Riu Guanacaste

Riu Guanacaste
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 253 reviews
#3 of 12 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Liberia
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (76)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Riu Guanacaste Review

, Bright Sand, SK
2020-02-18
Spent two weeks at the all inclusive hotel in Feb 2020. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff-- all very accommodating and friendly.
The weak points
The pool area requires better attention. The lounge chairs were never cleaned- had lots of bird dropping on them. The pool had a lot of floating debris.
Certified

Costa Rica winter getaway

, Maple, ON
2020-01-16
The hotel is "tired"....needs updating. A lot of the floor tiles through-out the main areas are cracked. One of the elevators was not always working. The housekeeping was lacking in that fresh towels were not provided/replaced when the room was cleaned (5 out of 7 days). Also, had to ask for toilet tissue and Kleenex. The buffet dining room food selection was boring and never varied (breakfast were ok - but lunch and dinners were not good). Overall this hotel does NOT deserve to have a 4 star rating. Reception and wait staff were pleasant and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good pool and beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
Food - buffet boring and no varied selection from day to day, Very little fish/seafood. Housekeeping did not replace used towels with fresh towels ie did not replace used towels until requested. Also toilet tissue and kleeex was not replaced.
Certified

Worst vacation Ever

, Brampton, ON
2019-09-26
The staff, waiters were not very nice, when you go for the buffet, they make you get your own drink and refill yourself, there is no all-inclusive. Did not like the food at all, didn't have a lot of variety. The beach and pools were good. The cleaning staff was good. But my experience there with the room, my first night there, I had to switch 3 different rooms, until I got a room that everything was working and clean. Not many of the staff spoke English so it was difficult to communicate with them. I would never go back to that location again, this was my first Riu and my last. I would never recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great place to visit

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-19
Our first trip to Costa Rico and it was fantastic.
We have traveled to most of the Caribbean and have to say this is one of the best places we have travelled to.
The Riu Guanacaste was spectacular, it's big but even though it was sold out and full, we never waited for anything. No line ups, no fighting for sun loungers,or waiting more than a minute for a drink.
The place was spotless and the staff could not do enough for us. Only negatives in the whole week , were they need air or fans in the elevators and a group of ignorant tourists who insisted on vaping in the pool.
We found the security was exceptional and the non smoking was very refreshing.
We were a group of 6 and there was something for each of us, the shows were very professional, the attractions were close and reasonable inexpensive and the wildlife were plentiful.
Will certainly be looking here again ,when our next vacation is due. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean safe environment.eco friendly, for the most part non smoking. No line ups for anything. Staff were very helpfully and friendly No kids at the bar. One of the best places we have ever visited.
The weak points
Not much. Ignorant tourists who insisted on vaping or smoking in the pool. Need a fan or air in the elevators.
Certified

RIU GUANACASTE

, Brampton, ON
2019-06-01
I was not pleased with my experience. This was a 5 star hotel, that felt like a 3 star.

The first night that I was there, the key didnt work and I was locked out of my room. I had no access to my medication until the next day which made me really sick.

I spend the whole day on Wednesday May 22nd in the hospital. Good thing I got travelers insurance, or it would have costed me almost $600 Canadian.

There was not much selection in the food for people who only eat chicken and vegetables.

There was no kettle in the room to make tea whenever it was needed.

The 24 hour snack bar had stale sandwiches that were gone by 12am and the only snack apart from that was Nachos that didnt last long either.

There was only one bartender and it was very busy most of the time. Sometimes you would wait almost 10min for one drink.

I've been to 3.5/4 stars that make burgers, fries and pizzas all night.

The A/C in my room barely worked, it kept chipping in and out.

The location of the RIU is no where near the local towns, so there's not much to see if you want to walk.

