Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

 

3.913.913.913.913.91 (3.91)
Based on 338 reviews

Overall Impression: #24 of 111 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #25 of 111 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #21 of 111 hotels.
Beaches: #36 of 111 hotels.
Families: #3 of 111 hotels.
Couples: #98 of 111 hotels.
Singles: #66 of 111 hotels.
Seniors: #89 of 111 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (74)

Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
81
175
57
21
4
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

 Severely ill - nice grounds though

Overall hotel was nice. Food was disgusting - everywhere. Cold, cheap, spoiled
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds are great. Lots of animals, trails, etc

The weak points
Both myself and my mother had severe food poisoning for two days.

Monarc.ca Certified

Acw
Dartmouth, No
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-04-23 to 2016-04-30 (7 days)
Written on 2016-05-02

 First Trip

I had a fantastic time at Sandos Caracol Eco. This wa my first trip ever and I had awesome time. The food wa excellent. We had 2 servers that was awesome Lidia and Seve. They always feel welcome. They always came to our table and made sure that everything was fine. They were excellent. You have two good workers. The resort was awesome. The pool, the entertainment was excellent. I was fascinated with all the animals I seen, all the characters all dressed up. We ha excellent food. If I had to make a choice on a vacation, I would choose to go back to Sandos.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The excellent service we received

The weak points
We me ever ha enough towels, face cloths

Linda Leblanc
Cormier-Village, NB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-04-23 to 2016-04-24 (1 days)
Written on 2016-04-23

 Fabulous Resort

Great selection of food and beverage venues - we ate at a different restaurant each evening. The staff was excellent from the moment we arrived until the moment we left - all very accommodating and friendly.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The bed and room was very comfortable; the room and resort were spotlessly clean

The weak points
Minor inconveniences in the room - often took several tries to get our room key to open the door and we had a leaky air conditioner. However, must say staff was very quick to respond and repair

Monarc.ca Certified

Mr and Mrs G
Coaldale, AB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-04-09 to 2016-04-16 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-18

 Riviera maya sandos caracol eco resort

arrived to be told no room available for the first night. 1100pm. sent by cab to another santos, late, tired. unable to get help to phone home. room service took 1.5 hrs. next day insisted that we check if room was ready at eco told yes , when arrived not ready till 5pm.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful location, clean quite room

The weak points
overbooked

Monarc.ca Certified

Sue Ellen Pearn
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-03-24 to 2016-03-31 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-02

 Cancun

It was a four star. Offered something for everybody. From relaxing to renting a sailboat. The buffet selection and quality was great. The a la carte Italian was a disappointment. The bikes at bike rentals were in a horrid state of repair. Staff was brilliant and friendly. The lounge chair hoarding was ab noxious by the guests in general.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, buffet quality and selection and cleanliness. The grounds were beautiful and spacious.

The weak points
The rental bikes were in embarrassingly shape. Many guest gave up on the activity. They did a poor job communicating that 2 of the 3 pools were not accessible to non-select members. The washrooms at main pool were overused for the number of people.

Monarc.ca Certified

Frank Sawinsky
Etobicoke, ON
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-03-19 to 2016-03-26 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-28

 Sandos Eco Select Club 2016

Beautiful place. Amazing staff; loved Select Club. Numerous activities. Thanks for sharing a part of Mexico.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Select beach area was great; gracias Irene. friendly, helpful, cheerful, genuine staff; restaurants excellent food; rooms are nice; walking trails beautiful; was ok to book El Templo & excellent in not having to book other restaurants; nice to have wifi

The weak points
Membership people; smell of sewage; wifi was hit & miss

Monarc.ca Certified

Jose&Terry
Regina, SK
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-02-22 to 2016-03-03 (10 days)
Written on 2016-03-05

 Sandals sand flies

Overall reasonable
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very good. Staff always managed to find a table for 11 people. Animals

The weak points
The ocean is quite rocky. Sand flies bit all the females in my group 7/11. Long way from adult only section to beach. Water in adult only area was very cold for first 5 days. Room was very dark even with lights on

Monarc.ca Certified

Lynndt
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-02-13 to 2016-02-20 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-22

 Hola

sweet we will be back next year just dont join royal elite.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
hade fun explor zip lines

The weak points
no weak points

Monarc.ca Certified

Dan Drouin
London, ON
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-02-07 to 2016-02-14 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-16

 Our trip to Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

This was my second time at the Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, and was beyond excited to return! I have been working for our local travel agent and recommending this resort based on my first experience...confident that our clients would enjoy the same experience...

The resort grounds and beach were beautiful as ever - and food was great.

Upon checking in to our room we noticed broken glass and garbage on the balcony of our Junior Suite, and the tub (outdoors on the balcony over looking the pool) had not been cleaned, and had very obviously not been maintained. After having such a great experience with my first trip (a large group of us attended my sister's wedding, and then stayed for two weeks) I was certain that we could be provided a solution.

We approached the desk, expressed our concerns, and asked to upgrade for the remainder of our stay (offering my credit card). We were advised that a housekeeper would attend our room to clean it, and we would be provided sparkling wine to our room. We were told they we would not be upgraded.

The housekeeping staff did not arrive that evening; nor the following day. And our "sparking wine" never arrived.

I emailed Ruben Pachon Caceres expressing my concern regarding the condition of our suite, providing photos as well. He sent me a return message four days later...
"I apologize as I am looking at this email until now! Could you please tell me your room number or name under your reservation? this way I will be able to do something about it".
I promptly replied providing both my full name, and room number. He never responded.

Based on the obvious gap in their problem resolution process, and lack of customer service I will no longer be recommending this resort, and do not plan to return.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, Food, barstaff, and grounds

The weak points
Customer service, cleanliness, room and bathroom.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cj
Edson, AB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-02-01 to 2016-02-06 (5 days)
Written on 2016-02-08

 Sandos caracol eco resort

I went to sandos caracol eco resort in January 2016. The hotel was amazing and couldn't get over the plant life. The staff were friendly and helpful. The down side was no bottled water in the room and bar fridge wasn't very cold or rarely stocked. When we first got the the resort,they tried to get us to become members without giving us a chance to even see the resort. If we had the money, it's a great idea but they should have waited a couple of days before asking. We loved being there (even with the rain) and will be going back next January.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were amazing as were the animals


Monarc.ca Certified

Carolyn Harney
Kelowna, BC
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-01-10 to 2016-01-17 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-15

 Fun time

Most things were great. The food and general resort were very good. Three negatives: swamp smell, rocky beach and poor housekeeping. Staff was fantastic.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food and staff

The weak points
Smell, rocky beach, poor housekeeping.

Monarc.ca Certified

Carol King
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-01-09 to 2016-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-18

 Sandos Experence 2015

Great time at the Sandos Caracol Eco Resort the hotel was a bit dated the grounds were beautiful and well kept the food was amazing the weather was great for the most part this resort has something for everyone and every age lots to do it is a great resort for family with children on the non adult side evening shows were amazing would def recommend this resort
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Donald James Oneill
Barrie, ON
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-11-18 to 2015-11-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-11-27

 Beautiful location

The resort and grounds were well maintained. The staff are incredible. The staff are very friendly and work hard. The food was good. The steak house was the best. The Mexican restaurant was good as was the Japanese. Brazilian restaurant was okay. The Italian restaurant was disappointing. The buffets always satisfying with lots to choose from. There is also a 24 hour snack shop with basics like nachos, fruit, burgers, etc.
The hotel is built in a beautiful setting. They have preserved the natural vegetation. There are Mayan ruins inside the resort to see.
We enjoyed our 10 days and would recommend this resort.
We booked into the adults only and it was well worth it. We did not take our children but noticed that this resort does an incredible job putting on shows and entertaining children.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location, beautiful grounds, wildlife. Perfect for families with young children. Adults only beach and pool are very quiet.

The weak points
Beach sand was nice but rocky in places inside the water.

Monarc.ca Certified

J G
Regina, SK
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-11-14 to 2015-11-24 (10 days)
Written on 2015-11-26

 SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT

Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. The one issue we had was correctly immediately.

It was a walk to the beach from our room in the Adult section but we enjoyed it. You can walk through the jungle on the way there. We are 60 and it was not an issue. If you had any mobility issues you might find it too far.

The sand on the beach is very nice however there are rocks in the water. Water shoes are a must. If you don't have any, you can find paths through the rocks.

The mosquitos are horrendous. Take bug spray.

The wildlife is fun to watch. We saw tons of spider monkeys, racoons and coatis.

The food was only OK in my mind BUT I am a very picky eater. My husband enjoyed it.

The vacation club tricked us to listen to their talk by saying they were going to give us a tour of the resort. It was a tour of the club area that we had NO intention to buy into. Be careful.

We will definitely be back sometime in the future.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, eco awareness, beach

The weak points
Mosquitos, food, vacation club

Monarc.ca Certified

Lb
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-10-25 to 2015-11-01 (7 days)
Written on 2015-11-04

 Negative

the resort and too dirty
poop of animals throughout the resort
the buffet always dirty.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
shows

The weak points
too dirty

Monarc.ca Certified

Vincenzo Leo
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-09-26 to 2015-10-10 (14 days)
Written on 2015-10-12

 Nicer than expected

Had extremely low expectations due to TripAdvisor reviews, and was pleasantly surprised. I booked a group of 15 people and so resort options were limited.. glad we ended up here. Beach is fine - a bit rocky but there are places to walk around the rocks. Erosion is an issue and there's lots of seaweed, but everything else is perfect. Lots of activities, chairs, drinks and shade. Food quality seemed to depend on the day - sometimes it was fantastic, and other times was decent. A la cartes were pretty much a let down across the board (did Japanese, Greek and Steakhouse) but you don't go to these resorts expecting 5 star meals. Buffets were great with lots of options and occasionally really excellent items.
Resort itself is packed with trails, animals and activities. It is impossible to get bored here. Rooms were clean enough - typical Mexico resort hotel room. Even though we were a group of 15 young adults they refused to move us to the adult section, and therefore acquired some noise complaints.
Bring lots of bug spray and sunscreen. It's going to cost you a fortune if you run out. There are dispensers around the resort full of 'natural' bug repellent, but I found it to be completely useless. Deet is your friend.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
A great family resort with lots to do.

The weak points
Dealing with front desk was challenging, and you definitely have to tip well, and in advance, to get decent service.

Monarc.ca Certified

Melissa K
Vancouver, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-04-24 to 2015-05-01 (7 days)
Written on 2015-05-04

 Anita from Alberta

The resort itself was an experiance. We loved being in a more nature setting resort. A few thing we were not pleased about.A basic room dose not include a coffee maker, it did include a water machine with hot and cold water, unfortunatly it was not plugged in so there for no hot or cold water just room temprature.We also had a lot of noise one night comming from the room next to us waking us up at 2am. When we complained they offerd to move us and not the other couple. The food was good, lots of choices. the grounds were amazing. This is a good family resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds and location. Lots to keep one entertained

The weak points
No hot or cold drinking water in room. Can hear through the walls to easily

Monarc.ca Certified

Anita
Bowden, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-04-18 to 2015-04-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-04-27

 Great family hotel

This hotel is great for family fun. Lots to see and do in this Eco resort. Staff are great and super friendly..
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Overall great family Vacation. Staff were great.

The weak points
Not enough culture or their music played.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jasmeen Stahl
Brandon, MB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-03-18 to 2015-03-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-27

 Good for families, but poor on fresh fruits/juices

All in all, we liked the resort (especially our daughter - donkeys and cats to pet, monkeys in the trees, water slides and pools and beach). But we were disappointed about the poor choice and quality of fruits, juices and drinks. The other food was ok.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
- kid's facilities - "jungle" and woods on the resort, the way the whole resort was designed and kept - We had to consult a doctor and even go to a clinic for check-up, this was all very quick and high standard (though with high prices, too)

The weak points
- no juices from real fruits, no fresh orange juice, cocktails were only from sirup, little choice of fresh fruits, not very tasty (I would have expected much much more from Mexico)

Monarc.ca Certified

Beachmonkey
Ottawa, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-03-10 to 2015-03-17 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-19

 Fantastic Family Resort

Awesome resort. Great food. Service and hospitality was super good. Loved all the activities and culture. Night shows were some of the best I have seen. Super kid and family friendly. Make sure you tour all the places and experience as many of the activities as possible. High light - we loved the wild spider monkeys and coati. Unforgettable memories made by our family.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to do as a family and for children. More to do than there was time to do it. Awesome A La Carte. All resort staff was super pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. Wild life and cenote on resort = awesomeness.

The weak points
Beach was not the best-lots of rock, sea weed & dead coral. Lots of walking-awesome for us but mobility impaired might not be the best. Vendors that come to the resort can be pricey-barter hard. "Night Life" is really quiet so not a partying resort.

Monarc.ca Certified

Tara F
Beaverlodge, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-03-08 to 2015-03-15 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-17

 Great fun

My husband and I stayed at the Sandos Caracol for ten days in January, and it was one of our best vacations ever. The possibility of seeing spider monkeys first brought this resort to my attention, but all the other activities offered at no cost were what really sold me on it.
A person could go to this resort and enjoy the pool, the beach, the bars, and have a great time without ever experiencing anything else the resort has to offer, but they’d be missing out on so much. The resort itself—the rooms, restaurants, pools—are what you’d expect from a three-four star all-inclusive, nice enough, but not outstanding. The beach isn’t that spectacular either with its abundance of seaweed.
What the resort offered us was cenotes, jungle and mangroves, nature trails to walk and bike, Mayan ruins, superior evening shows, and the chance to encounter many little creatures, including the aforementioned monkeys.
Besides the animal encounters, the aspect we liked most about our stay was the daily eco tours with Noemi. A lovely young lady with a bubbly personality, she taught us so much about nature, the eco system and the Mayan culture, and she did it in a way that was both fun and interesting. It’s a shame more of the guests don’t take advantage of these tours.
We also enjoyed meeting Jesus (Hay-zeus) when we took the Mayan River boat ride. His Mayan costume was impressively elaborate and he was full of knowledgeable information. The boat ride, itself, is a relaxing twenty minutes in a stunning setting with jungle on one side and mangroves on the other.
There is a time-shareish aspect to the resort and I saw many people sitting in meetings, looking as though they’d like to be anywhere else but there. We politely said no thank you when the “tour” was first brought up and were never bothered again.
We stayed in the least expensive family section, because we weren’t there for the room so I can’t comment on what else is available. Our room was very plain, but serviceable for our needs. Our only real complaint was with the pillows. They were beyond awful. Rock hard and lumpy. I found it helped to undo the pillowcase because it seemed to be too tight for the pillow. But those pillows seriously need to be replaced.
Neither of us are sophisticated foodies. Hubby loves just about everything and I’m far less adventurous, but we both found plenty to enjoy at the buffets. We preferred the Mexican buffet for breakfast and the Italian one for lunch. If I have one suggestion for management it would be to have the staff keep a closer eye on the food trays, replacing them before they become empty, instead of a long time after, as was sometimes the case. We ate at all the a la cartes except the Brazilian and found them all very good, but none were really great. My favorite was the Salvia, even though I’m not vegetarian. I had a lasagne that had neither meat nor cheese in it and it was surprisingly delicious. We enjoyed the presentation at the El Templo Japanese Restaurant more than the food.
The resort is set in the jungle with standing water, so yes, there are bugs. Despite using bug spray every day, I still got many bites, so did my husband who usually isn’t bitten. The strange thing is, while the bites looked red and swollen, they didn’t itch or burn. No clue why they didn’t bother us, but I’m sure not complaining.
Every single minute of our ten days was full and fun. We swam in the cenote, rode the bikes, went on the photo safari, trekked the trails and walked the beach, did six out of seven eco tours (each day is different) and watched all the evening shows except the Disney one. Their incredible three-night Xcalacoco Experience is not to be missed. My advice to anyone staying at Sandos Caracol would be to check the info board and the room book to find out what’s offered and then take advantage of whatever attracts your interest.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
This resort offers so much more than the usual pool and beach scene. Seeing the monkeys was such fun and we’ll never forget the Xcalacoco Experience.

The weak points
The rooms can use sprucing up and the beach isn't all that spectacular.

Monarc.ca Certified

J Holmes
Kelowna, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-01-04 to 2015-01-14 (10 days)
Written on 2015-02-24

 AWESOME YOGA with Juan Carlos Rios

Really subpar rundown room (2 star room I think). Horrible pillows!! Did not sleep with these pillows. Staff checked in nextdoor hotel at 1:30am and were SOOOO loud. Walls paper thin so could hear everything. Yoga with Juan Carlos Rios was the best each morning!! loved it. Noemi the guide was AWESOME! love learning of the surroundings.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Yoga, ecotours, aqua aerobics, THE NATURE HERE!!!!! The buffet, the guacamole is awesome. The hot tub at the spa.

The weak points
The room!! the pillows, the paper thin walls where you can hear everything your neighbor does... ugh. A-la-carte meals not very good.

Monarc.ca Certified

Nadine Lockhart
Saskatoon, SK
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2014-12-16 to 2014-12-21 (5 days)
Written on 2014-12-23

 A great resort for families

We have been to this resort once before, prior to having kids, and loved the amount of adventure activities and sports that they offered.
Now, with 2 kids, we were able to experience the excellent Aqua Park pool designed for kids, and the the play area and other child friendly activities that they offered.
These activities ensured that our kids were busy, and we still had fun as a family with the nature hikes and cenotes and wildlife that are on the premises of the hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of sporting activities Great family activities Extremely friendly and courteous staff Large and well-maintained hotel facilities Lots of wildlife and natural beauty

The weak points
The rooms could use some improvement

Monarc.ca Certified

Gary Sarkissian
Toronto, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2014-12-12 to 2014-12-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-23

 Family vacation

Family of 4 - 2adults & 16 yrs & 19 yrs, all enjoyed the resort and would want to return.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, variety of activities, clean beaches, good restaurant options

The weak points
Rooms are dated need some attention

Monarc.ca Certified

Michael & Gracia
Delta , BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2014-11-12 to 2014-11-22 (10 days)
Written on 2014-11-26

 Awesome place for kids

4 Star great trip would definately recommend to others!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Animals and Waterpark

The weak points
Room not cleaned and air conditioner did not work for 3 days!

Monarc.ca Certified

Sheldon Reinhart
Swift Current, SK
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-03-15 to 2014-03-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-27

 A Refreshing Visit

We enjoyed it very much. Loved the friendly and accommodating staff. We enjoyed the food. There was always something very yummy to eat. The room was ok. The white wine was harsh the red wine was good. All of my family enjoyed everything about the resort especially my 2 year old grandaughter. The entertainment was spectacular.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly staff and beautiful grounds.

The weak points
The beach needs to be improved although how the hell do you get rid of the rocks. It's getting shabby, ie broken tiles, paint splatters, chips in the walls, fading and chipping paint on side walks. Definately not recommended for seniors

Monarc.ca Certified

Juan Holio
Stony Plain, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-03-12 to 2014-03-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-21

 Stay away

stay away not worth it
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
none

The weak points
booked adult only select club, everybody had access to these select areas, dont know what i paid extra for. no liquor service in adult pool after 5pm. bugs in both rooms we had

Monarc.ca Certified

Karen Jean Woodruff
Powell River, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-03-03 to 2014-03-13 (10 days)
Written on 2014-03-16

 Excellent place for family with kids

This is the best place if you travel with kids up to 11 years old. Lots of stuff to do to keep them busy. Friendly staff. Excellent food. Amazing shows every night. Adults will love the Xcalacoco shows. Kids will love the super hero and Disney shows.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Kids friendly. Lots is restaurants and bars. Great food. amazing shows

The weak points
Beach is a little rocky. Make sure you bring water shoes. Drinks extremely watered down.

Monarc.ca Certified

Puidezmeu
New Westminster, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-10 (10 days)
Written on 2014-03-13

 Great place to stay

I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean, friendly, helpful and eco minded. There were lots of lizards, birds, turtles, monkeys, racoons, coati and other local wild life.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Intertwined with mangrove it was cool, tranquil and exotic. The jungle paths were wild enough but still fully accessible and manageable. The cenotes (water filled sink holes) were magical and great for swimming.

The weak points
Limited information about event times and locations.

Monarc.ca Certified

Linda
London, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-22 to 2014-02-27 (5 days)
Written on 2014-03-01

 Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Big property largely kept in natural state. Extensive trail system and places to explore within resort. Lots of native animals to see.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Made good use of Mayan history and culture with entertainment .

The weak points
Beach - rocks, sea weed. Musty smell in room..

Monarc.ca Certified

Barbara & Barry
Ajax, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-11 to 2014-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-22
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


346 reviews


Food / Restaurants

The Hideaway At Royalton Riviera Cancun

The Hideaway At Royalton Riviera Cancun

Riviera Maya


24 reviews


Beaches

Riu Palace Mexico

Riu Palace Mexico

Riviera Maya


92 reviews


Families

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Riviera Maya


159 reviews


Couples

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya


130 reviews


Singles

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Riviera Maya


6 non recent reviews

Seniors

Akumal Beach Resort

Akumal Beach Resort

Riviera Maya


115 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry