Sol Papagayo

Sol Papagayo
3.053.053.053.053.05
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Hotel is very poorly up-kept - staff are lovely

, Thornhill, ON
2014-03-17
This hotel is operating at about 50% or less than what they are offering. Several major health violations. The pool is a major health and safety concern - water is not above the jets or being filtered by the pump or skimmers (only time you do this is when you are closing your pool - but this pool had covers over the jets and black gunk in the skimmers - ie they have not been used for a long time)- only thing circulating the pool is the waterfall, only way they have to clean this pool is using a skimmer bag to remove leaves ( I have a pool this is not ok). This pool should be closed until they can properly fill it and filter it using the pump and skimmers - pool staff sprinkled chlorine in the pool while people were swimming and we only saw them using a sump pump to vacuum it - but that is not filtering! In a commercial pool - this is seriously hazardous - not just because the water isn't being filtered - but also because they are not taking accurate measurements to determine what chemicals are needed. We also got serious ill (we still are sick) from the food - or improper food care - we often had fruit in the am - that tasted like onions or garlic - so food safety isn't being adhered to either. We were not the only guests that got sick - several others were as well. Also this hotel only had about 12 guests max at any time and only one resto was open (some of the food seemed fine - but after we got sick - we weren't really interested in the food), and only some of the rooms are available - the rest have doors open without locks and no furniture (back in family villas). Our room was not what we paid for (the photos are really of one room - everything else is older) but i admit -i really don't normally care about the room - i don't expect to spend my time there - but it was very old, dated and there was one room next to us that had been fancied up for the photos. The staff were very nice, they tried very hard - but there is no management presence here and nothing is being done to repair anything - real lack of any kind of management leadership at all - I think this hotel is in transition - the owners are not here and don't seem to care about how bad it is - or they are just waiting for someone to buy it - all of my complaints are really about the owners and really Nolitours (Air Transat) and iTravel2000 - should not offer this hotel again until they can guarantee there are no health violations and the pool is fixed. WIFI worked fine for us (no charge). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are nice and working very hard, grounds are clean and tidy, beautiful mango trees - well cared for, lots of wildlife and beautiful natural setting, close to many of the tours and close to local towns. Beach is not great - few nearby worth walking to
The weak points
The pool - terrible - not being filtered or meeting basic health and safety for pools (chemical balance, filtration, circulation - etc) . Food - suspicious - that health standards are being met. Rooms / facilities are not as in the photos
Certified

Sol Papagayo

, Sylvan Lake, AB
2013-04-21
Enjoyable for those who lle a more spacious and rugged living space. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food
The weak points
food service sporatic, so long waits for food
Certified

Very quiet and peaceful place.

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-03-18
Very nice and clean with good service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very quiet, peaceful and beautiful place surrounded by nature. Amazing view from dining room.
The weak points
The food was not good enough for me, bec. I am on the raw food diet. The beach is not very nice.
Certified

Sol(E) Papagayo. I would read SECLUDED Papagayo”

, Scarborough, ON
2012-12-14
Resort is located in secluded area and had better days. The closest village located about 3 km away. A public bus stop is 1 km from the hotel. The itinerary - Playa Panama -- Liberia. The bus goes every 1,5 hour (ask schedule at reception). Price - 650 colon or 1.25 $ till Liberia which is 43 km away from the resort. It takes you about 1 hour one way to the city. The resort is very quiet & surrounded from one side by jungle. There are lots of small creatures: Birds (they know buffet schedule) stealing the food from trays and chased by kitchen staff; Iguanas - lazy waking on the tile & posing before cameras; Small monkeys chase each other on the top of the trees; Colorful fish in the ocean - paradise for naturalists & sole entertainment in this resort. No activities provided. We were from 3 till 10 December and seemed just no more than 20 tourists on the whole resort.
Reception - from 6.00 till 22.00. Check in & out fast.
Staff is very friendly & ready to help you.
Bar opens at 10.00 till 22.00 and run by team of barmen. Girls are helpful, boys speak only Spanish. Juice: Orange, pineapple, watermelon. Liquor: Vodka, Tequila. Beer Soft drinks: Cola, bottled water, Sprite - all beverages never run out.
Food is nice especially salads, lots of vegetables & pickles. Fruits: watermelon( always is run out. You need to ask stuff to bring it in), pineapple & papaya (never run out). Yogurt (about 300 gr bulk bowl) (always empty)- definitely not enough for 20-25 people in the morning. Fish is sometimes at lunch or dinner. Meat: chicken and sometimes beef. No sweets !!!! (except dry chocolate cake)
Pool is nice looking. Pool boy is constantly removing leaves from the pool. Beach towels are changed each day
Beach -- sand is black, difficult to see bottom, many sharp rocks 20m away the beach. Bring special shoes to walk safe on bottom. A careful swim is possible during high tide ONLY. When tide is low No swim is possible due many very sharp lava formation. 350 m away is more convenient beach with gray sand. You may feel more relaxed there during high tide. But if you want to experience the real ocean joy with plenty of water activities($) be prepared to walk 1 km to the nearby resort Occidental Grand Papagayo. Beach is about 100m wide with white sand. Water is clear. Corals are about 50m away the beach with abundant sea life: different fishes, small murenas, rays, sea urchins etc. We walk three times per day to the beach making about more than 6 km in total. So it is good exercise for your muscles. If you are ready for the such challenge take good shoes, for you will not wish to rub your feet till scorns after couple of trips to the remote beach or wipe your feet dry of water & clean of sand.
Bring a good repellent with you as oodles of mosquitoes want to suck your blood after sunset.
Room Tip: Room numbers starting with 800 would be more comfortable to stay. Room numbers 600 & 700 series face jungle which result more mosquitoes & crawling creatures in your room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet place, friendly staff
The weak points
good beach is 1km away, no activities, remote area
Certified

Relax and Enjoy

, Port Carling, ON
2012-11-28
This hotel is very very quiet. If you are looking for excitment, this is not the place for you. We found that it was just what we were looking for.Complete R&R. The rooms are spacious and clean, as are the grounds. There are not too many stairs so it is suitable for the elderly. There are many monkeys on the grounds that keep you entertained. A family of 16. Igaunas everywhere that eat from your hand but be careful, they do bite. The staff is very helpful and the cook is amazing. We ate off of the a la carte menu during the week because there were only 12 Canadians. On the weekend, the buffet was set up when locals came to vacation. There was always a chair available.If this resort was full, I don't know if they could handle it though.You can walk to many other beaches in the area or just walk the beach in front of the resort. The sand is a dark volcanic colour and in some place it is quite rocky. Overall, we would go back and do it all over again if the price was right. If the base price was more than 500$ before tax, I would think twice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Monkeys galore. Good food.
The weak points
Internet worked only sometimes.No coffe maker as stated. Sometimes too quiet.The one and only bar closes at 9:30 pm.
Certified

Sol Papagayo

, Mississauga, ON
2012-11-14
We got this hotel for $533. It was a steal because flights to CR can cost up to $1000. The hotel was basic and isolated but great value for the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value at the price, would not recommend for $150 more.
The weak points
Isolated location unless you have a vehicle
Certified

Nice but...

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-15
first of all, there is a beach but nobody swims in it
because of the rip tide and the black sand throws up mud when you move in the water. the next beach over is a good 10 to 15 walk. there are chairs there but no other services. the next beach is hermosa and it is a good 30 min trek or $15 us taxi ride...one way. there is a pool but why travel that far to dip in chlorine!!!
secondly, the food is fine if you are a light eater, vegetarian and/or you don't mind repeats of the lunch buffet at night! a piece of cake in the evening becomes finger food dessert at noon the next day. the table cloths were changed once during the time we were there. go figure!
thirdly, some things like bottled water and kleenex would be much appreciated in the room. as well an improvement in the quality of
linens would be rather nice...even a thread count of 100 would be wonderful!
and to add a few more things...
there are no activities
the liquor is local, the beer has a cap on it at least.
a great place for anyone that just wants to stay
put for their holiday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the place is quiet. the lights go out around 10pm.(no more booze). there are howler monkeys close by. it could be a good buy if the total price is around $500
The weak points
see above
Certified

Nice quiet getaway

, Gravenhurst, ON
2012-03-05
Very quiet resort - we often felt we had the place to ourselves. Good choice of day trips. Food a little monotonous. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Few amenities, but some small touristy towns nearby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet
The weak points
Monotonous food, gift shop closed.
Certified

Snoozeville

, Brantford, ON
2012-02-22
This resort was a bit secluded.The only problem with that is they had no entertainment (no pool activities,live music,or skits).Its a great place to go if you want to relax and be very quiet.The staff are very friendly but had a hard time communicating.The ran out of beer on more than one occasion and needed a little more training for the bartenders.I met several nice people there and made the best of it.However it would only get maybe a 2 1/2 star from me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful rooms and grounds well cared for.Staff was excellent but not very fluent in english.If your looking for a place to fall asleep.THS IS IT!
The weak points
Food-hot needs to be hot and cold needs to be on ice.No entertainment whatsoever.Pool and bar closed to early.
Certified

Great Vacation at Costa Rica

, Brantford, ON
2012-02-20
I travelled alone, and I just needed complete relaxtion. The spot was perfect for what I was looking for. It's not recommended for children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was amazing along with the weather. The staff were incredible. Very friendly people.
The weak points
Only one alcarte, and the bar closes at 10 PM.
Certified

2 Star vacation adequate..but expected more

, Rr1 Buckhorn, ON
2011-05-08
Satisfactory. 2 Star rating.
Most of the advertised items not available or located. Location good for a quieter vacation with the exception of the Howler monkeys (which I loved)
The food was 3 star from 5. The room cleaned daily and exceptionally well. So was the pool. The beach...well dont go here for the beach. The bar tenders very attenitive. Disappointed about the Al a carte...book early..other wise you wont get in. Recommend..only if you expect a 2 star with limited services available. Does not meet up to hotel listing on the website. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleaning/maintenance staff,Bar staff, close to the airport, air conditioner worked
The weak points
Did not get al la carte. The following advertised were not available: jacuzzi,Currency Exchange, Beauty Salon, Only ONE bar,Horseback Riding, Kayaking, Snorkeling,Water Skiing,Exercise Classes, Weight Training,Fitness Equipment.
Certified

Got what we payed for

, Ile Perrot, QC
2011-03-13
Very nice experience
good food and water and service is also great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere.
The weak points
exact same food all week
Certified

GOOD 3 STAR RESORT

, Brampton, ON
2011-03-09
It is a small, clean, comfortable & quiet resort for low maintenance people.
No daily or evening activities. Beautiful pool.
The bedroom & bathroom are big with plenty of storage space. The towel service was poor because we only received wash cloths once & the towels were only changed once during the week.
The phone didn't work & wasn't fixed.
The buffet is fabulous & the employees are friendly & helpful. Some of the employees don't speak English which is 1 of the reasons the problems were not solved. The beach has black muddy sand with stones. We walked the beach but didn't swim there.
There are 2 other beaches within walking distance. Lighting and a guard rail should be installed beside the low,empty fountain for safety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
* Quiet * Food * Pool * Howler monkeys, iguanas & lizards
The weak points
* A la carte restaurant * Room service * Beach
Certified

AHHHH what great holiday

, Barrie, ON
2011-02-23
we had great time at this resort. staff is excellent, swimming pool area great. Loved seeing the howler monkeys in the trees and lots of birds around. IF you want good service quiet peacful area you cannot beat it. if you want nightlife, and expect food be like it is at "home" stay home good Costa Rica food. OHH and did I say the satff was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff.
The weak points
Beach area rocky but great beach accesable next door.could use more chairs around pool
Certified

Hotel in transition.

, London, ON
2011-02-16
Our expectations were just about right with what we had read from previous visitors to Sol Papagayo. Also the staff has a very relaxed atmosphere, I was told by another traveler down their that Costa Rican's don't have as high a level of trying to please the tourists with quick service as say Mexican's do, due to the fact that Costa Ricans are well educated ( free schooling including university).I'm sure if you tipped them constantly they would have been much better with quick service.Clean rooms, good food, but capable of being much better. Beautiful weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful weather, great tours offered, abundant wildlife around the resort, especially the Howler Monkeys hanging around the pool. Quite atmosphere, no stereo blaring constantly by the pool-a definite plus! The a'la-carte dining was excellent.
The weak points
The resort had new management only a few months prior to our visit, so it was still in transition I assume. The pool bathroom needed some work. Need more lounge chairs by the pool. Fix tarp on roof of dining area. Dining staff a bit slow.Ran out of drinks
Certified

A week in retrospect

, Ottawa, ON
2011-01-30
This was our first all-inclusive through Sunquest and it was a wonderful experience for us whereas not everyone in the group shared that view. Much in life has to do with attitudes and even a week in the sun requires realistic expectations!
Sol Papagayo is a beautiful but simple resort, past its prime and it could benefit from some more maintenance but when considering the price we paid for it, we could not have asked for better. The buildings are one-story with typically 4 units to a house connected by nicely landscaped walk-ways. There are tall trees, Howler-monkees in the tree-tops, a nice pool to welcome you in a quiet setting that is soothing and relaxing. Because of the small bay the resort is located at, the beach is very sheltered and does not afford a view of the Pacific as one might envision. The mixed volcanic sand is often dark in colour but there are other beaches within walking distance that might be better suited for the open ocean experience. The staff is very friendly, the meals are plentiful, simple and typical of Cost-Rica. If you are used to a 5 star hotel, you will be dissapointed but if you paid attention to what you booked, then your holidays at Sol Papagayo should be rewarding. This is not a place for the jet-setters, it is a place for those that enjoy the quiet, for people that are able to provide their own entertainment, have initiative and believe that life is what you make it. Maurice, the Sunquest representative was very helpful, accommodating, polite but unfortunately, had to deal with some other Canadians that expected 5-star services for a 3-star price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not a factory resort! Quiet. Clientel from a mixed socio-economic background.
The weak points
Not a new resort. Service sometimes a bit slow and house-keeping could benefit from some improvements.
Certified

Quaint and lovely property

, Pickering, ON
2011-01-14
We enjoyed ourself at Sol Papagayo. The property is lovely and we liked the fact it was quiet and small. Overall we enjoyed the food, although we had one issue with it. My boyfriend does not eat meat or shellfish- and one of the dinners had beef and shellfish only. One other dinner had a chicken offering, but it had ham in it- and he does not eat ham. This was only 2 of meals on a 7 day stay, but I think there should always be a chicken or fish offering as many people do not eat meat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quaint and homey. Food was very good. Atmosphere and vista was beautiful
The weak points
Bed was not very comfortable. Not enough lounge chairs by the pool and no lounge chairs at the beach
Certified

Very Very misleading

, Medicine Hat, AB
2011-01-11
Hi there. I don't know what you are expecting, but do not expect what they say on their website...There is no a la carte, there is no beachside and lounge chairs, the food is not that great, the people are not that friendly. I was very disappointed, because I feel that this is very misrepresented. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk staff was nice.
The weak points
Everything else
Certified

Third time & we ll go again!

, Dunnville, ON
2010-01-27
Having been to this hotel, we knew we were going to have a quiet, restful, clean place to stay. Staff was warm & welcoming. We enjoyed waking to the exotic birds & howler monkeys. We were glad to fall asleep early with no loud music playing. This is a great place if you are looking for a clean, quiet room to come to after touring, with dependable substantial meals. No Frills, no Disney. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Staff. Low key, peaceful, wonderful for birdwatching. Very clean
The weak points
Reception has no small bills to change our larger US$.
Certified

Wonderful Quiet Resort

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-23
We liked very much a small and very personable venue in a wonderful country. The resort was ideal if you wanted a quiet time. The food was amongst the best we have experienced having spent time at the very good Riu resorts the food and the service was better. The staff were also great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you like a small destination with wonderful staff this is terrific!
The weak points
If you wish entertainment or activities then this is not for you! The beach is on the sea and is not like the Dr beaches. The bar service was great but don't expect gin or scotch though the wine was excellent. Don't expect service beyond 10;00.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021