For this to be a 5 star vacation at the RIU, I was very disappointed! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Amazing
The weak points
False Advertisement
Certified

Start to finish an excellent experience

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2019-04-18
We enjoyed a rest in this beautiful setting where "the inhabitants" of the jungle came out to meet us.The hotel was "fully booked" but we didn't feel
over run by people. A very spacious pool system and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel and staff were excellent. Clean, user friendly and polite. The dining rooms were well staffed and service was superb. Service on the beach and pools was outstanding.
The weak points
The main dining room was our go to because of the method used to reserve for the "special dining rooms". We were not disappointed by the staff nor the selection on the menu.
Certified

Unconfortable resort

, North York, ON
2019-03-18
not impressed with comfort in the resort transportation very expensive the small town near resort for shopping is no good overall food is ok the beach is nice and the staff at beach are helpful to bring beach furniture anywhere in the resort the waiter or waitress will serve you drinks. very hot and humid temperature hovering around 35 c to 37 c with no ac around in some of the hotel areas went to casino and see staff playing on the slot machines [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good staff clean rooms plenty of tropical fruits good alcoholic drinks good sports bar and good snacks
The weak points
lobby,beach restaurant no ac big line at a la carte restaurant main dinning room ac not that great ingredients at main buffet dishes not labeled correctly hard to to get in the tub and the shower gel in the tub makes tub slippery hard for seniors

Amazing trip

, North Bay, ON
2019-02-18
Staff are friendly and helpful.We have been served with the utmost respect and staff always willing to assist. The peddlers on the beach are well behaved and not too pushy to sell their wears. We have travelled to many southern destinations and are knowledgeable and expect that peddlers could become annoying. The food was plentiful and great choices.Very clean establishment. Good value for money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff and clean. Tips are not expected however appreciated.
Certified

Rip Guanacaste

, Kitchener, ON
2019-02-10
We felt that the restaurant staff were incredibly friendly and worked very hard. The front desk staff not so much. It took over an hour to get our room switched from two single beds to a king sized bed, and the switch had to happen the following day. The music was too loud. The evening entertainment could be at half the volume level and it would allow others to be able to carry on a conversation without having to shout at each other, or for some to actually get some sleep. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fairly good. Large pool area. Grand buildings. Well manicured gardens.
The weak points
Poor bedding. Pathetic excuses for pillows. Mediocre air conditioning. Small rooms. No sunsets because the beach faces north and the sun sets behind some hills to the left. Not a great beach - steep and rocky. Late night music too loud.
Certified

You can do better

, Kitchener, ON
2019-02-09
- Grand buildings, manicured gardens, large pool area
- Poor beach – steep, stony
- No sunsets because the beach faces north and the sun sets behind some hills to the left
- Rooms are very small, with poor bedding. The pillows are the worst I've experienced in over 25 years of almost weekly travels. The A/C could barely keep up
- The staff are very friendly, but the front desk has not yet learned customer service. (Or, rather, they told us that they were rule-bound and not empowered to make decisions in favour of customers.) Trying to get a king-sized bed rather than two side-by-side single beds was a major battle. And, they would not allow my local Costa Rican business partner to enter the property for even a one hour business meeting in the lobby; we had to go off-site.
Unfortunately, we will not go back.

By the way, we also stayed at Margaritaville Resort at Playa Flamingo. It is much smaller with fewer on-site food options, but it has a better beach, better proximity to local restaurants, better proximity to surfing, rooms that were 3x the size, and simply more human. We'd go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you are into over-eating, over-drinking, and laying by a pool all day, this is your place!
The weak points
If you like good wine, a good beach, a nice room, access to local restaurants, and flexibility for customers, go elsewhere.

Great vacation for family with baby

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-06
My husband, 10 month old daughter and I just returned from a 7 day vacation at the Riu Guanacaste. While off to a rocky start (due to bad weather in Toronto), we finally made it to paradise at 2am! Costa Rica was a great choice for our first vacation. It felt very safe, even leaving the resort for an excursion. Our research told us people love babies in Costa Rica, which was proven true at this resort. Staff made a big deal over my daughter which she thoroughly enjoyed and made us feel at ease. Overall, our experience was quite wonderful!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel grounds were beautiful, friendly staff, spacious pool area with lots of shaded areas, lots of selection at pool area, skilled photographers
The weak points
Hotel room outdated and while clean, not the cleanest, the bad smell in the bathroom the whole time (sewage?), too many buffets (would prefer more individual places with better quality food- I.e burger place), also you can't reserve a la carte restaurants
Certified

Pura Vida!!

, Arva, ON
2019-02-05
The RIU family has a beautiful member to it's family of resorts...this being our second location of choice, again we were not disappointed! The grounds are immaculate and lush, the facilities are spotless and any request we asked for was quickly and happily executed. The food was very good with an extensive selection. It's a family friendly destination and there is a cute RIUland pool and play area strictly for the wee ones. My husband came down with a 24 hr bug and the staff prepared him a glass of tonic water, salt and lemon juice to help balance his electrolytes to speed his recovery, which it did!
It was a relaxing and enjoyable week away to celebrate his 70th birthday...ya gotta go!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sincereity, Friendliness, courtesy, cleanliness, location
The weak points
Small pillows for the beds...king size beds need larger, softer pillows.
Certified

Riu Guanacaste

, London, ON
2019-02-04
The hotel is beautiful!
The country and people are amazing!
The only complaint would be the bathroom.
The bathtubs are very dangerous and need to be be updated for easier access.
One of the group I travelled with hurt herself getting in or out of the bathtub.
Older or handicapped individuals would not be able to access these at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sunwing has the market for vacations in the sun!
The weak points
The flight stewardesses need to take lessons in smiling and manners. There was a very limited variety of food and sitting at row 26 & 29, there was nothing available.
Certified

Very nice resort and staff

, Maple, ON
2018-08-25
This was my 2nd time to Costa Rica but 1st time staying at the Riu. Our room was nice and faced the sanctuary next door which resulted with seeing the monkeys right from our balcony, which was awesome. The selection at the buffet was plenty and very good. We ate at the al la cartes and thought they were just OK, you cannot make a reservation, but have to go down and wait in line anywhere between 6-8 pm to get a table. The entertainment was good, pools are great, I am more of a beach person than pool but on this trip I stayed at the pool because the beach is black sand and the water isn't the beautiful turquois I prefer. Vendors on the beach but they are respectful if you say 'no thank you'. Overall it was a great vacation and I would recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and food
The weak points
Beach, al la carte dining, far from airport and into town.

Rui Guancaste

, Hamilton, ON
2018-04-19
It was a great hotel. Room was clean and big. Hotel staff were friendly. Food was great! Beach isn't the greatest I did know that but still disappointing. Would help if they had a bar, Food washrooms near the beach for people to use. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Beach! Night life daytime activities
Certified

Riu Guanacaste Feb 2018

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-16
Loved the layout of the hotel, and the accessibility of wifi. My only complaint for this hotel would be the small pillows and the firmness of the bed. Otherwise a fantastic hotel.

The staff were amazing. Beach vendors were great as well. Not pushy at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff, close proximity to the airport. Family friendly resort.
The weak points
Small pillows and firm beds. Extremely difficult to get into the italian restaurant.
Certified

Riu Guanacaste

, Sudbury, ON
2018-02-05
Overall the hotel was wonderful. We had a couple of issues with our shower and toilet but the maintenance staff fixed within an hour each time. The staff at the hotel were all friendly and worked hard to ensure all guests had an pleasant stay (excepting the spa staff). Beach was uncrowded and lots of room around the pool. The buffet was great - lots of options, well presented and delicious. The hotel itself was clean and well maintained. Maid staff did a great job every day. Very nice - we enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing - any concerns we had were addressed immediately. Grounds, pool and beach were beautiful and clean.
The weak points
The spa front desk staff were not friendly and other spa employees stood idle. The steam rooms were broken our entire stay and when we booked the jacuzzi (incl. hotel price) we arrived to find it dirty, unswept and jacuzzi water full of debris/leaves.
Certified

Wonderful week

, Cochrane, AB
2017-05-01
We enjoyed a great week here with beautiful weather. It was relaxing, clean and we felt safe and well-taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- bottled water available at front desk - lots of loungers available with shade - air conditioner worked well in room - great variety of fresh food
The weak points
- well-worn room towels need replacing - thought we had a king and double in our family room but had three doubles instead- front desk not able to change this
Certified

Enjoyable Holiday

, Fonthill, ON
2016-12-25
Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Riu Guanacaste! All the staff were friendly, helpful, and worked hard to make our time there pleasant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool, fantastic staff, excellent food (particularly the Italian restaurant)
The weak points
none really.
Certified

Costa Rica

, Verona, ON
2016-12-14
We had a wonderful experience at the Riu Guanacaste. It lives up to the 5 star experience. The staff make your stay. We were served the most by Christian in the buffet who went out of his way to make our stay perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and Staff!
The weak points
No weather channel on tv
Certified

Very comfortable

, Montreal, QC
2016-04-06
The hotel was great. It was like North American quality in a Central American location. The food was very good, the service fantastic, no surprises or unpleasant moments. The beach was ok but not special. For great beaches we rented a car for two days and went to flamingo and tamarin do, fantastic. Great stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and great service over all.
The weak points
The beach, no sail boats.
Certified

Awesome vacation

, Ridgeway, ON
2016-03-24
We had an awesome week at the Riu Guanacaste!
It was relaxing if you wanted or you could join in the party atmosphere!
We enjoyed the Sunset Cruise and the water taxi ride to Coco Beach was fun! The guys even let my husband reel in a fish from the boat!!
The food is pretty good with lots of healthy options :) We would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is great. Food is abundant and drinks are good! If you like to be in the middle of nowhere, this is great but it's easy to book excursions right from the hotel. The pool area is amazing and there are always enough loungers. Amazing coffee!
The weak points
Booking in ala carte restaurants is difficult. Some of the furniture, especially in the lobby is looking old and worn. Wifi only in the lobby but hey!....we're on vacation right??
Certified

Beach

, Sherwood Park , AB
2016-03-11
Very Disappointed with the beach area, very dangerous rocks in swimming area and no warning signs for guests that wanted to swim in the ocean saw lots of people with cuts on there legs and feet. You should advise people that the beach area is in poor condition and charge less to come there after all everyone likes to see the beach! Also the Bath towels in the rooms need to be replaced, they are like using sand paper - they need to be softer! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and food was the best I have had-no one can complain about That
The weak points
The beach and the Towels in the rooms
Certified

Hotel with

, Toronto, ON
2016-03-09
Beautiful hotel, good food and services. Highly recommending the body massage (heaven). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Riu guanacaste

, Cobourg, ON
2016-02-26
Great first time experience. Return flight home was not the greatest. Cabin crew was no very polite. Had a hard time just to get a drink of water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Clear sky in Costa Rica!

, Prevost, QC
2016-02-24
Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Very good overall buffet selections. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food selection at the buffet
The weak points
Beach is rocky
Certified

Riu Guanacaste

, Laval, QC
2016-02-18
Very nice hotel. Grounds are perfectly manicured. Good food - especially the buffets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location - nice beach - beautifully manicured grounds. Lots of chairs around the pool and shade. Great excursions available at the hotel.
The weak points
Very little staff on the property. few bathrooms and far from beach. Pool too small-always crowded. Internet have to pay in rooms and does not work well. No coffee machines. not enough a la carte for the amount of guests
Pro

RIU Guanacaste

, Milton, ON
2016-02-16
A nice clean resort that families can come to without the worry of fussy eaters. Food was good and water is safe to drink. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation

, Simcoe, ON
2016-01-26
Stayed 2 years ago and loved it, came back and enjoyed our stay again. All staff friendly, clean rooms, spectacular ocean view, great pool, good food, and beautiful grounds and wildlife. Plan to visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Oceanview room, pool, grounds, wildlife.
The weak points
Better system needed for booking theme restaurants,simpler wifi access.
Certified

Great stay at a wonderful resort

, Mississauaga, ON
2016-01-11
This was our first time at a RIU resort but our 2nd time in Costa Rica. The resort was fantastic. Great food, great pools. Fun excursions and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021