Almond Beach Resort

Almond Beach Resort
3.043.043.043.043.04
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Almond beach resort

, Bishop Falls, NL
2018-04-24
The resort was very dated , staff seem to be in very low spirits think because of the fact that it's being closed down and taken over by a much bigger company. bar service was very slow some of the bartenders though we're top notch. Beaches have a lot of coral. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good,
The weak points
Was very hard to get food late a night . Several people in wheelchairs were there at the time we were, the pools weren't wheelchair accessible .
Certified

Good but not great

, Peterborough, ON
2017-02-15
The hotel is clean but old. The food is good but repetitive. The beach is not a fine white powdery sand. Turtles come close to the beach every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food. Nice beach
The weak points
Old resort.
Certified

Sad to be home

, Lasalle, QC
2016-02-19
One of the few all inclusives on the island, on first blush we were a little underwhelmed. Supposedly it will soon shut down for renos and you can see that they stopped maintaining it. The greeting staff also gave us the wrong information so we lost our reservation by going to the main restaurant instead. The room is a bit small, the bathrooms are nothing to write home about and no pool is deeper than 4ft. However this is where I stop complaining as everything else was top notch.

1) the owners of the hotel own a tour company so surprise, as part of our package we actually got 3 separate trips. A bus tour of the island, a jeep tour of the island, and a boat tour to see and swim with turtles, nature permitting.

2) the food isn't always available (breakfast from 7-10, lunch 1-3, tea time and dinner starting 6:30-10) outside that you can't snack. however do you really need to (as opposed to other all inclusive resorts i came back post 10 days with only 3 pounds)? The food itself isn't americanized, rather local fare (we ate outside one day, similar food) and quite good and tasty. 5/10 days there we had lobster as an option, and unlimited portions. Liquor is available easily too. Overall food was top notch and prepared with care mostly with a local pallet (except breakfast)

3) the staff themselves were great. Always friendly always willing to help and bend rules to make your stay more enjoyable.

4)the activities were nothing special - there is a 3 hole golf course and mini put, basketball and tennis a game center and an ok gym, but unlike other resorts they aren't forcing you to do them. I hate having activity people to try to get me to participate in activities at the resort. Here they are laid back - join if you want the few activities, don't if you don't. And don't worry, they don't play bad music on loudspeakers all day.
5) it is near 2 towns (walking distance) so you can shop, eat, etc off resort easily.

the beach was nice but swimming is tough with coral, though go right of the resort (facing the beach) to the end and there were some great swimming spots - not too wavy, very warm water.

oh and despite contradictions on the website there is free wifi and computers. Not always in your room (depends on closeness to router) but definitely in main areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- local food, not in your face, great staff, good location, free tours of the island
The weak points
small pools, spotty wifi, run down facilities, hard to swim due to corals on the beach plus poisonous trees, rooms a bit run down too.
Certified

In Barbados

, Whitby, ON
2016-02-17
It was prefect thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Met our expectations, good value for Barbados

, Toronto, ON
2015-12-04
Rooms were better than expected, upgraded to one bedroom ocean view. Beach was lovely, turtles close to shore. Enjoyed tours and water sports, especially paddle boarding. Food was good, breakfast would have been better if more fruit offered. Food well prepared and presented, even though there were not an abundance of offering. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room, location,tours included
The weak points
Consistency of service, responsiveness
Certified

Almond beach resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2015-02-19
hotel was clean but neads updating.food was good but limited choices. staff was exceptional at the resteraunts,beach and bars. room was nice but had some issues with house keeping.entertainment needs some attention.free tours were an added bonus that was not expected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was great.free activities and tours.water beautiful,snorkeling good.
The weak points
entertainment,beautiful beach but unkept, not groomed,mattresses low grade,food good but choice limited,resort deffinately not a 4 star,3 star at best
Certified

Good quality for your money

, St.Catharines, ON
2012-04-18
Very nice resort overall. Good and friendly service from the staff.Meals were ok, fresh veggies and fruit everyday. Beach got a bit rough two days limiting swimming. Good snorkelling right off the beach.Lots of pools and things for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was fresh and plentiful.Pleasant staff.
The weak points
Dress code was a bit confusing.
Certified

Hotel is closing not sure if review is useful

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-10
In general a decent hotel, but lacking in maintenance and modernization. Hotel to be closed at end of April 2012. Check in is at 3:00 PM and we didn't see a room until after 4:30 PM and the room was not even made up yet. It was a mess. We had to find the manager and make him give us a better room. He ended up giving us a room in their best block (block 7) which was ocean view and better looking inside. The remainder of the vacation went very well and the food was decent, although not great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, in general, was quite friendly. Many pools to choose from.
The weak points
Lacking in maintenance, local dishes, and in good nightly entertainment.
Certified

Beautiful Island, lovely people

, Cambridge, ON
2012-04-10
Reception staff was discraceful,they mislead guests upon arrival, made false claims to guests, then pretty much left us with our pants down. No mangaement available to discuss concerns just incompetent liars.I'm glad it's closing. I will never go back to an Almond resort.No accomodations for the disabled, In Canada we have laws against discrimination. If were were in Canada I would have filed a Human Rights Violation Charge against the Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food
The weak points
No management, I was told that I did not book ground floor, I then produced the original booking and they walked away from me.Too many weak points to list. I'm satisfied that the hotel is closing. The current management needs to attend Hotel Management101
Certified

Almomd beach village

, Georgetown, ON
2012-03-06
This is far from a 4 or 5 star hotel.
I am not sure who rates these hotels but wow !! this was our second visit and our last. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was pleasant and the pools and bars were fine. We had been before two years ago and most of the staff were the same.
The weak points
The bathrooms in the room very horrible, they were old the taps were broken and leaked, the shower tiles and grout were original 1995 never repaired. The food never changed the entire week and there wasn't a great selection.
Certified

Needs attention to make the best of a great l

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-28
I had been at the hotel 6 years ago. It has deteriorated from an accommodation perspective since then. The decor needs upgrading, common areas need cleaning… in the roof, fans and stairwells there was bird droppings ...other areas were clean and it seemed that they were painting areas one at a time. On arrival our rooms were not ready and we were offered some food at the Reef Bar. There was a delay with food being ready and then it ran out before most guests had anything to eat. The area was messy and unstocked. Check in was chaotic and this coupled with the overall appearance of the resort that day made a very poor first impression for my family who had not been there before. The staff were great really with a few exceptions. There were no elevators in our section so the bell staff had to carry the luggage up three flights of stairs. Our luggage was severely scratched in the process but they didn't seem to care. Poor process for washing glasses...glasses and crockery were frequently dirty. Beach and pools were great as were the water sports and the staff from the beach area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, water sports, most of the staff, weather, beach, pools
The weak points
cleanliness of common areas, lack of elevator, size of bathroon, shabby room decor, poorly washed glasses and crockery
Certified

Holiday time

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-12
Almond Beach Village [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at the restaurants, quality of the food (except some of the items at the reef) and the quality and quantity of the wine.
The weak points
There wasn't any follow up on a toilet that was leaking at the base for 2 weeks. It was report to the guest services ,as well as the maid had to continue to remove a towel from around the base.
Certified

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!

, Georgetown, ON
2012-02-07
But for the nice weather, beaches and food, this resort is a MUST AVOID!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, weather and beaches. Staff were amazingly friendly.
The weak points
Disorganized on arrival. Shabby rooms, leaky air conditioning, leaky toilets, dirty swimming pools. TOTALLY DISORGANIZED STAFF!!!!
Certified

Almond beach village

, Brampton, ON
2011-10-13
hotel liquor very limited some days they had our brand ,most times they didnt.food was poor,ended up paying extra for food I could eat,most of the employees was unfriendly ,air flight was very poor,not enough food on the plane for people at the back of plane. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
there beach was the only strong point
The weak points
there food,beverages,bar service
Certified

Great Holiday

, Etobicoke, ON
2011-08-29
You'll read reviews suggesting this place is past its prime. So long as you're not picky about some chipping paint in public areas and few lights along walkways not working, you'll love it here. If you want a perfect resort, where everything looks new and fancy and that's what'll make your holiday, pay the premium for a 5 star location. The place is fine, employees are friendly and helpful. Enjoy your stay and don't fret the small stuff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
water and sports activities (tennis and golf lessons included), food, name brand alcohol, shuttles to sister resorts and to bridgetown
The weak points
informing guest of evening activities
Certified

Excellent staff...excellent service

, Medcine Hat, AB
2011-02-13
I went to this hotel at the beginning of February with my elderly father. |I was a little concerned because it was only us two and it was a lot of responsibly (I'm forty but he is frail). The staff and guests were wonderful. The staff especially were attentive to his needs and any concerns that we had. Each one of them were truly above and beyond. I would consider the food a 5 * quality. Excellent choices and wonderful views. The beach was somewhat small but there was a bigger beach just a short walk away. Sand and water were beautiful!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back! I always considered the world to big and thought that each time I went away that it would be different place every time regardless of how beautiful. I have been to many places and this one has changed my views and made it worth looking forward to returning. If the beach space wasn't so small I would be rating it a five. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points included the staff, the atmosphere, the hotel, and the location to shops.
The weak points
The beach is small but clean and having to pay to have wireless access in the room so internet service was only available when you sit in the lobby which is a pest when you are waiting for an email etc.
Certified

Don't waste your money!!

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-02
My girlfriend and I just got back from Almond Beach Village and what was supposed to be a nice girls getaway was disappointing to say the least. This is no four star resort. The hotel is in need of a major overhaul/reno. Our first hotel room overlooked the utility parking lot. Glancing down- there was garbage on the rooftops below. The AC was broken and leaking all over the room and furniture so we asked to be moved. Next room had only a kingsize bed not the 2 doubles we had requested, the shower tiles had black mold all over them, and AC was so loud you couldn`t talk. After much discussion with Guest Services we were "upgraded" to an Ocean View Room. Again only a kingsize bed but they said they could seperate it to twins. They made reservations for dinner for us at Enis Restaurant so decided to go while they fixed the room (now 8:30). We arrive at the restaurant and wait 5 min before hostess even acknowledged us. Finally she comes over and says they were fully booked and we would have to go on a wait list (30 min.) The restaurant was half full. We told her we had been travelling since 4 am and would appreciate it if she could find us a table. She finally did but was not happy. The restaurant was half full the whole time we were there. Food was ok. Back to our room - beds were seperated but no blankets. Again back down to Guest Services. Finally blankets arrived. No face cloths tho. Ocean view was pretty but again glance down at rooftop below and there was old glasses, cigarette butts, kleenex- garbage all over. Room was very basic and this was an upgrade. Next day spent at the pool was ok. Bartender that day must have been in a bad mood. He asked what I would like to drink and pointing to two drinks I asked what they were. He said How should I know- I didn`t make them. WOW. Getting ready for dinner that night- no blow dryer. Back down to guest services to request one. It arrives but is broken. Again wait til someone finally brings us another one. Cold water tap in shower is almost stripped and takes forever to turn it off. By end of week you could not turn it off at all- water pouring out. Reported 3 times before it was finally fixed.
The staff at guest services were nice and really trying but their whole day was spent fielding complaints. On the property were several big water fountains but only a few were working. In our hallway someone had put drinking glasses out and it took three days before anyone finally picked them up. For the most part the staff was blase and had a way of looking right through the guests, getting to you only when they were ready and not before. When poolside, no one came by to see if we would like a drink ever. There were a few nice servers but they were few and far between. The Italian restaurant was better than anywhere. It was almost like being at a different resort. Staff was friendly and smiling and food was pretty good.
The weather was fantastic and that was the only saving grace. My friend and I have travelled extensively- between us have been to most of the Islands, 12 all inclusive resorts, Europe and Asia. This resort in its prime was probably great but is definately over rated now.
Barbados weather is beautiful but really do your research on where you stay. Would never go back to this resort and would never recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather was great. Beach especially the public one to the right of the resort was nice. Italian restaurant best one there. BBQ lunch around main pool not bad. Food overall was ok not spectacular.
The weak points
There is nothing luxurious about this resort. Majority of staff were very blase and indifferent to guests other than guest services people. Resort is in major need of a massive reno.
Certified

Nice Resort

, Olds, AB
2010-04-26
The resort is older, but it is kept up very well. The rooms are small, but manageable. The food is good, but the menus don't change...same breakfast everyday, same lunch everyday which after two weeks got really old. But the resort is in walking distance to Speightstown and we found really great restaurants there. Try eating at Cheffettes, their local burger joint. Lots for kids to do and several pools around the resort for everyone to enjoy. For the most part the staff was very helpful and friendly, however there were a few that probably shouldn't have been there. Overall, our vacation was fantastic and I would definately recommend this resort to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and well kept
The weak points
The beaches in Barbados are public which bring in annoying locals that are constantly trying to sell you drugs, at least for us that was how it was. The resort can't do much but get security to watch them.
Certified

Needs updating etc.

, Woodstock, ON
2010-04-19
The staff were friendly, helped out if ever needed. Resort grounds are beautiful but the actual hotel/rooms etc need updating greatly. No real daily activities, no entertainment staff at all.... Huge disappointment. I did write a 4 page note to jamy (Customer Relations Mgr) giving him a few suggestions for the activities. Hope he will consider them. Nightly entertainment wasn't even that great. We stayed one evening rest of the week went to our room & watched TV or sat on our balcony. Food is okay Italian restaurant is far the best place to eat. 1/2 way through the week we started to get served buffet due to the british people stranded at the resort. We paid our fee so we should not have been put over to buffet when we were expecting Al Carte. That was disappointing. Reef restaurant right on the beach nice place for breakfast & dinner. Pools are very nice, there is a adult pool which was nice if you don't go with children. Quieter. I would recommd the resort for the staff and the how nice the grounds are but if you are looking for daily & evening entertainment and a posh resort this would not be for you. Beach is okay. Closer to the adults end is way better, water very warm, small crabs on the beach just an FYI. beach not really taken care of at all. Not raked or anything, abandoned chairs lying around etc. Water sports okay I guess. Do swin with the turtles thought that was COOL and worth the money. Oh and if you fly with Westjet you can not check in online at the resort. We told them we were with Westjet, they took our money to then be told on no Westjet you can only do that at the airprt yet we did not get our money back and it happened to other Westjet travellers not just us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort with regards to the grounds, staff very friendly. Eat at the italian all week if you can..lol
The weak points
Food (Buffet)not great at all, entertainment, needs a lot of improving for sure, resort needs a lot of updating, beach a little disappointing, water very warm and nice.
Certified

Almond Beach Village

, Alliston, ON
2010-04-19
A little disappointed overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Freindly staff, food is tasty and rooms are clean. Resort if family oriented. Lots of activities.
The weak points
Lack food choices and buffets Small swimming area Very slow cleanup around the beach and pool.
Certified

Sweet

, Hamilton, ON
2010-03-12
The people of this resort are the best i have had in my 10 trips to the carb. Clean, respect, good food, This is what you will get at the almond village. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Making you feel welcome. food. and excellent beer on tap.
The weak points
rooms are a little old. but clean. You cannot where a muscle shirt at any time to eat.They do not have a buffet at lunch or supper and must have res. for both every-day. But they have hot dogs and fries at beach. They need to work on the night dance.
Certified

Facelift

, Mississasuga, ON
2010-03-09
Our hotel room was very old.The washroom was very dirty and old. There was very little to choose from at lunch time and breakfast. (One salad, one meat,pizza's for the children. In the evenings you had to dress up for your dinner which was very good at the different restaurants [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Needs a facelift for the rooms and maybe they should cater to the Canadians instead of just the Brits.
The weak points
The food selection was not there period.
Certified

Nice place to visit.

, Weston, ON
2010-03-08
After traveling for 40 yrs we were suprised that we had to ask for a refridgerator for our room & that they do not stock it. This hotel needs some upgrading,the rooms are clean but very tired looking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff will bend over backwards to try to make things right if they are not. The people are so friendly and happy. We liked the idea that there was an adult only pool.
The weak points
Coral & slanted beach. Could have at least one buffet resturant. There should be a bathroom closer to the adult pool,it was quite a walk away. Had trouble getting money changed into smaller amounts.
Certified

Almond Village

, Pickring , ON
2009-07-01
Clean Comfortable frendly & helpful staff Will go back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent all around
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021