Search

Search - Jamaica - Montego Bay - Secrets St James Montego Bay
See ranking of hotels in Montego Bay

Hotel Review

Secrets St James Montego Bay

4.434.434.434.434.43 (4.43)
Based on 68 reviews

Overall Impression: #2 of 34 hotels in Montego Bay.
Quality vs Price: #2 of 34 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #2 of 34 hotels.
Beaches: #2 of 34 hotels.
Families: #24 of 34 hotels.
Couples: #1 of 34 hotels.
Singles: #20 of 34 hotels.
Seniors: #22 of 34 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (10)

Traveller picture - Secrets St James Montego Bay Traveller picture - Secrets St James Montego Bay Traveller picture - Secrets St James Montego Bay Traveller picture - Secrets St James Montego Bay

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
38
22
7
1
0
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2

 Secrets St James-Montego Bay

Very helpful. Glasses of champagne upon check in. its our 2nd time at this resort. 2yrs ago we stayed in Wild orchid. at that time we had bottle of rum & Jamaican brandy-not this time yet folks in pool advised they did. Secrets is everything they say it is. Would highly recommend
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great food & pool service with waitresses coming every half hour. Maid service awesome as well as the gym. Most staff are quite friendly too.

The weak points
Entertainment is a little weak. Bare foot beach party was a let down. Music was very subdued & no one attended because of that. A trio played guitar, banjo & sang & they were a little weak in talent.

Monarc.ca Certified

Anne Fleming
White Lake, ON
Review for hotel Secrets St James Montego Bay
from 2016-01-11 to 2016-01-18 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-21

 Wonderful Trip to Secrets St James

Terrific trip to Secrets St James. Hotel gave us complimentary champagne breakfast in our room to celebrate our anniversary. The food was excellent and hot (a pleasant surprise) and the champagne chilled. Service and quality of the breakfast was beyond expectation.

Restaurants - as a vegetarian I often worry about variety - this hotel far exceeded my expectations. There was an abundance of choice even for me. Huge salad bars, veggie wraps at Oceana were terrific at lunch time, plenty of choices at the bar - even no-alcohol cocktails were amazing. Bordeaux and Himitsu were our favorites for evening meals.

Rooms - were clean and spacious. We were on the 3rd floor and had a lovely view of the pool and ocean. Highly recommend requesting high floor to take advantage of the views.

SPA - was top notch and I highly recommend the massage and reflexology treatments.

Overall the whole experience was just amazing. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. only about 15 minutes from the airport.

Thank you to all the staff who made our trip memorable. We look forward to returning.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurant/Bar variety and quality. Staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful. Spa was absolutely top notch. Evening entertainment was professional and very enjoyable. Very clean and well maintained resort.

The weak points
Beach is narrow. You will need to get up by 7am to get a lounger in the sun.

Monarc.ca Certified

Bill & Mags
Oshawa, ON
Review for hotel Secrets St James Montego Bay
from 2015-12-26 to 2016-01-02 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-04

 Amazing Vacation!

This was without a doubt the best all around experience we've had at an all inclusive. Everything was perfect from the location, very friendly and welcoming staff, large room and with perfect views and location, great selection of restaurants, fantastic tasting food, and resort cleanliness. We are in our early 40's which was the average age group (some younger/some older) and were traveling as a couple. However you will not feel out of place travelling solo to this resort as it was very welcoming and relaxing.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Staff, Cleanliness, Beach, Pools, Restaurants, Internet, Room

The weak points
Although very good, the evening entertainment was not as good as other resorts we've visited. Aside from that, everything was perfect.

Monarc.ca Certified

David
Brampton, ON
Review for hotel Secrets St James Montego Bay
from 2015-05-23 to 2015-05-30 (7 days)
Written on 2015-06-01

 Very Nice Resort

really liked it here
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
overall everything was great

The weak points
peacocks are very nice but they squak all night, food wasn't that good to us.

Monarc.ca Certified

wanda spence
oxford, NS
Previously SECRETS ST JAMES for this review
from 2014-04-15 to 2014-04-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-25

 Amazing... Truly

What a great trip. This place rocks. Premium brand drinks, quiet, over the top service. 2nd time, there will be a 3rd.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service

The weak points
Good was great, but not as good as last time.

Monarc.ca Certified

Chuck
Toronto, ON
Previously SECRETS ST JAMES for this review
from 2014-01-10 to 2014-01-17 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-19

 Pretty Good Trip

Nothing mind-blowingly amazing here. Everything was just good.
*Very clean resort.
*Food was okay-liked that you don't need reservations anywhere. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant.
*Front desk service was cold. *Everything "extra" you have to pay for (ex. we had a late flight and they wanted us to pay $25/hour to keep our room).
*We found that tipping got us better service and not tipping got us ignored.
*A bit of the lounge-saving game was played at the main pool.
*Ridiculous that you don't get free WiFi. They wanted $15/day for WiFi.
*I wouldn't pay extra for Preferred club: their pool was in full shade by 2pm.
I might go back, but the price would have to be right.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and great location.

The weak points
Pay for internet, and many staff were cold.

Monarc.ca Certified

Adults Only Traveller
Rr 2 Tillsonburg, ON
Stay from 2013-12-18 to 2013-12-23 (5 days)
Written on 2013-12-26

 Secrets St. James

The service was beyond our expectations. Everybody is super friendly and ready to cater to your every need. The food was good, not amazing, just good. Best meal was the surf and turf at the French restaurant. Italian was good too. Rooms are nice, free wi-fi if you upgrade to Prefered Club. This resort has Grey Goose! They also have Heineken which is brewed in Kingston. Water activity staff is great. They take you snorkelling every day as there is a coral reef right off the beach. Germaine and his crew were great. Leonard A. at the pool at Wild Orchid was amazing! You'll see why if you go.
I would definitely return. Everyone I spoke to would also return or was a returning guest. Wild Orchid side is a bit more of a party while the St. James is quiter however still nice.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, drinks, gym, spa, essentially everything.

The weak points
None.

Monarc.ca Certified

Shaun
Mississauga, ON
Stay from 2013-12-15 to 2013-12-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-03

 Secrets Resort

Great, clean, freindly and fun. Had a blast.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Freindly service

The weak points
None

Monarc.ca Certified

Rory Swalm
Regina, SK
Stay from 2013-12-15 to 2013-12-22 (7 days)
Written on 2013-12-30

 Best Vacay Ever

The staff at this resort are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. They are so helpful and always smiling. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The beach width is very small and the preferred side of the beach has tons of rocks. The regular side didn't have any. This is one of my favourite resorts and I would recommend it for anyone who is celebrating a honeymoon or anniversary.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, amazing restaurants, super clean and well maintained

The weak points
The preferred side of St. James is a bit far from the restaurants which are all at the other end of Wild Orchids resort.

Monarc.ca Certified

N
Ottawa, ON
Stay from 2013-12-08 to 2013-12-15 (7 days)
Written on 2013-12-17

 AMAZING!!

We had a fantastic time at this gorgeous resort! It was only a short bus ride away from the airport. The staff were amazingly accomodating, the resort was impeccably maintained. The rooms were beautiful, the food was delicious and the weather was perfect! There was never an issue getting a lounge chair around the pool or on the beach nor did we ever have a problem getting into a restaurant at night for dinner.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was amazing!! I cannot wait to return.

The weak points
I have nothing negative to say about this resort.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jorden Leigh Mackie
Guelph, ON
Stay from 2013-10-05 to 2013-10-12 (7 days)
Written on 2013-10-15

 GREAT RESORT

THIS IS MY SECOND TRIP THERE AND I WILL GO BACK A THIRD TIME. NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD GO TO THE SAME RESORT TWICE, BUT THIS RESORT HAS IT ALL. THE STAFF ARE THE FRIENDLY AND HAPPY.I NOTICES A FEW CUT BACKS THIS TIME BUT ONLY MINOR
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
THE ROOMS,STAFF,RESTAURANTS AND BEACHES

The weak points
NONE

Monarc.ca Certified

Davidjohn Tschirhart
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-01-25 to 2013-02-01 (7 days)
Written on 2013-02-03

 Secrets St James

Had been to 2 Secrets resorts in Mexico and they were wonderful. Had expected the same but a little disappointed in the St James/Wild Orchid mostly because of the food and drink quality. Had to change rooms the 2nd day as the shower flooded into the hallway on first use and after maintenance came to fix it it continued to flood into the adjoining toilet area. Entertainment staff at poolside seemed to be lacking enthusiasm and sometimes we didn't even know events were taking place it was so low key. Was glad to have not paid extra to go to Wild Orchid when you share everything with the two resorts being joined. Overall we enjoyed the experience but would go back to the Mexico Secrets but not this one in Jamaica. Would rate it 4 not 5 star.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel, pool, beach was always clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Always sunbeds available poolside or on beach. Mattress was soooo very comfortable.

The weak points
Food was very salty. Not great presentation/plating/flavour of food for a 5 star. House wine was so watered down.

Monarc.ca Certified

W King
Bala, ON
Stay from 2013-01-17 to 2013-01-24 (7 days)
Written on 2013-01-26

 A

Great staff, food, resort and overall experience for couples wanting a getaway.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, maintenance of resort.

The weak points
Wild Orchid (connected hotel) have corporate events (not couples but young adults) who we share restaurants with. They spoil the romance.

Monarc.ca Certified

Lexie
Ottawa, ON
Stay from 2013-01-06 to 2013-01-11 (5 days)
Written on 2013-01-13

 A Week of Paradise

From start to finish our experience at this resort exceeded expectations by far. It was a fairytale vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
everything

The weak points
none

Monarc.ca Certified

Justin
Sudbury, ON
Stay from 2012-12-29 to 2013-01-05 (7 days)
Written on 2013-01-07

 Secrets St-James in Montego Bay

WOW... #1 on all fronts. No complaints!! Highly recommend for those who want a nice location to relax.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The entire staff, excellent restaurants & entertainement as well as WaterSports team.

The weak points
None that we could identify.

Monarc.ca Certified

Lrl & Mv
Orleans, ON
Stay from 2012-12-22 to 2012-12-29 (7 days)
Written on 2013-01-01

 Beautiful Resort

The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The staff was beyond excellent. Our room was very nice and clean with an ocean view. The food was also excellent! I have not one complaint about Secrets St. James :)
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Only 15 minutes from the airport. Beautiful beach and amazing staff

The weak points
None!

Monarc.ca Certified

Danielle F.
London, ON
Stay from 2012-11-23 to 2012-11-30 (7 days)
Written on 2012-12-12

 Jamaica Me Crazy

Fantastic destination for couples! Turquoise waters and white sandy beaches, lush tropical gardens....Paradise Found. Polite, helpful and friendly staff. Great unlimited "a la carte" dining with plenty of dining choices...no reservattions required. Overall a terrific vacation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beaches, view, pools, grounds were meticulously maintained, staff was pleasant and helpful, Jah Luv Jerk Chicken, espresso bar, piano lounge.

The weak points
Repetitive breakfast selection, few late night entertainment choices, expensive taxi fares....Barefoot grill lacks variety.

Monarc.ca Certified

Domenic
Maple, ON
Stay from 2012-10-20 to 2012-10-24 (4 days)
Written on 2012-10-27

 My opinion of Secrets St James

It was very, very nice but the price was double anywhere else we've been and I cant justify the difference.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
No complaints about anything other than the price.

The weak points
It was very nice but the price was double anywhere else we've been and I cant really justify the difference.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jeremy Philip Metcalfe
Vaughn, ON
Stay from 2012-10-16 to 2012-10-23 (7 days)
Written on 2012-10-25

 KW Invades Secrets MOBAY

Great Resort. The friendliest people I have encountered on vacations down south. The food is above average and the rooms are nice. Wifi is slow but that is to be expected.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport Jamaican People Jamaican Patties Amazing Staff Marlon Anderson (Landscaping) Star Xavier (Poolside) Star Orlando (Poolside)Star

The weak points
We had a party of 12 and it was hard to get dinner seatings. The ability to prebook dinner for large parties would have been appreciated. Also, the cookies used to be home made now they are store bought :(

Monarc.ca Certified

The Mina Crew
Kitchener, ON
Stay from 2012-09-26 to 2012-10-03 (7 days)
Written on 2012-10-05

 Impressed.

So glad we stumbled upon this place when getting ready to book. We looked at other places at Runaway Bay and Negril with decent reviews, but tended to believe some of the negative reviews of these places. I would say the only downfall to Secrets Montego Bay was the beaches were a little small and there was more seaweed than I had hoped (or compared to Veradero, anyway). Don't get me wrong, the white sand on the beach was beautiful and it was definitely large enough for the amount of people that were using it. if you don't care about a spacious beach, then you can't lose with this place.

Wifi was not included with our package at St. James. We did get it for one day at $15 per day. But overall, we could have cared less about having internet. The internet was also quite slow.

We didn't have our hopes up for the guided snorkelling tour, but was impressed once we got out there. I had no idea there would be so much coral out there. There were pretty fish, but not a lot. I loved the fact that there was even a little under water cavern to swim through.

Even the standard Oceanview room was exceptional. An upgraded would have been wasted on us. Plenty spacious and it was nice having the jacuzzi tub within reach of the bed.

The restaurants and food were great for an all-inclusive. The settings of the outdoor patios were beautiful with mostly nice views overlooking the bay. Made for a nice setting in the evenings around sundown.

One of the best qualities about this place was the staff. Almost all of them were very friendly and loved to have fun. We had so much fun with our waitstaff and bartenders.

If you are hesitant to have the local alcohol, you do have the option of Heineken, Grey Goose, Canadian Club, Johnny Walker Black, etc.

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and all we wanted to do was relax; and that we did. We kept ourselves busy on the resort and had little desire to try any of the local trips. And by busy, I mean sitting by the pool, the sea, sitting in the sea, sitting at the swim up bar; you know, that sort of stuff.

This was only my second all-inclusive, but I highly recommend Secrets. They treat you well. I could have paid $200 less per person to go to Riu in Montego Bay or Negril, but the extra money was well worth it.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
As mentioned: great staff, good food, great rooms, great setting, romantic (especially with the lights after sunset).

The weak points
Have to pay for internet; slow internet; beach not quite as nice as Cuba, or likely Negril.

Monarc.ca Certified

Tim M.
Ottawa, ON
Stay from 2012-05-14 to 2012-05-21 (7 days)
Written on 2012-05-25

 Great Hotel

amazing hotel, great people, very clean,well kept, amazing food, would return.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, great food, great complex

The weak points
beach has some rocks,but still very nice.

Monarc.ca Certified

Da Silva
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2012-04-18 to 2012-04-25 (7 days)
Written on 2012-04-27

 Fantastic,romantic

we had a fantastic time,only issue we had was no warnings about swimming areas the grassy areas are full of urchins and things that could hurt.they need more seating in the nightly entertainment area. food was great drinks great most service great.there are 2 young staff in the world cafe that sing for guests at breakfast,they should do it all the time they are fantastic.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food,great drinks, views,sunsets,most staff

The weak points
they should warn guests about sea urchins and such in swimming areas,the grassy areas in swimming beaches,some of the servers in the preferered club section have an attitude,most are great.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jeffrey Wayne Bailey
Grande Cache, AB
Stay from 2012-03-23 to 2012-04-07 (15 days)
Written on 2012-04-09

 Secrets St James

This resort is absolutely stunning. From the moment we arrived until the time we had to leave the service, the people the location everything was fantastic.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The location is perfect for travel from the airport. It was only 15 mins. We stayed in the Preferred Club and it was perfect. This is the quiet side of the resort and so when you wanted to relax it was a welcome area.

The weak points
It's really hard to come up with something here, but I guess the only thing I could say is there was some construction behind the resort...during the day you could hear some it. By no means was this a fault of the hotel or even a great intrusion.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ger
Calgary, AB
Stay from 2012-03-16 to 2012-03-24 (8 days)
Written on 2012-03-28

 Relaxing, Fun Filled Holiday

My husband and I really enjoyed our vacation at Secrets St James. The staff was very attentive and the resort was excellent. The food was great and the beach was nice.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was the best.

The weak points
Beach chairs were not the most comfortable.

Monarc.ca Certified

Manuela Terencio
Terra Cotta, ON
Stay from 2012-03-13 to 2012-03-20 (7 days)
Written on 2012-03-22

 Secrets Montego Bay Jamaica

very nice hotel.resort, great staff, great place to have a vacation
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean resort,great atmosphere

The weak points
front desk, at check in tries to get you to take a "1.5 hr " presentation.They really try to get you to go to the presentation, and its almost like pressure sales pitch just as you arrive and want to get beach. presentation is over 3 hrs!

Monarc.ca Certified

Dar
Richmandhill , ON
Stay from 2012-03-09 to 2012-03-16 (7 days)
Written on 2012-03-18

 Home away from home

What an amazing hotel , beautiful grounds , warm and cool pools , great food , neat clean rooms , some of the friendliest employees I have ever met , planning out trip back next winter !!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff , food , entertainment , weather

The weak points
AC was a little weak in our room , restaurants are a bit slow

Monarc.ca Certified

Tyler C
Edmonton, AB
Stay from 2012-01-18 to 2012-01-25 (7 days)
Written on 2012-01-30

 Best Vacation Ever

From the moment of arrival the Hotel staff greeted you like family, I gained a new respect for the people of Jamaica. Everyone at Secrect St James was fabulous, the food was great, service at this hotel was amazing, will go back. Going to miss the jerk chicken severed on the beach.. going to miss everyone, hope to be back soon. Thanks for a great vacation... Yeah mon!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at secrets makes this hotel

The weak points
not sure i have a weak point

Monarc.ca Certified

Shelly Steinke
Edmonton, AB
Stay from 2012-01-18 to 2012-01-25 (7 days)
Written on 2012-01-27

 A WEEK TO REMEMBER

Very good service all-around.Friendly staff and excellent accommodation and food.Good value for the money.Would not hesitate to come back at the same time of the year.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodation,food,friendliness of staff,close to airport,activities available on site,quietness at night.

The weak points
None to mention.

Monarc.ca Certified

J.B.Lafontaine
Moncton, NB
Stay from 2012-01-12 to 2012-01-19 (7 days)
Written on 2012-01-21

 Secrets St. James and Orchid

Secrets St. James/Orchid is second to only one in Jamaica and that one is reserved strictly for celebrities. Regardless, you will be treated like a star and with everything included from food to drink to admittance into the night clubs with no cover and no reservations necessary at any of the fine restaurants on the campus, it is one vacation that you will not regret. The food is all fine quality and fresh made-to-order, the drinks are unending and with no limitations to style of drink or type of alcohol, the bar is likely where you'll find yourself daily! and restaurants are clean, breezy, and very welcoming and there is so much to do just at the hotel, you will run out of time before you do it all. I can't wait to return again and experience it all one more time.
One Love. Jamaica, mon.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the helpful and clever staff, the beaches, the drinks, the 'on campus' amenities, the friendliness, the events, oh my gosh, the whole place is a dream.

The weak points
Room service forgot/mixed up the order every time (Not that you need room service with more than 7 restaurants to choose from and bars open late plus the midnight buffet!) The 'business center' is archaic and internet is not free.

Monarc.ca Certified

iluka
Ottawa, ON
Stay from 2012-01-08 to 2012-01-13 (5 days)
Written on 2012-01-16

 Nice but thats about it, not great

This is a nice resort with great rooms and immaculate grounds. Everything else is average at best. You wont be disappointed but you wont be "wowed" either...Everything is okay, not great but for what they charge value is lacking....lastly the last 2 days of our trip they were building cabanas on the beach and despite complaints by many beach goers, they continued to hammer away, ALL DAY LONG, that is not what a luxury resort offers its guests who pay a premium. Why not build the cabanas somewhere else in the resort and hammer all you want and then bring them over to where they need to go. Really inconsiderate and unacceptable on thier part
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Only part of resort that is 5 star is the rooms and grounds

The weak points
Food, overall sincerity of staff, no real urgency to service guests..soon come could mean 10 minutes or two hours

Monarc.ca Certified

truevalue
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2011-12-26 to 2012-01-02 (7 days)
Written on 2012-01-04
pages: 1 | 2


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Montego Bay

Quality vs Price

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Montego Bay


81 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Montego Bay


81 reviews


Beaches

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Montego Bay


81 reviews


Families

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Iberostar Rose Hall Suites

Montego Bay


81 reviews


Couples

Riu Palace Jamaica

Riu Palace Jamaica

Montego Bay


20 reviews


Singles

Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa

Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa

Montego Bay


50 reviews


Seniors

Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa

Hilton Rose Hall Resort And Spa

Montego Bay


50 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry