Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Tuxpan
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Tuxpan
 Description
 See on map

Tuxpan

 

(3.39)
Based on 198 reviews

Overall Impression: #22 of 57 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #23 of 57 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #32 of 57 hotels.
Beaches: #6 of 57 hotels.
Families: #11 of 57 hotels.
Couples: #10 of 57 hotels.
Singles: #22 of 57 hotels.
Seniors: #16 of 57 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (90)

Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan Traveller picture - Tuxpan

Travellers Reviews

All
16
81
71
25
5


pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

 Great beach

We enjoyed our stay here. The resort staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, food was better than expected. The beach was fantastic and the pool is large and clean. We had an oceanview room which was nice but the nightly entertainment was louder than expected but only lasted between 1-2 hours (9:30-11:30pm). The gardenview rooms would probably be a quiter option. Overall it was a nice resort. We would gladly stay here again.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach

The weak points
nightly entertainment noise

Mike
Sherwood Park , AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-30 to 2014-04-05 (6 days)

 Coming here again...

I read reviews of hotels for a several hours and ended up staying here. Had great experience! Beach is main reason to come to Cuba and this did not disappoint. Relatively short walk to the beach from the room. Many hotels appeared to be quite far. Plenty of chairs so no worries there.
The food was awesome - if you ask me their food is better than Canadian because they need to use a bit more creativity to come up with dishes which taste good on their own merits. Tuxpan does use spices too though and has salt/pepper/steak sauces if you want but I didn't need any.

The room was good - air conditioner worked better than in most North American hotels because it was virtually silent, not like your typical hotel with the noisy window air conditioner/heater.

Even had CTV and CNN on tv.

WHEN I come back to Cuba, I won't even bother looking at reviews, we will simply go back to Tuxpan.

The hotel isn't going to be for EVERYONE - there may be other hotels with bowling alleys and waterslides and night clubs etc that other people want. Tuxpan has a night club but we were so worn out from the beach we went to bed so early I don't even know if it was in operation.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing atmosphere, terrific beach, great staff.

The weak points
Very little to complain about, the a la carte restaurant didn't serve beer or cola so we had to drink water because we don't drink wine. So very minor!

Roadworm
Aberdeen, SK
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-22 to 2014-03-30 (8 days)

 Nice vacation

We picked this hotel based on the reviews we saw here and other sites. It was a good choice for the money as we liked it, the food was pretty good and the hotel is pretty nice. The only bad thing we got was the first room, which I asked to change on the second day because it was smelling musty and the bathroom was old with even the edge of the tub rusted. The room they gave us after was good and with a new bathroom. The buffet dining room is nice, the pool is big and one of the best around there and all the staff at the hotel and beach bar is nice and very friendly. Included, there is a show every night, the dancers and animators are very good. Also at the beach they offer catamaran rides, pedal boats and kayaking. We enjoyed our vacation and we might go back here one day, unless we decide to try something new.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the pool and the staff.

The weak points
sometime you might get a bedroom that smell musty, but generally they switch it the day after. Not enough chairs at the beach and at the pool.

Luisa
Oakville, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-12 to 2014-03-19 (7 days)

 Du soleil et de beaux sourires! :)

Si vous recherchez une belle plage dans un hôtel au personnel toujours souriant et sympa, c'est assurément la place! :) par contre, si vous y allez pour le luxe, la bonne bouffe... Vous serez peut-être déçus ! L'endroit est très propre cela dit! De plus, le resto à la carte "elle rancho" vaut le coup! Spectacles en soirée sont bien, mais ça se termine tôt. En résumé, c'est un assez bon rapport qualité-prix... :)
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La plage, le personnel, la propreté

The weak points
Le buffet, l'ambiance nocturne

Marie
Saint-Hyacinthe, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-03-01 to 2014-03-09 (8 days)

 Solid 3.5 * resort

My 5-th and enjoyable holidays in Cuba. Great beach, nice lush, well kept grounds. Decent size pools. Food ok, typical for Cuba, Oscar works hard at the omlet station, bring your own spices, if desire, like chili, taco, peanut butter, honey. Both a'la carte restaurants worth trying. Good expresso and other coffee at the lobby/piano bar (piano and saxophone musicians from 6-9pm) and at the coffee bar plaza. Rooms a bid dated, as the resort is about 25 years old. Enough loungers at the swimming pools or under palapas at the beach. Say hi to Renaldo at the pool, Milady, Enrique at the dinning area. They all work hard. Tip accordingly, as they don't make much. Soap, toothpaste, clothes, shoes, school supplies are always in big demand. Evening shows at 9:30pm are ok, typical for resorts. Internet access extremely slow, not worth 5 CUC per 1/2 hour. AC cools rooms adequately. Save 25 CUC for departure taxes p/person.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, lush greenery, convenient location, not far from Varadero, double decker buses every 15 min, food, drinks

The weak points
on few nights loud music at the pool bar well past midnight, some drunk Russian tourists, musty smell in rooms, diesel like odour on some nights, more group exercise in the pool or on the beach would be nice, lack of posted info about activities

Sun seeker
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-25 to 2014-03-04 (7 days)

 Très belle expérience

Très bel hôtel et très bien situé. Le service aux chambres était excellent. L`air climatisé fonctionne lentement mais, on s`accommode en laissant la porte patio fermer ! Le personnel est très gentil partout ! Le buffet très bon, on trouve toujours quelque chose de bon à manger. Le resto el rancho est très bon mais, fait beaucoup trop chaud car il est à l`intérieur et pas d`air climatisée. Le Colibri par contre, Cubain, très très bon et est sur la terrasse face à la scène des spectacles le soir. Le snack bar à la plage a manqué de bière pour quelques heures mais, c`est le meilleur endroit pour manger un Super bon burger avec frites et ils sont délicieux !Nous avons eu quelques petits problèmes genre: oublié la clé dans la chambre, l`air climatisé trop faible etc...le personnel de la réception a toujours été très sympathique et nous ont aidé à tout régler tout en gardant le sourire. Ils sont vraiment très gentils partout ! Et que dire de la magnifique plage !Après être aller visiter les plages des autres hôtels, nous avons conclus que nous avions la plus belle plage du coin et la mieux surveiller !Pas de vendeurs, toujours plein de chaises, le sable comme de la farine et la mer avec pratiquement pas de saletés à notre hauteur. C`est peut dire après avoir vu les autres plages et leurs algues, déchets et jellyfish ! Bref, une Super belle semaine de vacance où nous retournerons à cet hôtel avec grand plaisir !
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel très gentil, la propreté autant à l`intérieur qu`à l`extérieur et évidement la plage.

The weak points
Service un peu lent aux différent bar mais, ne pas oublier qu`on est en vacances !

Marc
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-20 to 2014-02-27 (7 days)

 Cuba 2014

Hotel was recently painted and outdoor work is in progress. It was very clean, and people commenting on my photos said it appeared to be an expensive hotel. The pool is beautiful and the beach magnificent, and the food better than we had expected having heard so many negative comments about Cuba. All staff were very friendly and helpful and we received a written thank you note from our maid for the tips we left, and she replaced bottled water and room supplies every day which usually doesn't happen when we travel south. My daughter and I became violently ill our last night, perhaps a virus, and at 3 am my husband went to the front desk to ask for assistance. They suggested a 24 hour clinic, phoned them, and the doorman called us a cab and were all concerned for our wellbing. When my husband returned alone a few hours later to pack our bags and they heard our daughter was on IV they assisted him in every way and the desk staff helped him with a call to our insurance carrier. There weren't many organized activities, but between excursions and walking on the beach, we didn't mind. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent friendly staff, cleanliness, pool, beach

The weak points
Broken elevators, one not working at all and the other temperamental, but not a problem for us as we used stairs and enjoyed the exercise

Sandy
Peterborough, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-16 to 2014-02-23 (7 days)

 Amazing Beach

After walking several beaches in Varadero I soon recognized that the beach front at the Tuxpan was the best the city had to offer during the week we were there. The food was pretty bad for the first couple of days but seemed to get better as the week progressed. The beds however did not get better and a sore back put a damper on my enjoyment. They had no bed toppers and told me they had just replaced all of the mattresses so didn't need them anymore. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout the resort. Rooms were kept clean. Overall had a great time. Would consider going back because of the beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach

The weak points
Beds were hard

Dawn Fleischhacker
Chestermere, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-07 to 2014-02-15 (8 days)

 Tuxpan is great

Hotel was very great. Friendly service in every aspect. Great food. Very nicely kept hotel and grounds.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Workers are very nice at this resort.

The weak points
Elevator didn't work a few times

Shannon Yarmuch
Fort Saskatchewan, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-02-02 to 2014-02-08 (6 days)

 Varadero

Le personnel est super.....le service est très bien...
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le personnel est très aimable ,la propreté,le buffet était bien ,la plage est belle....l'accueil est très bien

The weak points
en général c'est bien

momo
Varennes, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-31 to 2014-02-07 (7 days)

 Tuxpan

Good value for money.Staff are friendly and helpful.Welcomed at front desk with drink.Room is clean and large enough. Safe works well.Bathtub was slow to drain while showering & was not fixed .Food was delicious.New coffee bar opened ...good.Live entertainment every evening in the piano bar and main dining room.Beach awesome as usual.Lots of chairs & not crammed together like at other hotels & no loud music on the beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms,friendly staff,lots of good food & drink.Grounds are beautiful .

The weak points
Lots of stairs.Elevators are few & slow.Slow bathtub drain.

P Mcneil
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-19 to 2014-01-26 (7 days)

 Belle semaine!

Nous avons séjourné du 16 au 23 a l'hôtel Tuxpan. C'est très bien comme endroit, vraiment très propre, bon service plus rapide que ce que j'ai déjà vue a Cuba, le buffet est bon, les restaurants a la carte très bien sauf celui prêt de la piscine le colibri, belle plage. Un hôtel tranquille, les spectacle comme partout ailleurs à Cuba.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, propreté, service.

The weak points
Restaurant le colibri et les chaises sur la plage.

Kary
L Ancienne-Lorette, QC
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-16 to 2014-01-23 (7 days)

 Great time

Hotel dated but didn't spend time in room. Plenty of hot water, lots of chairs, people friendly had great time. Food was above par for Cuba. Stairs in hotel not great for people with mobility problems. Lots of renovations going on. Will only get better
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The people were terrific. The location was great, we walked into Varadero. The pools large, lots of chairs.

The weak points
The vip package not worth it. Only got to keep room an extra 3 hours, only used water from fridge. Everyone got water and a free bottle of rum. We got two bottles of rum. Beach view was noisy, better on other side of building. So would not go vip.

Ellizabeth
Douro-Dummer, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-14 to 2014-01-21 (7 days)

 Perfect 3 star resort

we arrived at the tuxpan on a Thursday, my sister and I with our daughters. We were only there for a long weekend and it was wonderful.....only a 3 hour flight from Toronto, so we had the afternoon and evening, 2 full days and then we left sunday afternoon. Beach perfect, pool area very large with plenty of lounges, bars everywhere, never big line ups. Huge dinning room, again never line ups. 2 a la carte, very charming. The staff at the resort is outstanding, special mention Henry, Ricardo, "Kiki", and Aleanka. Quick taxi drive in a l953 car, walked around shops. It is a charming, clean, efficient resort. I then met my husband in Toronto and returned with him for another 7 days......A wonderful restful getaway for all ages.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
beach,staff, location, clean

The weak points
internet

Judith Anne Brabant
Garson, ON
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-13 to 2014-01-20 (7 days)

 Satisfied

i was satisfied with all the service found the the beef and pork very tough other than that i had a great trip
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
great staff

The weak points
food

gary emond
Edmonton, AB
Review for hotel Tuxpan
from 2014-01-06 to 2014-01-13 (7 days)

 J'en ais eu pour mon argent

Vraiment surpris pour cette hôtel ,l'emplacement est super ,proche de Varadéro .La nourriture quand même bien , le personnel est très bien roder. Je vais y retourner .
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Vraiment surpris pour cette hôtel ,l'emplacement est super ,proche de Varadéro .La nourriture quand même bien , le personnel est très bien roder. Je vais y retourner .

The weak points
manque de lumiere dans la chambre de bain,

D Laf
Quebec, QC
Stay from 2013-12-28 to 2014-01-04 (7 days)

 Friendly and quiet.

Well don't bother with the VIP. We were NOT received with a welcome cocktail or cold towel but with Rolando, a miserable uncaring sort who wouldn't even direct us to a working elevator though we asked 3 times and waited 15 min. before a guest showed us which one worked. A second will go up if you call down but Rolando wont tell you. Beach towel in the room? NO! Now sounds bad right but that's it, it was all up hill after that. Oh ya, the bed was like a prison cot(dont really know for sure but it was hard); we asked for toppers and had 3 inches of foam added in the morning giving the nicest bed we have ever had in Cuba. The room was clean and kept clean and the mini bar was maintained as promised. The ocean view from the fourth floor was wonderful.
The pool was very nice and not over crowded though the pool swim up bar is in the shade. But that might be nice on really hot day.
The beach unfortunately has recently been washed out and is narrow but I seen a lot worse. As a matter of fact some folks from the Breezes Bella Costa were using the Tuxpan beach because theirs was much worse.
The food was OK. The Rancho upstairs was the best; they tried really hard to make our dinner a romantic experience.. Coffee from one of the 3 coffee bars was excellent(coffee, lobby, pool bars).
All in all this is 3 1/2 star that really is a 3 1/2 star minus Rolando and the washed out beach. Even so, I WOULD definitely recommend the Tuxpan but whether or not the mini-bar and 4th floor view is worth the VIP price, I'm not so sure, I did enjoy both.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Well laid out motel with beach close to main building. The staff was amazingly friendly, courteous and helpful. The food was a little better than I have experienced in Cuba.

The weak points
The beach has been recently washed out to see and is right now very narrow. Rolando at evening reception was a bad first impression of the motel.

tajupp
Stay from 2013-11-28 to 2013-12-05 (7 days)

 Tuxpan vacation

The hotel was constantly under construction, the food was generally scarce and inedible, the servers were unacceptably rude. I guess you get what you pay.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean, view, cleanliness

The weak points
Food, service

Larisa Ulanova
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-11-16 to 2013-11-23 (7 days)

 Keeps getting better!!!

This was our 3rd time there in a year and it just keeps on getting better, including the food. The staff are wonderful. This is my home-away-from-home. Can't wait to go back again!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, service, food, beach

The weak points
I don't have any

Lori
Pickering, ON
Stay from 2013-11-07 to 2013-11-14 (7 days)

 Deuxieme fois

Suite à une autre expérience nous avons encore bien aimer un tit peu moins pour le buffet soit du midi ou du soir manque beaucoup de variété comparer à l'année passé plus de choix l'année passé et n'avons pu profiter de la plage a cause du vent mais le personnel adorable surement que nous y retournerons.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le personnel,la plage,le lobby bar,bon spectacle

The weak points
le buffet

Nicole Morin
Tadoussac, QC
Stay from 2013-10-22 to 2013-10-29 (7 days)

 5 ième visite à cet hôtel

Hôtel vieillot mais propre
cette année le buffet était vraiment répétitif je ladmet mais quand même bon... on est à cuba ... Le personnel toujours aussi souriant.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
la gentillesse du personnel et la propreté

The weak points
le buffet

Claudia Murray
Sacre-Coeur, QC
Stay from 2013-10-22 to 2013-10-29 (7 days)

 Simply wonderful !!

Second time in this hotel and I was treated like family!! Can't wait to go back!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,staff and everything else!!

The weak points
No weak points for me. It's Cuba...don't expect miracles!!

Antonia Staicou
Montreal, QC
Stay from 2013-09-20 to 2013-10-04 (14 days)

 Good time

Nice place; hotel kind of outdated but totally acceptable; no problems with food or drinks; no real disturbing issues with the room; majority of staff helpful; excellent beach. We would take it into consideration for booking again if going back to Varadero.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, cleanliness.

The weak points
Very loud music till 1:00 am at the Pool Bar.

Traveler
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-07-28 to 2013-08-04 (7 days)

 Correct pour le prix

belle plage, la bouffe peu varié mais assez bonne. cet hotel est le festival des escaliers(plusieurs paliers)...difficile pour les personnes avec mobilité resteinte. le personnel au resto très gentil et le resto a la carte El Colibri très bon.

merci
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
la plage, le personnel en général, buffet assez bon..

The weak points
plafond de chambre qui coule.beaucoup d'escalier dans cet hotel....pas pratique pour les personnes a mobilité restreinte.

linda E
Mascouche, QC
Stay from 2013-03-31 to 2013-04-07 (7 days)

 For price, it was ok

This is defiantly an older hotel and very small from what we were used to. The people throughout the resort were great, exception the front desk staff were very cold. The food was very bland. I found that as the resort got full the food did get better, but there were no place to get snacks u less you liked cheese sandwiches everyday. The rooms were very old, but clean. Definitely ask for a bed topper. The view from our room was incredible. The beach was fantastic, but the beach bar staff were not that friendly. Overall it was an ok time, but I would not return, mainly because I prefer a little bigger resort that offers more through out the day and better variety. I also like to try new places
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds staff was friendly

The weak points
Food, activities, no wifi, small

At
Toronto, ON
Stay from 2013-03-27 to 2013-04-06 (10 days)

 Varadero Tuxpan

We love the Tuxpan. Small, friendly,wonderful beach!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,size

The weak points
Pool bar closes at dinner time for a large carte restaurant

Roland Mosley
Halifax, NS
Stay from 2013-03-19 to 2013-03-26 (7 days)

 Would stay again

Was great for the price. Had it's faults but met many people who were staying there for the 5th or more time and who had been to other hotels as well. Food was not as bad as we had heard. Staff was very friendly. Really enjoyed our first visit to Cuba.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, food wasn't bad, very nice pool, good entertainment

The weak points
hard beds without asking for a foam topper, toilet leaked even after being fixed

Lea
Lasalle, MB
Stay from 2013-02-20 to 2013-02-27 (7 days)

 Nice place to stay

The hotel itself is a bit run down but it's a really nice place to stay. The staff is helpful and friendly. The food exceeded my expectations and what's really important the chef and all the people working in the buffet and restaurants are great people, extremely kind and professional. I don't understand why some reviewers mention they didn't quite like the food or had stomach problems. My feeling was that many tourists just stuffed themselves with incompatible foods, wasted food (which is a shame to do in Cuba), and downed it with so much alcohol that no wonder they might have issues with digestion. I travelled with a 4-year-old and we were very happy with the service, the room, the entertainment (good variety of live music from salsa to jazz plus dancing shows), and the food. A lot of the food that was served was of better quality than in Canada: ecologically cleaner. Fruit is amazing, of course, but, in addition, their eggs (cooked in front of you the way you like) were much better than what we buy here in Winnipeg and the desserts were all made of real stuff rather than chemicals one buys in Canadian stores. The only issue we had was the kids' club. The employee for the kids' club was the only wrong person in the resort. Otherwise, everyone in the administration, everyone working with food or drinks, the maids, the porters, the staff working at the beach tried their best. Both I and my daughter would love to come back to Tuxpan. I wish tourists (esp. Russians and Czechs) would have been more generous with the tips for the staff that was extremely courteous and never even asked for tips. What really touched my heart was that the Cubans even managed to give my daughter gifts. I took a cab to Havana and we had a terrific cab driver (suggested by the doorman at Tuxpan), expremely helpful. And the Cubans from the tourist agency who work on the buses to and from the airport were also wonderfully helpful.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, beach, entertainment

The weak points
kids' club. I hope the administration will find a more suitable person to work with kids. The lady who was to be at the kids' club was most of the time away, & claimed her lunch was from 12:00 until 3:00 (which showed on her figure :)

maria's mom
Winnipeg, MB
Stay from 2013-02-16 to 2013-02-24 (8 days)

 Cuba vacation

the tuxpan is a good place to stay the food is good and the staff is friendly and helpful
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
staff and hotel is a good place stay you need a cab to go down town it is too far to walk if your not young

The weak points
my only weak point is the matress could be replaced they are very hard for me

Peter Deveaux
London, ON
Stay from 2013-02-08 to 2013-02-16 (8 days)

 Great place to go to loose weight

good servers in main dining room-great beach-food was cold often uncooked-very little choice-started skipping meals near the end-line up for everything food and bar,on days when beach bar and pool bar was closed the line ups at the others was even longer-staff at all bars would stop serving to have conversations with other members of staff Could be a great spot with a little service-forced to recomend this place but really wouldn't
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
great beach-servers in main dinning room were great

The weak points
long lines for cold and uncooked food-very little variety-no wi fi-long lines for drinks- got 2 english channels on tv

Henry Tallack
London, ON
Stay from 2013-01-25 to 2013-02-08 (14 days)


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Melia Marina Varadero

Melia Marina Varadero

Varadero


76 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


424 reviews


Beaches

Club Los Delfines

Club Los Delfines

Varadero


170 reviews


Families

Sol Palmeras

Sol Palmeras

Varadero


162 reviews


Couples

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


424 reviews


Singles

Super Club Surprise

Super Club Surprise

Varadero


15 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


313 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry