Jolly Beach Resort And Spa

Jolly Beach Resort And Spa
3.623.623.623.623.62
3.62 based on 254 reviews
#2 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Antigua
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (118)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Nothing Special

, Sarnia, ON
2020-03-25
This property is very old and outdated. The rooms are very small with no dresser or night tables to put things in. I have stayed at many 5 star resorts and paid less than I paid for this vacation. Not to mention that they had booked us in a super saver room for two people which is very very small and no where to even put your suitcases. We had to upgrade to a standard room as soon as we got there and had to pay an additional $294.00 U.S. for the week which is the room that two people sleeping in separate beds should have been put in the first place. The only good thing about the room was that the shower pressure was good. The food was only just okay. There was not a big selection at the buffet every night. The a la cartes were nothing to write home about either. The night we went to the Italian restaurant the special for the night was roast beef dinner. There wasn't even an Italian option on the menu!!! We met many many tourists who had been to the property many times. I am not sure what keeps brining them other than the beautiful beach (Jolly Beach). The quiet pool has more patches in it than not! If you are just looking for a quiet vacation without all the perks then I guess you would be fine here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

It was alright...but

, Richmond Hill, ON
2020-01-27
January 2-9

The Beach is stunning. The staff was great!

The resort is very outdated. And I was expecting that. I was prepared for it to be older. I am not a super fancy person, after reading the reviews online I was expecting it to be outdated. But this resort didnt meet my minimum standards.

As soon as I walked into the room I was hit with a smell of must and mold. It had to be bad for my health. I'm not an airconditioner type person. I run it just to cool off a bit at night for about an hour then it is off the rest of the trip. But this AC didnt work. it tryed its best but it didnt work. The bed was so uncomfortable. It should have been replaced 5 years ago. The springs were broken and it wasnt even, you sank in it and couldnt sleep. I think the owners are concentrating on their other property and this one has not gotten ANY attention.

I would not reccomend it, I would not return.

The Italian restaurant was great! but waiting in line 1 hour everyday to book it was not the way I like to spend my vaction. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is beautiful.
The weak points
As soon as I walked into the room I was hit with a smell of must and mold. It had to be bad for my health. The bed was not comfortable. Springs in my back.
Certified

Starfish Jollly Beach Resort & Spa Dec 2019

, Straffordville, ON
2020-01-14
Upon arriving at the Jolly Beach Resort & Spa we were greeted with welcome drinks - the "Blue Bomb" was amazing. All of the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful upon our arrival. We arrived at the resort around 1:30p.m. and were told that our room would not be ready until 3:00p.m. We were advised to leave our luggage at the front entrance way. There was no technical bellhop, just hundreds of luggage bags lined up along the entrance way to the resort. I will be honest, I was not entirely comfortable with doing this, but didn't have much choice. We were told that we could go to the buffet for lunch and then explore the resort... Due to the fact that this was not my first time traveling I had a change of clothes in my "carry on" luggage for myself and my partner that included a bathing suit. This was essential as it was very warm and beautiful. Many people were trying to find something suitable to wear in their check luggage on the drive way. We had a bite to eat and then walked around the resort. A bit of a mess, seeing as we did not have vouchers for pool towels, because they come in your "check in package". Luckily, we also brought our own travel towels. We were able to cool down in the water. We then returned to the lobby around 2:45p.m. and waiting in a separate line to "check-in" We were handed a package that included our room keys. We then went to our room, which was not far from the lobby. When in the room, it was apparent that the air conditioning did not work, and the bed felt as though it was just a board with no mattress. The room was also very dirty. We went to the lobby to explain the situation regarding the room and were moved to a different room. The air conditioning at least worked in the room, and the bed was a little more comfortable. The room was cleaner, but not exactly "clean". There was black hair all over the bathroom sink, toilet and shower. The shower door was fall off of the shower. The toilet worked sometimes, and other times would "back fire" so you would only want to flush the toilet with the lid closed. There were water pressure issues at times in the room. Our room was infested with misquitos. We had to ask several times at the front desk for them to spray the room for mosquitos. The staff were always very helpful. We did ask to pay an upgrade fee to upgrade to a suite. We had spoke with several other couples that did this in advance or after they got there and were happy with the room upgrade. However, due to the fact that we were there at Christmas they said that the hotel was completely booked up. The food at all of the restaurants was fantastic for an all inclusive. The Beach Grill was our favourite because we could get our food and eat in our lounge chairs on the beach or by the pool or at one of the tables above the pool bar. The hotel itself is very outdated, but the grounds are very clean! The pools were clean but could use a new paint job and some refreshing. From what we saw the rooms need a complete overhaul. What the hotel lacked itself the staff surely made up for! These were the friendliest crew I have ever encountered. At this resort they do offer the locals a "day pass" where they can use the ammenities but not get a room, so on weekends and holidays there is an influx of people using the pool and the lineup was quite long at the beach side grill. The beach at this resort was phenomenal. I had read that there was decent snorkeling, however, the water was murky as apparently a storm had just passed through prior to our arrival so there was no visibility in the water. The vendors on the beach can be a little persistent, but if you tell them that you are not interested they will generally leave you alone. Most of the beach vendors are selling tours, just be careful because they are not all legitimate tour companies and you may end up experiencing a tour that you were lied to about. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great Staff were amazing Entertaining Beach is phenomenal Lots of tours leaving from Jolly Harbour
The weak points
no actual bell hop/area to store luggage rooms - need complete overhaul breakfast variety could be improved
Certified

Starfish - great vacation

, St Catharines, ON
2019-12-10
Hotel was quite dated but very clean. View of the ocean was fantastic and nice private balcony with a day bed. Bathroom needed a plug for a hairdryer and sometimes the shower was not really hot. These little issues are very minor as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The courtyard was very nice and they had tea time with little snacks late afternoon. Overall very happy with our choice and would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was fantastic, food was good and the staff was very friendly and went above and beyond our expectation. They had a theme per night for the buffet therefore the food was geared to that which made a nice change and not the same old same old...
The weak points
They had 3 restaurants besides the buffet and you had to line up each morning for the next day which was a bit of a pain. The Mexican restaurant seemed to have no air flow and it was uncomfortably hot while trying to eat spicy food :-)
Certified

Starfish Jolly Beach

, Kitchener, ON
2019-03-18
Small rooms and very outdated. In bad need of an overhaul. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, hotel staff, food, service and entertainment were great!
The weak points
Small rooms. Uncomfortable bed. Rooms need a complete overhaul.
Certified

Beautiful vacation

, Saint Lanbert, QC
2018-12-16
A beautiful trip for my husband & I: check-in at the airport very quick; hotel room: forget the super-saver room unless you don't mind living out of your luggage: no bureau or desk to unload. We survived the one week, but would not rent a super-saver for two weeks. I must mention how clean our room and frankly the whole resort is: yes renovations would be welcomed, yes the shower is so old, but as so many have said, you do not go to Antigua to stay in your room. The beach and grounds are simply breathtaking.The buffet has something for everyone: fish and veggie lunch and supper...fresh pasta...and the desserts..wow!

Now to the staff: big hugs to Christie at the buffet and all of the others staff who have served us with such grace and always with a smile...my lil angel Furleesha with the entertainment team, whom we met on our first night and who made us feel like we were already part of their wonderful family..love you Angel! To all the entertainment team who work so hard to keep us happy on our vacation: thank you for all of your dedication at preparing your shows... The night manager Trevor, who greeted us every night with a handshake and a smile...thank you!

Yes we will go back...not to a supersaver room but back to our family at the Jolly Beach Resort
francine and carl [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, beach, food
The weak points
some renovations to the room....maybe a sport bar for the soccer fan....some late snack...something to eat after the shows!
Certified

Excellent beach

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-07
Great vacation. Staff very friendly. Food good. Bar unlimited. Good location, major food store, pharmacy and bus stop only 5 minutes away. Bus is a 20 minute trip to St. Johns for about $1 US. One of the best beaches in the Carribean. Resort is old but well maintained, neat and every room is facing the waterfront and has a balcony. Housekeeping is great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is excellent. Staff are always asking how your stay was and can they help you in any way. Alacarte restaurants were very good with good service. Very few beach vendors.
The weak points
Only good dance opportunity was a DJ one night but dancing was limited to the beach or around the pool. Other dance opportunity was dinner music.Limited food chioce varity.
Certified

Great place

, Thorold, ON
2018-04-07
Needs up dating in some areas and that's why it's a 3 star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Really friendly staff and helpful. Excellent beach and views.
The weak points
It's a public beach so you get local people bugging you for things but it only happens once a day not bad and you say no then they move on.
Certified

Awesome Experience

, Sarnia, ON
2018-03-15
The Beach was extraordinary and the food was great , no complaints . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms were kept clean and the breakfast buffet ensured you had a great start to the day. Burgers and fried chicken at the pool were nice lunch treat.
The weak points
Bartenders were not fun people could be more congenial.
Certified

Would return in a minute

, Charlottetown, PE
2018-03-10
Even though it is an old hotel I would return in a minute. The beach and entertainment were my favourites. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and entertainment were excellent. Loved being able to eat outside at all restaurants Did 2 a la cartes and they were very nice. Staff was lovely. Proximity to attractions was very good. Used the local bus to go to Nelson's Dockyard and St.John's
The weak points
Rooms were small but clean and adequate and staff was quick to respond to requests if you were missing anything and the rooms were very clean.
Certified

Had a Fantastic Time

, Barrie, ON
2018-03-09
We had read previous reviews on Trip Advisor that said the Resort was dated and food was repetitive so we were prepared for that.
However we found the room standard King to be very nice. Sure it could use some updates, but we were not there to spend the day in the room. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing constantly asking if we needed anything. The food was delicious and the beach was amazing . They defiantly could use some more shaded areas but all in all I score this an 8 out of 10 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A good winter break

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-26
We enjoyed the beach . We went on a Catamaran tour around the island which was great. The food was adequate. The alacart restaurants were designed to accommodate the staff ,not the patrons. As a result we were not able to get into any. The Sunday brunch which we enjoyed the last time we were there we were able to get into,despite the false information from the concierge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is one of the best in Antigua. The grounds are well maintained.
The weak points
The rooms are basic. That means no chair, no fridge.no facial tissues and very small
Certified

Best beaches in Caribbean

, Windsor, ON
2018-01-12
My wife and i had one of our best beach vactions ever. Jolly beach was truly a great choice. You need to understand the resort is older. It is well maintained with the best staff that i have encountered. Evelyn in the restaurants and Neil at the bar were amazing. The rooms were made up spotless and in good time daily. Always hot water with great pressure in the showers. I am an Expedia agent and was very impressed with what Jolly Beach offers. The foood was fantastic. All 3 a la cartes were great. Try the lobster add on. The pool grill made excellent jerk chicken. It was all good. 3 star price for a 5 star experience. Ill be back. 100% [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach food staff. Eat at local spot Josephs next door
The weak points
More inclusive alcohol selections
Certified

GREAT RESORT!!!

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-08
Staff friendly and always helpful, food amazing especially New Years Eve....WOW!!
Beach a 5 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD-4
The weak points
Rooms- our air not working but did have cailing fan on and because we were ocean view, able to keep patio door open at night which was perfect.
Certified

Exceeded expectations.

, North York, HA
2018-01-01
We bought our vacation package because it was inexpensive and at the moment weather was the best among all discount packages. Then we began reading reviews and were shocked by so many negative ones, some included photos of rusty tables and dirty washrooms. However, all was very clean and looked like the entire hotel was renovated not so long time ago. We got so-called Super Saver room and it is very small indeed but it was clean. I have made several YouTube videos about this resort and catamaran cruise around Antigua: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8yfjMJr4lU&list=UU9Hrg9c9NI2vAv4SUVoFqqA&index=3 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful nature, beach is in harbour protected from winds and waves. Not just hotel stuff but all local people we have met were very friendly and helpful. Also, we liked free Hobby Cats, paddle boards and surfing.
The weak points
1) Mosquitos. Although other people who visited this resort before told me that before they were not that numerous as in Dec. 2017. 2) Water is never clear. It is not dirty at all, just not transparent, beach sand is so fine that it never settles.
Certified

No luxury here

, Port Mcnicoll, ON
2017-06-16
This hotel sure does need to be updated, it probably wouldnt have bothered us so much if it was clean. They cleaned our bathroom Once for the entire week, sheets were changed because I stripped the beds
The food was below average, and repeated everyday. the staff did not go out of their way to make you happy, we saved a lot of money on tipping
The only positive thing was the Beach!! It was breath taking!
We were able to go off the resort and felt very safe exploring the island
Antigua should be on everyones bucket list.. Just find a better resort! For the price, you would expect to be pampered. Or at least be treated like they would want you to return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was amazing, second to none! There were a lot of excursions that offerred full tours of the island, snorkling,ziplines and scuba diving. I have never felt safer as a traveller, the people were so friendly
The weak points
Food was horrible There was nothing luxurious or inviting about the resort The grounds were a mess, gardens needed to be weeded there was garbage everywhere There seemed to be a lot of staff, but no one seemed to actually do anything, No luxury here
Certified

The best...

, Calgary, AB
2017-02-19
the staff is awesome as always.... the location and our room is great facing the sunset view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the location is perfect and the sunset view is superb.
The weak points
the covered shades in the beaches must be more considering the number of guest.
Certified

Jolly Beach Resort Review

, Strathroy, ON
2017-02-13
Although the hotel décor was somewhat outdated and the rooms much smaller than we have experienced in other countries hotel had many other redeeming features. Food was of a very good quality although selection was sometimes limited. Facilities were kept very clean, and staff was very polite. Like the layout of the resort with every room having waterfront view and a decent size balcony to sit on. A very good selection of excursions and none varied drastically in price. Beach on site was very nice and fairly long with hobby cats, kayaks and other water sport equipment available to try for free. Was a very nice surprise. The thing we loved the best was how clean and safe we felt every where we went. We never once had any issues wondering off the resort to go shopping at a local store or take a city bus to St. John's to wander the markets for souvenirs.

We were part of a group of 12 adults and was a nice size to be able to do your own thing or find some of the group to hang out with. Even nightly entertainment was pretty good for a smaller resort.

Only complaints would be need to have bathrooms closer to the large Pool and beach area as you had to walk fair distance to main buildings. Also, main pool and bar area only stayed open until 5pm and I thought they should keep it open until at least the sunset. Same with Evening entertainment bar area only stayed open until 11:30 with nothing organized if you wanted to go out beyond that to dance or have a few drinks; not that we lasted most days beyond that but would have been a nice option at least once or twice during the week.

Overall not bad for the money we paid overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was exceptional and lots of space for all. The free watersport equipment was a nice perk. Lots of excursions and easy to book. Loved how safe it was to explore on your own. Have never been to another place outside of Canada where we felt this way.
The weak points
Only complaints would be need to have bathrooms closer to the large Pool and beach area as you had to walk fair distance to main buildings. Main pool and bar area only stayed open until 5pm; should keep it open until at least the sunset.
Certified

Jolly beach resort

, Georgetown, ON
2015-02-26
We enjoyed this resort very much. It is very dated,but despite that it is very clean, the people are friendly. The service and the food are great.The beach is spectacular the two pools could use to have more umbrellas foe shade. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach great service
The weak points
Hotel is somewhat dated
Certified

Way below standard

, Toronto, ON
2014-11-25
The hotel is very dated. Strange enough how no one seems to notice how old and desparately in need for a makeover this place is. The rooms are very very small, way below what a real standard room is supposed to be. If you're looking for a regular standard room for a three star hotel, you should book superior rooms which cost more money. The bathroom is below standard as well. They have no proper windows to shut off the outside noise mostly from million crickets all night long let alone people talking or walking by your door. The restorant is very dated, old broken stuff hanging everywhere. The beach is very nice but hardly any maintenace from the resort stuff. Not enough umbrellas for shade either at the beach or around teh pools. The best front beach area of the resort is occupied by locals selling their crafts and make te place look like really ugly and overcrowded with piles of rusty broken junk spread all over the place. Lots of mosquitos and sand flies, really bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach only
The weak points
rooms, bathrooms,locals occupying the best spots of the beach with their old, rusty all kind of junk tents.
Certified

Well, the country itself is beautiful

, Mississauga, ON
2014-11-07
This hotel is really old and needs to be knocked down and re-built. Having said that, my husband and I enjoyed our stay because fortunately, we aren't that fussy.

The rooms are dated with no refrigerators in the standard rooms. We didn't mind that the rooms were dated but a mini fridge is each room is pretty standard (especially in the Caribbean, since it's so hot!) I mean, you need easy access to water, even at night.

Maid service was so-so. We tipped every day but getting fresh towels was always a major production. They would take the dirty ones and never give us new ones unless we called front desk.

The Indian resto is awesome: both food-wise and service-wise. The buffet (Hemispheres) is disgusting. It needs more food variety and the entire area itself is old and gross. If you sit outside you are pestered and dive bombed by a thousand crows (and I actually got pooed on by a passing crow whilst UNDER my table umbrella!). There is bird poo everywhere and the noise is super annoying. There was bird poo on chairs, my place mat, etc, etc,. YOU MUST DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE BIRDS IF NOTHING ELSE.

The mosquitoes and sand flies are relentless so bring bug spray or be prepared to buy it at the gift shop. I am still itching and have been home 2 days already. The flies around the beach bar were gross - a bug lamp might help there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach is very nice (with the exception of the beach vendors who harass you day and night).

Stay away from a guy named CLAUDE on the beach. He's been in prison. He's also very aggressive and we heard a lot of bad rumours about him. He'll give you a bad vibe anyway so just go with your gut.

We did a day trip with Lawrence all around the island and he also took us to Shirley Heights which was great too. The hotel will warn you about going with them but they want you to book trips with them. If you arrange with Lawrence, you will be fine. He's not from the hotel but is a great guy and a man of his word.

After seeing all of this island (which was beautiful), we would definitely come back but I would stay elsewhere for sure...maybe Pineapple Club or Verandah!

Make sure to check out: English Harbour, Shirley Heights, St. John's, Devil;s Bridge and some other beaches.

Finally, there are 2 restaurants we went to in the Jolly Beach area: The Crow's Nest and Castaways. Their food and ambiance are amazing so I highly recommend if you need a break from Jolly Beach (which you will).

Despite all this, we still had a good vacation. We loved the country but would never come back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Staff friendliness
The weak points
rooms, food, cleanliness, bugs, birds
Certified

Jolly Beach

, Kitchener, ON
2014-03-31
We had a great time visiting Antigua!We knew what we were getting when we booked this resort,so no real surprises.Beach was amazing! Service was good! Very friendly!Bartenders at the beach bar and night bar,were understaffed but they did a great job trying to serve everyone!It's a shame,there is a beautiful pool,but I found it colder then the sea,and no service at the swim up bar.You get what you pay for.But I do think there are a few things they could do to make it at least a 4 star. Washrooms! Not enough of them around the resort!A fridge in the room,especially since they close everything down at 1230am! A coffee maker would have been nice in the room.Loved the balcony and the view!Always short on towels,but would come to our room late afternoon,early evening to give us fresh ones.Invest in more beach,room towels. Food was just ok,breakfast was great! Seemed like it was the same potatoes all week.Desserts were very blah. The Italian restaurant was awesome! Jerk chicken was not good at the beach grill ,but the fried chicken and burgers were good!The beach is public,the locals were ok,but I prefer a beach where I don't have to be bothered by someone bothering me to buy something.If there was a spot on the resort that they would be able to stay and we could go to them if we needed something would be much more enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach ! Friendly staff.
The weak points
Food,towels,washrooms,
Certified

Paradise!!!!!

, Brampton, ON
2014-02-11
The hotel was actually pretty nice. Besides the hard pillows and not enough selection at the buffet, I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were amazing and very friendly, couldn't have asked for more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous Beach and great location
The weak points
Hard pillows.
Certified

Jolly good time

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-04
This was a great place to experience the island of Antigua. Price was good, weather was awesome, food was great, so overall great trip. Rooms are dated but if you spend most of your time on the beach then it's fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was fantastic, water beautiful colors, bbq on the beach - jerk chicken and hamburders were great. A la Carte Restaurants have amazing food as well.
The weak points
Didn't have hot water for 2 days, must complain right away. Rooms were small and dated.
Certified

Good choice

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-28
Everything you could hope for and more, for a 3.5 star. Staff were lovely, and service was excellent. To a person the people on the island were warm and welcoming. Food was better than expected for a 3 star. I would like for food at the buffet to be much hotter. SPA prices were twice what I pay in Toronto. Drop the prices and watch your business double. Very closely located to Jolly Dive. Not a great location for snorkelling, water is lovely & warm but cloudy. I wish people wouldn't/couldn't reserve lounge chairs for the day and show up for an hour!!! Not nice people. Italian restaurant was lovely but if you are going to enforce a dress code pls. ask men to remove their baseball caps in the dining room. Signing up for al la cartes was difficult. We would have gone more than once but couldn't get a reservation. Front desk needs to be better staffed at check out on a Sun. morning spent 45 in line. I resented going to the airport almost 4 hrs. in advance of the return flt!!!! I would return and I would recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & staff. Sailing with Terrence, thank you.
The weak points
Long line at check out. Time wasted in airport. Unreliable internet.
Certified

Great for a 3 star

, Pickering, ON
2014-01-25
Had a great week we went in with lower expectations and were pleasantly surprised. Beautiful beach with lots of shells to collect and local vendors for souvenirs, Ruth at far end had best prices. We got up early to get beach chairs and got fresh towels at 4 pm. Enjoyed aqua fit, sailing, bingo and crafts, as well as fire eater, bands and bonfire. Staff and locals on the beach very friendly. Grocery store and harbour within walking distance, go there for bottled water $2 for gallon. Rooms very small and outdated no fridges but clean, AC and cable tv worked well. Ask for king bed we ended up with 2 twins. Harder time to get towels at end of week. Staff was very helpful, I walk with a cane and they were quick to offer assistance. Smaller buffet but we enjoyed most of the food with the exception of Caribbean night. Book the Italian more than once if u can. Bring mosquito repellant for evenings. Sunday brunch at fish house was good. Duty free at airport, Rockys liquors cheapest and took canadian $ at far. We had a great week! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach & we liked that it was only steps to pool. Staff were so friendly, and enjoyed daily activities including & and most of evening entertainment. Italian restaurant was amazing both food and service. Grocery store close.
The weak points
Rooms very tiny and beds were hard. Italian restaurant should be open every day. It was harder to get towels at end of visit but I brought my own beach towel and face cloths. Lots of Mosquitos take good repellant. Fish house not good except for brunch
Certified

Great beach

, Burlnington, ON
2014-01-21
Beautiful grounds hotels old bar needs work other words needs to be replaced. Sliding doors were hard to open to old. Rooms need fresh water. Hotel should supply bottled water. Needs fridge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and the friendly staff
The weak points
No fresh water in rooms also hearing everybody in their bathrooms basically listening to the rythmn of the flushing of the toilets
Certified

Beach fantastic. Resort rooms old

, Sudbury, ON
2014-01-21
Jolly Beach Resort is on a beautiful, clean white sand beach. The grounds, pool and beach are great, however the resort itself, buildings, rooms and common areas are so old and definitely need upgrading. Our room was changed three times because the room was mouldy and musty smelling causing headaches and stuffiness within 20 minutes of being in the room. The superior room is in no way "superior". We waited 2.5 days to get the bathroom light change as it was burnt out. Housekeeping had to be asked for shampoo, face cloths and coffee as these were not items replaced each day even though they were used. Coffee maker was not cleaned. Room was clean but very dated. Front lobby very musty smelling. Games room didn't have enough cues for the pool table. Buffet was okay but not spectacular. Food was cold, scrambled eggs mushy, bacon barely cooked. But the omelette station was superb. The three a la carte restaurants were excellent, food hot, service fast with wonderful friendly staff.

Fantastic location at Jolly Beach. Just wish resort was updated and not stuck in the 70's. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool and grounds were fantastic
The weak points
Resort not updated since 1970 when built. Mouldy and musty areas. Buffet not up to par
Certified

Jolly Beach, Not-So-Jolly Rooms

, Hanmer, ON
2014-01-20
Hotel location is great!
Hotel rooms are terrible.
They are old, musty, and need maintenance.
Location is perfect and meals were fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Beach
The weak points
Grungy Rooms
Certified

Escaping the polar vortex

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-01-14
Excellent design, all balconies are facing the beach, the higher the floor , the better view
Old building, needs major upgrades outdoor and indoor
Towels are old too, some of them in grayish tones
Grounds very nice and clean, no insects to bother at night, unless go closer to the harbor without bug repellant
Beach is absolutely superb but there are very old wood enclosures for local vendors that look horrible and also the straps with merchandise hanging between the gorgeous palm trees, gives you the feeling of a CHEAP flea market [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Air Transat excellent in providing services- Isabella's care was outstanding! They do not remove the all inclusive bracelet at check out! Very safe even walking outside the resort Stuff extremely friendly and polite EVERYWHERE
The weak points
Lacking a bar IN or NEAR the lobby/concierge, where the main activity is during the day. No proper lighting in the entertainment area, no music played on the property, sometimes feeling in a retirement home Coffee and water dispenser very old
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021