Fairmont Southampton

Fairmont Southampton
4.114.114.114.114.11
4.11 based on 9 reviews
#2 of 5 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Bermuda
Rated 4.5 stars

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Fabulous Fairmont Southampton!

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-02
This is our 3rd year in a row staying at the Fairmont Southampton over Christmas. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and several of them remembered us from previous visits. Extras such as cooking demos, kitchen tours, smores on the Great Lawn with a bonfire by the huge Christmas tree, Tea & Treats, and Manager's Reception were all complimentary. Any problem we had was addressed immediately and to our satisfaction. The complimentary ferry between the hotel and Hamilton is wonderful. The twizy (electric mini-car) rental office is right on the hotel property. Can't say enough superlatives about this hotel, we love it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is fantastic!! The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. We loved the balcony and the view. The perks are wonderful, lots of extras at Christmas time. Mediterra Restaurant is great, especially the short rib lasagna.
The weak points
The onsite restaurants are very expensive. There is no microwave in the room.
Certified

New Years in Bermuda

, St Catharines, ON
2018-01-06
Very expensive place to stay. There are very few things to do on this island around the New Years time. It's too windy to golf, the water is too cool to swim in for an extended period of time and their is a 17% gratuity on every restaurant item you buy. New Years at the Fairmont was a joke.Because its their winter, the hotel offered up rooms to the local for $89. The rooms were filled with kids from their late teens to early 20's. It was a huge party that got totally out of hand as their was a stabbing and over 10 police cruisers were called to the hotel by 6:00 am. We went to the beach at 11:00 and there were still 4 cruisers there and kids were being taken out in handcuffs. The hotel did provide some complimentary things to guests but you had to complain in order to obtain them. We will not be going back to this island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Horseshoe Beach is a must. The golf course is spectacular for a par 3 course, long hilly and something that needs to be played at least once.
The weak points
Too expensive for what you get. Too cool and windy in December and January. Not very much to do on the island. In our room after dinner for the night as there was absolutely no night life.
Certified

Relaxing vacation

, Toronto, ON
2014-12-30
Stuff are very helpful. Close to the beach. Shuttle bus is frequent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel location is great, room is very clean.
The weak points
Food quality doesn't match the price
Certified

A Slice of Paradise

, Waterloo, ON
2014-09-11
Our trip to Bermuda was a surprise birthday trip for my wife. Everything about our stay at the Fairmont Southampton was first class. We simply could not have been more pleased. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us welcome and greeted us warmly each time we saw them. The property is beautiful and maintained to perfection. We dined both on and off property. The Ocean Club is the Fairmont's beachfront restaurant and the seafood was truly some of the best we have ever enjoyed. Add to that the spectacular views and it deserves it's high rating.

The hotel's private beach offered everything you could ask for. It's also only steps away from access to the world-class scenery of Horseshoe Bay. We walked the beach, swam, explored and kept asking ourselves how it could possibly get any better.

We definitely will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Magnificent location, spotlessly clean room and hotel, easy access to Horseshoe Bay, excellent service, great food.
The weak points
Breakfast is on the expensive side - but remember - you're on vacation in paradise. If you're troubled you can't find a Denny's closeby - this isn't your island!
Certified

Fairmont Southampton

, Hampton, ON
2013-03-17
Beautiful resort, well maintained and very friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, well maintained, great staff, golfing on-site was convenient
The weak points
A little further from the beach than expected but the trolley service was excellent. The island bus schedule is limited for evenings - this resort isn't near much which leaves you relying on taxis if you want to go into Hamilton for dinner.
Certified

Very nice

, Georgetown, ON
2013-01-10
clean and very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was great!
The weak points
didn't fill the coffee and cream in our room
Certified

Fairmont Southampton

, Toronto, ON
2012-03-24
Great experience at this hotel from check in to check out. Staff were really terrific. Restaurants are expensive and not always worth the price. Rooms were large and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Clean. Large room.
The weak points
Restaurants good, but not great. Internet expensive.
Certified

Fantastic vacation

, Toronto, ON
2012-01-04
We spent our Christmas holidays at the hotel with our 10 month old daughter and had an incredible experience. The staff were so genuinely friendly and the holiday season activities were so fun that we will be booking to return next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and genuinely engaged with us.
The weak points
We honestly can't think of any weak points.
Certified

March 2010 Fairmont Southampton, Bermuda

, Etobicoke, ON
2010-03-07
Very nice remote hotel . The beaches were wonderful and very clean with many rocks to explore and climb.
The spa/ fitness center is a must- best massage I've ever had ! very welcoming staff and gorgeous pool and outdoor hot tubs .
We had booked a deluxe room Gold floor only to arrive and find the gold floor closed for construction- they obviously don't communicate to their webmaster or affiliates selling the gold accomodations. Front desk was not concerned in the least and told me to take it up with my travel agent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very pretty hotel with friendly staff and wonderful spa/ fitness club
The weak points
It'sin the middle of nowhere...housekeeping is rather over zealous in the mornings tapping doors with a metal key and calling up and down the halls... less than relaxing ! They advertise the Gold floor profusely but not the fact that it is closed
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021