactly rated for little ones such as my son but the staff were great in seeing to his needs. By the third day they all knew his name and all made efforts to interact with him. Thier small kids club is rated for four year olds but they let him in with me there to colour. They were also very gracious about letting my two year old dancing machine join in on all the salsa lessons and on stage with the band nightly.
Getting into town was easy $5 cab ride and only five minutes away.
Overall the resort didn't dissapoint. Be aware they are much more relaxed than us Canadians and the staff speaks very little english, but they try thier hardest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
they had an organic garden which they used, grounds are beautiful
The weak points
music that was played at the daily snack bar way too loud and way to techno/dance for lounging
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Tamarindo's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Seniors Families Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021