Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Grand Sunset Princess
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Grand Sunset Princess
 Description
 See on map

Grand Sunset Princess

4.174.174.174.174.17 (4.17)
Based on 1335 reviews

Overall Impression: #12 of 104 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #11 of 104 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #23 of 104 hotels.
Beaches: #35 of 104 hotels.
Families: #41 of 104 hotels.
Couples: #19 of 104 hotels.
Singles: #13 of 104 hotels.
Seniors: #64 of 104 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (386)

Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess

Travellers Reviews

All
548
540
181
52
14




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45

 Voyage à Rivièra Maya

Très beau voyage, le site est très beau, la plage est ordinaire mais l'eau très chaude, beaucoup d'algues et de roches mais les piscines sont superbes et le personnel est très souriant et courtois. Beau voyage dans l'ensemble.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site est très beau et les piscines sont superbes. Le personnel est très poli et courtois. Le buffet est bon et varié.

The weak points
Plage avec beaucoup d'algues et roches dans le fond de la mer. Il faut porter des souliers de plage pour se baigner pour ne pas avoir mal aux pieds. Il faut payer pour avoir internet. La nourriture du restaurant à la carte est ordinaire.

Monarc.ca Certified

Stéphane
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-20 to 2015-03-27 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-29

 Grand Sunset proncess, Riviera Maya

Cet hôtel merite bien son statut de cinq étoiles et la direction est attentive à nos besoins.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Très beau site spacieux bien entretenue Grande chambre moderne et propre

The weak points
Qualité du vin blanc et rouge inclus est de piètre qualité. Nous avons acheté du vin à la carte.

Monarc.ca Certified

Chantal Bolduc
Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-14 to 2015-03-22 (8 days)
Written on 2015-03-24

 Excellent!!!

Je recommande fortement cet endroit! Il est très propre, de haute gamme, très bon service, excellente bouffe…etc. Le seul bémol est la plage, il y a toujours beaucoup d’algues et beaucoup de roches dans l’eau. Par contre le sable sur la plage est très beau pour prendre du soleil.
Étant près de Playa Del Carmen je recommande a tout le monde d’aller souper au ALUX; un resto a l’intérieur d’une caverne… quelle belle expérience!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
"Swim out pool' de notre chambre. Pres de tout

The weak points
Algues sur bord de plage et roches dans l'eau.

Monarc.ca Certified

Steph.
Gatineau, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-14 to 2015-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-23

 MAGNIFIQUE!!!

Magnifique hotel
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
super beau site, propre et bien entretenu

The weak points
wifi non inclut et plage rocailleuse avec beaucoup d'algues

Monarc.ca Certified

Genevieve
La Prairie, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-14 to 2015-03-21 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-26

 Parfait!!

Superbe hôtel, très beau site, bonne bouffe,très belle semaine. Beaucoup d'algues à la mer mais c'est pas de la faute de l'hôtel, partout pareil...Je recommande fortement.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Presque tout

The weak points
plage moyenne

Monarc.ca Certified

Petite Jeanne
Mcmasterville, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-09 to 2015-03-16 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-18

 You will Love it!

Service was excellent, suites were fabulous, staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds are spotless. There was always something fun to do. I loved the beach with the snack/alcohol bar even though the waves were high when we were there. A wide selection of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. The reservation food was not any better than at the buffet, I would miss the steak house, we were not impressed with the food there. My favorite was the day we had prawns and lobster omg sooo good. The rating when we booked was 4 and half stars but it really should be a 5 star rating. I will be going back to this wonderful hotel!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Friendly great rooms lots to do. I have trouble walking and I was put in a bldg. that had an elevator, very thoughtful.

The weak points
I would say the reservation restaurants.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cinna Bonnie
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-08 to 2015-03-15 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-17

 Vacances au grand sunsetPrincess

En général nous avons beaucoup aimé nos vacances: endroit très bien entretenu, buffets très variés, belles chambres, belles piscines, service excellent... MAIS nous avons aussi quelques points négatifs.... Ne vous attendez pas à un plage comme Cuba, la plage est plein d'algues et il y a une odeur désagréable de poisson ( je n'ai même pas osez mettre un pied à l'eau, j'ai fais de la piscine toute la semaine...) Le vin... Si vous voulez boire du bon vin, sortez votre porte-feuille parce que je ne sais pas ce qu'ils servent mais c'est loin de goûter le vin... Et je ne fais pas ma difficile, les gens retournaient tous leur verre!!! De plus, c'est un endroit très familiale alors moins de tranquillité pour les couple à moins de payer beaucoup plus et aller sur le côté platinium prestige... Mais bon, En général tout c'est bien passé et nous avons tout de même bien aimé nos vacances!!! Ah oui, pas de wifi, il faut débourser 20$ par jour mais si vous voulez seulement communiqué avec vos proches, réservez une excursion avec sunwing et vous pourrez aller sur leurs ordinateurs en tout temps. J'espère que mes commentaires sauront vous aider à faire un choix pour vos vacances!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service, buffet, restaurants à la carte, chambres, piscines...

The weak points
plage, vin, insonorisation entre les chambre

Monarc.ca Certified

Vacancière
Beauharnois, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-05 to 2015-03-13 (8 days)
Written on 2015-03-15

 Monsieur

Bel hôtel, bien entretenu. Chambres agréables. Bonne bouffe mais restaurants à la carte ordinaire (ambiance cafétaria). Plage décevante.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site

The weak points
La plage

Monarc.ca Certified

Richard Boivin
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-05 to 2015-03-12 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-15

 Princess

Most of the trip was good but the bar and lounge areas were non smoking and there were a few assholes that wanted to smoke and spoil it for the rest of us. There would be tables with 5 or 6 people at them and 1 would light up and 10 to 12 people would leave The staff didn't give a crap about the non smokers enough to ask them to quit. I'm sure that if they were asked to but out then they would quit or leave but no effort was made to control it...thanks for spoiling the holiday for us and we will never go back to any Princess hotel or resort again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff

The weak points
don't enforce the no smoking rules - won't go back there ever again !!!!!!!!!!!

Monarc.ca Certified

Brian Rubletz
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-03-07 (14 days)
Written on 2015-03-09

 GRAND SUNSET PRINCESS

This is our 5th visit to the same hotel and we love it!
The grounds are impeccable, the food is 5 star, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the people are friendly and wonderful. Everything needed for a perfect vacation!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, comfort, staff willingness to assist, beautiful place!

The weak points
Front desk check in late at night is not Platinum: not the greatest of language skills, no ability toi make decisions without a manager (not present for after midnight check in). Double beds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Unable to confirm king/queen bed despite request.

Monarc.ca Certified

Debbie Partyka
Kirkland, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-19 to 2015-03-06 (15 days)
Written on 2015-03-09

 Grand Sunset Princess à Riviera Maya

En général, je dirais que j'ai fait un beau voyage, l'hôtel est très propre, très moderne, personnel bien sans plus.
Point plus négatif, les planchers sont Extrêmement glissants, je suis tombé et j'ai vu plusieurs personnes tomber sur les planchers. Nous avions la chambre 6160, près de la plage mais loin du lobby et des restos donc beaucoup de marche et les petits trains qui nous transportent on ne les voyait pas très souvent. Les restos à la carte nous ont beaucoup déçu et surtout la façon de faire la réservation. Nous nous sommes présentés la première journée pour réserver tout les restos pour la semaine mais ils ne voulaient que réserver 2 jours à l'avance alors on devait y retourner à chaque 2 jours et quand on retournait les seules places qu'ils restaient étaient vers 9h30 ou 10h le soir. Autre point négatif pour nous, c'est que notre avion était à 3h du matin dans la nuit du samedi au dimanche mais le samedi matin à midi on devait quitter la chambre et attendre 12 heures dans le lobby avec aucune possibilité de garder la chambre. J'ai vraiment trouvé cette politique ''Inhumain'' Autre point négatif, selon moi un 5 étoiles nous donne droit à l'internet mais non seulement on n'avait même pas accès dans le lobby gratuitement, on a du acheter du temps pour une semaine 70$ u.s.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La beauté et la propreté du site

The weak points
La mer, les planchers très glissant, pas de Wifi gratuit et le Check-Out qui nous a laissé 12 heures dans le lobby

Monarc.ca Certified

Christine Goyette
Beloeil, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-03-01 (8 days)
Written on 2015-03-03

 Belle vacance

beau grand site pour ceux qui aime avoir un coin plus tranquille c`est possible bcp de monde vu la grande hotel
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beau site et tres propre

The weak points
trotoir tres glissant

Monarc.ca Certified

rene richard
St Jean De Matha, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-02-28 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-05

 Nice resort. Good food.

Too big of resort. A lot of walking. Can't just zip back to your room to grab something if you forgot something. Staff was very misinforming of how to get around in the resort... By not telling us the shortcuts. Making us Go up and down and all around when there was a way easier and faster way. Nice that they offer strollers to rent for free. Would have been nice to know that in advance. They also have push cars to rent for free for older kids who don't want to walk miles on end all week. The kids club was nice. Family section was also nice. The food was pretty good. Had no problems drinking the resort water. Was hard to know what the entertainment was throughout the day each day. Everything was all over the place so I think we missed a lot of fun stuff. The family club buffet was awesome and if you ask the chef to make you something they always did without any hassle. You must run out early to put your towels down to get chairs every day. Really hard to find chairs by pool and art he beach. Except in the family section and kids club pool. Resort was clean and beautiful with lots to see and do. Might be too much for some people. Hope that helps. Would not go back only because we found it too large and too overwhelming.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful. Clean. Lots of options for where to hang out. Free Stroller rentals. Kids club. Beds were comfy.

The weak points
Too large and spread out. Beach very far from most rooms. Entertainment poorly timed and advertised. Mini bar poorly stocked. lobby store very overpriced.

Monarc.ca Certified

Vincenzo Ottava
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-02-28 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-02

 Très beau resort

Super belle semaine passe au grand sunset princess. Tres tres beau site, un peu trop grand, beaucoup de marche à prevoir (environ 15 minutes entre la réception/restaurant et la plage, donc si votre chambre est colle sur le lobby oubliez rien!!) resto a la carte super bon, buffet correct sans plus.. La mer n'est pas super, un peu vert brouille et ya beaucoup de grosse roches plates dans le fond. Manque de service de bar et resto sur la plage.. Seulement un pour un si gros hotel et le service au chaises était pas souvent présent.. Le personel était tres courtois pour la plupart. Je recommanderais cette hotel sans hésitation
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Resto a la carte, le personel très agréable, le family club génial pour les enfants, les piscines..

The weak points
Seulement un bar et un petit snack a burger/hot-dog sur la plage donc très longue file d'attente. Très tres grand site.. Attendez vous a marcher. La mer, beaucoup de roches dans le fond.. Ça fait mal sous les pieds.

Monarc.ca Certified

Veronique Bertrand
St Eustache, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-20 to 2015-02-27 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-01

 Belle semaine dans un complexe exceptionnel

J'ai passé une superbe semaine avec ma conjointe et 4 amis.C'était la plus belle hôtel que j'ai visité a date. le seul point faible était la plage.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La propreté, les piscines immense et les resto a la carte

The weak points
la plage n'était pas belle parce qu'elle a été ravagé par les vagues.

Monarc.ca Certified

Sylvain T.
Drummondville, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-13 to 2015-02-20 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-22

 Loin d'un 5 étoiles...

Un tres beau site, très propre et bien entretenu. Par contre, le service, la nourriture, l'offre de restauration, les activités, les petites attentions et l'ensemble du complexe ne sont ni plus ni moins qu'au maximum un 4 étoiles. Très décevant pour le prix payé. Ne recommanderait malheureusement pas cet hôtel si vous cherchez un 5 étoiles.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Site, propreté, chambres.

The weak points
Service, restauration, plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

Marcantoine Lavallee
Orford, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-12 to 2015-02-20 (8 days)
Written on 2015-02-22

 Grand Sunset Princess

Super et Super , ils nous ont upgradé à Platinum.....et Platinum vaut vraiment la peine...Plage privée, serveur sur la plage, concierge qui fait nos réservations pour les soupers...service impéccable....wi-fi gratuit.....l'hôtel archi propre
La plage pour marcher, c'est super mais pour aller se baigner, il faut des souliers car il y a des roches dans l'eau.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service Platinum....super

The weak points
L'entrée dans l'eau avec des roches

Monarc.ca Certified

Jacqueline Mathieu
St Georges, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-12 to 2015-02-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-15

 Un magnifique Ressort

Nous avons repris pour la deuxième fois la suite Villa Laguna! Il y a beaucoup de services avec cette suite, les même que Platinium(repas à la chambre gratuit, internet et Wifi , piscine super juste pour les Villas. ) il faut réserver notre place avant 7:00 à la piscine!
Les buffets sont délicieux et variés. Les repas au resto....c'est selon les goûts mais à notre avis, c'est la cuisine française au La Fleur, le meilleur. Pour la Villa, nous avions la première côté e Sunset et on entendait tout: la disco, les cours de danse aérobic ainsi que les gens qui sont dehors de la disco très tard et qui parlent très forts alcool aidant! Nous sommes allés souper au Chill out sur le sable avec les Étoiles au dessus! C'est romantique mais pas si bon que cela pour le prix! $170.00 pour 2.
Bon, la plage: très en pente et difficile de marcher! Des roches dans l'eau! Apportez- vous des souliers d'eau!
En résumé,ce fut un séjour agréable dans ce ressort merveilleux et très vaste!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La beauté, la propreté du site

The weak points
La plage

Monarc.ca Certified

Mimi Legault
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-11 to 2015-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-20

 Excellent voyage et hôtel

Tout était parfait. , très satisfait. Le service par le personnel fut très apprécié.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Nous avons apprécié toute l'ensemble nourriture ,l'accueil .

The weak points
Wi-fi

Monarc.ca Certified

Michel Cloutier
St Hyacinthe, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-06 to 2015-02-16 (10 days)
Written on 2015-02-18

 Points négatifs

je dirais que ce n'est plus un 5* ce serait plutôt un 4* car nourriture moins de qualité et orchestre le soir laisse à désiré et spectable à comparer à avant c'était beaucoup mieux car j'y suis aller 3 fois
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
super beau site très propre

The weak points
les nuits fraîches donc piscine pas chauffé incapable de se baigner, repas à la carte qualité de la viande à désiré steak non coupable la qualité de la nourriture à changer depuis 3 ans car ça fait 3 fois que j'y vais et déçu cette fois ci

Monarc.ca Certified

France Cloutier
Tring Jonction, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-07 to 2015-02-15 (8 days)
Written on 2015-02-17

 Gare aux voleurs dans la chambre

Je me suis fait voler un animal en peluche sans valeur materiel mais de grand valeur sentimental.Je soupçonne le personnel.La plage inacceptable pour la baignade pleine de pierres pointues et beaucoup d'algues.Le reste dans la moyenne.A eviter
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Chambres,proprete

The weak points
je me suis fait voler dans la chambre.Plage inappropriée pour la baignade

Monarc.ca Certified

Francisca
Verdun, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-07 to 2015-02-14 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-21

 Beautiful Resort

This resort is huge, but once you know your way around it is great. Nice beach, lots of pools and many restaurants. Food was very good especially the Japanese. We had a great time and would definitely return and/or recommend for others. We had a Deluxe Junior Suite. All in all a great vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great food,resort, beach etc.

The weak points
In this day and age and for the money you spend internet should be included at no extra charge.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jan
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-04 to 2015-02-11 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-14

 3e fois et toujours aussi bien!

Toujours aussi bien! Pas de Wifi gratuit dans le lobby, il faut payer assez cher pour l'accès. Pas de papier mouchoir dans les chambres et impossible d'en acheter sur le site. Quand on a la grippe il faut se moucher avec le papier de toilette. On nous a répond que c'était pour respecter l'environnement! Pour le reste tout est extra pour une semaine de rêve.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Piscines, restauration, propreté, personnel.

The weak points
Pas d'accès Wifi gratuit au Lobby, important en 2015. Il faudrait y voir afin de rester compétitifs!

Monarc.ca Certified

Helene Labelle
Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-02 to 2015-02-09 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-15

 Superbe endroit

C'est vraiment un 5 étoiles. J'ai bien aimé notre chambre standard. Nourriture très variée. Souper à la carte ok.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Végétation superbe

The weak points
Trottoir glissant

Monarc.ca Certified

Johanne Senneville
Terrebonne, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-31 to 2015-02-07 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-09

 À recommander sans hésiter

Très bonne expérience à tous points de vue : plage, nourriture, installations, propreté, amabilité du personnel
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent séjour. Nourriture tout à fait convenable pour une destination sud. Site très beau et bien entretenu. Personnel très poli et serviable.

The weak points
Chambre un peu humide malgré la climatisation. Parfois difficile de trouver une chaise sur la plage, meme si on finissait toujours par y parvenir. Faire attention aux roches nombreuses à certains endroits pour entrer dans la mer.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cyn
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-30 to 2015-02-06 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-10

 Très belles vacances

très belles vacances en famille attention les planchers sont tres tres glissant!!! J ai vu plusieurs personnes tombées.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
grandsunsetprincess, grandrivieraprincess et famillyclub est le même hôtel. Ce complexe est idéal pour famille avec jeunes enfants, pour mariage, ou pour faire la fête. Super courts de tennis sur place. Internetgratuit dans les chambresbuildingfamillyclub

The weak points
très glissant j'ai vu plusieurs gens tombés

Monarc.ca Certified

annonyme
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-30 to 2015-02-06 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-08

 Pas vraiment un 5 etoile

Je considere cette hotel 4.5 au lieu d'un 5 etoiles pour les raisons suivantes:

-Pas de WI-FI a moins de payer 70$ pour la semaine.
-Nourriture dans les buffets est bonne mais toujours tiede.
-Un tout inclus que tu dois payer 200 pesos pour un New York steak au steak house pour avoir une piece de viande convenable si non la meilleurs piece est un T-Bone de 6 onces.
-Les soins au spa sont de qualite moyenne mais quand meme acceptables
-L equipe d animation le jours et bien mais tres repetitive.
-Les spectacles le soir sont de qualite tres moyenne.
-Le lobby ou il y a les musiciens est a ciel ouvert alors s'il pleut...pas de spectacle.
-Les gens qui ont de la difficulte a se deplacer, bonne chance car il n y a pas beaucoup de navettes et s'il y en a une, esperez qu'elle ne soit pas pleine.
-Attention s'il pleut,le toit n est pas etanche dans les passages et dans lobby, des planchers de marbre avec de l eau partout ( c est tres glissant).

Ceci sont les raisons pour lesquelles je donne un 4.5 a cet hotel.

Autre point negatif beaucoup de petites roches dans l eau. Apportez vous souliers de plage puis odeur de poisson dans l eau...

La semaine ou j etait present, ils etaient a refaire les toitures de paille alors mon balcon n'etait pas tres utilisable mais ca va être beau une fois refait.

Outre ces points negatifs, tres bel hotel propre, piscine bien entretenue et belle chambre.

Beaucoup d enfant dans les piscines alors un peu difficile a relaxer mais tout depend toujours des parents qui les entourent. :)

P.S:apportez vous des pesos car il charge plus cher si vous payez en argent americaine.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Proprete número 1, belle hotel

The weak points
Pas vraiment un tout inclus et non plus un 5 etoile. Plage,manger froid,manque de navette,animation,personnel pas tres souriant.

Steph
Gatineau, QC
Stay from 2015-01-29 to 2015-02-05 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-07

 Belle vacances en famille

Superbe site !! Excellent service !!! La nourriture bonne en général ! La plage c'est moyen . Environs 30 minutes de l'aéroport , Wi-Fi non inclus :(
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site est superbe

The weak points
Plage et Wi-Fi

Monarc.ca Certified

Josee Racine
L Ange Gardien, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-26 to 2015-02-02 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-05

 Another wonderful vacation.

Check in fast. Our room was clean and we were welcomed with champagne and a fruit basket. Our concierge Octavio made sure everything was in order and we were always happy. I can hardly wait for our next vacation there. One thing, we went to the Yucatan side to see what it was like. I was treated very badly by the staff there. We were VIP guests and we were treated like criminals for stepping on the sister hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
If it were not for our awesome concierge, we may not have had a great time.

The weak points
The coffee bar where they make flaming coffees is gone. I did not like that the people from the sister hotel Yukatan could come over to the Sunset side, but VIP guests were not allowed there. This is still the same hotel. The Yukatan staff were veryrude

Monarc.ca Certified

Rose
Kitchener, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-19 to 2015-02-02 (14 days)
Written on 2015-02-04

 Really Lovely! .. a couple things though

I travelled with my boyfriend and another couple and overall I think we had a blast. There were lots of different vacationers at this resort - couples, families, retirees and a few weddings. It was full of families when we went but there were also the roudy poolside groups. Big mix, great people watching! Everyone seemed to blend well.

Staff
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke English well enough.

Room
We booked a swim-up suite - If your thinking of doing the same I would highly recommend booking the Riviera side rather than the Sunset side since our location was in the shade at this time of year. If we had sun we would have used it every day - well worth it if your in the sun! Request a sunny side if possible!
Our room smelt bad the first few days (musky)- it turned out it was our Air Conditioner. So we just turned it off and all was better.
The bathroom was amazing - large jet tub, great shower and an area with a door for the toilet.
The TV isn't HD and the english channels were few but there always seemed to be a decent movie playing in english for us to watch in the evenings/mornings.

Food
The food was good! You get an unlimited amount of a la carte, as long as there is room - I would recommend making reservations for the entire week on your first or second day to ensure you get the places you want. We LOVED the Swiss (Cheese Fondue with meat, veggies bread and sauces)- you wont leave there hungry! The Italian looked like it had great pizza, unfortunatley none of our group got it so we were a little underwhelmed. I had Pad Thai at the Chinese place and thought it was really good but the other 3 courses were slightly odd. We liked/disliked things at each of them - except the Swiss, that was just amazing.
We found the buffets to be pretty darn good! They have your "all american" options but also little tastes of Mexico. The options vary slightly every day with the buffet. We thought the buffet lunch was the best! I would stay away from the burgers in the resort - I had a bad experience. The Nachos in the Sports Bar were our savior at 2am after everything else was closed.

Spa
I went for a spa treatment ("the Combination"). It was set up very much like Spa Utopia. It was a little too similar to home for me though. I would have liked it outdoors, on the beach or something a little more authentic to Mexico.

Pool
I believe this hotel advertises 12 pools. It's not THAT big and I have no idea where they all are? There are basically 3 pools each with swim up bars and lounge chairs. One pool offers party music as well as entertainment once a day. This was the "Party Pool" and our swim up suite was near it so that was awesome for us. The other pools were quieter and more suited for families and those that actually want to swim. We switched between 2 of the 3 main pools and thought they were both great. I heard people say the ocean was warmer than the pools!

Ocean/Beach
Honestly I cant say much about the beach since we didn't go there much. This resort does not have an ocean view anywhere unless you are actually on the beach. You will not see the ocean/beach unless you make a point of going to the beach. It is a jungle/forest location with a beach option if you specifically want to go there. The beach is really easy to get to and lots of people go there - it just didn't seem that big/desirable to us and the bar there was really busy. We spent an evening on the beach with our drinks and that was nice with the sunset.

Entertainment
The poolside entertainment was fun to watch and easy to particupate in if your willing. The staff are great to watch.
Nightly shows were not particularly to our taste but we liked the live music in the courtyard bar,and the disco was good for dancing if your there on a busy night. The Sports Bar was a hang out for after the shows, before the disco and it had the only late night snack option - fries, burgers, nachos and hotdogs.

We got internet access free for the week since we booked our a la carte's at our Vacation Provider's infomation desk. . better than paying $20 a day!

We saw a crocodile and a monkey on our last day at the resort! So cool!

We really enjoyed ourselves at this resort and would recommend it to a friend! Im torn to return or not.. I like the beach/ocean too much to not see it every day when in a place like Mexico!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, Swiss a la carte, pool, Swim-up Suite, bars everywhere, friendly staff, the resort wild life, live music, a large drink menu that you can order from everywhere at the resort.

The weak points
The a la carte menu's were not well explained by waiter staff but you get used to their system, beach/ocean access, nightly shows were not to our taste

Monarc.ca Certified

Catriona
North Vancouver, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-24 to 2015-01-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-02
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


239 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


239 reviews


Beaches

Riu Palace Mexico

Riu Palace Mexico

Riviera Maya


77 reviews


Families

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Riviera Maya


150 reviews


Couples

Excellence Riviera Cancun

Excellence Riviera Cancun

Riviera Maya


134 reviews


Singles

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Riviera Maya


6 non recent reviews

Seniors

Excellence Riviera Cancun

Excellence Riviera Cancun

Riviera Maya


134 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry