Occidental Papagayo

Occidental Papagayo
3.473.473.473.473.47
3.47 based on 68 reviews
#5 of 12 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Liberia
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (16)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Lovely Place

, Woodbridge, ON
2019-12-11
his hotel is a real Gem outside.The property is well kept and beautiful. I love all the palm trees all around. The pool is a real beauty especially at nights when its lit up oh my. As much as I love the hotel I was disappointed with my room. It didnt have the 5* or 4 1/2* touch no way. My curtains were dirty, the toilet needs repair and I didnt like how the bathroom was so open no doors no curtains so therefore if i have a guest and am showering there werent be able to use the washroom while I shower. entertainment needs improving, the resorts can get boring I would reccommend it for people who are laid back, just want to relax and for seniors. One important thing the snack restuarant closes at 6pm wow thats madness. There is a night club so If I party all night i may be hungry and feel for something to munch on. From my experience most people are hungry after they party, all other resorts I have been to including cruise they have a late snack restuarant or even a 24 hour. Overall I still love this place and hoping that they will fix those problems because I would like to return one day . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hospitality was great on this Resort, everyone was friendly and welcoming. I love the entire staffs. I now have a new friend that I communicate with every now and then.
The weak points
The beach is a distance to walk, not like other Resorts the beach is right in your face from any angle. Also not so lovely beach
Pro
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2019-12-16
Dear Sophia Dean Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your extensive and descriptive review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We regret reading of your disappointment with our restaurant´s schedule and entertainment offer. We will continue doing our best to bring performances which are of good taste and variety so as to guarantee quality entertainment for all our guests in the future. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Raúl Arranz General Manager Occidental Papagayo

Fabulous

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-11-19
I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful resort from Nov. 6 to Nov.16 2018. When we arrived, we were assigned to a gorgeous bay view room with a king bed. Since we were two single females travelling together, we wanted our own separate beds. We called guest services right away and they accommodated us quickly, efficiently and with a smile. The staff at this resort went above and beyond to make sure we got what we wanted and needed. We were able to have a room in block number 1 and had views of everything, as well as a close walk to the main building. There are also shuttles to provide transportation to everywhere on the resort.
This resort offers so much to do and see, the snorkeling and kayaking right on the beach with equipment provided is a big plus.
The buffet restaurant features a different country every night, and the ala cart restaurants are very good. We were able to have the Oriental restaurant twice as well as the Italian. We tried to reserve the grill but didn't make it on time before it was completely booked. Unfortunately, they only open the grill on Saturday evenings. The snack bar at the resort for lunch is so yummy! The snack bar also provides drinks to the main pool.
Both pools had bar service, the small pool has a swim up bar (mi amiga es hermosa) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff!!! All of them! Their service was 5 stars. I will miss their smiles every time I walked into the lobby.
The weak points
the stairs!! good exercise but after one or two drinks, hard to climb. lol
Certified

Fabulous Hotel, Disappointing Food and Alcohol

, River Drive Park , ON
2018-02-11
As a first timer is was a nice experience but I would not go back. I would rather try somewhere different. There was only a beach area during low tide. I'm not a beach person so that didn't matter to me. Wi-Fi was slow. Staff were very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff & very friendly.We had the deluxe oceanview room,it was awesome.Very spacious with a front patio that had two chairs & a table.The resort was very nice with great views.It did have hills but there were shuttles that could take you anywhere
The weak points
The food wasn't the greatest & it could use more selection at the buffet for all meals. The Grill a la carte-fabulous. The drinks were aweful. Most were made with cheap local alcohol brand drisco. Premium alcohol available at $40 pp per night.
Certified

Wonderful experience

, Kinburn, ON
2016-03-14
Beautiful resort - well maintained. Lovely beach, fabulous food, great room. Very friendly staff. Our overall experience was wonderful and we would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beauty and cleanliness of the resort, the wonderful beach, and the great food.
The weak points
We did not mind but there were a lot of stairs due to a number of levels. This was not mentioned in the resort information and this may be physically difficult for some people. There could have been more nightly entertainment.
Certified

Loved it!

, Barrie, ON
2015-05-11
Highly recommend this resort! but there's lots of stairs and hills. The food is good staff is friendly. Everything is always clean and very safe. Tons of excursions to take.
absolutely loved our vacation! Pura Vida! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was very friendly the property was always very clean and manicured. it's a non smoking resort that is also environment conscious which is great. The beach was spectacular with a reef close by for snorkeling
The weak points
The Internet was intermittent
Certified

Kevin kreutzer

, Niagara Falls, ON
2015-03-19
It was great we loved it the people were amassing and the food was great we had a very nice place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The place was beautiful and the workers were amassing
The weak points
Wish they had more bottled water not only two a day
Certified

Not the best value

, Brockville, ON
2014-04-30
I was put in one of the very lowest end rooms but paid much more than other travelers who stayed in the royal club. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location was stunning, bed was very comfy.
The weak points
broken : sliding door, toilet, shower (had to move rooms last night of my stay.Large gap under door allowed bugs in.
Certified

Don't give your hard earned money to this hotel

, Red Deer, AB
2014-01-13
We spent two weeks at the Occidental Grand Papagayo in November 2013. We came home ready to write an awesome review of this resort- it is indeed a beautiful place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite the fact that our room was broken into and $1500.00 American was taken from inside our safe. The management was very apologetic and treated us superbly giving us excellent service that night in the dining room. A ride was provided to Liberia to do the police report and one of the office staff who was on a day off came to the police station to interpret for us as we do not speak Spanish. The manager who witnessed the the marks on our door where the invader had gained access with tools, assured us that the hotel report along with the police report would be forwarded to the hotel's insurance company and in all likely hood , our loss would be covered because we had used the room safe. WHAT A JOKE!
Since we have been home, we have made two phone calls and sent two emails directly to this manager. He has not returned replied at all with any information as to how the claim is going. All we have asked, is to be informed of what is happening, only to be ignored completely. We asked for the name of the insurance company in order to deal directly with them and he did not even give us that! After the break-in, we discovered that there is access in every room to the attic which was lit up and open so that anyone could gain access from one room to another. It is quite clear that their renovations have not rectified that situation either. THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE PLACE TO STAY AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE OF THE MANAGEMENT IS EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING! We have been very patient only to be treated back with dishonesty and deception!!!
Norm and Julie Roe
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, food good,beach awesome, reception staff,
The weak points
Management,- act like they care but prove not too
Certified

Nice Vacation

, Sutton, ON
2013-10-27
overall pretty happy with this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Breakfast
The weak points
One night they had a terrible menu and the entire resort were not happy with the meal.
Certified

9.5 out of 10

, Toronto, ON
2013-09-22
everything was beyond my expectation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ALL hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. amazing food. nice accommodation. location is good, 15 min to town, 25min to airport.
The weak points
the unmaintained beach, difficult to access WiFi even in the lobby.
Certified

Extremely Disappointed

, Waterloo, ON
2013-09-04
I would strongly suggest avoiding staying at this resort for the following reasons:

1) Cleanliness -> The bathroom had a strong smell of mold and our bathtub/shower was visibly covered in mold. I injured my leg early in the week and left some blood on the sheets which remained there all week because our sheets were NEVER washed. The resorts hygeine and food handling protocols are evidently lacking as both my friend and I suffered food poisoning.

Safety --> The resort does not even have a first aid kit on hand. Additionally, the beach is public and my friend and I (we are both females in our 20's) were harassed on a daily basis.

Amenities --> We did not have hot water for 2 full days. We were only given one small water bottle per day. Our mini fridge was never stocked. Every room is suppose to have a safe but ours did not have a working one and it took us 4 hours of waiting and dealing with rude staff to finally get access to one.

Entertainment --> Terribly lacking at night.

Additional comments --> We were assigned to building 16 which was over a 10 minute walk to the beach/pool/restaurants, etc. We called to have a cart sent to us which is suppose to be readily accessible however half of the time we were left waiting for a cart that did not show up and when we'd call the front desk they'd hang up on us.

I would never stay at another Occidental resort after this experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach in the morning.
The weak points
Refer to above (255 characters is not enough to describe everything weak about this resort)
Certified

Occidental Bland

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-08-07
This is not a 4.5 star hotel

This is a 3.5 star at best. on a good day [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Good people, Beautiful resort
The weak points
- Rooms are not clean - Rooms are not 4.5 Star worthy - Dirty Rooms, not the greatest attention paid to cleanliness - We had stains on our bed linen and bath towels nearly everyday.
Certified

High on promotion, low on delivery

, Dartmouth, NS
2013-06-05
Our first impressions of the hotel were positive. We were greeted with a cocktail upon our arrival from the airport and the staff were courteous and helpful. However, our room was very disappointing - dated and rundown. It was clear that the accommodation has been neglected from any improvements. In addition, the allowance of only two beers and two bottles of water every second day seems petty given it is an all inclusive resort. On a couple of occasions we retuned to our room to find the fridge empty. On a positive note, a call to housekeeping resulted in the drinks being delivered to the room without hesitation.

The buffet restaurant was fine and offered a wide range of food. However, there was little variation and meals became predictable with only one or two changes. In addition, despite serving dinner until 9.30 every night many dishes ran out by 8 pm and were not replaced. Thus the choice was limited and the food after this time tended to be dried up. However, the staff were wonderful - always friendly and gracious and some appeared to go beyond their basic duties to provide an excellent service. The a la carte restaurants provided a much more enjoyable experience with food of a higher standard but guests were restricted to only two visits per stay.

The lack of nightly entertainment was also a surprise and disappointment compared to resorts of a similar, or inferior, rating. In addition, the arrival of a large group (50 ) from Washington impacted on the already barely adequate facilities. For example, food in the buffet and snack restaurants were depleted early into service, waiting times for a table were extended and there was a considerable shortage of chairs in the lobby area and around the pool. It would also seem that a lack of staff exacerbated these difficulties i.e. one member of staff serving at the bar in the snack restaurant at lunchtime. Further, the construction of a stage across the pool restricted the pool area and there were no fun club activities on some days although these were scheduled.

Compared to all inclusive hotels in other destinations, particularly Cuba, Mexico, the Dominican Republic and the Caribbean, the Occidental is inferior and does not live up to its claims as advertised with regard to amenities and services. Overall, it fell far short of its four-star rating and, as a result, our expectations were not met. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff - friendly, polite and helpful, the lobby area with a terrace with great views, the two a la carte restaurants.
The weak points
Quality of bedrooms, no nightly entertainment, lack of variety of food options in the buffet, restrictions on complementary beverages in room and access to a la carte restaurants.
Certified

Very nice hotel

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-05-28
hotel is very nice with excellent service from all the service people. The snack bar food needs to improve. Nightly entertaiment needs to be better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service is excellent. Food is very good but could have more variety (more fruits)
The weak points
snack bar food needs more variety and should include fresh fruits. nightly entertaiment needs to improve.
Certified

Very relaxing trip

, Milton, ON
2013-05-27
Check in was smoothe. The resort grounds were clean. The buffet was small compared to other resorts I've visited. No food after 930pm, snack bar closes and there are no restaurants close by except in Coco beach which was a $40 cab return fare. The staff were very attentive and hospitable, to mention Victor, he was awesome. No nightly entertainment shows like other resorts, very low key. Internet cuts in/out in lobby, but free. The main buffet was small, and sometimes had to wait to be seated, needs to be larger to accommodate resort capacity. The food was very tasty but little variety. They had theme nights like other resort. One night for the Japanese theme, the sushi platter they had laid out so pretty finished and was told there were no more. Other resorts would have replenished it. You can get $25 for an hour massage in Coco beach by an RMT instead of $75 resort price. Conchal beach was the best, Tamirindo beach was nice for surfing, the resort beach had lots of rocks so take water shoes. Overall, had a good time, maid did not clean our room one day, which never happened in all my travels. We left tip everyday. Costa Rica was beautiful, plan to go back but to stay in Liberia next time, more central. Met people from Riu on excursions and will try that resort on my next trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Costa Rican people are friendly and hard working. They try to make your stay enjoyable , the buffet staff were amazing, to mention Rainer, the manager who was very professional and exceptional, thank you Rainer and Victor for making stay more enjoyabl
The weak points
Food was not avail after 930, so if you came back late from excursion u had to go to Coco beach to eat. Beach was rocky but clean. No nightly entertainment on grand scale like other resorts, had singer and musician in lobby, dancers one night. Very lowkey
Certified

Occidental Grand papagayo- Costa Rica

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-05-23
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Rooms are clean, big, and confortable. We experienced the best of services from the staff. The food was good, the sweet table need to be much improved and also to include icecream. The selection of food at the pool is poor.There should be more fresh fruit available. The drinks were excellent. It was awkward getting out of the bath due to the high bathtub. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food, good drinks, beautiful atmosphere, nice landscaping, quiet. excellent staff services, close to airport.clean, beach on property
The weak points
dessert table poor, poor internet access,high step in bathroom, buffet around the pool should include fresh fruit.
Certified

Great service

, Port Perry, ON
2013-01-19
This hotel certainly deserves an A for service. Lovely location with beautiful views and lots of wildlife. The beach could be better, but it can't be helped as there are high tides. All the staff is well spoken, professional, but not robotic. They all have personality and are very attentive. The Head concierge, Roberto went out of his way to make our trip a pleasurable one.He made it his mission to tackle any given situation. I don't think the phrase "can't be done" is in his vocabulary. The food could have been better and the hotel could use one more pool with a swim-up bar. I believe Canadians will feel very much at home at this hotel. We also appreciate that we were speared the cheesy nightly entertainment that most all inclusives provide. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is great, the location is lovely, lots of undisturbed wildlife.
The weak points
Could use one more pool with swim-up bar. The buffet dinners should not have a theme, like oriental for example, as it is very limited.
Certified

A wonderful experience!

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-10
We loved this hotel. The only real problem we saw was with our bathroom (we had one of the old ones). I know many of them have been recently renovated and they are in the process of renovating all of them.

The staff and people at this hotel really made the trip. The beautiful grounds and beach were also exceptional. Although the buffet was small (relative to other hotels I've been to), it was very good and I always had more than plenty to choose from. Would recommend this hotel to anyone...however, there is a lot of 'uphill' walking (worth it for the views) but if you aren't particulary mobile, or lazy, I'd perhaps look elsewhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. Beach. Grounds. Food. Close to the airport.
The weak points
The old bathroom/bathtub. Not much else to complain about!
Certified

DO NOT GO HERE

, Smithville, ON
2012-03-15
I have been to costa rica several times and have never been to such a dump before. this place would be good for a group of 40 people, but as an all inclusive resort with hundreds of people they just dont have the room or staff to keep up. the pool is always filthy, the kid pool has algae in it, there is always a long line up to get into the buffet, rooms are in a very sad state of disrepair, the staff is very rude and most of them barely speak any english. the beach is rocky and tiny, and completely dissapears when the tide comes in.once in the resort they make you feel like a prisoner.They would not let me take a cab into a local town, the only way out of the resort is to book an overpriced tour through them. the landscape around this resort is dry, and desert looking with a lot of dead trees. there is no greenery around the resort like what you would expect costa rica to look like. for that you will have to travel for several hours. I feel completely ripped off and would not recomend this resort to my worst enemy! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the tempera the weather was consistantly warm, but very windy
The weak points
service is terrible, they are rude. food is disgusting, i have never had to line up for 45min to get into an all inclusive buffet before. nothing seems to work properly in the rooms,ie phone,toilet, a/c, sliding door lock, safe.this is a 2 star resort.
Certified

Occidental Grand Liberia

, Sturgeon County, AB
2012-03-06
All in all pretty good. Bathrooms need a little updating, but plenty of hot water. Food was very good. Especially in the a la cartes. Restaurants are not big enough to accomodate, people had to eat in shifts. Beds are very comfortable. People are wonderful and pretty much made the stay great. This was our best vacation stay, I recommend two weeks or more you need that to see all that Costa Rica has to show you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People, food, beds.
The weak points
Bathrooms and size of restaurants.
Certified

Beautiful Costa Rica

, Sturgeon County, AB
2012-03-05
I have read lots of bad reviews but we had a great time. They upgraded our room at no extra cost. The food in the al a cart restaurants were excellent. The buffet needs work and it is not large enough to accomodate all the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds on the resort. The food in the al a cart restaurants were excellent. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
The weak points
Not enough restaurants for the amount of guests at the resort. Rooms need updating.
Certified

Liberia occidental grand papagayo

, Whitby, ON
2011-07-05
It was a pleasure going to the occidental grand papagayo we will be going again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service we got was very professional.
The weak points
we did not like the beach.
Certified

Pool hotel, not a beach hotel

, Calgary, AB
2011-04-26
The hotel is nice and clean. But there are so many stairs to go to the dining room/lobby...

Dining room too small since they take your name and make you wait in the lobby to have your meal. Annoying.

Lounge area and pool area too small since the beach disappear with tide, everybody leaves the beach but there are not chairs available.

We had problems getting fresh towels since they were out of them.

Beach disappear with the tide,very annoying. But good for snorkeling.

At 6:00pm, there's nothing to do. No life.

We rented a car for 4 days and that was AWESOME! We explored the country since it was very boring at the hotel. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere.

We will definitively NOT go back to this hotel but will go to Costa Rica again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Beach and waiting for meals
Certified

OK but not 4 & 1/2 star

, Woodbridge, ON
2011-03-12
Lack of entertainment, far walk from beach to get a drink. Staff are friendly and helpful.Wi-Fi available for free in lobby but difficult to stay connected. Alot of walking up and down hills is required. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach with shade, transport to and from room.
The weak points
Fridge was not refilled every 2 days, towels were not left in the room after cleaning twice, not enough lounge chairs in pool or beach area, buffet needs better selection for supper, no beach towels available at times, had to pay for safe.
Certified

Very good

, Oakville, ON
2011-02-27
WE had a wonderful holiday, If a person is going to compare it to other resorts you might be disappointed however it was as we expected. The hotel is clean, the service was good, the people are very friendly and willing to assist with questions, suggestions and guidance about the country and the community. I read a lot of mixed reviews prior to booking however we had no issues with the rooms, water, service or cleanliness. Towels can be in short supply at times, both for the pool and rooms, we had to call a couple of times. The restaurants were nice, good atmostphere, food was very good, and always a nice selection of fresh fruits, juices and veggies daily. You would not go hungry and it was nice to see how 'healthy' the arrangements of meals were. Not a lot of junk or fast food, but you could get a fresh burger and fries if you wanted. Would we again visit this hotel..not likely, there's a great deal more of the country to explore and you don't want to spend too much time in transit! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is located about half an hour from the airport, the tours are excellent and the food was really good. Nice choices for everyone. It's NOT for anyone with physical ailments as there are LOTS of stairs.
The weak points
They water down their liquor bottles and have local products, not well known brands..but all watered down. Beer was always available and cold.
Certified

Occidental Grand Papagayo

, Stittsville, ON
2011-02-13
I had read the reviews of this hotel and lots were bad but people are more likely to complain than pass compliments. Something that must be said before all the things that are wrong with this hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the food is good. Well, I will never go back to an Occidental hotel. What a terrible concept of customer service. Even people that have time shares with Occidental said this hotel was a joke, a really bad joke. Housekeeping staff are in desparate need of training. Bathrooms are in bad need of updating or repair. Towels in the room and at the pool are in scarce supply. Some days you would get hand towels in your room but no face clothes. Hand towels but no bath towels. One day our friends went back to their room from the beach and the husband used a hand towel to get the sand off his feet. Big mistake. The only towels they had were 2 hand towels - no bath towels - no face cloth - no bath mat. They were late for our reservation at the a la carte restaurant as they had to wait for bath towels to take a shower before dinner. Oh, you get to stand in line to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants. Sat and Sun morning at eight am for sat, and sun night reservations. On Monday morning at 8 am for reservations during the week. It's first come first serve. Spending 3 mornings standing in line is not the way I like to spend my vacation. Trying to get a beer in your room is like asking for the moon and this is an all inclusive. You need to be part mountain goat to get around the resort without use of the shuttle. I would not recommmend this hotel to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are beautiful and the food was good.
The weak points
Dirty rooms - I got so I didn't believe anything the staff told me.
Certified

Liberia, Costa Rica

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-07
Everything went well, one the first day we arrived our room did not have a safe. Front desk took care of it right away, and followed up with a call to our room to ensure our satisfaction. Very good customer service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, staff was extremely helpful. Food at the buffet was pretty good. A la carte was good as well.
The weak points
lobby - lounge area. Needs new furniture (not comfortable), & not enough seating esp. in the evening hours at times it is standing only. Lack of loungers by the beach. Needs a lot more. Restaurants during peak hours has a line up, needs more capacity
Certified

Paradise

, Elora, ON
2011-02-01
We loved Costa Rica and can't wait to go back again. I was concerned about the resort as I read reviews and there was absolutly nothing in my opinion to worry about. You are in Costa Rica and things will be a little different from home but that is what makes the adventure. Our room did have a bit of a musty smell in it but who wants to be in the room? We were outside enjoying the beautiful weather and scenery as much as possible.
We loved all the food at the a la carte restaurants. Even got to go to a Sushi making class. Loved it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location from airport and tours. 15 minutes to Coco where you find free phone calls to canada and us at most bars.
The weak points
Some rooms do need some fixing.
Certified

OCCIDENTAL GRAND PAPAGAYO

, Calgary, AB
2011-01-25
This hotel should not be ranked a 4 1/2. The rooms smell moldy. The fridge was stocked once after numberous requests. We never received towels, face clothes or bath mats everyday. There is a coffee pot but never had coffee till the last day. The food was marginal at best, except the specialty restaurants which were excellent. the pool was not very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The waiters were friendly. The food in the specialty restaurants was excellent.
The weak points
The rooms smell moldy. The fridge was stocked once after numberous requests. We never received towels, face clothes or bath mats everyday. There is a coffee pot but never had coffee till the last day. The food was marginal at best.
Certified

A great trip overall

, Toronto, ON
2011-01-13
I haven't been too many all inclusive resorts but I read a lot of reviews that said this one is not a 4.5 star - and I can see why. Our room had a leaky toilet and it didn't appear to be installed properly (every time you sat on it the top part would bang against the wall and come loose). As well, there seemed to be some sort of hole in the wall/floor where little ants were crawling in and out of, as you could see them on the floor every day.

That being said, the staff were very friendly and courteous, the meal buffets were very good and the beach, while being more rugged than your typical beach, was quite relaxing.

Staff were very helpful in providing information on off resort tours and information on transportation to towns close by. While bar service could sometimes be slow, overall it was pretty good.

Would recommend this resort for couples who aren't looking for a huge party and families, but not if you are looking to party and drink a lot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, food
The weak points
Rooms
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021