Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica

Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica
4.394.394.394.394.39
4.39 based on 18 reviews
#1 of 1 hotel The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in El Jobo
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Overall really great resort!

, Chatham, ON
2019-05-15
This resort was very nice. We have stayed at another Dreams before and this one was far superior. The food was excellent at every restaurant. There were many vegetarian options and my husband who is a meat eater enjoy the meat. The kids liked the kids club and the activities that were offered. The pools were clean and never too crowded, except for on the weekend when the locals came. Our only gripe with this place, that soured the end of our stay, was the lack of concern for safety. When the locals came, they did not watch their kids. Their kids came in droves and would jump from the infinity pool ledge into the main pool, which was not allowed. They also congregated in the wading area of the slide, which was also not safe. We felt like we could not relax as we had to watch other peoples kids and were concerned they were going to hurt themselves badly. We are not helicopter parents by any which means, but the resort did not seem to care what so ever that the rules were not being followed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the resort itself, the rooms and the pool.
The weak points
Some of the staff did not seem to care about the safety of others nor did they listen to us when we shared our concerns.
Certified

Great Resort

, Coldwater, ON
2016-08-24
Cannot say enough good things about this resort. The Staff were exceptional, and the grounds beautiful. it was definitely a place I would like to return to. It is off the beaten path, but that is it's attraction. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything not mentioned in the weak points. Employee's make a real effort to make you feel welcome. The hotel was great, the flora and fauna was beautiful, food delicious, Poolside service excellent.
The weak points
Some pathways could be more efficiently laid out. The lights on your balcony were controlled by a timer that would not switch off till 9:30 or 10: pm. You can find creative ways to extinguish them though.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Bramtpon, ON
2016-08-05
The hotel and staff were first class all the way. The Japanese restaurant was a let down with the soup being cold and our entrees being forgotten in the kitchen and not delivered hot. The overall atmosphere was very nice and enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

They make all your Dreams come true..

, Guelph, ON
2016-03-06
Just finished a week to Dreams Las Mareas. As first timers to Costa Rica we were very happy with the overall property but here are the Pros and Cons my wife and I discussed:

Pros-
Truly a 5 Star for Service, all staff incredible
Pools were Best of Class
Pools Bars, awesome
Rooms (we had swim out) were nice and cleaned once a day
Location from rooms to pools and restaurants very easy access (Golf cart service offered if need be)
Food was wonderful for an all-inclusive
Entertainment.. good but not great. Oscars Party was fun but poorly advertised to all guests
Onsite Doctor-- used her service and she was awesome..
Easy checkin and checkout

Cons:
Location is very remote and 1:45min from Liberia airport but don't worry you get free Costa Rican massage.. Thats a locals joke about the bumpy road
The beach was not a highlight for this resort
The ala carte should forgo the dress code within reason as it was very strict. After a full day in sun, not many men want to put slacks on..
Was actually asked to leave one after hostess sat us. Had beautiful designer shorts and Tommy Bahama dress shirt and was asked to leave,, little harsh. (Mexican Rest)

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for Building closest to pools as some are up in hillside and walk is all down hill... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above
The weak points
See above
Certified

Beautiful Property

, Oakvile, ON
2015-12-29
Property is first rate ... Guest rooms are large and well appointed. Pool area is massive. Lots of places to get a drink or something to eat. Beach was OK but not spectacular. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing vacation!!

, Vienna, ON
2015-01-24
My husband and I returned January 22, 2015 after a 7 night stay at Dreams Las Mareas. The ride from Liberia airport was approximately 1 hour, 45 minutes. The last 25 minutes offers a "Costa Rican massage" on a bumpy dirt road (just sit back and enjoy the scenery, it's only 25 minutes). From the minute we arrived we found the staff and the resort to be very welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in room 2806 Building 8A in a preferred club junior suite. We had a great view (partial ocean and main pool area), which offered nice evening sunset views. The entire resort is extremely clean. Food and drinks were excellent (our favourite was El Patio Mexican restaurant, followed closely by Portifino Italian restaurant). There is definitely something to suit everyone's food preferences. The pools were impeccably clean and very refreshing. Pool and beach bar service was definitely a nice perk. The staff were all friendly and eager to please. We had an occasional communication breakdown, but the staff tried hard to rectify any problems (and it made for funny memories). The preferred club lounge was great - delicious snacks all day and premium drinks. The rooms were beautiful and always clean and well stocked. We did not bring our children so can't comment on the children's programs, but we did see a number of families using this service. Nightly entertainment was good. The fire show was amazing. The beach is small but clean. The beaches are all public so locals are able to use them as well. Some local vendors are selling craft products and tour packages. We never felt pressured by these friendly local people. The pool area, beach and restaurants never seemed over crowded, even at 95% capacity. The only downfall of this resort is the distance to popular excursions. We were looking for good food and relaxation - this is exactly what we got. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dreams Las Mareas and would highly recommend it to friends and family. Thank you Dreams for making our vacation memorable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food and drinks. Friendly staff. Entire resort is very clean and beautiful.
The weak points
Distance from popular excursions.

Beautiful Resort

, Harley, ON
2014-12-26
We stayed at the Dreams Las Mareas from December 13th to December 20th. It was lovely. The ride is a little bumpy as you approach the hotel, but it is well worth the "free back massage" as you drive down the dirt road to the resort. The food at the buffet was our favourite, followed closely by the room service. There is something for everyone. We really enjoyed the activities around the resort and the entertainers, even though we are not really activity people. The morning and afternoon hikes were nice. The rooms were comfortable and kept clean. The drinks at the resort were also good. We enjoyed having access to the preferred club for snacks and premium drinks. We really enjoyed our stay at the Dreams Las Mareas and would like to go again and see it as a mature resort in a few years. . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Swim up rooms Pools Drinks Food Location Activities
The weak points
Internet and t.v. was patchy.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

El Jobo's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021