Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Tuxpan
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Tuxpan

 

3.393.393.393.393.39 (3.39)
Based on 230 reviews

Overall Impression: #18 of 60 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #19 of 60 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #27 of 60 hotels.
Beaches: #7 of 60 hotels.
Families: #26 of 60 hotels.
Couples: #32 of 60 hotels.
Singles: #36 of 60 hotels.
Seniors: #34 of 60 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (94)

Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
22
92
79
28
9
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

 Wonderful vacation

I really enjoyed my stay at the Tuxpan. The staff were suberb, the room was very clean, the food was good and the beach beautiful. I would definitely go back!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Nm
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2016-01-29 to 2016-02-05 (7 days)
Written on 2016-02-08

 Our stay at Tuxpan Hotel

this has been my third time at this hotel, It is very relaxing and I am going back in August for my fourth time. The staff are great people and the food is great!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff and food

The weak points
pool to be cleaned during the day (remove leafs and bugs) change the beach rules from topless to must wear bathing suit, the topless option is horrible

Monarc.ca Certified

Crystal B
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2015-05-31 to 2015-06-07 (7 days)
Written on 2015-06-17

 Séjour au Tuxpan février 2015

le personnel le plus souvent souriant est la seule note positive même si on a la plus part du temps l`air de les déranger. Les chambres ont besoin de rénovation et de nouveau mobilier, le buffet est horrible et inmangeable, seul la langouste du resto de la piscine El Colibri, pour 12cuc, vaut la peine. le casse-croute 24 heures El Delfin a été fermé la plus part du temps lors de notre séjour. L'autre restaurant à la carte, El Rancho est très moyen.
Ne payer pas le supplément pour le VIP il n'en vaut pas la peine.
Heureusement Varadero est tout près et la plage est magnifique
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
plage

The weak points
le reste

Luc Giguere
Chicoutimi, QC
Stay from 2015-02-18 to 2015-02-25 (7 days)
Written on 2015-03-01

 Avoid this hotel

The hotel is pretty small and attention is more personal, however this is offset by very poor quality of food. In addition food
is very limited, even simple things like boiled potatoes nowhere to be seen most of the days. Both of us got food poisoning, and had to seek medical attention in Cuba and again in Canada. If you want to risk having diarrhoea, severe stomach cramps, aches all over the body for days on end then go for it. If you value your health then perhaps make other choices. The 0-level rooms have a persistent mold smell. We saw large cockroaches in the bathroom. Moving to 2nd floor helped with mold smell, but still saw cockroaches. In the buffet restaurant birds are freely pecking the bread and sweets - very unhygienic. Cashier is usually trying to overcharge you on the posted exchange rate - you will need to argue to get the posted rate. This is varadero, so subtract about 2.5 stars to get true rating.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
On the beach, has 24 hour bar, good coffee machines, good entertainment at night.

The weak points
Very poor quality food, almost no daily entertainment, rooms totally outdated and growing mold and cockroaches.

Monarc.ca Certified

Narkiss and Micha
Thornhill, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-12-06 to 2014-12-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-12-15

 Avoid Hotel Like the review below says

As the review below says "Avoid this Hotel". This was our third trip to Cuba over the past couple of years. Our previous two trips we found very enjoyable and thought the places where we stayed were very good. For our third trip we thought we would pay a little more and go with a hotel that had a little better review. This was definitely not the case! As mentioned in the review below, we too were sick from food poisoning and I understand that many people at the hotel were also. There was also construction on the third floor and even though the hotel was less than half full, they put us in rooms on the 4th floor directly above the construction. After complaining several times they reluctantly moved us to the other wing and first floor. This improved on the construction noise but brought other issues of poor plumbing and mold smells. The beach at this hotel was also the most disappointing from our previous visits. Surprisingly it was dirty with garbage and very old beach chairs. The beach was totally neglected. We also found that the daily and nightly entertainment lagged considerably behind the other hotels we have stayed at.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
None

The weak points
Terrible food and food selection, dirty beach, poor entertainment, birds eating freely in buffet area, hotel is old and outdated.

Louie
Calgary, AB
Stay from 2014-12-05 to 2014-12-12 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-17

 Return to Tuxpan

Booked a good last minute deal, decided to go back to the Tuxpan, as we enjoyed the size and service last Feb., didn't need to familiarize with a new resort. Turned out it was the return customer appreaciation week, and got two bus tours, massage and hair appointments and special meals and events throughout the week. This is our fifth trip to Cuba, stayed at 4.5, 4, and 3 star properties. I must say we have had no bad experiences at all at the Tuxpan. A big HELLO to Raisy (public relations mgr).
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The main benifit is the size of the resort and the services provided. Approx. 260 rooms, 2 a la carts, buffet, 3 bars, coffee bar, great beach. Staff that go out of their way to serve and help. Awesome maids, clean common areas and constant upgrades.

The weak points
One elevator still doesn't work, but everything else is close, so the workout on the stairs is a benefit.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ian
Revelstoke, BC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-11-17 to 2014-11-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-30

 Not what expected

Even though they seem to be upgrading, the hotel is not what we expected. One of two pools (with pool bar) was closed and wasn't clean until we left. 'Not enough' people in the hotel shouldn't be considered as an excuse for services and buffet.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is fantastic, very clean, and beautiful.

The weak points
No wifi, food not as good, not too many food snack options between meals.

Monarc.ca Certified

S
De Winton, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-14 to 2014-06-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-23

 As always nice vacation at Tuxpan

There is the third time in row we have our vacation time at Tuxpan. This year we saw to many renovations in main lobby and the paths leading to the beach area. Everything else was like before, including the same friendly staff, fresh food and drinks. I have to thank the staff of the hotel treating us with a ocean view room and the bottle of rum. The room service was great, the room was very clean,thank to Johanna, and everything working well. I think quality versus price is in the best rate for the hotel. My family love going there next year again. We do not like to change the hotel, there we feel like family. Emilio in lobby bar, Tomasso in beach bar or the waiters at the buffet gave us family feeling.Our thanks goes to the staff for the great time we had. This year the concerts at dhe pool stage were much better than other time.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Stunning beaches, wonderful staff, beautiful grounds,

The weak points
Maybe some more variety of food.

Monarc.ca Certified

L Spahiu
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-06 to 2014-06-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-17

 Good vacation

Very pleasant vacation. I have been to Cuba more than 10 times, but this was the first time I had unlimited amount of hot water with high pressure in the bath!!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean bathroom and hot water. polite employees.

The weak points
Lazy receptionist.

Monarc.ca Certified

Harry
Richmond Hill, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-06-01 to 2014-06-08 (7 days)
Written on 2014-06-10

 Hotel Tuxpan

We loved our week at the Hotel Tuxpan. At first the small room was a bit of a surprise, but the view from the balcony was amazing, the air conditioning worked well, the bathroom was renovated and clean, the beds and pillows were comfortable and lots of hot water. The resort is older, but very well maintained. Beautiful large entrance, lobby and gardens. The most outstanding features of the Tuxpan are the staff and beach. The food is very good and plentiful. Drinks are good also, especially at the Fruit Bar. I plan to go back to the Hotel Tuxpan, for the price, it is an excellent vacation destination!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach very clean resort amazing staff very good food good drinks Fruit bar clean pool lots of chairs renovated bathrooms beautiful views from the rooms 1/2 hour drive from Varadero Airport

The weak points
small rooms small double beds

Monarc.ca Certified

Kimberly Jewell
Dutton, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-04-18 to 2014-04-26 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-28

 Great beach

We enjoyed our stay here. The resort staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, food was better than expected. The beach was fantastic and the pool is large and clean. We had an oceanview room which was nice but the nightly entertainment was louder than expected but only lasted between 1-2 hours (9:30-11:30pm). The gardenview rooms would probably be a quiter option. Overall it was a nice resort. We would gladly stay here again.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach

The weak points
nightly entertainment noise

Monarc.ca Certified

Mike
Sherwood Park , AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-30 to 2014-04-05 (6 days)
Written on 2014-04-07

 Coming here again...

I read reviews of hotels for a several hours and ended up staying here. Had great experience! Beach is main reason to come to Cuba and this did not disappoint. Relatively short walk to the beach from the room. Many hotels appeared to be quite far. Plenty of chairs so no worries there.
The food was awesome - if you ask me their food is better than Canadian because they need to use a bit more creativity to come up with dishes which taste good on their own merits. Tuxpan does use spices too though and has salt/pepper/steak sauces if you want but I didn't need any.

The room was good - air conditioner worked better than in most North American hotels because it was virtually silent, not like your typical hotel with the noisy window air conditioner/heater.

Even had CTV and CNN on tv.

WHEN I come back to Cuba, I won't even bother looking at reviews, we will simply go back to Tuxpan.

The hotel isn't going to be for EVERYONE - there may be other hotels with bowling alleys and waterslides and night clubs etc that other people want. Tuxpan has a night club but we were so worn out from the beach we went to bed so early I don't even know if it was in operation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing atmosphere, terrific beach, great staff.

The weak points
Very little to complain about, the a la carte restaurant didn't serve beer or cola so we had to drink water because we don't drink wine. So very minor!

Monarc.ca Certified

Roadworm
Aberdeen, SK
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-22 to 2014-03-30 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-02

 Nice vacation

We picked this hotel based on the reviews we saw here and other sites. It was a good choice for the money as we liked it, the food was pretty good and the hotel is pretty nice. The only bad thing we got was the first room, which I asked to change on the second day because it was smelling musty and the bathroom was old with even the edge of the tub rusted. The room they gave us after was good and with a new bathroom. The buffet dining room is nice, the pool is big and one of the best around there and all the staff at the hotel and beach bar is nice and very friendly. Included, there is a show every night, the dancers and animators are very good. Also at the beach they offer catamaran rides, pedal boats and kayaking. We enjoyed our vacation and we might go back here one day, unless we decide to try something new.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the pool and the staff.

The weak points
sometime you might get a bedroom that smell musty, but generally they switch it the day after. Not enough chairs at the beach and at the pool.

Monarc.ca Certified

Luisa
Oakville, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-12 to 2014-03-19 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-21

 Solid 3.5 * resort

My 5-th and enjoyable holidays in Cuba. Great beach, nice lush, well kept grounds. Decent size pools. Food ok, typical for Cuba, Oscar works hard at the omlet station, bring your own spices, if desire, like chili, taco, peanut butter, honey. Both a'la carte restaurants worth trying. Good expresso and other coffee at the lobby/piano bar (piano and saxophone musicians from 6-9pm) and at the coffee bar plaza. Rooms a bid dated, as the resort is about 25 years old. Enough loungers at the swimming pools or under palapas at the beach. Say hi to Renaldo at the pool, Milady, Enrique at the dinning area. They all work hard. Tip accordingly, as they don't make much. Soap, toothpaste, clothes, shoes, school supplies are always in big demand. Evening shows at 9:30pm are ok, typical for resorts. Internet access extremely slow, not worth 5 CUC per 1/2 hour. AC cools rooms adequately. Save 25 CUC for departure taxes p/person.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, lush greenery, convenient location, not far from Varadero, double decker buses every 15 min, food, drinks

The weak points
on few nights loud music at the pool bar well past midnight, some drunk Russian tourists, musty smell in rooms, diesel like odour on some nights, more group exercise in the pool or on the beach would be nice, lack of posted info about activities

Monarc.ca Certified

Sun seeker
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-25 to 2014-03-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-06

 Cuba 2014

Hotel was recently painted and outdoor work is in progress. It was very clean, and people commenting on my photos said it appeared to be an expensive hotel. The pool is beautiful and the beach magnificent, and the food better than we had expected having heard so many negative comments about Cuba. All staff were very friendly and helpful and we received a written thank you note from our maid for the tips we left, and she replaced bottled water and room supplies every day which usually doesn't happen when we travel south. My daughter and I became violently ill our last night, perhaps a virus, and at 3 am my husband went to the front desk to ask for assistance. They suggested a 24 hour clinic, phoned them, and the doorman called us a cab and were all concerned for our wellbing. When my husband returned alone a few hours later to pack our bags and they heard our daughter was on IV they assisted him in every way and the desk staff helped him with a call to our insurance carrier. There weren't many organized activities, but between excursions and walking on the beach, we didn't mind. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent friendly staff, cleanliness, pool, beach

The weak points
Broken elevators, one not working at all and the other temperamental, but not a problem for us as we used stairs and enjoyed the exercise

Monarc.ca Certified

Sandy
Peterborough, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-16 to 2014-02-23 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-25

 Amazing Beach

After walking several beaches in Varadero I soon recognized that the beach front at the Tuxpan was the best the city had to offer during the week we were there. The food was pretty bad for the first couple of days but seemed to get better as the week progressed. The beds however did not get better and a sore back put a damper on my enjoyment. They had no bed toppers and told me they had just replaced all of the mattresses so didn't need them anymore. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout the resort. Rooms were kept clean. Overall had a great time. Would consider going back because of the beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach

The weak points
Beds were hard

Monarc.ca Certified

Dawn Fleischhacker
Chestermere, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-07 to 2014-02-15 (8 days)
Written on 2014-02-17

 Tuxpan is great

Hotel was very great. Friendly service in every aspect. Great food. Very nicely kept hotel and grounds.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Workers are very nice at this resort.

The weak points
Elevator didn't work a few times

Monarc.ca Certified

Shannon Yarmuch
Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-02 to 2014-02-08 (6 days)
Written on 2014-02-10

 Tuxpan

Good value for money.Staff are friendly and helpful.Welcomed at front desk with drink.Room is clean and large enough. Safe works well.Bathtub was slow to drain while showering & was not fixed .Food was delicious.New coffee bar opened ...good.Live entertainment every evening in the piano bar and main dining room.Beach awesome as usual.Lots of chairs & not crammed together like at other hotels & no loud music on the beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms,friendly staff,lots of good food & drink.Grounds are beautiful .

The weak points
Lots of stairs.Elevators are few & slow.Slow bathtub drain.

Monarc.ca Certified

P Mcneil
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-19 to 2014-01-26 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-30

 Great time

Hotel dated but didn't spend time in room. Plenty of hot water, lots of chairs, people friendly had great time. Food was above par for Cuba. Stairs in hotel not great for people with mobility problems. Lots of renovations going on. Will only get better
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The people were terrific. The location was great, we walked into Varadero. The pools large, lots of chairs.

The weak points
The vip package not worth it. Only got to keep room an extra 3 hours, only used water from fridge. Everyone got water and a free bottle of rum. We got two bottles of rum. Beach view was noisy, better on other side of building. So would not go vip.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ellizabeth
Douro-Dummer, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-14 to 2014-01-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-24

 Perfect 3 star resort

we arrived at the tuxpan on a Thursday, my sister and I with our daughters. We were only there for a long weekend and it was wonderful.....only a 3 hour flight from Toronto, so we had the afternoon and evening, 2 full days and then we left sunday afternoon. Beach perfect, pool area very large with plenty of lounges, bars everywhere, never big line ups. Huge dinning room, again never line ups. 2 a la carte, very charming. The staff at the resort is outstanding, special mention Henry, Ricardo, "Kiki", and Aleanka. Quick taxi drive in a l953 car, walked around shops. It is a charming, clean, efficient resort. I then met my husband in Toronto and returned with him for another 7 days......A wonderful restful getaway for all ages.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beach,staff, location, clean

The weak points
internet

Monarc.ca Certified

Judith Anne Brabant
Garson, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-13 to 2014-01-20 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-22

 Satisfied

i was satisfied with all the service found the the beef and pork very tough other than that i had a great trip
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
great staff

The weak points
food

Monarc.ca Certified

gary emond
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-06 to 2014-01-13 (7 days)
Written on 2014-01-15

 Friendly and quiet.

Well don't bother with the VIP. We were NOT received with a welcome cocktail or cold towel but with Rolando, a miserable uncaring sort who wouldn't even direct us to a working elevator though we asked 3 times and waited 15 min. before a guest showed us which one worked. A second will go up if you call down but Rolando wont tell you. Beach towel in the room? NO! Now sounds bad right but that's it, it was all up hill after that. Oh ya, the bed was like a prison cot(dont really know for sure but it was hard); we asked for toppers and had 3 inches of foam added in the morning giving the nicest bed we have ever had in Cuba. The room was clean and kept clean and the mini bar was maintained as promised. The ocean view from the fourth floor was wonderful.
The pool was very nice and not over crowded though the pool swim up bar is in the shade. But that might be nice on really hot day.
The beach unfortunately has recently been washed out and is narrow but I seen a lot worse. As a matter of fact some folks from the Breezes Bella Costa were using the Tuxpan beach because theirs was much worse.
The food was OK. The Rancho upstairs was the best; they tried really hard to make our dinner a romantic experience.. Coffee from one of the 3 coffee bars was excellent(coffee, lobby, pool bars).
All in all this is 3 1/2 star that really is a 3 1/2 star minus Rolando and the washed out beach. Even so, I WOULD definitely recommend the Tuxpan but whether or not the mini-bar and 4th floor view is worth the VIP price, I'm not so sure, I did enjoy both.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Well laid out motel with beach close to main building. The staff was amazingly friendly, courteous and helpful. The food was a little better than I have experienced in Cuba.

The weak points
The beach has been recently washed out to see and is right now very narrow. Rolando at evening reception was a bad first impression of the motel.

Monarc.ca Certified

tajupp
Stay from 2013-11-28 to 2013-12-05 (7 days)
Written on 2013-12-11

 Tuxpan vacation

The hotel was constantly under construction, the food was generally scarce and inedible, the servers were unacceptably rude. I guess you get what you pay.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean, view, cleanliness

The weak points
Food, service

Monarc.ca Certified

Larisa Ulanova
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-11-16 to 2013-11-23 (7 days)
Written on 2013-11-25

 Keeps getting better!!!

This was our 3rd time there in a year and it just keeps on getting better, including the food. The staff are wonderful. This is my home-away-from-home. Can't wait to go back again!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service, food, beach

The weak points
I don't have any

Monarc.ca Certified

Lori
Pickering, ON
Stay from 2013-11-07 to 2013-11-14 (7 days)
Written on 2013-11-16

 Simply wonderful !!

Second time in this hotel and I was treated like family!! Can't wait to go back!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,staff and everything else!!

The weak points
No weak points for me. It's Cuba...don't expect miracles!!

Monarc.ca Certified

Antonia Staicou
Montreal, QC
Stay from 2013-09-20 to 2013-10-04 (14 days)
Written on 2013-10-06

 Good time

Nice place; hotel kind of outdated but totally acceptable; no problems with food or drinks; no real disturbing issues with the room; majority of staff helpful; excellent beach. We would take it into consideration for booking again if going back to Varadero.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, cleanliness.

The weak points
Very loud music till 1:00 am at the Pool Bar.

Monarc.ca Certified

Traveler
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-07-28 to 2013-08-04 (7 days)
Written on 2013-08-06

 For price, it was ok

This is defiantly an older hotel and very small from what we were used to. The people throughout the resort were great, exception the front desk staff were very cold. The food was very bland. I found that as the resort got full the food did get better, but there were no place to get snacks u less you liked cheese sandwiches everyday. The rooms were very old, but clean. Definitely ask for a bed topper. The view from our room was incredible. The beach was fantastic, but the beach bar staff were not that friendly. Overall it was an ok time, but I would not return, mainly because I prefer a little bigger resort that offers more through out the day and better variety. I also like to try new places
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds staff was friendly

The weak points
Food, activities, no wifi, small

Monarc.ca Certified

At
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-03-27 to 2013-04-06 (10 days)
Written on 2013-04-08

 Varadero Tuxpan

We love the Tuxpan. Small, friendly,wonderful beach!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,size

The weak points
Pool bar closes at dinner time for a large carte restaurant

Monarc.ca Certified

Roland Mosley
Halifax, NS
Stay from 2013-03-19 to 2013-03-26 (7 days)
Written on 2013-03-29

 Would stay again

Was great for the price. Had it's faults but met many people who were staying there for the 5th or more time and who had been to other hotels as well. Food was not as bad as we had heard. Staff was very friendly. Really enjoyed our first visit to Cuba.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, food wasn't bad, very nice pool, good entertainment

The weak points
hard beds without asking for a foam topper, toilet leaked even after being fixed

Monarc.ca Certified

Lea
Lasalle, MB
Stay from 2013-02-20 to 2013-02-27 (7 days)
Written on 2013-03-01

 Nice place to stay

The hotel itself is a bit run down but it's a really nice place to stay. The staff is helpful and friendly. The food exceeded my expectations and what's really important the chef and all the people working in the buffet and restaurants are great people, extremely kind and professional. I don't understand why some reviewers mention they didn't quite like the food or had stomach problems. My feeling was that many tourists just stuffed themselves with incompatible foods, wasted food (which is a shame to do in Cuba), and downed it with so much alcohol that no wonder they might have issues with digestion. I travelled with a 4-year-old and we were very happy with the service, the room, the entertainment (good variety of live music from salsa to jazz plus dancing shows), and the food. A lot of the food that was served was of better quality than in Canada: ecologically cleaner. Fruit is amazing, of course, but, in addition, their eggs (cooked in front of you the way you like) were much better than what we buy here in Winnipeg and the desserts were all made of real stuff rather than chemicals one buys in Canadian stores. The only issue we had was the kids' club. The employee for the kids' club was the only wrong person in the resort. Otherwise, everyone in the administration, everyone working with food or drinks, the maids, the porters, the staff working at the beach tried their best. Both I and my daughter would love to come back to Tuxpan. I wish tourists (esp. Russians and Czechs) would have been more generous with the tips for the staff that was extremely courteous and never even asked for tips. What really touched my heart was that the Cubans even managed to give my daughter gifts. I took a cab to Havana and we had a terrific cab driver (suggested by the doorman at Tuxpan), expremely helpful. And the Cubans from the tourist agency who work on the buses to and from the airport were also wonderfully helpful.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, beach, entertainment

The weak points
kids' club. I hope the administration will find a more suitable person to work with kids. The lady who was to be at the kids' club was most of the time away, & claimed her lunch was from 12:00 until 3:00 (which showed on her figure :)

Monarc.ca Certified

maria's mom
Winnipeg, MB
Stay from 2013-02-16 to 2013-02-24 (8 days)
Written on 2013-02-26
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Blau Varadero

Blau Varadero

Varadero


470 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


513 reviews


Beaches

Blau Varadero

Blau Varadero

Varadero


470 reviews


Families

Grand Memories Varadero

Grand Memories Varadero

Varadero


57 reviews


Couples

Be Live Experience Turquesa

Be Live Experience Turquesa

Varadero


361 reviews


Singles

Barcelo Solymar

Barcelo Solymar

Varadero


475 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


373 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry