Morgan Cove Central

Morgan Cove Central
3.443.443.443.443.44
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Basic Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-05
Hotel rooms need a renovation and the front entrance needs to be made over. Other than that, its a simple resort that is close to the beach, shopping and transportation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful landscaping, friendly staff and excellent food.
The weak points
The rooms are very outdated and had several plumbing issues.
Certified

Great time

, Oshawa, ON
2013-12-28
We loved our time at Morgan Cove Central. It isn't for everyone - it is NOT on the beach (go to Morgan Cove Casino, which is a mile away, for that), but is a short walk away from the main beach. The rooms are basic, and it can get loud at night. However, if you like being in the centre of it all, this is the place for you. There is an Alamo car rental place steps away, and we recommend renting a car for a few days to get a small sample of all Costa Rica has to offer (which is lots). Weather was great and we had a wonderful vacation. One thing to note ... since there were few guests during our first five days, we got to eat from the a la carte menu, which was great. However, once more guests arrived, the buffet was set up, and while not terrible, it was no where near as good as the a la carte offerings. Wifi access is not available in the rooms (at least not in the villa we stayed at), but is available in the pool area and bar area, and was fairly reliable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and for the price we paid, the Morgan Cove Central was great value for our money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
* Great location, in the centre of Jaco Beach. * The Costa Rican people are laid back and not pushy. Great attitude overall. * The staff are very friendly. * Great a la carte restaurant.
The weak points
* Not on beach. * Beach is great for surfing and playing in the waves, but snorkeling is impossible. Only a weakness if you are into snorkeling. * Buffet meals not nearly as good as the a la carte offerings (which were very good).
Certified

Nice small location

, Pierrefonds, QC
2013-01-18
I just returned from a 1 week stay at Morgan Cove Central (formerly Villas Estrellas)and really enjoyed my trip. The hotel was located close to the main strip which was great. The hotel was small and intimate, the part owner/ manager Johnny was very friendly and got to know everyone by name. The hotel is a mix of small villas which have plenty of space including kitchenettes and a single 2 storey building with much smaller rooms including 2 double beds and a small bathroom. I would have much preferred to have stayed in the villa but I really did not spend much time in my room anyways. The food was very good and you got to order off a small a la carte menu which meant no buffet. Unfortunately as Morgan Cove just bought this property 2 weeks ago I fear that they will resort to a buffet style only experience which I believe will be a drop in the level of service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close proximity to the main strip, small and intimate, friendly staff
The weak points
some repairs needed, regular rooms are a bit small and basic
Certified

Estrellamar March 2011

, Kitchener, ON
2011-03-17
This hotel had very friendly staff, decent food, a nice pool and grounds but the room itself was kind of nasty. A few feet to the main drag and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proximity to beach, restaurants, shopping. Food, pool, grounds and staff were good.
The weak points
Rundown, not very clean, ant-ridden room, sink off in the corner of the room.
Certified

Third Visit - Same Property

, Burlington, ON
2011-02-24
Small older hotel just off the main street of Jaco yet surprisingly quiet and serene once you enter the property. Has single rooms (very basic), larger accom. with kitchenette (1 and 2 bedroom), and cottages, remember - it is a budget property. The food from the restaurant was quite good, staff friendly and helpful and the property nicely landscaped. WiFi available and internet in office, short walk to beach. lots of shopping & restaurants nearby. Provided what we required to make for enjoyable holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Right off the main street yet very quiet, serene, well landscaped. Staff pleasant, good food in restaurant. Has single rooms (very basic) larger units with kitchenettes and separate cottages.
The weak points
Older buildings with simple rooms - budget property
Certified

A fun place to stay

, Kentville, NS
2009-06-11
We enjoyed this hotel immensely. The grounds attract birds and iguanas and it's off the noisy main drag. It's not the Ritz but for the price it exceeded our expectations and the staff are wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds with lots of flowers and not much concrete. Quiet and inexpensive. Friendly helpful, caring staff.
The weak points
The rooms are bad but the villas are nice. We were not able to connect to the internet but there are lots if internet cafes in town. The place is run down but charming.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Jaco beach's best
Overall Impression Seniors Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021