Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Grand Sunset Princess
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Grand Sunset Princess

4.174.174.174.174.17 (4.17)
Based on 1380 reviews

Overall Impression: #9 of 110 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #8 of 110 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #18 of 110 hotels.
Beaches: #24 of 110 hotels.
Families: #29 of 110 hotels.
Couples: #34 of 110 hotels.
Singles: #20 of 110 hotels.
Seniors: #74 of 110 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (398)

Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
566
562
186
52
14
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29

 Our Wedding/Family Trip Jan.2016

The hotel and service was up to our standards. The wedding went without a hitch and beautiful scenery. I do recommend this resort!But bring your own snacks or get them from Playa as a bag of chips was $13.50US!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Playa Del Carmen. Staff were very polite and gave great service as long as you tipped. The greenery and animals on site were spectacular!! Most i have ever seen at a resort. Very friendly workers spoke English. Lots of Pools and chairs.

The weak points
They cared for more of the American dollar than Peso for tip. Very long resort not good for people who cannot walk long distant but they did have shuttles every 15 mins.Entertainment was the same dancers every night

Monarc.ca Certified

Scarma
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-01-14 to 2016-01-21 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-03

 Awsome experience

had a great time food was really good
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
the staff were the best

The weak points
the way people save seats with there towels

Monarc.ca Certified

Ronald Loughren
Bailieboro, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2016-01-10 to 2016-01-20 (10 days)
Written on 2016-01-27

 Great holiday stay

Had a great time and time at the grand sunset. We also upgraded to the family section which we stayed for the 2 weeks we were done there. Hotel was clean and the staff was superb on every aspect of our vacation.. Will be planning another holiday vacation at this princess hotel
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel and rooms were well maintained and very clean to our standards

The weak points
Wifi was something to deal with but while on vacation it wasn't something that I was in need of..

Monarc.ca Certified

Michael Wilson
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-26 to 2016-01-09 (14 days)
Written on 2016-01-11

 Great stay

This trip was a last minute decision so I was not sure what to expect. I loved the resort! Room was perfect; clean and large. Pools were all great as well as the beach. The A la carte restaurants were so-so but the buffet was outstanding.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Pat B
Winnepeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-30 to 2016-01-04 (5 days)
Written on 2016-01-06

 December vacation 2015

large, beautiful grounds,
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
good food, beautiful grounds

The weak points
bathrooms nears pools, need attention,water on floor

Monarc.ca Certified

Maria Swierk
Brossard, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-12-11 to 2015-12-18 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-06

 Grand Sunset Princess - Riviera Maya

We had an amazing experience at the hotel. The staff were very helpful with a ready smile.
The food was very well prepared and the A La Cartes were scrumptious.
Overall it was our moneys worth.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Good Food / Good Environment

The weak points
There could be more beach chairs with the umbrellas.

Monarc.ca Certified

Randeep Chabba
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-08-16 to 2015-08-23 (7 days)
Written on 2015-08-26

 Simply Amazing

Dream come true. Not a single bad experience
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Room, Cleanliness, Food

The weak points
Ocean is puking up seaweed (not resorts fault)

Monarc.ca Certified

Craig Jones
Minden, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-06-30 to 2015-07-07 (7 days)
Written on 2015-07-16

 Excellent vacation

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time at this resort. We stayed at the family section in a swim-out suite. It was fun, relaxing, and beautiful. The room was phenomenal with a king bed, jacuzzi tub and a large deck. Contrary to other reviews I read, I did not find it to be too large and the walking from room to pools to the beach and to restaurants was scenic and pleasant. The staff were friendly and gracious. The a la carte's were fancy and the food was delicious and having the opportunity to experience a new one every night was something I hadn't received at other resorts. The sports bar was fun and the disco was wild. We had an amazing time!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resorts with fun things to do, the foam party on the beach was a definite highlight as well as the clean, relaxing pools.

The weak points
The beach did have some rocky areas that were hard on the feet.

Monarc.ca Certified

Amanda Rose Harrison
Richmond, Br
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-05-12 to 2015-05-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-05-21

 Princess Family Club

It was an amazing hotel for families! Lots to do
Would recommend to upgrade to the swim out
Pool from your room, very cool.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Never have to leave the resort

The weak points
Bring extra sunscreen as it $25 U.S. Dollars If you buy from the hotel

Monarc.ca Certified

Donna Shayler Cloutier
Westlock, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-04-19 to 2015-04-26 (7 days)
Written on 2015-04-30

 You will Love it!

Service was excellent, suites were fabulous, staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds are spotless. There was always something fun to do. I loved the beach with the snack/alcohol bar even though the waves were high when we were there. A wide selection of food for breakfast lunch and dinner. The reservation food was not any better than at the buffet, I would miss the steak house, we were not impressed with the food there. My favorite was the day we had prawns and lobster omg sooo good. The rating when we booked was 4 and half stars but it really should be a 5 star rating. I will be going back to this wonderful hotel!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Friendly great rooms lots to do. I have trouble walking and I was put in a bldg. that had an elevator, very thoughtful.

The weak points
I would say the reservation restaurants.

Monarc.ca Certified

Cinna Bonnie
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-03-08 to 2015-03-15 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-17

 Princess

Most of the trip was good but the bar and lounge areas were non smoking and there were a few assholes that wanted to smoke and spoil it for the rest of us. There would be tables with 5 or 6 people at them and 1 would light up and 10 to 12 people would leave The staff didn't give a crap about the non smokers enough to ask them to quit. I'm sure that if they were asked to but out then they would quit or leave but no effort was made to control it...thanks for spoiling the holiday for us and we will never go back to any Princess hotel or resort again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff

The weak points
don't enforce the no smoking rules - won't go back there ever again !!!!!!!!!!!

Monarc.ca Certified

Brian Rubletz
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-03-07 (14 days)
Written on 2015-03-09

 GRAND SUNSET PRINCESS

This is our 5th visit to the same hotel and we love it!
The grounds are impeccable, the food is 5 star, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the people are friendly and wonderful. Everything needed for a perfect vacation!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, cleanliness, comfort, staff willingness to assist, beautiful place!

The weak points
Front desk check in late at night is not Platinum: not the greatest of language skills, no ability toi make decisions without a manager (not present for after midnight check in). Double beds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Unable to confirm king/queen bed despite request.

Monarc.ca Certified

Debbie Partyka
Kirkland, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-19 to 2015-03-06 (15 days)
Written on 2015-03-09

 Nice resort. Good food.

Too big of resort. A lot of walking. Can't just zip back to your room to grab something if you forgot something. Staff was very misinforming of how to get around in the resort... By not telling us the shortcuts. Making us Go up and down and all around when there was a way easier and faster way. Nice that they offer strollers to rent for free. Would have been nice to know that in advance. They also have push cars to rent for free for older kids who don't want to walk miles on end all week. The kids club was nice. Family section was also nice. The food was pretty good. Had no problems drinking the resort water. Was hard to know what the entertainment was throughout the day each day. Everything was all over the place so I think we missed a lot of fun stuff. The family club buffet was awesome and if you ask the chef to make you something they always did without any hassle. You must run out early to put your towels down to get chairs every day. Really hard to find chairs by pool and art he beach. Except in the family section and kids club pool. Resort was clean and beautiful with lots to see and do. Might be too much for some people. Hope that helps. Would not go back only because we found it too large and too overwhelming.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful. Clean. Lots of options for where to hang out. Free Stroller rentals. Kids club. Beds were comfy.

The weak points
Too large and spread out. Beach very far from most rooms. Entertainment poorly timed and advertised. Mini bar poorly stocked. lobby store very overpriced.

Monarc.ca Certified

Vincenzo Ottava
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-21 to 2015-02-28 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-02

 Beautiful Resort

This resort is huge, but once you know your way around it is great. Nice beach, lots of pools and many restaurants. Food was very good especially the Japanese. We had a great time and would definitely return and/or recommend for others. We had a Deluxe Junior Suite. All in all a great vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great food,resort, beach etc.

The weak points
In this day and age and for the money you spend internet should be included at no extra charge.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jan
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-02-04 to 2015-02-11 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-14

 Another wonderful vacation.

Check in fast. Our room was clean and we were welcomed with champagne and a fruit basket. Our concierge Octavio made sure everything was in order and we were always happy. I can hardly wait for our next vacation there. One thing, we went to the Yucatan side to see what it was like. I was treated very badly by the staff there. We were VIP guests and we were treated like criminals for stepping on the sister hotel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
If it were not for our awesome concierge, we may not have had a great time.

The weak points
The coffee bar where they make flaming coffees is gone. I did not like that the people from the sister hotel Yukatan could come over to the Sunset side, but VIP guests were not allowed there. This is still the same hotel. The Yukatan staff were veryrude

Monarc.ca Certified

Rose
Kitchener, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-19 to 2015-02-02 (14 days)
Written on 2015-02-04

 Really Lovely! .. a couple things though

I travelled with my boyfriend and another couple and overall I think we had a blast. There were lots of different vacationers at this resort - couples, families, retirees and a few weddings. It was full of families when we went but there were also the roudy poolside groups. Big mix, great people watching! Everyone seemed to blend well.

Staff
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke English well enough.

Room
We booked a swim-up suite - If your thinking of doing the same I would highly recommend booking the Riviera side rather than the Sunset side since our location was in the shade at this time of year. If we had sun we would have used it every day - well worth it if your in the sun! Request a sunny side if possible!
Our room smelt bad the first few days (musky)- it turned out it was our Air Conditioner. So we just turned it off and all was better.
The bathroom was amazing - large jet tub, great shower and an area with a door for the toilet.
The TV isn't HD and the english channels were few but there always seemed to be a decent movie playing in english for us to watch in the evenings/mornings.

Food
The food was good! You get an unlimited amount of a la carte, as long as there is room - I would recommend making reservations for the entire week on your first or second day to ensure you get the places you want. We LOVED the Swiss (Cheese Fondue with meat, veggies bread and sauces)- you wont leave there hungry! The Italian looked like it had great pizza, unfortunatley none of our group got it so we were a little underwhelmed. I had Pad Thai at the Chinese place and thought it was really good but the other 3 courses were slightly odd. We liked/disliked things at each of them - except the Swiss, that was just amazing.
We found the buffets to be pretty darn good! They have your "all american" options but also little tastes of Mexico. The options vary slightly every day with the buffet. We thought the buffet lunch was the best! I would stay away from the burgers in the resort - I had a bad experience. The Nachos in the Sports Bar were our savior at 2am after everything else was closed.

Spa
I went for a spa treatment ("the Combination"). It was set up very much like Spa Utopia. It was a little too similar to home for me though. I would have liked it outdoors, on the beach or something a little more authentic to Mexico.

Pool
I believe this hotel advertises 12 pools. It's not THAT big and I have no idea where they all are? There are basically 3 pools each with swim up bars and lounge chairs. One pool offers party music as well as entertainment once a day. This was the "Party Pool" and our swim up suite was near it so that was awesome for us. The other pools were quieter and more suited for families and those that actually want to swim. We switched between 2 of the 3 main pools and thought they were both great. I heard people say the ocean was warmer than the pools!

Ocean/Beach
Honestly I cant say much about the beach since we didn't go there much. This resort does not have an ocean view anywhere unless you are actually on the beach. You will not see the ocean/beach unless you make a point of going to the beach. It is a jungle/forest location with a beach option if you specifically want to go there. The beach is really easy to get to and lots of people go there - it just didn't seem that big/desirable to us and the bar there was really busy. We spent an evening on the beach with our drinks and that was nice with the sunset.

Entertainment
The poolside entertainment was fun to watch and easy to particupate in if your willing. The staff are great to watch.
Nightly shows were not particularly to our taste but we liked the live music in the courtyard bar,and the disco was good for dancing if your there on a busy night. The Sports Bar was a hang out for after the shows, before the disco and it had the only late night snack option - fries, burgers, nachos and hotdogs.

We got internet access free for the week since we booked our a la carte's at our Vacation Provider's infomation desk. . better than paying $20 a day!

We saw a crocodile and a monkey on our last day at the resort! So cool!

We really enjoyed ourselves at this resort and would recommend it to a friend! Im torn to return or not.. I like the beach/ocean too much to not see it every day when in a place like Mexico!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, Swiss a la carte, pool, Swim-up Suite, bars everywhere, friendly staff, the resort wild life, live music, a large drink menu that you can order from everywhere at the resort.

The weak points
The a la carte menu's were not well explained by waiter staff but you get used to their system, beach/ocean access, nightly shows were not to our taste

Monarc.ca Certified

Catriona
North Vancouver, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-24 to 2015-01-31 (7 days)
Written on 2015-02-02

 HAPPY HOLIDAY

VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE , THE RESORT IS BEAUTIFUL . ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE DAILY REFILLING OF WATER AND DRINKS . Only REFILLED ONCE IN THE WEEK AND HAD TO ASK FOR THAT . No LATE CHECK OUT , IF YOU WANT LATE CHECK OUT THERE IS A EXTRA FEE PER PERSON
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
PEOPLE , BEACH

The weak points
WATER AND DRINKS WERE NOT FILLED DAILY ,

Monarc.ca Certified

Traveler
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-17 to 2015-01-24 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-26

 A dream come true

It was a great holiday, the hotel far exceeded my expectations Staff was friendly, service was great, and tons of good food to eat, whether your choice was buffet or sit down resturants
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
It is a 10 star resort. Everything is clean, food is excellent, service is excellent, good evening shows

The weak points
Lot of stairs only two elevators, in a kilometer stretch, could use more benches along walkway. All service staff to greet you upon arrival are all time share pushers

Monarc.ca Certified

Raymond Heck
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-21 (14 days)
Written on 2015-01-23

 Incredible Vacation

This is the second time at this resort and this time, it was even better than the last. The resort is huge, gorgeous and the staff were incredible. Right from the time my girlfriend and I arrived, we felt at home. The staff greated us with a big warm smile, answered all our questions and did their best to make our stay very memorable. The food and drinks are something that I will never forget, neither will my waistline. There was something for everybody there, whether it be nature, entertainment, food, music, wonderful staff, as well as many, many excursions, if you wanted an adventure or just to go shopping.
We upgraded to platinum before leaving Winnipeg and we were pampered beyond our expectations, platinum is the way to go.
This was my girlfriends very first time in Mexico and I can say that the Resort and Staff made her fall in Love with the place. WE WILL BE GOING BACK AGAIN.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the location, close to Playa Del Carmen, food and the accomodations.

The weak points
Poor internet, its an outside company that provides it and not the resort. The mattresses on the bed are too hard, but we were so tired, we still fell asleep and had a good nights sleep.

Monarc.ca Certified

Rob
Niverville, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Pleasant Holiday

The hotel was larger than expected but with the number of pools and restaurants it was never crowded. There did not seem to be any controls in place for excessive drinking. There was a lot of smoking in non smoking areas which was very unpleasant for us. The staff was attentive and friendly. The place is very beautiful and well maintained, the beach was not as nice as expected with a lot of seaweed washing in all the time. Overall a good time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, well manicured, clean large rooms, attentive and friendly staff, lots of pools, chairs, good entertainment.

The weak points
Lack of communication of activities, too many smokers and no one enforcing where no smoking was indicated, no lights in hallways after dark

Monarc.ca Certified

Christine
Waterloo, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-12 to 2015-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-21

 Mexico 2015

We stayed at the grand sunset princess and we were very happy with the food , staff , beech , pools. Kids loved it.
Not too happy about the room we had as it did not feel like we re in a 5 star resort. Not happy that a junior suite does not have room service included. They wanted $16 us for 2 hot dogs.
Overall as our first family Mexico vacation I will give this experience a 4 out of 5
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beech pools drinks

The weak points
Room , ala carte restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Will
Barrie, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-09 to 2015-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-18

 4* resort

This resort is beautiful, just not a 5 star experience. The resort is absolutely HUGE, and it is impossible to ensure a 5* experience at such a large resort. Grounds and rooms were nice... Food is decent-mediocre. There is no wifi anywhere. You have to pay per DEVICE to have wifi... $70 per week or $20 per day. And even after paying for it, the wifi was not reliable. Had a great time, but I have paid a lot less and had equal service, equal amenities & just as beautiful grounds. I would say book it if you get a good deal! But be prepared to walk a lot.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds, pools, and rooms are all beautiful. Many restaurants. Staff was always cleaning. Most of the staff were super friendly & accommodating.

The weak points
No wifi anywhere! Lots of rocks at the beach. The disco was disgusting. It stunk like urine & vomit. Avoid avoid avoid the disco.

Monarc.ca Certified

Danielle S
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2015-01-07 to 2015-01-14 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Grand Sunset Princess ... Go somewhere else!

I am an avid traveler and an event planner for a living and subsequently I spend a lot of time in hotels. This hotel fell short on every level. The different levels of all-inclusive was both confusing and made me feel unwelcome. I paid for an upgrade upon arrival after already paying a single supplement but other than a room closer to the beach, I still have no idea what I received for my $105 USD. The staff were rude and unfriendly in most cases. There were a few great servers that stood out: Eric, the waiter by the pool Angel the waiter in the Japanese restaurant and a few other bartenders/servers. I really felt like the rest of the staff couldn't care less about me as a guest. The guest rooms were large but needed some work. My pillows smelled funny and I asked to get them changed which never happened. On the 4th day my toilet seat broken and nobody came to fix it. I can say that the grounds were beautiful but with a 20 minute walk from the main building to the beach you'd best not be hungry or forget anything in your room. The plus sides were that there were plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach. The maid always did a wonderful job cleaning my room but I did hear from other guests that if you didn't leave a tip that you didn't get your room cleaned or fresh towels. I do have to compliment the shows in the evening which were amazing. The dancers were out of this world and the facility for the shows was beautiful. All and all ... I wouldn't recommend this resort. There are plenty of other beautiful resorts in the area that will give you better service and leave you walking away smiling.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Eric the waiter by the pool was amazing! There were plenty of chairs by the pool. Shows in the evening were wonderful.

The weak points
Size of Resort Food Quality Service Check in process

Monarc.ca Certified

Lindsay Swan
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-12-17 to 2014-12-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-29

 Grand Sunset Princess

We had a fantastic week at the Grand Sunset Princess. We stayed in the family club and had a swim out room. It was perfect! The staff were incredible. They answered any questions or solved any problems immediately. The resort is very clean and well maintained. The food was great! We ate at a different restaraunt every night, never had trouble getting a reservation. I highly recommend staying in the Family Club for families traveling with children. It was very private and had lots of excellent activities for the kids.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and beautiful resort. Food was good with lots of variety at buffet. Family friendly!

The weak points
Expensive and unreliable Internet connection.

Monarc.ca Certified

Brittany
Regina, SK
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-15 to 2014-11-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-24

 Wouldn't recommend it.

Service wasn't good. We had to fight with hotel management to get the room we booked. Food quality and selection was below average.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Very large resort.

The weak points
Family Club Rooms furthest from the beach. Room not accessible (had to carry stroller up and down stairs)Restaurant Service was really lacking.

Monarc.ca Certified

Mtk
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-11 to 2014-11-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-21

 Marginal Vacation

Hotel was OK. Front desk services wasn't very helpful upon arrival. Calls to housekeeping where not attended to for 2 days and it required a visit to the front desk to finally get service for our room fridge which was not working. Breakfast buffet was not adequately replenished in a timely manner. WiFi was an extra cost, for the price paid, this should have been included. Wedding receptions where hosted in the La Carte restaurants which was very loud and distracting. Hotel should consider partitioning off these groups from the other diners.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service Staff where good.

The weak points
La Carte restaurants where not very good. Staff required that all menu choices where made up front which resulted in the food arriving quickly for each course. We felt very rushed and that the intent was to move you in and out as quickly as possible.

Monarc.ca Certified

Seasoned Traveller
Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-08 to 2014-11-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-17

 Mexico 2014

Wonderful experience at the resort. Yes some little hiccups, but everything got solved. Would definitely come here again.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome resort!!!!! Swim-out rooms Rocked!!!!

The weak points
Not much to complain about except the cost of the internet access

Monarc.ca Certified

Rudi Langner
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-28 to 2014-10-05 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-07

 New platinum suites Sept 27-Oct 4

Overall was great. Will be amazing when it fully opens in Dec.

I stayed in the swim out room...worth it! Internet access excellent, logged in day one and enjoyed it problem free.

I ate at all but one restaurant...very good, worth trying at least once. Lots of variety including temperature :P
The workers are amazing...Call out to my girl Marvi <3.

The grounds are new but so beautiful, and the joining resort are older but incredible.

Activities are minimal in the platinum for now but the Sunset/Rivera side has stuff every night and a shuttle that takes you there (I always walked).

The pools are plenty and lots of variety in terms of kids/no kids, size, swim up bar, quite/loud.

The beach is wonderful to look at but not so great to swim, to many sharp rocks. Just walk 3 mins to the other side, its rock free and so nice with piles of chairs to use.

I dove with the resort dive center numerous days and they are awesome. They treat you with respect and make sure you are safe. Shout out to Christen my dive instructor, he is one of the best I've had.

I traveled alone this time and I had no issues with workers or vacationers the whole time. Everyone was kind and friendly, thank you for that.

I will go back soon, hoping for Feb if not it will be Sept.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach,pool,workers,food,location,swim out rooms, bar, drinks,Marvi :), dive shop.

The weak points
Rocks in the water. Not fully open til dec 1 2014.

Monarc.ca Certified

Corey
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-27 to 2014-10-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-14

 Spoiled Vacation and Wedding Experience

Hi everybody, my review below applies both to those looking for a destination wedding at Grand Sunset (or Riviera) Princess, and to those who want just to come there for a vacation. Unfortunately, the review will be a bit long, but if you will have the patience to read through it, I hope it will be more than helpful.
I have spent 10 days at the hotel, and got married there in September 2014. Here I will try to provide you with as objective review as it is possible in my circumstances.
For those looking to have a destination wedding with guests, friends, family – PLEASE look somewhere else. Though the ceremony was very nice and positive, the whole experience was equally negative. We came to Mexico with 30 guests!!! Relatively large group for Caribbean vacations. At the end of our stay with Princess all our guests shared the same feeling – Princess doesn’t really give a damn about our group and would do nothing for us as a group. Just to put the situation in a proper perspective – I’ve paid a bit more than $10,000USD for the wedding, 30 guests paid probably another $10,000USD to the hotel; average salary of a hotel employee is $200USD per month.
They didn’t put us even once at one table for a dinner – even though we have asked; they didn’t provide us with a shuttle – even though our bus to the airport left at 6:30am; our check-in as well as check-out were done separately to each guest/family; all my requests for someone who will coordinate our time at the hotel as a group were left vain.
What is more – when I came to the supervising manager at the reception with these requests/complaints I’ve received a wonderful response – “If you want us to treat you as a group, you have to pay more money!” (how much more in addition to already paid $20,000 I wasn’t told…).
Therefore, to conclude – you will not be welcome at Princess Hotel as a group, and your vacation with friends and family will be ruined. Many of my guests told me very similar sentence – “It was a nice wedding and a spoiled vacation”.
For those looking for a vacation at Princess Hotel (both Sunset and Riviera) – I have some good and some bad news. The hotel is nice, amenities are good and the beach was very clean and nice (I did not use the pool, so no reference here). Entertainment was the only missing thing at the beach – except for occasional volleyball there was absolutely nothing at the beach – this didn’t bother me personally, but may be relevant to others.
Now the bad things: the staff wasn’t particularly nice and friendly, sometimes it seemed to me as if they were tired of all these tourists. The staff at bars, especially at the beach was just rude – if you come without a dollar in your hand they will show you exactly what they think about you. And the biggest annoyance is the hotels shuttle – the Hotel is very-very big, and though it has a shuttle from the lobby to the beach area (15 minutes of walk in 38C - 42C wasn’t exactly the most pleasant experience), the shuttle follows a schedule – so in three separate occasions I witnessed 20-25 people waiting for a shuttle, then one arrives, takes 10 people and leaves – the remaining guests will have to wait for the next scheduled bus in 15-20 minutes… During all this time – other shuttles (2-3 at least) were just parked across the road waiting for the scheduled time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, but nothing special Huge hotel - for those who love it

The weak points
15 minutes walk from the beach area to lobby No proper shuttle buses Poor customer service BAD reception service Disgraceful approach to small-mediun groups - up to 30 people Unpleasant barmen lack of entertainment at the beach

Eugenej
Richmond Hill, ON
Stay from 2014-09-16 to 2014-09-26 (10 days)
Written on 2014-10-09

 Great vacation

fantastic staff friendly service above great
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff are wonderful pools everywhere

The weak points
ugly shacks block vantage points along beach

Monarc.ca Certified

John Kohl
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-12 to 2014-04-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-21
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


305 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


305 reviews


Beaches

Riu Palace Mexico

Riu Palace Mexico

Riviera Maya


89 reviews


Families

Grand Palladium Colonial Rst And Spa

Grand Palladium Colonial Rst And Spa

Riviera Maya


138 reviews


Couples

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya


129 reviews


Singles

Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Riviera Maya


79 reviews


Seniors

Akumal Beach Resort

Akumal Beach Resort

Riviera Maya


115 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry