Fiesta Resort All Inclusive

Fiesta Resort All Inclusive
3.713.713.713.713.71
3.71 based on 34 reviews
#1 of 1 hotel The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puntarenas
Rated 4 stars

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Firsts!

, Kirkland, QC
2020-03-08
This was our first time to Costa Rica, a our first time at an all-inclusive.
The resort, food, and staff were all great! Even though we don't speak Spanish, everyone spoke some English, or still managed to get themselves understood. We were really treated VERY well, felt very well taken care of and will definitely plan on going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, food, hotel design and cleanliness.
The weak points
Can't really come up with one.
Certified

Great Resort

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-25
My Overall experience was great, however, that being said I do not stay at all-inclusive resorts therefore I do not have much for comparison. This is my fourth trip to Costa Rica and first at an all-inclusive. In general the food was very good, and plenty of it. All of the staff that I dealt with were very courteous and eager to help. Our room was on the Premium side and it was clean, and there were no issues. Being that the staff are so very nice it was hard for them to control the guest from the non-premium using the chairs etc. Generally this was not an issue for us as we don't use the pool we mostly go to the ocean. Overall I would say its, clean, comfortable and no safety concerns.

As with any travel there were things that could have been improved. The only negative thing worth mentioning was the fact that the rental car company associated with the hotel (Adobe) was always out of cars and over priced and the person at the desk was not helpful in finding a solution (busy on his cell phone). Adobe has a local monopoly and did not seem to care about customer service. The company might want to find a better representative to work the desk.

On the flip side the tour company associated with the hotel, Arenas Travels, is top notch. We cannot say enough about their customer service as it was outstanding (Jose). To say they went over and beyond is an understatement. We booked two tours and both were excellent. I ended up being sick and we just e-mailed and said we would not be taking the trip the next morning and that we were not expecting a refund. Got a reply just let us know when you feel better and we will put you on another tour. They offered to help us navigate getting medical care and kept in touch to see how I was doing. Christian took us on the guided tour to Carara National park, he was excellent. Bus and Drivers were great. We also went snorkelling and that was great, I enjoyed the speed boat ride and the waters at the Tortuga Island was calm and very enjoyable. Ride back was a little rough and wet for the non-sailors. If there was something they could have done better I supposed would have been to be clearer about the island and its amenities, yes it is written at the bottom of the receipt, however, we did not bring enough cash, which was disappointing for us. You have to pay for the wash room and the use of lawn chairs, ATV rides, banana boat rides, and drinks etc. it would be good to know before you go how much things are going to cost. Arenas travel provided a meal and it was very good. Tortuga Island is the cheapest place to buy a Costa Rica T-shirt hat combo $15.00.

For some reason the ATM on the resort was out of cash for the entire 10 days we were there. I was disappointed as I would have left more tips to the excellent staff had I had cash. I interacted with the following great people: Richard who was one of the bar tenders who again went out of his way to do things for us. Not only is he a great bartender, he is caring, compassionate, passionate, and just wants to do a good job. I would hire him in a heartbeat. At the front desk we had help from Angie, Vanessa, and Fanny, all are truly happiest when helping others. Before I went I read negative reviews and while there I heard some complaints about the spoken language, however, I cannot say that I had a bad experience, if they didn't understand me it wasn't long before someone else was summoned and question/request was answered. At this point I need to let you know a little about me. I travel extensively, I have a lot of allergies, I am a Le Cordon Bleu Chef, and I don't do all inclusive. I have been travelling to Costa Rica since 2009. My review is based solely on my experience and not with the same lens as most of the people I met at the resort. I went to relax, and to be taken care of and that is exactly what I got...a whole lot of no worries. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Courteous staff. I loved the Pier, spent a lot of time out there, perfect for star gazing, loved the sound of the ocean. Wheelchair accessible.
The weak points
Hard to get reservations at the individual restaurants. Suggest you book them all the first day. No ATM other than the one for the staff. Car Rental was not acceptable.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, London, HA
2019-03-26
Had a wonderful time at this resort.We did upgrade and would strongly suggest this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pros The Staff The sunset views Pools Cleanliness
The weak points
The food not very good more for locals then tourists.This resort is full of locals and all the shows are in Spanish they do however make a great effort to communicate in English
Certified

All-Inclusive Resort Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-01
I had a very relaxing week enjoying the beach and many swimming pools and wonderful buffet meals. However, it's hard to do anything unless you rent a car or purchase tours. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food is fabulous...a good variety of choices...staff are friendly and professional
The weak points
in the middle of nowhere...there's no town nearby...leaving the boundary of the property comes with warnings about carrying your valuables with you, suggesting the surrounding area is dangerous...you need to "sign out" if you leave temporarily...
Certified

Would go back.

, Lynden, ON
2014-04-06
I would stay here again...very clean..beaches were clean...staff serving food didn't speak English very well...Locals do come in on weekends so it gets very busy...we asked to change rooms and they did accomodate us after the weekend check outs..ended up with a great room with view of ocean..room 3337 is the best....two balconies...the other building we were in first room 2616, very smelly/musty...clean but older rooms...overall stay here was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Hotel very clean..food good...beach quite....volcanic sand...not white but we knew that...
The weak points
if you fly into Liberia it is over 2 hours to hotel also due to lots of construction on road. Lack of communication from staff at serving areas or pool towels...front staff all spoke english when asked..
Certified

Perfect Holiday

, Kanata, ON
2014-02-22
Everything was absolutely perfect from our arrival to departure(food,bars,beach&water access,
pools,room and grounds and of course the people and staff). My wife and I have travelled bit(Europe,Mexico,States and varius Caribbean destinations) and this blows them all away. We are already planning to return next year this time for three weeks. PURA VIDA [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hospitality and friendliness of people
The weak points
none to speak of
Certified

LOVED IT!!!

, Keswick, ON
2014-01-11
loved this place! we had no issues with anything. we love the bus ride there because we get to see what the landscape is like, it was over an hour to get to the resort so be prepared for that but the views were stunning. we travelled with a group of 9, myself and husband, 2 children under 10, my stepson and his girlfriend and my parents and sister. my sister had issues with her safe, and they fixed it, and her air conditioning - they couldn't fix it so they transferred her to another room. the rooms (3rd building) were very clean and housekeeping always surprised us with a new towel creation every day. the excursions were out of this world - monkey and crocodile tour, poas volcano and la paz waterfall! all incredible! and Tortuga island. I didn't get to scuba dive due to a cold and I couldn't clear my ears but my sister had 3 fantastic dives. we also went to Tortuga island which was beautiful and snorkeling along the rocks was better than I'd hoped. the food at the resort was good - no issues. the fruit is delicious and they had a really good variety of hot and cold dishes. I've seen some complaints on trip advisor but I found them unjustified. we didn't do anything at night because we were exhausted at the end of each day. the weather was fantastic and the few minutes of rain we got one day was no big deal. my sister is still in Costa Rica for a second week and is diving today again - she also plans on going to Manuel Antonio national park and hopefully white water rafting. there is so much to do and see there and the guides we had were very knowledgeable about their country. if you like to experience the country, learn about the culture and interact with the people this is the place to do it. the Costa Rican people are friendly and warm, and although they don't all speak English there is always a way to communicate with them. love love love this beautiful country and would recommend this resort - they always had stuff on the go: bingo, volleyball, foam party in the pool etc. this is not a beach resort! the sand is hot since it's dark volcanic sand and the water is not great for swimming - you are on the pacific coast so it's really rough. on the flipside they have more than enough pools to keep everyone busy - an adult pool if you want more quiet, the main pool where the activities all take place and another pool by building 3 that seemed quieter but for kids. they had plenty of lounger chairs for everyone, close to the action and further away if you want quiet. the grounds are so beautiful and there was always something being done - tiles and counter tops being replaced, and buildings being painted. so for those people who posted negative reviews on trip advisor - I have no idea what you saw that we didn't. go in with an open mind and don't sweat the small stuff. enjoy your vacation! we sure did and it was one of our best!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, rooms, pools, so much to see and do. I wouldn't want to go all the way to Costa Rica just to sit at the pool / beach.
The weak points
had trouble with wi fi but no big deal and at night time there was some loud bangs that woke us up.
Certified

Very good hotel

, North York, ON
2013-03-26
Great, clean hotel. Polite staff though not all spoke English well but never had difficulty getting what we needed. Hotel has many Spanish-speaking guests so most activities are in Spanish with little to no translation. Booked some great tours through hotel reps. Lots of food selection, even with dietary restrictions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Morning juice lady with 7 types of fresh fruit and veggie juices, clean and warm pools, lots of sun umbrellas
The weak points
Sometimes missing handtowels and kleenex - not a big deal.
Certified

Nice country!

, Port Mcnicoll, ON
2013-03-04
I have traveled a lot but first time to Costa Rica. The hotel is nice, our room was in building 1 - it was clean and you don't spend much time in the room so that's all you need. There is no fridge in the room.
We could always find something to eat at the buffet. Better than Cuba food. Drinks were great. Beach is what it describes - so don't go there if you wan to be beach side. It is HOT there being so close to the equator. This hotel speaks less English then they indicate but we had no problem getting what we needed.
Disappointment of the trip - we tried to book our a la carte as soon as we arrived - they were all booked up. We were a bit miffed at this. There seemed to be a LOT of "private" events - so beach party was private for example...
Not a place to take teenagers - they don't offer much organized stuff to do at the resort. We went on the catamaran to Tortuga island - awesome! Worth the money. We also did zip lining - great as well. We took a cab into downtown Puntarenas...it was okay - expensive. The monkey's are a great experience as well. The pools are great - but not refreshing - as it was that hot there....but didn't ruin the trip - just something to be aware of. The room we were in the air conditioning was questionable at times - didn't keep it very cool - but we survived. Fire alarm kept going off - which was a bit annoying.
I would like to try the Caribbean side next time....heard it was better. Overall great time for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice simple vacation....organized transportation and clean.
The weak points
Unable to eat at a la cartes. No fridge in room. Air conditioning in room was questionable.
Certified

Resort was good....Sunwing service was bad

, Goderich, ON
2013-02-03
We went with a group of 10 adults. We didn't go with high expectations since the resort was rated 3.5 star. There were a lot of kids at this resort and we found it was a popular resort for local families to vacation. The entertainment was mostly in Spanish. However I found that people working there could speak some English too and were very friendly. The resort is small and easy to get around. There are only 2 specialty restaurants and a buffet plus a fast-food bar at the pool that is open day and night. They serve very good pizza, hamburgers, sandwiches, french fries. The food at buffet was good and there was variety. I enjoyed my meal at the Latin restaurant. Not so much at the Seafood restaurant - I don't like seafood and the chicken I got instead was very dry. It would have been nice to have another specialty restaurant to choose from. We were in Bldg 1. We had no balcony and the window did not open. The water pressure in the shower was very inconsistent. Sometimes had to wait 5 min. for the hot water to come on but it always came on. Had to be quick in shower. Otherwise our room was OK and very clean. The pools around the resort are very big and really nice. Enjoyed the swim-up bar - lots of drinks to choose from. The beach is nice too, but no one lays on the beach because the sand is too hot. It is a very wide beach to cross to get to the water. There is a long pier that used to have a bar on it but it is currently under construction. The ocean is rough and appears dirty because of the sand in the surf. Not so good for swimming. But my husband and friend did go kayaking - recommend morning before the surf gets too high. We didn't book any excursions with the people from the resort. We used a tour company that is directly across the road and they were wonderful. They were recommended to us by friends. Because we had 10 people, they customized our trips to do what we wanted and we had the same tour guide every day. Geovana was excellent. She is very proud of her country and she was very knowledgeable. We went zip lining, played with monkeys and went shopping and out for dinner at Jaco Beach. We went to the Arenal Volcano and swam in the Baldi Hot Springs (very beautiful resort). They have water slides there too. But it was a 3 hr drive to get there - in my opinion not worth the drive. You can only see the top of the volcano on a very clear day and usually in the morning. But they could have pointed out any mountain that was shaped like a cone and we probably would have believed them. No lava or smoke coming out of it because it is currently dormant. Not sure, but I think the other volcano where you can hike up to the top and look down into the crater would have been better. We had a good trip. Costa Rica is beautiful country. Doubletree was a fine resort. I wouldn't recommend it if it was only myself and husband going but it would be fine if you were bringing a family or going with a group. NOTE - no lifeguards at pools or beach. My husband had to pull a small boy out of a pool because he was going under and thrashing around. We flew Sunwing and it was NOT a direct flight even though they say it is. They changed our flight about 2 wks before we left and we had to go to Panama to pick people up and then backtrack to Costa Rica. We found out they did this to other people on other Sunwing flights to Costa Rica. We were suppose to leave at 6 am and arrive in CR at 10:30. Instead they changed it to 7 am and we were suppose to get ther at 3 pm via Panama. But when we got to Toronto Airport, the Sunwing computers were down and everyone had to check in manually and that resulted in a 2 hour delay. We didnt board the plane until 9 am. After a full day of travel we got to our resort at 6 pm. The same inconvenience happened on the way home. We left our hotel at 10:15. Our plane came from Panama to pick us up at the airport in Costa Rica at 3 pm. Once we were on the plane, they said they had to change the flight pattern because they had to refuel in Cozemel extending our flight by another half hour. There wasn't enough water on the plane to serve tea/coffee either. Not happy with Sunwing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, beautiful swimming pools, good drinks and food
The weak points
Not enough specialty restaurants, poor water pressure in room and no balcony
Certified

Nice place

, Toronto, ON
2012-12-31
very clean, good service, food was good with lots of different choices. Even there it is 2 hours drive from the air port the location makes up for it. The beach is dark brown vulcanic sand but the water is great and clean. We did 3 tours, Rainforest and Vulcano was great the zip lining was fantastic. Snorkling was a bit disapointing because of ruff sea but still lots of fish to see and nice beaches on the island. Over all great trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean good food friendly staff
The weak points
none realy
Certified

As expected

, Mississauga, ON
2012-01-18
Was as expected. No surprises! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort
The weak points
Staff/management should ensure that rules are enforced. The adult pool had small children. The spa's had children under 12yrs.
Certified

Fantastic week at Doubletree Puntarenas

, Whitby, ON
2011-03-30
I had my best time ever staying at this resort. Everyday was wonderfull;enjoying the food,music,beach,pool,dancing,and relaxing or taking a walk. The evening shows at the amphitheather were excellent, I laughed my heart out at the comic presentations, and also felt admiration for the beautifull performance of the dancers. Felt part of was was going on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely a very cozy,home like feeling of enjoyment and participation. Cleanliness,service,staff attention to serve and answer any question and help out right away. Bilingual interaction with staff very friendly. Excellent quality and variety of meals.
The weak points
Beach was very nice but tide and waves do not let for a swim.
Certified

EXPECTATIONS MET !!!!

, Gatineau, QC
2011-03-18
The resort is a good size, not too small and not too big. Good variety of food and the two A La Carte Restaurants where delicious... The rooms were clean and the staff courteous... The only downside to this resort is the beach but the pool were very well maintained (all 4 of them) Enjoyed my time in Costa Rica a variety of excursions that were offered at the hotel and across the street also. Would return. The temperature was in the low 40's C. By the way the best pillows in the world.. Heavenly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food and of course the pillows...
The weak points
beach
Certified

Fantastic trip

, Mount Forest, ON
2011-03-09
I was very impressed with this resort. The food was good. Most of the workers on the resort spoke and understood english. They were cleaning all the time. I believe every 2 hours the restrooms were cleaned. The weather was great.Sun everyday. Lots to do if you need something to do. The night show were very well done. The workers did't beg for tips.If you gave them a tip they were very thankful. If you didn't they didnt treat you differently. Lots of places to eat when it wasn't meal times. On our day trip they guide was very informative. They would answer any questions.Only issue someone may have is that it isnt close to the airport. Took almost 2 hours to get to resort. We would definitely go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staf spoke and understood englsih very well. Very helpful and the front desk when you asked for help or day trips.
The weak points
Almost a 2 hour drive from airport to resort but worth the drive.
Certified

Don't go for the beach experience

, London, ON
2011-03-02
The Hotel itself is very nice. Food was terrible, swim up bars should be outlawed unless you enjoy swimming in urine, stench was terrible. No night life, went to bed early 2 nights because of sheer boardum. There was a coffee maker in the room but no fridge hence no water to make coffee. Have been to better hotels with only a 2 1/2 rating. No one used the beach in the entire week. Waves are to strong, water is not clear due to the constant waves and the beach chairs are well back from the water with a very high drop down to the actual shore line.Recommend the hotel for much older persons or families with very young children. Below expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Costa Rica is beautiful.
The weak points
Hotel left much to be desired, beach is terrible and was a hugh disappointment.
Certified

Doubletree, Puntarena

, Mississauga, ON
2011-02-01
It was very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort was very clean,food was good, staff very accommodating, tours readily available,lots of chairs, and pools. In short it was great.
The weak points
The beach was not very inviting only because it was not what we are used to. 1st time here. The sand was very dark and that made the water dark. I am sure we could have got used to this if we had a longer stay there.
Certified

Dirtiest black beach of Cost Rica

, Flesherton, ON
2011-01-13
The resort is located at a dirty beach where the wash off from the hills has blackened the sand and mudied the water. There is nothing to do in the area. The crime rate is high. The hotel security won't let you go off the property without signing a waiver. Everything costs the same or more as in Canada. The hotel itself is not bad but lacking whirlpool, sauna or steam bath. There is nothing special there. No one speaks English and the place is full of native Cost Ricans coming there to take advantage of the "all inclusive" and they don't care about the beach, water or locality. They are there to eat, drink and enjoy a nice hotel. Not too many Canadians or Americans at the resort.Go somewhere else if you want a clean beach and wish to explore the country. When I booked this place I got blinded by the fact that its a Double Tree Hilton and never checked the reviews. Its an error I'll never make again. There was no hot water during our stay in building 1 and they kept making excuses but no solutions. A couple from England (David and Karen) were so annoyed that they wrote to the Hilton Executive about the place. I'm sure they will be writing a review on this place. Let's sum it this way: For $850 dollars you can enjoy a beautiful vacation at a five star resort any where in the carribean, if you take your time and look for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Within the perimeter of the resort (excluding the beach and locality) its not a bad place if you're going there to stay within the resort boundry. Outside including the beach is (dirty and polluted)like beaches in Hamilton, Ontario.
The weak points
The beach sand is black due to volcano and wash off from the hills. The water is brown and muddy. The crime is so high that you must sign a waiver to go beyond the resort property limit on the beach and outside the resort. Very poor location for a resort.
Certified

Great dollar for value

, Toronto, ON
2010-04-06
this was an amazing trip overall...the location was great for touring the country and as long as your not expecting some grande spa experience...you will love the hotel. basic but perfect for most. the only draw back i found as i travelled alone is that there were a lot of families and couples so meeting new people was not the easiest. everyone from our hotel says that the double tree is more of a 4 star hotel...id visit it again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dollar for value location
The weak points
beech is not really for swimming in more of a family resort - not for single travellers
Certified

Trying to be objective

, Toronto, ON
2010-03-24
This was our best all-inclusive so far - the sun never stopped shining on our vacation. We loved the country, the hotel, the pools, the buffet food, and the staff were all wonderful. We would recommend this place to our friends. The only two negatives were the a la carte restaurants didn't seem worth it, we prefered the buffet and the ocean is really good for swimming, but appears dirty due to clay in the sand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people, the place, the weather
The weak points
A la carte restaurants
Certified

Had a Wonderful time!

, Tillsonburg, ON
2010-03-11
It was our first experience in Costa Rica - and it was a TERRIFIC one! The check in process was slick - all tourists coming in were brought into a room, given their wrist bands and then sent to the restaurant to ensure we got lunch (we arrived at 2pm) - then we came back at 4pm to get our room keys. Our luggage was stored (and available) until our rooms were ready. The hotel had 2 wonderful family oriented pools and 1 adults only pool where we spent most of our time - lots of chairs for everyone - just bring lots of sunscreen as shade could be a premium at times. Pools were kept very clean. Hotel property was very well landscaped and maintained. Rooms were okay in the building we stayed - "tired" but clean. Bathrooms are small with walk in showers - best chance of hot water was first thing each morning otherwise lukewarm or cool was the best available. Food was plentiful - just not fancy. Servers were courteous and eager to please. Beach was private - waves were great to play in - watch the riptide! Tours available ranging from 1/2 day to all day - Nolitours rep was very helpful arranging them or answering any of our questions. Our check out time was 7am and there was continental breakfast and coffee available before we left. Lots of hotel visitors were families of several nationalities. Overall a great, relaxing, sun filled holiday - and we can't wait to come back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools, relaxed atmosphere, staff, sunsets, staff, check in process
The weak points
window in room would not open
Certified

Good hotel, awesome country

, Neustadt, ON
2010-03-04
Good place to stay and relax. The staff were excellent, particularly bartenders, some difficulties at the front desk with cashing travellers cheques, specifically with them not having enough US cash on hand. The place seems very safe, just bring cash and your credit card.
Didn't use many amenities or activities, just wanted to enjoy the sun. The beach is not particularily great for swimming, dark sand and strong waves, but a great place to sunbathe and watch the sunset.
Food was okay at the buffets, as expected, but the seafood alacarte was a big letdown, however the italian was good.
Rooms were fine, no balconies on the upper levels though, and no fridges in the rooms. A/C worked well, always had hot water when we showered, and the housekeeping was adequate. Also had a few English channels on the tv to keep up on events at home.
One particular disturbing fact was that when the Tsunami alert was in effect, there was absolutely no notification of guests. If we hadn't seen the tv reports, we wouldn't have known anything. Turned out fine, but it could have been a catastrophe.
Costa Rica was a beautiful country, and the Doubletree was a pleasant place to stay.
PS We could drink the tap water! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, good command of English for the most part. Great hours for the buffet restaurant. Generally very clean, both inside and out. Nice large pools with lots of shade opportunities.
The weak points
The beach. The seafood restaurant.
Certified

A fwonderful holiday

, Toronto, ON
2010-03-04
We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Doubletree Puntarena. The staff were professional, patient & friendly. The food was delicious especially the fish at the buffets. The food and service at the Seafood restaurant was disappointing. Our table wasn't ready when we arrived so we walked on the pier, when we returned to the restaurant we kept having different servers.
The rooms were clean. The sheets, mattresses & pillows very comfortable to sleep on. The resort is more suited to couples or families. The beaches were gorgeous & lots of fun to body surf. It was disconcerting that you had to sign out to walk on the beaches outside the resort because of theft. We did every day & only saw a few families enjoying the beaches. The Nolitours representative was very pleasant & helpful. It would be nice to have a rack in the room to hang wet bathing suits on. Our luggage arrived wet in San Jose. I've traveled all over the world & never experienced that before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Food, Beaches
The weak points
signing out & told you could be killed if you walked on the beaches outside the resort
Certified

Good time in Costa Rica

, Verdun, QC
2010-02-09
We spent a week my spouse and I at the Hilton Puntarenas. Overall we had a good vacation at this hotel, but we booked for many tours and we slept one night at another lodge in Monteverde, so we did not stay at the Hotel all the time. The buffet offered a large choice of meals that we couldn t qualified of delicious but fairly okay. The 4 pools gave enough room for everyone without being crowded. We noticed that in the morning the larger one was not very clean though but for some reason at the end of the afternoon it got better. We tried to watch the show on 2 occasions but couldn t stand it more then 20 minutes since it was extremely novice. We had our room in the building 2 and found it quiet and clean with nice fournitures. I also enjoyed the coffee machine at the central bar which served a very good cappuchino! The location of the hotel was best to limit travel time while going on tour for major attractions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, good overall value.
The weak points
Many locals coming just for one day crowding the place with kids.
Certified

What went wrong with a great Vacation.

, Iqaluit, NU
2009-07-03
The hotel. As it was the beginning of Christmas Break for the People of Costa Rica
the staff except for one lonely server had no time of day for english speaking tourists. There whole day and demeanour was more for the Spanish speaking TIco's who were at the resort. No effort was made to be friendly or considerate. Despite efforts to be engaging I have been treated better at an Urban McDonald's restaurant in downtown Detroit than I was in this hotel.
There was one after another after another issue with the hotel. Phone, money machine and other things.
Not much fun.
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room and value were okay. but very little else.
The weak points
Service and staff behaviour were pitiful. Complaints got form letters and little else.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Puntarenas's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021