Grand Lucayan Resort Bahamas

Grand Lucayan Resort Bahamas
3.653.653.653.653.65
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Lighthouse Pointe, Fantastic!!!

, Spruce Grove, AB
2016-04-12
Our week at the Lighthouse Pointe was Amazing. Great facilities and staff, the best food we have had at a Caribbean all-inclusive! Beach and pools were breathtaking.
A dream come true. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Second honeymoon

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-02-16
after only one day we realized that all our wants and needs were met at this resort and especially the staff who worked hard to prove the truth printed right ont he room key a year of YES !
All requested and questions were dealt with professional experience and a light humor. Even the weather proved that it is better in the Bahamas and our tans are the proof... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
English response made all interaction easy!
The weak points
Need to tell more travellers about direct flights
Certified

Grand Lucayan Resort Grand Bahamas

, Utterson, ON
2015-02-02
Grand Lucayan is NOT an all inclusive resort, were told they accommodate certain airline clents so do not go there thinking you will get all inclusive service.
All inclusive guests have to sign chits for everything, including get a cup of coffee. Guests have to pay for water and are give only 2 small bottles of water each day. No other
refreshments were provided in the room. If you wanted a juice you had to go to the Cafe and sign for it.
The resort restaurants were open on sporadic nights and we only saw the buffet Willy Broadleaf open on 2 evenings of our stay.
The pool was so cold that we did not see anyone in it our entire stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches
The weak points
Not and should not be sold as an all inclusive resort
Certified

Nice beach, terrible staff, stay away!

, Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC
2015-01-09
We stayed at the Gran Lucayan from Dec 28th to Jan 4th, as a family, with young children, and with friends as well.
Although the beach is beautiful, it does not make up for the terrible service...first off, on our first night, we checked in, went to our room to leave our things, went to get a bite to eat only to come back and find strangers in our room...the service desk had deactivated our keys and given the room to other people...we went to sort this out...BUT THIS HAPPENED A TOTAL OF 3 TIMES IN THE SHORT WEEK WE STAYED THERE....at some point you get annoyed of your room being given away...and having the door opened by strangers...then, we went to Churchill restaurant for supper, with reservations at 8...nine o'clock rolls around...10 o'clock...no food...then the server lets me know that they are out of the type of dish I ordered....it took them 2 hours to figure that out??? I told them to bring me whatever...so at 10:30, they brought me a piece of fish, no sides, burnt on the edges and cold in the middle...then, the 3 first days, we didn't get room service...each time we complained, the front desk said: well, it's because you're in the room now, I can't ask them to clean it...no we're not, we're standing in front of you...always such a rude tone, even and especially when they are the ones in the wrong...no apologies...these are some examples of the things that happened there...honest if I read such a review I wouldn't believe it...but it's true...sad but true...

when you chose the all inclusive option, they make you sign a bill and they charge it to your credit card, and clear the charge when you leave...beware and keep a copy because upon checkout, friends who vacationed at the same time as us received a 800$ bill, although they were in an all inclusive option as well...the charge was a mistake, but still...as well, your all inclusive package ends at 11 on the day of your departure...so if your flight is at 8 pm well, too bad so sad, you cannot consume any refreshments unless you pay for them, something I have never seen anywhere else...other than that there is no entertainment, for kids or adults, thank God there is the little marketplace in front of the hotel or we would have had no party for the New year...the beach is clean and beautiful, and the lady at the Waves bar is very nice (the only one...) needless to say, I would never go there again...and I wouldn't recommend you do either... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-beach -location
The weak points
-staff -service

Grand lucayan resort

, Whitby, ON
2014-03-05
A beautiful property in great need of renovations. The sandy beach and the vivid blue ocean are fantastic but with only six umbrellas there is no relief from the hot sun. One side of the property along the beach was almost abandoned while the other side was packed with people. It would be great to have some chairs and umbrellas brought to the other side to thin out the crowds. Churchhill's food was not great and was extremely over priced for what was served. Their wine prices were very inflated. With the flying fish restaurant and the shops nearby, the lucayan is a convenient place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic beach and so close to my favourite restaurant The Flying Fish.
The weak points
Need more umbrellas on the beach. It's so sad that no renos are planned for this wonderful piece of real estate.
Certified

Below expectations

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-03
Hotel was fine and clean. Maid was very nice, all other staff were more than unfriendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and pools. Great food.
The weak points
Your staff was rude and most seemed to HATE the service industry.
Certified

Great trip!

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-19
The hotel is good and, for the price, I would certainly return. I would not bother with the all inclusive option (we didn't and were very happy) as the food at the hotel is not very good, with the exception of the Plantation Café which does good breakfasts, deserts and gelato. We were upgraded to a room with a fantastic patio, however, I would be wary of booking an island view room. Many of these rooms are right over the air conditioning units for the hotel, which are loud and would preclude use of the balcony. The staff and island generally are exceedingly friendly and relaxed which made for a fantastic February getaway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The price, cocktails, Plantation Café, pools and staff are definitely strengths.
The weak points
The food and service at the restaurants are a definite weak point. I would not spend the money for the Churchill restaurant - it is 2 star food, 0 star service for 5 star prices.
Certified

Good value

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-29
This property is in transition as of January 2013. Once renovations are complete and all facilities are open it will be a different story, but right now this is a good option for a short get-away as long as your expectations are not too high. The food is nothing to rave about, but adequate. Bar service is not great, but okay. Don't expect the experience of a lifetime, but if you want a cheap get-away for a few days this is good value.

Lots of old people stay here, so not exactly a party hot-spot, but decent place for families or seniors. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, good value, and friendly staff.
The weak points
Food is passable, but nothing special. Bar service is difficult. All-inclusive option is a pain (have to sign for every expense, and often long wait times for service).
Certified

Great food

, Lefroy, ON
2014-01-26
The food at this hotel was exceptional especially the desserts that were baked fresh daily. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly apart from some of the front desk staff. The internet didn't work in our room. We had a nice view of the ocean. Avoid the 10th floor if you want to get any sleep. There is a constant noise coming from the air conditioning units on the roof. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was clean and some of the staff were friendly. The location was great and the food was really good.
The weak points
Some of the front desk staff were unfriendly. We booked an all inclusive which was suppose to include golf. They said we could only golf one day. They wouldn't honour the paperwork I had with me saying unlimited 2 for 1 golf. We were very disappointed
Certified

Wonderful time

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-01
everything was great and will go back in the near future [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and everything about the hotel about excellent
The weak points
should be everything on the menu be all inclusive.
Certified

Mixed feelings

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-24
Upon arrival at the hotel, had to wait 40 minutes to check in as there was only one person at the front desk despite the arrival of a bus with new guests. The interior of our room was fine but the view was definitely not an island view. It was atrocious, more like the Hotel HVAC view - this room should not be assigned to guests!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was nice and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The view from our room was appauling. See attached photo.
Certified

Mixed feelings

, Burlington, ON
2013-03-24
Overall Grand Bahamas Island is worth the visit but the Grand Lucayan had some mixed issues. I would not recommend doing all inclusive because you have a different coloured arm band and it is almost like you are treated as the outcast. All food items and number of beverages you can get at one time is limited. In summary, the Managment staff are wonderful but the regular ordinary staff members are not all trained the same. We had a great time on the island but not at the resort itself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The facility itself and definately location.
The weak points
The all inclusive package and staffing.
Certified

Loved Grand Lucayan Resort

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-02
We loved it! The swimming pools were beautiful, the beach had powder-soft sand, grounds were lovely, staff were helpful and friendly, resort felt safe, food was good and reasonably priced, room was spacious with great balcony. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools beautiful; beach fabulous, room spacious, staff excellent, pool bar great, food good
The weak points
None that I can think of.
Certified

Grand Lucayan

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-20
Great place to come with friends, the staff made you feel so welcome. Rooms are very nice and clean, balconies and view are very private and beautiful. Food was good, selection limited, but we ate out a lot at dinner and it was still worth the cost. They play great Bahamian music throughout the resort which is great but not when they leave it on all night long and you can hear it if you have your door open. Great experience, best location on the island, across the street from Port Lucaya and next door to the casino. Not the best beach on the island but definitely best location for walking, dining, bars and entertainment in the square. The Bahamian people are what make it magical. Would definitely go again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff - SO lovely, kind, warm,polite, helpful, professional (esp the ladies at breakfast). Pools were nice, lots of lovely beach/pool chairs. Grounds are gorgeous - so clean, lovely
The weak points
Having to sign for every drink or meal and being given receipts to carry around. Very limited dining choices and only being allowed to order a very limited amount of items from the menu. Hearing "that is not included" makes people feel second class.
Certified

Relaxing

, Chelmsford, ON
2012-12-18
This is a really nice resort! The beach is absolutely perfect, you can walk for miles. We wanted to have a quite, relaxing vacation.

The resort is apparently under renovation and a lot of things were closed. We should have been informed that when the cruise ships come in, people can buy passes to use the beach and facilities. It goes from dead quite to crazy busy when they come! Also, sleeping in? Forget it! The tractor starts grooming the beach at 6:30 am! And all maintenance work shortly follows. Good thing we're easy going :) Still very happy with our trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, perfect beach.
The weak points
Disappointed that the beautiful pool pictured wasn't operating. Also, seemed like only one restaurant was open at a time and we were never really sure whIch one it was going to be. Very noisy in the mornings and crowed when the cruise ships come in.
Certified

Grand Lucayan

, Toronto, ON
2012-11-14
Huge facility. We visited in November, not very busy. Loved the quiet. Hotel was clean and simple. Enough activities if interested. Hotel can arrange snorkelling and other day trips. Very friendly staff. Food could have been a bit better. All in all a great long weekend. Did not do all inclusive which I heard from other guests was smart as only certain restaurants and menu items available, doesn't include tennis and snorkelling. Better to have the choice and be able to eat offsite. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
My husband and I were very happy with our stay. Very relaxing and staff friendly. Beautiful beach and pool. If you are just looking to chill out this is a great place to go and pretty good value. Marketplace across the street gave more food options.
The weak points
Food was not great. We were not there in high season so many onsite restaurants were not open limiting choices.
Certified

Paradise at the Radisson

, Markham, ON
2012-06-23
Can't say enough about how nice this hotel was, very clean, service was excellent and the views of the ocean on the balcony were spectacular. Infinity pools were excellent and clean and the restaurants on the grounds and across the street at the market were great. No complaints, a nice relaxing vacation! Can't wait to get back there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent value for the money, no need to go all-inclusive here, many options. Great friendly people
The weak points
Front desk at check-in could of been faster but it was sufficient.
Certified

Very Relaxing

, North York, ON
2012-02-23
This hotel is a great place if you want to just rest and relax (which I wanted). Since there is no loud music at night you can get a good night's rest. There are little activities around the pool but nothing special (ie. Bingo). Basically a great place just to chill and relax.

I also agree with previous comments made about the all inclusive package. I regretfully choose this package only to find out about all the restrictions and limited variety of choices on the menu. Not only that but it is like reverse discrimination because you went "all inclusive". The waiters seem unwilling to serve or serve you last if there is a paying customer. Not impressive!!

You will do alot better not to take the "all inclusive" package. Lots of restaurants at affordable prices in the market. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel with excellent gym facilities
The weak points
All Inclusive Package. Very Disappointing
Certified

DISAPOINTED WITH THE

, North York, ON
2012-02-22
Overall experience is is good and the Radisson is worthy of it's 4 star rating. The only bad thing about our stay was the "all inclusive" package we bought extra with this trip (European Plan also available). The selection of food is very restricted and the choices are very limited. Although we didn't get sick from the food, it became very boring and repetitive for 7 days. It also appeared that if you had the "all inclusive " package the wait staff treated you differently from the "paying" guests. The service was much slower and the service not as friendly as if you were to pay cash for your meal. You also had to sign for everything which I'm not quite sure why and when I asked them why they said they had to account for the food???? Needless to say I was disappointed with the "all inclusive" and to be treated like a second class citizen was less than a positive experience.

If you opt for the European plan you will definitely have a great time as you can pick and choose what you want to eat and get better service with a "smile". From a monetary point of view you will definitely come up ahead as well and be happier.

Everything else about the hotel and facilities are great and the beaches and pools are well maintained.You will have a great time but jut don't do the "all inclusive" package. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel itself is very nice and beautiful. Pool and beaches fantastic and plenty of lounge chairs to go around. The gym facilities are also fantastic and compatible to "Goodlife".
The weak points
The "all inclusive" disappointing and the attitude of some of the wait staff could be better.
Certified

Freeport weekend

, Mississauga, ON
2011-12-14
The hotel room itself was excellent however the room faced a very loud facility for AC or pumps that made it impossible to sit on the balcony. All rooms at the rear of the Grand Lucaya are like this. We checked out early. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and restaurants
The weak points
Noise at rear of hotel
Certified

Lovely Time

, Clarksburg, ON
2011-11-23
Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Beautiful beaches. The market is a great place to gather and eat. Staff were very friendly, but the front desk don't seem to care tht I booked a king bed with a view. To Bad pay for it they said. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches were clean and beautiful
The weak points
Front staff were slow and not listening to our complaints
Certified

Good hotel

, Oshawa, ON
2011-11-17
Great hotel, very clean and well kept. All inclusive plan was confusing. When we first checked in, nothing was said except that we were on the all inclusive plan. Then a few hours later, we got a call explaining that they forgot to give us a letter about what was included. We proceed to pick up the letter, only to find out that since the time we checked in & the time we got this letter, the drinks we had were not included in the all inclusive. Hotel staff seem to know little about the all inclusive plan or what was included, as everyone we asked said all drinks were included except in 1 bar - which is not the case. Not all restaurants were open and certain nights there was confusion over where dinner was served as well. Overall though, I would definitely go back and recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach. Hotel service was very good and hotel overall was very clean.
The weak points
All inclusive plan was confusing, and restaurant selection was limited.
Certified

Bahama vacation at the Radisson

, Thunder Bay, ON
2011-03-19
Enjoyed our visit...very nice hotel with good service. More restaurants that are open daily would be nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the beach, nice room with a balcony that allowed access to enjoy sunny afternoons and an ocean view!
The weak points
Food....not enough restaurants at the hotel that stayed open for all meals ie. one very nice restaurant only open for breakfasts. All very expensive for the quality of food.
Certified

Review Title

, Markham, ON
2011-02-22
Had a great holiday week! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, Quiet, Safe!
The weak points
Internet access was limited to the business section if you do not have a computer - it is far away
Certified

The good and the bad

, Markham, ON
2011-02-19
The blue/green beach/ocean was incredible. The hotel room was very adequate with comfortable beds and the ocean view room spectacular.
My main concern is with the "all inclusive" package. I was very disappointed with the manner in which this is rolled out. We were given restrictive menus with restrictive restaurants. The "all inclusive" restaurants were not open every night, thus making the choices even more restricted. I did make my opinion known to the front desk, where they were very polite, but basically saying "that's the way it is". I was also extremely disappointed in the fact that when we checked out, by 11 a.m. on the last day,to be picked up at 3:30 p.m. for the airport, we were not entitled to any inclusive drinks or food. As a good gesture the Radisson could have given us a food/drink vouchers which would ensure there was no further charges billed to the room. Technically it is not a 7 day "all inclusive" package, as we only had dinner on the arrival day and breakfast on the departure day. Again, when I voiced my opinion I was told that the supervisor would be available at a certain time. I replied that I believe they should be interested in my opinon and should make more effort to contact me. Please do not take this as "sour grapes" but as my constructive opinion. I have been to many vacation spots and I do believe that there is definitely room for improvement in the "all inclusive" packages at Radisson.
Would I return to Freeport and the Radisson? Yes, but I would definitely not get the "all inclusive" package. There are many restaurants on the premises, with unrestrictive menus as well as many across the street at the Marketplace. When you have experienced "all inclusive vacations" elsewhere, and you choose the Radisson as your next vacation spot don't be surprised at the differences. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Grounds, Hotel
The weak points
All inclusive package Lack of entertainment
Certified

Great Holiday

, Welland, ON
2011-01-29
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful. The food was amazing! Large portions and delicious! The mudslides and beer great! Location is awesome. Love to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, amazing food, Beautiful beach, friendly staff
The weak points
No poolside service.
Certified

Very Nice

, Barrie, ON
2010-12-27
Service, food, cleanliness and availability of activities and shopping great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was a lovely hotel in a great location with everything we needed. Food was good with lots to choose from. Safe--Police Station next door. Shopping across the street. Water sports and activities i.e. swim with Dolphins all close by.
The weak points
Nothing for teenager and mother to do in evening--no shows to go to at the time we went.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Freeport's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021