Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Tuxpan
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Tuxpan
 Description
 See on map

Tuxpan

 

3.413.413.413.413.41 (3.41)
Based on 208 reviews

Overall Impression: #21 of 57 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #22 of 57 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #28 of 57 hotels.
Beaches: #8 of 57 hotels.
Families: #16 of 57 hotels.
Couples: #4 of 57 hotels.
Singles: #20 of 57 hotels.
Seniors: #4 of 57 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (91)

Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan

Travellers Reviews

All
19
86
71
26
6




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

 Avoid this hotel

The hotel is pretty small and attention is more personal, however this is offset by very poor quality of food. In addition food
is very limited, even simple things like boiled potatoes nowhere to be seen most of the days. Both of us got food poisoning, and had to seek medical attention in Cuba and again in Canada. If you want to risk having diarrhoea, severe stomach cramps, aches all over the body for days on end then go for it. If you value your health then perhaps make other choices. The 0-level rooms have a persistent mold smell. We saw large cockroaches in the bathroom. Moving to 2nd floor helped with mold smell, but still saw cockroaches. In the buffet restaurant birds are freely pecking the bread and sweets - very unhygienic. Cashier is usually trying to overcharge you on the posted exchange rate - you will need to argue to get the posted rate. This is varadero, so subtract about 2.5 stars to get true rating.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
On the beach, has 24 hour bar, good coffee machines, good entertainment at night.

The weak points
Very poor quality food, almost no daily entertainment, rooms totally outdated and growing mold and cockroaches.

Monarc.ca Certified

Narkiss and Micha
Thornhill, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-12-06 to 2014-12-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-15

 Return to Tuxpan

Booked a good last minute deal, decided to go back to the Tuxpan, as we enjoyed the size and service last Feb., didn't need to familiarize with a new resort. Turned out it was the return customer appreaciation week, and got two bus tours, massage and hair appointments and special meals and events throughout the week. This is our fifth trip to Cuba, stayed at 4.5, 4, and 3 star properties. I must say we have had no bad experiences at all at the Tuxpan. A big HELLO to Raisy (public relations mgr).
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The main benifit is the size of the resort and the services provided. Approx. 260 rooms, 2 a la carts, buffet, 3 bars, coffee bar, great beach. Staff that go out of their way to serve and help. Awesome maids, clean common areas and constant upgrades.

The weak points
One elevator still doesn't work, but everything else is close, so the workout on the stairs is a benefit.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ian
Revelstoke, BC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-11-17 to 2014-11-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-30

 Vacances familliales

Beau site, plages extrêmement belles. Bar de plage exceptionnel, près du centre-ville en taxi, zet ou bus. Poisson frais à tous les jours et buffet ok. Manque un peu d'ambiance mais idéal pour le repos. L'hôtel était à peine à moitié de capacité peut-être en était-ce la raison vu la saison morte en fin juin.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, Bar, poisson à manger à tous les jours menoummm!!

The weak points
manque de musique et d'ambiance

Monarc.ca Certified

Nb
St-Boniface, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-25 to 2014-07-02 (7 days)
Written on 2014-07-15

 Nous y retournerons

Nous étions déjà allé à cet hôtel il y a plusieurs années et contrairement à certains hôtels, c'était mieux qu'il y a plusieurs années. La nourriture était très très correcte pour Cuba, le site, les chambres, les toilettes publiques sont très propres. La plage est merveilleuse et l'eau était chaude à cette période de l'année. Très bon qualité prix. Personnel accueillant dans les restaurants à la carte, aux bars, au comptoir et aux chambres. On va y retourner certainement.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La propreté, la plage, la gentillesse et l'accueil.

The weak points
L'eau de la piscine n'était pas invitante mais il faisait très chaud et on avait la mer.

Monarc.ca Certified

Claudie
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-16 to 2014-06-24 (8 days)
Written on 2014-06-26

 Not what expected

Even though they seem to be upgrading, the hotel is not what we expected. One of two pools (with pool bar) was closed and wasn't clean until we left. 'Not enough' people in the hotel shouldn't be considered as an excuse for services and buffet.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is fantastic, very clean, and beautiful.

The weak points
No wifi, food not as good, not too many food snack options between meals.

Monarc.ca Certified

S
De Winton, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-14 to 2014-06-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-23

 As always nice vacation at Tuxpan

There is the third time in row we have our vacation time at Tuxpan. This year we saw to many renovations in main lobby and the paths leading to the beach area. Everything else was like before, including the same friendly staff, fresh food and drinks. I have to thank the staff of the hotel treating us with a ocean view room and the bottle of rum. The room service was great, the room was very clean,thank to Johanna, and everything working well. I think quality versus price is in the best rate for the hotel. My family love going there next year again. We do not like to change the hotel, there we feel like family. Emilio in lobby bar, Tomasso in beach bar or the waiters at the buffet gave us family feeling.Our thanks goes to the staff for the great time we had. This year the concerts at dhe pool stage were much better than other time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Stunning beaches, wonderful staff, beautiful grounds,

The weak points
Maybe some more variety of food.

Monarc.ca Certified

L Spahiu
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-06 to 2014-06-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-17

 Good vacation

Very pleasant vacation. I have been to Cuba more than 10 times, but this was the first time I had unlimited amount of hot water with high pressure in the bath!!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean bathroom and hot water. polite employees.

The weak points
Lazy receptionist.

Monarc.ca Certified

Harry
Richmond Hill, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-01 to 2014-06-08 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-10

 Un bon trois étoiles et demi

Nous avons apprécié cet hôtel, tout à fait ce à quoi nous nous attendions d'un 3 étoiles et demi.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La plage est superbe, l'entrée dans la mer est très belle. Beaucoup de chaises de toile en bon état et beaucoup de grands palapas pour faire de l'ombre, jamais besoin de se réserver une chaise. Buffet correct.

The weak points
Les chambres mériteraient d'être rénovées, surtout les matelas. Lors de notre séjour, les piscines étaient très mal entretenues.

Monarc.ca Certified

Geneviève
Riviere-Du-Loup, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-05-19 to 2014-05-27 (8 days)
Written on 2014-05-29

 Vacances de rêve

Toujours aussi chaleureux comme accueil. Le service est impécable. Les gens sont toujours gentils et souriants.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
courtoisie,petit hôtel,serviabilité...

The weak points
Je sais pas .

Monarc.ca Certified

Audrey Larouche
Jonquiere, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-04-16 to 2014-04-30 (14 days)
Written on 2014-05-03

 Hotel Tuxpan

We loved our week at the Hotel Tuxpan. At first the small room was a bit of a surprise, but the view from the balcony was amazing, the air conditioning worked well, the bathroom was renovated and clean, the beds and pillows were comfortable and lots of hot water. The resort is older, but very well maintained. Beautiful large entrance, lobby and gardens. The most outstanding features of the Tuxpan are the staff and beach. The food is very good and plentiful. Drinks are good also, especially at the Fruit Bar. I plan to go back to the Hotel Tuxpan, for the price, it is an excellent vacation destination!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach very clean resort amazing staff very good food good drinks Fruit bar clean pool lots of chairs renovated bathrooms beautiful views from the rooms 1/2 hour drive from Varadero Airport

The weak points
small rooms small double beds

Monarc.ca Certified

Kimberly Jewell
Dutton, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-04-18 to 2014-04-26 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-28

 Great beach

We enjoyed our stay here. The resort staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, food was better than expected. The beach was fantastic and the pool is large and clean. We had an oceanview room which was nice but the nightly entertainment was louder than expected but only lasted between 1-2 hours (9:30-11:30pm). The gardenview rooms would probably be a quiter option. Overall it was a nice resort. We would gladly stay here again.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach

The weak points
nightly entertainment noise

Monarc.ca Certified

Mike
Sherwood Park , AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-30 to 2014-04-05 (6 days)
Written on 2014-04-07

 Coming here again...

I read reviews of hotels for a several hours and ended up staying here. Had great experience! Beach is main reason to come to Cuba and this did not disappoint. Relatively short walk to the beach from the room. Many hotels appeared to be quite far. Plenty of chairs so no worries there.
The food was awesome - if you ask me their food is better than Canadian because they need to use a bit more creativity to come up with dishes which taste good on their own merits. Tuxpan does use spices too though and has salt/pepper/steak sauces if you want but I didn't need any.

The room was good - air conditioner worked better than in most North American hotels because it was virtually silent, not like your typical hotel with the noisy window air conditioner/heater.

Even had CTV and CNN on tv.

WHEN I come back to Cuba, I won't even bother looking at reviews, we will simply go back to Tuxpan.

The hotel isn't going to be for EVERYONE - there may be other hotels with bowling alleys and waterslides and night clubs etc that other people want. Tuxpan has a night club but we were so worn out from the beach we went to bed so early I don't even know if it was in operation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing atmosphere, terrific beach, great staff.

The weak points
Very little to complain about, the a la carte restaurant didn't serve beer or cola so we had to drink water because we don't drink wine. So very minor!

Monarc.ca Certified

Roadworm
Aberdeen, SK
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-22 to 2014-03-30 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-02

 Nice vacation

We picked this hotel based on the reviews we saw here and other sites. It was a good choice for the money as we liked it, the food was pretty good and the hotel is pretty nice. The only bad thing we got was the first room, which I asked to change on the second day because it was smelling musty and the bathroom was old with even the edge of the tub rusted. The room they gave us after was good and with a new bathroom. The buffet dining room is nice, the pool is big and one of the best around there and all the staff at the hotel and beach bar is nice and very friendly. Included, there is a show every night, the dancers and animators are very good. Also at the beach they offer catamaran rides, pedal boats and kayaking. We enjoyed our vacation and we might go back here one day, unless we decide to try something new.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the pool and the staff.

The weak points
sometime you might get a bedroom that smell musty, but generally they switch it the day after. Not enough chairs at the beach and at the pool.

Monarc.ca Certified

Luisa
Oakville, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-12 to 2014-03-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-21

 Du soleil et de beaux sourires! :)

Si vous recherchez une belle plage dans un hôtel au personnel toujours souriant et sympa, c'est assurément la place! :) par contre, si vous y allez pour le luxe, la bonne bouffe... Vous serez peut-être déçus ! L'endroit est très propre cela dit! De plus, le resto à la carte "elle rancho" vaut le coup! Spectacles en soirée sont bien, mais ça se termine tôt. En résumé, c'est un assez bon rapport qualité-prix... :)
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La plage, le personnel, la propreté

The weak points
Le buffet, l'ambiance nocturne

Monarc.ca Certified

Marie
Saint-Hyacinthe, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-01 to 2014-03-09 (8 days)
Written on 2014-03-11

 Solid 3.5 * resort

My 5-th and enjoyable holidays in Cuba. Great beach, nice lush, well kept grounds. Decent size pools. Food ok, typical for Cuba, Oscar works hard at the omlet station, bring your own spices, if desire, like chili, taco, peanut butter, honey. Both a'la carte restaurants worth trying. Good expresso and other coffee at the lobby/piano bar (piano and saxophone musicians from 6-9pm) and at the coffee bar plaza. Rooms a bid dated, as the resort is about 25 years old. Enough loungers at the swimming pools or under palapas at the beach. Say hi to Renaldo at the pool, Milady, Enrique at the dinning area. They all work hard. Tip accordingly, as they don't make much. Soap, toothpaste, clothes, shoes, school supplies are always in big demand. Evening shows at 9:30pm are ok, typical for resorts. Internet access extremely slow, not worth 5 CUC per 1/2 hour. AC cools rooms adequately. Save 25 CUC for departure taxes p/person.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, lush greenery, convenient location, not far from Varadero, double decker buses every 15 min, food, drinks

The weak points
on few nights loud music at the pool bar well past midnight, some drunk Russian tourists, musty smell in rooms, diesel like odour on some nights, more group exercise in the pool or on the beach would be nice, lack of posted info about activities

Monarc.ca Certified

Sun seeker
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-25 to 2014-03-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-06

 Très belle expérience

Très bel hôtel et très bien situé. Le service aux chambres était excellent. L`air climatisé fonctionne lentement mais, on s`accommode en laissant la porte patio fermer ! Le personnel est très gentil partout ! Le buffet très bon, on trouve toujours quelque chose de bon à manger. Le resto el rancho est très bon mais, fait beaucoup trop chaud car il est à l`intérieur et pas d`air climatisée. Le Colibri par contre, Cubain, très très bon et est sur la terrasse face à la scène des spectacles le soir. Le snack bar à la plage a manqué de bière pour quelques heures mais, c`est le meilleur endroit pour manger un Super bon burger avec frites et ils sont délicieux !Nous avons eu quelques petits problèmes genre: oublié la clé dans la chambre, l`air climatisé trop faible etc...le personnel de la réception a toujours été très sympathique et nous ont aidé à tout régler tout en gardant le sourire. Ils sont vraiment très gentils partout ! Et que dire de la magnifique plage !Après être aller visiter les plages des autres hôtels, nous avons conclus que nous avions la plus belle plage du coin et la mieux surveiller !Pas de vendeurs, toujours plein de chaises, le sable comme de la farine et la mer avec pratiquement pas de saletés à notre hauteur. C`est peut dire après avoir vu les autres plages et leurs algues, déchets et jellyfish ! Bref, une Super belle semaine de vacance où nous retournerons à cet hôtel avec grand plaisir !
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel très gentil, la propreté autant à l`intérieur qu`à l`extérieur et évidement la plage.

The weak points
Service un peu lent aux différent bar mais, ne pas oublier qu`on est en vacances !

Monarc.ca Certified

Marc
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-20 to 2014-02-27 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-01

 Cuba 2014

Hotel was recently painted and outdoor work is in progress. It was very clean, and people commenting on my photos said it appeared to be an expensive hotel. The pool is beautiful and the beach magnificent, and the food better than we had expected having heard so many negative comments about Cuba. All staff were very friendly and helpful and we received a written thank you note from our maid for the tips we left, and she replaced bottled water and room supplies every day which usually doesn't happen when we travel south. My daughter and I became violently ill our last night, perhaps a virus, and at 3 am my husband went to the front desk to ask for assistance. They suggested a 24 hour clinic, phoned them, and the doorman called us a cab and were all concerned for our wellbing. When my husband returned alone a few hours later to pack our bags and they heard our daughter was on IV they assisted him in every way and the desk staff helped him with a call to our insurance carrier. There weren't many organized activities, but between excursions and walking on the beach, we didn't mind. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent friendly staff, cleanliness, pool, beach

The weak points
Broken elevators, one not working at all and the other temperamental, but not a problem for us as we used stairs and enjoyed the exercise

Monarc.ca Certified

Sandy
Peterborough, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-16 to 2014-02-23 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-25

 Amazing Beach

After walking several beaches in Varadero I soon recognized that the beach front at the Tuxpan was the best the city had to offer during the week we were there. The food was pretty bad for the first couple of days but seemed to get better as the week progressed. The beds however did not get better and a sore back put a damper on my enjoyment. They had no bed toppers and told me they had just replaced all of the mattresses so didn't need them anymore. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout the resort. Rooms were kept clean. Overall had a great time. Would consider going back because of the beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach

The weak points
Beds were hard

Monarc.ca Certified

Dawn Fleischhacker
Chestermere, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-07 to 2014-02-15 (8 days)
Written on 2014-02-17

 Tuxpan is great

Hotel was very great. Friendly service in every aspect. Great food. Very nicely kept hotel and grounds.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Workers are very nice at this resort.

The weak points
Elevator didn't work a few times

Monarc.ca Certified

Shannon Yarmuch
Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-02 to 2014-02-08 (6 days)
Written on 2014-02-10

 Varadero

Le personnel est super.....le service est très bien...
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le personnel est très aimable ,la propreté,le buffet était bien ,la plage est belle....l'accueil est très bien

The weak points
en général c'est bien

Monarc.ca Certified

momo
Varennes, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-31 to 2014-02-07 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-24

 Tuxpan

Good value for money.Staff are friendly and helpful.Welcomed at front desk with drink.Room is clean and large enough. Safe works well.Bathtub was slow to drain while showering & was not fixed .Food was delicious.New coffee bar opened ...good.Live entertainment every evening in the piano bar and main dining room.Beach awesome as usual.Lots of chairs & not crammed together like at other hotels & no loud music on the beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms,friendly staff,lots of good food & drink.Grounds are beautiful .

The weak points
Lots of stairs.Elevators are few & slow.Slow bathtub drain.

Monarc.ca Certified

P Mcneil
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-19 to 2014-01-26 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-30

 Belle semaine!

Nous avons séjourné du 16 au 23 a l'hôtel Tuxpan. C'est très bien comme endroit, vraiment très propre, bon service plus rapide que ce que j'ai déjà vue a Cuba, le buffet est bon, les restaurants a la carte très bien sauf celui prêt de la piscine le colibri, belle plage. Un hôtel tranquille, les spectacle comme partout ailleurs à Cuba.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, propreté, service.

The weak points
Restaurant le colibri et les chaises sur la plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

Kary
L Ancienne-Lorette, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-16 to 2014-01-23 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-30

 Great time

Hotel dated but didn't spend time in room. Plenty of hot water, lots of chairs, people friendly had great time. Food was above par for Cuba. Stairs in hotel not great for people with mobility problems. Lots of renovations going on. Will only get better
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The people were terrific. The location was great, we walked into Varadero. The pools large, lots of chairs.

The weak points
The vip package not worth it. Only got to keep room an extra 3 hours, only used water from fridge. Everyone got water and a free bottle of rum. We got two bottles of rum. Beach view was noisy, better on other side of building. So would not go vip.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ellizabeth
Douro-Dummer, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-14 to 2014-01-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-24

 Perfect 3 star resort

we arrived at the tuxpan on a Thursday, my sister and I with our daughters. We were only there for a long weekend and it was wonderful.....only a 3 hour flight from Toronto, so we had the afternoon and evening, 2 full days and then we left sunday afternoon. Beach perfect, pool area very large with plenty of lounges, bars everywhere, never big line ups. Huge dinning room, again never line ups. 2 a la carte, very charming. The staff at the resort is outstanding, special mention Henry, Ricardo, "Kiki", and Aleanka. Quick taxi drive in a l953 car, walked around shops. It is a charming, clean, efficient resort. I then met my husband in Toronto and returned with him for another 7 days......A wonderful restful getaway for all ages.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beach,staff, location, clean

The weak points
internet

Monarc.ca Certified

Judith Anne Brabant
Garson, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-13 to 2014-01-20 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-22

 Satisfied

i was satisfied with all the service found the the beef and pork very tough other than that i had a great trip
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
great staff

The weak points
food

Monarc.ca Certified

gary emond
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-06 to 2014-01-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-15

 J'en ais eu pour mon argent

Vraiment surpris pour cette hôtel ,l'emplacement est super ,proche de Varadéro .La nourriture quand même bien , le personnel est très bien roder. Je vais y retourner .
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Vraiment surpris pour cette hôtel ,l'emplacement est super ,proche de Varadéro .La nourriture quand même bien , le personnel est très bien roder. Je vais y retourner .

The weak points
manque de lumiere dans la chambre de bain,

Monarc.ca Certified

D Laf
Quebec, QC
Stay from 2013-12-28 to 2014-01-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-06

 Friendly and quiet.

Well don't bother with the VIP. We were NOT received with a welcome cocktail or cold towel but with Rolando, a miserable uncaring sort who wouldn't even direct us to a working elevator though we asked 3 times and waited 15 min. before a guest showed us which one worked. A second will go up if you call down but Rolando wont tell you. Beach towel in the room? NO! Now sounds bad right but that's it, it was all up hill after that. Oh ya, the bed was like a prison cot(dont really know for sure but it was hard); we asked for toppers and had 3 inches of foam added in the morning giving the nicest bed we have ever had in Cuba. The room was clean and kept clean and the mini bar was maintained as promised. The ocean view from the fourth floor was wonderful.
The pool was very nice and not over crowded though the pool swim up bar is in the shade. But that might be nice on really hot day.
The beach unfortunately has recently been washed out and is narrow but I seen a lot worse. As a matter of fact some folks from the Breezes Bella Costa were using the Tuxpan beach because theirs was much worse.
The food was OK. The Rancho upstairs was the best; they tried really hard to make our dinner a romantic experience.. Coffee from one of the 3 coffee bars was excellent(coffee, lobby, pool bars).
All in all this is 3 1/2 star that really is a 3 1/2 star minus Rolando and the washed out beach. Even so, I WOULD definitely recommend the Tuxpan but whether or not the mini-bar and 4th floor view is worth the VIP price, I'm not so sure, I did enjoy both.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Well laid out motel with beach close to main building. The staff was amazingly friendly, courteous and helpful. The food was a little better than I have experienced in Cuba.

The weak points
The beach has been recently washed out to see and is right now very narrow. Rolando at evening reception was a bad first impression of the motel.

Monarc.ca Certified

tajupp
Stay from 2013-11-28 to 2013-12-05 (7 days)
Written on 2013-12-11

 Tuxpan vacation

The hotel was constantly under construction, the food was generally scarce and inedible, the servers were unacceptably rude. I guess you get what you pay.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean, view, cleanliness

The weak points
Food, service

Monarc.ca Certified

Larisa Ulanova
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-11-16 to 2013-11-23 (7 days)
Written on 2013-11-25

 Keeps getting better!!!

This was our 3rd time there in a year and it just keeps on getting better, including the food. The staff are wonderful. This is my home-away-from-home. Can't wait to go back again!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service, food, beach

The weak points
I don't have any

Monarc.ca Certified

Lori
Pickering, ON
Stay from 2013-11-07 to 2013-11-14 (7 days)
Written on 2013-11-16

 Deuxieme fois

Suite à une autre expérience nous avons encore bien aimer un tit peu moins pour le buffet soit du midi ou du soir manque beaucoup de variété comparer à l'année passé plus de choix l'année passé et n'avons pu profiter de la plage a cause du vent mais le personnel adorable surement que nous y retournerons.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le personnel,la plage,le lobby bar,bon spectacle

The weak points
le buffet

Monarc.ca Certified

Nicole Morin
Tadoussac, QC
Stay from 2013-10-22 to 2013-10-29 (7 days)
Written on 2013-10-31
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Melia Marina Varadero

Melia Marina Varadero

Varadero


111 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


467 reviews


Beaches

Club Los Delfines

Club Los Delfines

Varadero


188 reviews


Families

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Couples

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Singles

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


329 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry