Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

 

3.913.913.913.913.91 (3.91)
Based on 324 reviews

Overall Impression: #23 of 110 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #24 of 110 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #21 of 110 hotels.
Beaches: #34 of 110 hotels.
Families: #5 of 110 hotels.
Couples: #87 of 110 hotels.
Singles: #70 of 110 hotels.
Seniors: #90 of 110 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (69)

Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort Traveller picture - Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
78
166
57
19
4
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

 Our trip to Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

This was my second time at the Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, and was beyond excited to return! I have been working for our local travel agent and recommending this resort based on my first experience...confident that our clients would enjoy the same experience...

The resort grounds and beach were beautiful as ever - and food was great.

Upon checking in to our room we noticed broken glass and garbage on the balcony of our Junior Suite, and the tub (outdoors on the balcony over looking the pool) had not been cleaned, and had very obviously not been maintained. After having such a great experience with my first trip (a large group of us attended my sister's wedding, and then stayed for two weeks) I was certain that we could be provided a solution.

We approached the desk, expressed our concerns, and asked to upgrade for the remainder of our stay (offering my credit card). We were advised that a housekeeper would attend our room to clean it, and we would be provided sparkling wine to our room. We were told they we would not be upgraded.

The housekeeping staff did not arrive that evening; nor the following day. And our "sparking wine" never arrived.

I emailed Ruben Pachon Caceres expressing my concern regarding the condition of our suite, providing photos as well. He sent me a return message four days later...
"I apologize as I am looking at this email until now! Could you please tell me your room number or name under your reservation? this way I will be able to do something about it".
I promptly replied providing both my full name, and room number. He never responded.

Based on the obvious gap in their problem resolution process, and lack of customer service I will no longer be recommending this resort, and do not plan to return.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, Food, barstaff, and grounds

The weak points
Customer service, cleanliness, room and bathroom.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cj
Edson, AB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-02-01 to 2016-02-06 (5 days)
Written on 2016-02-08

 Fun time

Most things were great. The food and general resort were very good. Three negatives: swamp smell, rocky beach and poor housekeeping. Staff was fantastic.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food and staff

The weak points
Smell, rocky beach, poor housekeeping.

Monarc.ca Certified

Carol King
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2016-01-09 to 2016-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-18

 Sandos Experence 2015

Great time at the Sandos Caracol Eco Resort the hotel was a bit dated the grounds were beautiful and well kept the food was amazing the weather was great for the most part this resort has something for everyone and every age lots to do it is a great resort for family with children on the non adult side evening shows were amazing would def recommend this resort
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Donald James Oneill
Barrie, ON
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-11-18 to 2015-11-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-11-27

 Beautiful location

The resort and grounds were well maintained. The staff are incredible. The staff are very friendly and work hard. The food was good. The steak house was the best. The Mexican restaurant was good as was the Japanese. Brazilian restaurant was okay. The Italian restaurant was disappointing. The buffets always satisfying with lots to choose from. There is also a 24 hour snack shop with basics like nachos, fruit, burgers, etc.
The hotel is built in a beautiful setting. They have preserved the natural vegetation. There are Mayan ruins inside the resort to see.
We enjoyed our 10 days and would recommend this resort.
We booked into the adults only and it was well worth it. We did not take our children but noticed that this resort does an incredible job putting on shows and entertaining children.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location, beautiful grounds, wildlife. Perfect for families with young children. Adults only beach and pool are very quiet.

The weak points
Beach sand was nice but rocky in places inside the water.

Monarc.ca Certified

J G
Regina, SK
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-11-14 to 2015-11-24 (10 days)
Written on 2015-11-26

 SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT

Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. The one issue we had was correctly immediately.

It was a walk to the beach from our room in the Adult section but we enjoyed it. You can walk through the jungle on the way there. We are 60 and it was not an issue. If you had any mobility issues you might find it too far.

The sand on the beach is very nice however there are rocks in the water. Water shoes are a must. If you don't have any, you can find paths through the rocks.

The mosquitos are horrendous. Take bug spray.

The wildlife is fun to watch. We saw tons of spider monkeys, racoons and coatis.

The food was only OK in my mind BUT I am a very picky eater. My husband enjoyed it.

The vacation club tricked us to listen to their talk by saying they were going to give us a tour of the resort. It was a tour of the club area that we had NO intention to buy into. Be careful.

We will definitely be back sometime in the future.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, eco awareness, beach

The weak points
Mosquitos, food, vacation club

Monarc.ca Certified

Lb
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-10-25 to 2015-11-01 (7 days)
Written on 2015-11-04

 Negative

the resort and too dirty
poop of animals throughout the resort
the buffet always dirty.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
shows

The weak points
too dirty

Monarc.ca Certified

Vincenzo Leo
Review for hotel Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
from 2015-09-26 to 2015-10-10 (14 days)
Written on 2015-10-12

 Nicer than expected

Had extremely low expectations due to TripAdvisor reviews, and was pleasantly surprised. I booked a group of 15 people and so resort options were limited.. glad we ended up here. Beach is fine - a bit rocky but there are places to walk around the rocks. Erosion is an issue and there's lots of seaweed, but everything else is perfect. Lots of activities, chairs, drinks and shade. Food quality seemed to depend on the day - sometimes it was fantastic, and other times was decent. A la cartes were pretty much a let down across the board (did Japanese, Greek and Steakhouse) but you don't go to these resorts expecting 5 star meals. Buffets were great with lots of options and occasionally really excellent items.
Resort itself is packed with trails, animals and activities. It is impossible to get bored here. Rooms were clean enough - typical Mexico resort hotel room. Even though we were a group of 15 young adults they refused to move us to the adult section, and therefore acquired some noise complaints.
Bring lots of bug spray and sunscreen. It's going to cost you a fortune if you run out. There are dispensers around the resort full of 'natural' bug repellent, but I found it to be completely useless. Deet is your friend.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
A great family resort with lots to do.

The weak points
Dealing with front desk was challenging, and you definitely have to tip well, and in advance, to get decent service.

Monarc.ca Certified

Melissa K
Vancouver, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-04-24 to 2015-05-01 (7 days)
Written on 2015-05-04

 Anita from Alberta

The resort itself was an experiance. We loved being in a more nature setting resort. A few thing we were not pleased about.A basic room dose not include a coffee maker, it did include a water machine with hot and cold water, unfortunatly it was not plugged in so there for no hot or cold water just room temprature.We also had a lot of noise one night comming from the room next to us waking us up at 2am. When we complained they offerd to move us and not the other couple. The food was good, lots of choices. the grounds were amazing. This is a good family resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds and location. Lots to keep one entertained

The weak points
No hot or cold drinking water in room. Can hear through the walls to easily

Monarc.ca Certified

Anita
Bowden, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-04-18 to 2015-04-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-04-27

 Great family hotel

This hotel is great for family fun. Lots to see and do in this Eco resort. Staff are great and super friendly..
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Overall great family Vacation. Staff were great.

The weak points
Not enough culture or their music played.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jasmeen Stahl
Brandon, MB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-03-18 to 2015-03-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-27

 Good for families, but poor on fresh fruits/juices

All in all, we liked the resort (especially our daughter - donkeys and cats to pet, monkeys in the trees, water slides and pools and beach). But we were disappointed about the poor choice and quality of fruits, juices and drinks. The other food was ok.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
- kid's facilities - "jungle" and woods on the resort, the way the whole resort was designed and kept - We had to consult a doctor and even go to a clinic for check-up, this was all very quick and high standard (though with high prices, too)

The weak points
- no juices from real fruits, no fresh orange juice, cocktails were only from sirup, little choice of fresh fruits, not very tasty (I would have expected much much more from Mexico)

Monarc.ca Certified

Beachmonkey
Ottawa, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-03-10 to 2015-03-17 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-19

 Fantastic Family Resort

Awesome resort. Great food. Service and hospitality was super good. Loved all the activities and culture. Night shows were some of the best I have seen. Super kid and family friendly. Make sure you tour all the places and experience as many of the activities as possible. High light - we loved the wild spider monkeys and coati. Unforgettable memories made by our family.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to do as a family and for children. More to do than there was time to do it. Awesome A La Carte. All resort staff was super pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. Wild life and cenote on resort = awesomeness.

The weak points
Beach was not the best-lots of rock, sea weed & dead coral. Lots of walking-awesome for us but mobility impaired might not be the best. Vendors that come to the resort can be pricey-barter hard. "Night Life" is really quiet so not a partying resort.

Monarc.ca Certified

Tara F
Beaverlodge, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-03-08 to 2015-03-15 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-17

 Great fun

My husband and I stayed at the Sandos Caracol for ten days in January, and it was one of our best vacations ever. The possibility of seeing spider monkeys first brought this resort to my attention, but all the other activities offered at no cost were what really sold me on it.
A person could go to this resort and enjoy the pool, the beach, the bars, and have a great time without ever experiencing anything else the resort has to offer, but they’d be missing out on so much. The resort itself—the rooms, restaurants, pools—are what you’d expect from a three-four star all-inclusive, nice enough, but not outstanding. The beach isn’t that spectacular either with its abundance of seaweed.
What the resort offered us was cenotes, jungle and mangroves, nature trails to walk and bike, Mayan ruins, superior evening shows, and the chance to encounter many little creatures, including the aforementioned monkeys.
Besides the animal encounters, the aspect we liked most about our stay was the daily eco tours with Noemi. A lovely young lady with a bubbly personality, she taught us so much about nature, the eco system and the Mayan culture, and she did it in a way that was both fun and interesting. It’s a shame more of the guests don’t take advantage of these tours.
We also enjoyed meeting Jesus (Hay-zeus) when we took the Mayan River boat ride. His Mayan costume was impressively elaborate and he was full of knowledgeable information. The boat ride, itself, is a relaxing twenty minutes in a stunning setting with jungle on one side and mangroves on the other.
There is a time-shareish aspect to the resort and I saw many people sitting in meetings, looking as though they’d like to be anywhere else but there. We politely said no thank you when the “tour” was first brought up and were never bothered again.
We stayed in the least expensive family section, because we weren’t there for the room so I can’t comment on what else is available. Our room was very plain, but serviceable for our needs. Our only real complaint was with the pillows. They were beyond awful. Rock hard and lumpy. I found it helped to undo the pillowcase because it seemed to be too tight for the pillow. But those pillows seriously need to be replaced.
Neither of us are sophisticated foodies. Hubby loves just about everything and I’m far less adventurous, but we both found plenty to enjoy at the buffets. We preferred the Mexican buffet for breakfast and the Italian one for lunch. If I have one suggestion for management it would be to have the staff keep a closer eye on the food trays, replacing them before they become empty, instead of a long time after, as was sometimes the case. We ate at all the a la cartes except the Brazilian and found them all very good, but none were really great. My favorite was the Salvia, even though I’m not vegetarian. I had a lasagne that had neither meat nor cheese in it and it was surprisingly delicious. We enjoyed the presentation at the El Templo Japanese Restaurant more than the food.
The resort is set in the jungle with standing water, so yes, there are bugs. Despite using bug spray every day, I still got many bites, so did my husband who usually isn’t bitten. The strange thing is, while the bites looked red and swollen, they didn’t itch or burn. No clue why they didn’t bother us, but I’m sure not complaining.
Every single minute of our ten days was full and fun. We swam in the cenote, rode the bikes, went on the photo safari, trekked the trails and walked the beach, did six out of seven eco tours (each day is different) and watched all the evening shows except the Disney one. Their incredible three-night Xcalacoco Experience is not to be missed. My advice to anyone staying at Sandos Caracol would be to check the info board and the room book to find out what’s offered and then take advantage of whatever attracts your interest.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
This resort offers so much more than the usual pool and beach scene. Seeing the monkeys was such fun and we’ll never forget the Xcalacoco Experience.

The weak points
The rooms can use sprucing up and the beach isn't all that spectacular.

Monarc.ca Certified

J Holmes
Kelowna, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2015-01-04 to 2015-01-14 (10 days)
Written on 2015-02-24

 AWESOME YOGA with Juan Carlos Rios

Really subpar rundown room (2 star room I think). Horrible pillows!! Did not sleep with these pillows. Staff checked in nextdoor hotel at 1:30am and were SOOOO loud. Walls paper thin so could hear everything. Yoga with Juan Carlos Rios was the best each morning!! loved it. Noemi the guide was AWESOME! love learning of the surroundings.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Yoga, ecotours, aqua aerobics, THE NATURE HERE!!!!! The buffet, the guacamole is awesome. The hot tub at the spa.

The weak points
The room!! the pillows, the paper thin walls where you can hear everything your neighbor does... ugh. A-la-carte meals not very good.

Monarc.ca Certified

Nadine Lockhart
Saskatoon, SK
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2014-12-16 to 2014-12-21 (5 days)
Written on 2014-12-23

 A great resort for families

We have been to this resort once before, prior to having kids, and loved the amount of adventure activities and sports that they offered.
Now, with 2 kids, we were able to experience the excellent Aqua Park pool designed for kids, and the the play area and other child friendly activities that they offered.
These activities ensured that our kids were busy, and we still had fun as a family with the nature hikes and cenotes and wildlife that are on the premises of the hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of sporting activities Great family activities Extremely friendly and courteous staff Large and well-maintained hotel facilities Lots of wildlife and natural beauty

The weak points
The rooms could use some improvement

Monarc.ca Certified

Gary Sarkissian
Toronto, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2014-12-12 to 2014-12-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-23

 Family vacation

Family of 4 - 2adults & 16 yrs & 19 yrs, all enjoyed the resort and would want to return.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, variety of activities, clean beaches, good restaurant options

The weak points
Rooms are dated need some attention

Monarc.ca Certified

Michael & Gracia
Delta , BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO EXPERIENCE RST for this review
from 2014-11-12 to 2014-11-22 (10 days)
Written on 2014-11-26

 Awesome place for kids

4 Star great trip would definately recommend to others!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Animals and Waterpark

The weak points
Room not cleaned and air conditioner did not work for 3 days!

Monarc.ca Certified

Sheldon Reinhart
Swift Current, SK
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-03-15 to 2014-03-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-27

 A Refreshing Visit

We enjoyed it very much. Loved the friendly and accommodating staff. We enjoyed the food. There was always something very yummy to eat. The room was ok. The white wine was harsh the red wine was good. All of my family enjoyed everything about the resort especially my 2 year old grandaughter. The entertainment was spectacular.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly staff and beautiful grounds.

The weak points
The beach needs to be improved although how the hell do you get rid of the rocks. It's getting shabby, ie broken tiles, paint splatters, chips in the walls, fading and chipping paint on side walks. Definately not recommended for seniors

Monarc.ca Certified

Juan Holio
Stony Plain, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-03-12 to 2014-03-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-21

 Stay away

stay away not worth it
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
none

The weak points
booked adult only select club, everybody had access to these select areas, dont know what i paid extra for. no liquor service in adult pool after 5pm. bugs in both rooms we had

Monarc.ca Certified

Karen Jean Woodruff
Powell River, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-03-03 to 2014-03-13 (10 days)
Written on 2014-03-16

 Excellent place for family with kids

This is the best place if you travel with kids up to 11 years old. Lots of stuff to do to keep them busy. Friendly staff. Excellent food. Amazing shows every night. Adults will love the Xcalacoco shows. Kids will love the super hero and Disney shows.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Kids friendly. Lots is restaurants and bars. Great food. amazing shows

The weak points
Beach is a little rocky. Make sure you bring water shoes. Drinks extremely watered down.

Monarc.ca Certified

Puidezmeu
New Westminster, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-10 (10 days)
Written on 2014-03-13

 Great place to stay

I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was clean, friendly, helpful and eco minded. There were lots of lizards, birds, turtles, monkeys, racoons, coati and other local wild life.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Intertwined with mangrove it was cool, tranquil and exotic. The jungle paths were wild enough but still fully accessible and manageable. The cenotes (water filled sink holes) were magical and great for swimming.

The weak points
Limited information about event times and locations.

Monarc.ca Certified

Linda
London, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-22 to 2014-02-27 (5 days)
Written on 2014-03-01

 Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Big property largely kept in natural state. Extensive trail system and places to explore within resort. Lots of native animals to see.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Made good use of Mayan history and culture with entertainment .

The weak points
Beach - rocks, sea weed. Musty smell in room..

Monarc.ca Certified

Barbara & Barry
Ajax, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-11 to 2014-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-22

 Sandos Caracol Eco Resort and Spa

Great Hotel.. Staff was amazing especially Rubican at the Pool Bar.
Issues we found were that the beach is a haven for all types of rocks as this is a Eco-Friendly resort, and as a result very difficult to enter Ocean water unless you have concrete for feet. While we were there were a few casualties with people slicing their feet open from the rocks.
This is definitely a place to bring your kids as we saw at least 60 strollers during our visit. Kids everywhere, but well behaved, even in the main pool bar. If your looking to avoid kids avoid this place or book Adults only.
Make sure you get a room with a new or 20th century bar fridge as some of the fridges do not do a good job of keeping your beverages cold.
Don't feed the raccoons as they are hungry little devils and will bite you, and its 110$ just to say hello to the resort Doctor.
All in all, a good decent Resort as Staff were fantastic, and very easy to talk to and get any issues settled. But alas I would not return to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Hotel, Clean , friendly staff.

The weak points
The beach is a haven for all types of rocks as this is a Eco-Friendly resort, and as a result very difficult to enter Ocean water unless you have concrete for feet. While we were there were a few casualties with people slicing their feet open from rocks.

Monarc.ca Certified

Kristine Grace Hardman
Winnipeg, MB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-09 to 2014-02-16 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-19

 Sandos 2 weeks

first glance was a bit rough, room was dated, fridge, water cooler,screen door all not working room smelled of mold, theo travel broucher pictures not same as what rooms like. we were accomidated and rooms switched but had to wait 3 days. new room dated but at least functional. as for the staff...fantastic! food was good, and ala carts were great, we had a speciall event to celebrate, and were treated exceptional, , we also had a small piece of metal in 1 meal at an ala cart, and they re booked and the chef made a special meal for us, complete with all extras it was above and beyond, with meals delivered to table by the chefs!, hotel has lots for kids, and the eco stuff intersting . spa service was used...again fantastic! beach a bit small and was very rocky to get into the ocean. overall great place would go back, but would hope for some room renos/upgrades.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
the staff...exceptional. nightly shows were great for kids also

The weak points
rooms...need renos!!!!! and updated furniture and decor

Monarc.ca Certified

cc family
Red Deer, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-01-31 to 2014-02-14 (14 days)
Written on 2014-02-16

 Sandos Caracol Eco Resort and Spa

Our vacation didn't start off to a great start as they did not have us registered. We were sort of in limbo for the first day until we were finally assigned a room on the 6th at 2:00 p.m. No hospitality room was issued so we lost a day sitting around waiting. Other than that it all ended well. The resort is very large and sort of confusing at times, on our second last day we finally could find everything. The animals were probably the highlight of our trip with monkeys by our pool, raccoons at night, turtles and many mosquitos! We upgraded to the adult only section which I was really happy we did.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The adult only section.

The weak points
Mosquitos were really bad. With the resort being so large there was a lot of walking to get to wherever you wanted to go.

Monarc.ca Certified

Laura Bradley
Edmonton, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-05 to 2014-02-12 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-14

 Very good resort

Outstanding location and hotel. Lots to do and see. Very good service, clean and well run. Lots of wild life.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Good service Clean resort Adult Club select is awesome Alacarts are excellent

The weak points
Buffets not to great

Monarc.ca Certified

James Brander
Lacombe, AB
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-02-04 to 2014-02-11 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-13

 Wonderful Vacation

The hotel was fabulous. Service was fantastic. All the staff were so friendly. Loved all the natural beauty that this resort has to offer. All the walking trails & wildlife throughout the resort was great. Lots to see & do there. The nightly shows were very well done as well. Buffets were good and the a la carte's were awesome.
We had a wonderful vacation and would go back for sure. Beach was a little disappointing... but I knew that from reading reviews before we booked. Because they are an Eco resort they do not clear the water of all the rocks.... but walked a couple minutes and found a great spot to swim
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, service, scenery and wildlife

The weak points
The rocks in the water

Monarc.ca Certified

Clayton
Abbotsford, BC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-01-29 to 2014-02-05 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-16

 Great Resort

we had a great time at this resort. the staff were friendly and willing to help you if asked. There was always lots to do here & if you have kids they would love it.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
good variety of food. there were good restaraunts if you wanted to reserve, we had no problem reserving a couple of these.

The weak points
The beaches here are not nice. we could not swim here, so we walked down further (about 1 KLM) and found a nice spot to swim.

Monarc.ca Certified

Beppi Turcotte
Kemptville, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-01-26 to 2014-02-02 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-05

 Room issues - Royal Elite Section

The site of the resort is simply amazing. The shows in the evening, especially the mayan shows, were wonderful and great for kids. The Mexican food was especially good. The beach however was not very nice. It was very difficult to swim by the beach given all the rocks.

As for the way the royal elite section is managed by Sandos, we were very, very disappointed and even disgusted. When we arrived our 3 royal elite superior rooms (we were a group of 9 people) were not available. After 2 hours at the registration desk and complaining that we had paid for royal elite superior rooms, we were informed that our rooms would only be available after two days from our arrival. We were placed in junior suites that were in the family section. These rooms were horrible and very outdated. The pull-out beds were rusted; the mattress dirty; the phones not working; the safe not working; the Jacuzzi outside was rusted and very dirty; walls patched-up very badly.

We complained to different managers at the hotel and were informed that members of the royal elite club (type of timeshare) receive priority placement in the the royal elite rooms before people who have purchase these rooms through travel agencies. We were also pushed at multiple times to attend a timeshare tour, which we finally got stuck going to. We were ruddily dismissed when we told them that we were not interested.

Even though our experience was wonderful once we received our rooms, we would not recommend this hotel given the lack of transparency, professionalism and curtesy we received from the management at the hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
cenotes, walking trails, evening shows, children aqua park, pool, Mexican food

The weak points
Management, outdated and ugly basic rooms, beach,

Monarc.ca Certified

Michelle Guertin
Val-De-Monts, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-01-16 to 2014-01-30 (14 days)
Written on 2014-02-01

 Should be listed as a family resort only

Hotel was wonderful, although they did lose our registration, we had no room when we arrived although we did have a confirmation number.
While we waited for them to find us a room, we were treated to a sales pitch to buy into their time shares. which we did not appreciate.they finally found us a room and informed us they had upgraded us to a select adults only room with a king sized bed, which would have been nice if we had not already booked and PAID for a select adults only room with a king sized bed.
as stated above the hotel is very nice, food is excellent, the staff saves the hotel. very good staff here. we have traveled to many hotels and these are among the best staff we have had.
They have some great rules and regs, but unfortunately they do not enforce them.
Examples are , no smoking around the pools, this is ignored frequently,, ( of course it would be solved if you kept french Canadians out ) adults only area on beach is the only place people can swim, so it was awash in kids.
Proper dress code for the ala carts, great idea, so why let people in wearing sleeveless shirts, shorts and flip flops. All being said we enjoyed our stay, loved the hotel, food and location, staff were some of the best, but we would not go back there.
It really is a family hotel with a small adult only section in the middle.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great, food is great as is the location

The weak points
rules not enforced, losing our room this was our 35 wedding anniversary and was supposed t obe special, instead we never even had a room when we got there, we felt forgotten.

Monarc.ca Certified

Steve Kendall
Brantford, ON
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-01-17 to 2014-01-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-27

 Unimpressive!

Overall I would have to say our experience at the resort was mediocre at best. I have been to many resorts in my life and there was nothing impressive here...
I will say on a positive note the food was very good
Outside of that, the pools were unpleasantly cold, the beach was unswimmable and filled with rocks, the rooms were outdated and unappealing even having paid to upgrade to a junior suite. The spa on the balcony was no more than a dirty bathtub filled with bugs that barely worked, no dressers in the room, no blankets just a bed sheet on the beds, and an old tube tv and no internet access!
The animals were fun to see for a brief time, then they were just annoying, raccoons jumping right up on your table while eating and taking your food!
Unfortunately I wouldn't rate this resort much more than a 7 on 10 at best.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food and animators

The weak points
Beach, pools, rooms

Monarc.ca Certified

Robert Farrell
Vaudreuil-Sur-Le-Lac, QC
Previously SANDOS CARACOL ECO RESORT AND SPA for this review
from 2014-01-17 to 2014-01-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-26
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


311 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


311 reviews


Beaches

Riu Palace Mexico

Riu Palace Mexico

Riviera Maya


89 reviews


Families

Grand Palladium Colonial Rst And Spa

Grand Palladium Colonial Rst And Spa

Riviera Maya


138 reviews


Couples

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya


129 reviews


Singles

Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya


79 reviews


Seniors

Akumal Beach Resort

Akumal Beach Resort

Riviera Maya


115 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry