Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Grand Sunset Princess
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Grand Sunset Princess
 Description
 See on map

Grand Sunset Princess

4.174.174.174.174.17 (4.17)
Based on 1320 reviews

Overall Impression: #13 of 103 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #11 of 103 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #23 of 103 hotels.
Beaches: #34 of 103 hotels.
Families: #38 of 103 hotels.
Couples: #18 of 103 hotels.
Singles: #9 of 103 hotels.
Seniors: #61 of 103 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (380)

Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess

Travellers Reviews

All
543
532
180
51
14




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44

 Belle semaine dans un complexe exceptionnel

J'ai passé une superbe semaine avec ma conjointe et 4 amis.C'était la plus belle hôtel que j'ai visité a date. le seul point faible était la plage.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La propreté, les piscines immense et les resto a la carte

The weak points
la plage n'était pas belle parce qu'elle a été ravagé par les vagues.

Monarc.ca Certified

Sylvain T.
Drummondville, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-13 to 2015-02-20 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-22

 Loin d'un 5 étoiles...

Un tres beau site, très propre et bien entretenu. Par contre, le service, la nourriture, l'offre de restauration, les activités, les petites attentions et l'ensemble du complexe ne sont ni plus ni moins qu'au maximum un 4 étoiles. Très décevant pour le prix payé. Ne recommanderait malheureusement pas cet hôtel si vous cherchez un 5 étoiles.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Site, propreté, chambres.

The weak points
Service, restauration, plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

Marcantoine Lavallee
Orford, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-12 to 2015-02-20 (8 days)
Written on 2015-02-22

 Un magnifique Ressort

Nous avons repris pour la deuxième fois la suite Villa Laguna! Il y a beaucoup de services avec cette suite, les même que Platinium(repas à la chambre gratuit, internet et Wifi , piscine super juste pour les Villas. ) il faut réserver notre place avant 7:00 à la piscine!
Les buffets sont délicieux et variés. Les repas au resto....c'est selon les goûts mais à notre avis, c'est la cuisine française au La Fleur, le meilleur. Pour la Villa, nous avions la première côté e Sunset et on entendait tout: la disco, les cours de danse aérobic ainsi que les gens qui sont dehors de la disco très tard et qui parlent très forts alcool aidant! Nous sommes allés souper au Chill out sur le sable avec les Étoiles au dessus! C'est romantique mais pas si bon que cela pour le prix! $170.00 pour 2.
Bon, la plage: très en pente et difficile de marcher! Des roches dans l'eau! Apportez- vous des souliers d'eau!
En résumé,ce fut un séjour agréable dans ce ressort merveilleux et très vaste!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La beauté, la propreté du site

The weak points
La plage

Monarc.ca Certified

Mimi Legault
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-11 to 2015-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-20

 Excellent voyage et hôtel

Tout était parfait. , très satisfait. Le service par le personnel fut très apprécié.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Nous avons apprécié toute l'ensemble nourriture ,l'accueil .

The weak points
Wi-fi

Monarc.ca Certified

Michel Cloutier
St Hyacinthe, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-06 to 2015-02-16 (10 days)
Written on 2015-02-18

 Points négatifs

je dirais que ce n'est plus un 5* ce serait plutôt un 4* car nourriture moins de qualité et orchestre le soir laisse à désiré et spectable à comparer à avant c'était beaucoup mieux car j'y suis aller 3 fois
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
super beau site très propre

The weak points
les nuits fraîches donc piscine pas chauffé incapable de se baigner, repas à la carte qualité de la viande à désiré steak non coupable la qualité de la nourriture à changer depuis 3 ans car ça fait 3 fois que j'y vais et déçu cette fois ci

Monarc.ca Certified

France Cloutier
Tring Jonction, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-07 to 2015-02-15 (8 days)
Written on 2015-02-17

 Gare aux voleurs dans la chambre

Je me suis fait voler un animal en peluche sans valeur materiel mais de grand valeur sentimental.Je soupçonne le personnel.La plage inacceptable pour la baignade pleine de pierres pointues et beaucoup d'algues.Le reste dans la moyenne.A eviter
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Chambres,proprete

The weak points
je me suis fait voler dans la chambre.Plage inappropriée pour la baignade

Monarc.ca Certified

Francisca
Verdun, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-07 to 2015-02-14 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-21

 Beautiful Resort

This resort is huge, but once you know your way around it is great. Nice beach, lots of pools and many restaurants. Food was very good especially the Japanese. We had a great time and would definitely return and/or recommend for others. We had a Deluxe Junior Suite. All in all a great vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great food,resort, beach etc.

The weak points
In this day and age and for the money you spend internet should be included at no extra charge.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jan
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-04 to 2015-02-11 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-14

 3e fois et toujours aussi bien!

Toujours aussi bien! Pas de Wifi gratuit dans le lobby, il faut payer assez cher pour l'accès. Pas de papier mouchoir dans les chambres et impossible d'en acheter sur le site. Quand on a la grippe il faut se moucher avec le papier de toilette. On nous a répond que c'était pour respecter l'environnement! Pour le reste tout est extra pour une semaine de rêve.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Piscines, restauration, propreté, personnel.

The weak points
Pas d'accès Wifi gratuit au Lobby, important en 2015. Il faudrait y voir afin de rester compétitifs!

Monarc.ca Certified

Helene Labelle
Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-02 to 2015-02-09 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-15

 Superbe endroit

C'est vraiment un 5 étoiles. J'ai bien aimé notre chambre standard. Nourriture très variée. Souper à la carte ok.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Végétation superbe

The weak points
Trottoir glissant

Monarc.ca Certified

Johanne Senneville
Terrebonne, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-31 to 2015-02-07 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-09

 À recommander sans hésiter

Très bonne expérience à tous points de vue : plage, nourriture, installations, propreté, amabilité du personnel
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent séjour. Nourriture tout à fait convenable pour une destination sud. Site très beau et bien entretenu. Personnel très poli et serviable.

The weak points
Chambre un peu humide malgré la climatisation. Parfois difficile de trouver une chaise sur la plage, meme si on finissait toujours par y parvenir. Faire attention aux roches nombreuses à certains endroits pour entrer dans la mer.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cyn
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-30 to 2015-02-06 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-10

 Très belles vacances

très belles vacances en famille attention les planchers sont tres tres glissant!!! J ai vu plusieurs personnes tombées.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
grandsunsetprincess, grandrivieraprincess et famillyclub est le même hôtel. Ce complexe est idéal pour famille avec jeunes enfants, pour mariage, ou pour faire la fête. Super courts de tennis sur place. Internetgratuit dans les chambresbuildingfamillyclub

The weak points
très glissant j'ai vu plusieurs gens tombés

Monarc.ca Certified

annonyme
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-30 to 2015-02-06 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-08

 Pas vraiment un 5 etoile

Je considere cette hotel 4.5 au lieu d'un 5 etoiles pour les raisons suivantes:

-Pas de WI-FI a moins de payer 70$ pour la semaine.
-Nourriture dans les buffets est bonne mais toujours tiede.
-Un tout inclus que tu dois payer 200 pesos pour un New York steak au steak house pour avoir une piece de viande convenable si non la meilleurs piece est un T-Bone de 6 onces.
-Les soins au spa sont de qualite moyenne mais quand meme acceptables
-L equipe d animation le jours et bien mais tres repetitive.
-Les spectacles le soir sont de qualite tres moyenne.
-Le lobby ou il y a les musiciens est a ciel ouvert alors s'il pleut...pas de spectacle.
-Les gens qui ont de la difficulte a se deplacer, bonne chance car il n y a pas beaucoup de navettes et s'il y en a une, esperez qu'elle ne soit pas pleine.
-Attention s'il pleut,le toit n est pas etanche dans les passages et dans lobby, des planchers de marbre avec de l eau partout ( c est tres glissant).

Ceci sont les raisons pour lesquelles je donne un 4.5 a cet hotel.

Autre point negatif beaucoup de petites roches dans l eau. Apportez vous souliers de plage puis odeur de poisson dans l eau...

La semaine ou j etait present, ils etaient a refaire les toitures de paille alors mon balcon n'etait pas tres utilisable mais ca va être beau une fois refait.

Outre ces points negatifs, tres bel hotel propre, piscine bien entretenue et belle chambre.

Beaucoup d enfant dans les piscines alors un peu difficile a relaxer mais tout depend toujours des parents qui les entourent. :)

P.S:apportez vous des pesos car il charge plus cher si vous payez en argent americaine.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Proprete número 1, belle hotel

The weak points
Pas vraiment un tout inclus et non plus un 5 etoile. Plage,manger froid,manque de navette,animation,personnel pas tres souriant.

Steph
Gatineau, QC
Stay from 2015-01-29 to 2015-02-05 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-07

 Belle vacances en famille

Superbe site !! Excellent service !!! La nourriture bonne en général ! La plage c'est moyen . Environs 30 minutes de l'aéroport , Wi-Fi non inclus :(
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site est superbe

The weak points
Plage et Wi-Fi

Monarc.ca Certified

Josee Racine
L Ange Gardien, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-26 to 2015-02-02 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-05

 Another wonderful vacation.

Check in fast. Our room was clean and we were welcomed with champagne and a fruit basket. Our concierge Octavio made sure everything was in order and we were always happy. I can hardly wait for our next vacation there. One thing, we went to the Yucatan side to see what it was like. I was treated very badly by the staff there. We were VIP guests and we were treated like criminals for stepping on the sister hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
If it were not for our awesome concierge, we may not have had a great time.

The weak points
The coffee bar where they make flaming coffees is gone. I did not like that the people from the sister hotel Yukatan could come over to the Sunset side, but VIP guests were not allowed there. This is still the same hotel. The Yukatan staff were veryrude

Monarc.ca Certified

Rose
Kitchener, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-19 to 2015-02-02 (14 days)
Written on 2015-02-04

 Really Lovely! .. a couple things though

I travelled with my boyfriend and another couple and overall I think we had a blast. There were lots of different vacationers at this resort - couples, families, retirees and a few weddings. It was full of families when we went but there were also the roudy poolside groups. Big mix, great people watching! Everyone seemed to blend well.

Staff
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke English well enough.

Room
We booked a swim-up suite - If your thinking of doing the same I would highly recommend booking the Riviera side rather than the Sunset side since our location was in the shade at this time of year. If we had sun we would have used it every day - well worth it if your in the sun! Request a sunny side if possible!
Our room smelt bad the first few days (musky)- it turned out it was our Air Conditioner. So we just turned it off and all was better.
The bathroom was amazing - large jet tub, great shower and an area with a door for the toilet.
The TV isn't HD and the english channels were few but there always seemed to be a decent movie playing in english for us to watch in the evenings/mornings.

Food
The food was good! You get an unlimited amount of a la carte, as long as there is room - I would recommend making reservations for the entire week on your first or second day to ensure you get the places you want. We LOVED the Swiss (Cheese Fondue with meat, veggies bread and sauces)- you wont leave there hungry! The Italian looked like it had great pizza, unfortunatley none of our group got it so we were a little underwhelmed. I had Pad Thai at the Chinese place and thought it was really good but the other 3 courses were slightly odd. We liked/disliked things at each of them - except the Swiss, that was just amazing.
We found the buffets to be pretty darn good! They have your "all american" options but also little tastes of Mexico. The options vary slightly every day with the buffet. We thought the buffet lunch was the best! I would stay away from the burgers in the resort - I had a bad experience. The Nachos in the Sports Bar were our savior at 2am after everything else was closed.

Spa
I went for a spa treatment ("the Combination"). It was set up very much like Spa Utopia. It was a little too similar to home for me though. I would have liked it outdoors, on the beach or something a little more authentic to Mexico.

Pool
I believe this hotel advertises 12 pools. It's not THAT big and I have no idea where they all are? There are basically 3 pools each with swim up bars and lounge chairs. One pool offers party music as well as entertainment once a day. This was the "Party Pool" and our swim up suite was near it so that was awesome for us. The other pools were quieter and more suited for families and those that actually want to swim. We switched between 2 of the 3 main pools and thought they were both great. I heard people say the ocean was warmer than the pools!

Ocean/Beach
Honestly I cant say much about the beach since we didn't go there much. This resort does not have an ocean view anywhere unless you are actually on the beach. You will not see the ocean/beach unless you make a point of going to the beach. It is a jungle/forest location with a beach option if you specifically want to go there. The beach is really easy to get to and lots of people go there - it just didn't seem that big/desirable to us and the bar there was really busy. We spent an evening on the beach with our drinks and that was nice with the sunset.

Entertainment
The poolside entertainment was fun to watch and easy to particupate in if your willing. The staff are great to watch.
Nightly shows were not particularly to our taste but we liked the live music in the courtyard bar,and the disco was good for dancing if your there on a busy night. The Sports Bar was a hang out for after the shows, before the disco and it had the only late night snack option - fries, burgers, nachos and hotdogs.

We got internet access free for the week since we booked our a la carte's at our Vacation Provider's infomation desk. . better than paying $20 a day!

We saw a crocodile and a monkey on our last day at the resort! So cool!

We really enjoyed ourselves at this resort and would recommend it to a friend! Im torn to return or not.. I like the beach/ocean too much to not see it every day when in a place like Mexico!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, Swiss a la carte, pool, Swim-up Suite, bars everywhere, friendly staff, the resort wild life, live music, a large drink menu that you can order from everywhere at the resort.

The weak points
The a la carte menu's were not well explained by waiter staff but you get used to their system, beach/ocean access, nightly shows were not to our taste

Monarc.ca Certified

Catriona
North Vancouver, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-24 to 2015-01-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-02

 Belle semaine et très belle place

Nous avons passé une belle semaine sur ce site. À l'arrivée nous avons été bien accueillit au check in avec verre de champagne.
Le site est énorme et préparez-vous à marcher, mais en vacances y à rien là...
Super place très propre avec beaucoup de choses à voir. Je conseil cet hôtel et surtout ne pas manquer le bord de la piscine d'animation vers 15:00. Il y à une super ambiance de party avec des gens civilisés.
Beaucoup de plaisir à y avoir au Grand Sunset Princess et pour ceux qui veulent avoir un hôtel propre ou on mange bien je le conseil.
Bon voyage!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Nourriture buffet et resto à la carte. Très propre. Super beau site. Beaucoup chaise et de la place pour être tranquille si vous le voulez. Les drink sont très bons et tous les gens de l'hôtel sont courtois et gentils.

The weak points
Plage pas très belle parce qu'il y avait beaucoup d'algue dans l'eau et la mer était brouillée. Plancher sont très glissant quand ils sont mouillés. (À faire attention)... Notre chambre sentait beaucoup l'humidité.

Monarc.ca Certified

M.Deschesnes
Terrebonne, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-23 to 2015-01-30 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-01

 Très beau voyage

Bon par ou commencé...sur toute l'avion j'étais le seul a aller a cet hôtel...je pensais bien que je m'étais mal fait conseillé par mon agent de voyage...mais bon.... arrivé sur le site les gens à la réception m'ont parler en Français tres bonne accueil ...je me suis pas occupé de mes bagages ils seront envoyer a ma chambre en temps et lieu... :) j'avais une suite junior.... tres belle chambre coté piscine .... (pas la piscine principale)une chambre tres tres propre grand patio intime...

le site... je pars a l'aventure... tres tres grand site... beaucoup de trottoirs je me rend jusqua la plage.... HEEEEEEEE désastre .... des algues partout partout.... (après 3 jours tout était presque disparu) répercutions d'un ouragan en haute mer.

la bouffe... commençons par les buffets... oui deux grand buffet un a coté de l'autre... 500 places chacun ... le choix est répétitif... et les deux ont exactement le même choix au même repas... j'ai fait le test :) et pour les snacks bar deux aussi, et aussi la meme chose.

mais pour ce qui est des repas a la carte.... un 5 étoiles et plus.... tres bon service et ce dans tous les restos.
des belles assiettes, belles présentation,

le BBQ sur la plage fait des excellents Hamburgers

le service au chambre et super bon aussi, la chambre est fait le matin, frigo rempli sans problème, le soir la chambre est refaite les oreillers sont placés différemment et les couverture sont ouverte lumières tamisées et petit chocolat pour vous souhaitez bonne nuit et serviettes changées.

j'étais seul pour mon voyage j'ai bien aimé mais y retourner je n'y retournerai pas seul....
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
resto a la carte, propreté du site, service, piscine, chambre,

The weak points
buffet.... a Cuba dans un 5 étoiles ceux ci sont meilleur...!

Monarc.ca Certified

Pierre Belanger
Granby, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-20 to 2015-01-27 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-29

 Le grand sunset princess

Très bien en général. ..bouffe très bonne ...surtout la fondue et le show japonais wowwww..le staff merveilleux...la plage bof ..chaises trop collées mais plus intime sur le côté des adultes...beaucoup d'algues et de roches donc n'oubliez pas vos souliers d'eau . .beau grand site pour marcher ..tant mieux car il faut bien brûler les calories ...beaucoup d'animation à la piscine centrale et tranquillité aux autres...chambres belles ,grandes et spacieuses mais le frigo n'a été rempli que 3 fois en 2 semaines malgré nos demandes sous prétexte que la carte ne fonctionnait pas et la femme de chambre ne passait pas souvent et faisait le strict nécessaire et la bouteille de tylénols s'est fait vider ..pe mal de dos haha...mais nos amis dans un autre bloc (le 1),tout était impeccable ,nous étions dans le 6 riviera....bons spectacles ...très beaux et bons danseurs....en général excellent 2 semaines, belle température ...mais on aurait voulu être plus prêt de la 5 e et playa del carmen à pied ,on était à 15 min en taxi ...mais nous le recommandons fortement sauf pour ceux qui veulent être prêt de la 5 e avenue et de ceux qui adorent se baigner dans la mer car si on court dans la mer sans être avertis des roches c'est une foulure assurée ou des points de suture comme on a vu ...donc bonnes vacances
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Les chambres...les 4 buffets...les restos à la carte...très bel hotel ...et bons services ...staff en or pour la plupart

The weak points
La plage et le fond de la mer

Monarc.ca Certified

Jean-Marc Et Lise
Malartic, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-26 (14 days)
Written on 2015-02-05

 Grand Sunset Princess

Nous avons passé une agréable semaine.
Le site est très grand. Une navette passe environ tous les 15 a 20 minutes. il y a plusieurs restaurants à la carte ainsi que 4 buffets (2 au Sunset et 2 au Riviera) Par contre la mer n'est pas des plus belles. Mais si vous êtes type piscine, tout est bien car il en a plusieurs. Comme le site est grand, si vous êtes près de la plage, il faut compter environ 10 a 15 minutes pour se rendre au lobby mais comme nous sommes en vacance alors c'est juste une belle marche
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Les restaurants

The weak points
la mer

Monarc.ca Certified

Martin Lapointe
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-19 to 2015-01-26 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-29

 HAPPY HOLIDAY

VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE , THE RESORT IS BEAUTIFUL . ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE DAILY REFILLING OF WATER AND DRINKS . Only REFILLED ONCE IN THE WEEK AND HAD TO ASK FOR THAT . No LATE CHECK OUT , IF YOU WANT LATE CHECK OUT THERE IS A EXTRA FEE PER PERSON
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
PEOPLE , BEACH

The weak points
WATER AND DRINKS WERE NOT FILLED DAILY ,

Monarc.ca Certified

Traveler
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-17 to 2015-01-24 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-26

 Très beau site

Site incroyable, beaucoup de végétation, animation pour tous les goûts, la propreté règne partout, piscines et bars en bonne quantité, personnel courtois. Avons passé une excellente semaine!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Site incroyable, personnel aimable, activités de jour et de soir.

The weak points
L'eau de la mer n'est pas belle (coraux et algues), nourriture un peu décevante pour un 5 étoiles, trottoir glissant quand il pleut et l'absence de Wifi gratuit est inacceptable (même en payant 69$ pour la semaine, le service n'était pas bon).

Monarc.ca Certified

Andre
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-15 to 2015-01-22 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-24

 A dream come true

It was a great holiday, the hotel far exceeded my expectations Staff was friendly, service was great, and tons of good food to eat, whether your choice was buffet or sit down resturants
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
It is a 10 star resort. Everything is clean, food is excellent, service is excellent, good evening shows

The weak points
Lot of stairs only two elevators, in a kilometer stretch, could use more benches along walkway. All service staff to greet you upon arrival are all time share pushers

Monarc.ca Certified

Raymond Heck
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-21 (14 days)
Written on 2015-01-23

 Pleasant Holiday

The hotel was larger than expected but with the number of pools and restaurants it was never crowded. There did not seem to be any controls in place for excessive drinking. There was a lot of smoking in non smoking areas which was very unpleasant for us. The staff was attentive and friendly. The place is very beautiful and well maintained, the beach was not as nice as expected with a lot of seaweed washing in all the time. Overall a good time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, well manicured, clean large rooms, attentive and friendly staff, lots of pools, chairs, good entertainment.

The weak points
Lack of communication of activities, too many smokers and no one enforcing where no smoking was indicated, no lights in hallways after dark

Monarc.ca Certified

Christine
Waterloo, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Incredible Vacation

This is the second time at this resort and this time, it was even better than the last. The resort is huge, gorgeous and the staff were incredible. Right from the time my girlfriend and I arrived, we felt at home. The staff greated us with a big warm smile, answered all our questions and did their best to make our stay very memorable. The food and drinks are something that I will never forget, neither will my waistline. There was something for everybody there, whether it be nature, entertainment, food, music, wonderful staff, as well as many, many excursions, if you wanted an adventure or just to go shopping.
We upgraded to platinum before leaving Winnipeg and we were pampered beyond our expectations, platinum is the way to go.
This was my girlfriends very first time in Mexico and I can say that the Resort and Staff made her fall in Love with the place. WE WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the location, close to Playa Del Carmen, food and the accomodations.

The weak points
Poor internet, its an outside company that provides it and not the resort. The mattresses on the bed are too hard, but we were so tired, we still fell asleep and had a good nights sleep.

Monarc.ca Certified

Rob
Niverville, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Vacances 2015

Je suis un peu déçu de mon 2em voyage a cette hotel. La nourriture est moins bonne qualité qu'il y a 2 ans. Par contre l'hotel est aussi propre et agréable d'y séjourner. Par contre internet est trop chère et lent.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
propreté, gentillesse du personnel, site très beau.

The weak points
nourriture , internet, beaucoup de roches sur la plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

France et Claude
Saint-Jerome, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Mexico 2015

We stayed at the grand sunset princess and we were very happy with the food , staff , beech , pools. Kids loved it.
Not too happy about the room we had as it did not feel like we re in a 5 star resort. Not happy that a junior suite does not have room service included. They wanted $16 us for 2 hot dogs.
Overall as our first family Mexico vacation I will give this experience a 4 out of 5
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beech pools drinks

The weak points
Room , ala carte restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Will
Barrie, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-09 to 2015-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-18

 4* resort

This resort is beautiful, just not a 5 star experience. The resort is absolutely HUGE, and it is impossible to ensure a 5* experience at such a large resort. Grounds and rooms were nice... Food is decent-mediocre. There is no wifi anywhere. You have to pay per DEVICE to have wifi... $70 per week or $20 per day. And even after paying for it, the wifi was not reliable. Had a great time, but I have paid a lot less and had equal service, equal amenities & just as beautiful grounds. I would say book it if you get a good deal! But be prepared to walk a lot.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, pools, and rooms are all beautiful. Many restaurants. Staff was always cleaning. Most of the staff were super friendly & accommodating.

The weak points
No wifi anywhere! Lots of rocks at the beach. The disco was disgusting. It stunk like urine & vomit. Avoid avoid avoid the disco.

Monarc.ca Certified

Danielle S
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-14 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Superbe hotel!!!

Tres propre, site impeccable, personnel chaleureux, magnifique et recommende fortement
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site au complet, propreté, personnel, jamais aussi bien mangé (buffet et à la carte).

The weak points
plage beaucoup d algues, wifi coûte 70 USD pour la semaine.

Monarc.ca Certified

Anonyme
Verdun, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-06 to 2015-01-13 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Très belle endroit

Super vacance wow très beau site .
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Très beau site , belle végétation , personnel très courtois.

The weak points
Pas de wifi gratuit pour un 5 étoiles,sauf au chill out ou il faut payer 13$ par jour pour avoir accès toute la journée.

Monarc.ca Certified

Frederic Gress
Ste-Catherine, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-02 to 2015-01-09 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-11

 Pas si mal, mais un peu trop cher...

Un tout inclus avec beaucoup d'extras à payer...
Plage très décevante, petite, beaucoup d'algues et de roches dans l'eau... Faut aimer être collé sur les gens! Le buffet du lobby principal est la plus grande déception, donc priorisez les soupers dans les resto à la carte. Hotel et chambre très propre et confortable, site très grand grand, donc attendez vous à marcher.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté et confort des chambres. Buffet du Sunset snack super pour dejeuner diner. Proximité de Playa del Carmen.

The weak points
Tout ce qui est non inclus dans mon tout inclus (boissons alcolisées à acheter, sinon on vous donne le bas de gamme). Plage et personnel pas très acceuillant.

Monarc.ca Certified

Amtjsl
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-01 to 2015-01-08 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-20
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


233 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


233 reviews


Beaches

Catalonia Playa Maroma

Catalonia Playa Maroma

Riviera Maya


243 reviews


Families

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Riviera Maya


145 reviews


Couples

Excellence Riviera Cancun

Excellence Riviera Cancun

Riviera Maya


132 reviews


Singles

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Riviera Maya


6 non recent reviews

Seniors

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry