Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Grand Sunset Princess
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Grand Sunset Princess

4.174.174.174.174.17 (4.17)
Based on 1431 reviews

Overall Impression: #10 of 111 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #10 of 111 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #19 of 111 hotels.
Beaches: #27 of 111 hotels.
Families: #26 of 111 hotels.
Couples: #36 of 111 hotels.
Singles: #17 of 111 hotels.
Seniors: #65 of 111 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (410)

Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
583
588
192
54
14
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30

 Grand Sunset Princess Mayan Riviera

Totally Awesome experience! Would go back in a heartbeat! Everything was perfect, clean,courteous staff, beautiful beach and pools! If I had to find one thing that I would like improved is the lighting in the room!! But who cares!!!! :-)
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome vacation spot!

The weak points
Lighting in room!

Monarc.ca Certified

Debra
Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-04-17 to 2016-04-24 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-26

 Great Stay

We loved the resort. The only negative if that is what you can call exercise is the distance that you walk to the beach or meals. The best place to stay is in building 3 as it is close to the beach and a couple of restaurants for breakfast and lunch. The beach was great but had a bit of seaweed but you are near coral reef.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, Beach Food

The weak points
Vastness of the grounds.

Monarc.ca Certified

Robert Brosseau
Candiac, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-04-12 to 2016-04-19 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-27

 Great hotel

We had a lovely experience. We clean and well maintained.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean


Monarc.ca Certified

Gary Robertson
Truro, NS
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-04-10 to 2016-04-17 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-20

 Vacation

had a great time
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
pools

The weak points
5 hour delay on plane

Monarc.ca Certified

Larry Thurnherr
Hamburg, NY
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-04-03 to 2016-04-10 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-12

 Great vacation at the Princess!!!

I highly recommend a stay at the Princess. I have not 1 negative comment
from the staff to the resort.
The Princess will be my first choice for my next vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

John Schiffer
Hamburg, NY
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-03-20 to 2016-03-27 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-31

 Large resort experience

This is a very large resort with lots of restaurants and a well maintained beautiful grounds. The room was good - the bed comfortable. The shower and jacuzzi were good . Although the jets didn't work that well. All the servers and staff were very good. There always seemed a long wait for the concierge though and booking restaurants a bit of a time consuming process. A large distance between beach where our room was and restaurants is annoying at times. The shuttle is not very frequent.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, servers, pool, beach and grounds.

The weak points
Long walks between beach and lobby/restaurants. Shuttle not frequent enough.

Monarc.ca Certified

Couple 50's
Port Coquitlam, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-03-17 to 2016-03-24 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-26

 Very impressive resort

I believe 5days in this hotel is short as there are so many activities to do. The staff and crew were very diligent and we were impressed by the level of dedication each one of them have.

Food was great!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
This resort is huge! There are a lot of activities for everyone and 5 days was just not enough, considering that we also went on excursions so we werent able to maximize the use of the hotel amenities


Monarc.ca Certified

Victor Masongsong
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-03-08 to 2016-03-13 (5 days)
Written on 2016-03-15

 Disappointed.

Everything was pretty great other than the very end. While checking out we were demanded to pay $57 in damages to the room without presenting a thing to us showing what the "damages" we're for. When I argued this it took at LEAST 10 minutes for someone to bring a piece of paper with photos on it to show us the evidence. Turns out the "evidence" was for a completely different room with a different name. It stated so right on the paper. So the last half hour of our dream vacation was spent being frustrated and upset. It was very insulting and rude. And alls we got in the end was a "sorry ma'am " how terrible is that? Although it was a beautiful resort, I would probably not stay there again. The wifi was terrible and even tho I paid $70 to HAVE wifi for the week I still didn't get wifi which I think is horrible. Not even so much as a refund. A new resort like that at least have a decent connection to reach home or business if need be. Also, the pool was quite cold which made swimming not so enjoyable having purchased a deluxe swim out suite for the reason of loving to swim. For my first time ever in Mexico, I think things could have been so much better.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The weak points
Wifi room service

Monarc.ca Certified

Marc
West Seneca, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-03-02 to 2016-03-09 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-11

 Fantastic!

Just returned from the Grand Sunset Princess. Great Staff, Great Food, Great Resort. Only negative was that there was very limited WIFI Oh well, my friends had to wait to hear about our fantastic vacation until we returned. Don't hesitate to go to this resort. We had a swim out room which was wonderful
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Too many to list. If you have the opportunity for the swim out room, take it.

The weak points
Very limited Wifi- internet access I would not recommend this resort for seniors as it is too large.

Monarc.ca Certified

A Cruickshank
Arnprior , ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-02-27 to 2016-03-05 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-08

 A very nice experience

A very nice and clean hotel, staff are courteous and friendly. Nice room. Very nice pools and grounds
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Nicole Chartrand
Dieppe, NB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-02-18 to 2016-02-25 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-28

 Perfect !!!

This was the BEST resort we have ever stayed at. Everything was 5 star all the way. The Alacart restaurants and 4 buffets were top notch, right down to all food staff wearing hair nets. The rooms were inspected regularly by the managers to make sure everything was up to standards.
The grounds were gorgeous and maintained daily, pathways with statues every 20feet, lit up at night. Lots of beach chairs everywhere, never a shortage at beach or pool. Pools everywhere, with river channels attaching pool to pool. Grassy areas, entertainment was wonderful, theatre shows as well as nightly outdoor bands. There is a sports bar with 3 pool tables, there are outdoor ping pong tables and tennis courts too. This resort is like a cruise ship but on land!
We did not care about receiving Wifi on holiday, but you can buy packages and there is internet computers in the sports bar. They also have a large excercise room and so and many kids areas with pools and buffets for families. They have a chill out bar on the beach, that lights up at night. Never bored here, can not wait to go back. Staff are all happy to be working there and do not wait for tips, they seem to just like helping people.
The one only tiny negative is that there are a few rocks in the water for the first 10 feet , after that is sand!
if you want to relax in peace or dance and party, either way you can find it here!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, food, atmosphere, beach, service, entertainment, pools

The weak points
Wifi, few rocks at beach

Gord & Sherry
Pitt Meadows, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-02-17 to 2016-02-24 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-13

 Lovely Resort

My fiancé and I were at the Grand Princess, on the Sunset side from February 15th through February 20th, 2016.

The resort is beautiful, well maintained and lots of options of activities and meals. We had a main floor deluxe junior sweet in the furthest building from the lobby and all the main action but we were super close to the pool and the beach.

It rained half the time we were there and we liked that the three story buildings are all interconnected so you could walk anywhere and still be covered from the rain.

We stuck to the buffets and were happy with the selection and quality. We felt no need to do all the a la cartes. We did do the Miso and it was very tasty.

Our room faced out to the walking path and the edge of the property. We had front row seats to the monkeys that visit a few times a day looking for bananas and other fruit from us vacationers. There are also a lot of friendly critters that are kind of somewhere between a big rat and a racoon. They will eat bread and fruit and veggies too. We saw about three cats too and lots of iguanas, birds, anoles and some squirrels. It was very nice.

The room was a good size and in great shape. Loved the nice fixtures, they even have Moen faucets. And the mini bar was stocked daily with coke, Sol, diet coke, Fanta orange and lots of bottled water. Maid service was good.

The beach is beautiful but was windy the entire time we were there, yellow flag days so we stuck to the pool. We did swim at Tulum though as that's my favourite beach in the world.

The only negative about the resort is how they handle arrivals. We got off the bus and I went to the lobby and waited in line. Only to be told that check in is downstairs and in some seminar room sandwiched between the sports bar and the buffet. It wasn't easy to figure out and when we got in there is was pandemonium as they tried to check in three bus'fuls of people at once. They took our passports, made photo copies, then had confusion trying to hand out the passports. I don't like parting with mine and letting it out of my sight. Anyways, finally got checked in and no issues after that.

Another thing of mention, not good or bad, just different. I have been to about 10 all inclusive resorts, and I've stayed at two others in the Mayan Riviera and Grand Sunset is the first resort I've ever stayed at where you have to wait to be seated at the buffets. It got confusing because there were two doors to get in so people would be coming in from both and then it was hard to keep track of who got there first. I'm used to just finding a table on my own.

And one other thing, there is a restaurant called Chill Out near the beach, it's not included in the all inclusive. Fine, I had not urge to eat near the beach as it was too windy for me. However, every other restaurant including the buffets, had the Chill Out wine menus, with all the prices of the wine. Some were very expensive. So every night at the buffet I was confused on whether wine was actually included with meals or if it was an extra cost. So I just didn't order any wine. Or it's possible that maybe house wine is included but what is in the Chill Out menu is additional wine offering you may or may not purchase? Not sure, wish it was clearer because due to my not being able to speak Spanish, I felt awkward asking if there was any wine included with meals.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort. The landscaping really is lovely and it's refreshing to see a resort that is investing in its own property with upkeep and repairs. For sure I will come again, but next time I'll hold out for a swimout room, they looked so awesome.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Landscaping, food options, sports bar, swim up bars, archery, monkeys

The weak points
Is wind included with meals? Check in process. Theatre air conditioning too cold

Monarc.ca Certified

Amanda Peloquin
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-02-15 to 2016-02-20 (5 days)
Written on 2016-02-23

 Having fun

Had a great time at the Grand Sunset Princess! This was our second time there and it was fabulous. The resort is very clean. Even though we went during a busy time we had no problem with line ups at buffets and were able to book the restaurants on the dates and times we wanted. It is a great location fairly close to excursions as well as Playa Del Carmen. We would come again and recommend this resort to our friends.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Heather Street
Medicine Hat, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-02-11 to 2016-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-05

 Mexico Vacation

It was a very nice, clean resort with all the amenities needed for a great vacation. The suites were all large & kept very clean & new looking. The staff were friendly & food was good.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Petersons
Abbotsford, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-01-31 to 2016-02-07 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-16

 Our Wedding/Family Trip Jan.2016

The hotel and service was up to our standards. The wedding went without a hitch and beautiful scenery. I do recommend this resort!But bring your own snacks or get them from Playa as a bag of chips was $13.50US!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Playa Del Carmen. Staff were very polite and gave great service as long as you tipped. The greenery and animals on site were spectacular!! Most i have ever seen at a resort. Very friendly workers spoke English. Lots of Pools and chairs.

The weak points
They cared for more of the American dollar than Peso for tip. Very long resort not good for people who cannot walk long distant but they did have shuttles every 15 mins.Entertainment was the same dancers every night

Monarc.ca Certified

Scarma
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-01-14 to 2016-01-21 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-03

 Awsome experience

had a great time food was really good
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
the staff were the best

The weak points
the way people save seats with there towels

Monarc.ca Certified

Ronald Loughren
Bailieboro, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-01-10 to 2016-01-20 (10 days)
Written on 2016-01-27

 Great holiday stay

Had a great time and time at the grand sunset. We also upgraded to the family section which we stayed for the 2 weeks we were done there. Hotel was clean and the staff was superb on every aspect of our vacation.. Will be planning another holiday vacation at this princess hotel
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel and rooms were well maintained and very clean to our standards

The weak points
Wifi was something to deal with but while on vacation it wasn't something that I was in need of..

Monarc.ca Certified

Michael Wilson
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-26 to 2016-01-09 (14 days)
Written on 2016-01-11

 Not a Grand Stay

Room was clean ~ but bathroom was not. The jacuzzi was fifthly! The way the show and toilet are separated is with a plexi glass type of wall that isn't very leak proof. The shower leaked into the bathroom stall, and into the bathroom. There isn't much the front staff will do to help you out. They do the basic minimum and that is even an inconvenience to them.

The beach is nice. There are a lot of pools, but not enough seating with all the early birds who put out their towels to hold spots that never get used.

The food is ok and there are plenty of activities around the pools to add entertainment to your day.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and there are a lot of little animals cruising around the place to watch.

This resort is not one I will be returning to, and with all the other choices in the area I would not recommend it. If you are going as a family make sure your travel agent books you in the kid section. The rooms are clean and you then have access to the ice cream shop and water park.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent evening entertainment.

The weak points
The kids club area is only for a special room catagory or else there is a fee per day. How I understood the brochure it was included. A vary large resort. Minimal shuttle service. Lot's of walking. Expect to slip on sidewalks. Dangerous.

Love To Travel
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-30 to 2016-01-06 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-23

 Great stay

This trip was a last minute decision so I was not sure what to expect. I loved the resort! Room was perfect; clean and large. Pools were all great as well as the beach. The A la carte restaurants were so-so but the buffet was outstanding.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Pat B
Winnepeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-30 to 2016-01-04 (5 days)
Written on 2016-01-06

 December vacation 2015

large, beautiful grounds,
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
good food, beautiful grounds

The weak points
bathrooms nears pools, need attention,water on floor

Monarc.ca Certified

Maria Swierk
Brossard, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-11 to 2015-12-18 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-06

 Grand Sunset Princess - Riviera Maya

We had an amazing experience at the hotel. The staff were very helpful with a ready smile.
The food was very well prepared and the A La Cartes were scrumptious.
Overall it was our moneys worth.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Good Food / Good Environment

The weak points
There could be more beach chairs with the umbrellas.

Monarc.ca Certified

Randeep Chabba
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-08-16 to 2015-08-23 (7 days)
Written on 2015-08-26

 Simply Amazing

Dream come true. Not a single bad experience
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Room, Cleanliness, Food

The weak points
Ocean is puking up seaweed (not resorts fault)

Monarc.ca Certified

Craig Jones
Minden, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-06-30 to 2015-07-07 (7 days)
Written on 2015-07-16

 Excellent vacation

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time at this resort. We stayed at the family section in a swim-out suite. It was fun, relaxing, and beautiful. The room was phenomenal with a king bed, jacuzzi tub and a large deck. Contrary to other reviews I read, I did not find it to be too large and the walking from room to pools to the beach and to restaurants was scenic and pleasant. The staff were friendly and gracious. The a la carte's were fancy and the food was delicious and having the opportunity to experience a new one every night was something I hadn't received at other resorts. The sports bar was fun and the disco was wild. We had an amazing time!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resorts with fun things to do, the foam party on the beach was a definite highlight as well as the clean, relaxing pools.

The weak points
The beach did have some rocky areas that were hard on the feet.

Monarc.ca Certified

Amanda Rose Harrison
Richmond, Br
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-05-12 to 2015-05-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-05-21

 Princess Family Club

It was an amazing hotel for families! Lots to do
Would recommend to upgrade to the swim out
Pool from your room, very cool.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Never have to leave the resort

The weak points
Bring extra sunscreen as it $25 U.S. Dollars If you buy from the hotel

Monarc.ca Certified

Donna Shayler Cloutier
Westlock, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-04-19 to 2015-04-26 (7 days)
Written on 2015-04-30

 You will Love it!

Service was excellent, suites were fabulous, staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds are spotless. There was always something fun to do. I loved the beach with the snack/alcohol bar even though the waves were high when we were there. A wide selection of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. The reservation food was not any better than at the buffet, I would miss the steak house, we were not impressed with the food there. My favorite was the day we had prawns and lobster omg sooo good. The rating when we booked was 4 and half stars but it really should be a 5 star rating. I will be going back to this wonderful hotel!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Friendly great rooms lots to do. I have trouble walking and I was put in a bldg. that had an elevator, very thoughtful.

The weak points
I would say the reservation restaurants.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cinna Bonnie
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-08 to 2015-03-15 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-17

 Princess

Most of the trip was good but the bar and lounge areas were non smoking and there were a few assholes that wanted to smoke and spoil it for the rest of us. There would be tables with 5 or 6 people at them and 1 would light up and 10 to 12 people would leave The staff didn't give a crap about the non smokers enough to ask them to quit. I'm sure that if they were asked to but out then they would quit or leave but no effort was made to control it...thanks for spoiling the holiday for us and we will never go back to any Princess hotel or resort again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff

The weak points
don't enforce the no smoking rules - won't go back there ever again !!!!!!!!!!!

Monarc.ca Certified

Brian Rubletz
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-03-07 (14 days)
Written on 2015-03-09

 GRAND SUNSET PRINCESS

This is our 5th visit to the same hotel and we love it!
The grounds are impeccable, the food is 5 star, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the people are friendly and wonderful. Everything needed for a perfect vacation!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, comfort, staff willingness to assist, beautiful place!

The weak points
Front desk check in late at night is not Platinum: not the greatest of language skills, no ability toi make decisions without a manager (not present for after midnight check in). Double beds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Unable to confirm king/queen bed despite request.

Monarc.ca Certified

Debbie Partyka
Kirkland, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-19 to 2015-03-06 (15 days)
Written on 2015-03-09

 Nice resort. Good food.

Too big of resort. A lot of walking. Can't just zip back to your room to grab something if you forgot something. Staff was very misinforming of how to get around in the resort... By not telling us the shortcuts. Making us Go up and down and all around when there was a way easier and faster way. Nice that they offer strollers to rent for free. Would have been nice to know that in advance. They also have push cars to rent for free for older kids who don't want to walk miles on end all week. The kids club was nice. Family section was also nice. The food was pretty good. Had no problems drinking the resort water. Was hard to know what the entertainment was throughout the day each day. Everything was all over the place so I think we missed a lot of fun stuff. The family club buffet was awesome and if you ask the chef to make you something they always did without any hassle. You must run out early to put your towels down to get chairs every day. Really hard to find chairs by pool and art he beach. Except in the family section and kids club pool. Resort was clean and beautiful with lots to see and do. Might be too much for some people. Hope that helps. Would not go back only because we found it too large and too overwhelming.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful. Clean. Lots of options for where to hang out. Free Stroller rentals. Kids club. Beds were comfy.

The weak points
Too large and spread out. Beach very far from most rooms. Entertainment poorly timed and advertised. Mini bar poorly stocked. lobby store very overpriced.

Monarc.ca Certified

Vincenzo Ottava
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-02-28 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-02

 Beautiful Resort

This resort is huge, but once you know your way around it is great. Nice beach, lots of pools and many restaurants. Food was very good especially the Japanese. We had a great time and would definitely return and/or recommend for others. We had a Deluxe Junior Suite. All in all a great vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great food,resort, beach etc.

The weak points
In this day and age and for the money you spend internet should be included at no extra charge.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jan
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-04 to 2015-02-11 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-14

 Another wonderful vacation.

Check in fast. Our room was clean and we were welcomed with champagne and a fruit basket. Our concierge Octavio made sure everything was in order and we were always happy. I can hardly wait for our next vacation there. One thing, we went to the Yucatan side to see what it was like. I was treated very badly by the staff there. We were VIP guests and we were treated like criminals for stepping on the sister hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
If it were not for our awesome concierge, we may not have had a great time.

The weak points
The coffee bar where they make flaming coffees is gone. I did not like that the people from the sister hotel Yukatan could come over to the Sunset side, but VIP guests were not allowed there. This is still the same hotel. The Yukatan staff were veryrude

Monarc.ca Certified

Rose
Kitchener, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-19 to 2015-02-02 (14 days)
Written on 2015-02-04
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


346 reviews


Food / Restaurants

The Hideaway At Royalton Riviera Cancun

The Hideaway At Royalton Riviera Cancun

Riviera Maya


23 reviews


Beaches

Riu Palace Mexico

Riu Palace Mexico

Riviera Maya


92 reviews


Families

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Riviera Maya


159 reviews


Couples

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya


130 reviews


Singles

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Riviera Maya


6 non recent reviews

Seniors

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry