Halcyon Cove By Rex

Halcyon Cove By Rex
3.473.473.473.473.47
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Will not likely to return

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-30
Pros:
Food was very good with good selection.
Staff were friendly and polite.
Housekeeping was good and prompt. Housekeeping did a great job, as everything was neat and clean,
No restriction of alcoholic beverages and great bar tenders.
Building maintenance responded to complaints but are overwhelmed by the condition of the rooms and buildings.
AC was effective and quiet.
Grounds and pool were well groomed and maintained.

Cons:
On arrival to the room, we had no towels, face cloths, etc. Went to reception and requested towels and we were given bath towels only. Next day, the towels were removed and at 4 pm went to reception for towels, etc. We were given 2 face cloths (by special request only) and towels were to follow. At 8 pm, went to reception for towels, were to be delivered. At 10:30 pm, still no towels, went to reception again and got towels from the attached office. Two days later, a few towels were replaced but shorted one bath towel. Next day the towel was replaced. We did not place used towels on floor for the rest of the week so we knew we would have towels.
Room condition:
Where the AC piping and TV Cable came through a 3" open hole in the outside wall which kept us busy with insects at night. Louvers were badly misaligned and had more entry for insects.
Sliding door to patio deck was misaligned and crooked, would not lock and had a 1/4" space for about 1/4 of the door ( more insects).
The TV worked some times and on the last day would not work at all.
No security chain on the entry door. Nice patio deck but no chairs. Only one room chair.
No drinking glasses in the room. No tissue in the tissue dispensers.

Beach chairs were very few and old but when cruise ship passengers came to use the beach, newer chairs came out and were removed when the cruise ship passengers left.

Almost all water sport equipment was missing and not replaced since storm in September. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Convenience store in the resort was stocked with a good selection of products. Good entertainment most nights.
The weak points
Most of the problems listed existed prior to our arrival and should have been addressed. Overall maintenance is overwhelmed and only complaints are addressed right away. They need to buy more towels, water sport equipment and beach chairs.
Certified

Our January Vacation

, Mdnab Braeside, ON
2018-01-18
Our overall view of Halcyon was good. We arrived and we not happy with our standard room and asked to upgrade to a poolside view room which I would recommend. Rooms were much bigger and the view was great. We did not have hot water the first night we were there but, it was the whole resort and they had it fixed the next day. Reception staff were quiet at first but accommodating if you were not rude to them. I would recommend this resort for couples who want to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and food was terrific.
The weak points
Resort is dated and would recommend updating your room to poolside.
Certified

Great week on a beautiful island

, Ottawa, ON
2017-02-09
Halcyon located on a beautiful beach. Location is amazing. Water is clean and clear, but not good enough for snorkeling, so do not bother to take your own gear. Personnel is friendly and gladly will help you with any requests (front desk not so much). Resort has one buffet, one "a la carte" (so called, do not waist your time and money) and one on a beach eating area (all lunches and some dinners). Food variety is limited, but tasty, especially fish dishes.
I would not say this is the greatest place, but this is what you pay for. Antigua is not the cheapest place for vacation, so paying a dime you getting a pretty good service.
I would definitely recommend this place to the people with limited budget who do not care much about luxury and appreciate the nice sunny beach on the amazing island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing holidays

, Etobicoke, ON
2016-05-02
We had an amazing time,although some areas need updated,the hotel has a great environment and the staff is very helpful and friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service,the staff does an amazing job.
The weak points
The beach didn't meet my expectations so I was a little bit disappointed
Certified

Very nice hotel

, Montreal, QC
2015-01-15
very quiet ans very nice location
clean rooms and friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great beach clean and quiet rooms
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Good for the value we payed

, Toronto, ON
2015-01-11
very beautiful beach,very nice people servicing the resort.
Need big time revamp ,rooms,outside buildings,restaurants,cable tv with real view and more selection.
The restaurant in the beach....its a shame is not in use...that should be the main ficture of the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the best real estate location
The weak points
Not invested in resort in long time looks like??????
Certified

A wonderful trip

, Niagara Falls, ON
2014-03-12
This resort was great!!
People are friendly, the food was excellent, right on the beach and the room was good enough.
I would go back for another trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- friendly staff - clean resort - free Wi-Fi - food was amazing - resort is right on the beach - lots of excursions to choose from
The weak points
- need to ask for fresh towels - rooms were not always cleaned properly
Certified

Good bang for buck for the destination.

, Bowmanville, ON
2014-02-12
Hotel is what we expected for a 3 star.
Better evening entertainment needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good pricing for Antigua
The weak points
Lack of evening entertainment
Certified

Nybergs - Halcyon Cove by Rex

, Aurora, ON
2014-02-05
Our first room was 509 and it was very scary. They moved us right away to the 300s which are better rooms. We had a great view of the ocean and although some of the furniture needs updating everything was very clean. Holding of beach chairs is an issue especially when you need some shade. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People were very helpful and tried hard. Entertainment was very good.
The weak points
Rooms need refreshing. Beaches need clean up of stones. Water pressure very poor and shower head mounted low. We found the Air Transit rep - Marie indifferent and not helpful for individual needs, considering her boasting of living there 20 some years.
Certified

Big Al's stay at Halcyon Cove

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-22
Best relaxed trouble free and friendliest
stay I've ever had. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly Staff,Quiet secluded location
The weak points
Lack of Entertainment
Certified

Halcyon

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-15
Resort was a bit out-dated and the food could have had a bit more options, but what they served was great.
The staff is what made our trip wonderful. They were helpful and friendly. Beach was okay, water was a bit on the cold side and wasn't very clear, but was calm enough to have a good swim. Island and people were great. Overall trip was enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was great
The weak points
resort a bit outdated
Certified

March 23 2013

, Brampton, ON
2013-03-25
hotel was a good 3 star and was great value. Beach was great and food was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and location were great
The weak points
none but only get 3 star as advertised
Certified

Beautiful

, Nolalu, ON
2013-03-04
Our experience here was great would definitely return to this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall the resort was clean and nice, it was a little dated but don't let that stop anyone from spending time at this resort. Food was quite good and the people were friendly. The people on the beach trying to sell you their products were not pushy.
The weak points
The resort could you some updating.
Certified

Nice place

, Bradford, ON
2013-01-21
The hotel is located on a beautiful beach. The rooms are clean, the bed OK but not great. The food is good, but not much variety, one buffet, one alacate, no snacks so if you miss lunch because of a tour, you have to wait to 7:30 for dinner. Staff very friendly. The entertainment was not so good, except Sat when the steel drum band played, they were very good. There was only one bar on the beach, but service was good. The bar in reception was not always open. The hotel gym is very poor, old equipment and no free wieghts, small room. The grounds were very well kept and the pool clean. I like the hotel but miss some of the extras of a five star hotel. I thought it was a good value for those who do not need the extras. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendly and helpful
The weak points
Poor variety of food at buffet. Gym was poor, pool table missing two balls. Entertainment not good.
Certified

Antigua Halcyon Cove

, North York, ON
2012-12-31
Great value, staff always provided very friendly service. Beaches stunning, with sailing and kayaks available. New chef provided good variety of local and italian dishes. Was not busy so never lining up for food, drinks or searching for louge chairs. Not a party place, more laid back, local entertainment, steel band, pianist, singer... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Great staff goes out of their way for excellent service. - New chef prepared good variety with nice Argentine white wine available. - Beautiful beach, never crowded
The weak points
- None, some areas bit run down but very clean and well maintained.
Certified

Great time

, Cambridge, ON
2012-05-22
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The grounds and resort are kept clean. The beach is fantastic - never crowded. The food was good - just repetitive by the end of the week. My husband and I are not picky eaters so we had no issues. The couple we traveled with are picky eaters so some meals did not work for them. However, we never went hungry. Didn't see any bugs in our room but ants are all over the island so keep an eye out for that when sitting outside.
This was our first AI trip so we had no expectations - we just wanted to enjoy time away and we did. Anyone that complains about a vacation will never be satisfied. So no matter what you pay or where you go it's your attitude that will make the difference. Shirley Heights is a must in Antigua - best party ever! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, Staff, Beach, Quiet
The weak points
Food, Beach Vendors
Certified

Halcyon Cove by Rex

, St Catharines, ON
2012-04-23
The staff is amazing and friendly at the Halcyon Cove by Rex. The food is very good with enough selection to satisfy most travellers unless they are extremely picky. The hotel is a bit dated, but is kept clean and tidy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff's friendly attitude and willingness to help. The bartenders are great!
The weak points
Hotel a bit dated, but not a show stopper.
Certified

Three star!!!!

, Woodbridge, ON
2012-04-09
areas of the hotel need some work, but they are slowly working on it. My room was beachfront so that was a bonus, clean, and the maid service was good.
The beach is one of the nicest we seen on the island. Could use more bar service, only one open at a time and the service is slow, and unprofessional.
The meals were well prepared, service is iffy at times. Heard complaints about the wari pier but was not able to get a reservation so can't really comment. Overall was exactly what it advertises, a three star. If you do any excursions i know this isn't about the hotel but do the excellence boat tour. Was an amazing day, the boat, captain, crew and food was wonderful, only disappointment that day was the snorkeling, the reef seemed very tired. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, beach and beach
The weak points
Service and bars
Certified

Worked for us!

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-20
We really liked it. Great beach, great staff, fun times! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, size of hotel, tea time!
The weak points
Furniture in rooms is not in great shape, but it's not like we spent time in the room.
Certified

Paul from Markham, Ontario

, Orangeville, ON
2012-02-14
Just okay. The food is almost the same every day. Very limited choices. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is very nice. Most staffs are friendly & helpful. Location is close to everything.
The weak points
Waiters are not professional trained, always took long time or even forgot about your order. Always have to wait whole day to come and clean the room. The hotel need to renovate asap.
Certified

Wonderfull time in Antigua

, London, ON
2011-04-23
I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel, everyone from the front desk clerk to the gardeners were so very friendly. Fenton (entertainment) and Mario (manager in training) arranged a private dinner for a group of us at their pier restaurant (which was closed that evening) and the food and service (by them) was the best.

Errol and Dalton (bartenders) were so fun and very attentive. Great guys!!!!!

thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
saff at this hotel were the very best. Always friendly, helpful and happy. I've been to many resorts and never been treated so well. They just bent over backwards to ensure you had a wonderful stay.
The weak points
the hotel itself needs updating altho I saw that they were starting to make a few updates, which is good
Certified

Halcyon

, Ottawa, ON
2011-03-16
This hotel is priced appropriately and is in a great location. The beaches and the staff are incredible. Please note if you are thinking you are going to a 5-star you are NOT. It is a 3-star and is need of update, but as I said great location and super beaches. We did not spend much time in our room and if you plan on that do not go here. The staff and food were excellent and very family friendly. Enjoy Antigua!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and beaches are to die for! Very family friendly and we would return in the future. Great location near the airport.
The weak points
Hotel needs updating, but that was expected.
Certified

Good Holiday

, Wheatley, ON
2011-02-13
Overall, the resort was clean and the staff very friendly. We had a problem with our in room safe and after asking 4 times to have it reset, we opted for using a small one at the front desk.
We ended up having to change rooms after our bathtub broke and got the room next door to us. The safe did work in this room.
I do have one question that no ones seems to be able to answer at the resort and here it is: were does all the chicken breasts go because they are not served at the restaurants on the resort? Not everyone eats dark meat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good. Room was clean. Beach was great.
The weak points
The resort in a whole needs a face lift. Since the main restaurant is not on the main level, anyone that has problems walking or climbing stairs, would find it hard to get to.
Certified

Hotel

, Kitchener, ON
2011-02-07
it is a beatifull place to be ,so peacefull and great peple,manager Mario Thomas is the guy who brings the smile to this place ,all guys are great ,super service ,food,clean room ,thank you Halcyon cove [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach,food,peaple
The weak points
needs some paint
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021