Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Grand Sunset Princess
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Grand Sunset Princess
 Description
 See on map

Grand Sunset Princess

4.174.174.174.174.17 (4.17)
Based on 1302 reviews

Overall Impression: #11 of 103 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #10 of 103 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #21 of 103 hotels.
Beaches: #31 of 103 hotels.
Families: #40 of 103 hotels.
Couples: #15 of 103 hotels.
Singles: #11 of 103 hotels.
Seniors: #53 of 103 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (379)

Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess

Travellers Reviews

All
536
523
179
51
13




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44

 Très beau voyage

Bon par ou commencé...sur toute l'avion j'étais le seul a aller a cet hôtel...je pensais bien que je m'étais mal fait conseillé par mon agent de voyage...mais bon.... arrivé sur le site les gens à la réception m'ont parler en Français tres bonne accueil ...je me suis pas occupé de mes bagages ils seront envoyer a ma chambre en temps et lieu... :) j'avais une suite junior.... tres belle chambre coté piscine .... (pas la piscine principale)une chambre tres tres propre grand patio intime...

le site... je pars a l'aventure... tres tres grand site... beaucoup de trottoirs je me rend jusqua la plage.... HEEEEEEEE désastre .... des algues partout partout.... (après 3 jours tout était presque disparu) répercutions d'un ouragan en haute mer.

la bouffe... commençons par les buffets... oui deux grand buffet un a coté de l'autre... 500 places chacun ... le choix est répétitif... et les deux ont exactement le même choix au même repas... j'ai fait le test :) et pour les snacks bar deux aussi, et aussi la meme chose.

mais pour ce qui est des repas a la carte.... un 5 étoiles et plus.... tres bon service et ce dans tous les restos.
des belles assiettes, belles présentation,

le BBQ sur la plage fait des excellents Hamburgers

le service au chambre et super bon aussi, la chambre est fait le matin, frigo rempli sans problème, le soir la chambre est refaite les oreillers sont placés différemment et les couverture sont ouverte lumières tamisées et petit chocolat pour vous souhaitez bonne nuit et serviettes changées.

j'étais seul pour mon voyage j'ai bien aimé mais y retourner je n'y retournerai pas seul....
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
resto a la carte, propreté du site, service, piscine, chambre,

The weak points
buffet.... a Cuba dans un 5 étoiles ceux ci sont meilleur...!

Monarc.ca Certified

Pierre Belanger
Granby, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-20 to 2015-01-27 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-29

 HAPPY HOLIDAY

VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE , THE RESORT IS BEAUTIFUL . ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE DAILY REFILLING OF WATER AND DRINKS . Only REFILLED ONCE IN THE WEEK AND HAD TO ASK FOR THAT . No LATE CHECK OUT , IF YOU WANT LATE CHECK OUT THERE IS A EXTRA FEE PER PERSON
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
PEOPLE , BEACH

The weak points
WATER AND DRINKS WERE NOT FILLED DAILY ,

Monarc.ca Certified

Traveler
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-17 to 2015-01-24 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-26

 Très beau site

Site incroyable, beaucoup de végétation, animation pour tous les goûts, la propreté règne partout, piscines et bars en bonne quantité, personnel courtois. Avons passé une excellente semaine!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Site incroyable, personnel aimable, activités de jour et de soir.

The weak points
L'eau de la mer n'est pas belle (coraux et algues), nourriture un peu décevante pour un 5 étoiles, trottoir glissant quand il pleut et l'absence de Wifi gratuit est inacceptable (même en payant 69$ pour la semaine, le service n'était pas bon).

Monarc.ca Certified

Andre
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-15 to 2015-01-22 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-24

 A dream come true

It was a great holiday, the hotel far exceeded my expectations Staff was friendly, service was great, and tons of good food to eat, whether your choice was buffet or sit down resturants
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
It is a 10 star resort. Everything is clean, food is excellent, service is excellent, good evening shows

The weak points
Lot of stairs only two elevators, in a kilometer stretch, could use more benches along walkway. All service staff to greet you upon arrival are all time share pushers

Monarc.ca Certified

Raymond Heck
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-21 (14 days)
Written on 2015-01-23

 Pleasant Holiday

The hotel was larger than expected but with the number of pools and restaurants it was never crowded. There did not seem to be any controls in place for excessive drinking. There was a lot of smoking in non smoking areas which was very unpleasant for us. The staff was attentive and friendly. The place is very beautiful and well maintained, the beach was not as nice as expected with a lot of seaweed washing in all the time. Overall a good time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, well manicured, clean large rooms, attentive and friendly staff, lots of pools, chairs, good entertainment.

The weak points
Lack of communication of activities, too many smokers and no one enforcing where no smoking was indicated, no lights in hallways after dark

Monarc.ca Certified

Christine
Waterloo, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Incredible Vacation

This is the second time at this resort and this time, it was even better than the last. The resort is huge, gorgeous and the staff were incredible. Right from the time my girlfriend and I arrived, we felt at home. The staff greated us with a big warm smile, answered all our questions and did their best to make our stay very memorable. The food and drinks are something that I will never forget, neither will my waistline. There was something for everybody there, whether it be nature, entertainment, food, music, wonderful staff, as well as many, many excursions, if you wanted an adventure or just to go shopping.
We upgraded to platinum before leaving Winnipeg and we were pampered beyond our expectations, platinum is the way to go.
This was my girlfriends very first time in Mexico and I can say that the Resort and Staff made her fall in Love with the place. WE WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the location, close to Playa Del Carmen, food and the accomodations.

The weak points
Poor internet, its an outside company that provides it and not the resort. The mattresses on the bed are too hard, but we were so tired, we still fell asleep and had a good nights sleep.

Monarc.ca Certified

Rob
Niverville, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Vacances 2015

Je suis un peu déçu de mon 2em voyage a cette hotel. La nourriture est moins bonne qualité qu'il y a 2 ans. Par contre l'hotel est aussi propre et agréable d'y séjourner. Par contre internet est trop chère et lent.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
propreté, gentillesse du personnel, site très beau.

The weak points
nourriture , internet, beaucoup de roches sur la plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

France et Claude
Saint-Jerome, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Mexico 2015

We stayed at the grand sunset princess and we were very happy with the food , staff , beech , pools. Kids loved it.
Not too happy about the room we had as it did not feel like we re in a 5 star resort. Not happy that a junior suite does not have room service included. They wanted $16 us for 2 hot dogs.
Overall as our first family Mexico vacation I will give this experience a 4 out of 5
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beech pools drinks

The weak points
Room , ala carte restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Will
Barrie, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-09 to 2015-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-18

 4* resort

This resort is beautiful, just not a 5 star experience. The resort is absolutely HUGE, and it is impossible to ensure a 5* experience at such a large resort. Grounds and rooms were nice... Food is decent-mediocre. There is no wifi anywhere. You have to pay per DEVICE to have wifi... $70 per week or $20 per day. And even after paying for it, the wifi was not reliable. Had a great time, but I have paid a lot less and had equal service, equal amenities & just as beautiful grounds. I would say book it if you get a good deal! But be prepared to walk a lot.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, pools, and rooms are all beautiful. Many restaurants. Staff was always cleaning. Most of the staff were super friendly & accommodating.

The weak points
No wifi anywhere! Lots of rocks at the beach. The disco was disgusting. It stunk like urine & vomit. Avoid avoid avoid the disco.

Monarc.ca Certified

Danielle S
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-14 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Superbe hotel!!!

Tres propre, site impeccable, personnel chaleureux, magnifique et recommende fortement
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site au complet, propreté, personnel, jamais aussi bien mangé (buffet et à la carte).

The weak points
plage beaucoup d algues, wifi coûte 70 USD pour la semaine.

Monarc.ca Certified

Anonyme
Verdun, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-06 to 2015-01-13 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Très belle endroit

Super vacance wow très beau site .
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Très beau site , belle végétation , personnel très courtois.

The weak points
Pas de wifi gratuit pour un 5 étoiles,sauf au chill out ou il faut payer 13$ par jour pour avoir accès toute la journée.

Monarc.ca Certified

Frederic Gress
Ste-Catherine, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-02 to 2015-01-09 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-11

 Pas si mal, mais un peu trop cher...

Un tout inclus avec beaucoup d'extras à payer...
Plage très décevante, petite, beaucoup d'algues et de roches dans l'eau... Faut aimer être collé sur les gens! Le buffet du lobby principal est la plus grande déception, donc priorisez les soupers dans les resto à la carte. Hotel et chambre très propre et confortable, site très grand grand, donc attendez vous à marcher.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté et confort des chambres. Buffet du Sunset snack super pour dejeuner diner. Proximité de Playa del Carmen.

The weak points
Tout ce qui est non inclus dans mon tout inclus (boissons alcolisées à acheter, sinon on vous donne le bas de gamme). Plage et personnel pas très acceuillant.

Monarc.ca Certified

Amtjsl
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-01 to 2015-01-08 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-20

 Super voyage !

Hôtel de grande qualité, météo superbe, restaurants avec nourriture extra, chambre (suite junior de luxe) vraiment spacieuse, propreté impeccable, personnel souriant et attentionné, spectacle qualité supérieure
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Restauration, environnement général (plage et piscines), propreté, spectacles en soirée

The weak points
Pas d'accès Internet dans les chambres

Monarc.ca Certified

Marc
Chicoutimi, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-29 to 2015-01-05 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-08

 Princess

Magnifique hotel, services impeccable, beaucoup de piscines, plusieurs resto a la carte et tres bon. belle et grande plage. Animation, plusieurs bars, section famille, court de tennis, basketball et soccer piscine et jeu d'eau pour les petits pour tous les goûts... Familiale dans l'ensemble mais bien pour les couples aussi...
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
tres belle hotel, chambre grande et spacieuse avec douches et jacuzi. Beaucoup piscines et bien entretenu. Belle grande plage. Grand site avec beaucoup de choses à faire...

The weak points
Acces internet est très faible presque inaccessible, payant sauf pour les sections du club famille et platine. Un peu d'algues sur le bord de la plage. Piscine un peu froide mais en décembre s'est normale environ 80 F

Monarc.ca Certified

Rick
Sorel, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-24 to 2014-12-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-02

 Bonne experience

Très beau hôtel. La norriture est decent pour un tout inclus, les premiers jours on veut tout essayer mais on se rend compte assez vite qu'il faut bien choisir ses aliments, nous avons été completements deçu des soirées thématiques au buffet, je recommande reserver des restos à la carte. La plage laisse un peu a desirer, bcp d'algues et quelques pierres. Les navettes dans l'hotel passent pas souvent, heureusement que nous aimons marcher. J'ai eu une belle chambre, grande et propre dans la section famille mais je regrette pas avoir eu le premier étage car il n'y a pas d'ascenceur et monter au trosième avec un bebe dans son chariot c'est un peu lourd. Nous avons passé noël dans cet hôtel et j'ai bien aimé, la norriture au buffet était meilleur que je m'attendais, papa noël est venu donner de cadeaux aux enfants.En general j'ai eu une belle experience et j'ai bien aimé cet hôtel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Les installations, la propreté, les les piscines,la bonne quantité de restos/buffets et de bars, ca fait qu'on sent jamais plein l'hotel.

The weak points
Bcp d'algues surla plage ainsi que de pierres.Les soirées thématiques aux buffets (Chine, Espagne). Pas assez de navettes dans l'hotel. Pas d'ascenceur(on a voyagé avec un bebe)

Monarc.ca Certified

Johanna Basto
Brossard, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-19 to 2014-12-30 (11 days)
Written on 2015-01-01

 Excellent endroit

J'y retournerai.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beau, propre, excellent service, bonne nourriture variée, sports bar et disco sur place.

The weak points
Internet non inclut et non rapide. La plage et la réception sont à 6-8 minutes de distance sur le même site privé, mais il y a une navette pour ceux qui ne désirent pas marcher.

Monarc.ca Certified

C Veer
Verdun, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-23 to 2014-12-30 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-01

 Description solennelle

Positif; nourriture excellent , propreter des chambre excellent , service aux touriste acceptable .

Negatif ; bar ouvre a 10 am meme si tout les touriste sont deja a la plage , pas de lumiere dans tout le resort a partir de 5:30 am alors doit marcher dans le noir pour aller choisir chaise de plage tot car si non pas de chaise de plage car tout est plein tres desagreable de marcher dans la noirseur surtout dans un grand resort comme celui la , ny aller pas si vous chercher une belle plage car celle si est vraiment pas belle ... Beaucoup de vague , beaucoup d'algues, plusieur jelly fish , beaucoup de roche ...
Voila une vrai description !
Mexique = bonne bouffe seulement mais pas de belle plage et il fait froid parfois et surtout trop souvent nuageux et de la plui alors a vous dy voir !!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Tres bonne nouriture

The weak points
Tres mauvaise plage et temps tres nuageux et pluvieux

Monarc.ca Certified

Bruno
Laval, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-18 to 2014-12-25 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-27

 Grand Sunset Princess ... Go somewhere else!

I am an avid traveler and an event planner for a living and subsequently I spend a lot of time in hotels. This hotel fell short on every level. The different levels of all-inclusive was both confusing and made me feel unwelcome. I paid for an upgrade upon arrival after already paying a single supplement but other than a room closer to the beach, I still have no idea what I received for my $105 USD. The staff were rude and unfriendly in most cases. There were a few great servers that stood out: Eric, the waiter by the pool Angel the waiter in the Japanese restaurant and a few other bartenders/servers. I really felt like the rest of the staff couldn't care less about me as a guest. The guest rooms were large but needed some work. My pillows smelled funny and I asked to get them changed which never happened. On the 4th day my toilet seat broken and nobody came to fix it. I can say that the grounds were beautiful but with a 20 minute walk from the main building to the beach you'd best not be hungry or forget anything in your room. The plus sides were that there were plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach. The maid always did a wonderful job cleaning my room but I did hear from other guests that if you didn't leave a tip that you didn't get your room cleaned or fresh towels. I do have to compliment the shows in the evening which were amazing. The dancers were out of this world and the facility for the shows was beautiful. All and all ... I wouldn't recommend this resort. There are plenty of other beautiful resorts in the area that will give you better service and leave you walking away smiling.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Eric the waiter by the pool was amazing! There were plenty of chairs by the pool. Shows in the evening were wonderful.

The weak points
Size of Resort Food Quality Service Check in process

Monarc.ca Certified

Lindsay Swan
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-17 to 2014-12-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-29

 Très belles vacances

Pour avoir accès à internet, petit truc aller au Chill Out pour 13 $ par personne avec accès internet gratuit . En plus d'y être traité aux petits soins.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Les restos à la carte sont très bons

The weak points
La plage avec quelques roches à l'entrée dans la mer

Monarc.ca Certified

Karine
Boischatel, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-07 to 2014-12-14 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-16

 Belle semaine de vacances.

Beau séjour agréable.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Jardins luxuriants et entretien excellent. Bonne nourriture et très variée tous les jours.

The weak points
La plage. Balcons sales à causes de pigeons et autres oiseaux.

Monarc.ca Certified

Andre et Carole
La Prairie, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-01 to 2014-12-08 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-12

 Grand Sunset Princess

We had a fantastic week at the Grand Sunset Princess. We stayed in the family club and had a swim out room. It was perfect! The staff were incredible. They answered any questions or solved any problems immediately. The resort is very clean and well maintained. The food was great! We ate at a different restaraunt every night, never had trouble getting a reservation. I highly recommend staying in the Family Club for families traveling with children. It was very private and had lots of excellent activities for the kids.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and beautiful resort. Food was good with lots of variety at buffet. Family friendly!

The weak points
Expensive and unreliable Internet connection.

Monarc.ca Certified

Brittany
Regina, SK
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-15 to 2014-11-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-24

 Wouldn't recommend it.

Service wasn't good. We had to fight with hotel management to get the room we booked. Food quality and selection was below average.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Very large resort.

The weak points
Family Club Rooms furthest from the beach. Room not accessible (had to carry stroller up and down stairs)Restaurant Service was really lacking.

Monarc.ca Certified

Mtk
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-11 to 2014-11-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-21

 Marginal Vacation

Hotel was OK. Front desk services wasn't very helpful upon arrival. Calls to housekeeping where not attended to for 2 days and it required a visit to the front desk to finally get service for our room fridge which was not working. Breakfast buffet was not adequately replenished in a timely manner. WiFi was an extra cost, for the price paid, this should have been included. Wedding receptions where hosted in the La Carte restaurants which was very loud and distracting. Hotel should consider partitioning off these groups from the other diners.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service Staff where good.

The weak points
La Carte restaurants where not very good. Staff required that all menu choices where made up front which resulted in the food arriving quickly for each course. We felt very rushed and that the intent was to move you in and out as quickly as possible.

Monarc.ca Certified

Seasoned Traveller
Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-08 to 2014-11-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-17

 Je m'attendais à plus de cet hotel !

Le site est beau, propre et la nourriture est excellente MAIS la plage pour la section "normale" à 7:30 il n'y avait deja pratiquement plus de beaux choix de chaises ! Nous sommes collés les uns sur les autres aucune intimité ! On a attendu en file jusqua 45 mins pour avoir un verre au bar de la plage ! Le service au buffet et dans le lobby très ordinaire ! Pas assez de staff pour le nombre de gens ! Bref en gang pour faire la fête peut-être que jy retournerais mais en amoureux plus jamais ! On a trouver le chill out pour nos deux derniers jours une chance !!! Mais c'est 13$USD par personne mais une belle solution pour avoir le
Wifi ce qui est une arnaque totale !
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La bouffe et la beauté du site

The weak points
La plage le service Acces à Internet très dispendieux

Monarc.ca Certified

Julie
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-06 to 2014-11-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-17

 Commentaires

Beau site! Propre!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Personnel très courtois.

The weak points
La plage et la mer. C'était affreux. La couleur et l'odeur. Une fosse septique en plein air! Il n'y a pas assez de personnel à la réception!

Monarc.ca Certified

Merci 1974
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-10-11 to 2014-10-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-20

 Mexico 2014

Wonderful experience at the resort. Yes some little hiccups, but everything got solved. Would definitely come here again.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome resort!!!!! Swim-out rooms Rocked!!!!

The weak points
Not much to complain about except the cost of the internet access

Monarc.ca Certified

Rudi Langner
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-28 to 2014-10-05 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-07

 New platinum suites Sept 27-Oct 4

Overall was great. Will be amazing when it fully opens in Dec.

I stayed in the swim out room...worth it! Internet access excellent, logged in day one and enjoyed it problem free.

I ate at all but one restaurant...very good, worth trying at least once. Lots of variety including temperature :P
The workers are amazing...Call out to my girl Marvi <3.

The grounds are new but so beautiful, and the joining resort are older but incredible.

Activities are minimal in the platinum for now but the Sunset/Rivera side has stuff every night and a shuttle that takes you there (I always walked).

The pools are plenty and lots of variety in terms of kids/no kids, size, swim up bar, quite/loud.

The beach is wonderful to look at but not so great to swim, to many sharp rocks. Just walk 3 mins to the other side, its rock free and so nice with piles of chairs to use.

I dove with the resort dive center numerous days and they are awesome. They treat you with respect and make sure you are safe. Shout out to Christen my dive instructor, he is one of the best I've had.

I traveled alone this time and I had no issues with workers or vacationers the whole time. Everyone was kind and friendly, thank you for that.

I will go back soon, hoping for Feb if not it will be Sept.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach,pool,workers,food,location,swim out rooms, bar, drinks,Marvi :), dive shop.

The weak points
Rocks in the water. Not fully open til dec 1 2014.

Monarc.ca Certified

Corey
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-27 to 2014-10-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-14

 SUPER DE BELLES VACANCES...

Très belle hôtel , c était ma première fois mais pas ma dernière, mon chum c était sa 7 ieme fois
Personnel super gentil chambre a couper le souffle .nous avions la chambre avec accès a la piscine formidable .
Je tiens remercier deux personne en particulier des employés de l hôtel même si sont tous gentil ,,,, Victor et Marco SUPER gentil Merci a vous deux !!!! et si vous y aller SVP dite leur un bonjour pour moi Merci
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté des chambre , de l hôtel , la nourriture super bon , le personnel OUFFFF!! toujours la pour nous aider j ai fait des excursions tout a bien été Je vous recommande cette Hôtel

The weak points
Je dirai la plage beaucoup d algues sur le bord et des petite roche qui font MAL aux pieds

Monarc.ca Certified

johane gauthier
Rougemont, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-23 to 2014-09-30 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-02

 Spoiled Vacation and Wedding Experience

Hi everybody, my review below applies both to those looking for a destination wedding at Grand Sunset (or Riviera) Princess, and to those who want just to come there for a vacation. Unfortunately, the review will be a bit long, but if you will have the patience to read through it, I hope it will be more than helpful.
I have spent 10 days at the hotel, and got married there in September 2014. Here I will try to provide you with as objective review as it is possible in my circumstances.
For those looking to have a destination wedding with guests, friends, family – PLEASE look somewhere else. Though the ceremony was very nice and positive, the whole experience was equally negative. We came to Mexico with 30 guests!!! Relatively large group for Caribbean vacations. At the end of our stay with Princess all our guests shared the same feeling – Princess doesn’t really give a damn about our group and would do nothing for us as a group. Just to put the situation in a proper perspective – I’ve paid a bit more than $10,000USD for the wedding, 30 guests paid probably another $10,000USD to the hotel; average salary of a hotel employee is $200USD per month.
They didn’t put us even once at one table for a dinner – even though we have asked; they didn’t provide us with a shuttle – even though our bus to the airport left at 6:30am; our check-in as well as check-out were done separately to each guest/family; all my requests for someone who will coordinate our time at the hotel as a group were left vain.
What is more – when I came to the supervising manager at the reception with these requests/complaints I’ve received a wonderful response – “If you want us to treat you as a group, you have to pay more money!” (how much more in addition to already paid $20,000 I wasn’t told…).
Therefore, to conclude – you will not be welcome at Princess Hotel as a group, and your vacation with friends and family will be ruined. Many of my guests told me very similar sentence – “It was a nice wedding and a spoiled vacation”.
For those looking for a vacation at Princess Hotel (both Sunset and Riviera) – I have some good and some bad news. The hotel is nice, amenities are good and the beach was very clean and nice (I did not use the pool, so no reference here). Entertainment was the only missing thing at the beach – except for occasional volleyball there was absolutely nothing at the beach – this didn’t bother me personally, but may be relevant to others.
Now the bad things: the staff wasn’t particularly nice and friendly, sometimes it seemed to me as if they were tired of all these tourists. The staff at bars, especially at the beach was just rude – if you come without a dollar in your hand they will show you exactly what they think about you. And the biggest annoyance is the hotels shuttle – the Hotel is very-very big, and though it has a shuttle from the lobby to the beach area (15 minutes of walk in 38C - 42C wasn’t exactly the most pleasant experience), the shuttle follows a schedule – so in three separate occasions I witnessed 20-25 people waiting for a shuttle, then one arrives, takes 10 people and leaves – the remaining guests will have to wait for the next scheduled bus in 15-20 minutes… During all this time – other shuttles (2-3 at least) were just parked across the road waiting for the scheduled time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, but nothing special Huge hotel - for those who love it

The weak points
15 minutes walk from the beach area to lobby No proper shuttle buses Poor customer service BAD reception service Disgraceful approach to small-mediun groups - up to 30 people Unpleasant barmen lack of entertainment at the beach

Eugenej
Richmond Hill, ON
Stay from 2014-09-16 to 2014-09-26 (10 days)
Written on 2014-10-09

 VACANCE

LES VACANCES ONT ÉTÉ TRÈS BIEN IL A FAIT BEAU ET CHAUD !!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
C'EST UN HÔTEL TRÈS GRAND ET CEUX QUI AIME MARCHER IL FAUT S'ATTENDRE À MARCHER UN PEU NOUS AIMONS ÇA !! ET C'EST UN HÔTEL TRÈS PROPRE !!!

The weak points
IL N'A PAS EU DE PROBLÈME SAUF À LA FIN LORSQUE NOUS SOMMES ARRIVER AU LOBBY LE DÉPART POUR L'ARÉOPORT ÉTAIT À 10H15 ET NOUS ÉTIONS ENTRAIN DE PAYER LA FACTURE DE TÉLÉPHONE AU COMPTOIR ILS NOUS PAS ATTENDU L'AUTOBUS EST PARTIE SANS NOUS ET J'AI PAYÉ TAXI

Monarc.ca Certified

Patrice Veer
St-Isidore-De-Beauce, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-09 to 2014-09-16 (7 days)
Written on 2014-09-18
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


225 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


225 reviews


Beaches

Catalonia Playa Maroma

Catalonia Playa Maroma

Riviera Maya


240 reviews


Families

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Riviera Maya


142 reviews


Couples

El Dorado Seaside

El Dorado Seaside

Riviera Maya


118 reviews


Singles

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Riviera Maya


6 non recent reviews

Seniors

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry