Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Roc Barlovento
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Roc Barlovento

 

3.313.313.313.313.31 (3.31)
Based on 497 reviews

Overall Impression: #23 of 60 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #22 of 60 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #26 of 60 hotels.
Beaches: #24 of 60 hotels.
Families: #48 of 60 hotels.
Couples: #30 of 60 hotels.
Singles: #32 of 60 hotels.
Seniors: #19 of 60 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (94)

Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento

Travellers Reviews

Pro The Pro seal identifies a review written by a travel agent. Certified The Certified seal identifies a review written by a traveller with a confirmed booking.
All
27
206
181
61
22
Language of review:



pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

 Let down

The lethargy and indifference of the staff is quite noticeable. Probably a result of the (communist) political system. One day there were no coffee cups, next day no spoons, no towels replaced, etc. Coffee comes from (if you can believe it) two pushbutton operated machines that make one cup at a time. One was often out of service. You can imagine the lineups. Maybe we should tell them about urns. Water is not served automatically, you have to ask for it. And you're lucky to get it by the time you finish your meal.
Stray cats and dogs are running around freely on the property. There are only a small number of chairs on the beach; you have to get up at 4am to get one.
We were lucky, but some people had no toilet seats in their rooms.
Tried the Fusion and the Sushi restaurants, both not worth the bother. Everybody liked the salmon in the Fusion, though. The main buffet is not bad; best to stick with that.
The resort makes no effort to control (spray) insects; there's lots of mosquitos. Don't open your balcony door at night! We did and we have the bites to prove it.
Smoking is allowed everywhere except in the rooms and dining rooms. Apart from ourselves and a few German tourists all the other guests were from "La Belle Provence". And they took full advantage of that freedom smoking constantly.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The water is warm and clear. It was a pleasure swimming in such clean waters. Much different from the Pacific (Mexican) side.

The weak points
It's not as all inclusive as advertised. For example: If you want a drink such as a brown cow, you're required to buy a whole bottle of Kahlua at 170 cuc. The beach is never cleaned, lots of debris on it. Difficult to get a chair.

Monarc.ca Certified

Felix Possak
Kelowna, BC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2016-04-08 to 2016-04-15 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-17

 My roc experience

did not start well. bathroom troubles. got it rectified the next day.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
the beach is awesome. its very close to the airport adult only food was great.

The weak points
front desk not to helpful.

Monarc.ca Certified

Warren Anger
St Thomas, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2016-03-23 to 2016-03-30 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-01

 Not what expected but it was ok.

The hotel needs some updating. The older rooms are in major need of repair. We had 3 days of raw sewage fumes. Maid came and put garbage pale over the bathroom floor vent and smell went away. Food was lacking even for Cuban standards. A few rude staff. Been to Cuba many times probably
won't visit this property again. They should have a no towel policy on beach chairs as there is not enough chairs for resort. Ran out of towels 2 days
in row. Can't expect much from a 3*in Cuba but The weather was amazing :) we did ask to move rooms. They showed us one then informed us it wouldn't fit our triple occupancy. So we stayed where we were.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The location is great for access to downtown and restaraunts. Some of the staff were awesome!!

The weak points
Price should be reduced for rooms still needing upgrading. Wasn't worth the money. It is adults only yet kids were there in the lobby and beach.

Monarc.ca Certified

Lori
Newtonville, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2016-02-26 to 2016-03-04 (7 days)
Written on 2016-03-07

 Very good time at Barlovento

My partner and I had a very good time at Barlovento. The beach is superb - the only drawback was the weather, which kept us off the beach a couple of days. We liked the Spanish-style facility a lot and the setting is excellent. The food not so much, but there was plenty of it and we certainly didn't go hungry.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Charming facility, beautiful setting, an interesting town

The weak points
Bland, mediocre food. front desk not all that friendly or helpful

Monarc.ca Certified

Dave Margoshes
Saskatoon, SK
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2016-02-02 to 2016-02-10 (8 days)
Written on 2016-02-16

 Underwhelming

We visited Roc Barlovento between January 9-16 2016. Having been to Cuba several times before, and knowing this is not a 5 star resort, our expectations were set accordingly. We've even been to a 3.5 star resort (versus Roc rated at 4) in Varadero, as well as 5 star in Varadero, so we knew what to expect. Unfortunately Roc Barlovento left a lot to be desired.

Lobby/check-in:
Small lobby area with some seating, a bar, and a coffee bar. Check in was smooth and they even had a room ready for us when we checked in around 11:30am. We requested a new room (see more details in Room description) and they accommodated us. Nothing impressive about this lobby so to say, but the front desk was mostly helpful. Bathrooms in the lobby were mostly clean.

Room:
As mentioned, we received a room right away even though we were checking in early, so that was a pleasant surprise. However, once getting to the room, we weren't as excited anymore. The room was old and run down, smelled musty, and overall was not welcoming or inviting to want to stay there for a week. I placed my knee on the bed for a feel, and cold feel springs digging in. The bathroom was not anything we wanted to use, and the bathtub was all chipped and looked perma-stained. We trekked back to the front desk and begged for a new room., having known from previous reviews that there are renovated rooms. They promised that they could move us the next day, but after some persistence on our part, they agreed to give us a new room the same day, it just wouldn't be til about 3 or 4pm...no problem!! When we did get into the new room, it was much better. It was fresh and clean. Bathroom didn't look totally renovated, but a huge improvement & acceptable. Toilet was broken, which they fixed the next day. Sliding balcony door didn't lock, and was never fixed (we were second floor), and shower head barely had any pressure (but worked!). Overall the room has very basic amenities...weird long flat pillow, fridge (not stocked with anything), once a day house keeping as usual, only one towel per person. Oh yes, one strange thing was that the bathroom door had a huge cut out with clear glass in it, like a window in the door..very odd! As we were sisters staying there, we draped one of the extra covers over it for privacy haha. Anyways, overall we were satisfied with the room and do recommend requesting one of the renovated rooms if you can.

Pools:
There are two pool areas. There's a pool right near the lobby, with a smaller one right beside it that's less than knee deep. There's also another pool closer to the beach. None of the pools seemed too inviting. There was also a ridiculously small amount of loungers around the pools, with lots of room for extras. In fact, I counted there only to be 13 loungers near the pool by the lobby! Meanwhile, they beach had stacks of extra loungers. Needless to say, unless you reserved one early, you weren't getting any room by the pools. People seemed to enjoy lounging near them, but I feel like the entire week we only saw a handful of people using the actual pools.

Beach:
We love the Varadero beaches, and have come back for this reason! One thing that was surprising was the amount of broken seashells etc that were on the shore. Could be the time of year as it did appear to continue further down the beach too (we walked along shore for a couple hours). Not sure if other resorts have just done a better job cleaning it up, but it certainly didn't ruin anything for us. The water is beautiful! We had some unfortunate weather, and it got pretty windy some days and provided for waves, but once it was clear and calm, it's wonderful. We did reserve loungers every morning, but found there was usually extras anyways. The lifeguard would usually help you get some off the stack and drag them to your desired location for you. There were lots of broken loungers, and they all looked well used (dirty), but your towel goes over it anyways, so no problem! As a side note on reserving chairs, one day when we did this our towel was stolen. Had to pay the hotel 10 CUC for this :( Luckily though we were allowed to change to clean towels every day, even though it said only 3 times per week. There is a small bar at the beach, but out of the entire week, it was only opened once. This could have been as the weather wasn't the best..but even on one of the days with great weather when the beach was full..no bar!

Service:
I call this resort "self-service". Most times during any meal at the buffet, we ended up going to get our own drinks as the waiter took forever to get to us. Service at the bars/coffee bar was good.

Food:
Upon check in they gave us the days/times we were already pre-booked in for the a la carte dinners. We didn't make them, so can't comment there. We frequented the buffet (there's only one) for breakfast/dinner, and usually the grill type place closer to the beach for lunch. Food wasn't horrible, but nothing to write home about. Again, we know the food quality in Cuba to be expected. Alot of repetitive items throughout the week, and from meal to meal it seemed. There was always someting to eat. Only complaint is that nothing ever seemed hot. Even seeing them bring out a new tray of food, and it's only warm. Unless you're super picky..you'll survive :)

Entertainment:
Overall seems like there's not much going on for entertainment. We had a basically 2 days of full rain, and had it not been for a book to read, we' have been bored silly throughout the day! Cannot comment on any night shows as we didn't go.

Locaton:
Great location that's close to the airport and to town. We walked into the town where the flea markets are etc several times. It does take about an hour, but it's safe and you get to see the town on your way a bit. We also walked along the beach into town, which was lovely. We'd usually catch a taxi home after a tiring day, and we paid 5 CUC. Considering the double decker bus which takes you into town is 5 CUC per person, it's worth it even if you take a taxi there and back. The "fancier" taxis such as the older style convertible may be a bit more expensive (we paid 7 CUC), but if you want the experience it's worth it!

Overall, I probably wouldn't return to this resort. I'd prefer somewhere larger with more amenities/entertainment, and pools that were more inviting. I probably could have paid $200 less and gone to the same 3.5 star I'd been to before and been just as happy if not happier!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants

Monarc.ca Certified

Am24
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2016-01-09 to 2016-01-16 (7 days)
Written on 2016-01-18

 Cuba in December

This was my second visit to the resort.
It is adult-only, not in the party-party sense, but the luxury of relaxing sense. My rooms, all the grounds and public areas were very clean and pleasant.
On checking in, ensure the fuses are all activated, so that all the lights turn on, and that the fridge is on.
The maid is responsible for your daily bottle of water, please tip her well.
I came for much-needed peace and quiet, plus a dash of fun, and that is what I found.
The service is very attentive.
I took the sight-seeing bus around Varadero and found fun souvenirs at the market.
I went on an evening trip to Havana for the show at the Tropicana, a fabulous show under the stars. The drivers and tour guides are very informative.
The beach was fantastic, like a postcard.
The staff do lovely things to delight you, like weave grasses into souvenirs and fold towels and blankets into flowers and swans.
There are biting insects, bring antihistamine and afterbite or calamine gel. If you forget, there is a nurse on duty who can help you.
The sun is strong, bring sunscreen and aloe vera.
I had a massage from the hotel masseuse, it was fantastic.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The guests were nice people from all over the world. The staff remembered me and were very considerate and attentive. Fair exchange rate at the lobby desk. (Don't go anywhere else for that except perhaps the airport) Get your coffee from the barista.

The weak points
The Internet was very irregular.

Villette
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2015-12-11 to 2015-12-18 (7 days)
Written on 2016-04-17

 ROC Barlovento

The hotel is showing its lack of upkeep / maintenance.
The rooms were clean, but the bed and bedding ( including pillows ) were gnarly.
The beach was not the cleanest ....which was disappointing (in previous visits the beach has always been amazing)
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location was convenient , based on having accesss to other shops and restaurants ....and not far from the airport

The weak points
Needs updating / maintenance. Needs new bedding (mattress, pillows, sheets, towels)

Monarc.ca Certified

Disappointed
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2015-02-22 to 2015-03-02 (8 days)
Written on 2015-03-04

 Never again

Staff not service-oriented, except for one or two. Food variety is the worst I've seen in Cuba - this was our 4th trip to Cuba. You have to get up early to get a chair around the pool - never mind the beach where the "chair mafia" controls all the chairs - a game we don't like to play.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Departure.

The weak points
Front desk reception staff seem inconvenienced.

Monarc.ca Certified

Gilles Hubert
Gatineau, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2015-02-11 to 2015-02-25 (14 days)
Written on 2015-02-28

 So peaceful

What a wonderful week of sun, sand, peace.
Quiet room. Always found a beach lounger either at pool or beach. Great people at resort and around town. The italian restaurant across the street from Barlevento not to be missed. Food at resort satisfactory but monotonous. Great location. Great beach. Our 9th visit to Cuba. Second time at this resort. Would return.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, nice location for downtown shopping, gift giving to locals.

The weak points
Food a tad boring but the omelettes, bread and ice cream are so yummy.

Monarc.ca Certified

Rested
Saskatoon, SK
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2015-01-10 to 2015-01-18 (8 days)
Written on 2015-01-20

 Cuba is great Roc Barlovento is poor

Font desk was bad from the beginning.
Room was horrid.
Had a broken bed and no soap in the shower.
Remote for AC had no batteries and was too cold. ON the 2nd bed the AC would directly blow towards making sleeping impossible.
Food was OK but had to be careful, ( normal in Cuban resorts).
Some staff were amazing but on a whole not very helpful.
Safe deposit was not a deposit but a payment and was not explained.
No walk through of amenities was given by front desk.
Ripped off when converting currency, when I caught the staff they were very angry at me.
Front door person had almost no English, (don't expect them to be completely fluent but some could not even understand "where is the bus stop" which I know is a standard question.

Would never stay here even at a cheap rate.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches were nice. Location is great Free water rentals a plus The pools were nice a good pool table Ping pong Large chess set

The weak points
Room not swept No soap in shower when arrived. Front desk was horrid AC had mold in it which made us sick. and was loud, no remote(took 2 days to get it fixed. Beds were bad and one was broken.

Monarc.ca Certified

Faro J
North Vancouver, BC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2015-01-10 to 2015-01-17 (7 days)
Written on 2015-01-19

 Out to lunch

Make sure you book your A La Cartes when checking in. I waited and lost out. The first day I also waited 3 hours for a beach towel. There was a sign up on the club house counter that he was gone for lunch. Other staff including front desk weren't helpful. Finally a manager must have sent the staff member to open the club house to show me there were no towels due to them all being in laundry and he walked away. Had to go to customer service and lose it before it was resolved. Maid also ran out of towels next day for the same reason. Don't get how a beach resort runs out of towels. Room is basic. Asked for a hair dryer, never got one. There was something wrong with the lock on my door though and the maid took care of getting security and a locksmith which was helpful because changing rooms would have been impossible. The beach makes up for the rude front desk staff though. The location is also great. So close to downtown.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, crystal water, no weeds. The resort is kept clean. Pools are clean and warm.

The weak points
Front desk staff is rude, unfriendly, unhelpful. Most other staff are good except constant expectation of tips. Food.

Monarc.ca Certified

Kim
Mississauga, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-12-23 to 2014-12-29 (6 days)
Written on 2015-01-01

 You get what you pay for

This was our second trip to Cuba. We really enjoy the Cuban people. We always find them very friendly and helpful. We weren't expecting much from this 3 1/2 star resort and that's pretty much what we got. We arrived at 2:30 am and wondered what the heck we got ourselves into as we walked the resort with our first horrible rum punch. Not a sole in site, of course. The night was a little foggy and there was a sulphur smell in the air that left a nice metallic taste in your mouth. Not even the bad rum punch could wash it out (we later found out that the refinery between Varadero and Havana " sometimes lets off gas at night.... GREAT). The 24 hour "snacks" consisted of 5 dried up and partially burnt hamburgers ..... We passed on the offer for a late night snack. The rooms are old and need some work. First impression was not great. They were fairly clean and ok for the amount of time you spend in them. Our rooms faced the front street which turned out to be fairly annoying because of the restaurant across the street (They had live entertainment a couple of times that didn't end until 3:00 - 3:45 am. You may get lucky and get one of the rooms that face the main pool area. You have to listen to the stage show until about 11:00 every night but that seems like a reasonible sacrifice). Once the shock wore off and the sun came up the next day.....things started to look up and as the week went on, we started to find the grounds actually quite nice. (It tends to grow on you as the week goes on). They work very hard at keeping the grounds looking as nice as possible. The beach is great. Crystal clear water, no sea weed. Crappy loungers unless you can grab one of the newer ones. We never really had a problem getting something to sit on. People come and go all the time. Make sure you use some kind of bug spray on your legs / arms if you like sitting at the beach... The sand fleas got us and many others pretty good. The 3 pools are not huge but looked very clean. Easy to get a lounger if you like to sit at the pool. The food is sketchy. On special occasions, Christmas Eve, it was very good. Otherwise, your in Cuba....suck it up. Breakfast omelette station was good and pasta station at night was also good (for us). The drinks are VERY basic at this resort and not great. I learned to love beer a lot more on this trip. I think based on the food and drinks it should be rated as a 3 star. Overall, it was good to get away for some R & R. After some discussion over mucho cervesas, my wife and I agreed we would be tempted to come back to this resort if the price was cheaper. We paid $1185 each for one week. It would be more worth it for $1000 or under. "
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Resort grounds are nice, beach is large and very nice, crystal clear water and no sea weed, location is great..... An easy walk to restaurants, sidewalk cafes, "shopping", buses, etc.

The weak points
Food, for the most part is not good. Crappy selection for drinks, especially in the evening. Lobby bar is the worst!

Monarc.ca Certified

Les Jordan
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-12-21 to 2014-12-29 (8 days)
Written on 2014-12-31

 Possibly too poor to return

I contacted the Manager by email in Aug./14 & was assured things were being upgraded. I booked my vacation based on that info - big mistake. I have stayed at this hotel several times, most recently March/14. The food was of poor quality and there was a very poor selection of food. The Beach Grill was reduced to serving only lousy "hamburgers" & "hotdogs". Milk, juices & soups were obviously watered down regularly - they were generally not worth eating/drinking. The room still has wrecked furniture, tired bedding, very poor lighting & barely functional shower, toilet, TV, fridge & air conditioner. The beach area was covered with sea litter, which was not being cleaned - couldn't walk on the beach or go in the water without walking on the junk or having it wash over you in the water.

Our Chambermaid and most of the Staff were great, but, that can't make up for rest of the negative issues experienced at the resort.

Too bad, the location is perfect for my needs and the beach used to be great as well.

I am not sure I can pay for another vacation at Barlovento.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Location & Staff

The weak points
Resort is run down & the food was just terrible.

Monarc.ca Certified

Linda Linklater
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-11-06 to 2014-11-20 (14 days)
Written on 2014-11-24

 Excellent service!

Will return for sure!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
-excellent service from all staff members - they are friendly and always helpful; -beautiful beach area and lots of long chairs on the beach

The weak points
-rooms are outdated but the furniture and mattress will be all replaced during the winter, which will be a very nice improvement

Monarc.ca Certified

Mpimpare
Wendover, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-10-18 to 2014-10-25 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-27

 Pretty good but hot water ptoblems

Back in mid september for another visit.I like this hotel My third time this year however this time there seemed to be hot water issues. Spoke with the general manager and was told it was the amount of people. B.S. The hotel was only about 30% full. What will happen when it hits 80 or 90% capacity this coming high season. I would check some reviews if you are thinking of booking to se if the problem is taken care of. I don't mean to be a complainer but I like a hot shower after my beach day. Other than that the rest, food, room, hotel staff just as good as always. ENJOY!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, ocean, people

The weak points
no hot water

Monarc.ca Certified

Gerald Goldhart
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-09-11 to 2014-09-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-12

 You eventually get what you pay for

We were at first put in a building confusing hidden behind all the rest. The room was not clean, air conditioner did not work and there was no fridge or bottled water. After a hissy fit at 2:00 am at front desk because there was also a very loud party going on, we moved the next day to a nicer, quieter and cooler room. We were not the only people this happened to, and it leaves a very bad first impression. Those rooms in that building should not ever be given to anyone. Madeleine at front desk was incredible helpful and pleasant.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Great staff. Great beach.

The weak points
First room was a slum.

Monarc.ca Certified

Barbara C.
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-04-04 to 2014-04-12 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-14

 Competent

The hotel is what you would expect for a 3 star. Competent but not great. If you want an inexpensive place to enjoy the sun on a beautiful beach this works. The fact it is in the town of Varadero is great if you want to go off resort which we did,
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach hey it is Varadero. In town so walking to places off resort is easy.

The weak points
Food is adequate with little variety. A chef rather then just cooks would make a big difference.

Monarc.ca Certified

John
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-24 to 2014-04-07 (14 days)
Written on 2014-04-21

 Somewhat disappointed

Glad we went. Many people have returned many times but I wounldn't.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff

The weak points
beds, rooms, lacking supplies (toilet paper in particular)

Monarc.ca Certified

traveler
Sherwood Park , AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-28 to 2014-04-05 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-07

 A great place

I enjoyed how close everything was to get to at the resort and that you can walk to stores and restaurants. The beach was close and exceptional.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was fantastic.

The weak points
Having a map of the resort and knowing when and where activities took place would be beneficial to visitors.

Monarc.ca Certified

Satisified
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-02 to 2014-03-09 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-13

 OK for an inexpensive get away

In desperate need of repair but great staff and wonderful beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff

The weak points
Rooms

Monarc.ca Certified

Tfc
Stittsville, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-22 to 2014-02-28 (6 days)
Written on 2014-03-13

 Great week in the sun!

A midline hotel in in a great location! The beach is awesome!!! The entertainment was fun and we enjoyed it! The food was fine, we figured what we liked and stuck to it. All of the soups were good. The Mexican and Italian alacarte restaurants were the best on site! We did go to Barracudas down town on the beach for lobster and it was awesome!!! Beautiful setting as well there! It is not a top end 5 star but it is what we were looking for and the price was right!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome Location walking distance from downtown where everything is at!! Great Beach! Nice resort layout not a skyscraper Well maintained grounds

The weak points
The bartenders are heavy on the rum.. That is ok sometimes, everyone has there preferences!

Monarc.ca Certified

Len & Nancy Davis
Dryden, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-17 to 2014-02-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-26

 Great people

This place is not your 5 star but friendly clean and the food exceeded my expectations. Right in town and right on the beach, what more can you ask for
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great people

The weak points
Lots of mosquitos

Monarc.ca Certified

Bernice Kimberly Willoughby
Thompson, MB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-22 (14 days)
Written on 2014-02-24

 Aside from the food, it was a good trip

Just got back a few days ago from Barlovento. The resort met our expectations most of the time. Our room was spotless, the hotel was nice and small so you got to know the staff fairly well. The beach was beautiful, never needed to worry about getting a chair, there were tons available. We tipped well and brought gifts and were always treated wonderfully. We had many clean towels in our room every day, we had tons of toilet paper, bath products, etc. The room initially was missing a hair dryer but this was brought up within an hour. Check in was very quick and simple, we were able to get into our room immediately. I had emailed before leaving to ask for late check out and this was granted with no issues. The entertainment was amazing! The drinks were awesome (more booze than mix!) and the bartenders were very sweet.

The issues: the hotel ran out of water (ie: no water from the taps…sink, shower, toilet, etc) twice during the stay. This lasted 1-2 hours each time. Not a huge deal though. Our only really big issue was the food. I knew that it wasn't going to be great, but I didn't know it was going to be that bad. I'm not one to complain but it really was bad. The buffet was the worst, but even the à la carte’s weren't great. Food safety protocols are non-existent. I don’t even know how many times I saw raw meat and cooked meat being handled with the same utensils, or cooked meat being placed back on the same cutting board that raw meat was just cut up on (at the BBQ). Unfortunately, I doubt that I will return to Barlovento based on the food/food safety issues alone which is a shame because everything else was absolutely amazing.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, entertainment

The weak points
Food, food safety

Monarc.ca Certified

vacationer
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-11 to 2014-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-21

 ROC Barlovento Resort

Service was quite slow, people were friendly and helpful
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was close to shops, buses and the locals. Everything was within walking distance, the maid service was fantastic.

The weak points
Bar service was very slow even with tips, no beer served at the beach, beach chair were hard to find.The food like many other Cuban resorts was very bland.

Monarc.ca Certified

Steven Nagy
Vonda, SK
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-16 (15 days)
Written on 2014-11-20

 Hotel

From the front facade, lobby and pool area, the further you walk into the complex, it becomes less and less attractive and needs repair. The rooms badly need an upgrade in all areas and a thorough cleaning. The food at meal times, except for bread was disgusting. We all experienced food poisoning from the food which made a lousy vacation. My husband Nick had to seek emergency medical attention due to the severe food poisoning while in Varadero and has not recovered. The lobby staff were not accommodating to his illness. I advised them Fri. we might need a late check out Sat. due to Nick's illness. No problem they said. Sat. at noon, after the Dr. saw Nick, I asked for a late check out. They advised the hotel is booked and can't accommodate us. $25.00 bought the room until 8:00 p.m. We expect a full refund on our accommodations. For an all exclusive resort, we are disappointed.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach.

The weak points
See above review

Monarc.ca Certified

Helen Kubisewsky
Kenora, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-25

 Fantastic Holiday!!

My friend and I travelled to Cuba Feb 8 - 15. We had stayed at this resort 5 years ago and decided to give it another go. We had an early morning flight, but our room was ready as soon as we arrived at the resort. The front desk staff were friendly and always helpful. The room was a bit older, could have used a fresh coat of paint, but was very clean and the A/C worked great. Our housekeeper, Ana B., did a fantastic job all week keeping the room clean, leaving beautiful towel art every day. We had breakfast at the buffet every morning - delicious, custom-made omelettes, fresh fruit & juice. The coffee is not the greatest in the buffet, but the coffee bar in the lobby or Migue at the pool bar will make you a great coffee. Lunch everyday at El Ranchon - lots to choose from, BBQ going everyday (the ribs were awesome). Teo will make you a great rum punch. We did feel the dinner buffet had declined since the last time we were there. We ate at all three a la carte restaurants - Mexican was fantastic (Yunnel & Ramon take good care of you). Italian was not good & neither was the Cuban, but Willi and Ernesto provided excellent service. Of course, we went to Varadero for the beach and we were not disappointed. Someone was there to get you a chair everyday (always enough chairs, no matter what time of day you go); the water is clear and you can walk out a long way. We enjoyed a delicious pina colada one day made with a frssh pineapple and made right there on the beach. We only used the main pool, which is very refreshing after being at the beach all day. They have lots of activities to join and the entertainment staff were great, especially Legna and Frank. The shows were amazing, especially the aqua ballet. The hidden gem at this resort has to be Iris, our server for breakfast and lunch. She was amazing - friendly, always smiling. She knew what we wanted after the first day, and our drinks were on the table by the time we sat down. I would definitely go back to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, proximity to town

The weak points
Dinner buffet, availability of internet

Monarc.ca Certified

Helen
Oakville, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-17

 Fstu

When they say you cannot have your keys before 3 pm they mean it as I went at 2:55 and was refused. Cards for my towels had to go back, second key for my wife had to go back, also to make arrangements for the safe which I was changed $ 20.00 canadian. n
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Access to town, beach, entertainment and cleanliness was appreciated.

The weak points
Does not have a family atmosphere, front desk behaves like they are the clients.

Monarc.ca Certified

Clauchar
Brampton, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-07 to 2014-02-14 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-16

 Roc Barlovento

I loved this resort. It was in a great location. We could walk out of our resort and be in Varadero, but felt like you were on a oasis while at resort. Warm friendly service. Beach is amazing. Great food, highly recommend a-la-cart.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
location, beautiful property, great beaches, open concept resort.

The weak points
front desk was not very helpful or informative.

Monarc.ca Certified

Bonnie Schmidt
Sundridge, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-08 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-11

 Relaxing Holiday

We enjoyed our trip, the hotel one of the very first to be built, was still a bit dated but clean and the staff quite friendly. We found the buffet food to be tastier than the previous place we stayed. The A La Carte only the Mexican was good the Italian and Cuban not so much.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff working the bars, restaurants and chamber service very good and friendly.

The weak points
Found the staff at the front desk though friendly on our first day not very helpful, however, it seemed to improve some during out visit.

Monarc.ca Certified

Gdf
Pembroke, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-29 to 2014-02-05 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-07

 Barlovento

Been to Cuba many times so I know what to expect. Was also at this hotel 5 years ago and was looking forward to going there again. Too bad. The quality of this hotel has plummeted. The food ( which I was really looking forward to ) was inedible, except for the bread. No hot water on the third floor, in fact, some days no water in shower AT ALL. The pools had green algae in them. The one positive was the staff. They were lovely....Iris on the wait staff in particular. Would NOT recommend this hotel any more.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Wait staff, beach, location close to town

The weak points
FOOD was inedible, never any toilet paper in public bathrooms, no hot water, only a trickle of water in shower. Dirty, algae in pools.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jane Camsell
Sambro, NS
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-09 to 2014-01-19 (10 days)
Written on 2014-01-21
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Ocean Vista Azul

Ocean Vista Azul

Varadero


52 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


529 reviews


Beaches

Blau Varadero

Blau Varadero

Varadero


479 reviews


Families

Grand Memories Varadero

Grand Memories Varadero

Varadero


94 reviews


Couples

Ocean Vista Azul

Ocean Vista Azul

Varadero


52 reviews


Singles

Hotel Palma Real

Hotel Palma Real

Varadero


545 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


388 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry