St James Club And Villas

St James Club And Villas
4.034.034.034.034.03
4.03 based on 29 reviews
#4 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Antigua
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (7)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

St. James Club

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-20
Felt safe and secure, friendly staff, amazing landscape due to it's location on a peninsula, calm waters and great snorkeling right off Coco's beach!
Excellent excursions offered departing directly from the property.
Overall, we had an amazing vacation at St James Club! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Choice of 2 beaches within the resort. Good variety of restaurants and a café open 24/7! More palm trees than one can count!
The weak points
Evening entertainment could be improved upon, a few times the á la carte food was not served hot.
Certified

Shady Palm Trees

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-20
Relaxing vacation with food from poutine, tacos, jerk chicken, to my favourite, Lobster Mac and Cheese, steak or fish. Sparkling wine all day long if you don't want a cocktail or espresso martini, or just enjoy water.
Sitting under a swaying palm tree watching the Atlantic waves or floating in the quiet side while others are trying various water toys, was my granddaughters best time. Good music in the lounge, before we slept like babies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Polite staff. Variety of food. Plenty chaise chairs. Good pools with activities . Lots of water toys. Clean clean clean.
The weak points
You will gain weight.
Certified

ST JAMES CLUB AND VILLAS

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-27
Overall it was a great vacation. Staff is super friendly and always willing to help.

The room just gives you a comfortable place to sleep. Food is great with a few different restaurants and options throughout your stay.

We got hit by an insane amount of seaweed during our stay so one of the beaches was practically closed and the smell was quite bad. However, they worked tirelessly to get the seaweed out every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff, food options and activities available are all very strong points.
The weak points
Depending on weather patterns, the hotel may be hit with seaweed that smells quite funky. However, they work tirelessly to remove it.
Certified

Lovely Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-17
We just came back from a lovely one week vacation. Resort was beautiful and our room had a stunning view of the bayside . Rooms were clean and spacious. We enjoyed the food at all the restaurants especially as the venues overlooked the waters. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely come back to this resort in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Antiguan glory!

, Ottawa, ON
2016-02-20
Just spent a fabulous week at St. James Club in Antigua and had a fabulous time! The people were so friendly and professional. Food was great, with a great selection of a la crate and buffet. Grounds were well kept and tennis courts in great shape. We were there over Valentine's Day and the special meal they served was awesome! Would go back in a heartbeat.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and the staff. Both were amazing.
The weak points
The tennis court (artificial turf) could have used a bit more rubber. A bit slippy, but still great in comparison to others I"ve seen.
Certified

St. James club antigua

2015-01-19
This is a beautiful resort. The beaches are very nice. The only down fall for me was it was very hilly. The restaurants are all good, food is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was friendly, front desk took care of any problems promptly. The beaches were beautiful, kept clean. Food was good and not repedative. All in a beautiful resort. Get a beach front room well worth the price. It is in a central location.
The weak points
it is a very hilly resort, everywhere you want to go is going up an incline. If you have any physical disabilities this is not the place for you.
Certified

Great Week in Antigua

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-21
Great week. Stayed Royal Suites and it was nice with large bathroom. Book highest floor to get vaulted ceilings. Every room has ocean view of some kind at the Resort. Island is great and we left resort on many occasions. Shirley Heights on Sunday, Nelson's Dockyard for restaurants and bars plus a little history. Also there are 365 Beaches and it's great to visit another beautiful beach. Restaurants varied. We Like Picolo Mondos and Coco's for lunch/breakfast. Docksiders was pretty at night and okay for a buffet restaurant (some nights were better than others). We were celebrating an anniversary and they left Champagne in the room. We were welcomed at check in with Champagne as well.
Grounds are very well kept. Entertainment was decent. Always a band somewhere each night. It was not the staff dancing either. Professional entertainers. Bands were fun and the fire show was interesting. We had a beach party one night. It was a little quiet after 10:00 on some nights. No problem ever getting a lounge chair or shade on the beach even though resort was 100% capacity.
Overall we had a great time and would recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great 4*. Beautiful island and safe. Royal suites are nice - get highest floor for vaulted ceiling. Beach on Mamora Bay is tranquil and has lots of umbrellasloungers. Always got a great spot. Picolo's worth upcharge. Entertainment good.
The weak points
A la carte restaurant was slow. Docksiders is pretty but buffet every night. Entertainment was a wide variety of bands and they were good but ended between 10:00 and 11:00 pm.
Certified

Great vacation

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-11-26
overall the experience was great. we enjoy the food, great view from our bedroom. we appreciate the champaign upon our arrival to celebrate my husband birthday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food, beautiful beaches, variety of water sport available
The weak points
better coffee, bottle water should be provided, the gym needed more attention
Certified

3 Star Experience

, Mississauga, ON
2013-10-21
Just returned from a family vacation with my husband and 5 year old. It was a mostly relaxing week away. The resort is beautifully landscaped and most of the staff we encountered were friendly. At times we felt that we had to drag info out of the staff rather than it being offered up.
Overall, this resort fell below our expectations. The food was just ok and the service at the restaurants was hit or miss...not consistent except at Coco's and Piccolo Mondo (you pay $35 pp for this dining experience). We ended up going to Piccolo Mondo three nights in a row because it had outstanding service and better food. It is unfortunate that you have to pay more for that service and food quality- it should be standard across the resort.
I was disappointed in the room. We had a beachfront room and it looked tired and blah in decor. It was clean which was a pro. The beds were HARD and all of us had a sore back all week. Another huge drawback of this resort are the beaches. Our beachfront room faced the Atlantic side- it looked stunning except that nobody could swim on that beach because of the jellyfish literally everywhere and washing up on shore. The Bay side was fine but it felt like we were swimming in a lake not an ocean. We ended up leaving the resort in search of the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean side of the island on the last two days of our vacation. Turner beach and Ffryes beach are stunning!
The Kids Club was a hit with our son. He went twice for about an hour each visit.
The pools were plenty and met our needs since our beach options were not optimal.
There were some standout employees including Alfred (drink cart) and Cleo (Kids club).
Overall, I would not recommend this resort to my friends and we likely would not return because the beach was such a let down.
I should add that we travel extensively and have stayed all inclusive many times. We found ourselves wishing we had chosen Cuba which is saying a lot. We were expecting more from his resort.
On a final note, the island of Antigua is beautiful and we will definitely return to this island again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful landscaping, Beachfront views, pools, Piccolo Mondo restaurant, friendly staff, and Kids Club
The weak points
Tired rooms, hard beds, Coco beach jellyfish, lack of drinks at beach(es) and kids pool.
Certified

St James Club and Villas

, Blairmore, AB
2013-09-10
My daughter and I had a beach front room! I loved sitting on the verandah (spacious) looking at the view which consisted of ocean, sand, and palm trees.Absolutely beautiful!! All I had to do was step off the deck onto the sand! The staff were friendly and would go out of their way to help or answer questions. They work very hard to provide a wonderful environment for their guests! The other beach was minutes away located on Mamora Bay ... beautiful too! The food was great ..lots of variety. I loved the simplicity and comfort of this resort and would go again!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Resort! Staff are wonderful. They will do everything they can to make your stay perfect! I would stay here again!
The weak points
Nothing to complain about except I should have stayed longer!
Certified

Wonderful Stay

, Grande Prairie, AB
2013-05-02
The St James Club was a wonderful place to stay. Antigua itself is just friendly, beautiful, and laid back - period. We spent the first 4 days off the resort exploring the island pretty much. No problems to note other than if you are looking for pristine white sand beaches this is probably not where you want to be. Beaches at this hotel are ok though, the bay side tends to be quite squishy on the bottom but warm, the atlantic side has quite a lot of seaweed and has strong winds to cool you off on those humid days. Never any issues getting a beach lounger.

Rooms were excellent, beds were comfy, AC worked great- we stayed in 802. The spa treamtents were fantastic.

Service in general was great with the exception of the wait staff at coco's beach restaurant. Not sure what the issue was there but there seemed to be a few disgruntled staff members who weren't too keen on serving us (we were 6 in total).

The views and grounds are breathtaking, honestly the pictures posted of this place online do not reflect it's true beauty, not even close.

It would have been nice if they had a bit more variety in food and drinks, after about the 5th day it got boring - maybe some theme buffets or something.

Overall a great vacation, hotel and people were wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great friendly service great location Clean rooms, comfy beds breath taking views, scenery amazing lots of water sports included - stand up paddle boarding, paddle boats, kayaks diving etc., markets right on the beach, spa was excellent
The weak points
lack of variety in buffet and drinks
Certified

Correct

, Whitby, ON
2013-03-26
it was excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and staff
The weak points
rooms need some upgrading
Certified

Lovely getaway

, Ottawa, ON
2012-05-06
My husband and I enjoyed a lovely week at the St. James Club. It not like all-ins one would find in Mexico, Cuba or the Dominican Republic. It is an older resort, rooms are basic if not a little spartan, the room fridge is not stocked, the room key is an actual keys on a huge wooden keychain (1 per room). That said, our room was comfortable, the balcony was huge with a gorgeous view of the beach. The restaurants are just fine - not out of this world - but the choice and quality of food was very good. My only food complaint would be the restaurants lacked an authentic Caribbean flair. I imagine they are catering to a less sophisticated palate. It would have been nice to have a grilled fish at least once however there are plenty of great spots to eat off the resort if one needs a change. The main bar is a throwback to the '70s. It is dark and dingy and needs a complete overhaul. Nightlife at the resort is nil. The pools leave a lot to be desired. There is only one main pool close to our room which is small and overrun with children. We stayed mainly on the beach which was quiet and lovely. At first the staff can seem a little aloof but this is part of the culture. If you take the time to actually talk to them they are absolutely lovely and kind. I have no service complaints at all. The dive shop on the resort is also excellent. My husband enjoyed 2 days of diving and reported that the dive master was very competent and responsible i.e. refusing to take him on a 130ft deep dive without diving with him in advance to ensure his skill level was appropriate. One also has to remember that Antigua is on "island time", in other words, do not expect anything to be done in a hurry. But this is why we go on vacation right? So relax and enjoy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff and excellent customer service, dive shop, views, plenty of beach chairs, landscaping, satellite tv
The weak points
Room key, pool (too small), spartan rooms, unstocked fridge, mamora bay (stagnant swimming area), constant asking for room number by bar/restaurant staff, horrible bar, no night life
Certified

St. James Club

, Whitby, ON
2012-02-14
Check in was fast, carts to take us and luggage to our room.Food was buffet (excellent choices) or from menue.Piccolo Mondo food was FAB!!!
All in all a quiet (not many kids thankfully) and NO constant blare of music all day, restful vacation, which was what I needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was both helpful and friendly.
The weak points
Inconsistant maid service.
Certified

Incredible atmosphere/location!

, Ottawa, ON
2012-01-07
Beaches...there were many and they are gorgeous! The location is second to none as well and view from our "papaya suites" was incredible...walk-out from the room onto the beach! The food was great(various restaurants and buffets) and many pools to lounge around in (with bars next to them to get drinks)...lots of free activities to do on your own (no need for a guide) such as sailing, paddleboat, kayak (stand-up & sit-down), and wind-sailing. There are hundreds of beach chairs for tanning and little shade huts in case you want some shade. Ping pong, air hockey, foozeball, pool table, tennis courts...it certainly keeps you busy. And if you want more, there are paid activities ( we did snorkeling, zip lining and kayaking). A and I would recommend this place if you've never been to the Caribbean! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, pools, the view, the food, the atmosphere
The weak points
WIFI access only in the lobby...wasn't available in rooms
Certified

Holiday at SJC

, Toronto, ON
2011-10-24
Quiet,relaxing weak. Wonderful weather. Lodgings disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff helpful, food good.All rooms have water view. Beach nice.
The weak points
Rooms tired beds uncomfortable. Toilet didn't flush properly,tub didn't drain well.
Certified

St. James Club is wonderful resort

, North York, ON
2011-03-15
Loved it. Wonderful beach, good food, nice ambience and small enough to not feel lost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the large beachfront units. So private as we were on the top floor. Anyone walking by could not see into the room. Right on the4 beach too.
The weak points
6 out of 9 of our group got diarrea. 2 were very very ill as a result.
Certified

Feb26 - Mar5/2011

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2011-03-07
Our room was beautiful, yet I did see rooms that I would have been less impressed with if I had of received one.We were in the 200 block.Food was average.Beaches are clean, but small.Plenty of privacy if you want.A very quiet relaxing holiday.Staff could be a bit friendlier..... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Privacy,Cleanliness
The weak points
Beach,Booking dinnners 24hrs ahead
Certified

Best trip ever!!

, Gatineau, QC
2011-01-18
It's a must see!!The food was great, the room was superbe and the view...WOW breath taking!

I would recommend the St-James Club to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Room and cleanliness
The weak points
entertainment
Certified

A great dining experience

, Belleville, ON
2010-04-19
Excellent vacation for rest, relaxations and fabulous food. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful.We enjoyed the "beach bar on wheels" that came around every few hours.
You need to be physically fit as a lot of walking is required and it is very confusing until you get to know the place. Some maps that show the route to various places would be helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Some of the best meals we have ever had at a resort - variety, presentation, quality and quantity
The weak points
Kept changing which restaurant was closed. A little communication would have made it easier.
Certified

St james club antigua dec09

, Wellesley, ON
2010-02-24
Been to St James Club 3 times. Always had good experiences.The staff is always friendly. Jeff Lapointe the manager in the evening is always helpful looking after any small problems. Sabrya,Alfred on beach truck, Shirly and Cecily are all doing great job at bars and restaurants and room service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
lots of improvements at resort since last year.
The weak points
missed magician this year always exciting.taxis are expensive in Antigua
Certified

St james club Antigua

, Wellesley, ON
2009-07-19
Stayed at St James Club in Dec07 and Dec08 great hotel great manager Jeff
Great employees Reg at beach bar and at all dining rooms and bars. Will return anytime.Cannot remember all great employees names. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great hotel and excellent service
The weak points
expensive taxi to get around island
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021