Melia Nassau Beach Resort All Inclusive

Melia Nassau Beach Resort All Inclusive
3.633.633.633.633.63
3.63 based on 84 reviews
#3 of 10 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Nassau
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (14)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

As expected

, Douro Dummer, ON
2019-12-30
Overall good experience. The resort was as expected from other reviews. Older facility with some upgrades. Food was good but not exceptional. Al a carte restaurants were ok. Disappointing to see items on these menus that were not all inclusive. Some meals were disappointing.
Beach was beautiful. Hard to find chairs by the pools. Only 2 hot tubs that were always crowded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach.
The weak points
Older facility. Crowded pool areas and hot tubs. Al a carte food mediocre.
Certified

Need of definite upgrades

, Oakland, ON
2019-06-10
Spent 4 nights here for quick getaway
Four nites was definitely long unough
Lobby area was beautiful. Had a quick check in. Our room was ready upon arrival. Then we entered hallway went on elevator to 6th floor. Grosse. Old carpet in halls that were ripped. Everything needed painted and cleaned. Our room was clean but also needed huge upgrade. Carpet also :(
Our building was closest to level beach area. Quickest way to get to beach would be to take stairs because there were no elevators. Fine for us but not for someone that isn't used to hiking up and down. Otherwise had to walk where we checked in. Stairs well was also dirty
Reservations for a la carte had to be made at 8 but had to be there by 7:30 am. Reservations are only for that evening so we only ate at Italian. It was ok. Service was excellent
Buffet for breakfast was ok. Same with dinner. Good thing we aren't foodies. Grounds also need so much work. We don't do room service but if u wanted it there was a 10 fee. Hmm.
The beach was beautiful. Water breathtaking. Walked over to casino at baha mar. We were here mainly for beach and weather. Met many nice ppl which is what we enjoy about travelling. We travel a lot and didn't have high expectations. Bahamas is expensive not many nice all inclusive places that are here hopefully the melia will start upgrading their 30 year old motel being that the Hyatt is next door. Always enjoy a holiday but will not stay here again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Awesome time at Melia

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-10
I honestly was afraid of going after many reviews but thankfully they were wrong! We enjoyed our stay and would defintely return!
The staff at reception were very pleasant at check in and out. The room was nice, clean, the bed was comfortable and yes it had carpet in the room, weird for a beach resort yes but it was clean and didnt smell “musty” as others stated. It had an iron burn mark yes but oh well.
Housekeeping: Only issue, I did have to call front desk one evening as we had less than half a roll of toilet paper and no water for the in room coffee maker and for drinking.. they brought it stat.
I'm generally easy going but my fiance is picky and has high expectations and so he has the right with spending big money on a vacation..it better be good. He was very pleased with the overall experience at the Melia, not one complaint at all... I was shocked!
Food: The food was good but should have hot plates/warmers to maintain temps. We generally had breakfast at the buffet, lunch or light snack midday at the outside grill “Ogrille” I believe it was called and specialty restaraunts in the evening. I loved the fact you could book a la carte every night instead of being stuck with the buffets. We experienced the Aqua (Italian) both our meals were delicious and the staff were all so nice there. Wish I could remember the names. We had “Retro” (Bahamian) food out by the pool, loved the meal there as well the pork was delicious!! Staff also so nice and talkative. And of course its not incl. but we had to try it, was the Black Angus Restaraunt. It was really good steak but I didnt like how you order your meat and then had to pay for your sides individually.. The service was good, they went out of their way to make a drink we asked for. The only thing I didnt like was that they charged us 15% on the bill then stated if I wanted to leave a tip when signing my cc copy..I told him they already took it on the bill! He didnt say anymore and walked away. Maybe I would have left more but with doing that, no way. For two of us it cost $223.00, so you know it is costly and we saw many people splitting meals and maybe because they had no idea it was pricy. When booking with reservations upon arrival.. you can look at any of the menus. Do your bookings when you arrive to the hotel because we saw people lined up a few mornings that never got into the a la cartes.
Beach/grounds: The beach is stunning!! I loved the location, clarity of the water, the activities available and lots of chairs available. What really ticked me off though was people placing towels under the cabanas first thing in the morning..likely 6am and not seen until after lunch. So disrespectful and I know it will always be an issue but maybe the staff should actually remove the towels and belongings when people arent seen for long periods of time like their sign states but they dont follow through.
Pools were beautiful too, we only went in the one family pool twice, closest to the basketball net and towel hut as we prefer the ocean while away.
Grounds were beautifully kept and very clean.

Entertainment nightly was fantastic; Karaoke, retro show and loved how they had a variety of shows and the band they had come in, they were awesome!! The only thing I found was one band outside and retro party inside I think it was hard to get people to both.
Shopping: found it our last afternoon while taking a photo out front of the resort..its your usual stores with same/similar tourist items but was great talking to the store owners; my fiance bought a shirt, I didnt need anything and the lovely lady gave me a change purse, was very sweet. Check them out!
Downfall: by day 4 I did have stomach problems, stayed close to the bathroom one afternoon and thankfully it didnt really get bad until I returned back home and it was for a solid week after..I only had coffee with milk and ate grapefruit and egg whites that was differently from what my fiance had so Im not sure how or what caused it. Im starting to think it could be oils the foods are cooked with that maybe Im not used to..I hope thats all it was as nothing tasted off to me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were all welcoming, fun and personable everywhere we were on the resort.
The weak points
Upon arrival give a detailed run through of where everything is located.. main restaraunt for one as we were totally lost. Map was confusing. Information on tours etc
Certified

Great Staff

, Stettler, AB
2018-12-17
The atmosphere was very relaxed upon arriving and when we got to our room, our views were incredible throughout our stay. We appreciated the kindness and overall effort the resort staff put in to make sure we had an enjoyable stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great. Resort staff were amazing! Beach and resort were very clean.
The weak points
There was construction everyday that woke us up. We wished our chairs were higher to actually see over our balcony to enjoy our views better.
Certified

Water smell like feces

, Burlington, ON
2018-10-04
Hotel is under renovations since 2014 and not once has anyone had the decency to notify guests or people considering to book here. Stay here with my gf and another couple. The whole week the hotel was under renovations. Pool bar closed all week. And to top it off the water reeks of feces! Absolutely disgusting. Never staying a Melia Resort again. Waste of $4000. Not only that we got finessed to upgrading to an ocean view room... all of the rooms are ocean view rooms expect the first floor. Spend the extra few bucks and stay anywhere else but Melia! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees are nice
The weak points
To many to list

Great Hotel and Beach

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-06
This is a great hotel, with stunning pools and beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

MELIA all inclusive

, Jackson Point, ON
2018-04-15
My wife and I had a great trip.. Staff friendly.. Food was good.. The rooms were clean and lots of things to do on the beach at a good price.. We took the bus in to town and felt very safe.. Can't believe how nice the beaches are there.. We will go again and bring the kids next time.. Very good for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches.. Safe. Clean.
The weak points
A la carte restaurants kinda hard to book.
Certified

Sunny get away

, Chauvin, AB
2018-02-12
Overall a nicely laid out resort.
We booked 'the Level' room which had a lovely view. Staff were friendly.
However they missed getting our luggage and our initial check in to the 'Level' area.
Service was usually good but the beach waiters could be choosey as to who they came to for their drink orders.
One pool was closed whilst we were there.
Also there could be late 'cleaning' noise coming from the public area even though we were on the 8th floor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and choice of foods and easy access from airport.
The weak points
Communication lacking between the front desk and the 'Level' staff. Tour operators and information on available tour options not given ahead of your visit. Activity web page for the hotel was difficult to access and use.
Certified

Melia Resort

, Toronto, ON
2017-11-15
Good, staff friendly, resort nice ..a 3 star... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Melia Nassau Beach, all inclusive

, Toronto, ON
2017-08-05
Beautiful resort, good food and marvellous beach and access to water. Nice rooms and views.
Too bad that you have to pick your chair at 5:30am if you like a beach umbrella; otherwise you bake in the tropical sun.
I recommend it for quiet couples and especially for families with kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great experience

, Campbellville, ON
2016-10-04
Very nice resort with friendly staff.
Close to the airport as well!
The food was very good as was the service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Magnificent Melia

, Mississauaga, ON
2016-06-01
Melia Nassau exceeded all of our expectations. To us a 5* resort. Beach was breathtaking. Grounds clean and beautiful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Gorgeous rooms with ocean view, very clean. All restaurants great food. Lots of places to take amazing photos on ground. On beach lots of shade if you need it. across the street from Hotel a small market for shopping. Local bus was easy to take to go 15 minute downtown for$1.25 each, felt safe on bus to go to shops I would highly recommend and will be going back again soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was perfect from hotel to food to staff to amazing beach.
Certified

Save your Money

, Airdrie, AB
2016-05-12
The sand was like sifted flour and the water was stunning and warm

The hotel is dated and needs some paint and upgrade, carpet is worn and showing age.

The staff were very unfriendly and mostly ignored you. Service was the worst I have had.. A wait time at most of the resturants is 30 mins to get a drink and order. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Honeymoon!

, Burnaby, BC
2016-04-25
We had a great time at Melia! The staff are wonderful and the food is great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach, Pool, Activities
The weak points
check in takes 25 minutes, bathrooms need some renovations
Certified

Melia

, Aurora, ON
2016-03-13
Had a great time here. Staff were very friendly & accommodating. The resort was kept very clean all around, food was great, plenty of choice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
just an overall excellent rating
Certified

Nassau

, Scarborough, ON
2015-12-29
I had to change rooms four times due to faulty bathroom fittings. Upon complaining their Quality Manager assisted us with a right room. The reception staff were not friendly. They don't smile! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location and the beach was great.
The weak points
Looks like a very old property with a poor maintenance. They advertised they have a Casino. However, I was informed by them it was closed down long ago.
Certified

Melia Bahamas

, Enderby, BC
2015-12-07
Love the location food and service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food and service
The weak points
Too much garbage on the beach too many beach vendors overwhelmed with smokers was gross run down needs major work
Certified

Gorgeous beach & pools but horrible service

, Mississauga, ON
2015-05-08
Good resort with clean, updated rooms. Awesome beach, pools and location. Good food and variety at the buffet and a la carte restaurants. Service isn't good though and staff are often unfriendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous beach and pools. Great location. Good food.
The weak points
Service is very poor and staff are often unfriendly. Tipping doesn't help much.
Certified

Had a good time.

, Oakville, ON
2014-07-21
The hotel needs to be updated but the service, food and beach made up for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Really friendly, efficient service
The weak points
Hotel showing age.
Certified

We had fun

, Toronto, Ontario, ON
2014-05-26
Checking in was brutally slow ... over a half hour standing in line waiting for our turn. Checking out took about a minute (long enough to snip our bracelet). My bill showed that I owed $152 ... huh? I was on the all-inclusive plan so had her investigate and she discovered some things had been coded incorrectly (so check your bill when you leave). I found the ladies at the reception desk friendly but cold, strange considering they are the first contact for the hotel.

My room was a bit dated and worn but I thought it was okay. The bed was comfy!

There were four places to eat ... and we checked them all out. The food was good in them all. You can eat from 6:30am 'til midnight. You can even have food and drinks served to you on the beach (we ordered hot dogs and they were good). If you aren't on the all-inclusive plan, it's expensive ... $19 for a burger/fries, $10 for a rum/Coke, etc.

We spent our mornings at the beach. The first couple of days the waves were REALLY rough and it was windy but it nice and calm the rest of the week. We spent our afternoons at the pool. There were three pools (plus a hot tub and a broken hot tub) ... the one with the swim-up bar was heated and that's where we hung out.

In general, the staff was friendly and efficient. I found the female servers were a lot quicker and friendlier than the male bartenders. There would be a lot of bartenders (male) at the pool bar and the lobby bar and there was still a long wait until they got around to it. Most would walk by and ignore you ... when they did take your order, it seemed like an imposition. The hotel should get rid of most of the guys and replace them with the more efficient friendly female servers.

We had lunch one day in the O'Grille one day and ordered burgers/fries. Our server was really friendly but he was soooooooo slow and inattentive. We waited a long time for our meal (we even inquired about it a couple times) and it was cold when it arrived. The hot dogs we ordered on the beach came from O'Grille and was so hot when they arrived (delivered by a female server, of course).

We got to know Charisma during the week and she took excellent care of us all week! They need more Charismas!

Whether you were all-inclusive or not, you have to sign for each and every drink and meal you have. It's a pain but it helps with inventory. Plus the servers get a tip regardless ... a 15% tip was added to all bills. Whether the service was awesome or slow, the servers still get a 15% tip. You'd think that since the servers were automatically getting a tip, they would move quicker to get more orders so get more tips.

Every night there was some event scheduled. The karaoke got cancelled Sunday because it was too windy (it's held outside by pool bar). I imagine the movie nights were cancelled too because they too were outside. There was supposed to be a BBQ Tuesday night outside but it got cancelled because there was an international Melia managers' party instead ... we didn't find out until we went for supper only to be turned away (you'd think paying customers would be more important). It looked very swanky. There were supposed to be fire dancers Friday night in the lobby but they never showed up.

Two things I would suggest they change:

Have mini-fridges in all the rooms - Two bottles of water are included in the room at all times and it would have been nice if they could have stayed cold.

Have a livelier nightlife - There was nightly entertainment in the lobby bar (Estivada) that ranged from a sax player to a guy playing a piano to a band. Most nights it was really mellow and ended about 10:30ish. Definitely not a place to go if you are looking to party. If you wanted something exciting, you had to catch a cab to Nassau (the bus stops running about 7pm). At $25 one way, that would add up. The Daiquiris Shack is across the street and make yummy fresh daiquiris for $6 but close at 11pm.

The grounds were nice, the beach was great, the food was good and most of the staff were friendly. I'd go back!

I blogged about the resort: http://www.teenaintoronto.com/2014/05/melia-nassau-beach-nassau-bahamas.html

I blogged about my day-to-day experiences: http://www.teenaintoronto.com/search/label/Bahamas 2014 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, close location to Nassau, food
The weak points
Most of the male bartenders are lazy, events got cancelled (like the BBQ Tuesday night) with no notice or regard to guests
Certified

Average Hotel

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-24
Going thru a transaction/reno period. Cost of food is expensive, time consuming signing off receipts for AI guest. Beach and water was beautiful. Need more entertainment and customer service experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location on the Cable Beach with view.
The weak points
Need more staff, entertainment and upscale bathroom and more eating area.
Certified

March break heaven

, Whitby, ON
2014-03-17
It was wonderful! The view from the room was spectacular, the food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and courteous [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the views and the comfort and quiet of the room.
The weak points
Flyer listing the hotel events should have been given to us at check in instead of us having to find it on our own.
Certified

Amazing vacation!!!

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-02
The hotel staff make you feel SO welcomed!! Starting from check in, to maid service - everyone had a smile on their face. Exceptional service from the bartenders and wait staff. The view was absolutely spectacular, breathtaking! Absolutely beautiful weather. We went offsite to a local bar - Senor Frogs - and had a great time. Be prepared to pay a little extra for a cab. The only thing the hotel lacked was a night life. There were some amazing musicians who would play spanish music by the bar some nights but no dancing. Overall great experience and can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
15 minute drive from the airport. Beautiful sand and beach. Great weather. Very clean grounds. Good food, GREAT service!!
The weak points
Bar closes at 1:00 p.m. Club has no nightlife and had to travel off site.
Certified

Too bad First impression spoiled it...

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-16
Our stay was lovely...although we didnt expect it after waiting in line to check in for more than an hour and a half. If you are expecting your normal crowd to come in from Sunwing etc...then you should have sufficient staff to deal with a crowd. What made it worse is that they mixed up all the names in the rooms and everybody stayed in whichever room we wanted, after having to ask them to move because they messed up on ocean front vs. regular rooms....too bad...but thank God the place was beautiful...we soon forgot their incompetence. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, food..
The weak points
Check in and no Wifi in rooms, bad reception in lobby.
Certified

Melia Nassau

, Co of Gp No. 1, AB
2014-02-07
The hotel looks nice when you drive up. The grounds are kept nice. Very clean. It just doesn't compare to other 4 and a half star hotels. Needs a lot of updates and more variety on food. The staff is very friendly which helps make your stay enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Needs updates. Very few food choices.
Certified

Change takes time!

, South Porcupine, ON
2014-02-07
We travel to all inclusives approx 3x a yr. We feel that the Melia is well on it's way to being a great resort. The all inclusive package we had included evertyhing that all other resorts offer; shuttle to/from airport, all food and beverages, non motorized water sports etc... We loved absolutely every part of this resort except for the service staff in the two restaurants and the beach bar areas. They seem to have a difficutl time accepting that there will be a change and are very much focused on the 15% gratuity charge included in the "fake bill" they continue to make all inclusive guests sign. This is the only negative thing. We enjoy all inclusive because it allows us the time management and freedom to mcome and go as we please. Having to sit around and wait to be seated (at the buffet), then wait again to ask for a bill to have to sign is annoying at the least. Most ppl have excursions planned and need to get in and out asap in the am. This was difficult at this resort to do.
Besides that, the resort was very clean, beach immaculate, always room everywhere, no reservation needed at the time we went to the a la carte, great food choices that are always replenished, generous with the alcohol in your drinks, beach restaurant allows for your food to be taken out in containers to eat in your room or on the beach.
We took the local bus 10 all over for $1.25 each way. Cost us $35 to get back to our resort in a town car from Atlantis.
In all, we would return there but maybe in a year or so once the transition period is more customary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food quality, cleanliness, location.
The weak points
The staff with negative attitude towards all inclusive guests.
Certified

Great place!

, Thornton, ON
2014-01-16
My husband and I wanted to get away for just a few days and didn't want to be disappointed since we don't get away without the kids too often. We were pleasantly surprised! It was beautiful!... The beach, the hotel and the rooms. It is an older hotel (30 years) but is well maintained. The food was very good but expensive. We did the all inclusive deal and were surprised that we saved money. Staff was friendly. And it is located 10 minutes from the airport and across the road from a very friendly, sweet tourist shopping market. We loved it and hope to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall great place!
The weak points
Not too many activities for kids
Certified

Below Expectations

, Ottawa, ON
2013-03-04
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Cassino [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The building is showing signs of aging and upkeep. The toilet didn't work properly and the tub was plugged. Balcony small.
Certified

Sheraton is wonderful!!!

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-19
Everything about the Sheraton is fabulous - beautiful room, beautiful lobby, clean, friendly staff, great location that is walkable to local restaurants and grocery store. Only issue is the cost of food - very expensive to eat at the Hotel. The dinner at the buffet restaurant, The Bimini" is $40 per person. The Italian restaurant "Amici" was more affordable, but formal table service.

The casino was situated in its own "wing" which meant that there was minimal smoke in the main hotel lobby.

If you're used to vacationing in Mexico, Cuba or the Dominican, Nassau is a completely different experience. The Sheraton Nassau feels just like a Sheraton that you would find in any major city in Canada or the US. Beautiful, clean, comfortable.

We ate two dinners at the "Milano" Italian restaurant that was by the Sandals hotel. Wonderful pasta and pizza. Highly recommend the 10 minute walk there from the Sheraton.

Beach food and drink is expensive - not surprisingly. $8 for one beer. $10 for 4 conch fritters; delicious but not cheap. Greens are hard to come by and expensive.

Look for the red umbrella if you're interested in a fresh coconut filled with just the right mix of Pina Colada or Bahama Mama. $8 for the first delicious coconut drink; $4 for refills.

We also visited the local grocery store (again, only a 10 minute walk) where we stocked up on fruit and snacks - very reasonable prices, and almost stocked as well as a Toronto Metro or Sobeys. The room did not have a refrigerator, so minimal perishables.

There's a single service Starbucks machine in every room, with coffee stocked daily by the maid service. We also called down a couple times for extra coffee and creamers, and also got some from the very friendly and accommodating cleaning staff if we happened to meet them coming or going from our room. The cafe that in the lobby that sold Starbucks products charged $4 a cup; so we saved a significant amount of money by brewing in our room.

Free, fast wifi in the lobby. There are also 5 large 23" monitors in the lobby for anyone without a tablet/ laptop or just want the advantage of a desktop surfing experience. They are connected to a printer for free printing of boarding passes, etc.

Our flight was delayed so we were moved to the Riu on Pardise Island for the extra night. The All Inclusive Riu was like being rescued from a desert island - all the free food and drink. But also gluttonous. Would never do an all inclusive again; too old to suffer drunk, indulgent partyers or the inevitable smoking. There was no smoking inside the Sheraton - but ashtrays galore in the lobby of the Riu, and some inconsiderate lit a cigar in the dining room while we were eating.

Beach is always windier on Paradise Island (we've stayed at the Comfort Inn twice for the free access to Atlantis), and enjoyable for me only on the sunniest, least windy days. Beach at the Sheraton was fabulous. If you're staying on Paradise Island, highly recommend the Comfort Inn - has everything you need for a very nice stay, free access to Atlantis which will occupy most of your days, and reasonably priced food by the quiet hotel pool. And free continental breakfast.
After reading all the hype, we ate at Twin Brothers at Da Fish Fry. Do not recommend them. Understaffed (Saturday afternoon??). Food and drink took forever. Conch salad was horrible - food processor concoction of raw conch, tomato and onions. Eat at any other restaurant on the strip who will serve food that is just as good, without the media crazed crowds.

Highly recommend the Sheraton; but budget for inflated hotel food prices or be ready to hunt and forage. But all good for looking tops in the bathing suit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, clean, modern. Great beach. Walking distance to local restaurants or grocery store. #10 bus for $1.25 is a short ride to Bay St, restaurants.
The weak points
Expensive food and drink. But that's to be expected. But easy walk or bus to the best of Nassau.
Certified

Great vacation in Nassau

, Pickering, ON
2012-08-24
This was our third stay at the Sheraton Nassau Beach and once again, we were not disappointed. Nassau is our favourite Carribean destination because of the people, food, weather and beautiful beaches! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff - friendly, professional. Amazing beach!!!
The weak points
Hotel prices for food are exorbitant but it's very easy and convenient to take a bus to the Fish Fry or downtown for real Bahamian food at reasonable prices.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021