Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort And Spa
4.034.034.034.034.03
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Sandals Antigua

, Mississauga, ON
2017-04-11
Many aspects of the hotel were beautiful. Our room in particular was excellent! Staff generally very friendly.
Would recommend to friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room with the Club Level room service. Grounds were beautifully kept with pools and lounge areas very welcoming and convenient.
The weak points
Limited variety of beer offered. Food was not at the caliber expected (English Pub and the Tex-Mex restaurant).
Certified

Return visitor to Sandals Antigua

, Brampton, ON
2017-03-28
We have visited this Sandals 2 times in the last two years. The hotel is located on Dickenson Bay about 20 minutes from the airport. We passed through immigration very smooth and friendly no issues. The hotel is spread out along the beach. The beach is very clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful with whatever you need help with. We had an excellent choice of restaurants. Great steak restaurant (Ok corral) Kimonos was entertaining and great food. Lots of choices of pools all through the resort and a large pool with swim up bar available. This was our 21 visit to a Sandals and we are seniors now but we have never had an issue at any Sandals. All the staff at each of the resorts we visited have been excellent. At Antigua both times we visited over the last 2 years the top managers can be seen every day out checking all the facilities every day. The general Manager whose name is Mr. G could be seen every day talking to all the guests around the pools and even in the restaurants checking to see that everything was running smoothly. If you visit this resort you will meet Mr G. An excellent manager. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and managers were excellent. A beautiful resort on a beautiful island.
The weak points
There are no weak points. All is good.

Grande Antigua

, Port Elgin, ON
2017-03-13
Nice property, well maintained, and friendly staff. Many open air restaurants - birds were a bit of a problem at times, as well as cats. Large beach area - numerous pools on property, no shortage of places to sit and relax. Good variety of food - Italian Restaurant Mario's was very good. Weather was excellent, sunny and in high 80's daily (very little precipation). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly Staff
The weak points
Problem with birds in restaurant area
Certified

Sandals-Antigua

, Calgary, AB
2016-03-20
Fantastic service from start to finish! A Sandals shuttle from the airport to the Resort, champagne and personal attention in the lobby as we waited to check in, and that didn't take long at all. Our room was great and there was no need to change it. An oceanview and interior design as paid for, and frankly we didn't need a room that nice. Next time we will go more basic on the room and save money that way.We didn't spend enough time in the room we had to justify its luxury. This Sandals has 10 or 11 different restaurants to pick from, all with great food, and unfortunately my weigh-scale shows it! MANY on-site activities are included in the price and the snorkeling was great. There are aprox 750 staff on-site, a ratio of about 1:1 re guests, and they are all VERY cheerful, friendly, courteous, and helpful. The grounds of this particular Resort are amazingly landscaped and beautiful! We will definitely return to a Sandals, although we will try a different location to compare. Next time, we will be more active about going to the gym and going on excursions. The beach is very nice. Yes there are numerous local peddlars marketing their wares but they do NOT harass people and if spoken to politely, they will act in kind. This vacation EXCEEDED our expectations. Special mention for going above and beyond goes to Gemma the Manager at The Drunken Duck, Violet at the Barefoot Restaurant, and Telice at the Bayshore Restaurant. Sandals also is great at providing gluten-free alternatives at most if not all of their restaurant locations here. We met lots of great people (guests) from England, USA, and Canada. It's a tiring travel experience from Calgary through Toronto then down and back up, but it is what it is. It was a dream vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

I expect a bit more from a Sandals

, Calgary, AB
2016-02-12
I have been to several Sandals, this is my least favourite. I found the staff not overly friendly and the food was nothing exceptional. The resort needed some updating in the older section - serious updating. The beach was beautiful though! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location and beach
The weak points
needs updates!
Pro

Excellent resort

, Sutton West, ON
2013-12-06
This was a surprise trip for my wife which ended up as a wonderful surprise for both of us. It was a great trip form beginning to end.The resort was gorgeous the beach fabulous the food and service top notch. The people were very friendly and helpful. The concierge was excellent in making our stay memorable. We enjoyed it so much that we made resesrvations to return again next year. We elected to return to Antigua but you are offered deals on other sandals resorts We definitely recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach. Although there are seveal pools we stayed on the beach. Choice of food was very good. Activities are plentiful
The weak points
Vendors are present on the beach are but with a polite no thank you they move on. For many this is a living for them.
Certified

Sanals Grande Antigua

, Oakville, ON
2013-08-13
From check in with champagne and cool towels waiting, to good weather all week, it was a fantastic place to stay and play. Snorkelling was awesome! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous property - well maintained. Delicious meals. Only complaint - too many choices for dinner!
The weak points
A few more lunch choices would have been nice. Lots of walking, but that is a good thing when you eat and drink so much!
Certified

Sandals

, Holland Landing, ON
2013-04-02
Everything was perfect.
Great food, beach and very friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and service
The weak points
We had to leave
Certified

Sandals Grande Antigua

, Campbellville, ON
2013-03-01
This place was amazing. Staff were overly friendly and the beach was to die for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach; excellent food; loved the wine
The weak points
Not enough beach huts or umbrellas at the pools. Its almost as if they are forcing you to get butler service to automatically get a beach hut saved.
Certified

Amazing resort

, Cumberland, ON
2013-02-26
This is our 2nd Sandals and this resort lived up to all of our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was amazing. A great variety of restaurants to choose from and the food was excellent. The venetian ocean view suite was spacious and comfortable. Friendly staff. Great variety of excursions.
The weak points
Beach vendors are a constant bother. Mixup of reservations for the restaurants by the front desk.
Certified

Very good, but not great

, Peterborough, ON
2013-01-15
Great resort, friendly staff, beautifully landscaped.Prior to our departure we looked at the menus on the web site and had many discussions about which app we were going to try first,and which main we were going to get, and were very much looking forward to the food part of our trip.Please be aware that what you actually get is nowhere near what is shown.
We had some very good meals, mostly at lunch, but found overall that the food was good but not great. Many dishes were extremely salty, and again the selection was not as great as depicted on the web site. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, close to airport and St. Johns. Beautiful resort. Great free snorkeling
The weak points
Food
Certified

New Years Week

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-08
Lovely grounds, polite and welcoming staff. Water sports team was great and helpful. Food was good but menu at the reservation restaurants was the same every day of the week. Getting hot food at the buffets was a challenge too. Beach vendors were everywhere. They left you alone after you said no thanks but there were just so many of them coming at you all day long. The beach is a public beach so when the cruise ships docked, it got very busy and chaotic. Understandably lots of families with kids so if you are expecting a quiet beach with no kids, think again. Also, Sandals has so many "classes" of service and it was annoying to walk the beach to try and find lounge chairs that did not have a "reserved" sign on them. There were other chairs but you had to look for them and they were at the ends of the beach, not central. We did not use the pools so not sure if this was the same situation there. Rooms were not made up until late in the afternoon (530pm often) and then maids were around to turn down the beds by 630pm. Unbelieveably in this day and age, we had to pay for wifi service in the resort. It was 42.99 for the week and often we could not get on and connect to the system because the system said there were too many users. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport Good snorkeling Nice watersports team. Restaurants right on the beach with lovely ocean views Beautiful manicured grounds with lots of places to sit and rest. Coconut ice cream is to die for. Nice friendly staff
The weak points
Paying for undependable wifi Beach vendors Menu selection Food in the buffets always lukewarm Reservation signs for concierge or butler class
Certified

SANDALS GRANDE ANTIGUA

, Burlington, ON
2012-12-24
We had a lovely time at this resort. Food is excellent. Lots of variety. Service was friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport. Great food. Very clean.
The weak points
Small beach.
Certified

Outstanding

, Burlington, ON
2012-12-14
Weve travelled the Carribean 7 times from Jamaica, Punta Cana, Aruba, Hawaii, Mexico.
Of all the places weve been, this resort by far, is the cleanest, most freindly and above all the most convieniant of all.
We are a married couple and apreciate the finer things in life. This Resort, may not be on the top of the Resort Leader Board by by all means, is and has everything that you would dream of at a holiday resort, This Is A Resort!
We highly recommend it, it goes so well with the ambiance of Antigua. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
*Great food *Great facility *The staff, so easy to talk to,easy to understand your needs and so quick to accomodate. *The beaches were great, the water warm like bath water. *The pools were clean and not over crowded. *The grounds, impeckable.
The weak points
We had to leave....
Certified

FANTASTIC HONEYMOON

, Virgil, ON
2012-10-29
My husband and I had an amazing time at Sandals Grand Antigua and would highly recommend it to all. It was definitely worth the price, the accomodations, location, service were far beyond any other resort I have stayed. We cannot wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was incredible, the best resort food I have had. The staff were exceptional, extremely friendly and always there when you need something. Resort and grounds are just beautiful, simply paradise.
The weak points
The mosquitos, just take bug spray!!!
Certified

Great Holiday

, West Lorne, ON
2012-09-04
Great loved it staff was great food was great weather was really good we missed the bad weather [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Place !
The weak points
Had to leave :(
Certified

FANTASTIC!!!!

, Markham, ON
2012-05-23
I went there to celebrate my weddingmoon - our wedding & honeymoon :) My husband and I had a blast. The resort, staff & wedding department are incredible! The service was amazing and so were the people! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing to complain about - a great resort!
The weak points
Internet could have been a bit better, it was hard to access in a few areas.
Certified

Ok stay but room terrible

, Belle River, ON
2012-03-12
The food was good, our room wasn't nice. I thought Sandals upgraded people who've stayed at Sandals before a better room. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The hotub by our pool was not working all week. When I mentioned to the concierge that my boyfriend had a problem with his knees she did nothing to address the situation but just offered an apology. The beach was beautiful but our room was poor. The bathroom was very outdated. The internet was not working well at all. The location was close to the airport and be sure to stand back if you are a smoker you will get run over. There were 9 weddings on Valentine's day. There are 2 nice wedding gazebo's and I believe 3 not so nice ones. They spray at night for mosquitoes and it doesn't smell pretty, but the bugs stay off. We paid too much for a Sandals resort when compared to other resorts we've stayed at. I found the staff not too much caring and slow but it's like that at most resorts. The entertainment guy was great...very outgoing. Seen Oprah's house though! Oh and stay in the Mediterranean building it's new. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, food
The weak points
Definitely our room, was disappointed
Certified

Luxury Included!

, Cumberland, ON
2012-01-24
Really great resort with great service. Very clean and beautiful rooms. The oceanview suite was amazing. Dining at Mario's was sometimes very difficult due to availability...although if the staff would clean/clear the tables as they empty (which makes sense) there wouldn't be any seating issues. Time management in the restaurants is lacking major. Rubbish a little bit everywhere on the grounds. But it didn't ruin anything. Loved every minute of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great concierge service. Professional. Luxurious. Nice pool. Great housekeeping. EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE BEDS WITH 6!!! Pillows!!!
The weak points
Waiters in the restaurants need to clear plates as they empty (empty plates could have stayed on the table all dinner long) clear tables and prepare for next asap!!!! There was about 10 empty tables and no more room to seat anyone??!
Certified

Very relaxing

, Georgetown, ON
2011-09-27
Hotel had lots of greenery, the beach was beautiful (when the local vendors weren't bothering you to buy something). The food and drinks were awesome. The maid service was good with the exception of the bar fridge being neglected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service, food, and drinks were all great
The weak points
Vendors on the beach were a little too much. Our bar fridge in the room was'nt restocked like it was supposed to be.
Certified

Sandals Antigua Another Great Vacation

, Woodville, ON
2011-03-16
My wife & I just returned from our second trip to Sandals Antigua Resort & Spa. We spent two weeks at this beautiful resort & it gets better every time. The resort it's self gets better every year as the gardens grow & the colors are great. As a photographer it's nonstop shooting great shots around this beautiful property. One of the best highlights of this resort is the people that work there. Managers like Gerald Christ, Matthew Cornall, Nicholas Bersma, Donavan Dobson, (Main pool bar), Althea, Cherise G., Carlos, Teandra, & (Restaurants) Kenelm, Garth, Patrick (Baby Shack) & Kenny. All these people & many more help make your vacation one of the best times of your life.
The food is five star at all restaurants on the property & being a large resort there are many to pick from. Even after sending two weeks you never get tired of trying a new dish.
There are many smaller pools & one very large pool that have many lounge chairs & lots of umbrellas. The pools are very clean & the hot tubs are hot. All the pools are quite with very low soft music paying in the background. Great spot for having a snooze!
The beach is great, white sand & great for long walks with the warm ocean water meeting your feet.
All in all this is the best resort we have found & will keep coming back to enjoy the people, resort & the island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff & property
The weak points
Needs a pier for boats
Certified

Much needed Relaxing Vacation

, Sharon, ON
2011-03-11
This is our 2nd vacation at the Grande Antigua and it won't be our last. We had a beautiful room in the Cypress building. We were well taken care of by GM Gerald Christ; Director of Guest Services Donovan Dobson and their Staff. Special mention to Cherise G and Teandra from the Main Pool for their friendly service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport; lush gardens; helpful and friendly staff; nice beach; excellent food and drinks; good entertainment; economical internet; comy beds and nicely appointed rooms and large bathrooms in the Portofino Suites;
The weak points
Nothing to do with the resort but since tourism is the #1 industry here, the Antigua airport can use some major renovations to speed up service (inbound and outbound)
Certified

Great vaca

, Pierrefonds, QC
2011-03-07
The sandels experience was indeed a cut or two above. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Service. Food and activities were all very good to outstanding. All the staff really went along way to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. The staff was great!
The weak points
The selelction of the music overhead (i.e. for the restaurants and elsewhere), would have liked to seen less North American pop music and much more more local stuff. Don't need to hear Lady Gaga. I heard Barrington Levy for the 1st time and he was great!
Certified

Sandals resort at Antigua

, Ottawa, ON
2011-02-26
This was our first experience at a Sandals and it was a lovely resort. Antigua itself is very small, friendly and safe. Staff at the hotel were wonderful and helpful. We had the butler service for the first time and although it was good, it is probably not for couples that are pretty self sufficient although it was great to be able to get into the restaurants. We stayed on the Mediterranean side of the complex which I would recommend. Room was to die for on the 6th floor overlooking the grounds and ocean.(don't stay next to the elevator) We are divers and the dives are included...great dive crew and fabulous dives. Did an excursion around the island that is well worth the money. Food was good, lobster fabulous at both the Barefoot restaurant and Eleanor's. I also recommend just having a pizza for lunch...hot and yummy. Overall a great experience, lots of beach and pool area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort complex and landscaping. Friendly service.
The weak points
If using butler service know what you want and ask for it. Butlers can have up to 6 clients and it may make you feel like you are not a priority. Do not be shy to ask for their assistance.
Certified

Inconsistant Service

, Brampton, ON
2010-09-13
Some employees went way above and beyond in making our stay a memorable one and yet there were a few who did not lift a finger, quite inconsistant! Overall it was good stay and we got our R&R that we were looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very well Maintained product!
The weak points
Inconsistant service!
Certified

Amazing holiday experience!

, Guelph, ON
2010-04-13
Great weather, amazing resort and some of the best beaches in the world. The staff were great, the food was amazing with lots of options - and we were upgraded to an amazing room. We can't wait until we are able to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, meals
The weak points
Price is expensive - but worth it
Certified

Penthouse with butler service

, Woodbridge, ON
2009-12-01
best vacation i've ever been on [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Butler service is definately a must
The weak points
the beach was nice but had bugs that bite and leave welts on you...not so nice
Certified

Wonderful experience

, London, ON
2009-12-01
We had a great time at this resort the staff were all friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding everytime...even the buffet. Drinks are plentlyful and freashly made. Our room was a Monte Carlo Honeymoon suite and it was comfortable with a huge flate screen tv and fully stock fridge bar with juices, pops, beer and even wine. The bathroom is large with his/her sinks big walkin shower and soaker tub.
Beach was smaller then I was expecting but it was clean, water was beautiful. We can not wait to go back!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff and great food plus a beautiful beach.
The weak points
beach short, not enough shade on beach and pool
Certified

Sandals Antigua

, Mississauga, ON
2009-06-26
Poor service, rude staff, lousy food. Worst Sandals property I have ever been to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice rooms in the new part of the resort
The weak points
everything else. Bad service, ran out of food, not great beach, rude staff
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021