Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Roc Barlovento
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Roc Barlovento
 Description
 See on map

Roc Barlovento

 

3.353.353.353.353.35 (3.35)
Based on 412 reviews

Overall Impression: #23 of 57 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #24 of 57 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #22 of 57 hotels.
Beaches: #24 of 57 hotels.
Families: #48 of 57 hotels.
Couples: #27 of 57 hotels.
Singles: #15 of 57 hotels.
Seniors: #16 of 57 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (79)

Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento

Travellers Reviews

All
21
180
148
48
15




pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

 Pire voyage

Nous sommes tres decus de notre voyage. Nous avions lu les commentaires generalement positifs... Sincerememt la seule belle chose cest la mer et la proximite de la ville. Il y avait aucun service pendant les repas. Le buffet était plusque médiocre,il y avait même de la mousse verte sur les fruits. La meme nourriture toute la semaine pour diner et souper et en plus très peu de choix. Nous sommes allés manger dans les restaurant toute la semaine ce qui augmente nos depenses de beaucoup. Nous sommes allés ailleurs a Cuba dans d'autres 3 étoiles et ce n'est même pas comparable. Les chambres désastreuses, pas de siège de toilette, pas tv ... Pas de snak bar le soir. Sans parler du café je me suis essaye a 3 reprises de commander de café au lobby toujours pleins de mottons. Des puces dans le sable moi et beaucoup d'autres gens avions les jambes remplis de piqures et c'est pas plaisant du tout.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Les seuls points forts cest d'être proche de la ville et la mer est belle.

The weak points
La nourriture, le service, les chambres ,

Monarc.ca Certified

Joannie Thibault Desrosiers
St Anne Des Plaines, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-11-14 to 2014-11-21 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-23

 Barlovento si!

Bien situé, bcp de verdure, le bar dans le hall très sympas, Giovanna Castillo est une très bonne massothérapeute avec 15 ans d’expérience dans les mains. Barlovento si !!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
à moins de 20min de l'aéroport. Convivial tropical, bcp de verdure,clientèle de tout age 20 a 60 ans.

The weak points
Pas de bouteille d'eau à notre arrivé. manana manana!

Monarc.ca Certified

Étienne
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-10-24 to 2014-10-31 (7 days)
Written on 2014-11-03

 Excellent service!

Will return for sure!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
-excellent service from all staff members - they are friendly and always helpful; -beautiful beach area and lots of long chairs on the beach

The weak points
-rooms are outdated but the furniture and mattress will be all replaced during the winter, which will be a very nice improvement

Monarc.ca Certified

Mpimpare
Wendover, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-10-18 to 2014-10-25 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-27

 ROC BARLOVENTO Varadero Cuba

Depuis 5 ans que je fréquente cet hôtel et je me sens chez moi de plus en plus car le personnel est très accueillant et on y parle français soit à la réception. au bar et à différent endroit ce qui fait mon affaire car l`espagnol pour moi est très difficile à apprendre ayant probablement la tête dur. Hi! Hi! Je recommande cet hôtel et vous le costaterez par vous-même.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
hôtel très bien situé à seulement 25 minutes de l`aéroport et nous sommes les premiers arrivés en sortant de l`autoroute en arrivant à Varadero, Il y a le marché au puces tout prêt et en étant bien centré à proximité de différents resto...

The weak points
Pour ceux qui veulent critiquez vous repasserez car quand on est satisfait de l`ensemble je ne me forcerez pas à inventer des critiques négatives car trop de personnes en sont spécialistes.

Monarc.ca Certified

Yvon Rouleau
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-10-06 to 2014-10-14 (8 days)
Written on 2014-10-16

 Pour ce prix à Cuba pas à se plaindre...

2 semaines à manger la même nourriture, mais côté propreté étonnamment surpris, beaucoup d'employés se débrouille en français ou en anglais, très tranquille comme hôtel, beaucoup de rénovation ont été fait durant mon séjour . Pour le prix que j'ai payé je ne peux pas me plaindre.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté en générale

The weak points
Même chose au buffet tous les jours, pas d'air climatisé au gymnase, boisson peu diversifié et pas de bière au bar de la plage. Plage avec beaucoup de coquillage pas nettoyé

Monarc.ca Certified

Joé
Terrebonne, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-09-29 to 2014-10-13 (14 days)
Written on 2014-10-15

 Séjour a l'hotel

Nos vacances ont étaies en partie gâcher a cause d'un employé qui a au 3 étage a battu a mort un chien , qui selon lui avait la rage or nous étions plusieurs a prouver le contraire pour avoir plusieurs fois caresser le chien de petite taille , après enquête ce personnage ce nome Juan josé Rodriquez et est le directeur du Barlovento
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
la mer très propre et chaude

The weak points
Être généreux sur les pourboires si on veux un bon service Le soir souvent des odeurs d'égouts et de gasoline

Monarc.ca Certified

Albert Verardo
Laval, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-09-24 to 2014-10-08 (14 days)
Written on 2014-10-11

 Excellent rapport qualité/prix

L'hôtel est très bien localisée. Très bien entretenue, personnel courtois, gérant sur place. Excellent choix pour couples
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage magnifique, hôtel très propre et très attretenue pour un 31/2 étoiles

The weak points
les chambres peuvent être rénovées, mais dans l'ensemble elles étaient correctes

Monarc.ca Certified

Nancy Roux
Saint-Placide, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-09-27 to 2014-10-04 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-06

 Pretty good but hot water ptoblems

Back in mid september for another visit.I like this hotel My third time this year however this time there seemed to be hot water issues. Spoke with the general manager and was told it was the amount of people. B.S. The hotel was only about 30% full. What will happen when it hits 80 or 90% capacity this coming high season. I would check some reviews if you are thinking of booking to se if the problem is taken care of. I don't mean to be a complainer but I like a hot shower after my beach day. Other than that the rest, food, room, hotel staff just as good as always. ENJOY!!!!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, ocean, people

The weak points
no hot water

Monarc.ca Certified

Gerald Goldhart
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-09-11 to 2014-09-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-10-12

 FATIMA

EXCELLENT SEJOUR A BARLOVENTO .ACCUEILLANT ET PERSONNEL TRES SYMPATHIQUE.BUFFET TRES BIEN, AUCUN COMMENTAIRE NEGATIVE J'Y RETOURNERAIS N'IMPORTE QUAND SANS HESITATION
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
PERSONNEL ,BIEN SITUE, BELLE PLAGE

The weak points
VRAIMENT PAS DE NEGATIF

Monarc.ca Certified

Fatima
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-08-16 to 2014-08-30 (14 days)
Written on 2014-09-02

 Roc Barlovento toujours parfait!

pour ma 7è fois à cet hôtel, tout est toujours parfait! emplacement, le personnel, l'ambiance et plus encore!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
emplacement et ambiance

The weak points
resto a la carte

Monarc.ca Certified

Isa Lc
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-08-13 to 2014-08-20 (7 days)
Written on 2014-08-22

 M.

Mauvaise expérience. Buffet et resto à la carte, air climatisé local ce qui veut dire qu'il n'y a pas d'air lorsque pas de vent, aucune ventilation fonctionnel dans les restos. Bouffe répétitive et froide pas suffisamment chaud. Attention burger et hotdog seulement comme snack qui sont conservé dans un bac à l'extérieur à la température ambiante, sans glace de 12:00 - 4:00pm. Beaucoup de coquillage sur la plage. Pas de toilette- douche près de la plage. Le bar de la plage n'offre pas de bière?? ATTENTION au taux de change si vous changer de l'argent à l'hotel, certains employés ne vous offres pas de reçu et charge 5 cuc supplémentaire.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
gentillesse du personnel

The weak points
Bouffe répétitives et froide, buffet 3 fois par jour sauf 2 resto à la carte ou snack conservé à la température extérieur. Beaucoup de coquillage sur la plage.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ion
Chertsey, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-05-25 to 2014-06-08 (14 days)
Written on 2014-06-12

 Voyage entre amis

Ce n'est plus comme avant. L'hotel doit investir dans la nourriture pour pouvoir espérer garder ses clients fidèles.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel

The weak points
la variété de la nourriture

Monarc.ca Certified

Vav
Port Cartier, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-04-25 to 2014-05-09 (14 days)
Written on 2014-05-28

 You eventually get what you pay for

We were at first put in a building confusing hidden behind all the rest. The room was not clean, air conditioner did not work and there was no fridge or bottled water. After a hissy fit at 2:00 am at front desk because there was also a very loud party going on, we moved the next day to a nicer, quieter and cooler room. We were not the only people this happened to, and it leaves a very bad first impression. Those rooms in that building should not ever be given to anyone. Madeleine at front desk was incredible helpful and pleasant.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Great staff. Great beach.

The weak points
First room was a slum.

Monarc.ca Certified

Barbara C.
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-04-04 to 2014-04-12 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-14

 Varadero - 1iere fois

Le resort est en plein centre-ville alors il y a des avantages et desavantages. Le buffet est tres petit et aucune variété. La seule chose qui était excellent est le pain, il est frais à tout les jours. La population locale a accès à la plage et ils sont nombreux les fin de semaine alors le lundi matin la plage ressemble à un dépotoir tellement il y a des vidanges, des cannettes qui flottent dans l'eau, etc...Ne payer pas plus de $700 CA et prévoyer manger à l'exterieur du resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La gentillesse des cubains. Le pain est frais. Directement sur la 1iere Avenue et à proximité de l'aeroport.

The weak points
Le buffet, plage malpropre.

Monarc.ca Certified

Ooo
Gatineau, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-04-02 to 2014-04-09 (7 days)
Written on 2014-04-17

 Competent

The hotel is what you would expect for a 3 star. Competent but not great. If you want an inexpensive place to enjoy the sun on a beautiful beach this works. The fact it is in the town of Varadero is great if you want to go off resort which we did,
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach hey it is Varadero. In town so walking to places off resort is easy.

The weak points
Food is adequate with little variety. A chef rather then just cooks would make a big difference.

Monarc.ca Certified

John
Winnipeg, MB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-24 to 2014-04-07 (14 days)
Written on 2014-04-21

 Somewhat disappointed

Glad we went. Many people have returned many times but I wounldn't.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff

The weak points
beds, rooms, lacking supplies (toilet paper in particular)

Monarc.ca Certified

traveler
Sherwood Park , AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-28 to 2014-04-05 (8 days)
Written on 2014-04-07

 Super voyage

Rapport qualité prix pour Cuba OK. Superbe plage, personnel serviable et souriant pour la plupart. Ma chambre était correcte mais le lit et les oreillers pas confortables. J'y retournerai quand même car il est bien situé, près de tout.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
la plage et situation géographique

The weak points
la nourriture et le lit

Monarc.ca Certified

Danielle Harvey
Chambly, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-20 to 2014-03-30 (10 days)
Written on 2014-04-01

 Agréable

Toujours agréable de renouveler l'expérience et de retrouver le personnel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel est très attentionné, la propreté est très appréciée partout sur le site, la situation géographique et la plage sont les éléments forts. Des améliorations sont apportées à chaque saison. Les spectacles sont de qualité.

The weak points
Il ne faut pas s'attendre aux standards américains et c'est correct!

Monarc.ca Certified

Hb
Montmagny, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-21 to 2014-03-28 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-30

 Beau bon pas cher

Ce n'est pas un 5 étoiles mais c'est propre dans les chambres.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plages,proximité du centre-ville.

The weak points
Mouches pendant que l'on mange car ces à aire ouverte.

Monarc.ca Certified

Sandra Senechal
La Pocatiere, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-16 to 2014-03-23 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-30

 Varadero

Bien
Avec bon service
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage

The weak points
Odeur de gaz le matin

Monarc.ca Certified

A.Sabourin
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-15 to 2014-03-22 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-25

 TRÈS BELLE VACANCE

Tout était parfait. Beaucoup de choix au buffet. le seul hik est le restaurant à la carte italien. Les serveurs n'étaient pas très joviaux et bêtes. À part ça tout a été parfait.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel et le choix au buffet.

The weak points
resto italien

Monarc.ca Certified

Micheline
Lasalle, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-23 to 2014-03-09 (14 days)
Written on 2014-03-14

 A great place

I enjoyed how close everything was to get to at the resort and that you can walk to stores and restaurants. The beach was close and exceptional.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was fantastic.

The weak points
Having a map of the resort and knowing when and where activities took place would be beneficial to visitors.

Monarc.ca Certified

Satisified
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-02 to 2014-03-09 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-13

 Qualité prix tres bon

les geo sont présent pour les activités et participe au besoin "excellent".N.B. les life guard aiment jouer au volley et sa l augmente la qualité du jeu.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
plage l eau et la barmaid de la plage exceptionnelle par sa bonne humeur. hotel de la bonne grosseur pas trop de distance a marcher.

The weak points
salle d entrainement désuet et hrs d ouverture entre 15 hrs et 17hrs 4 jours par semaine. hotel va etre du pour un petit coup de peinture pour rafraichir mais c est un nouveau proprio donc a suivre.

Monarc.ca Certified

Jerry Milliard
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-09

 OK for an inexpensive get away

In desperate need of repair but great staff and wonderful beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff

The weak points
Rooms

Monarc.ca Certified

Tfc
Stittsville, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-22 to 2014-02-28 (6 days)
Written on 2014-03-13

 Le soleil, en février 2014.

Habituée d'aller dans des 4.5* mais très satisfaite de cet endroit qui n'est pas trop grand (et 16ans et ) et bien situé...on peut aller aisément,,marcher en ville ou manger dans des restos qui sont tout près ainsi que des marchés aux puces.
Ma chambre était propre, le personnel est très gentil et le café du bar à l'entrée est très bon ainsi que les déjeuners!Il y a de beaux spectacles ,en soirées
La nourriture du buffet n'est pas très variée mais correct et les restos à la carte sont bons;j'ai beaucoup aimé le Mexicain!
J'adore me baigner dans la mer et j'ai été bien servi...et la plage est très belle et on peut marcher longtemps.
Pour un premier voyage en solo,j'ai trouvé cet endroit sympathique et sécuritaire.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Rapport qualité-prix est bien ...et la plage est super!Le pain ,la crème glacée et les biscuits sont très bons!

The weak points
Ceux qui n'aiment pas se faire des salades vont trouver leurs assiettes peu variées!

Monarc.ca Certified

Johanne
La Malbaie, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-20 to 2014-02-27 (7 days)
Written on 2014-03-03

 Great week in the sun!

A midline hotel in in a great location! The beach is awesome!!! The entertainment was fun and we enjoyed it! The food was fine, we figured what we liked and stuck to it. All of the soups were good. The Mexican and Italian alacarte restaurants were the best on site! We did go to Barracudas down town on the beach for lobster and it was awesome!!! Beautiful setting as well there! It is not a top end 5 star but it is what we were looking for and the price was right!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome Location walking distance from downtown where everything is at!! Great Beach! Nice resort layout not a skyscraper Well maintained grounds

The weak points
The bartenders are heavy on the rum.. That is ok sometimes, everyone has there preferences!

Monarc.ca Certified

Len & Nancy Davis
Dryden, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-17 to 2014-02-24 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-26

 Great people

This place is not your 5 star but friendly clean and the food exceeded my expectations. Right in town and right on the beach, what more can you ask for
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great people

The weak points
Lots of mosquitos

Monarc.ca Certified

Bernice Kimberly Willoughby
Thompson, MB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-22 (14 days)
Written on 2014-02-24

 Aside from the food, it was a good trip

Just got back a few days ago from Barlovento. The resort met our expectations most of the time. Our room was spotless, the hotel was nice and small so you got to know the staff fairly well. The beach was beautiful, never needed to worry about getting a chair, there were tons available. We tipped well and brought gifts and were always treated wonderfully. We had many clean towels in our room every day, we had tons of toilet paper, bath products, etc. The room initially was missing a hair dryer but this was brought up within an hour. Check in was very quick and simple, we were able to get into our room immediately. I had emailed before leaving to ask for late check out and this was granted with no issues. The entertainment was amazing! The drinks were awesome (more booze than mix!) and the bartenders were very sweet.

The issues: the hotel ran out of water (ie: no water from the taps…sink, shower, toilet, etc) twice during the stay. This lasted 1-2 hours each time. Not a huge deal though. Our only really big issue was the food. I knew that it wasn't going to be great, but I didn't know it was going to be that bad. I'm not one to complain but it really was bad. The buffet was the worst, but even the à la carte’s weren't great. Food safety protocols are non-existent. I don’t even know how many times I saw raw meat and cooked meat being handled with the same utensils, or cooked meat being placed back on the same cutting board that raw meat was just cut up on (at the BBQ). Unfortunately, I doubt that I will return to Barlovento based on the food/food safety issues alone which is a shame because everything else was absolutely amazing.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, entertainment

The weak points
Food, food safety

Monarc.ca Certified

vacationer
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-11 to 2014-02-18 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-21

 ROC Barlovento Resort

Service was quite slow, people were friendly and helpful
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was close to shops, buses and the locals. Everything was within walking distance, the maid service was fantastic.

The weak points
Bar service was very slow even with tips, no beer served at the beach, beach chair were hard to find.The food like many other Cuban resorts was very bland.

Monarc.ca Certified

Steven Nagy
Vonda, SK
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-16 (15 days)
Written on 2014-11-20

 Hotel

From the front facade, lobby and pool area, the further you walk into the complex, it becomes less and less attractive and needs repair. The rooms badly need an upgrade in all areas and a thorough cleaning. The food at meal times, except for bread was disgusting. We all experienced food poisoning from the food which made a lousy vacation. My husband Nick had to seek emergency medical attention due to the severe food poisoning while in Varadero and has not recovered. The lobby staff were not accommodating to his illness. I advised them Fri. we might need a late check out Sat. due to Nick's illness. No problem they said. Sat. at noon, after the Dr. saw Nick, I asked for a late check out. They advised the hotel is booked and can't accommodate us. $25.00 bought the room until 8:00 p.m. We expect a full refund on our accommodations. For an all exclusive resort, we are disappointed.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach.

The weak points
See above review

Monarc.ca Certified

Helen Kubisewsky
Kenora, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-15 (7 days)
Written on 2014-02-25
pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Melia Marina Varadero

Melia Marina Varadero

Varadero


106 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


464 reviews


Beaches

Club Los Delfines

Club Los Delfines

Varadero


183 reviews


Families

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Couples

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Singles

Playa Caleta

Playa Caleta

Varadero


378 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


326 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry