Search

Search - Mexico - Riviera Maya - Grand Sunset Princess
See ranking of hotels in Riviera Maya

Hotel Review

Grand Sunset Princess
 Description
 See on map

Grand Sunset Princess

4.174.174.174.174.17 (4.17)
Based on 1280 reviews

Overall Impression: #15 of 99 hotels in Riviera Maya.
Quality vs Price: #11 of 99 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #27 of 99 hotels.
Beaches: #35 of 99 hotels.
Families: #43 of 99 hotels.
Couples: #19 of 99 hotels.
Singles: #13 of 99 hotels.
Seniors: #53 of 99 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (382)

Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess Traveller picture - Grand Sunset Princess

Travellers Reviews

All
530
512
177
48
13




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43

 Marginal Vacation

Hotel was OK. Front desk services wasn't very helpful upon arrival. Calls to housekeeping where not attended to for 2 days and it required a visit to the front desk to finally get service for our room fridge which was not working. Breakfast buffet was not adequately replenished in a timely manner. WiFi was an extra cost, for the price paid, this should have been included. Wedding receptions where hosted in the La Carte restaurants which was very loud and distracting. Hotel should consider partitioning off these groups from the other diners.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service Staff where good.

The weak points
La Carte restaurants where not very good. Staff required that all menu choices where made up front which resulted in the food arriving quickly for each course. We felt very rushed and that the intent was to move you in and out as quickly as possible.

Monarc.ca Certified

Seasoned Traveller
Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-08 to 2014-11-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-17

 Je m'attendais à plus de cet hotel !

Le site est beau, propre et la nourriture est excellente MAIS la plage pour la section "normale" à 7:30 il n'y avait deja pratiquement plus de beaux choix de chaises ! Nous sommes collés les uns sur les autres aucune intimité ! On a attendu en file jusqua 45 mins pour avoir un verre au bar de la plage ! Le service au buffet et dans le lobby très ordinaire ! Pas assez de staff pour le nombre de gens ! Bref en gang pour faire la fête peut-être que jy retournerais mais en amoureux plus jamais ! On a trouver le chill out pour nos deux derniers jours une chance !!! Mais c'est 13$USD par personne mais une belle solution pour avoir le
Wifi ce qui est une arnaque totale !
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La bouffe et la beauté du site

The weak points
La plage le service Acces à Internet très dispendieux

Monarc.ca Certified

Julie
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-11-06 to 2014-11-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-17

 Commentaires

Beau site! Propre!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Personnel très courtois.

The weak points
La plage et la mer. C'était affreux. La couleur et l'odeur. Une fosse septique en plein air! Il n'y a pas assez de personnel à la réception!

Monarc.ca Certified

Merci 1974
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-10-11 to 2014-10-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-20

 Mexico 2014

Wonderful experience at the resort. Yes some little hiccups, but everything got solved. Would definitely come here again.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome resort!!!!! Swim-out rooms Rocked!!!!

The weak points
Not much to complain about except the cost of the internet access

Monarc.ca Certified

Rudi Langner
Surrey, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-28 to 2014-10-05 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-07

 New platinum suites Sept 27-Oct 4

Overall was great. Will be amazing when it fully opens in Dec.

I stayed in the swim out room...worth it! Internet access excellent, logged in day one and enjoyed it problem free.

I ate at all but one restaurant...very good, worth trying at least once. Lots of variety including temperature :P
The workers are amazing...Call out to my girl Marvi <3.

The grounds are new but so beautiful, and the joining resort are older but incredible.

Activities are minimal in the platinum for now but the Sunset/Rivera side has stuff every night and a shuttle that takes you there (I always walked).

The pools are plenty and lots of variety in terms of kids/no kids, size, swim up bar, quite/loud.

The beach is wonderful to look at but not so great to swim, to many sharp rocks. Just walk 3 mins to the other side, its rock free and so nice with piles of chairs to use.

I dove with the resort dive center numerous days and they are awesome. They treat you with respect and make sure you are safe. Shout out to Christen my dive instructor, he is one of the best I've had.

I traveled alone this time and I had no issues with workers or vacationers the whole time. Everyone was kind and friendly, thank you for that.

I will go back soon, hoping for Feb if not it will be Sept.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach,pool,workers,food,location,swim out rooms, bar, drinks,Marvi :), dive shop.

The weak points
Rocks in the water. Not fully open til dec 1 2014.

Monarc.ca Certified

Corey
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-27 to 2014-10-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-14

 SUPER DE BELLES VACANCES...

Très belle hôtel , c était ma première fois mais pas ma dernière, mon chum c était sa 7 ieme fois
Personnel super gentil chambre a couper le souffle .nous avions la chambre avec accès a la piscine formidable .
Je tiens remercier deux personne en particulier des employés de l hôtel même si sont tous gentil ,,,, Victor et Marco SUPER gentil Merci a vous deux !!!! et si vous y aller SVP dite leur un bonjour pour moi Merci
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté des chambre , de l hôtel , la nourriture super bon , le personnel OUFFFF!! toujours la pour nous aider j ai fait des excursions tout a bien été Je vous recommande cette Hôtel

The weak points
Je dirai la plage beaucoup d algues sur le bord et des petite roche qui font MAL aux pieds

Monarc.ca Certified

johane gauthier
Rougemont, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-23 to 2014-09-30 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-02

 Spoiled Vacation and Wedding Experience

Hi everybody, my review below applies both to those looking for a destination wedding at Grand Sunset (or Riviera) Princess, and to those who want just to come there for a vacation. Unfortunately, the review will be a bit long, but if you will have the patience to read through it, I hope it will be more than helpful.
I have spent 10 days at the hotel, and got married there in September 2014. Here I will try to provide you with as objective review as it is possible in my circumstances.
For those looking to have a destination wedding with guests, friends, family – PLEASE look somewhere else. Though the ceremony was very nice and positive, the whole experience was equally negative. We came to Mexico with 30 guests!!! Relatively large group for Caribbean vacations. At the end of our stay with Princess all our guests shared the same feeling – Princess doesn’t really give a damn about our group and would do nothing for us as a group. Just to put the situation in a proper perspective – I’ve paid a bit more than $10,000USD for the wedding, 30 guests paid probably another $10,000USD to the hotel; average salary of a hotel employee is $200USD per month.
They didn’t put us even once at one table for a dinner – even though we have asked; they didn’t provide us with a shuttle – even though our bus to the airport left at 6:30am; our check-in as well as check-out were done separately to each guest/family; all my requests for someone who will coordinate our time at the hotel as a group were left vain.
What is more – when I came to the supervising manager at the reception with these requests/complaints I’ve received a wonderful response – “If you want us to treat you as a group, you have to pay more money!” (how much more in addition to already paid $20,000 I wasn’t told…).
Therefore, to conclude – you will not be welcome at Princess Hotel as a group, and your vacation with friends and family will be ruined. Many of my guests told me very similar sentence – “It was a nice wedding and a spoiled vacation”.
For those looking for a vacation at Princess Hotel (both Sunset and Riviera) – I have some good and some bad news. The hotel is nice, amenities are good and the beach was very clean and nice (I did not use the pool, so no reference here). Entertainment was the only missing thing at the beach – except for occasional volleyball there was absolutely nothing at the beach – this didn’t bother me personally, but may be relevant to others.
Now the bad things: the staff wasn’t particularly nice and friendly, sometimes it seemed to me as if they were tired of all these tourists. The staff at bars, especially at the beach was just rude – if you come without a dollar in your hand they will show you exactly what they think about you. And the biggest annoyance is the hotels shuttle – the Hotel is very-very big, and though it has a shuttle from the lobby to the beach area (15 minutes of walk in 38C - 42C wasn’t exactly the most pleasant experience), the shuttle follows a schedule – so in three separate occasions I witnessed 20-25 people waiting for a shuttle, then one arrives, takes 10 people and leaves – the remaining guests will have to wait for the next scheduled bus in 15-20 minutes… During all this time – other shuttles (2-3 at least) were just parked across the road waiting for the scheduled time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, but nothing special Huge hotel - for those who love it

The weak points
15 minutes walk from the beach area to lobby No proper shuttle buses Poor customer service BAD reception service Disgraceful approach to small-mediun groups - up to 30 people Unpleasant barmen lack of entertainment at the beach

Eugenej
Richmond Hill, ON
Stay from 2014-09-16 to 2014-09-26 (10 days)
Written on 2014-10-09

 VACANCE

LES VACANCES ONT ÉTÉ TRÈS BIEN IL A FAIT BEAU ET CHAUD !!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
C'EST UN HÔTEL TRÈS GRAND ET CEUX QUI AIME MARCHER IL FAUT S'ATTENDRE À MARCHER UN PEU NOUS AIMONS ÇA !! ET C'EST UN HÔTEL TRÈS PROPRE !!!

The weak points
IL N'A PAS EU DE PROBLÈME SAUF À LA FIN LORSQUE NOUS SOMMES ARRIVER AU LOBBY LE DÉPART POUR L'ARÉOPORT ÉTAIT À 10H15 ET NOUS ÉTIONS ENTRAIN DE PAYER LA FACTURE DE TÉLÉPHONE AU COMPTOIR ILS NOUS PAS ATTENDU L'AUTOBUS EST PARTIE SANS NOUS ET J'AI PAYÉ TAXI

Monarc.ca Certified

Patrice Veer
St-Isidore-De-Beauce, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-09 to 2014-09-16 (7 days)
Written on 2014-09-18

 évaluation

Bel hôtel. Bon service.
Excellent restaurants à la carte. `
Très belle plage. Beaucoup d'animations. Je recommande cet hôtel.
Buffet ordinaire.
Aucun wifi pour un 5 étoiles.
Côté Riviera au même prix que le Sunset j'aurais préférez que l'on m'offre le Riviera. Section plus belle pour les chambres et restaurants de plus à la carte.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants à la carte. Personnel. Service Plage

The weak points
wifi non inclus buffet répétitif et souvent nourriture froide

Monarc.ca Certified

J
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-09-09 to 2014-09-16 (7 days)
Written on 2014-09-18

 Très belles vacances !!!

J'ai beaucoup aimé mon voyage, c'était la première fois que j'étais dans un 5*. Chambre et hôtel extrêmement propres, nourriture très bonne. Le seul point négatif, il y avait beaucoup de roches dans la mer(très déplaisant).
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Nourriture très bonne, hôtel et chambre très propres.

The weak points
Roches dans la mer.

Monarc.ca Certified

Johanne
Ste-Genevieve, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-07-22 to 2014-08-01 (10 days)
Written on 2014-08-07

 Mes 2e vacances a princess

mise a part la problématique que je n avais pas la bonne chambre pendant 15 heures, pour ce que j avais payer, , tout a été agréable.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté impeccable, aménagement paysager incroyable,90% du personnel accueillant

The weak points
salle de bain : manque constant de serviette ou débarbouillette, pas de porte savon ,manque d oreillers et de couverture et de poubelle.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ronald Richer
Boucherville, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-06-29 to 2014-07-06 (7 days)
Written on 2014-07-09

 Voyage Bergeron

Excellente expérience de voyage
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le site est merveilleux. Le personnel est très accueillant et courtois. Propreté A1.

The weak points
La chaleur de l'eau des piscine !! si 2 semaines de vacances alors la 2 ieme est une réplique de la 1iere. Internet non inclut et peu de peformance

Monarc.ca Certified

Paul Philion
Bossard, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-06-20 to 2014-07-04 (14 days)
Written on 2014-07-10

 Belles vacances

Bel emplacement.Personnel courtois qui se debrouille en anglais pour la plupart d'entre eux.Tres grand site pour ceux qui aime marcher.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants a la carte tres bon.Piscine bien entretenue et eau tres belle qui ne sent pas le clhore.Endroit bien entretenue.

The weak points
La plage qui a beaucoup d'algues et de roche,eau qui sentait les egouts.Vin servi d'une qualitée moyenne.

Monarc.ca Certified

Daniel Bertrand
Mascouche, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-06-15 to 2014-06-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-25

 Vacances de rêve

Expérience inoubliable , j' y retournerais
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
L'hôtel est grandiose

The weak points
La plage

Monarc.ca Certified

Bruno Roberge
Levis, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-06-03 to 2014-06-10 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-12

 Belles vacances

Cet hôtel vaut le déplacement sur le plan du service et de la propreté du site! Vraiment du personnel très gentil, toujours à l'écoute et attentionné. Les chambres sont très jolies et propre. La nourriture était bien, mais pas excellente. Le buffet était assez répétitif. Sur le plan des restos à la carte, j'ai eu l'occasion d'essayer l'italien (à deux reprises), l'international, le mexicain et le steakhouse. L'italien a été vraiment mon coup de coeur! Les pates maisons sont vraiment délicieuses! Les 3 autres restos étaient bien. Je n'accorderais pas 5 étoiles à cet hôtel à cause de la plage. Il y a quand même beaucoup d'algues, mais c'est surtout les cabanes de massage qui m'ont dérangé. Aussi, les chaises sont collées et cela manque d'intimité. Dans l'ensemble, c'était un beau voyage.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le service, le personnel et la propreté des lieux.

The weak points
La plage (surtout la disposition) et le manque de variété dans le buffet.

Monarc.ca Certified

Rebecca D.
Varennes, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-05-25 to 2014-06-01 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-03

 4 étoiles Max.

Service A1 Plage algues, resto faibles
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service souriant et avenant

The weak points
Plage algues, restos

Monarc.ca Certified

Richard
Repentigny, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-25 to 2014-05-02 (7 days)
Written on 2014-05-04

 Grand Yucatan Platinium

Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour à cet hôtel(3e fois). Le personnel est très serviable et avenant. La propreté de tous les lieux est excellente. La plage est très belle, beaucoup de palapas et de chaises disponibles. Nous avons aussi très apprécié la disponibilité de notre concierge. Le seul point négatif majeur, c'est les restaurants à la carte qui ne sont pas de classe 5 étoiles mais plutôt de 3 étoiles. Par exemple, on sert des steaks mais il n'y a pas de couteaux à steak. Il est écrit Forêt noire dans le menu mais c'est une mousse qui est servie. De plus, plusieurs clients se sont plaints de la qualité exécrable des vins ( rouge , blanc et même le champagne)lors des repas. La direction de cet hôtel devrait aller voir la qualité de la restauration des restaurants à la carte du Valentin afin de s'améliorer de ce côté. Côté qualité/prix, c'est un bon choix à faire.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La gentillesse du personnel est exceptionnelle. Propreté des lieux et des chambres exceptionnelle aussi. Buffets pour les déjeuner et les diners sont excellents.

The weak points
La restauration doit être améliorée surtout les restaurants à la carte ex: pas de couteau à steak. La qualité des repas ne mérite pas un 5 étoiles. Comparer au Valentin, c'est le jour et la nuit. Le vin servi au repas n'est pas buvable.

Monarc.ca Certified

Alain
Repentigny, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-25 to 2014-05-02 (7 days)
Written on 2014-05-05

 Bon mais pas Excellent

pour le prix payer nous avons eu beaucoup mieu pour beaucoup moin cher a Punta Cana l'an passer au Luxury Bahia Esmeralda
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Belle place, belle chamber, beau temps.

The weak points
restaurant manque de qualité, plage courte et trop d'algue, piscine mal espacé sans entrée en pente.

Monarc.ca Certified

Shawn
St-Hilaire, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-19 to 2014-04-26 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-28

 Parfait pour vacances au soleil

C'est la 2ieme fois en même période.
Toujours aussi parfait.
J,ai demandé un changement de chambre et je l'ai obtenu. Nous avons suivi le hockey à la chambre et aussi disponible sur écran géant au bar-sport.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Un rapport qualité/prix exceptionnel

The weak points
Réservation de restaurant, les heures de rendez-vous pour réserver était en pm et souvant il y a trop de monde. Il faut attendre...

Monarc.ca Certified

Raymond
Brossard, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-15 to 2014-04-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-24

 Great vacation

fantastic staff friendly service above great
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff are wonderful pools everywhere

The weak points
ugly shacks block vantage points along beach

Monarc.ca Certified

John Kohl
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-12 to 2014-04-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-21

 De très belles vacances

Hotel très recommandable, évidemment il y a des sections plus avantageuses comme partout ailleurs, soit la section Platinum. En ce moment l'hotel est en voie d'expansion du côté "Riviera" où il y a de la construction, donc de la machinerie en opération et ... du bruit, soyez-en avisés! Du côté "Sunset" c'était parfait, nous n'avons pas été incommodés et avons même dormi la porte patio ouverte. Du 7 au 14 avril était une semaine de Spring Break américain, l'hotel était donc bien rempli et honnêtement nous avons toujours eu du bon service ainsi que des chaises disponibles sur la plage. À noter que plusierus chaises de plages sont pas mal désuetes, il faut aller à la recherche des plus confortables ! Plage magnifique à perte de vue d'un côté comme de l'autre, parfait pour ceux qui aiment marcher et aller se baigner en retrait. Le concierge a rapidement exécuté notre demande d'avoir débarbouillettes et fer à repasser dans la chambre. Avons essayé un seul resto à la carte car la nourriture au buffet était excellente (sushis, langoustes,crevettes, viandes et menus thématiques variés). La salle de spectacle est une salle fermée et climatisée donc nous n'y sommes pas vraiment allés. L'accès au SPA n'est pas gratuit, vous devez donc acheter des soins si vous voulez y passer du temps. J'ai trouvé un endroit à 5 minutes de marche sur la plage où ils font d'excellents massages pour 40$US et j'ai été ravie de cette expérience. Nous avons trouvé les restos buffets un peu bruyants, très écho comme une "cafétéria" où l'on entend beaucoup le fracas de vaisselle et d'ustensiles... Évidemment lorsqu'on est en groupe et qu'on s'amuse, on oublie facilement le bruit de fond et il y a toujours les restos à la carte. Nous avons essayé le "fruits de mer" et c'était excellent, ceviche = WOW ! Dernier point: Pour du service internet, il faut acheter un forfait hebdomadaire à 69$US qui apparemment n'est pas très fiable. Sinon, il y a un endroit sur le site où vous pouvez obtenir des ondes, allez à la recherche de la statut "Singe" et utilisez la fonction "Essai gratuit".

En résumé: superbes vacances.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Endroit chic et épuré, lit et oreillées confortables, magnifique plage à perte de vue, belle variété de fruits & légumes frais, personnel très courtois, propreté des lieux qui sont vastes et dégagés.

The weak points
Chaises de plage usées! Cabanes de bois inutiles devant la plage ruinent la vue. Il manque un endroit ouvert pour manger le midi si on ne souhaite pas manger au buffet climatisé.L'accès au SPA n'est pas gratuit ni l'internet. Très bruyant aux buffets.

Monarc.ca Certified

Sophie
St-Bruno, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-10 to 2014-04-17 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-23

 Pour mon argent

Le service est très bien malgré la lenteur mexicaine. Le vin est excécrable. Les restaurants à la carte sont bons mais sans plus. Les chambres sont grandes et confortables.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le confort des chambres. La tranquillité et la propreté du site.

The weak points
Le vin exécrable, les chaises sur la plage laissent à désirer.

Monarc.ca Certified

Richard
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-10 to 2014-04-17 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-19

 Wow quelle semaine!

Tres bel hotel, les villas sont extras luxueuses, nous avons adore notre sejour, on y retournera!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propre et courtoisie du personnel

The weak points
Bouffe et plage

Monarc.ca Certified

Mylene Gingras
Brossard, QC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-04-08 to 2014-04-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-17

 2nd time at this hotel for 2 weeks

We have always had success at this resort. Very clean and the staff treat everyone so well. Food is good too at the buffets as well as the a la carte restaurants. We spend most of our day at the beach and we love the main beach for swimming as well as just relaxing. Only a short ride from the airport in Cancun. There is no free wifi unless you find a spot near the Platinum part of the resort, but it can be hit or miss. I believe that it is complimentary if you are in the Platinum suites, however, that was not important to us since we try to "unplug" from life when we go on vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, room and food.

The weak points
No wi-fi for most rooms.

Monarc.ca Certified

Michelle Cudmore- Armstrong
Portage La Prairie, HA
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-24 to 2014-04-07 (14 days)
Written on 2014-05-08

 An awesome week!

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Grand Sunset Princess. Everything was excellent - the room, the buffets, the ala carts, the pools, the beach, the service, the grounds - WOW! The beach is very large so it is quite easy to locate yourself away from the vendors for a great view of the ocean. It is a very large resort, so we did lots of walking which we enjoy anyways!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
We had a Junior Suite with a king size bed - I can't imagine needing a better room than we had! The maid service always left our room sparkling clean.

The weak points
You had to pay for on-resort wi-fi so it was a bit of a chore to communicate home if you needed to.

Monarc.ca Certified

Very Pleased
Weyburn, SK
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-22 to 2014-03-29 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-04

 Rivera Yucatan Adult only

Awesome, we had a swim up room, in the Yucatan Adult only section, with poolside service. Resort was very well looked after, food was great. All the staff were top notch. Highly recommend the Japanese al a carte. Would go back to this resort in the future. Oh and free wifi in the rooms. Well worth the price.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, location, and one can't forget the cocktails.

The weak points
Don't forget to bring sun screen, I you do resort will soak you 38.00 US for a bottle

Monarc.ca Certified

Great times
Battleford, SK
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-22 to 2014-03-29 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-03

 The good, the bad, and the ugly...

The good - Beautiful, huge hotel. Stunning lobby, public spaces and pools. Because it is so huge you will do a LOT of walking. Nightly entertainment both in the plaza and the theatre is good.

The bad - charges for things that should be included in 5star - WiFi, certain liquors, no robes, etc. Food was ok but not great. Not great for teens - pool/sports activities were very limited.

The ugly - a long row of Mexican merchants shacks set up across the front of the main part of the beach. The hotel loungers are behind this string of "shops" so you cannot have a view of the ocean. Instead you sit staring at this eyesore. It ruins the beach!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Huge pools. Large rooms and bathrooms. Beautiful modern architecture and the marble floors are breathtaking.

The weak points
Food is average. No special cook-to-order stations. The beach is ruined by the vendors booths stretched all across the front of the beach.

Monarc.ca Certified

vanclan
West Vancouver, BC
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-19 to 2014-03-26 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-28

 Vacances de reves

sensationnelle et fantastique
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le service, l animation, les plage, les restaurants,les piscines et j en passe...

The weak points
pas assez de fruits de mer

Monarc.ca Certified

Marc Tourangeau
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-16 to 2014-03-26 (10 days)
Written on 2014-03-28

 Excellent (mostly)

Hotel was quiet, comfortable and very clean. Beautiful location and excellent weather.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was beautiful, very clean & very well maintained. The staff were very friendly & very helpful. There was always a quiet comfortable place to read, rest, unwind & visit with others close by however you are never very far from fun activities.

The weak points
Resort is so huge you will do a lot of walking. My legs were sore for the first few days. Room was musty, probably due to the persistent humidity. 10km from playa del Carmen so you need a shuttle or taxi just to get into town.

Monarc.ca Certified

Anthony Enns
Landmark, MB
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-19 to 2014-03-26 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-29

 Gail and Karens vacation

Beautiful clean resort
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort very clean

The weak points
Internet access to expensive

Monarc.ca Certified

Karen Elizabeth Ruest
Alexandria, ON
Review for hotel Grand Sunset Princess
from 2014-03-15 to 2014-03-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-11
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Riviera Maya

Quality vs Price

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka An

Riviera Maya


207 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Azul Beach Hotel

Azul Beach Hotel

Riviera Maya


37 reviews


Beaches

Catalonia Playa Maroma

Catalonia Playa Maroma

Riviera Maya


232 reviews


Families

Azul Beach Hotel

Azul Beach Hotel

Riviera Maya


37 reviews


Couples

Sandos Riviera Beach Resort And Spa

Sandos Riviera Beach Resort And Spa

Riviera Maya


36 reviews


Singles

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Hacienda Real By Encanto

Riviera Maya


6 non recent reviews

Seniors

El Dorado Casitas Royale

El Dorado Casitas Royale

Riviera Maya


22 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry