Search

Search - Cuba - Varadero - Roc Barlovento
See ranking of hotels in Varadero

Hotel Review

Roc Barlovento
 Description
 See on map

Roc Barlovento

 

(3.35)
Based on 398 reviews

Overall Impression: #24 of 57 hotels in Varadero.
Quality vs Price: #24 of 57 hotels.
Food / Restaurants: #23 of 57 hotels.
Beaches: #23 of 57 hotels.
Families: #41 of 57 hotels.
Couples: #24 of 57 hotels.
Singles: #19 of 57 hotels.
Seniors: #24 of 57 hotels.

Detailed note 


Traveller pictures (79)

Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento Traveller picture - Roc Barlovento

Travellers Reviews

All
20
175
143
45
15


pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

 You eventually get what you pay for

We were at first put in a building confusing hidden behind all the rest. The room was not clean, air conditioner did not work and there was no fridge or bottled water. After a hissy fit at 2:00 am at front desk because there was also a very loud party going on, we moved the next day to a nicer, quieter and cooler room. We were not the only people this happened to, and it leaves a very bad first impression. Those rooms in that building should not ever be given to anyone. Madeleine at front desk was incredible helpful and pleasant.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Great staff. Great beach.

The weak points
First room was a slum.

Barbara C.
Calgary, AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-04-04 to 2014-04-12 (8 days)

 Varadero - 1iere fois

Le resort est en plein centre-ville alors il y a des avantages et desavantages. Le buffet est tres petit et aucune variété. La seule chose qui était excellent est le pain, il est frais à tout les jours. La population locale a accès à la plage et ils sont nombreux les fin de semaine alors le lundi matin la plage ressemble à un dépotoir tellement il y a des vidanges, des cannettes qui flottent dans l'eau, etc...Ne payer pas plus de $700 CA et prévoyer manger à l'exterieur du resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La gentillesse des cubains. Le pain est frais. Directement sur la 1iere Avenue et à proximité de l'aeroport.

The weak points
Le buffet, plage malpropre.

Ooo
Gatineau, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-04-02 to 2014-04-09 (7 days)

 Somewhat disappointed

Glad we went. Many people have returned many times but I wounldn't.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff

The weak points
beds, rooms, lacking supplies (toilet paper in particular)

traveler
Sherwood Park , AB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-28 to 2014-04-05 (8 days)

 Super voyage

Rapport qualité prix pour Cuba OK. Superbe plage, personnel serviable et souriant pour la plupart. Ma chambre était correcte mais le lit et les oreillers pas confortables. J'y retournerai quand même car il est bien situé, près de tout.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
la plage et situation géographique

The weak points
la nourriture et le lit

Danielle Harvey
Chambly, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-20 to 2014-03-30 (10 days)

 Agréable

Toujours agréable de renouveler l'expérience et de retrouver le personnel.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel est très attentionné, la propreté est très appréciée partout sur le site, la situation géographique et la plage sont les éléments forts. Des améliorations sont apportées à chaque saison. Les spectacles sont de qualité.

The weak points
Il ne faut pas s'attendre aux standards américains et c'est correct!

Hb
Montmagny, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-21 to 2014-03-28 (7 days)

 Beau bon pas cher

Ce n'est pas un 5 étoiles mais c'est propre dans les chambres.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plages,proximité du centre-ville.

The weak points
Mouches pendant que l'on mange car ces à aire ouverte.

Sandra Senechal
La Pocatiere, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-16 to 2014-03-23 (7 days)

 Varadero

Bien
Avec bon service
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage

The weak points
Odeur de gaz le matin

A.Sabourin
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-15 to 2014-03-22 (7 days)

 TRÈS BELLE VACANCE

Tout était parfait. Beaucoup de choix au buffet. le seul hik est le restaurant à la carte italien. Les serveurs n'étaient pas très joviaux et bêtes. À part ça tout a été parfait.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel et le choix au buffet.

The weak points
resto italien

Micheline
Lasalle, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-23 to 2014-03-09 (14 days)

 A great place

I enjoyed how close everything was to get to at the resort and that you can walk to stores and restaurants. The beach was close and exceptional.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was fantastic.

The weak points
Having a map of the resort and knowing when and where activities took place would be beneficial to visitors.

Satisified
Toronto, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-03-02 to 2014-03-09 (7 days)

 Qualité prix tres bon

les geo sont présent pour les activités et participe au besoin "excellent".N.B. les life guard aiment jouer au volley et sa l augmente la qualité du jeu.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
plage l eau et la barmaid de la plage exceptionnelle par sa bonne humeur. hotel de la bonne grosseur pas trop de distance a marcher.

