Sandals Emerald Bay

Sandals Emerald Bay
4.184.184.184.184.18
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (14)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Great week at Sandals Great Exuma

, Toronto, ON
2016-08-22
Great resort. Staff were excellent in handling my partner food Allergies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
none
Certified

Quality Disappointing on return trip

BC
2016-08-19
Since our last visit to Emerald Bay 2 years ago a number of changes, supposedly to reduce costs have been implemented. Reduced bars quality in room,restricted menus in restaurants and quality of food provided. We have also noted Sandals always promoted an all inclusive experience but they are now charging surcharges on certain restaurants and transportation costs for airport to resort and return. NOT TOO ALL INCLUSIVE. For the amount being charged on a daily basis this is gouging wouldnt you say? For future trips to Sandals we will have to make a serious decision to return even though we have been to Sandals 4 times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful Resort!

, Toronto, ON
2016-07-20
Went for our Honeymoon and we had a great time! The resort was beautiful, the beach was stunning with crystal clear water! There were 2 pools, the main pool and a quiet pool where you could just lounge and relax. Staff were very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly staff, quiet pool to relax. Beautiful beach. Great excursions to swim with pigs and feed iguanas!
The weak points
Not enough food choices at the restaurants. Lots of "no see ums" and sand flies. Towels were always out at the pool and beach.
Certified

Great exuma experience

, Sainte-Anne-De Bellevue, QC
2015-07-21
Very Satisfactory [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff attitude and view from room.
The weak points
Pool bar service.
Certified

Sandals Emerald Bay

2015-01-21
Excellent service, friendly and helpful staff. Butler service was an added bonus. The beach, pool, food and golf course were perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Stress free and comfortable vacation with no need to be concerned about anything from beginning to end. The weather was perfect as well!
The weak points
none
Certified

Above the rest

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-21
Bahamas

Rooms
The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and spacious. We had the walk out patio which was nice to lounge at night. Only issue is when it rained, the drain spouts above made it so the water would splash onto the patio, only an issue if you want to stay out doors during the rain. I found housekeeping to be inconsistent. Sometimes we would get a shower floor towel and face towels, at times we would not. On our last day they brought us a hair dryer just randomly to our room, we never asked for it, our room never had one but we do not use one. Only issue with this is they brought it to us when we had a do not disturb sign on the door. We arrived to a barren room of supplies, no shower cap, etc, used bar of soap and used bottles of cream and shampoo, again not an issue if your not the type to use it, I'm not, I use my own. Just worth a mention since I put sandals a bit above other all-inclusives. We did not do the butler service, but did see people with coolers heading to the beach. apparently they are offered different beers then the rest of the guests, if this matters to you, it's miller and bud I think.

Beach
The beach is very wide and long. There is a volleyball net which not too many people participated. The crowd at the hotel is a little older. There are not too many cabanas but they do have these cloth shades ones that can be moved around the beach if you like.
The water is a blue and clear when the weather is good. Not good for snorkelling but the hotel offers lots of water sports, wind surfing, kayaks, paddle bike as well as a snorkelling trip - bring your own towel if you go snorkelling as they do not provide one and make you go back in the boat cold and wet as well as into the van back to the hotel cold and wet (it's only a 5 min ride but uncomfortable), they also do not provide a life vest so if your a timid swimmer the trip may not be recommended. Least favourite part of the trip bc of the towel.

Pools
There are two pools, one where all the games occur and a quiet pool. The quiet pool has cabanas with little ceiling fans, very cool.
There are also hot tubs at each of these pool areas.
The bar service at the quiet pool is limited in drinks.
The other pool has a better selection but they run out of certain things often. I like peach vodka and they only had it once. But there are high end liquors.
We also waited 5 min once to get a drink, they seemed to cater to the older crowd more promptly.

Food
The food is amazing, especially at the French and Italian restaurants which needs reservations that are easy to make. A must for both!
Breakfast isn't the greatest at the Italian restaurant unless you like eggs and bacon, then it's great. For a better selection for breakfast the Bahama bay is good. It's not the typical all-inclusive buffet it's small but has the main staples, cereal, toast etc.
There are 7 restaurants, there is a pizza place called Dino's with great pizzas you can eat there or take to go. There is a pastry place which has great coffee and pastries if you have a sweet tooth. By the pool is a restaurant called barefoot by the sea and you can go in from the pool or beach and have a meal, the food is very tasty, however, very inconsistent. I had the chicken quesidillas and at times it would come with onions and peppers other just chicken and cheese. You can also take it to go. Then there is the drucken duck which is a pub. Pub food and pool tables, dart and tvs to watch sports. We also got Stella's from here if that's your type of beer.

Service
We were part of the sandals club which I was not too aware of when booking. It means you go to a private lounge or call them to book the restaurants or the private snorkelling trip for club members only. They offer cold towels and champagne upon arrival.

I did not like that you have to leave a credit card for incidentals....shouldn't be any I would hope!
The club service includes free wifi which you can catch everywhere, including the beach.
If your package includes golf, you have to rent at least a cart which is about 60 a person.

They also offer the snorkelling trips at the sports house at the beach so don't worry if you missed the club one.

There are also people asking if you want yo go to the free 15 min photo session and people taking your picture randomly at the beach. Packages are a little expensive, around $14 a pic or about 150 to 250 a package I believe.

At the hotel and restaurants, there is always someone asking how your trip is going which is nice.

Upon departure, we checked out at the club lounge so at the airport you just drop off your luggage. My husband and I were seated away from each other even though it was not a full plane, not sure if it was the person at the hotel that did this. The hotel also packed us a box lunch since our plane departed at 130pm and we left the hotel at 11am, that was very nice. Airport is very tiny and only two stores one of which is I guess suppose to be the "duty free" one but it had nothing great. Across from the airport is an outside area that had one vendor and a bar.

Enjoy and happy travels! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good
The weak points
No consistency with food or service
Certified

Beautiful Location

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-27
Beautiful location on a wonderful beach. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Sing-along piano bar was fun. Pianist had a great personality and repetoire. Took 25 hours and 6 phone calls to get a replacement fridge. Fridge not restocked daily and glasses not replenished daily. Pub, Barefoot and pool bar all ran out of Pinot Grigio on more than one occasion. English pub does not have English beer on tap. Food at the Italian restaurant good, at the French, very good. Please make the resort completely non-smoking! Wifi coverage was terrible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendlty staff, wonderful location.
The weak points
Took 25 hours and 6 phone calls to get a working fridge. Bars/Restaurants ran out of Pinot Grigio. In room bar not restocked daily, glasses not replaced.
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Ayr, ON
2014-02-09
This was our first visit to a Sandals Resort, and it was an amazing experience. The resort is beautiful, the service fantastic, and the people there top notch! We felt like celebrities! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Resort's Dive Operation - Aqua Divers and the dive boat were beyond anything we experienced.
The weak points
Both A la Carte Reservations were not on record.
Certified

Fantastic 35th Anniversary Vacation

, Sharon, ON
2013-10-30
We've just returned from a very relaxing vacation at the SEB. We were here last year and decided this was a great place to celebrate our 35th anniversary. It's a beautiful and well run resort. Kudos to Jeremy Mutton GM, and his senior staff David Latchimy Mgr; Leighton Josephs Ops Mgr; Sharlaine of Guest Services; David Kerr Loyalty Mgr. They strive to ensure you have a great vacation. We've read many recent reviews and concur with the 5 Star ratings and comments. We will try to keep this short.
The resort and beach are beautiful. The staff are super friendly. Nice changes over last year included a bread oven near the main pool bar (you should remember to pick up butter packets during breakfast); weekly activity books rather than daily sheets; a walking/jogging trail along the back nine holes of the golf course for early morning use; and free Wi-fi (FINALLY!). We've lobbied for years for free Wi-fi at Sandals as this seems to be a standard at the better resorts we've visited in the past. I understand Wi-fi is now free at most Sandals Resorts with ClubSandals (concierge) or Butler rooms. “Luxury Included” vacations should include free Wi-fi for all customers and, at minimum, in the lobby for non Club or non Butler Guests.
The best part of the vacation was our anniversary dinner. Last year I had the Sea Bass at the La Parisienne and apparently didn't share enough of it with my wife, so I prearranged our anniversary dinner at the La Parisenne restaurant mentioning the great Sea Bass. We arrived at the restaurant and soon realized the Sea Bass was no longer offered! However, much to our delight, Hostess Anisca informed us that Sea Bass was brought in by the management specially for us. The Chef did a fantastic job cooking the fish as it was “melt in your mouth” delicious. It was truly a special night. Needless to say the La Parisienne was our favourite restaurant.
We also enjoyed the benefit of being Air Canada Vacations customers which allows us to check in our bags at the resort before transportation to the airport. It was also nice to see the return of Appleton Rum at Sandals and the addition of Sands beer.
Emerald Bay is certainly at the top of our “favourites” list and we hope to return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort and beach; management very visible and interacted with guests;friendly staff; top shelf alcohol & good food.
The weak points
Unfortunately there was a fair bit of rain which brought out the sand fleas. Didn't have that issue last year with sunny weather.
Certified

A Gem

, Niagara Falls, ON
2013-10-26
We had a fabulous time at Sandals Emerald Bay, it is definitely worth spending more to go to Sandals. The staff are very friendly and so helpful all the time, they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. I highly recommend everyone go to Sandals at least once in their lifetime. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Upon arriving at the airport, the resort is only a 10-15 ride. Check in was very quick and efficient. We enjoyed the food at the Drunken Duck(ask for the signature drink) and Barefoot by the beach the best. Rent a car, only $74/day to tour the island.
The weak points
Bugs, take bug spray, the locals say to use baby oil to keep them away. Expensive tours at resort, we used Four C's for half the price.
Certified

Great Place for relaxation in luxury

, Montreal, QC
2013-05-28
The staff is truly friendly and helpful. This is probably the best in the Bahamas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pleasant staff
The weak points
Slow maid service for special needs
Certified

3rd Trip to Emerald Bay

, Burlington, ON
2013-04-08
Always relaxing with beautiful vistas, great friendly staff and quality food. This is not a party resort but a great place to unwind and be pampered!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Food, Beach, location and Air Canada direct flight and pre check in all great. Spa services excellent.
The weak points
Missed the yoga classes provided last year and cardio equipment in the gym needs attention!!!
Certified

Sandals Emerald Bay Review

, London, ON
2013-03-20
Exceptionally well kept hotel and grounds, with fantastic restaurants/food and friendly/helpful staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful, well maintained grounds, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere
The weak points
Limited beach/ocean activity access - primarily due to weather, no fault of the resort.
Certified

If you're 65 - you will have a blast

, Barry, ON
2013-02-25
Not the right resort for couples in the 25-40 age group - BORING. Food was great, room was average and the wifi needs improvement. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great and the hotel very clean. The French Restaurant - book every night - its not fancy fancy but the food and staff were the best in the entire resort
The weak points
WIFI sucked in room, decent by pool. Nothing to do unless you are just going to lay at beach, Drunk Duck was the only place opened after 1030 - fun but after 5 nights little boring
Certified

Bahamas exuma sandals 2013

, Chelmsford, ON
2013-01-21
we were very impressed with all what the resort had to offer...the staff was impeccable...leslie was an excellent entertainer, kept us updated with all events, which we really enjoyed...pascal, the french restaurant manager was extremely friendly, we had a few good laughs whith him...the pool bar staff are very pleasant to chat with...wont forget gerard and demitris.
All the services were excellent... rooms spotless...meals to our own choices and delicious mmmmm....many choices of alcohol...what i really enjoyed the most is how the staff is happy and easy going...they all made us feel at home and with many good laughs and memories...thanks to them our holiday was a good memorable one...i cant forget to say the beach was beautiful... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff excellent...food was excellent
The weak points
should have free internet
Certified

Great times on Great Exuma

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-08
Awesome location,attentive staff, and delicious food. Their weakest link is the Il Cielo Restaurant (Italian)... its manager (Andreas)is clueless. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, guest services, friendly and attentive staff, food, spacious and comfortable rooms.
The weak points
very isolated island. Not much to do or see. Limited access to rental vehicles. Il Cielo Restaurant (à la carte) food is good... if it gets to your table.Manager seems overwhelmed and unqualified,would make a great greeter though.
Certified

Great Exuma hotel, Bahamas

, Etobicoke, ON
2012-12-05
Place was very beautiful. People were very friendly from all of the restaurant.The kitchen Chef Ms. Angela from Bahama bay was so nice who tried to prepare a vegetarian meal for my wife. Overall, It was truly amazing:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall it was very beautiful. Needed vegetarian meal for vegetarian people.
The weak points
Not too much choice of vegetarian meal for vegetarian people.
Certified

Sandals Bahamas Great Exuma

, Stoney Creek, ON
2012-09-29
-Excellent Room-Villas (all ocean side with elevator & air conditioned hallways, service access for personnel golf truck trough back of villas, i.e. no golf carts on pedestrian walkways),
-excellent beach (bay location, shallow turquoise clean water, perfect sand, no rocks),
-excellent food (french restaurant, itialian restaurant, french pattisserie
>Excellent sports (7 tennis courts, beautiful golf course by the water)
>Excellent service without tips (service personnel is not allowed to receive tips)
-proximity to airport (15 min drive in taxi) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Hotel-room, restaurant, service, location, proximity to airport
The weak points
15 $/day or 45$/week for HiFi internet access. But who needs internet in paradise?
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2012-09-28
Our experience was excellent the hotel is wonderful and the staff is excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is excellent the staff is excellent the restaurants and food is excellent
The weak points
Sand flies bite
Certified

Heavenly Holiday

, Orangeville, ON
2012-09-18
We are a 35 & 40 year old couple who went to Sandals for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We are well travelled people (Caribbean, Pacific islands & Europe) with this being our first Sandals experience. In our opinion, this was not the best all inclusive resort for the money that we have stayed at but it was in our top 3. Overall the trip was fantastic & we would visit Sandals again.
The resort is stunning! Grounds & accommodations were immaculate. There was a musty smell to our room upon arrival but went away if you kept the door closed & the a/c on. If you opened the patio door for more than a couple of minutes, everything in the room fogged (d/t the extreme heat outside & the cool temp inside) so it's no wonder there is a mustiness, however, the room was impeccable-including the bed & linen (which I am very particular about). The beach & ocean were pure heaven, activities abundant and service was fantastic. The golf was amazing. My husband wanted to throw his clubs in the ocean a couple of times as it is a very challenging golf course but the beauty of it will captivate you & melt away any frustrations. A round with the pro (a fellow canadian) was much enjoyed. Tennis pro "Spongebob" also a treat. Golf & tennis a must do at Emerald Bay, even if you're a beginner.
As per other reviews, sand fleas, aka "no-se-ems", were an issue (guests looked like we had the measles) & we were disappointed in the snorkelling. Dining was ok with the highlight being the french restaurant, but could be improved by adding another restaurant with more fresh fish options. We were disappointed that fresh fish was limited on menus considering the location, but if you asked in advance, they would try to accommodate you the next day. The staff at the resort are like that...should you want anything, they will try to make it happen for you-but you DO have to ask. They are simply fantastic & truly make up for any shortcomings one may experience.
Would recommend to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach & beach activities, plenty of pool side seating, the staff, premium beverage choices (loved ability to order Bombay gin, Guiness, Drambuie & Grand Marnier), the french restaurant, golf course. Resort almost at capacity but never felt crowded
The weak points
Sand fleas, $ for internet, lack of fresh fish menu options, nightly entertainment lacking. Noticeable divide between those with & without butler service, as would be expected given the additional cost . Felt shunned at times by staff without butler.
Certified

Pure Bliss

, Brampton, ON
2012-08-07
I haven't been to a lot of resorts however I don't think resorts can get any better than what Sandals Emerald Bay has to offer. It is simply put, perfect! From the first day we arrived till the last day we left, we were pampered to the max, all our needs were looked after. Butler service was great and all 3 butlers we had were extremely helpful. Special recommendation for our butlers Ainsworth, Bernard and Deepak who gave a new meaning to the word 'professionalism'. Rest of the resort staff was no different either. Everyone was very personal and kind and all our needs were always met. If you go to this resort, definitely look into butler service villas. We don't know how but our butlers ALWAYS knew when we were away from our villa and they would sneak in and leave a surprise. Whether it be a hot bubble bath waiting for us or a towel-bunny on the bed with chocolates. That being said, they also respect your privacy to the max when you hang the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door. I could go on and on about the resort but it's hard to put it in words. It is simply the most blissfull and enjoyment fill experience we have ever had. We will definitely be going back in future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer Service and over-all friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the resort, quality of services offered and overall atmosphere at the resort.
The weak points
Food could have been better. We found only a very few items from each restaurant were worth trying again.
Certified

Sandals Emerald Bay Resort

, Ashburn, ON
2012-05-23
The resort is in a beautiful location on Emerald Bay and is very well maintained with many upgrade features. Tennis courts, pool, golf course and spa were all wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great team of staff, very friendly and helpful. Butlers are a treat, professional and fun as well. Golf course is tough but fair.
The weak points
nothing specific although the airport in Great Exuma is tiny and crammed with people when we were leaving.
Certified

Great beach

, Mississauga, ON
2012-03-10
Fantasic beach and resort. Food needs to be improved, no consistentcy. Was not impressed with internet service( rarely worked) The rooms were great, although had to change rooms, because it was suppose to be ocean front, had a view overlooking a building, the manager on duty was very helpful and moving us to a new room. The shower pressure and Air conditioning was horrible, I complained 3 times, they sent someone to look at it, nothing was done. Spend the exta money and get the bulter service and room on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is unbelieveable, rooms are very nice, location of resort beautiful. Most staff friendly. Great golf course.
The weak points
The food was hit /miss, the French place had good starters, the main course was terrible. I odered the steak fillet, looked like a hambuger patty, as for the Italian place first dinner was Ok the second time we went it was great. Internet sucked!
Certified

Truely Relaxing!!!

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2012-01-25
My husband and I haven't had a chance to get a way for a while. All the vacations are with little girls...So this one was just for us. We cannot wait to go back, and miss the island everyday. The people on the island and the resort are wounderful. If you treat all with respect and warm heart, then you get that in return! We made many friends of the locals as well as fellow travellers :) The last day there was just about teary with some of the gals at Sandals. We became friends and had to part too soon :( We came to the resort at the right time, since it was only 35% full. Loved it!! Nice and calm yet still lots of fun. Good service, very little wait time. There were some excemptions :) The beache is amazing. It feels like you are in the middle of no where. No crowds, and no one trying to sell you anything! That is a big plus to us! As the resort building itsef, it is very nice but no wow factor, few little cosmetic details need to be adressed but nothing to spoil your time there. The basic room was nice, but the bed was noisy LOL if you know what I mean, though they were comfy. Food was very nice. Our fav was the French rest. We got to go there few times and met very tallented chef/s. Tip: if you make good friends with any of the waiters/es - they will try to sneak you in even when its is fully booked. Thank you Sterlingnator!:)
So if your not stupid picky and easy going, this is the place. We were spoiled way too much, coming home to reality was :((((
All in all-the staff is GREAT, get to know them, the place is perfect for relaxation, the food is great, and the ocean is amazing. We stayed in building#4 great walking distance to everything. Building#3 is right across the bar and nightly fun. Builings #6-7are a good hike :)
Some cons for those who look:
-There are sand flies but there was two cans of bug spray in our room, so no issues
-the quiet pool area needs a little face lift
-We ordered in room service and never got the food, so after an hour my hubby just went to the pub and got some good food there
-There is a certain smell to the water. It is all RO treated. But the smell wasn't to pleasant taking a hot shower
-Gift shop is pricy, so wait till Monday or Friday to shop for gifts, thats when the merchants come to the resort, all home made stuff!
-The boat tour from the resort is way too overpriced. Call FourC- captain Pat, he charges half of what the other guys charge and the trip with him was a total blast, u won't regret it!!
-For beer lovers, well your selection is low especially for the english pub. Only 4-5 to choose from
-If your planning a midnight swim, grab extra beach towels during the day, finding any in the evening or night is hard to come by. Hint if ur stuck like we were, go the quite pool and look under the counter where the bartenders are(hut). We found a small stash there :))
-The spa was pricy but the products are very nice and so are the prices, since there is no chemicals in them. They are all natural, even the sunscreen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-great people -good food -amazing location -assistant mang. is an Opera Singer!!Very talented!!! -nice grounds and layout -room was done up twice a day!!Always came back in envening, and the night light was on and the bed was made just to get in :))
The weak points
-water in rooms stank -in room service is iffy -quiet pool area needs face lift and some attention to details -beds are squeaky
Certified

WOW - Worth every penny

, Burlington, ON
2012-01-10
It's even better than the pictures. Beach is spectacular & secluded. Hotel grounds, staff, rooms are exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
secluded paradise, great service & food is hot & fresh & served by very friendly staff. Do the 007 tour - see swimming pigs, sharks & the local area
The weak points
water pressure in the showers is so-so. No where to shop but this is a good thing too!
Certified

Paradise close to home in Exuma!

, Barrie, ON
2011-11-14
Another fabulous Sandals vacation. 17th Sandals visit and again, never a disappointment. Beautiful property, wonderful staff, great food, calm turquoise waters on a soft white beach. Butler service awesome again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sandals staff.
The weak points
Sand fleas or mosquitos. Bring repellent, although they to do provide in the room and spray daily.
Certified

Sandals Emerald Bay “Jewel of the Caribbean”

, Woodville, ON
2011-10-31
We just returned from one of the best week holidays at the lovely Sandals Emerald Bay Resort & Spa. This is by far the top of the Sandals chain of resorts. The people that work at this picture perfect location are the best. Mr. Mutton, Sonya, Leighton, Kyle, Big Dave & there staff all are great people & treat you as family.
There are five restaurants in total & each one has great food & refreshing drinks.
Two restaurants are with reservations only the Italian & French. They are very fine service with meals that would suit a great 5 star restaurant. The Italian has a desert bar that is to die for.
The Drunken Duck is a great English style bar/restaurant & is great for a few drinks & having lots of fun. The food there is pub fare & great.
This resort has French pastry patio, which has different pastries every day & some of the finest coffees.
The beach has white sand & long, with rolling blue/green ocean surf. The beach is great for long walks & enjoying the sun. There are no vendors on this beach so it is very peaceful.
The resort is a short distance from the airport & is a stress free reception. All the rooms at this location are great, from the lowest room to the top villa.
All in all this resort has the perfect setting for a relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people & Resort
The weak points
not many activities off resort yet
Certified

Disappointing

, Mississauga, ON
2011-06-27
Sandals Emerald Bay is not up to the standard expected of a Sandals resort. Service in all restaurants is slow at best and there is limited a la carte dining available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, scenic.
The weak points
Restaurants and service leave much to be desired. Needs more deck chairs at the pool. Some butlers could be friendlier, some try too hard.
Certified

Way Beyond Expectations!!!

, Aurora, ON
2011-06-11
My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. On arrival room was not ready but no problem had lunch at the Pizzeria and then headed back to lobby where we were met by our Butler. We had upgraded to a Emerald Bay beachfront penthouse. It was very nice but did not have a couch to sit on and since we would be there a whole week and my husband likes to watch a little late night tv he would have had to do that from our bed. Too disturbing so I spoke to Charlene at the front dest (think she is some kind of manager) and she was wonderful. We were upgraded to a Collosal beachfront penthouse which was perfect. Our butlers Donard, Lallu and Corey were all wonderful. No request was denied including asking for lobster tails as a snack to our room before heading over to Il Cielo for dinner. How does that sound???? Everyhting is beautiful the only downside is they need more restaurants which I understand they are adding. A Frenchone is coming in July. Once 2 or 3 more restaurants are added you will have more choices for dinner and I will definitely ba back. By the way, the transfer from the airport is only 10 minutes not like other Sandals that can tak upwards of an hour. This was our 2nd visit to a Sandals and I can't wait for the 3rd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
!st class resort
The weak points
MOre dining choices needed
Certified

10th wedding annerversary

, Caledon, ON
2011-03-28
Overall very good once you have been to a Sandals resort you very quickly realize thats the only way to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach & ocean were just unbeleivable
The weak points
golf was quite expensive
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Great Exuma's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021