The weak points
salle d entrainement désuet et hrs d ouverture entre 15 hrs et 17hrs 4 jours par semaine. hotel va etre du pour un petit coup de peinture pour rafraichir mais c est un nouveau proprio donc a suivre.

Jerry Milliard
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-28 to 2014-03-07 (7 days)

 OK for an inexpensive get away

In desperate need of repair but great staff and wonderful beach.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff

The weak points
Rooms

Tfc
Stittsville, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-22 to 2014-02-28 (6 days)

 Le soleil, en février 2014.

Habituée d'aller dans des 4.5* mais très satisfaite de cet endroit qui n'est pas trop grand (et 16ans et ) et bien situé...on peut aller aisément,,marcher en ville ou manger dans des restos qui sont tout près ainsi que des marchés aux puces.
Ma chambre était propre, le personnel est très gentil et le café du bar à l'entrée est très bon ainsi que les déjeuners!Il y a de beaux spectacles ,en soirées
La nourriture du buffet n'est pas très variée mais correct et les restos à la carte sont bons;j'ai beaucoup aimé le Mexicain!
J'adore me baigner dans la mer et j'ai été bien servi...et la plage est très belle et on peut marcher longtemps.
Pour un premier voyage en solo,j'ai trouvé cet endroit sympathique et sécuritaire.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Rapport qualité-prix est bien ...et la plage est super!Le pain ,la crème glacée et les biscuits sont très bons!

The weak points
Ceux qui n'aiment pas se faire des salades vont trouver leurs assiettes peu variées!

Johanne
La Malbaie, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-20 to 2014-02-27 (7 days)

 Great week in the sun!

A midline hotel in in a great location! The beach is awesome!!! The entertainment was fun and we enjoyed it! The food was fine, we figured what we liked and stuck to it. All of the soups were good. The Mexican and Italian alacarte restaurants were the best on site! We did go to Barracudas down town on the beach for lobster and it was awesome!!! Beautiful setting as well there! It is not a top end 5 star but it is what we were looking for and the price was right!
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome Location walking distance from downtown where everything is at!! Great Beach! Nice resort layout not a skyscraper Well maintained grounds

The weak points
The bartenders are heavy on the rum.. That is ok sometimes, everyone has there preferences!

Len & Nancy Davis
Dryden, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-17 to 2014-02-24 (7 days)

 Great people

This place is not your 5 star but friendly clean and the food exceeded my expectations. Right in town and right on the beach, what more can you ask for
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Great people

The weak points
Lots of mosquitos

Bernice Kimberly Willoughby
Thompson, MB
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-22 (14 days)

 Aside from the food, it was a good trip

Just got back a few days ago from Barlovento. The resort met our expectations most of the time. Our room was spotless, the hotel was nice and small so you got to know the staff fairly well. The beach was beautiful, never needed to worry about getting a chair, there were tons available. We tipped well and brought gifts and were always treated wonderfully. We had many clean towels in our room every day, we had tons of toilet paper, bath products, etc. The room initially was missing a hair dryer but this was brought up within an hour. Check in was very quick and simple, we were able to get into our room immediately. I had emailed before leaving to ask for late check out and this was granted with no issues. The entertainment was amazing! The drinks were awesome (more booze than mix!) and the bartenders were very sweet.

The issues: the hotel ran out of water (ie: no water from the taps…sink, shower, toilet, etc) twice during the stay. This lasted 1-2 hours each time. Not a huge deal though. Our only really big issue was the food. I knew that it wasn't going to be great, but I didn't know it was going to be that bad. I'm not one to complain but it really was bad. The buffet was the worst, but even the à la carte’s weren't great. Food safety protocols are non-existent. I don’t even know how many times I saw raw meat and cooked meat being handled with the same utensils, or cooked meat being placed back on the same cutting board that raw meat was just cut up on (at the BBQ). Unfortunately, I doubt that I will return to Barlovento based on the food/food safety issues alone which is a shame because everything else was absolutely amazing.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, entertainment

The weak points
Food, food safety

vacationer
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-11 to 2014-02-18 (7 days)

 Hotel

From the front facade, lobby and pool area, the further you walk into the complex, it becomes less and less attractive and needs repair. The rooms badly need an upgrade in all areas and a thorough cleaning. The food at meal times, except for bread was disgusting. We all experienced food poisoning from the food which made a lousy vacation. My husband Nick had to seek emergency medical attention due to the severe food poisoning while in Varadero and has not recovered. The lobby staff were not accommodating to his illness. I advised them Fri. we might need a late check out Sat. due to Nick's illness. No problem they said. Sat. at noon, after the Dr. saw Nick, I asked for a late check out. They advised the hotel is booked and can't accommodate us. $25.00 bought the room until 8:00 p.m. We expect a full refund on our accommodations. For an all exclusive resort, we are disappointed.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
The beach.

The weak points
See above review

Helen Kubisewsky
Kenora, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-15 (7 days)

 Bon prix! Bonne Hôtel***

Je suis un habitué de cet hôtel et je vous la recommande. Bon service, personnel compétant et très serviable, bons spectacles, bonne animation, très sécuritaire et bel emplacement avec magnifique plage et de bons surveillants
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
je vous la recommande. Bon service, personnel compétant et très serviable, bons spectacles, bonne animation, très sécuritaire et bel emplacement avec magnifique plage et de bons surveillants en tout temps pour être en sécurité.

The weak points
rénovations serait Bienvenue pour amélioré l'Hôtel.

Yvon Rouleau
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-15 (7 days)

 Fantastic Holiday!!

My friend and I travelled to Cuba Feb 8 - 15. We had stayed at this resort 5 years ago and decided to give it another go. We had an early morning flight, but our room was ready as soon as we arrived at the resort. The front desk staff were friendly and always helpful. The room was a bit older, could have used a fresh coat of paint, but was very clean and the A/C worked great. Our housekeeper, Ana B., did a fantastic job all week keeping the room clean, leaving beautiful towel art every day. We had breakfast at the buffet every morning - delicious, custom-made omelettes, fresh fruit & juice. The coffee is not the greatest in the buffet, but the coffee bar in the lobby or Migue at the pool bar will make you a great coffee. Lunch everyday at El Ranchon - lots to choose from, BBQ going everyday (the ribs were awesome). Teo will make you a great rum punch. We did feel the dinner buffet had declined since the last time we were there. We ate at all three a la carte restaurants - Mexican was fantastic (Yunnel & Ramon take good care of you). Italian was not good & neither was the Cuban, but Willi and Ernesto provided excellent service. Of course, we went to Varadero for the beach and we were not disappointed. Someone was there to get you a chair everyday (always enough chairs, no matter what time of day you go); the water is clear and you can walk out a long way. We enjoyed a delicious pina colada one day made with a frssh pineapple and made right there on the beach. We only used the main pool, which is very refreshing after being at the beach all day. They have lots of activities to join and the entertainment staff were great, especially Legna and Frank. The shows were amazing, especially the aqua ballet. The hidden gem at this resort has to be Iris, our server for breakfast and lunch. She was amazing - friendly, always smiling. She knew what we wanted after the first day, and our drinks were on the table by the time we sat down. I would definitely go back to this resort.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, proximity to town

The weak points
Dinner buffet, availability of internet

Helen
Oakville, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-08 to 2014-02-15 (7 days)

 Fstu

When they say you cannot have your keys before 3 pm they mean it as I went at 2:55 and was refused. Cards for my towels had to go back, second key for my wife had to go back, also to make arrangements for the safe which I was changed $ 20.00 canadian. n
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Access to town, beach, entertainment and cleanliness was appreciated.

The weak points
Does not have a family atmosphere, front desk behaves like they are the clients.

Clauchar
Brampton, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-07 to 2014-02-14 (7 days)

 Roc Barlovento

I loved this resort. It was in a great location. We could walk out of our resort and be in Varadero, but felt like you were on a oasis while at resort. Warm friendly service. Beach is amazing. Great food, highly recommend a-la-cart.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
location, beautiful property, great beaches, open concept resort.

The weak points
front desk was not very helpful or informative.

Bonnie Schmidt
Sundridge, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-08 (7 days)

 Hôtel pour 16ans et plus

Bon hôtel rapport qualité prix à l'entrée de Varadero. Propre, agréable, service courtoie. Près de la plage et de la ville. Nourriture correcte pour Cuba. Piscine correcte, plage formidable, facilement accessible.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, personnel courtoie, propreté des endroits publics, des chambres. Voyage moins cher et correct. Près de l'aéroport, peut aller manger dans de petits restos à pas très cher pour éviter le buffet. L'ai,l'ai sur la 18, kiwis pizza sur la 7, Dante.

The weak points
Peu de resto à la carte, buffet correcte sans plus, beaucoup de personnes âgées, pas pour les jeunes qui veulent s'amuser tard le soir, animation aléatoire et médiocre qui se ressemble, beaucoup de danse.

Normand
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-08 (7 days)

 J'y retournerai encore.

C'est mon troisième séjour au Barlovento. Hôtel simple, propre et surtout pour ceux qui aime se déplacer sans nécessairement prendre le bus ou le taxi, l'emplacement est idéal. C'est près des marchés aux puces. Plage magnifique, personnels gentils.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Plage magnifique, emplacement près des marchés aux puces et restos.

The weak points
Buffet répétitifs et quelconque mais c'est Cuba.

Caro
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-08 (7 days)

 Tranquillité

Bon séjour en général, les chambres auraient besoin d'une cure de rajeunissement.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
personnel accueillant. Hotel bien situé.

The weak points
Les matelas et la literie sont a remplacer.

Clodie
Quebec, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-02-01 to 2014-02-08 (7 days)

 Commentaire

J ai bien aimée sauf sur la plage ceux qui s occupe de la sécurité et les sauveteur ils parlent entre eux mais tres fort et c est tres dérangeant pour nous vacanciés qui essayons de relaxer parfois.Aussi le katamaran supposément gratuit mais presque jamais disponible car ca commence a 11hrs et fini a 1hr et meme parfois avant .Et ca serait cool d avoir de la biere au bar de la plage.Beaucoup de serveur au lobby bar mais ca prend du temps avant de se faire servir ils sont souvent en arriere a faire je ne sais quoi.la musique tres forte au bar le soir et les organisatrices de jour parlent tres forts dans les micros c est un peu tannant quand tu prends un appéritif en fin de journée.il devrait parlé plus Français car beaucoup de québécois a cette hotel.Nettoyer l air climatiser dans les chambres ne serait pas un luxe et aussi faire quelque chose pour les portes patios tres tres dur a ouvrir.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
personnelle tres gentil,l hotel et les chambres sont propres.

The weak points
parlez plus Français.Nettoyez les airs climatiser dans les chambres et réparer les portes patios tres dur a ouvrir.Le buffet manque de variété surtout quand tu es 2 sem.

mimi
St-Bernard, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-24 to 2014-02-07 (14 days)

 Relaxing Holiday

We enjoyed our trip, the hotel one of the very first to be built, was still a bit dated but clean and the staff quite friendly. We found the buffet food to be tastier than the previous place we stayed. The A La Carte only the Mexican was good the Italian and Cuban not so much.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Staff working the bars, restaurants and chamber service very good and friendly.

The weak points
Found the staff at the front desk though friendly on our first day not very helpful, however, it seemed to improve some during out visit.

Gdf
Pembroke, ON
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-29 to 2014-02-05 (7 days)

 Super séjour à Varadero

Le séjour à l'hôtel s'est très bien passé, le cadre est très joli, spacieux, plusieurs piscines, plusieurs bars, 2 restaurants (Italien & mexicain) sont de bonne qualité et le buffet de qualité normale pour Cuba.
Le personnel a également été très sympathique et serviable.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
le personnel, le cadre de l'hôtel (plusieurs bâtiments espacés), le service, les restaurants et la plage.

The weak points
Clientèle assez ancienne (âge), lits de qualité moyenne mais correcte.

Julien
Montreal, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-28 to 2014-02-04 (7 days)

 Hôtel correct mais sans plus

C'était notre premier voyage ds le sud.L'hôtel était très propre autant a l'extérieur que ds les chambres et locaux. On a eu 3 chambres avant d'en avoir une avec un air climatisé fonctionnel. Evidemment tout ça implique temps a la reception et déménagement de bagages. Malheureusement odeur de moisisure ds toutes les chambres et sortie d'eau par le drain du plancher de la sale de bain et drain du bain au milieu de la semaine avec odeur d'égôut. Pas de débarbouillette ds les chambres et pris 2 jours pour avoir une seconde lampe pour deuxième table de nuit. Nourriture ordinaire et assez répétitive mais on trouve tjrs qq chose pour se satisfaire. Personnel pas tjrs souriant certains semblent vraiment s'ennuyer mais d'autres très chaleureux. Activités de soirée un peu banales. Plage un peu loin de l'hôtel mais très belle, sable fin, eau translucide, chaises de plage, kayac, catamaran. Problème au retour des serviettes prêtées, assuréz vous d'avoir votre carte ou votre serviette lors du check out car ils vont vous charger 10 pesos.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Propreté, Plage, Piscine, proche de la ville, autobus accessibles facilement

The weak points
Odeurs ds les chambres, nourriture repetitive

Evelyne Bergeron
Gatineau, QC
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-15 to 2014-01-22 (7 days)

 Barlovento

Been to Cuba many times so I know what to expect. Was also at this hotel 5 years ago and was looking forward to going there again. Too bad. The quality of this hotel has plummeted. The food ( which I was really looking forward to ) was inedible, except for the bread. No hot water on the third floor, in fact, some days no water in shower AT ALL. The pools had green algae in them. The one positive was the staff. They were lovely....Iris on the wait staff in particular. Would NOT recommend this hotel any more.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
Wait staff, beach, location close to town

The weak points
FOOD was inedible, never any toilet paper in public bathrooms, no hot water, only a trickle of water in shower. Dirty, algae in pools.

Jane Camsell
Sambro, NS
Review for hotel Roc Barlovento
from 2014-01-09 to 2014-01-19 (10 days)

 Bien contente de mes vacances!

J'ai bien aimé mon séjour, en considérant que c'était un 3.5. Les commentaires m'avaient laissé penser que ce serait bien pire.
Nous sommes arrivés à l'hotel à 1h du matin. Il n'y avait qu'une personne à la réception. Beaucoup parmi les arrivants "chialaient" pour cela. Moi, ça ne me dérangeait pas d'attendre un peu...j'étais en vacances! Au bout de 30 minutes, j'étais dans ma chambre. Cependant, celle-ci m'a un peu plus déçu que je m'y attendait. Elle était située dans une unité de quelques chambres, qui quoique située près de la plage, était un peu loin des services de base. Pour une femme seule, je n'aimais pas tellement cet isolement...Mais bon, je suis en vacances. Il est certain que je ne visais pas le grand luxe, mais la chasse-d'eau de la toilette ne fonctionnait pas et l'air climatisé très bruyant. J'ai demandé de changer de chambre au cours de la première journée et j'ai eu ma nouvelle chambre le lendemain. Celle-ci était très bien située, propre, et confortable...mais pas beaucoup de pression d'eau dans la douche, puisque j'étais rendue au 3e étage...Mais j'étais tout de même satisfaite...et en vacances! Côté restauration, c'était bien, mais sans plus. Les restaurants mexicain et italien étaient bon, mais le resto cubain nous servait ce que nous avions mangé tout au long de la semaine, au buffet.
Quoique satisfaite en général de ma semaine, je considère par contre que j'ai payé très cher comparativement à la majorité de mes co-clients pour qui le séjour ne dépassait pas 800$. J'Y retournerais à moindre coût, sans problème.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
La plage et les loisirs (incluant les bars)

The weak points
La plomberie.

Denise Dumont
Quebec, QC
Stay from 2014-01-04 to 2014-01-11 (7 days)

 ROC BARLOVENTO

The worst experience we ever had, we left winter jacket for 10 min in the lobby during 4 hour wait to get a room, somebody stole it. Reception people were very mean. Even though we are young and our expectations were not high we were very surpized how bad it was, we are never going to go there again. Stuff always asks to give clothes to them or to make them a present.
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk / Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food / Restaurants
The strong points
location is good very close to restaurants and varadero center

The weak points
food is disgusting and the time same all the time,rotten fruits, stuff is mean, reception made us wait to get the room for 4 hours,mold is everywhere in the rooms(we changed 3 rooms) The hotel is way below 3 1/2 star. We wont recommend it.

Kaan Murat Bayulken
Ottawa, ON
Stay from 2014-01-03 to 2014-01-10 (7 days)


Legend

Evaluation Of Hotel

  • Avoid at all costs
  • Below expectations
  • As expected
  • Beyond expectations
  • A dream come true

Monarc.ca Popularity Scale

The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews.

Advertisement

#1 at/in Varadero

Quality vs Price

Melia Marina Varadero

Melia Marina Varadero

Varadero


76 reviews


Food / Restaurants

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


424 reviews


Beaches

Club Los Delfines

Club Los Delfines

Varadero


170 reviews


Families

Sol Palmeras

Sol Palmeras

Varadero


162 reviews


Couples

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royal Hicacos Resort And Spa

Varadero


424 reviews


Singles

Super Club Surprise

Super Club Surprise

Varadero


15 reviews


Seniors

Villa Jibacoa

Villa Jibacoa

Varadero


313 reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement



hotel, city, contry